The Editor
Barbados Underground

Dear Sir/Madam

Recently,the Attorney General, Mr. Dale Marshall made some observations about the “Liquidation Center” which has been compulsory acquired by government. According to Marshall, the Center has been deemed unfit by the Public Health officials due to the high rodent infestation among other things. Marshall also went onto claim that four illegal connections to the potable water supply of this country were discovered on the premises of the “Liquidation Center.” I have some question that need clarification by Marshall.

1.) Were there inspections of the premises by the Public Health (Environmental) Officers up to the point of closure by government? If the answer is yes,the question remains why was the premises not closed before the seizure by government? One is left to infer that either there was political interference by both sets of government, hindering the Public Health Officers from doing their job, or that the Public Health Officers looked the other way,to avoid witnessing all of the defects which have suddenly appeared.

2). The four illegal connections to the country’s potable water supply seems to be a red-herring deflecting from the high-handed manner in which the closure took place. Marshall wants the populace to believe that with the water being disconnected, the business continued apace without toilet facilities. At some point following disconnection, the authorities must have wondered how it was that the business continued apace without a pause. One is left to conclude that there was some kind of tacit connivance on the part of the authorities.

The government seems to be acting in an totalitarian manner in this affair. In small countries like Barbados one must be on guard against totalitarianism .

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D.

314 responses to “Government Complicit in the Liquidation Centre Matter”

1. @ Vincent.

Now now don’t go there. Are you saying suppressing market value is a good thing then? So next time government has a property for sale can i offer them a price based on an rat infested old building? No please. Or next time some foreign developer wants to buy a bajan property should he go to the newly formed ” national reality pricing board” for an “intervention”?

The question we must ask is what is the square footage of the land on which the building sits? Secondly the developer must then take that value and add to it what having it will do to the value of his development. Based on those 2 figures he then can make an offer.

You see government better realise what good for the goose good for the gander. The next time they have a property to sell I hope when their approach of valuation is used on them, they say God Save the Queen and take the offer.

2. Also based on governments way of valuation will we all receive land tax bills in 2020 showing drastic reductions from last year?

Wunna hold you breath for dat one. Lol

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    yes, you kindly explained that to me/us earlier. I was well aware it was where the Harbour Police once were. I assumed (incorrectly) the developers had acquired this property. I mean, if the GoB via Gems can sell Blue Horizon for $5M (memory says they paid Worme more), then they can surely have sold the old Harbour Police lot ?
    A golden rule of development is you acquire your footprint BEFORE you expose your plans. The entire process is somewhat baffling. Given the rather complicated relationships between a group of Barbadians, it is the same names which keep popping up. The money exists to reportedly buy Four Season lands, and yet for a fraction of that, the lands on Bay St are not acquired?

@VC
    I guess you saw @PLT’s response. The quoted number came from him, a number he quoted before after the recent public meeting.

4. “I mean, if the GoB via Gems can sell Blue Horizon for $5M (memory says they paid Worme more),”

which proves beyond a doubt that they ARE ALL OWNED by minorities who now have a contract to build prisons to lock up the people …all of whom should be in the prison themselves..

an offer was made to purchase Blue Horizon for 11 million dollars i believe, but the offer was refused to sell it to the crooks for 5 million, less than half of it’s market value…who the hell does that…i will tell you…house negros owned by minority criminals….who don’t care that the asset belongs to taxpayers and not either of these criminals..

5. @Vincent

You may aware but the real estate market in Barbados is a bubble; artificially inflated.

6. @Vincent

Yes we know, saw how you sidestepped the IMF on the second floor.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT
    @ NO

What can I say?

8. @Vincent

Listen take a tea break and let the pitch cool down!😊

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 3 :39 PM

My cricket coach Georgie P. advised me not to go after no balls. Last time the IMF was in Barbados he took up residence at MoF. This time around I think it is safer to locate them in the centre of our historic city. Locating them at Bay Street may inspire them to recommend change of use to a Brand Name Hotel . You do not want that do you?

10. @Vincent

The more relevant analogy is not to hook a bodyline bouncer.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    based on @David’s comment? You are a master of the sidestep shuffle? A confusion of macro and micro?

12. The comments by the BU maguffees about this Mirchandani Government concatenation is entertaining.

Government is acquiring ( buying ) the property to facilitate the construction of a Hotel by a PRIVATE developer.

Mirchandani should be paid market value for the property. She should also be paid 3 to 5 years of the profits she would

have made if her business had continued.

She would have to provide audited financial statements for the last 5 years.

buh doan mine me. I does just write discombobulate nonsense an use big words that I doan really know wha duh mean.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

You are doing quite well in my opinion. Understanding the understated issues is the key.

14. @ Hants December 6, 2019 5:02 PM
    “She would have to provide audited financial statements for the last 5 years.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Nice one there Hants!
    We can always depend on you to ‘think outside the box’ to find ‘magic’ solutions to problems considered intractable by the ‘locals’.

All “She” has to do is to engage the services of the same audit firm which provided auditing and other professional services to the Barbados-based CLICO operations!

And by an unseen wave of an underhand wand that ‘ratty’ business in Liquidation would show massive but ‘untaxed’ super profits for the past 10 years.

15. @Miller

Blaire Haynes is dead.

16. If the Hyatt is built
    There is a high possibility with a given that property value within that corridor would increase
    Also including foreign investors falling over each other to buy old dilapidated houses just to get their hands on the landspace to further invest in a marketing strategy that would bring tourist to the island
    However from my vantage point the developer having to redesign the style of the Hyatt would not sit well with the management or the shareholders
    Presently time is of essence for the developer to have a plausible design which the Hyatt board would approved
    Until then barbados might be on a losing well of a project that could have create a sizeable amount of growth for the country long term

17. “My question was, if the property was not in use – ie there was no use residentially or commercially – then what is the value of the property?”

If your above premise made sense and were logical, people who own vacant property would not pay land taxes. You are clearly interpreting use literally, rather than accepting that use is an assigned status. Hence, one building a house on commercial land does not automatically change the assigned use to residential just
    because a house is built on it. Somebody please come and rescue this expert.

PLT
    Yea but in terms of return them ain’t equal. 🤣🤣

18. “It comes to about Bd$130/sq ft. Much more than the Bd$75/sq ft that they say that they have been offered, but much less than the $250/sq ft that they are demanding. So cut them a cheque for Bd$10.4 million and let’s move on.”

++++++++++++++++++++++

The GOB is broke, the cheque will bounce!!

19. None of them seem to understand the power of social media, they all just want to cover up their crimes against bajans, them and their limited interlect enablers…

human parasites and public nuisances.

“Purity Bakeries seem not to understand the power of social media… or maybe they do! Whenever I post anything I give it great consideration as to how it will impact on persons involved.

I received a “Cease and Desist” letter about an hour ago and and I responded immediately. At least they are addressing the matter… but in the wrong way. Everything I post IS “evidence”….

Is there a potential harm to workers and to the public from consuming a product… only the health inspectors can tell.

There is more as well… I am a former commercial customer of Purity Bakeries. What I have seen and heard over the last few months is of great concern to me. Truth trumps threats.

I have dealt with it. Attacking me is a wrong move.

I have extended my willingness to meet with Purity on Wednesday. Let us see what happens then.

My post stays. The internet does not forgive.”

20. @ John December 6, 2019 7:13 PM

The full impact of that ‘bouncing cheque’ can be reduced if there is a pari passu receipt of a cheque (of similar value) from the ‘real’ buyers of the land overpopulated by rats and formerly called ‘Ramlin’ instead of the storybook Hamelin.

Who would the new owners engage as the Pied Piper to lure the rats into the sea?
    It has to be some con-artist dressed in ‘Red’ and belonging to the M&M finders & consultant fees fan club and blowing that ole Bajan tune: ‘One-smart yellow rat died in Two-smart red cat-hole’.

Unless the GoB via its tourism investment agency BTII intends to lease the land to the ‘behind-the-scene’ real owners of the hotel property now using the marketing brand name “Hyatt House of God’s Light on the Bay”, we cannot see why- in the interest of speeding up the construction of the project (which has been in the pipeline for political generations)- an electronic transfer cannot be made to the Treasury, “shortly”, to use a Sinckler catchphrase.

However, there only one adjustment which must be made to the value of that ‘digital’ payment.
    That is, the duties and taxes which ought to be paid for the period the Mercedes luxury vehicle was being driven around Barbados by a ghost working as the Sales Director for the same rechristened Hyatt Lighthouse operating only in the ‘directors’ mind and management of a board of scammers and colluding conmen holding high political office.

21. Miller…WHEN…the PEOPLE take away those diplomatic passports…it IS DONE…ticktock.

22. John
    December 6, 2019 7:13 PM

“It comes to about Bd$130/sq ft. Much more than the Bd$75/sq ft that they say that they have been offered, but much less than the $250/sq ft that they are demanding. So cut them a cheque for Bd$10.4 million and let’s move on.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

The GOB is broke, the cheque will bounce!!

https://www.urbelislaw.com/embezzlement.html

So who in the GOB is going to sign the cheque for $10.4 million?

… and to top it all, the GOB is unconstitutional!!

23. @Enuff

On the value of the land, let me say it again, that land should be valued for public acquisition based on its existing use plus a premium, not alternative uses. What was the site value and improved value on which the last land tax bill was based….(Quote)(Enuff)

So, if the property is left unused, or land vacant, then the value will be nothing plus a premium (ie a tip)? Is that a valuation from the Barbados School of Estate Valuation?(Quote, Hal Austin)

Hal
    “So, if the property is left unused, or land vacant, then the value will be nothing plus a premium (ie a tip)?”
    The above are your words. Now if that statement ain’t the height of ignorance I don’t know what is. The fact is vacant land has an existing use value, I never said improved value. Residential land is residential whether it’s vacant or developed, when developed that’s when improved value comes in. Ms.Ram is not seeking money based on a run down warehouse, she is thinking hotdl use i.e. alternative use. Anyhow, I done with you. You know everything about nothing, including property valuation and financial viability in property development.(Quote) (Enuff)

“My question was, if the property was not in use – ie there was no use residentially or commercially – then what is the value of the property?”
    If your above premise made sense and were logical, people who own vacant property would not pay land taxes. You are clearly interpreting use literally, rather than accepting that use is an assigned status. Hence, one building a house on commercial land does not automatically change the assigned use to residential just
    because a house is built on it. Somebody please come and rescue this expert.(Quote) (Enuff)

Now it is my fault for interpreting what you have written literally. Say what you mean in simple English. Is the existing value the market value or the value for taxation purposes? Spell it out.
    In this specific case, should the matter not be left to the two parties involved rather than government sticking its fat fingers in the matter and in the process abusing the process? I am still waiting for a legal definition of public interest.
    I am sure the all-white delegates at the conferences you chair have made it plain to you that you must say what you mean. Do not leave it to others to try to read your thinking..

24. Stuupse! What remains funny is that land is compulsory acquired in your non-failed state the UK for commercial purposes as part of regeneration programmes. Secondly, existing use value+ is also a concept written into UK guidance. Yet somehow both are wrong in Barbados. You are a shameless, bullshitter talking nonsense about abuse of power. Government intervening through land acquisition to facilitate private development in urban regeneration is standard practice. The BU household may continue to be hoodwinked by you, but not me. BUers should read the link below and note the compulsory acquisition includes facilitating the expansion of a shopping centre as part of the regeneration and the developers are private.
    https://www.barnet.gov.uk/news/cpo-decision-brent-cross-cricklewood-confirmed

25. @Enuff

I got the measure of you. As it happens, I know Brent Cross very well, and from the period before it was built. In fact, I interviewed George Walker.
    Here is your Google in part. Tell ne the difference between that and the Ms Ram/Hyatt scheme? Still waiting for a legal definition of public interest. Cut out the abuse. It is a sign of weakness, not strength.

The whole regeneration scheme will bring the following benefits:
    development of Brent Cross Shopping Centre with new and enlarged bus station
    around 7,500 new homes over the next 20 years, including affordable homes and replacement homes for the Whitefield Estate
    3.4 million square feet of workspace
    major upgrades to the local transport network, including building an additional Thameslink railway station and transport interchange linking to King’s Cross St Pancras in less than 15 minutes
    more than £400 million invested in transport infrastructure to provide new roads and increased capacity at key junctions;
    new bridges over the A406 North Circular and Midland Mainline to improve walking and cycling routes (the Living Bridge) connecting Brent Cross and Cricklewood communities
    creating a new town centre to the south of the North Circular with shops, cafes, restaurants and office space
    three new replacement schools (Claremont Primary School, Whitefield Secondary School and Mapledown Special Needs School)
    replacement Leisure Centre, new health centres, childcare facilities, neighbourhood police units and new community facilities
    21 acres of new open space walkways and improvement of existing open spaces
    new employment opportunities for local people (Quote)

This is what we call urban regeneration. Not a single privately owned hotel.

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Enuff at 10 :36 AM

The referenced upload supports Hal’s argument of a public purpose. Urban development and redevelopment.

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal

We were probably keyboarding simultaneously.

28. @Vincent

Do we have a list of the properties that were acquired in the UK example?

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Did you read the referenced document? There is enough information contained therein to convince me that any acquisition would be for a higher public/ social purpose. I do not need the minutiae. I too know the area.

30. @Vincent

We are conflating several issues so that points are supported. All agree we need to improve the urban area. We will quibble about how until the cows come home.

31. @ Vincent

I cannot understand what the discussion is about, but I am not surprised. It is so basic. It is what I call the Barbadian Condition – arguing for argument’s sake, or to prove a point.
    It is an inability to think of the moral hazard of compulsorily purchasing private property to hand over to a chosen private developer. Here is an example: I will tell the prime minister, get me a good spot in Broad Street and I will put millions in his/her UK bank account.
    The prime minister, usually the minister of planning, comes up with a bogus plan for the development of Broad Street, which includes the compulsory purchase. Bingo.
    A public interest must be clearly defined and so far we have not had one. In the Charles Herbert case, the DPP withdrew the case on the grounds of so-called public interest, but it was not defined and the court did not ask questions.
    Now we are told that Liquidation Centre has been compulsorily purchased for public purpose (in the public interest). Again, no definition has been given. In the background there is something about Urban Regeneration, but again not proposals have been published.
    Not surprisingly, our public debaters and academics have not put forward a definition or wider explanation. They talk as if we are all on the same page. I say no.
    It is an abuse of process for a government to compulsorily purchase a private property to hand over to another property developer for a private development.
    The onus is now on the government to tell us why this acquisition is a proper use of its powers. A proposed 12-hotel corridor is not an urban regeneration policy.
    As usual, instead of debating the issues, the BU loudmouths resort to personal abuse and hysteria. It is the outcome of learning by rote: once you have exhausted your arguments you throw a tantrum like a toddler.
    We know the prime minister is not one for details. Was this matter discussed in Cabinet, or did she consult @Enuff?

32. Ahem….. may I point out that one country is not like the other? What pertains in the UK will not bear any resemblance to what goes on in Bim? I looked out my window this am and it was sunny, others looked out their window in Bimshire and it was also sunny but those in Bim will have vastly different clothing options from my own.

That simple analogy won’t pass muster with the high foreheads here but I am continuing to look out at the paw prints in the backyard. Wait is that the neighboring cat or did a coyote jump over the fence?

33. @ Hal
    Your endurance is commendable.

34. @ David December 7, 2019 11:05 AM

BTW, Blogmaster, what’s the position with the ‘gutted’ Empire Building just a stone throw away from the now Liquidated Centre?

Has it been sold and who is currently expressing an interest other than in turning it into a brewery for the ‘sophisticated’ drinkers of discerning taste?

Why not turn it into a cannabis ‘cafe’ (with free WiFI and all) like the ones in Amsterdam?

At least the Fire Service HQ is just a ‘stone(d) throw’ away in case there is too much smoking in the air.

35. @William

What does your comment mean?

Are you suggesting all views should not contend here?

We are buffoons to have contrary positions?

36. Last we heard the brewery idea was declined by TP. Willing to be corrected.

37. @ William

A cold weekend and I am at home alone. Makes a change from reading and TV.

38. I going ask the party loyalist to compare the below examples of where the acquisition act was used and then tell me which were for the betterment of the state and it’s people.

The acquisition of land by Tom Adams to build the ABC Highway for all to benefit from.

The acquisition of the land known as Greaves End for the construction of The Spring Garden for all to benefit from.

The acquisition of parcels of land island wide for playing fields, Nation Housing etc. All of which Barbadians benefit from.

Finally the purchase of a property so as to facilitate a deal between 2 private entities, where only the seller and developer will benefit from.

I guess they will tell you a few maids and gardeners will get work. But wait didn’t I hear that the final reincarnation of this projected was to include ” Privately owned units?” So will it not be at the discretion of these owners to decide if they want to rent theirs or not?

Anyhow that was in fine print so let we ignore that and say all is well in paradise.

39. @John A

Who benifited from purchasing lots along the highway before it was developed? Do not go there John A.

40. @ John A December 7, 2019 12:06 PM

There is one outstanding factor which significantly marks the difference between the first three acquisitions and the last one on your list.

That is one of funding. The first 3 were financed by way of loans which were repaid out of the public purse.

The last one is a figment of MM’s imagination. But there is every chance that the government via the NIS might end up with a genuine white elephant on its books and, just like the CLICO assets, would be ‘morphed’ to form another GEM of a investment disaster sitting in the taxpayers’ shaky lap already overburdened by BERT.

41. David that is how it is supposed to work. The state puts in the infrastructure and then the economy expands around it based on private sector activity between sellers and buyers. Of course then the state gets the transfer tax on the sales along with benefiting from being able to charge increased land taxes on the improved value of the land being sold.

What is not clear about that?

42. When were the lots purchased on the ridge? When the land was purchased the announcement about the ABC highway was made public?

43. @ Miller.

Lord don’t tell me the default plan is the NIS piggy bank once more! In the words of a learned philosopher the NIS nipples will surely be sore if that was to occur (again).

44. On what basis would the government use NIS funds to build the hotel. Let us keep the discisoat a sensible level.

45. @ David
    I think @ Hal got the inference. If you didn’t get it , I understand. By now those who are genuinely concerned about Barbados have been identified. There are others who will never see anything beyond George and Roebuck Streets to engage them calls for commendable endurance.
    Hal has certainly demonstrated such endurance. I therefore as is my right chose to offer him a complement. As is their right to never see anything beyond George and Roebuck Streets.
    I hope you get it if not no problem. All comments are welcomed as is your philosophy on occasion.

46. @ David.

All over the world that is how the system works. Government puts in the infrastructure then private enterprise fuels the growth. The state then benefits in the form of increased land taxes, Vat on building materials and everything associated with economic activity.

For example years ago when the Black Rock road was rebuilt do you know economic activity increased substantially? But the following year land taxes also increased as well..

47. @ William

You are very kind.

48. @ December 7, 2019 12:34 PM

Given the ‘cloud of secrecy’ surrounding the money behind the construction of the many incarnations of Hyatt and the subsequent compulsory land acquisition by the government of additional land space to facilitate a bigger behemoth one can only conclude that the government would conduct another raid on the country’s piggy bank as it did with the All Seasons fiasco at Paradise.

Don’t you think- in the interest of transparency and professional decency and in order to stymie the guessing game and rumour mongering- the source(s) of funds for such a massively important project of such national economic game-changing significance for a dying city ought to be identified?

Supposed it is from laundry-cleaned money?

We know that of Beaches and even that of the Wyndham currently in ICU. Why not the Hyatt whatever? What’s so secret about a hotel carrying the name of God’s Light?

49. @ David

Let me give you an example of where the acquisition act would have my support.

Let us say somewhere off the ABC Highway land was acquired to provide a farmers market for Bajans to bring their produce to sell to the public, that I would support. I would do so for 2 reasons. Firstly it will give Bajans access to self employment. Secondly it would reduce our import bill while at the same time offering the consumer better prices to the Super Market, as their retail mark up would not be a factor at the farmers market.

That my friend is an example of land acquisition benefiting the state and the Bajan tax payer at the same time. After all isn’t a USD saved on food import the same as as USD spent by a tourist in the final equation?

50. @John A

The point you missed is as per usual many private people benefited from the construction of the highway before it was made public. Also there was strident opposition to its construction, same as today.

Finally we will have our different interpretations of regeneration, physical development or whatever we want to call it.