The issue is, how can the Court decide, there is NO SERIOUS ISSUE to be heard? The government only comes into play because they were the acquirers, and a politician, Dale Marshall, spoke to the matter. When this story broke in March, I fully expected a court challenge. The news it has been declined is beyond belief. It is one thing to hear the case and have a result, another entirely to find “no serious issue to be tried”.

Northern Observer

It is fair to disclose our hand on the subject of Miss Ram. The way she has done business in Barbados over the years does not recommend her to this blogmaster. She has generously donated to both major political parties i.e. BLP and DLP. Her training as a lawyer allowed her to grease the system for the benefit of all.

However it will not prevent the BU household from creating blog space to invite opinions on the matter at hand. Government has moved full steam ahead to acquire the property known as Liquidation Centre owned by Ms Ram on Lower Bay Street to facilitate the construction of the Hyatt Hotel.

For years she has operated businesses in Barbados with questionable working working conditions. Hundreds of words can be posted about Furniture Limited. There is an instant in 2012 it failed a health inspection and was forced to suspend operations.

For years Ms Ram was allowed by authorities to operate a hardware cum retail Store on Lower Broad Street. It was a common sight to observe forklifts, 10 wheelers and other heavy duty vehicles loading and offloading items to support the business. The fact that it was an inconvenience to pedestrians and vehicular traffic in the area seemed inconsequential.

The preamble notwithstanding it is important government treats with citizens fairly. The issue at hand is that government and Ms Ram have been unable to reach an agreement on a price for the property where the Liquidation Centre is located. The inability of the parties to reach agreement has prevented the mobilization of the Hyatt project. She sought injunctive relief from the High Court last weekend and to quote a local press report:

In response, the owners sought injunctive relief through the High Court, which dismissed the application on the basis that there was no serious issue to be tried. The company then sought a stay of execution, which the court also rejected.

Some are arguing that government has no bone in the fight between Ms Ram and the Hyatt developer. The Land Acquisition Act  Section 5 (1) 3 is very clear:

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to prevent the acquisitions of lands for public purposes by private treaty.

However the other side to the debate is that the Lower Bay Street area has been included in government’s redevelopment plan and others businesses previously located on the strip north of the Liquidation Centre have vacated.

As it stands the police and government have taken control of the property. The country waits to see if the warehouse will be razed or whether Ms Ram will do what she has been adept at through then years; litigation.

#karma

266 responses to “Miss Ram and Karma Meet”

1. @ Miller November 24, 2019 7:46 PM

Shouldn’t [that] be reading ‘law reform commission re-launched’ (once again)?

2. S/B as a cudgel to beat the BLP over the head and the DLP…..

@Enuff

Write me when the Law Reform Commission has something to report……

3. “@WW&C
    and this is why the GoB acted as they did. They knew the owners were on the island’s “most disliked list”. Do you think if the BWU or NUPW or a pension fund owned this land they would have acted as they did?”

Oh we know…that is what makes it so gratifying, cause at the end of the day, we get to point out that BLP for decades also part took in:

Ram’s generous brown envelopes…aka BRIBERY….

Enabled her to practice her nasty racism..against their own people

Condoned her paying slave waves to the most vulnerable young black people

HELPED HER KEEP bajans financially trapped in a cycle of slave wages for 2 generations so they can never prosper nor progress

Condone her nasty behavior, filthy repulsive buildings and inferior quality garbage she unleashed on a vulnerable people for decades.

The labor department WAS FORBIDDEN to intervene on her victim’s behalf per instructions from BOTH CORRUPT GOVERNMENT OVER DECADES..

And the list goes on.

That is what makes all of this so utterly gratifying..

4. “Weeks ago, a regional group announced they were taking several of the governments to court on this very issue.”

As well they should, all these small island shite governments do is violate human rights with their hypocrisy and pretentiousness fake christianity, they have gotten away with doing it to their own people for decades, so will see nothing wrong with violating investor’s rights as long as it does not fit into the hypocrite AGENDAS to keep their people MENTALLY ENSLAVED, unaware and uneducated…that is what these pig negros of parliament do…the best interest of the people and islands NEVER COME FIRST.

5. Sargeant
    Thanks for once again validating an observation I so often repeat on BU–all yuh are no different to politicians, vacillate, deflect and divert when caught with wunna bibadees by wunna ankles. Carry on.🤣🤣🤣

6. This will always be an issue enuff, everybody comes with agendas sincere and not. Some of us are intelligent enough to block the noise.

7. @Enuff

Let’s circle back to the beginning, I don’t want to speak for “NO” but he was expressing the view that the provision of the law which the Gov’t exercised to obtain Ms. Ram’s property was too broad and the law itself was outdated. He then brought up the fact that he advised some clients who were investigating whether to set up business/residence locally theimplications of the law re buggery as some of the principals were openly gay and he felt that may imperil their residency at some point if they run afoul of some authority. It was at this point I jumped in and wrote that the Gov’t wasn’t interested in reforming any laws etc.

Now “Enuff” makes his appearance and wrote in effect “bollocks to that statement” the Gov’t established a “Law Reform Commission” and referred to an article picturing David Simmonds and Dale Marshall whispering bon mots in each other’s ear. Thankfully the article pointed out that Simmons was previously Atty General and Chief Justice; Marshall was the former Atty General who is now enjoying another kick of the can after a hiatus of 10 years. They have both held senior legal positions in Barbados for decades, and little or nothing was done about the historic laws under their tenure why should we believe different?

Some may be wearing bibadees but “Enuff” gone commando

@”David”

Yuh betta look out the “Law Reform Commission” may have one mission that is to silence the blogs as expressed by another former Atty General who is now the PM.

8. “Some may be wearing bibadees but “Enuff” gone commando.”

lol, what image.

9. Sargeant
    Further proof of my position, as you try to justify your obviously wrong assertion by falling back on the now popular get outta jail card–a Mugabian outcome.

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Sargeant

You said AND IT GIVES ME GREAT PLEASURE TO QUOTE

“…@”David”

Yuh betta look out the “Law Reform Commission” may have one mission that is to silence the blogs as expressed by another former Atty General who is now the PM…”

The days of Barbados Underground ARE NUMBERED!!!

For two reasons.

De Blogmaster threaten me with extreme censorship so I CANT WRITE EITHER CAUSE HE GOING REMOVE MY POSTS.

Suffice it to say that George Linnaeus Banks IS DEAD and NO ANTI MUGABE WILL BE TOLERATED ON BU because everybody is to love Mottley.

Recently only two bloggers are posting Third Party Movement blogs.

Ironside and de ole man but Ironside like he dun wid dat and when I submit items well…

Here is a screenshot of an item I submitted on Behalf of The Third Party Movement but…

https://imgur.com/a/e9IL704?s=wa

What you are saying about the Mugabe regime is true SHE AND TEETS MARSHALL GINE CLOSE IT DOWN SOON.

The VOICE of Dissent MUST CEASE or all wunna gine get permanently silenced

11. Interesting indeed.
    There was one point that I would like to see addressed “Back then, it was also conventional wisdom that buildings in Barbados be capped at ten storeys. Who changed this informal rule?”

I thought that because of our geography that our building had to be of limited weight and therefore height. I grew up with this. Was there truth in this knowledge?

Have advances in building materials/techniques allowed us to overcome these limitations?

Grasshopper…

12. This is how the nasty minorities who own businesses disrespect and insult black people, their customers who keep their doors open, in Barbados and the negro governments love that..

https://www.facebook.com/sheri.veronica/videos/2453615254735865/?t=0

13. what about the case with the lawyer that kept all the injured guy’s money, he died a couple of weeks ago, and I think he never saw a penny of the 1. something million dollars, although I think his family got some of the money without his knowledge. I think he trusted people who didnt care about his plight, they only was focus on the money. Lets hope his funds go to family members that really cared about him when he was alive. Also did that case wherre some of the family members lived in the UK, was that matter settled. I think they were trying to receive their land tittles and deeds for a large piece of property that was given to a lawyer, by a mother/ grandmother. The woman had some dementia or senile issues, and gave over the ownership of her home and land to a lawyer. I hope this family keep fighting for their property back.

14. If it is like that now, what do you think will happen when we have 700K more to make up a million.

15. Now the gloves are off between Barbados national trust and govt
    BNT all but calling govt and developer liars after been giving a false presentation which outlined the height and structure of the Hyatt along with the acquisition of the liquidation centre for use in the Hyatt development plan to which they had agreed
    BNT head Peter Stevens in a scathing remarks said that the trust belives they were “railroaded after the plans which they were previously given and agreed had been changed

16. Lies ! Lies and more dam lies this govt cant help itself

HOMEPAGEBUSINESS
    A SLIDERBUSINESSLOCAL NEWS
    Heritage body: ‘developers misled us’
    Peter Stevens

The Government’s advisor on the preservation of places of historic, architectural and archaeological interest has withdrawn support for construction of the Hyatt Hotel Resort based on its latest design.

An upset President of the Barbados National Trust (BNT) Peter Stevens is accusing the developers of misleading the trust into believing that once additional land space was acquired by Government the height and overall scale of the hotel would be reduced.

Stevens said the trust had therefore agreed to the construction of the revised Hyatt based on those objectives, only now to find his organisation had been “railroaded”.

He said the BNT, which also advises Government on places of ecological importance or natural beauty, is also retracting an earlier statement of support for the demolition of the Liquidation Centre – a listed building – to provide an additional 30,000 square feet of land.

“The trust now feels we have been in a sense, railroaded into believing this was going to produce a lower height. Instead, the main structure, the bulk of it has been broken into four towers. One of those towers is taller than the previous Centric Hyatt,

17. Here is the relevant part of the article but through your partisan lens you would have missed it.

An upset President of the Barbados National Trust (BNT) Peter Stevens is accusing the developers of misleading the trust into believing that once additional land space was acquired by Government the height and overall scale of the hotel would be reduced.

18. No developer can override govt decision or any other relevant authority associated with govt to build without govt approval
    Understood now that Mark would be thrown under the bus
    However govt knew of all the plans and could have taken whatever steps to revised the plans or continue with the first agreed plan between developer. Govt and BNT
    Govt contiunes to blow smoke in the faces of people

19. Was not the Barbados National Trust informed of the underground structure and yet it was demolished.

Perhaps they should talk taking themselves seriously and see themselves as a useful tool/rubber stamp to be used or ignored as wanted

20. Perhaps they should stop taking themselves seriously and see themselves as a useful tool/rubber stamp to be used or ignored as wanted

21. Only last week govt ploy was to throw Emera under the bus for the energy melt down
    Now planning to sell the LESC to some unknown entity for the Ross University expansion
    I suspect that this govt also has plans to get rid of any thing of value connected to the Dlp
    Folks have been warned many times over that Mia is a dictator and all signs have been pointing in that direction
    Just take memories back to May when her first initiative was to change the Constitution in favour of friends along with the defaults which started with taking of pensioners funds
    The beat goes on but bear in mind wunna wanted change
    Interesting times ahead
    Barbados yuh come from but this is yuh barbados yuh dont know

22. Maloney was at pain to point out at the Town Hall meeting the project has not been approved as yet.

23. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

Temper, temper.

In the video, is that the fella whose mummy was killed by his daddy?

24. David it might sooner rather than later u having to faced a reality that Mia is a mater manipulative conniving dictator
    Say what u may to defend this govt actions
    Truth unlike milk does not sour
    The Truth lies within the statements of the BNT official whose comments points to a govt who would lie and coverup by any means necessary to get what they want
    Now Mrs.Ram would know the truth and all the power players behind the acquisition of the liquidation
    All now which makes for a big belly of laughter and a comedy show worthy of a Broadway play with Mia role as one of being Mia the Scroog

25. You suffer from miaphobia.

26. @ David November 29, 2019 7:32 AM
    “Maloney was at pain to point out at the Town Hall meeting the project has not been approved as yet.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Since this is the case why did the MoT recently get up in Parliament and confirmed a construction start date of February 2020?

This is why politicians are viewed with such disdain and distrust.

What can you expect from the average worker when these are the examples they are shown?

You blogmaster ought to be questioning the source of finance for such a gargantuan project which must be fed from a massive drain on foreign exchange?

Which local lending institution- many of them foreign-owned and about to exit the commercial banking market- would take the massively high risk(s) associated with this Babel-like project plagued with controversy even from its inchoate design phase?

Who is paying for all these consultancy (and finders) fees? The BTII?

Who or what is prepared to put an end to this ‘towering’ madness?

Would the delisting of Bridgetown as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO drive the nail in the coffin using the excuse that the government has consistently refused to maintain the rundown place to standards satisfactory to the UNESCO monitoring committee?

27. I have said time and time again that the Hyatt would not be constructed
    The moment Mia opened her mouth talking about a different design the tea leaves began to fall
    Hyatt design is an official brand worldly used
    No amount of tinkering would be sufficient and enough for Hyatt to agree to a different model
    Reason why Maloney and govt tried fooling the people with talk of Ziva and a construction for next year
    Mia is in desperation mode and would say and do whatever it takes to fool the masses that govt had hit the ground running
    Now the truth is coming out BNT is angry the liquidation centre which provided jobs is no more and govt is left looking like monkey handling gun

28. @Miller

At this point when the project start; if it starts is the more important question.

29. David doesnt these comments make u feel uneasy about this govt plans for the country
    Mia feet has finally hit the ground covered in dirty tricks

—–””—–”’

He said the BNT, which also advises Government on places of ecological importance or natural beauty, is also retracting an earlier statement of support for the demolition of the Liquidation Centre – a listed building – to provide an additional 30,000 square feet of land.

30. RE: “Just take memories back to May when her first initiative was to change the Constitution in favour of friends along with the defaults which started with taking of pensioners funds.”

Are there any significant differences between what you did to pave the way for Marston Gibson to be apointed Chief Justice?

RE: “Now the truth is coming out BNT is angry the liquidation centre which provided jobs is no more and govt is left looking like monkey handling gun.”

Could you please indicate when any spokesperson from the BNT made the comment as outlined in your above comment?

RE: “Say what u may to defend this govt actions.”

Aren’t you being a bit hypocritical for accusing David BU of saying things to defend this current administration, when you spent the ENTIRE period between January 15, 2008 and May 24, 2018, DEGFENDING the previous DLP administration’s actions, including those that could not be reasonably defended?

RE: “The Truth lies within the statements of the BNT official whose comments points to a govt who would lie and coverup by any means necessary to get what they want.”

Could you please indicate where in the BNT’s statement could be used to substantiate your above comment?

You need to stop presenting “straw man arguments

31. I was in Asia during an earlier part of the year.
    I was at one of those time shares deals.
    One of the brochures the salesmen showed us had a proposed Hilton in Barbados.
    I will bet that when all the talk is done, a Hilton will be built here

32. Or they can build a couple condos for the Ghana nurses

33. i hold no brief for Mrs Ram. She is on record as supporting the construction of Hyatt one hundred per cent and describing opposition to the project as “nonsense” but these previous comments on Barbados Underground is an indication of what can come back to haunt us when we sit idly by and accept certain questionable decisions without dissent. is in her case aclassic example of “today for you, tomorrow for me’

Ping Pong
    October 21, 2011 10:08 AM
    In the last week, newspapers report that the government has made two assaults on the concept of the citizen’s right to property. The first assault was the attempt to pass the Antiquities Bill and the second, the declaration to compulsory acquire the land of one person so as to benefit another citizen. The situation with the Antiquities Bill is extremely disturbing. The Senate raised many cogent questions about the bill which were accepted by the Government senators. It strikes me odd that Minister Lashley, who is an attorney, could not recognise the constitutional issues raised by Senator Newton and neither could any of the other 29 MP’s (i.e.both BLP and DLP) when the bill was passed in the lower house. That the bill (in identical form) was first presented by the previous BLP administration is testimony to the lack of any philosophical mooring by BOTH political parties to defend and act in accordance with the Constitution or any other publicly stated set of values in the interest of the common good other than expediency,appeal to the lowest denominator and laziness.

To reinforce my disquiet, today’s newspapers report that the Government intends to compulsory acquire part of the property of one individual to make available to another private interest. This is an unsettling use of the State’s power to compulsory acquire property. To my knowledge, such power has been exercised to the direct benefit of the public i.e to allow the building of a school, heath centre, police station, roads, public housing etc. That this power is now to be exercised to the benefit of a privately operated company is a most curious development.

However, laudable the intentions, the words “thin edge of the wedge” comes to mind.

LikeLike
    October 21, 2011 11:14 AM
    @ Ping Pong:
    “It strikes me odd that Minister Lashley, who is an attorney, could not recognise the constitutional issues raised by Senator Newton and neither could any of the other 29 MP’s (i.e.both BLP and DLP) when the bill was passed in the lower house.”

Your statement is not entirely true! If you had listened carefully to the debates you would heard Ms M.A. Mottley in her contribution raising concerns about the constitutional implications of the bill in its current reading. She also expressed concern about the “mechanics” of certain aspect of the legislation. Queries were raised about the storage and safe custody of the acquired relics and the human and technical resources required to ensure the successful implementation of the provisions and regulations of the legislation.

LikeLike
    October 21, 2011 11:48 AM

The comment of Ping Pong at 10: 08 AM is important enough to be a separate Post. I would hate to see the matters raised lost in the NIS post.

34. So what was the purpose of all this long talk
    What i find in AG Marshall comments if all that is said is true
    That after so many years of being in business govt failed in its diligence to cite all these problems found in the Liquidation centre
    Rats and electrical problems and other dangers connected to building would have been ongoing for a number of years
    It seems now that govt is being forced to go back to the table they have made a last minute dash to strengthen their hand with another stealth approach
    If what AG say is true it also shows that govt agencies over the past years either lied of failed to do proper inspection of the building
    Now a question which needs to be asked of those who would have done a yearly inspection of the building why were these problems never investigated over the years with sufficient haste and concern for the employees well being
    AG comments opened a hornets nest of inefficiencies and effective lack of govt control which needs to be thoroughly investigated

35. Do we blame Miss Ram for the state of liquidation centre or the Barbadians who shop there.

https://www.facebook.com/marvalashley/videos/10156853314447883/

36. The answer lies with documents or reports which gave the liqiudation centre the green light to operate
    The attorney for Ram can request such documetation or reports as far as five years to find the truth of what the AG commented
    The bottom line now is on govt to show sufficient proof as to how long these infractions were occuring
    Yesterday media report by AG was another way to strengthen his hand
    More convincing proof is needed to say that that building had these infractions for a longer period of time
    If ( so) questions needs to be asked as to why the liquidation centre was allowed to operate under such dangerous conditions
    AG now u opened your mouth you have your work cut out for you
    Paper trails can give answers to the truthfulness of the AG comments

37. Actually the question to be answered is why your administration for reasonwr know looked the other way. You political hacks make people sick.

38. @ Mariposa December 4, 2019 6:21 AM
    “Now a question which needs to be asked of those who would have done a yearly inspection of the building why were these problems never investigated over the years with sufficient haste and concern for the employees well being
    AG comments opened a hornets nest of inefficiencies and effective lack of govt control which needs to be thoroughly investigated”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ms Many pussies, which one of your ‘yellow’ informants wrote the above ‘factual-to-the-bone’ piece of propaganda for your BU publication?

Certainly not that schizo “ac”?

There is only one missing ‘fact’ from your listing of perfect ‘Incompetence’ practiced by (a) government totally unfit for purpose when its comes to enforcing the laws and regulations to protect the health and safety of the public.

Did this state of affairs exist at the same rat pen for a “Liquidation Centre” during the period January 2008 to May 2018?

Why didn’t the various ‘competent’ Ministers of Health during that same period call in the pied piper to liquidate both the dirty rats and their smelly breeders?

Now where would the evacuated rat population sleep now? Would they now migrate to the penthouses in the abandoned NIS building on Fairchild Street much closer to an easier source of free food as identified by Artax in a recent thread?

39. Mariposa

RE: “More convincing proof is needed to say that that building had these infractions for a longer period of time. If ( so) questions needs to be asked as to why the liquidation centre was allowed to operate under such dangerous conditions.”

Do you realize this spans over successive BLP and DLP administrations?

I’m sure you’re aware the Merchandanis have been “generous benefactors” to the BLP and DLP.

RE: “AG now u opened your mouth you have your work cut out for you.”

Could you please explain the above comment…… without your usual metaphors, generalized statements and political rhetoric?

40. Also a question which ought to be asked of AG
    During the acquisition process was the external and internal building inspected ( if so where these problems/ violations noted and a notice given to Mrs. Ram to correct the problems within a set period of time
    Also if Mrs Ram did not comply why did the govt not send her notification on those grounds to condemn the building
    Once again this govt has given more reason not to believe anything they say but willing to undermine the law for their own interest

41. Who actually shopped at that centre? Crop Over is not far off and some enterprising calypsonian should be working on the lyrics to a new song, time for an update to Chicken and Rum lets call it Rodents and Rum.

42. @Sargeant

Good comment, a recent sale by that establishment attracted a large crowd.

Go figure!

43. @ The WURA-WAR-on-U December 4, 2019 9:21 AM
    “Fire Service also found multiple fire hazards and recommended the public not be allowed inside for any reason while the Water Authority discovered several illegal connections to the water mains there.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

These ‘alleged’ illegal connections to the water mains are in themselves blatant violations of the law governing the operations of the same Barbados Water Authority.

We shall see if this will be another case of having laws for “Two Barbadoes”.

Will the perpetrator(s) of these alleged illegal connections be prosecuted as required by the law and made to pay for the ‘estimated’ non-revenue water gone down into Carlisle Bay or would there be another cover-up and avoidance of legal proceedings and the write off an imaginary debt like the millions in VAT collected but not paid over?

The situation with the illegal connections lies squarely in the bucket of the management of the BWA.

How could such a large commercial outlet be allowed to operate for so long a period without the ‘collusive’ knowledge of the BWA?

Where was the water to flush toilets coming from if not from the buckets of sea water drawn by the modern-day store slaves from the fountain of kickbacks and corruption called the Carlisle bay aquifer?

PS: Was there also illegal connections to the Bridgetown Sewerage System for which the business was never billed?

44. If she still has a warehoiuse in Oldbury, St. Philip they need to check that for fire hazards and rodents also. That was a mess. A friend of my son had a birthday outing at the “hotel” she had there also in Oldbury and we had to leave without eating because we saw a mouse in the food service area. The workers said it was not unusual.

The store down Princess Alice Highway was also a mess. This woman is a mess.

Does Mariposa still think we should mourn the loss of the jobs or should we celebrate the liberation of the enslaved minds that worked there?

45. The woman has no shame. Several illegal water connections at various locations, it appears. The government better make her pay for them. She also has an outstanding bill in the hundreds of thousands of dollars that the Court gave her time to pay.

46. The issue of the illegal water connection is funny but not in a Ha Ha way. After the water was cut off what did the authorities do? Were they waiting to see what would happen to a place with employees who possibly couldn’t go to the bathroom, I wouldn’t even mention the lunch room (is there a lunch room?) but cheeze on bread. A place only waiting for Mrs. O”Reilly’s cow ( no sprinklers) to kick over a smut lamp to send the whole of Bridgetown up in flames?

How the hell do people get away with this over such a long period? We seem to have a great many people whose expertise is looking the other way.

47. “Also a question which ought to be asked of AG.” During the acquisition process was the external and internal building inspected ( if so where these problems/ violations noted and a notice given to Mrs. Ram to correct the problems within a set period of time. Also if Mrs Ram did not comply why did the govt not send her notification on those grounds to condemn the building.”

Mariposa

Your above comment is utter nonsense.

Why would government and Ram go through the entire process you outlined….. on a building that is going to be demolished?

Why would Ram spend money rectifying problems/violations on a building that she knows would be subsequently demolished?

Does this make any sense to you?