The following was posted to social media by Attorney at Law Douglas Trotman and tagged to Barbados Underground.

David, Blogmaster

It is with mixed feelings that I pen this missive… does relationship bias equate to corruption?

Gollop, Stuart (former AG and PM), P. Cheltenham, and Worrell (judge) are indeed not in a partnership.

They are directors of a company “Harford Holdings” and each joint signatories to a mortgage held by that company.

As it relates to their professional practice over the years, I have knowledge of being involved in a case… involving the Indians in 2006- the Cricket World Cup Kensington redevelopment project… where Hal Gollop and son, along with AG Dale Marshall appeared before Justice Worrell in a hearing related to the 14 Indian workers.

At that time I was unaware of the “relationships” which existed.

There are other matters… the most critical for me is the Sam Lords Castle matter…

Here Mr. Gollop represented a company that made an offer to purchase the assets of Grant Hotels Inc.(the company which held the lands comprising 58.1 acres- including the castle structure; and Harrismith (26 acres)).

That offer never progressed beyond the offer letter stage but was referred to in the substantive case. Justice Worrell was the judge in this case.

I am conducting an investigation into the relationship between Justice Worrell and Mr. Gollop…and have sought international help.

That Stuart was both the AG, then the PM is notable. Meetings with him were unfruitful. I can only now surmise why.

Pat Cheltenham was the attorney who acted for the NIS which brought an action against GHI that triggered it’s Insolvency process…thus forcing the subsequent closure.

On discovering the above, and being warned by friends about possible danger to life and limb for “exposing” this type of information I have been very cautious to date.

I am throwing caution to the wind and I put my life and lime squarely in the hands of my ancestors and destiny.

The question is whether “relationship bias” affects the outcome of cases before the law courts in Barbados.

If so, whether the resulting delay which affects clients and attorneys in financial ways, possibly causing them to lose their business.. is actionable against the parties creating the bias.

This is but an introduction to some of the work that I am doing and the work that needs to be done across the board if we are to right size our judicial system.

A relationship analysis with a look at cases is a start. This too may reveal reasons for the backlog of cases in the system.

It is clear to me that the government will not pursue an investigation such as this and so this comment on Facebook is meant to draw feedback from you the public.

Consider the scenario presented… ask yourself if you were the client or attorney…caught in a relationship web, totally unaware…but wondering how you could possibly have “lost” that case… only to find out afterwards that a situation like what exists may have contributed… for sure..one can only know if there is a probe.

Judges and politicians are not beyond investigation or reproach… they seem to think so.

“…………………..
I have also had a look at corruption…

The other issue lies in blatant corruption as it relates to the procurement of works, goods and services. The government bought procurement software in 2013.

That software… the data contained within needs to be audited from then up to present.

That would capture a 5 year period for the DLP led government and an 20 month period for the current BLP led government.

I am looking forward to chatting with the Chair of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament to see if such an investigation falls within his remit.

Here is the link to Facebook:

73 responses to “Quagmire of Incestuous Behaviour by Public Officials”

1. What, a whole blog like this and no fowls jumping out to defend the corrupt. A new awakening maybe or something else. They must still be asleep. We shall see. Who would have thought.

2. Is the writer a lawyer? It appears that he is pissed off that he is not part of the action. Whatever the merits of his complaint, there seems to be a component of envy that he is not getting a slice of the action. Hypocrisy permeates the whole thing.

3. Some believe there are ulterior motives, but just getting a lawyer in Barbados to actually admit the incestous criminality and corruption that exists in the Supreme Court is quite a feat.

What i am looking it is he is not pulling any punches and is telling the truth and doing what the victims CANNOT do because there still are too many barriers in their way, the wall of silence and fear…the criminal syndicate.

4. ABOUT 3O YEARS AGO, A COURT OFFICIAL TOLD ME THAT JUDGE WATERMAN USED TO SHOW GREAT BIAS TOWARDS BEVERLEY WALROND IN DIVORCE CASES…………………………..I DIDNT BELIEVE IT UNTIL I SAW IT FOR MYSELF

WE SHOULD NOT DISMISS THE TENETS PRESENTED IN THIS ARTICLE FOR THERE IS MUCH MORE THAT CAN BE SAID

5. GP……exactly, no lawyer would put themselves out there unless they have something to offer to explain why the Supreme Court is so corrupt and why vulnerable unaware claimaints CANNOT get any justice…as Errol Barrow SAID DECADES AGO…he said Black people willl never get justice in that Black supreme court…he said it.

6. i cannot find anything of significant merit in what appears to have been penned by Trotman. what exactly is he trying to say?

the construct of how some chambers work as described by Gollop is something of which i have knowledge. further he is correct when he says public officials are sometimes represented by private counsel and on occasion the AG and DPP will instruct outside counsel for certain matters.

Trotman must make a better case if he wants to be taken seriously

7. Make a better case to whom, the blog will not be the one doing the investigating, yall keep making that stupid mistake while claiming to know so much, he does not have to prove any case to us.

8. WW&C
    lol… who is “US”…you and the lady with the long fingernails, and Violet beckles.
    See your BF Justin coming to visit yall. He’s been all over Africa with Masai Ujiri and Ahmed Hussan (he was a very good Minister in Immigration and then got moved) to solicit votes at the UN.

9. Northern, us being the blog, what can he tell us that we have not already posted here more than a thousand times and what can anyone of us do about it except wait for him to do what needs to be done. He does not have to prove anything to us, he knows what must be done.

I did not even know Lawson’s boyfriend was touring Africa, he did not tell me a thing…lol, he even abandoned us, not even a peep out of him on the regular anymore, he is hiding information.

Last time Lawson’s boyfriend opened his mouth about Africa he was talking about spending 30 million in abortions on Africans and someone on FB told him spend that money on Canadian abortions instead. Just to be clear, it was not me. Everyone ignores Africa and mistreats the African descended until their dicks get caught in a vice, like cousin Boris.

10. @WARU “until their dicks get caught in a vice”

Ouch!!!

11. @Greene February 11, 2020 9:03 AM “what exactly is he trying to say?”

I dunno.

But perhaps that or legal class behave like hard ears children?

12. They won’t feel a thing, they have no hearts, only only water in their veins.

All the fowls must be on vacation this week, no one around, for years they have cussed and carried on, now they are missing all the fun.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Greene, I am amazed at your remarks that “i cannot find anything of significant merit in what appears to have been penned by Trotman..[… he]… must make a better case if he wants to be taken seriously”

So let me see if I understand what u consider a poor or ill formed case.

*There r 4 lawyer compadres who operate as business directors together in an LLC with shared fiduciary responsibilities/investments.

*They have not disclosed those links and possible conflicts of interest

*Compadre numero dos is a judge and before him appears compadre #3 in a legal matter … no notification of fidicuiary link, no recusal… all action as normal.

And that is acceptable in your ethical legal world !

Compadre #1 was the PM and had a say in matters related to the Sam Lord’s redevelopment project but in meetings with interested parties did not disclose his fiduciary links to others also fully engrossed in the project !

Surely one must be careful with allegations of malfeasance but if such a judge/lawyer relationship was exposed in any UK court I find it hard to believe the matter would not be referred to the head judge for review and the Bar Council (or whatever they are called).

That level of conflict of interest is always frowned upon (and sanctioned) as far as I know.

But you find it acceptable !

14. @ Greene

Is English taught as a foreign language in Barbados? Do lawyers learn to communicate in English? Do w have official spellings in Barbados? Or ways of writing the date?

15. We have a situation where Douglas Trotman raised a few concerns about issues relating to the Court, judges lawyers and corruption. He presented what appears to be authentic and credible evidence to substantiate those accusations, and expressed his intentions to ask for an investigation.

I commend Trotman’s actions, which are quite DIFFERENT from those individuals, who troll social media and other sites and copy and paste information to BU, to maliciously cast aspersions on the reputations and integrity of people.

We have been repeatedly ‘saying’ those flow charts do not provide any evidence that the individuals mentioned were/are involved in corruption or have offshore bank accounts.

Even Trotman warned “it can be a bit DANGEROUS to SEARCH databases and make INFERENCES……WITHOUT MORE INFORMATION.” [PB page, February 8, 2020]

But……… they “don’t have to be accurate.” because it’s easy to take the work of someone else and pass it off as their own, irrespective of its accuracy or inaccuracy; make inferences and CONVINCE themselves they’ve been doing something meaningful “over the last nearly 8 years.”

But, where is the evidence to prove this? What significant objectives were achieved during that time? What ‘hard evidence’ has been presented to expose corruption, other than Jackie Stewart videos, flowcharts that do not prove anything other than interlocking directorates? How many people have faced the law courts as a result of any action taken?

These are pertinent questions.

16. Hal…they got asses pretending to be lawyers, even worse than the dummy lawyers that exitst, have no facts but spouting shite nonetheless, check how Greene jumped out as though he will be the investigator, am sure others will too to show off their lack of intelligence and knowledge.

ya just can’t make it up, just scrool on past.

17. Once a high ranking female lawyer wrote a letter to a colleague of mine. It was so badly written that we were almost rolling on the office floor laughing. We had to leave the office for a few minutes in order to compose ourselves.

It was clear that both the lawyer and her secretary were semi-literate, or perhaps [more kindly] dyslexic.

18. @Hal

Lawyers have, what some consider, an arcane way of communicating, at least writing more so than in speaking. however, at least in the UK, there has been an encouraged move toward plain English in lawyer speak so that the lay persons can grasp what a lawyer is saying. that notwithstanding, there is still an acknowledged lawyer speak- somewhat like the construct of Gollop’s piece.

from my days at school in Bim, we adopted the metric system and the dates were officially written as year, month, day. for example today 12th Feb 2020 would be – 2020/02/12

19. There were two of them in the House of Assembly in the DLP government who couldn’t write a proper sentence if it killed them. I have in my possession the election pamphlet one of them sent to my house more than ten years ago. Every time I pull it out I nearly die with laughter. Every one of the commonly made mistakes that the children are tested on in the Common Entrance exam was made and more! What is even funnier is that this same man (who became a prominent minister) used to tell me stories about the other lawyer in the House and his inability to write or speak a proper sentence. The one he said could not speak became the Speaker.

20. @ Greene

Interesting. The US has not gone metric and they write their dates year/month/day. In Barbados during my youth, when Noah was a boy, we also wrote the date as day/month/year. It now seems to be mixed up. Same thing for spelling and sentence construction. As American is different to English, so it seems as if Bajan is going that way.
    By the way, have you heard of Multicultural London English. You will recognise it every day – black London English or Jamaiglish.
    I am curious: are we going to have a joint memorial service in London for two recent, and successful, deputy high commissioners?

21. “Let me state for the record that Harford Chambers is not a partnership. Indeed, it has never been a partnership. It is the mere name of chambers founded by Mr Stuart, so named because of his profound respect and admiration for his former headmaster, Mr Lee Harford Skeete, who was also a lawyer holding the degree of Bachelor of civil law.

For the record, all persons who practise and have practised at Harford Chambers do or have done so as mere tenants as sole traders. Among those who have practised over time are: Mr Stuart himself, Mr Randall Worrell, as he then was, Mr Rawle Eastmond until very recently, Ms Sandra Browne, Mr Steve Gollop, Mr Michael Lashley, Ms Mya Daniel and Miss Debra Gooding.”

If what Mr. Gollop says here is true, and I have good reason to believe that it is, then there is no partnership and they all operate as sole traders and tenants in the building. I don’t see this as evidence of any conflict of interest. And I say this as a person who had serious difficulties with Mr. Gollop on a matter.

They would however have formed friendships. Now how do we get around that? I don’t know. Barbados is a small place. This is one of the hazards of a small country. Everybody knows everybody. There is more than one person on that list with whom I have had very close contact over many years and two of the others are my father’s friends. All o’ we is family and friend so only serious conflicts of interest, not loose associations, can be deemed a problem.

22. So how do you know what is serious and what is not and what caused the conflict.

Something like when the same lawyer made a public service annoncement that a bakery had rats, out jumped many to claim it was not true including the bakery who days later recanted.

I assure u this is quite similar. As i said then and now, no lawyer puts themselves out there unless they know what they are talking about. The intelligent thing to do is wait and see how it all plays out.

23. @Hal

quote] I am curious: are we going to have a joint memorial service in London for two recent, and successful, deputy high commissioners?[quote

is there something in the works?

24. @ Greene

If there is I have not heard about it, but there ought to be. Email the president, or Dr Walcott, the foreign minister mascot .

25. Always so condescending.

26. @ Greene

i cannot find anything of significant merit in what appears to have been penned by Trotman. what exactly is he trying to say?

the construct of how some chambers work as described by Gollop is something of which i have knowledge. further he is correct when he says public officials are sometimes represented by private counsel and on occasion the AG and DPP will instruct outside counsel for certain matters.

Trotman must make a better case if he wants to be taken seriously
    Xxxxxxxxxx

YOU SEEM TO BE A PLANT BECAUSE FROM THE TIME I HAVE BEEN READING YOUR SUBMISSIONS BARBADOS HAVE PERFECT POLICE WITH NO INSIDE MAJOR CRIMINAL ELEMENT.

I BELIEVE THIS LAWYER DOUGLAS TROTMAN AND APPLAUD HIM FOR SPEAKING OUT WHICH HE HAS BEEN DOING FOR A LONG LONG TIME UNLIKE DAVID COMMISSONG WHO SOLD OUT POOR PEOPLE FOR HIS OWN SELFISH AGENDA.

27. @ Hal

The US has not gone metric and they write their dates year/month/day
    Xxxxxxxx

This is inaccurate.

Date is written month/day/year in US.

28. @ Baje

Thanks for the correction.

29. WURA-War-on-UFebruary 12, 2020 10:01 AM

So how do you know what is serious and what is not and what caused the conflict.

Something like when the same lawyer made a public service annoncement that a bakery had rats, out jumped many to claim it was not true including the bakery who days later recanted.

I assure u this is quite similar. As i said then and now, no lawyer puts themselves out there unless they know what they are talking about. The intelligent thing to do is wait and see how it all plays out.

And I ask you, how do YOU know what is serious conflict of interest and what is not? Because “no lawyer puts themselves out there unless they know what they are talking about”? There is such a thing as a stupid lawyer..

I have expressed my opinion based on what was written by Mr. Trotman. If he had something else then perhaps he should have written it.

If something more convincing comes out I will be happy to change my opinion.

30. @Baje,

i dont know what you are talking about wrt “BARBADOS HAVE PERFECT POLICE WITH NO INSIDE MAJOR CRIMINAL ELEMENT,” that you attributed to me. that may be your impression of something i have said but from memory i have made no such comment in any of my submissions on this blog. if you find or remember anything that i have said that is remotely close to that which you accuse of, please point them out to me.

re what was purported to be written by Trotman in that meandering rant, tell me what exactly is he saying that is corrupt? a loose association? lawyers occupying a desk/office in a firm? man my ties to my old school, ever enduring as it is, is closer than what is described in this article.

it seems to me, some of us, will jump on anything to confirm our belief of rampant corruption in Bim. there v well may be but have some information or evidence to so show.

what is allegedly written by Trotman falls woefully short of that mark, in my opinion, such as it is

31. “I have expressed my opinion based on what was written by Mr. Trotman. If he had something else then perhaps he should have written it.”

I know a little more than enough to know when something is serious and when it’s not, when there is conflict and when there is not, no need for a law degree to arrive at those conclusions, basic knowledge will do…as i said, best to wait for this to play out..Trotman only generally mentioned what the matter is about, difficult to draw conclusions or form opinions without direct knowledge of some kind.

32. But have YOU not already formed YOUR opinion? And unlike mine, it will probably not be changed NO MATTER WHAT.

33. Greene,

I am afraid you are wasting your time here. The man presented something that IN NO WAY could be seriously considered conflict of interest. We are supposed to believe that he has more evidence which he has not presented. We are not supposed to comment based on what he has presented.

This is what passes as intelligent response on this site.

34. @Hal Austin February 12, 2020 10:26 AM “If there is I have not heard about it, but there ought to be. Email the president, or Dr Walcott, the foreign minister mascot.”

Why do you refer to the Honourable Jerome Walcott as a mascot? When the Honourable Maxine McClean was Barbados’ Foreign Minister would you also have referred to her as a mascot?You may or may not like the BLP. You may or may not like Dr. Walcott, but there is no need to be insulting.

Mascot=a person or thing that is supposed to bring good luck or that is used to symbolize a particular event or organization.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, I am using your comments as an further interjection to this debate as your view ‘appears’ to be the standard one (as also held by @Greene)… thus I welcome comments not specifically from you but others on the context and real life appreciation of your proposition that … “…then there is no partnership and they all operate as sole traders and tenants in the building. I don’t see this as evidence of any conflict of interest”.

1.We all understand that a ‘partnership’ here refers to a LEGAL business model for operation. It’s analogous to the other term of sole trader as it is to that of a LLC.

2.In my view, the key point made by Trotman was : “They are directors of a company “Harford Holdings” and each joint signatories to a mortgage held by that company.”

Unless I have completely forgotten those early law courses the DIRECTORS of a company have fiduciary responsibility to each other as they are all invested in a monetary enterprise TOGETHER.

If folks here are suggesting that a director can sign a mortgage document with a financial institution and agree that along with three other investors he will accept liability to repay any loans linked to said mortgage in case of any default but yet STILL suggest that he does NOT then have a conflict of interest if he nterfacas with ANY of his fellow director buddies who are also signatories where my his investor buddy can Influence the outcome of that new matter then I am dumbstruck.

The issue is NOT how they operated their legal practice inside the building named ‘Harford Chambers’ it is the HOLDING company they JOINTLY operated and invested in together which ostensibly owned the building…. oh wait, let me rephrase that: “…the company they are ALLEGED to have JOINTLY operated and invested in together.”

What’s the cliche best suited here: we can’t see the tress for the forest or is ut ‘what the eff does this all matter’! By the time any investigation proved anything business gine be huffed and sold off or most likely folks gine be dead, so what!

What is alleged above is a tale of a COMPLETE corrupt system… even if 50% accurate. What AMUSES me is that folks like @Greene so transparently attempts to muddy the waters with misdirection.

SMH!

36. @ Silly Woman,

Maybe the sunshine has got to your head. Pls cut and paste the instance in which I referred to Ms McClean as a ‘mascot’. Stop fabricating nonsense. It is not the first time.

37. “We are not supposed to comment based on what he has presented”

commenting is not the problem, forming an opinion based on very little to NO INFORMATION is the problem.

Greene claiming he does not see any case and he knows so much about how this and that works….which means he knows nothing…..is the problem…

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, respectfully bro but has the rain and cold gotten to YOUR head!

The lady NEVER SAID you called Ms McClean a mascot….. She ASKED if you woukd have described her as such also.

Amazing!

Anyhow, I gone until dinner time.

39. DPD

Point taken..

40. @ Pedant

You are right. She did not. But I cannot answer any such question because I cannot predict the future.

41. if it is a case of let’s wait and see, why was this submitted? why did we not wait until the chickens came home to roost or to be roasted as the case may be?

it was posted to generate commentary. to feed into the general theme that Bim is corrupt and that certain professions and persons are at the forefront of that corruption.

all that may be true but if this article was to so show or titillate our cravings for such, it missed the mark

42. @Hal Austin February 12, 2020 12:54 PM “@ Silly Woman, Maybe the sunshine has got to your head. Pls cut and paste the instance in which I referred to Ms McClean as a ‘mascot’. Stop fabricating nonsense. It is not the first time.”

@Silly Woman February 12, 2020 12:48 PM “Why do you refer to the Honourable Jerome Walcott as a mascot? When the Honourable Maxine McClean was Barbados’ Foreign Minister would you also have referred to her as a mascot?

Nope Hal. The sunshine has not got to my head. I always wear a hat while working outdoors. I don’t wish to be ageist, but perhaps old age has got to your head, or maybe you need to see your ophthalmologist? I’ve copied and pasted what I wrote at 12;54 p.m.

I did not say that you referred to Ms. McClean as a mascot. What I asked is whether while she was Foreign Minister you you would have referred to her as a mascot?

Tek ya time and re-read what i wrote.

Lemme go out and pick up the grands. i have no time to waste with silly old men.

43. By the way I have had the pleasure of interacting with both of these Foreign Ministers and they are BOTH very intelligent people. Neither can fairly be called a mascot.

44. @ February 12, 2020 1:40 PM “@ Pedant. You are right. She did not. But I cannot answer any such question because I cannot predict the future.”

I seriously wonder if you are beginning to lose it.

NOBODY asked you to predict the future. I asked you opinion of a PAST Foreign Minister.

If you are beginning to lose it, I respectfully apologize.

Dementia come to many of us eventually…maybe one day it will come to me also.

45. The damn place is corrupt, now get over it, you can’t sit in your armchair in UK or wherever the hell you are and say what is corrupt and what is not and you are not even on the ground, you are only spewing from your yardfowl memories which was denying the corruption then and you were in denial, it’s still corrupt and you are still in denial….and still have no information to work with, the know it alls …always part of the problem.

46. well Missie, do yuh ting. latch onto to every facebook post about corruption in Bim in the hopes that you will be right one day. you may get lucky and your bias will be confirmed.

47. No one has to latch on to anything, they have PROVEN THEMSELVES to be corrupt…there you go again with not one scintilla of evidence that THEY ARE NOT CORRUPT…while multiple people HAVE EVIDENCE THAT THEY ARE…so chew on that.

48. That is why i always remind alyuh about ya short memories, Donville must be in US attending court because the federal government likes him so much…..as a matter of fact i could swear he was only just convicted for bribetaking and moneylaundering IN BARBADOS …JUST LAST MONTH..

…he told the court corruption is how alyuh do business….no big whop, taking bribes and money laundering is a breeze…and not a fella can lock up any of them for it…steuppss..the victims of his bribetaking scam had to wait for US to reel him in.

and there are all the know it alls…forgetting all of that already..

49. So please correct me if am wrong, but is Donville not supposed to be sentenced sometime soon for not being corrupt….steuppps.

50. @dpd

2.In my view, the key point made by Trotman was : “They are directors of a company “Harford Holdings” and each joint signatories to a mortgage held by that company.”
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

AMAZING TO SEE THE AMOUNT OF IGNORANCE SPOUTED BY SOME OTHERS WHO CANNOT READ AND COMPREHEND AND THEN WALLOW IN THEIR PETTY AND CHILDISH BEHAVIOR.