The Editor
Barbados Underground

Dear Sir/Madam

Recently,the Attorney General, Mr. Dale Marshall made some observations about the “Liquidation Center” which has been compulsory acquired by government. According to Marshall, the Center has been deemed unfit by the Public Health officials due to the high rodent infestation among other things. Marshall also went onto claim that four illegal connections to the potable water supply of this country were discovered on the premises of the “Liquidation Center.” I have some question that need clarification by Marshall.

1.) Were there inspections of the premises by the Public Health (Environmental) Officers up to the point of closure by government? If the answer is yes,the question remains why was the premises not closed before the seizure by government? One is left to infer that either there was political interference by both sets of government, hindering the Public Health Officers from doing their job, or that the Public Health Officers looked the other way,to avoid witnessing all of the defects which have suddenly appeared.

2). The four illegal connections to the country’s potable water supply seems to be a red-herring deflecting from the high-handed manner in which the closure took place. Marshall wants the populace to believe that with the water being disconnected, the business continued apace without toilet facilities. At some point following disconnection, the authorities must have wondered how it was that the business continued apace without a pause. One is left to conclude that there was some kind of tacit connivance on the part of the authorities.

The government seems to be acting in an totalitarian manner in this affair. In small countries like Barbados one must be on guard against totalitarianism .

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D.

314 responses to “Government Complicit in the Liquidation Centre Matter”

1. Sea water or brackish water will flush toilets too!!

A small submersible pump in a hole a few feet deep in the building area would supply all the water the building could ever need if toilet facilities were all it was to be used for.

Once there is electricity in the building water is available!!

Just needs a little ingenuity

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

Slowly BUT SURELY, a people who have been asleep for more than 53 years are waking up TO A DICTATORSHIP IN THEIR FRONT DOORS

300,000 citizens less the Mugabe Regime, are comprehending what de ole man been crying in the wilderness saying.

MUGABE AMIN MOTTLEY IS A DICTATOR!!!

And, as if to punctuate de ole man’s words the country has now BOTH OFFICIALLY AND UNOFFICIALLY PASSED MY 50 DEATHS PREDICTION

Remember the 3 deaths in Warren with the father and 2 children?

Though the apologists will say that he ent kill nobody THEY ASCENDED TO THE BEYOND BY AN ELIJAH LIKE FIRE!

But slowly ALL CITIZEN LIBERTIES ARE BEING DENIED and the sad thing is that the Churches in Barbados ARE REMAINING DUMB as is the wider society.

Mute like RH!

3. PIECE
    THE SCRIPTURE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS Isaiah 56:10
    His watchmen are blind: they are all ignorant, they are all dumb dogs, they cannot bark; sleeping, lying down, loving to slumber.

4. PIECE
    HERE IS THE LESSON
    How to set a poor example!
    Here we have the bankrupt leadership of the nation.
    Blind Watchmen – that fail to watch.
    Security Guards hanging out at the local RUM SHOP instead of watching the housing track assigned to them.

Bark-less Dogs – that failed to bark.
    Bark-less, lazy, & greedy watchdogs.
    You wouldn’t have them guard your junk yard!

They refused to bark when they saw the NATIONAL intruders destroying the NATIONAL house.
    They loved to lie around & dream & sleep, failing to alert the nation about their spiritual disaster.
    They were more interested in their dog bowl than Doc-trine!

Selfish-Shepherds – that failed to watch over the sheep.
    They are only concerned with looking after himself.
    So preoccupied with Self-interest. Self-indulgent.
    These “leaders” had no vision, no message, were escapist, & self-pleasers!
    No wonder the NATION IN THE DUMPS !
    What a warning to NATIONAL leaders today!
    Their motto: “Drink, drink, & be merry, for tomorrow night we’ll party again!”
    some of them even promise solutions, but they have no solutions at all for the nation

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

It is a very sad day when, in an entire nation, NOT A FELLER IN THE ENTIRE BODY OF CHRIST, ENT SAYING WORD ONE!

Every week, Dr. GP, they in the newspaper talking about, National Prayer against the Evil Spirits in the Air causing Murders yet, the murder of Democracy is happening, in front their faces AND ALL THEIR MOUTHS ARE SEALED!!!

6. So much sh.it is happening in barbados cant believe that a country with people who boast selves on high intelligence can be so illterate to how this govt in 18mths has eroded much of their civil rights
    I have no great or sensational emotions for Mrs. Ram never bought in as much as a chair cover from the liquidation centre
    The only bone i have in this concoction is civil rights
    All else can be trashed out in a sea of emotion leading to no where
    For what it is worth between the Hyatt and the liquidation centre one plausible word is missing call Truth
    Until that word is put in its right the govt would continue to blow smoke in the peoples faces
    There are many questions which is begging for answers about the acquisition of the liquidation centre
    True to form govt came out with their polished list of accusations against the liquidation centrel
    However what was missing from that list were the following
    What did govt know during the 15mth acquisition
    When did they know it

7. Piece the Legend
    December 4, 2019 9:40 PM

Slowly BUT SURELY, a people who have been asleep for more than 53 years are waking up TO A DICTATORSHIP IN THEIR FRONT DOORS

Was this the bond belonging to Plantations (founded in 1917) which fell to CLICO in the 1980’s?

There is also a building next door to the bond I remember belonged to DETCO, an old family company formed in the 1940’s I believe.

Dowding Estates and Trading Company = DETCO

From whom did Ms. Ram get the building?

The GOB is complicit in ways you cannot imagine.

It just can’t help but destroy everything it touches.

Reverse Midas Touch!!

Fascism/Communism at work disguised as Democratic Socialism, all Godless, all destined to failure and bound to create misery.

We aren’t now waking up to a dictatorship, it’s been alive and well for however long you think we have been asleep.

8. … but before that we were awake, alert and poor, but extremely well.

Our strength came from God.

9. @ Dr. Lucas

Another eye-opener???

FRAUD CLAIMS….

Former DLP candidate sues over dismissal

A former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) who was appointed by the last Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Cabinet to manage the Hilton Barbados Resort Hotel, is suing his former employers over his dismissal in April this year.

Henderson Williams, who also unsuccessfully contested the City seat for the DLP in the May 2018 General Elections, appeared today in the High Court with his attorneys Neil Marshall and Hal Gollop Q.C., but the hearing was adjourned until January 30 because of a no-show by the Government team.

According to court documents filed on November 13, this year – copies of which have been obtained by Barbados TODAY – Williams is suing Needham’s Point Holdings Limited, the first defendant and Needham’s Point Development Inc., the second, on 11 grounds.

But the document first placed the history of the termination into perspective as the claimant sought to show how the actions of the defendants led to him suing the State.

It claimed that by letter dated March 4, 2019, Williams was suspended with immediate effect pending disciplinary investigation into undisclosed “alleged conduct”.

However, by letter dated April 30, 2019 and hand delivered by a messenger of the company, Williams was informed that his employment had been terminated with immediate effect for reasons of gross misconduct. The letter also told him he had the right to appeal, which he did.

And by correspondence dated July 26, 2019, the appellate body of the board confirmed his dismissal.

Williams is condemning the actions of the directors from March 4, 2019 to April 30, 2019 stating that the same people who charged him, were the same ones who suspended him, investigated him, adjudicated the hearing into the complaint as a disciplinary tribunal, found the charge to be proved and then fired him.

He is therefore asking the court to rule that these actions amounted to an administrative act or omission that is unauthorized or contrary to law; an excess of jurisdiction and a breach of the principles of natural justice.

The claimant’s request for a judicial review is also grounded in what he said is a failure by the company to satisfy or observe conditions or procedures required by law; that the defendants’ action was unreasonable, irregular and an improper exercise of discretion; and an abuse of power.

Williams also claims that the company committed an act of fraud and bad faith actuated by improper purposes and irrelevant considerations.

He sought to back up his claim of fraud in his affidavit filed in the High Court. Williams noted that on or about October 26, 2018 he had an unscheduled meeting at his office with company chairman Junior Waldron and his deputy Alfredo Weatherhead.

The claimant stated that he was given two letters from the chairman addressed to him; one which was unsigned and dated October 26, 2018 with the caption “Termination of contract of employment as chief executive officer of Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd and Needham’s Point Development Inc”.

The affidavit went on to say that the correspondence purported to have acknowledged and accepted “your letter of resignation dated October 26, 2018” and wished him continued success in his future endeavours.

The second letter, also unsigned and dated the same date, purported to be written by Williams and addressed to the chairman, tendering his resignation as CEO of Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd and Needham’s Point Development Inc ‘with immediate effect’.

“At no time did I ever write a letter of resignation to the first or second defendant and neither did I ever have a conversation with the chairman or any other person related to the first and second defendants concerning any possibility of my resignation from the employment of the first and second defendant,” the claimant said in his affidavit.

He submitted to the court that “the unlawful actions of the first and second defendants left me financially embarrassed to the extent that, not only am I unable to satisfy my creditors, but I had been unable to properly retain legal counsel for the purpose of filing an earlier claim in this matter.”

He revealed that since his termination he attended two interviews for employment and on both occasions the issue of his political affiliation, his past employment with the hotel company and the circumstances surrounding his departure have been raised as problems.

“The issue of my political affiliation, exposure and involvement in the last General Election was given by one of my interviewers as the distinct reason for denying me an employment opportunity,” the unsuccessful DLP candidate stated in his affidavit.

“I am of the view that despite my best efforts, given the current economic environment and the circumstances as they relate to my political affiliations, that I am unlikely to find gainful employment commensurate with my qualifications in Barbados in the near future,” Williams submitted in his court documents.

He is therefore asking the court for relief in the form of damages, costs, and orders and declarations to quash the decisions of the company to fire him.

emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/05/former-dlp-candidate-sues-over-dismissal/

10. Both governments are just as nasty and dirty as Ram, they helped her steal that property from old Black people and allowed her to carry on with her stinking racist , slave master mentality complete with the lowest possible wages, filthy buildings and the THEFT OF WATER… so that the workers could never prosper or adequately survive, they all deserve the exposure…

……they are all thieves and colonial hoodlums, just like all the previous PMs, ministers, lawyers…a TOTAL waste of oxygen..or the island would be in a much better condition, the majority population much wealthier, better educated, more self consious and aware, well grounded and progressive…but that is not the case…

the house negros are still as destructive as ever…

Barbados is a failed, corrupt, methodically destroyed island…there is no getting around that..

11. All yardfowls should get problems going forward…because party affiliation should NEVER be a term for employment or NOT TO BE EMPLOYED…Barbados is a FAILED, CORRUPT ISLAND..because this wickedness has gone on for too long..

this is what both governments fostered and nurtured for 60 years in the majority population the BACKWARD taint and stain of ..YARDFOWLISM…which the Constitution does not provide for…it is a symptom of the low crawling dirtiness of all politicians and governments..

12. These illegal water connections have been going on for DECADES…and all centred in the TIEFING MINORITY COMMUNITY….the lowlifes at BWA have been selling out the island’s water for their own benefit..all this time..sell out negros, they all need to be removed from the earth..and this other questionalbale jackass Abrams is still trying to act that it is not as CRIMINAL AN ACTION…as it should be treated…all these minority THIEVES should be in prision…many poor communitites have to pay for water that they are NOT GETTING while minorities STEAL WATER and the government is hesitant to lock their criminal asses up.

One of BWAs thieving employees sold water to minorities in Holetown for 10 whole years, took a bribe and ran off to UK, neither government ever pursued this thief or the criminals who benefitted from 10 years of free water..while others suffered for water….and still are

The first thing thing to do is involve the police but this shitehound is dancing all around it….with pretty words…that is how corrupt they all are, water is stolen from their people and they are showing the THIEVES LENIENCY…..that lieniency is to lien their own pockets..they are all too damn corrupt..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/05/authority-readies-move-on-illegal-connections/

“One day after it was revealed that four illegal water connections were found on the premises of the now condemned Liquidation Centre, Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams says the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) will be cracking down on persons and companies who steal water.

This morning Abrahams told Barbados TODAY that while he was not prepared to comment on the findings in the Bay Street building owned by Asha Mrs Ram Mirchandani, the issue of illegal water connections is a festering thorn in the side of the BWA.

He noted that it has been the BWA’s policy in the past to show leniency to offenders, but this approach may soon change, and more muscular methods would be adopted.

“We keep finding illegal water connections and we have been very decent with these people up to now. We have back-billed some of these persons for what they would have used but there has been no real prosecution taking place. I expect the Barbados Water Authority to start cracking down in a major way on people who persist in this behavior and if it has to involve the police then it has to involve the police because it is a criminal action,” said Abrahams, who made it clear that he was putting both commercial and residential offenders on notice.”

13. So do yall understand the level of evil corruption in Barbados now, do you understand what these evil, no good negros in parliament and in BWA have done and are still fighting to continue…the crimes against their own people….. while black people in St. Andrew, St. John, St. Joseph and other vulnerable parishes GET NO WATER but still have to pay BWA or are threatened with disconnection although they have dry taps and have had NO WATER for years on end….these criminals for ministers and public service officials sell it out to minorities or any lowlife wo will pay them.

both governemnts have enabled and condoned these crimes for DECADES……so a month before elections, start storing stale piss, yall done know they are coming to BEG FOR VOTES just to ROB YOU and SELL YOU OUT to keep their pockets fat with BRIBE MONEY….that is their only ambition and goal.

If i catch any of these dirty sell out negros coming around me or any my family they will see.

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ john Q

As usual John when you shift into you observation mode, your statements of fact and sobering questions bring many an issue into the stark light of day!

I am positive that you could easily have detailed all of the Moving parts that attended the DETCO SALE inclusive of the details of the ownership and the names of the parties listed on the covenants.

Your sleuthing competencies are always shown to be based in facts while those of many of us are based in conjecture, unfounded speculations, waffle, lies and sometimes, (illogical) super-factual discernment.

Here is an item which falls into the category of a truth that supports ALL OF THE ABOVE.

The Barbados Tourism Development Agency, Cumberland St. Bridgetown which can be found at

http://Www.tourisminvestment.org (if you are not using a tor, in which case your computer is blocked heheheheh

But I digress as I go north to come south…

De ole man’s training is not standard heheheheh and bordered on the non traditional After all I left school at 11

Here are some sleuthing techniques dat I suggest others use to keep up with things.

Website Reputation platforms.

“…Why website reputation matters?

1.A good reputation means a good amount of traffic.
    2.By having a good reputation means people will share your content, services with others i.e social sharing.
    3.People are more likely to return back to your site & will be more interested in buying your product.

Now when you do google the BTII web reputation you get in a few cases “…3 Google Reviews for its website…”

Yet John Q look at its self proclaimed narrative

“…Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTI) was formed under the Companies Act on April 17, 1998.

The Government of Barbados is the sole shareholder and is represented by the Minister of Tourism and International Transport…”

But more ominous than this is the following statement.

“…Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII) is the development agency of the Government of Barbados with special responsibility for facilitating investment in the tourism and hospitality sector in Barbados…”

Check out its declared portfolio of non performing investments, Wynham and Almond Beach against the size of its funding and loans!

Are you feeling me?

Then read this, John Q

“…Roseanne Myers has been named the new chairman of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII)….

…Mugabe Mottley said these changes would also mark a shift in the operations of the BTII from construction to sourcing investment for the hotel industry….”

You seeing the form of the Dictatorship and teifing matrix being implemented in 18 months?

Den add Henderson Williams’ firing!

You understand WHAT MUGAGE MOTTLEY IS DOING?

YOU SEE WHY ALL MY BLOGS ON THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT ARE BEING KILLED?

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John Q

All my long talk at 8.16 a.m says is this

1.Mugabe has spent the last 18 months carving up THE ENTIRE SPECTRUM OF GOVERNMENT and state owned enterprises among her people

2.She has also quietly fired all opposition from every leading position AND CHANGED EVERY SINGLE STAFF MEMBER IN POSITIONS OF AUTHORITY IN THOSE ORGANISATIONS

3.The Opposition Party the PdP more specifically Reverend Joseph Atherley HAS BEEN DISTURBINGLY QUIET ABOUT THIS SYSTEMWIDE SUFFUSION.

Some who believe he is a plant, are saying he is complicit IN HIS BOSS MUGABE MOTTLEY’s crimes, but irrespective of his true status as a plant, the fact is that the People’s Party for Democracy and Development ARE NOT DOING ENOUGH TO LET BAJANS KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING

16. Why do our politicians, reporters, and lawyers stop giving us bit-by-bit information on this Liquidation Centre matter??? Please, come out and tell us the whole truth, step-by-step!

Step 1):
    (1) Maloney & Co wants Mrs Ram property
    (2) Maloney & Co makes an offer of $X based on their valuation
    (3) Mrs Ram refuses offer, saying her valuation is $X + ????

Step 2):

(1) Maloney & Co revises their offer
    (2) Mrs Ram again refuses their offer, saying “not enough”!

Step 3):

(1) Maloney & Co appeal to Govt.
    (2) Govt. decides to compulsory acquire Mrs Ram property
    (3) Dictated by the Laws of Barbados, Govt. sought valuations from experts
    (4) Govt. offer $Y based on their valuators
    (5) Mrs Ram refuses the Govt offer

Step 4):
    (1) Govt. goes to Parliament and compulsory acquire Mrs Ram property for $Z
    (2) Mrs Ram appeal and decides to go to Court

Only questions I have are:

(1) What are the values of $X,Y, and Z ???
    (2) Will Govt. now sell-on or lease to Maloney & Co?? If yes, for how much $$$ ???

(PS: This is not a ‘test’ CXC question in Maths or Logic….lol.)

17. @ WURA-WAR-on-U December 5, 2019 3:29 AM

What that watery mouth guy is telling you is that there will be no prosecutions nor recovery of revenues for the water stolen from that rat-infested standpipe on the Bay street.

Yet the thirsty people of St. Andrew, St. Joseph and St. John have to pay for water services they never received.

But why are you surprised at the turn of events at that Liquidated rat palace?

Imagine what would have been the situation had the old version of the Hyatt hotel seen the light of day under the DLP!

Can’t you just picture a ghost director of sales driving around in a duty-free Mercedes with the distinguished number plate marked “M&M” and with an army of rats serving the hotel guests from cooking their meals of curry ram goat to daily massaging in the spa to performing personal security as the guests stroll around that world heritage site called ratty Bridgetown.

Everything associated with that Babel erection seemed to be tarnished with controversy and corruption.

The Truth cannot be born from a womb of lies!

18. @Dr. Lucas

Let us agree there is too much hypocrisy surrounding the Liquidation Centre.

Now to the issues:

Miss Ram is on record supporting Hyatt. The issue is agreeing to a price for her property that was compulsorily acquired by government. We know she wants top dollar, her property which is a stock room with basic structure and finishing does not qualify for top dollar.

Another issue: why have our agencies not delivered on mandates to avoid the state Liquidation Centre has reached? Is this a one off or does it speak to a systemic failure of our watchdog agencies.

As ks suggested other issues have not yet reached the public domain.

19. THE LOCATION QUALIFIES FOR TOP DOLLAR

ANY NOVICE WHO HAS BOUGHT OR SOLD OR OWN REAL ESTATE KNOWS THAT WHEN DEALING WITH REAL ESTATE THE MAIN ISSUE IS LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

AT LEAST THAT IS WHAT THE BOOKS I HAVE READ AND THE COURSES I TOOK IN REAL ESTATE AND MY EXPERIENCE DEVELOPING REAL ESTATE TAUGHT ME

ALSO DONT SEE THE SITE AS IT IS
    SEE IT AS YOU WANT IT TO BE OR PLAN IT TO BECOME

THAT BEING THE CASE THE LOCATION QUALIFIES FOR TOP DOLLAR

OFF COURSE AN INVESTOR WILL WANT TO GET IT AT A “STEAL”

20. MANY OF THE BU BRIMBLERS COMMENTING I AM SURE DONT OWN ANY REAL ESTATE
    HAVE NOT READ OR STUDIED ABOUT REAL ESTATE
    HAVE NEVER BOUGHT OR SOLD OR DEVELOPED REAL ESTATE
    BUT AS USUAL THEY WILL ENGAGE IN THE USUAL EMOTIONAL CLAP TRAP IN A DOLLOP OF IGNORANCE……..AS USUAL

21. You have no idea the stations in life BU commenters hold.

22. @ GP December 5, 2019 9:25 AM
    “THE LOCATION QUALIFIES FOR TOP DOLLAR”

So why are so many businesses vacating Bridgetown now saddled with an abundance of un-rented properties?

Dr GP, mistakenly, you are diagnosing a real estate patient with the ‘negotiable’ health status of a booming Bridgetown of the 1970’s to the early 2000?

The decision to move government offices out of Bridgetown was the sword laced with political garlic that inflicted the wound which is causing the Capital to bleed to a slow death.

23. @Miller

You also have to factor location in this case is not the only determinant in the offer price.

24. Who cares if the building is rat infested, the property as GP put it is TOP DOLLAR.

25. How do you know that the offer is not too dollar based on what adjoining properties received?

26. RE You have no idea the stations in life BU commenters hold.

BUT HOW OFT HAVE THE BU COMMENTERS COMMENTED ON MY STATION IN LIFE…….AND INCORRECTLY. AND YOU ALLOWED IT. AND YOU STILL DO

RE So why are so many businesses vacating Bridgetown now saddled with an abundance of un-rented properties?

YOU CAN DWELL ON THAT. I DONT OWN REAL ESTATE IN BRIDGETOWN SO I DONT GIVE A HOOT

Dr GP, mistakenly, you are diagnosing a real estate patient with the ‘negotiable’ health status of a booming Bridgetown of the 1970’s to the early 2000?

SO WHY CANT IT COME BACK?

The decision to move government offices out of Bridgetown was the sword laced with political garlic that inflicted the wound which is causing the Capital to bleed to a slow death.

QUAE CUM ITA SINT WHY IS GOVERNMENT AND MALONEY ET ALL HOUNDING AFTER THIS PROPERTY EXCEPT FOR ITS LOCATION?

27. You have the last word, the blog is not about Rh you.

28. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

@Robert Lucas “According to Marshall, the Center has been deemed unfit by the Public Health officials due to the high rodent infestation…either there was political interference by both sets of government, hindering the Public Health Officers from doing their job, or that the Public Health Officers looked the other way,”

No amount of political interference can lead to a rodent infestation. If the building was rodent infested then that infestation WAS ENTIRELY THE FAULT OF THE OWNERS/OPERATORS of the building. When we decide to rent, lease or buy a property, then it is OUR RESPONSIBILITY to ensure that it does not become rodent infested. We cannot be careless with our properties and then blame “political interference”

@GP December 5, 2019 9:28 AM “MANY OF THE BU BRIMBLERS COMMENTING I AM SURE DONT OWN ANY REAL ESTATE HAVE NOT READ OR STUDIED ABOUT REAL ESTATE”

I own a property or two or three. I pay a man to do the yard work once a month in the dry season and twice a month in the dry season. And I check to ensure that he has done what I have paid him to do. Some of the more unpleasant tasks I do myself. I carry out an inspection of the properties twice per year. I ask tenants to immediately report any new defects. I pay skilled tradesmen to fix the defects.

That is how responsible property owners behave.

We do not blame the government, any government for our own failures.

ALL TOO OFTEN THE FAULT IS US.

29. The side issue here as stated before is why did members of the public not boycott the place? Why did former employees not expose the mater in the public interest?

We have some serious issues here to resolve when we get by the political BS and blame game.

30. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

My dearly beloved mother, may she rest in peace always used to warn us about “buy friends” that is people who you might think of as friends but the friendship is only good as long as money is passing hands.

She warned us that “buy friends” are NOT friends.

She also warned us about “rum friends” those people who are your friends only as long as the rum lasts.

Looka, I got to go outside and do some yard work. I don’t want a rodent infestation, and it is MY JOB to prevent such.

Ah gone!!!

31. NOTICE I SAID “MANY” NOT “ANY”
    I CHOSE MY WORDS VERY CAREFULLY AND ACCURATELY

RE You have the last word, the blog is not about you.

I JUST “JOINING IN THE DISCUSSION, SINCE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

32. RE The side issue here as stated before is why did members of the public not boycott the place? Why did former employees not expose the mater in the public interest?

SIMPLE THEY WERE OBVIOUSLY DERIVING SOME BENEFIT!

33. @ David December 5, 2019 9:49 AM

Which would you attach a higher real estate value to?
    The Liquidation Centre butting and bounding a major artery into Bridgetown?
    Or the ‘massive’ car park on the old Manning Pierhead with the panoramic view of both old Bridgetown and the beautiful Carlisle Bay?

That is where the Hyatt should have been sited! Then there would have been no controversy between Maloney and the BTII.

34. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Damn poor great poppets. Too poor great to get their own hands dirty; and too damn cheap to pay professionals to do the work.

35. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

‘morning GP. Cool.

36. @Miller

Good question.

Who owns the open space is the question and is it earmarked for another project?

37. I have been arguing for an independent valuation, perhaps that was done (notice the Minister in his statement never referenced that) but based on history the woman is very difficult to deal with and I believed that Gov’ts have looked the other way in the past but now things are coming to a head.

BTW the water was also disconnected from her “hotel” what happened with that? Any more illegal connections?

38. RE Which would you attach a higher real estate value to?
    The Liquidation Centre butting and bounding a major artery into Bridgetown?
    Or the ‘massive’ car park on the old Manning Pierhead with the panoramic view of both old Bridgetown and the beautiful Carlisle Bay?

That is where the Hyatt should have been sited! Then there would have been no controversy between Maloney and the BTII.

THE SAVY INVESTOR IS NOT THINKING NECESSARILY ABOUT the the panoramic view of both old Bridgetown and the beautiful Carlisle Bay OR WHERE YOU THINK THE HOTEL SHOULD BE SITED. THEY ARE BOTH CLOSE ENOUGH FOR HIS PURPOSES. BOTH LOCATIONS WILL SUIT HIS PURPOSE.

HIS MAJOR IS PRICE BECAUSE HE IS THINKING ABOUT HIS ROI RETURN ON INVESTMENT!

THAT IS WHY IN NEGOTIATION HE WILL SEEK TO GET THE RAT INFESTED PROPERTY FOR A SONG
    MRS RAMS LOCATION IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR HIS PURPOSES—- ITS NEAR ENOUGH
    THE IMPORTANT THING TO HIM IS TO GET IT AT HIS PRICE!

THAT IS WHY THERE IS A SQUABBLE
    MRS RAM WITH ALL HER FLAWS IS NOT A FOOL
    BAJANS MUST HOWEVER NOTICE HOW GOB IS MOVING
    IF THEY DO IT TO MRS RAM———–THEY CAN DO IT TO YOU TOO!

39. @Miller

Perhaps that has been earmarked for future development, where is the BLP whisperer “Enuff”?

40. @Sargeant

At a political meeting at Hinks Street the PM waived to that general area when she spoke to the Chairman or former of Coke International having purchased the real estate for some development working its way through the permissions process.

41. WHEN ONE IS BORED ONE COMES TO SURVEY THE CURRENT ARGUMENTS ON BU BY THE INTELLIGENTSIA HERE
    ONE OF THE THINGS THAT IS MOST NOTICEABLE IS HOW COMMENTERS FLY OFF THE HANDLE AND ATTACK
    ONE STATEMENT OR WORD IN YOUR SUBMISSION WITHOUT EXAMINING WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IN ITS ENTIRETY

THE OTHER THING THAT IS VERY CLEAR TO THE CASUAL ONLOOKER IS THAT OFTEN FOLK DO NOT KNOW THE SUBJECT THEY ARE COMMENTING ON VERY WELL

ALSO THEY ARE CERTAIN FOLK THAT CAN SPEW ANY NONSENSE AND THERE ARE OTHERS WHO ARE ATTACKED AND EVEN CURSED FOR ATTEMPTING TO CONTRIBUTE,,,,,,,,,,AND ON THE BASIS OF THEIR VAST EXPERIENCE OR INTIMATE KNOWLEDGE OF THE SUBJECT

42. Dear Mr Blogmaster

I hope you are fairing well and continuing to enlighten Barbadians on matters that past and present governments prefer to keep obscured.

The writer of this piece has raised some pertinent questions, all of which, provides a shining example as to why we must question rather our democracy is under threat or not, and why our levels of confidence in ruling party governance, over the years, continues to grow weak by each passing day.

GOVERNMENT GOES LOW

It is absolutely appalling that a government would stoop as low as it has in highlighting, in the last hour, Ms Ram’s rodent problem and fire hazard issues. Are we not aware, that prior to this debacle, Ms Ram’s operations (back in the day) was not big on presentation, order, aesthetics or customer satisfaction? Have we forgotten how confusing was the Liquidation Centre (cheapside)? Are we also forgetting that the entire city of Bridgetown has a serious problem with rodents to the point that the levels of infestation have reached crisis level, since two governments’ austerity measures?

ILLEGAL WATER CONNECTIONS IN BARBADOS. NOT DETRIMENTAL

Since the writer has highlighted the timing of governments discoveries of wrong doing at Ms Ram’s operation, I would like to remind all readers that several big name hotels had illegal water connections, with some owing the Barbados Water Authority thousands if not millions to none of their detriments.

We need not forget that several big name persons in Barbados, as well as businesses had not paid taxes for years. This was kept practically a secret, but those businesses and persons can rest easy now because their taxes have been made null and void.

MS RAM HAS RATS SO DOES GOVERNMENT

I am certain that Ms Ram’s operation is not the only business with rats? Government would do well to look at its Government run operations such as the Palmetto Mall, Cheapside and High Street Markets as well as the Bridgetown Fisheries Complex, and its poor garbage collection service, before it points fingers at someone else operation. If they want to talk about rat infestation, let them address their rat problem before pointing fingers at others.

BRIDGETOWN HAS MANY FIRE HAZARD BUILDINGS

Secondly, the attempt to talk about Ms Ram’s operation as a fire hazard to further justify their actions is bold and nefarious. The Campus Trendz disaster highlighted a number of buildings in the city of Bridgetown that are fire hazards. Have they been addressed by government?

DALE MARSHALL AND CREDIBILITY

I am mindful that the Attorney General of Barbados is not the most credible person when it comes to information. We need not forget his morning words on the Scanner issue did not add up to his night words on the same issue. Be that as it may the government would have done well to stick to the compulsory acquisition order of Ms Ram’s property without going the route of discrediting her operation in order to keep her quite and her mouth shut.

This just shows how tacky government is and why it is so easy to place labels on their management this far.

THE LAST WORD

Let us hope that better would be done in the future concerning the move to acquire someone’s land compulsory; because at the end of the day, I do not see what a Hyatt is going to do for Barbados that Hilton and all the other big name hotels on the island have not done for it so far.

We will wait on TIME.

43. @ David December 5, 2019 10:19 AM

How many angels (tourists) can dance on a pinhead of so many hotels?

Why not ask the Minister responsible for the BTII investment policies?

Come on Blogmaster haven’t we sailed this ocean of promises before?

Wasn’t the Pierhead marina designated the port for all investments storms required to kick-start the building of a hotel in its vicinity?

Where did all those redesign consultancy fees end up if not in some St. Lucia harbour of an IBC?

The redevelopment of the Bay Street corridor has been a dream of many previous administrations; none of which has so far come true.

Let the MAM administration start not with grandiose dreams but with the nightmare of turning the old General Hospital property from a flaming eyesore of dereliction of ‘greater’ Bridgetown into something which can be beautiful sight for sore eyes of both resident and visitor and ideally suited for any PPP investment pipeline.

The new Virgin Atlantic departure lounge of final relaxation could be that breath of investment fresh air needed in that neck of the dilapidated Bridgetown woods

A thing of beauty can be a joy forever as long as Barbados could punch above its financial weight.

44. The liquidation Center if it is the building I knew before it became such, was a bond.

It was rat infested then and seems to be rat infested now and was never fit for human habitation!!

Perhaps a watchman was all that was present when the night came.

It was dark and unlit, used to store lumber and the like.

The building with DETCO did have a showroom in a small area where it sold cars.

So if Ms. Ram converted a rat infested unlit bond to a different use and the health authorities approved and approved for the years during which the property was used as the Liquidation Centre the GOB has no high horse to ride regarding rat infestation.

Did you know the biggest rats in Bridgetown come out of and run around the Parliament Buildings?

Go down there at night, … and sometimes in the day.

No one would say Parliament of Barbados is a rat infested building, but it is.

If Ms. Ram owns the property now then she is due to be paid whatever it is worth, top dollar or not if somebody wants it.

The GOB should be happy because it will attract the appropriate transfer tax and stamp duty and the new owners will have to pay Land Tax on its new valuation.

Why on earth would the GOB seek to acquire the land?

Does it pay itself Land Tax?

For heavens sakes, it is broke, everybody knows that!!

What is the ROI for the GOB if it pursues this route?

45. Ms. Ram done know that if the GOB acquires the property she is not going to see any money this side of the grave!!

The GOB is broke!!

It probably owes Maloney bigtime for work he may have done for it and materials he might have delivered.

46. Mr Gulston & John
    Your contributions are both saturated with common sense, truth and destroys the usual hypocrisy and ignorance usually displayed on BU

MR GULTON THE ISSUES THAT YOU HAVE SO CLEARLY LAID OUT CAN NOT BE REFUTED SIR!

RE Did you know the biggest rats in Bridgetown come out of and run around the Parliament Buildings?
    I DID NOT KNOW THIS………BUT I AM NOT SURPRISED TO HEAR THUS.

RE If Ms. Ram owns the property now then she is due to be paid whatever it is worth, top dollar or not if somebody wants it.
    THAT IS HOW REAL ESTATE DEALS ARE DONE. THE FAIR MARKET PRICE IS REALLY DETERMINED BY WHAT THE VENDEE IS PREPARED TO PAY OR THE PRICE THAT IT IS WORTH TO THE VENDEE FOR WHAT EVER REASON

THE FAIR MARKET PRICE IS NOT DETERMINED BY GOB OR THE UNENLIGHTENED OPINION OF BU BRIMBLERS.

RE The GOB should be happy because it will attract the appropriate transfer tax and stamp duty and the new owners will have to pay Land Tax on its new valuation.

AGAIN YOU ARE 100@ CORRECT PLUS THE VAT IN THE TRANSACTION

RE What is the ROI for the GOB if it pursues this route?
    MY DEAR FRIEND JOHN………..THIS IS THE MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION. BY DEFINITION IT SHOULD BE ZERO……….BUT SINCE THIS IS BIMSHIRE The ROI for the GOB OFFICIALS SHOULD BE EXTREMELY HIGH!

47. We are missing the point and getting slide tracked by politics and other issues. Let’s look at this realistically.

The value of the property has nothing to do with the building, but the land value based on beach front access. In other words with a dying Bridgetown no one was going to buy that building and renovate it into a mall. There is way too much retail space in the city empty as it is, no one is going to build more.

So Mrs Rams rat infested bond as wunna call it, will have the same value as the previously mentioned car park per square foot, based solely on beach front land and beach access.

So why are we having this problem here? Well it’s simple, the price that land goes for will dictate the price for the further purchase, or public acquisition of land on that strip. So those that drive down there and see old “brek down” warehouses, need to picture empty beachfront lots to a lovely beach then attach a value to that vision.

There is alot more going on here but just the purchase of an old building. The outcome of this will dictate the cost of the land on that entire strip and the relevant development cost that will follow for the infamous foreign investors.

Open wunna eyes and think on this and don’t get caught up in the rats and other side shows!

48. @ Lloyd Gulston

All this nonsense is a diversionary tactic. The substantive issue is not abut the heath and safety of the Liquidation Centre, but the abuse of process in compulsorily purchasing the property apparently to hand it over to a private business. Health ad safety gossip is just to add ballast to the government’s argument. We must reject it.
    What is more scandalous is to find that we thought we had legislation in place for divorces only to find the legislation was badly drafted, this in a parliament of lawyers and over 1000 practising attorneys and a law department at the university. Not a single one spotted this error.
    This is the gross incompetence that I talk about. Lawyers with PhDs, LLMs, LLBs, judges, and every tom dick and Harriette, in a society that all pretend to be top notch lawyers and then this – the risk that people who thought they had been divorced and subsequently got remarried only to find that they have legally committed bigamy.
    What about inheritance? It is not just a matter of putting the legislation right, it is also about undoing the wrongs done.
    Barbados is a failed state. Here is further proof.

49. “@ WURA-WAR-on-U December 5, 2019 3:29 AM

What that watery mouth guy is telling you is that there will be no prosecutions nor recovery of revenues for the water stolen from that rat-infested standpipe on the Bay street.

Yet the thirsty people of St. Andrew, St. Joseph and St. John have to pay for water services they never received.”

Miller…fine, so i have this Italian American friend, moved to Barbados in the mid 90s, one day we were having a drink and shooting the breeze and he allows me to know that since he moved to Barbados he has PAID FOR NOTHING….am like, what are you talking about, well he allows me to know, girl, did you not know that Black people have to PAY FOR EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE IN BARBADOS…

yes, that is what both demonic governments brought into the lives of their own people…the smaller version of the scum brigade ….and something like tiefing France that still ROBS AFRICA AND AFRICANS in ya face and without conscience..like the parasites they all are in the lives of Black people everywhere.

50. John December 5, 2019 11:47 AM
    you are again correct 100% correct

the rat infested old bond is worth nothing much……….but the beach front land on which it sits DOES!
    WHEN BUYING REAL ESTATE YOU DONT LOOK AT WHAT IS BEFORE YOU ONLY YOU LOOK AT WHAT IT CAN BE. YOU LOOK AT WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH IT

I MUST AGREE WITH HAL AUSTIN TOO WHO OPINES All this nonsense is a diversionary tactic. The substantive issue is not abut the heath and safety of the Liquidation Centre, but the abuse of process in compulsorily purchasing the property apparently to hand it over to a private business. Health ad safety gossip is just to add ballast to the government’s argument. We must reject it.

WE MUST REJECT IT INDEED!
    THERE IS SOMETHING VERY DISHONEST ABOUT WHAT GOB IS DOING HERE

SOMETHING VERY DISHONEST……………AND DICTATORIAL