Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.
Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.
She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.
Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”
-
I am glad others commented on the amount of money involved.
From Day 1, with this paltry sum, I have been waiting on other developments. Now that this fish has been caught and tagged, let us wait and see what else comes down the pipe
-
“Now that the FBI is on the ‘case’ you will soon see if the other alleged collaborators will continue to evade Justice by this obvious case of inertia in the fast becoming dystopian state called “Badbados”.
Some may not be seeing that this is where all of that is headed.
-
I will not list our many failures.
I do not know the intricacies of the law in matter like these.
I cannot follow the explanations provided by the ‘scholars here
It bothers me that there could be a trial and verdict in the US and we cannot initiate anything against one politician/crook.
All we get is old talk.
-
@ Theo
I believe the contract was worth Bds$93m. Was ICBL the only one? Was Donville the only person being paid? I am sure our ever-talking, hand-waving president is going to launch an inquiry. After all, we are world class and can punch above our weight.
-
All the focus is on Donville but Uncle Sam has found him guilty and will dispense punishment, now it seems that some Bajans want to extract their pound of flesh from Donville too and rather than “Peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all” its “Peter pay for Paul and Peter pay for all”. Donville thus becomes the poster boy for all corrupt politicians (not even a cuddear) and my question becomes why is Donville the only one on the dais isn’t there another politician that can join him? Donville is paying for the sins of all politicians
-
@ Artax January 19, 2020 2:05 PM
Because you use the word “correct” to refer to Green(e)’s perspective on the matter.
Where is it written in any Act or supported by any legal precedent?
We shall soon see if the local “standard police procedures” will continue to apply when instructions are sent down to those running the comedy show in Barbados.
There is much more in the mortar than the pestle of standard procedures which you Artax might not be aware of.
Trust my “emotions” on this one.
The Don is not going down alone and he will make sure of that before he loses any more weight and his condo in FLa.
Here is the same Green(e) fella with his perspective on crime in Barbados:
“…why it is that crime seems to escalate under the BLP?”Where is the evidence to support his assertion?
We hope you can remember the ‘standard’ procedures which were followed in the killing of the Bjerkham boy versus the treatment meted out to Abijah’s mum.
-
@Sargeant
Good point, it does not matter the small amount laundered. A minister of the crown was caught abusing the office. The other point is that the parameter of the trial disallowed mention of others involved in fraud IN Barbados. We have to insist local authorities initiate investigations.
-
Miller,
you have a penchant for stringing together nuff words that mean jackshite.
if you are going to quote me, please do it in context.
and do you know what “seems” mean?
-
@ Greene January 19, 2020 3:47 PM
It seems that every time your incompetent DLP is in power the country suffers from economic strangulation, corruption and high crime!
How about that Greenie?
You have any ‘investigatory’ evidence to debunk that ‘seemingly’ truthful statement? -
510 comments.
-
Barbados will not be at the table when Caribbean leaders meet with US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo in Jamaica, tomorrow.
This decision has been taken by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley who announced on Saturday night she would not be sending Foreign Minister Senator Jerome Walcott to the meeting
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243550/barbados-wont-attend-meeting-us-official
de PM look nice doh.
-
Miller,
you may be correct. but i believe i have covered that in a post before. wont rehash it.
i didnt need flowery meaningless language to reply
-
@ Hants
Why is Barbados absent?
-
@ Hal,
A couple of weeks ago, I placed the spotlight on Isabel dos Santos – the daughter of the ex-president of Angola. She is currently under investigation in a number of jurisdictions for corruption. The investigative journal – Panorama – is looking into her affairs.
Unlike Inniss, this lady is used to dealing with high end numbers and has attracted international notoriety due to her corrupt lifestyle.
If Barbados is to capitalise on the demise of Inniss, then it must communicate with outside media outlets and provide them with all the necessary information that will shine a spotlight on corruption in Barbados. The information is out there, it just needs to be collated and presented to the public.
-
@ Hal
The prime minister is the chair of CARICOM. She is absolutely correct not to attend and not to send the foreign minister if the entire region was not invited.
Once this is the true position, I agree with her 100 per cent. -
Our Most Honourable Prime Minister is always right.
She will do everything in her power to fill the blood mill of the US judiciary with Barbadian bones so that skulls splinter and bones break. Someone has to do the heavy work on the cotton plantations of the US criminal justice system.
-
After Donville who is next ?
-
@TLNS
Even the Bajans who protest about so-called corruption balk at the idea of passing on information to the international media. The bogus national loyalty comes in.
@ William
You are making the assumption that the president operates on base ethics. There is no proof that she does. I agree that we small nations must put the US in its place, but she needs to do more than that. Remember the Haiti earthquake when David Thompson was denied a chance to visit and had to settle for a visit in Jamaica( Chelsea Clinton made the tour).
Remember Obama’s Trinidad visit? If her refusal is to do with Caricom, then other leaders are not accepting her lead.
Hope you are well. -
@ Greene January 19, 2020 4:44 PM
Will soon be “correct” too when those two collaborators in the M/L job who seem untouchable on the local turf of corruption find themselves is stainless steel bracelets and on an airplane bound for a forced vacation in New York to face Uncle Sam’s justice system.
-
“If Barbados is to capitalise on the demise of Inniss, then it must communicate with outside media outlets and provide them with all the necessary information that will shine a spotlight on corruption in Barbados.”
….the throwing under the bus thing might backfire, not everyone might be amused and they can’t just give everybody more old talk, it has all gotten way too involved.
-
If Donville was so stupid and deceitful to engage in thieving from the taxpayers, why didn’t Donville take the bribes in Barbados dollars in brown paper bags (omg)……get US dollars and then get it taken in the US…he would only have to make three or four trips….omg…..after all…..
Still cannot believe that Donville was so smug to think that the US would not be able to trace his shenanigans.
He should have taken the plea bargain which was offered to him in the early days but as usual he was “powful” foolish and was probably thinking like ignorant Guyson Mayers forgetting that it was the big bad US he was up against.
QEH is where the next probe is at.
By the way, there are allegations that he was on a special mission as to why he was in the US….it there any truth to this talk?
-
There is a lot of stealing that went down at the QEH, some when Donville Inniss was MoH.
-
If more former ministers are prosecuted for accepting bribes in Barbados surely those who PAID the bribes will be prosecuted.
The Barbados government would not want to touch the “untouchables”.
-
@ Prodigal Son January 19, 2020 6:53 PM
“QEH is where the next probe is at.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++This ought to be a ready-dug gold mine for the Fulcrum investigators.
They ought to find a trail of fudged invoices leading to the same dental clinic the Don used to clean his ‘false’ teeth made from kickback dosh leaving a wash pan of antecedents.
Wonder if there would be a need also for a “complainant” when these findings are made known in a report. Or would an extradition warrant have to be issued for the dexterously bent butler called “James” to appear as a Crown Witness?
-
4 years and still in T&T.
“He has not left Trinidad and Tobago since he was named in the indictment in May 2015 and remains on $2.5 million (£2 million/€2.2 million) bail.
The 76-year-old former FIFA vice-president is accused of 12 corruption offences, including racketeering, corruption and money laundering but denies wrongdoing.”
-
Apparently Big Sinckler is not the least gifted minister in the history of the Caribbean after all. The United States has not caught him yet. I must therefore apologise most sincerely and frankly to Sinckler. The title of the least gifted minister now goes to Inniss. To get into so much trouble over a handful of dollars. Apparently the high maintenance costs of his Mercedes E-Class have driven him to ruin …
-
There is a saying: Cobbler stick to your last. In our case, Inniss should have left it to catch fish. Or herding pigs, whatever. People should know their social status instead of striving for what they cannot master.
The important things should have been left to the Most Honorable Mia Mottley. Destiny has not given her a fishing net, but the gift of leadership.
-
How do you write offf VAT that some greedy business people STOLE…1 BILLION DOLLARS…and you did not ARREST THE THIEVES.
“I also want to know if anyone came knocking on Government’s doors asking for relief from their outstanding taxes because we are not aware of this.
“Does the Government know how much money is being written off or waived?
“VAT is supposed to bring in $948 million, or 30 per cent of the revenue we have to make for this year, yet according to my colleague’s findings, the penalties, arrears and interest we are seeking to write off add up to a billion dollars.”
Responding to the Opposition senators’ claims, Senator McConney said: “The tax penalties and interest have not been waived from 1996 to 2000, but only penalties and interest for January 2001 to December 2017”.
She stressed that it was not debt forgiveness, but more of a debt write-off, in that “the penalties and interest will only take effect as long as the tax arrears are paid off or an arrangement is made with the [Revenue Authority] before the deadline given to do so”.
-
VAT WRITE OFF
THE GRAND HEIST OF THE TREASURY BY THIS GOVT
LOCK THEM UP
-
@ Hal
Once the position is as she explained
I have no problem with it .
Everything is quiet on my mind. It’s nice to see you back my Bro’. -
“Wonder if there would be a need also for a “complainant” when these findings are made known in a report.”
Miller
You’re certainly taking this issue a “bit too far the other side.”
Please allow me to ask a few questions.
Supposed Fulcrum Chambers Ltd. investigations unearth several financial improprieties which are outlined in a report.
Let’s say for argument’s sake, the AG does not pass on the report to RBPF. How can the police open an investigation into matters of which they don’t have any knowledge?
Can the police approach Fulcrum’s officials, demand a copy of the report and then conduct an investigation based on the details outlined therein?
Supposed, for example, the report identifies certain individuals in connection with an alleged bribery. Can the police use the report as a basis to arrest and charge those individuals on suspicion of committing a crime?
Assume AG gives the Fulcrum report to the police. Do you agree the AG becomes the “complainant,” the report provides the basis for a “complaint” and explaining the issues to initiate an investigation would be the “formal complaint?”
-
Why would one attend a meeting where the USA is proposing to promote common democratic values with an administration that does not believe in democracy? Their president does not think he should answer to anybody! He has rejected the system of checks and balances, believes the press should be friendly towards him and supports the suppression of the vote of those who would not support him. The man spends all day SPREADING PROPAGANDA and Mike Pompeo is complicit in crowning him most supreme EMPEROR AND DICTATOR.
THIS IS A MOCK SPORT MEETING. OBVIOUSLY THEY ARE JUST HAVING SOME FUN AT THE EXPENSE OF THE SHIT HOLE COUNTRIES.
Mia has more balls than the men! (pun intended)
-
TRON,
So…. were Mia’s family slaves or not? If you have her family tree please post it for me as we are distantly related. The last funeral of a family member at which my father gave the eulogy she was in attendance acknowledging the relationship.
Were Mia’s ancestors descended from African royalty????
PS. My my mother’s father was a fisherman so if I am royalty mixed with fisherman what would that make me??????
-
@ Artax January 19, 2020 9:30 PM
“Supposed, for example, the report identifies certain individuals in connection with an alleged bribery. Can the police use the report as a basis to arrest and charge those individuals on suspicion of committing a crime?”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++You mean like the CLICO forensic report?
You will attract a response from the miller when you address the ’emotionally-charged’ issue regarding the pending investigation and arrest by the FBI of the two named ‘alleged’ collaborators in the M/L cased for which the Don has been found guilty as charged.
BTW, we notice you have gotten your emotionally-prosecuted’ wish of removing those ‘lowlife’ foreigners illegally hawking around the Fairchild Street terminal.
Who was the complainant about their activities which were in contravention of the public health laws of the so-called law abiding country and presenting a clear and present danger to those using the ‘broken’facilities and consuming the fare(s).
PS: We forgot those strip clubs involved in the trafficking of international flesh to display to lustful Bajans many of them ‘buying’ security services from moonlighting agents of the law enforcement forces.
-
“So…. were Mia’s family slaves or not? If you have her family tree please post it for me as we are distantly related. ”
Pretend FAKE ROYALTY…and spreading that false information around to fool the dumb and gullible…..pretending to be born from money but in REALITY, born into TIEFING MONEY and ESTATES from vulnerable and unaware people, leaving generations in poverty….lots of PRETENDING….but NO REALITY.
I would be ashamed to claim any relation.
The way all this is shaping up, Donville’s greed and stupidity will soon take on all the attributes of a misdemeanor, by the time many more face live music.
-
Ministers, lawyers, politicians always fooling the public and the dumb fowls that they are enemies when in reality they are all the best of friends and BUSINESS PARTNERS working AGAINST the best interest of the populi and reducing them to unnecessary hardships.
-
Miller
RE: “You will attract a response from the miller when you address the ’emotionally-charged’ issue regarding the pending investigation and arrest by the FBI of the two named ‘alleged’ collaborators in the M/L cased for which the Don has been found guilty as charged.”
As I mentioned in a previous contribution, the FBI does not have jurisdiction in Barbados. In circumstances such as this case, FBI agents cannot enter the island to arrest anyone, unless they’re given consent by Barbadian authorities, and the arrest must be made in collaboration with RBPF.
Do you recall a few years ago when the owner of Bionic Man Shop on Swan Street (I think his name is Ibrahim Noumeh) and a former police officer were charged with having counterfeit US dollars and fake passports? Noumeh went to Trinidad to attend a friend’s funeral and was arrested by the FBI and TT police. On March 12, 1999, a TT magistrates Court ordered him to be extradited to the US. He spent over a year (or there about) in TT challenging the Court order. Richard Cheltenham represented him and they won the case.
Do you also remember the lengthy extradition trial involving Gaskin, Scantlebury and Hawkesworth, who were indicted in 2004 by a Washington, DC grand jury for conspiracy to traffic cocaine? They challenged the extradition, which lasted 9 years and the charges were subsequently dismissed, without prejudice, on December 2013. They were released from Barbadian custody on January 9, 2014.
RE: “BTW, we notice you have gotten your emotionally-prosecuted’ wish of removing those ‘lowlife’ foreigners illegally hawking around the Fairchild Street terminal.”
Let the record state that I have NEVER referred to “those illegal vendors hawking around the Fairchild Street terminal” as “lowlife foreigners.”
But, I’m happy they’re moving because they were engaging in an illegal activity, similar to that of squatting…….. and selling food and beverages, in an unhealthy environment, without the required health certificates and liquor licenses.
-
How come that millions of dollars in vat was transfered to some of the wealthy in barbados and not a word of disgust mentioned
However 36 thousand measly dollars none of which came out of tax payers money and all up in arms
Not saying that Donville should be giving a pass
However when tax payers money is given willy nilly to the wealthy and nothing is said and the silence on such an important issue becomes deafening then we have all lost our way and like storks have buried our heads in the sand -
All these sows, swines and pigs for lawyers, ministers, politicians see the black population on the island as are vehicles and HOSTAGES to use as a means to GORGE their greedy selves off, enrich themselves in order to PRETEND to be what they ARE NOT…all have SLAVE BACKGROUNDS and doing their best to OUTRUN IIT…
….their halfassed, lazy, greedy parasitic minorities are trying their best to outrun their INDENTURED SERVANTS background by still pretending to be massas of the small majority.
They all need ALL OF THEIR ASSETS FROZEN..that should bring some perspective and REALITY into all their thieving lives…bringing them right back to earth, teach them all some humility and humbleness .
Barbados’ great pretenders, liars and frauds…..are now world renowned, they too love to travel up and down displaying their uppitiness…well dont stop now, alyuh look good on the world stage.
-
@ Mr Hal Austin
Hal, welcome back, I thought that the Honourable Blogmaster had run you way!
“…Donville Inniss is not a nice person, but his prosecution and conviction in a US court of law raises as many questions as it answers, most important of which is the long-reach of US law…”
With regard to “tong-reach of US law” I do hope that, as your phrase could impute, you are not intimidating over reach?
The crime of money laundering was done in the United States so i am confused about the “long-reach” qualifier
I commend the United States for having the balls to bell the cat.
And i hope that they continue to be proactive in protecting bajan people from themselves cause ballsless Mugabe nor her predecessors, HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO DO SO!
-
Piece….ya done know many would prefer US overlook crimes of money laundering out of Barbados and instead lock up some American for a petty crime and blast it across North America and ignore all the uppity thieves on the island. They still believe they are untouchable.
Somehow u can always find the names of the renowned somewhere together in packs of 3s and 4s.
-
@ Artax January 20, 2020 5:59 AM
“As I mentioned in a previous contribution, the FBI does not have jurisdiction in Barbados. In circumstances such as this case, FBI agents cannot enter the island to arrest anyone, unless they’re given consent by Barbadian authorities, and the arrest must be made in collaboration with RBPF.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++We love you ‘bad’ Artax!! A real dye-in-the-wool (but not ‘powful-foolish’) Bajan believing they are punching above their weight and that their authorities could ever say “NO” to an FBI instruction especially in this cut-and-dry, open-and-shut case.
We shall soon see if that powerful stance will prevail in their world of the Untouchables when the real Untouchables with Eliot Ness come a knocking.
Let them say a big “No way, Jose” should the local protection racket be broken up.
With respect to the market fiasco about which you used to complain ‘bitterly’ the miller is 100% behind you in bringing that festering case of lawbreaking to the fore.
Don’t take my ‘dig’ too personal (like the DLP tainted Green(e) fella watching the local draught board from afar).
Just a soldier fighting in the army for Truth and Justice to overcome the ‘wrongs in the two Barbadoes which is fast turning into a kleptocracy
BTW, what ever became of the gun slinging event in the precincts of parliament and reported to the local Bill? At least there was a known complainant. How come this ‘case’ was silently swept under the carpet?
Are you surprised at the high incidence of gun violence plaguing the banana republic today? The authorities are reaping plantains from the figs they sowed.
Karma is at work, King Artaxerxes!
-
@ Donna January 19, 2020 9:44 PM
Donna,
A government should represent the whole people, i.e. the intelligentsia, the wealthy as well as the poor and stupid. It all depends on the mixture.
Unfortunately, from 2008 to 2018, we were only governed by descendants of the lower class, who do not know even their decimals and who do not use knife and fork properly at table.
-
Forgot to mention this last week but Vonda Pile’s law office Imperial Law needs to make a PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT telling their clients where they have moved to…CLIENTS ARE LOOKING FOR THEM FOR THEIR FILES and other issues that these lawyers never seem to WANT RESOLVED for their clients.
-
@Miller
Mia just said no to Pompeo.
-
@ David January 20, 2020 9:06 AM
You have read between the lines, didn’t you Blogmaster!
This is a rather high stakes game of political poker she is about to play given the vindictive ego of the bully dealing the cards and in charge of affairs in the country which is currently ruling global things.
There is a high probability that impeachment will end up in the political dustbin and the trumpeter is returned for another 4 years of madness to fulfill his mission.
Watch and see, unfortunately so, how little Bim a longtime friend of big Uncle Sam will become the victim of petty political vindictiveness and deemed a “shithole” country especially after the ‘Donvillegate’ affair.
Don’t be surprised if there is a sudden increase in the return of undocumented Bajans aka denizens to the tropical paradise .
-
Miller
RE: “A real dye-in-the-wool (but not ‘powful-foolish’) Bajan believing they are punching above their weight and that their authorities could ever say “NO” to an FBI instruction especially in this cut-and-dry, open-and-shut case.”
Where in any of my contributions to our “back and forth” I wrote anything to suggest “punching above weight” or that the “authorities could ever say “NO” to a FBI (request)?”
Note, I substituted your word “instruction” with “request.”
RE: “Are you surprised at the high incidence of gun violence plaguing the banana republic today? The authorities are reaping plantains from the figs they sowed.”
NO!!! I’m not at all SURPRISED!!!
From 2016 when a few known drug pushers and hit-men were “assassinated,” I anticipated the gun violence would progressively increase, as a result of the reprisals that obviously would follow.
For example, let’s look at the murders of Stephen Agard – June 10, 2017; Jerome “Wild Geese” Bovell – June 29, 2017 and Ronald Rudder – January 11, 2019. According to usually reliable sources, it is being alleged “Geese” shot Agard; Rudder shot “Geese” and 3 unknown assailants shot Rudder. If this information is true, and the reprisals continue, we’re looking at 3 additional deaths.
And as the hit-men “conduct their business” with a brazen assurance, innocent by-standers will, unfortunately, be included in the body count.
But, Miller, it’s amazing that, during our “discourse,” you went from Donville, to illegal vending, the gun slinging event in Parliament, CLICO forensic report, strip clubs and moonlighting policemen. I’m sure if you approach your driving similarly, the police would pull you over for a breathalyzer test.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!
-
Miller
Was there any major fall out when former PM, Owen Arthur, refused to sign the Shiprider Agreement in its then form?
Do you recall in March 2019, when Trump invited the leaders of The Bahamas, Jamaica, St. Lucia, Haiti and the Dominican Republic to meeting at his Mar-a-Lago resort in Florida to discuss his (Trump) vision for diverse relationships in the Caribbean and the potential opportunities for energy investment, Chinese economic intervention in the region and the political and economic crisis in Venezuela.
Since the issues that were discussed were relevant to the Caribbean region, did any of the selected leaders had the authority or the jurisdiction to speak on behalf of any CARICOM or OECS member state? Wasn’t this a clear case of “divide and rule?”
Similarly, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo is scheduled to be in Jamaica for a two-day meeting with Jamaica’s PM Holness and other Caribbean leaders, where he will “conduct a multi-lateral round table discussion” with them and also “deliver remarks on US-Caribbean relations.
Since these issues are also relevant to the entire region, how would the Pompeo discuss “US-Caribbean relations” with leaders of certain CARICOM member states? Who among those leaders have the authority to speak on behalf of the uninvited leaders?
Yuh mean, not one uh dem fellows couldn’t say: “Pompeo, the Caribbean has two representative organisations, namely CARICOM and OECS. US-Caribbean relations will ultimately affect all territories. In the interest of Caribbean unity, we cannot discuss unless all leaders are present.”
And we come to this forum “talking” about “regional unity?”
-
For every former DLP government minister charged with accepting bribes
there COULD be TWO or MORE BUSINESS EXECUTIVES charged with PAYING bribes and or CONSPIRACY to commit BRIBERY or M/L.
I trust my fellow bloggers will continue to focus on Donville and the other DLP members as seen in the Piece poster above but do not name any potential BRIBERS because they are usually honest citizens who are untouchable and mostly a lighter shade of pale.
Question for the legal experts on BU.
IN BARBADOS can a person be charged with accepting a bribe but the person who paid the bribe NOT be charged ?
-
@Hants January 20, 2020 11:04 AM
The 1929 Prevention of Corruption Act prescribes equal penalties for giving and accepting a bribe.