The Editor
Barbados Underground

Dear Sir/Madam

Recently,the Attorney General, Mr. Dale Marshall made some observations about the “Liquidation Center” which has been compulsory acquired by government. According to Marshall, the Center has been deemed unfit by the Public Health officials due to the high rodent infestation among other things. Marshall also went onto claim that four illegal connections to the potable water supply of this country were discovered on the premises of the “Liquidation Center.” I have some question that need clarification by Marshall.

1.) Were there inspections of the premises by the Public Health (Environmental) Officers up to the point of closure by government? If the answer is yes,the question remains why was the premises not closed before the seizure by government? One is left to infer that either there was political interference by both sets of government, hindering the Public Health Officers from doing their job, or that the Public Health Officers looked the other way,to avoid witnessing all of the defects which have suddenly appeared.

2). The four illegal connections to the country’s potable water supply seems to be a red-herring deflecting from the high-handed manner in which the closure took place. Marshall wants the populace to believe that with the water being disconnected, the business continued apace without toilet facilities. At some point following disconnection, the authorities must have wondered how it was that the business continued apace without a pause. One is left to conclude that there was some kind of tacit connivance on the part of the authorities.

The government seems to be acting in an totalitarian manner in this affair. In small countries like Barbados one must be on guard against totalitarianism .

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D.

314 responses to “Government Complicit in the Liquidation Centre Matter”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin

I am reading you loud and clear,despite the noise. You must recall the adage that “there is none so blind as he who does not want to see.” I am forced to agree that there is indeed a Barbadian Condition. I need to be inoculated.

2. Lord I give up. Lol

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    because you have now repeated it many times….where did you learn that “the DPP withdrew the case on the grounds of so-called public interest”. Everything I read reported, said it was due to a lack of evidence.

4. @ David December 7, 2019 12:34 PM

Why was some of the NIS ‘easy’ money put into the Apes Hill Development project?

Was it not seen as a golden opportunity to drive development in the vital forex earning sector of the large import-based high conspicuous consumption Bajan economy and also to grab at the chance to earn a decent ROI on the funds to meet long-term pension liabilities?

So why do you think the Hyatt case would be any different?

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 1:24 PM

Have you given up already? This is just the beginning. I believe you have stopped in order to breathe . Catch you breath ,my boy, the road is long.

6. @ Vincent

You right to laugh at me I ain’t vex wid yuh.

7. @Miller

At some point you have to believe that mistakes will not be repeated I’d not what is the point?

8. @ Northern Observer

It was reported at the time the case was abandoned. I immediately jumped on it and like most thing it had an echo. In journalism there is also the concept of public interest. We always say because the public is interested does not mean it is in the public interest. It is also a key concept in philosophy and law.
    That is why I was (am) keen to see what the Bajan definition was (is). I hope you are happy with this because I have a couple books on the subject but won’t know where to find them. Part of my mis-spent youth.

9. As far as the blogmaster is aware and confirmed in the link the case against Herbert was dropped because of lack of evidence.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/26/dpp-drops-charges-against-charles-herbert/

10. I always hear about throwing out a sprat to ketch a shark. I posted that link on purpose because I knew that Hal would jump out and boast, as Miller always accuse him of living in a flat in Brent. I will now go through his response piece by piece.

“This is what we call urban regeneration. Not a single privately owned hotel.”

Firstly, the same Hal previously argued that urban regeneration is not a public purpose. Secondly, urban regeneration is tailored to suit the context; therefore, the regeneration of Bridgetown will not mirror Brent Cross. Secondly, it is known that the regeneration of B’town does not consists solely of one hotel as is being dishonestly purported by the expert. The PDP includes a separate plan for Bridgetown, which sets the context for regeneration. This is supported by the Special Development Areas Act with incentives. There was also a Pierhead master plan. So his talk about there being no documents etc is yet another example of the expert being uninformed and pretending to know everything.

I also knew that the expert would point to the housing etc. What is KEY to the link is that the CPO facilitates private development, which includes the traditional public purpose housing, infrastructure etc, but also privately owned retail and office space. So do we now accept that land is CPOed for private developers’ use? Why didn’t the private developers negotiate purchasing the land on their own? Having said all of this, what is the creation of jobs, the physical and economic transformation of Bridgetown if not public purpose? In concluding, I restate that the acquisition of Ms.Ram property to facilitate the construction of a Hyatt hotel by a private developer as part of the regeneration of Bridgetown is logical and is no different to providing and expanded shopping centre and office space. Y’all can continue to inflate Hal’s ego but he’s out of his depth….as nusual.

11. It comes to about Bd$130/sq ft. Much more than the Bd$75/sq ft that they say that they have been offered, but much less than the $250/sq ft that they are demanding.

++++++++++++++++++++++

I know of a piece of land, about 2 acres of beachfront property on the South Coast, lets say 100,000 sft, that sold in 2005 for 12 million.

A couple of months later was flipped for $18 million and then advertised at $25 million, all within a year.

$120/sft –> $180/sft –> $250/sft.

A matter of record so Ms. Ram is couple of steps ahead of the game and way above most people’s pay grade.

She knows she is dealing with con artists and she been around long enough and dealt with enough con artists spanning two centuries to ensure she won’t be an easy mark!!

All a matter of record for Ms. Ram to follow!!

Maybe the GOB should offer her the lot opposite the Esplanade it owns with the unproductive office space and see if she considers it a fair exchange!!

12. @ David December 7, 2019 1:50 PM

The litany of recurring mistakes as outlined in the multiple Auditor General’s reports indicate that this is a deliberately set course of agreed action by the political class playing the electorate like a game of ‘piggy-in-the-middle’.

Based on hearsay and what is recorded in the various manifestoes of both parties can you identify any difference between what was sold to the people in 2008 to what took place as a grand larceny of the naïve people’s trust in 2018?

Who is carrying the can for these deliberately repeated ‘mistakes?

Who is fooling whom if not naïve you?

What would convince you that William Skinner is right on the money when he bets on the Duopoly remaining in business unless a tsunami of a third force visits the Bajan political shores?

Would you be convinced, at last, if MAM offers a knighthood to both the Right Honourable (RH) Freundel and Owen as a perfect example of peace in the political valley before the dawning of the Republic of Barbados?

13. @ Enuff December 7, 2019 2:25 PM
    “Having said all of this, what is the creation of jobs, the physical and economic transformation of Bridgetown if not public purpose? In concluding, I restate that the acquisition of Ms.Ram property to facilitate the construction of a Hyatt hotel by a private developer as part of the regeneration of Bridgetown is logical and is no different to providing and expanded shopping centre and office space.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ok, “Enuff” we hear you loud and clear.

Based on what you have argued, and must it be said, rather convincingly, are you suggesting that the GoB would have a stake in that Hyatt Hotel property based on its contribution of additional land?

Now, you couldn’t want a more long-term investment than that involving the asset called land, that is ‘real’ property and not just concrete and fittings!

14. Come to think of it, Ms. Ram is the only real mega Hotel Magnate in Barbados.

Mr. Maloney should step back and see if he can’t do business with her!!

After all, she’s got what he ain’t got!!

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    “It was reported at the time the case was abandoned”. Are you sure? What I read reported, was there was a lack of evidence.

16. @ Enuff

Why are you fabricating nonsense. Plse give details, on BU or anywhere else, when I said urban regeneration was not a public good. That is my very point. The Hyatt development is not a public good. I would normally ignore this crap, but some clever guy in future will quote it as fact.
    Simple man, how could urban regeneration (redevelopment) in Barbados mirror that in London. But, in every case, it must be in the public interest. That is the issue about Ms Ram’s property. If the redevelopment of Bridgetown is not a single hotel, plse tell me where I can find a complete urban redevelopment proposal, which includes the Hyatt Hotel.
    Not just developments as silos, but a comprehensive development plan (ie urban redevelopment, not a pierhead development, or a Fairchild Street development, etc. a joined up plan).
    Section 106 of the 1990 Town and Country Planning Act of England and Wales allows for local authorities (planning authorities) and property developers to work together. Don’t talk about something you know nothing about.
    For example, a new block of flats may get permission to go ahead if a number of those flats are set aside for social housing. Or a development could get the go-ahead if the developer offers to build a youth club.
    Or, in Brent, as you mentioned Brent, a local library was sold to developers to be used to build flats AND A LIBRARY. So locals still have their library and additional flats.
    (I have written about this principle in one of my old Notes….something I said governments of Barbados should utilise, especially in relation to West Coast developments). So your point is irrelevant (unless you are going to fabricate a case that I have also denied this too)..
    I am still waiting for a legal (or planning) definition of public interest. Still waiting. And waiting. By the way, I do not and have never lived in a flat in Brent, but it shows how crap can be picked up by the brain-dead and used again. In fact, I once lived in Golders Green, a few hundred yards away from Brent Cross.
    Stick to the argument and stop with what you think are personal digs. To me they say you are out of an argument. You seem obsessed with the idea that my ego needs inflating. I have never made any such claim for myself. I like challenging nonsense put forward by silly people, otherwise I am a happy bunny..

17. GPDecember 5, 2019 7:30 PM

THE ISSUE IS NOT BEING SORRY FOR MRS RAM
    THE ISSUE IS THE PRINCIPLE OF THE MATTER
    WHAT MANY HAVE GONE THROUGH AT THE HANDS OF GOB MIGHT NOT BE KNOWN, BUT WHAT IS BEING DONE TO MRS RAM IS BEING DONE IN THE OPEN AS IS CAUSE FOR CONCERN. IT SPEAKS OF AN IMPENDING DICTATORSHIP!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If it wasn’t known it is because you guys were not listening not because the people were not speaking.

I repeat – how is what’s happening to Ms. Ram change the status quo for the average man? When Ms. Ram gets her “justice” will we get ours?

Hardly likely!

We all know there is one law for the Medes and another for the Persians.

18. @ Northern Observer

When the three appeared before Magistrate Douglas Frederick this morning the prosecutor, Acting Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Trevor Blackman informed the sitting of the recommendations from the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) Queen’s Counsel Donna Babb-Agard regarding the case.
    ASP Blackman reading from a memorandum from the DPP which indicated that no further action would be taken against 62-year-old Herbert, of Redland Plantation, St George.
    “A thorough review of the police file does not reach the evidential standard which justifies proceeding with the case against accused Arthur [Charles] Herbert,” the prosecutor who was acting as the DPP’s representative in the matter said.

He explained that the decision was taken on the grounds of the evidential test and the public interest test – which fall under the Code for Public Prosecutor of Barbados 2014.(Quote)

19. And are the two considerations exclusively used in backwater Little Britain the failed state? Guess what, similar consideration was used to support DPP decisions by the former colonial master in the UK. Another failed state?

https://policyexchange.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/in-the-public-interest.pdf

20. @Miller

Here is what we know:

• the government is in dire need for projects to mobilize to kickstart economic activity especially in the construction sector for obvious reasons.
    • the government has gone out of its way to acquire Ms. Rams dump location to facilitate the proposed Hyatt project.
    • one must assume there is some legitimacy to the transaction which will have to be revealed at some point.
    • the blogmaster will stake all common sense on the bet funding will NOT come from the depleted NIS scheme which is our Rh lifeline.

21. @ Hal Austin

Ignorant people like to wallow in their own ignorance and arrogance.

You are wasting your time with these Bufoons who will try to prove you wrong at every turn to satisfy their small-minded mentalities.

IT ONE OF THE MAIN REASONS Barbados is up shit creek without a paddle.

22. @ Baje

Thanks.

23. The buffoons must be doing some thing right with you lot logged in day and night.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    fair enough.
    However you forgot to include the paragraphs which followed, in your quote from Barbados Today.

“The public interest test, Blackman said, required that serious cases such as possession and trafficking of illicit drugs, once grounded in the sufficiency of the evidence, must be prosecuted in the public’s interest.”
    “There is an inordinate prevalence of drug offences in Barbados and of the deleterious effects of drugs on our society and more particularly the youth. In cases such as this one, consideration must be given to factors such as, the seriousness of the offences committed; the level of culpability of each accused and the impact which these types of offences have on the community.
    “The evidential test, requires that there must be enough evidence to provide ‘realistic prospect of conviction’ against each accused on these drug charges . . . that evidence must be reliable and probative . . .[and] meet the required standard to pass the evidential stage.”
    As such he told Magistrate Frederick, “No further action should be taken against accused Herbert.” [Quote]

How you can conclude “the DPP withdrew the case on the grounds of so-called public interest”, seems to be ‘reaching’? What was lacking was the sufficiency of evidence.

25. @Hal

It is a joy to read your contributions across the many posts.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

David December 7, 2019 4:31 PM

Point #1…true
    #2….true
    #3..assumptions of “legitimacy” and “revealing” are risky, when dealing with politicians, even if you cover with “at some time”
    #4…does the NIS buying GoB paper, the funds from which are used to create a “Hotel development Fund” any different from a direct loan?

27. @ Northern Observer

Plse read the extract from the original report. How you interpret that is up to you. My point is the need for clarity about what is a Barbadian legal definition of public interest. In the UK I can tell you how we interpret public interest, in theory and in case law, which means if the basics are not followed the state can be challenged.
    In journalism there is also a public interest aspect ie libel law and privacy, etc. The Leveson Inquiry also dealt with the concept. The question is: what do we mean when we use the phrase in Barbados?

@Theo

Thanks.

28. You always must be right even when you are proved WRONG!

@Northern Observer

The conclusion by the blogmaster is based on the tipping point consideration. There is no wiggle room or opportunity under BERT / IMF to restart the paper printing factory.

29. Is it in the Public’s Interest?
    The most common justification that journalists make for their work is that it is “in the public interest.” It is this notion that underscores the moral authority of journalism to ask hard questions of people in power, to invade the privacy of others and to sometimes test the limits of ethical practice in order to discover the truth.
    But what exactly is the public interest? And how do journalists ensure that they always respect it in the way they work? The following text goes some way to providing answers and owes much to a recent posting of Bob Egginton in the journalism support site Media Helping Media.
    Put simply, the public interest is about what matters to everyone in society. It is about the common good, the general welfare and the security and well-being of everyone in the community we serve.
    The public interest is not just what the readers, listeners or viewers want either as consumers or people who want to be entertained.
    It is about issues which affect everyone, even if many of them are not aware of it or even if they don’t appear to care.
    Normally, it is clear to journalists and editors what is and what is not in the public interest, but sometimes it’s a complex question, particularly where privacy is concerned.
    It may be useful, therefore, to try to apply a public interest test.
    The first task, however, is to separate what is in the public interest from those things members of the public are interested in; they are not necessarily the same.
    Many people may be interested, for instance, in celebrity and popular culture, and demonstrably less interested in the dull realities of public services. But the potential for dramatic impact on peoples’ lives makes the provision of basic services – transport, education, health, sanitation, for instance – absolutely vital matters of public concern.
    Just because the public is interested in something has nothing to do with whether it is in the public interest.
    The public interest is in having a safe, healthy and fully-functioning society. In a democracy, journalism plays a central role in that. It gives people the information they need to take part in the democratic process. That is why there is a public service ethic at the heart all of serious journalism.
    If journalists are good at their job, and to win the rust of the public they must hold governments and other institutions to account and they must act and behave ethically.
    The Media Helping Media site’s training modules on editorial ethics cover many of the issues involved.
    But sometimes there are reasons to vary from standard, good practice, in order to bring an important subject to the public’s attention.
    Journalists should be open and honest about who and what they are. They should always give their names and say which news organisation they work for.
    However, sometimes a journalist may have to resort to subterfuge to expose wrongdoing. Such acts of deception are normally to be avoided, but if it is necessary to deliver justice it may be justified in the wider public interest.
    The privacy test
    Privacy is the critical test of ethical journalism and the public interest. Journalists should not intrude into the private lives of ordinary people, after all most people do not live in the glare of public life.
    But people who are public figures – politicians, or corporate leaders, or people who exploit and rely on their public image for their livelihood, or who carry a public responsibility such as police officers, teachers and doctors – are sometime people whose private affairs may have an important impact on their public duties.
    Media intrusion, ethically justified by reasons of the public interest, exposes hypocrisy and dishonesty. But whenever it is used it must be justified. The reasons for the intrusion must be clearly explained to the public. It must be linked to the wider public interest.
    Some countries build “the public interest” into their legal systems. For example, a number of countries protect “whistleblowers” who speak out wrongdoing in their place of work. It is important, therefore, to examine the legal conditions in which information is given and whether or not it has legal protection when it is revealed in the public interest.
    The Impact Test
    One important way of testing whether there is a public interest in journalistic work is to evaluate what the impact of publication will be. How will publication affect the people – who will suffer and who will benefit? Does wider society benefit from publication?
    This is a difficult and delicate judgement, and each case must be judged carefully. At stake is not just the potential victims of poor reporting, but the reputation of journalists and the media organisation may well suffer if publication is perceived as not acting in the public interest.
    An interesting case concerns the actions of a tabloid newspaper in the United Kingdom which began publishing pictures and names and addresses of known paedophiles as part of a “name and shame” campaign. This was cut short after considerable protests over whether the wider public interest was served by putting some of these individuals at risk of public hostility.
    The decision on the question of public interest needs to be taken at the highest level. The decision must be taken by the editor, or the highest available authority in your news organisation. Even so, it may not be the right one, but where controversy is possible it is always wise for there to be a proper reflection on the issues and possible consequences.
    Normally publications should seek to correct significant wrongs, should promote the well-being, welfare and safety of the public, should raise public awareness of important issues and should make a contribution towards promoting good conduct in public life.
    The public interest tests set out here can help journalists to resolve difficult ethical dilemmas. Even when they have to do work which sometimes does not fit well with their obligations to be open they can preserve their integrity and maintain their ethical balance when they can justify acting in the public interest.

30. The “public interest” is a political concept that’s regularly trotted out along with other democratic principles such as transparency and accountability. And, like transparency and accountability, it’s difficult to pin down exactly what it means.
    Deputy NSW Ombudsman Chris Wheeler has pointed out:
    … while it is one of the most used terms in the lexicon of public administration, it is arguably the least defined and least understood … identifying or determining the appropriate public interest in any particular case is often no easy task.
    Centuries of scholarship examine the public interest alongside the “common good”, “common interest”, and “public good”, associated with some big names in political philosophy. Common among their thinking was the idea that governments should serve the people, and the people should be the beneficiaries of governing.
    Why is the public interest so hard to define?
    The public interest is such a complex and tricky concept to navigate because it has intentionally evolved as ambiguous and mutable. It has no overarching definition because it is contextually determined in scope and purpose.
    This means, in any particular instance, political, legal and regulatory authorities make judgement calls. And what may be deemed in the public interest today may not be in a decade; it changes with social mores and values.

For example, during the UK’s Leveson Inquiry into the media, the public interest came under close scrutiny. The inquiry found media practice should better reflect the contemporary views of the British public.
    As Guardian blogger Andrew Sparrow said:
    50 years ago it was assumed that there was a public interest in knowing that an MP was gay, but little or no public interest in whether he drove home drunk, hit his wife or furnished his house using wood from non-sustainable sources. Now, obviously, it’s the other way round.

Legal bodies and judgements also steer clear of definitions. The Australian Law Reform Commission has expressly noted:
    Public interest should not be defined.

And, in a Federal Court Freedom of Information case, justice Brian Tamberlin wrote:
    The public interest is not one homogenous undivided concept. It will often be multi-faceted and the decision-maker will have to consider and evaluate the relative weight of these facets before reaching a final conclusion as to where the public interest resides.
    Most will never have reason or occasion to engage with the public interest in an official sense; we leave that to politicians, officials, judges, heads of inquiries, and so on. Wheeler places the onus squarely on their shoulders:
    Public officials have an overarching obligation to act in the public interest.
    Public interest is about more than compliance
    Monday night’s Four Corners program put the Gold Coast City Council and its “developers, donations and big decisions” under a public interest spotlight.

ABC Four Corners program All That Glitters.
    What was intriguing about the program was the conflation of the public interest with “real or perceived conflicts of interest” as relating to development issues.
    Gold Coast Mayor Tom Tate and his deputy, Donna Gates, both described staying in council chambers to participate in discussion and vote on development issues citing the “public interest” as holding overriding importance.
    Giving evidence before the Crime and Corruption Commission, Gates said:
    I have, in the main, stayed in the room to vote in the public interest because I firmly believe that that’s what I need to do.
    Journalist Mark Willacy and Tate pointed out that all behaviour is legally compliant. Willacy concluded:
    What’s happening with development here is well within the law and to many that’s the problem.
    But (despite its lack of definition) the public interest should mean more than legal compliance – it is as much about process and procedure as it is outcome. It’s also about governance and ethics.
    Wheeler lists seven elements that better round out the full process that should take place:
    complying with applicable law (both its letter and spirit);
    carrying out functions fairly and impartially;
    complying with the principles of procedural fairness/natural justice;
    acting reasonably;
    ensuring accountability and transparency;
    exposing corrupt conduct or serious maladministration;
    avoiding or properly managing private interests conflicting with official duties; and
    acting apolitically in the performance of official functions.
    There’s no rule book for working in the public interest and, despite arguments that it is too loose, ambiguous and easy to hide behind, it is an integral part of the discourse, law, regulation and governance of modern democracies.
    Some professions, such as the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, have tackled it head-on. This would seem a prudent measure for all professions in the future.

31. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Baje

You would be well advised to look at the response to your post AND SEE WITH WHOM THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER IDENTIFIES

When he says and I quote

“… David December 7, 2019 4:58 PM

The buffoons must be doing some thing right with you lot logged in day and night…”

He utilizes the definite article “the” before the plural appellation buffons and embraces what you submitted as multiple, unknown parties.

But he has identified, not as one of the many BUT THE MANY!

So you start to see why de ole man is of the opinion that HE IS IN FACT ONE OF THEM?

Why would he create a blog that is for the people then make a surious remark when the same people come to his site and look?

Are you feeling me?

That comment caused me to wonder how my Dearest SSS is and how motherhood is treating her

@ my Dearest SSS

God bless you and little one

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    in case you hadn’t noticed….on the topic of the Bay St compulsory acquisition….WE are on the same page. As are several others. It sets a very dangerous precedent.

As far as the CH case, you may continue as you wish. Bottom line….they didn’t have the evidence to convict. In fact, it seems highly questionable, whether evidence available at the time of charging, even supported a charge. Yet, in the Barbadian social context, how could they not charge him? 75% of the island already had him convicted. As you term it, part of the Barbadian Condition. Retribution for past untried offences by those of his skin tone.

33. Piece the jackass if you do not like how David BU is running his blog then take a hike amd go form your own. Trust me YOU WOULD NOT BE MISSED except by your wing man Theophilus and a few more.In my view Mrs Ram based on her treatment of bajan workers is getting what she deserves no sympathy from me whatsoever.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    you mean when you name your main economic program, using an acronym of the name of the lead IMF person, one cannot have a likkle ‘wiggle room’. Surely you have earned it?
    To besides, now that Sagicor is trading on the TSX, that has increased the foreign component of the NIS portfolio, which by itself creates ‘wiggle room’. In fact, that could be ‘jump up and party room’.

35. @Northern Observer

Members of the BU household will jump up when our hair grows back.

36. Hal
    A man that is unfamiliar with the concept of existing use value+ and assumed that vacant or unused land meant a nil value is applied in this approach is telling me I don’t know what I am talking about. What I know in my little finger from knowledge and experience is more than your entire body’s worth and I can provide evidence to back up my claim too; but I enjoy the likes of you telling me I know nothing.🤣🤣🤣

Next thing, urban regeneration is based on broad principles and driven by a masterplan or many master plans, with individual plots coming forward separately with their own design etc. The Hyatt is just one facet. Did I not say there is a Bridgetown Community Plan and an Act to incentivise development? Does that sound like a disparate, ad hoc approach? Did the government not have an investors’ conference? What you think they sold to investors? Have you ever worked on a single regeneration project? You simply think that public purpose could only be infrastructure or housing but that’s patently false and tells me you are clueless. Public purpose entails economic development too; and only a fool, the clueeless or the narrow-minded would argue that the regeneration of our capital city Bridgetown, including tourism-oriented uses, serves no public purpose. You and the Enuff opposers may continue in your high ignorance.

37. NorthernObserver
    December 7, 2019 5:55 PM

@HA
    in case you hadn’t noticed….on the topic of the Bay St compulsory acquisition….WE are on the same page. As are several others. It sets a very dangerous precedent.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Precedent? Precedent?

This is standard practice in Barbados.

GOB expropriates lands as an when it is so moved and pays or not according also to how it is moved.

Ms. Ram is actually a breath of fresh air!!

If she is successful that will set the precedent!!

38. David
    December 7, 2019 4:31 PM

@Miller
    Here is what we know:

the government is in dire need for projects to mobilize to kickstart economic activity especially in the construction sector for obvious reasons.

the government has gone out of its way to acquire Ms. Rams dump location to facilitate the proposed Hyatt project.

one must assume there is some legitimacy to the transaction which will have to be revealed at some point.

We don’t know any such thing!!!

Four Seasons was one such project.

.. and Halcyon and God knows how many more.

Economy wasn’t kickstarted!!

Why not direct these investors to completing Four Seasons … or Halcyon.

How much NIS money is in Four Seasons?

Leff Ms. Ram and Mr. Maloney alone let dem figure out what is what for demselves!!

If Mr. Maloney can handle Ms. Ram, power to him, if not, learn from the experience!!

39. Miss Ram is a skeezy operator who is part of the problem in Barbados. It is good to see the public squabble with her former friends playing out. She has become a multimillionaire off the backs of black people in Barbados facilitated by the political and business class. May she rot in her current demise.

40. No sympathy from me either for Mrs. Ram based on the bd stories i have heard enough her

However two wrongs never make a right and i would be the proverbial jac.a.ss to sing from a hymn that states because Karma might have visited Mrs. Ram i would close my eyes to an ungodly opportunistic measure placed on Rams head by govt and say it is alright
    Hell No. A precedent set means i might be next on govt hit list
    Hell No .when i see my democratic rights being eroded i will kick up dirt come hell or high water

41. We would believe you IF your position was consistent. Do you recall you held no similar position when you found out MICHAEL CARRINGTON stole money from a 70 year old man sitting in a wheelchair?

42. David not even the weather is consistent nature made man with that such characteristic for good reason in avoidance of becoming robotic creatures

Any how can you remind me what was my position on Carrington…sigh..double sigh
    Whatever my position it is clear that govt has set a precedent which can erode the democratic right of many
    Which brings to mind the homes situated along that corridor that are still habitable and Mia promise of having hotel stock from bridgetown to the airport.
    All when put together and stacked against the poor homeowner it wouldnt take much to figure out who would be the loser when the smoke of legal dust clears the air.

43. Spot on!

44. @ Piece

@ Baje

You would be well advised to look at the response to your post AND SEE WITH WHOM THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER IDENTIFIES

When he says and I quote

“… David December 7, 2019 4:58 PM

The buffoons must be doing some thing right with you lot logged in day and night…”
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I CALL IT A CHILDLIKE TANTRUM WHEN ONE DOESN’T GETS ONE WAY…

45. Spot on!

46. David the spots on you now have turned to sores for you not being able to understand how the mind of a megalomaniac works

47. Spot on!

48. David look i am agreeing with u
    This might be a first
    Spot on
    Wuhloss muh belly

49. Did this one not get some shite title from Mia and UWI last year. Did it come with a diplomatic passport. Corrupt little Caribbean leaders at their ugly best. Caught at Gatwick with money.

https://www.facebook.com/1475836952667434/posts/2424674321117021/?sfnsn=scwspmo