The issue is, how can the Court decide, there is NO SERIOUS ISSUE to be heard? The government only comes into play because they were the acquirers, and a politician, Dale Marshall, spoke to the matter. When this story broke in March, I fully expected a court challenge. The news it has been declined is beyond belief. It is one thing to hear the case and have a result, another entirely to find “no serious issue to be tried”.

Northern Observer

It is fair to disclose our hand on the subject of Miss Ram. The way she has done business in Barbados over the years does not recommend her to this blogmaster. She has generously donated to both major political parties i.e. BLP and DLP. Her training as a lawyer allowed her to grease the system for the benefit of all.

However it will not prevent the BU household from creating blog space to invite opinions on the matter at hand. Government has moved full steam ahead to acquire the property known as Liquidation Centre owned by Ms Ram on Lower Bay Street to facilitate the construction of the Hyatt Hotel.

For years she has operated businesses in Barbados with questionable working working conditions. Hundreds of words can be posted about Furniture Limited. There is an instant in 2012 it failed a health inspection and was forced to suspend operations.

For years Ms Ram was allowed by authorities to operate a hardware cum retail Store on Lower Broad Street. It was a common sight to observe forklifts, 10 wheelers and other heavy duty vehicles loading and offloading items to support the business. The fact that it was an inconvenience to pedestrians and vehicular traffic in the area seemed inconsequential.

The preamble notwithstanding it is important government treats with citizens fairly. The issue at hand is that government and Ms Ram have been unable to reach an agreement on a price for the property where the Liquidation Centre is located. The inability of the parties to reach agreement has prevented the mobilization of the Hyatt project. She sought injunctive relief from the High Court last weekend and to quote a local press report:

In response, the owners sought injunctive relief through the High Court, which dismissed the application on the basis that there was no serious issue to be tried. The company then sought a stay of execution, which the court also rejected.

Some are arguing that government has no bone in the fight between Ms Ram and the Hyatt developer. The Land Acquisition Act  Section 5 (1) 3 is very clear:

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to prevent the acquisitions of lands for public purposes by private treaty.

However the other side to the debate is that the Lower Bay Street area has been included in government’s redevelopment plan and others businesses previously located on the strip north of the Liquidation Centre have vacated.

As it stands the police and government have taken control of the property. The country waits to see if the warehouse will be razed or whether Ms Ram will do what she has been adept at through then years; litigation.

#karma

266 responses to “Miss Ram and Karma Meet”

1. @David.

I have to agree with you that to say there Is nothing to discuss further without meeting to discuss other matters is troubling.

Also the valuation being based according to Mrs Ram, on a St Lucy property I don’t see the relevance of.

Is the government using the laws of compulsory acquisition to act as a real estate facilitator here? Also have issues of stock losses and relocation cost been factored into the offer price?

Mrs Ram is not my favourite business person I will admit, however she still deserves a fair shake under our legal system. The need to “rush” this sale must not supersede the right to a complete and fair legal hearing for all parties involved.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

” I will repay” saith The Lord!”

She has shown the winds of disharmony and dishonesty and disdain FOR YEARS.

At no time during those years did she have any charitable spirit towards or kindness for the poor black man and woman that she sold substandard merchandise to.

With regard to her legal matters, TOUGH SHY$E!

Not one RH going happy case dere is a new sheriff in town

Her litigation however WILL BRING SOME BENEFITS TO THE SAME BAJANS THAT SHE HAS DISCOMFITTED OVER THE YEARS BECAUSE IT WILL SHOW BAJANS, like the English ladies that Hats Pain and Teets Marshall discommode of dem land, the steps to take to get back what is hers.

Now, what she should do now is look to get a class action act against the government for ALL DE LAND MATTERS WHER GOVERNMENT UNFAIR LAND OWNERS.

TEK SHE MONER AND CREATE SOME GOODWILL by fighting for others who, lost their property, like she has.

Hire de ole man and leh me and de grandson wuk pun you virtual campaign.

SO MUCH FOR WISHFUL THINKING

heheheheh

3. Yes Mrs. Ram was bitc..h slapped by govt
    However political emotion does not make a wrong right
    This issue is not whether Mrs.Ram was a vile person and deserving of hatred
    The issue resolves around a govt who believes it has every right to stomp and trample on peoples Constitutional rights
    When the voices of those who know better go in concert with a wrong
    The whole of society fails
    Those who knows the Constitution and its bearing on eminent domain by govt would realize that the rule of law does not give govt a right to take private property by way of the treasury and transfer the property over to a private business entity for personnel use
    This is a rogue govt which needs to be removed with haste

Btw pieces where is Atherley voice on this blatant miscarriage of justice

4. So Ms. Ram’s businesses have questionable working conditions and the GOB has questionable validity!!

I suspect she will get what she wants!!

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The state, the government, has EMINENT DOMAIN.

6. As I wrote before what mechanism exists for a meeting of the minds if the two parties can’t agree on a price? If the Gov’t gets to say “this is our valuation, our price is final take it or leave it” what recourse does the other party have?

Ms. Ram wont garner any sympathy from Bajans, today it is her turn, but tomorrow it may be yours if the Gov’t decides that your property is best suited for other purposes.

7. @ Sargeant

I was looking and Mariposa’s comments and laughing as I said here she is talking boy the rule of law when her demons exerted the very same wickedness and this one here IN TERMS OF BREAKING LAWS AND DISADVANTAGING PEOPLE.

“TODAY FOR YOU TOMORROW FOR ME” IS ALL WELL AND GOOD but I got mine long time ago and still under that Rule of Law as defined by both sets of Demons.

But I serve a powerful God who does not sleep.

And who WILL REPAY, watch and see

8. @ Mariposa

Your DLP government was simply the worst government this country has ever had.

If Bishop Atherley personally does not rise to the occasion THERE WILL COME ANOTHER!

You cannot see what is happening AND NEITHER CAN MUGABE.

WUNNA FEEL dat you both are in control but you will see.

“BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD” was not said to, or of, Reverend Atherley or Mugabe Mottley

Watch!!!

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

Private treaty is not compulsory acquisition.
    Eminent Domain is about acquiring land for PUBLIC use.
    What is occurring is the Government is using its power of compulsory acquisition to settle a dispute between two LOCAL Corporations. The buyer (Hyatt developer), and the seller (Mirchandani) could not reach agreement. And then the Government stepped in.
    I appreciate Bajans are ‘fed up’, need ‘economic activity’, Mrs Ram is not an island favourite, and thus Karma is a fair term to use.
    Conversely, the developers are not idiots. Anytime a major project is unveiled, you know surrounding land values WILL move. If instead of Hyatt, the project was a pig farm, properties like the Mirchandani property would decrease in value. If the values will likely go up based on intended use, you acquire what land you require BEFORE unveiling.
    So what happened? What factors caused the developers to require “more land”, and hence need the Mirchandani property?
    The precedent being set here is very dangerous. It opens the door in future, for all manners of abuse.
    As recently as tonight the PM reminded all Barbadians, and whatever investors were watching, that Barbados is a nation of laws. I wonder exactly what she meant?

10. @Northern Observer

Can you blame the PM for the decision handed by the Court last weekend?

Have properties on the strip north of liquidation centre acquired as part of Bridgetown redevelopment?

11. Hyatt Ziva may be a USD $175Million direct investment but it is not in the clear yet as it relates to permissions.
    And as such, transparency is the byword of developers and architects as they seek to bring the Hyatt Ziva to Barbados.
    To this end as they work to have full disclosure with the public, tonight at the public presentation at Copacabana in Bridgetown, developer Mark Maloney confirmed that planning permission has not been granted as yet. However, even at this early stage, he stressed that the intention is to give the public the details to better inform them as the phases unfold.
    Planning Consultant and Attorney Derick Oderson chaired the meeting and added that the current status of the project entails completed studies and submissions which were used to inform the new design.
    Noting that the Ziva will have an 18-storey building included in its new design, Maloney clarified that contrary to the belief that the edifice will block out much of the beach view, he compared the height of the proposed building to the Central Bank. He said that persons need not confuse “storeys and floors”. He said regardless of the fact that the building will be 18 storeys tall it will only be 20 feet taller than the Central Bank because of the technology being used in the construction and the floor to ceiling heights.
    Attorney Lalu Hannoman, wearing his Marine Trust hat, also challenged the light which will be generated by the tall buildings as an issue for turtles seeking to nest; while others spoke to the shadow created by the three main buildings.
    With height being a bone of contention with many commenters who posed questions during the Q & A segment, developer James Edgehill also confirmed that they are in discussions with the firefighters and the building standards authority because new equipment will be needed to be acquired. However he went on to say that the equipment will benefit the country as buildings may continue to climb higher beyond Hyatt in the future.
    Oderson said the final design and architectural drawings will be submitted in coming weeks.
    And Maloney emphasised that the questions posed at tonight’s presentation will be taken into account as they move ahead to the Town Hall Meeting. He said that such will be held as is mandated by the legislation to ensure that Barbadians are not blindsided as they move forward.
    Seemingly having learned from his initial attempt to successfully construct a Hyatt Centric at the same location previously, Maloney also confirmed that this toss an environmental study has been conducted and submitted.
    Hyatt Ziva is projected to bring in 2500 jobs during construction and 1500 when in operation along with a total number of indirect jobs in the area of 3270.
    Caricom Ambassador David Commisiong posed three sets of questions, the Ram Merchandis also asked questions along with some from The City, real estate, quality surveying and tourism.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/hyatt-ziva-plans-staying-above-board-assures-developers

12. Serve Ram right, she love too much court, selling dead chickens to bajans and then suing because it was reported what this wicked beast did to Black Bajans…….nearly 40 YEARS LATER THE CASE IS STILL IN COURT….she is just as much a criminal as the QCs, her lawyers, who still have that horrible case stagnating the court system..

“She has generously donated to both major political parties i.e. BLP and DLP. Her training as a lawyer allowed her to grease the system for the benefit of all.”

Corruption…bribing both political parties/governments, bribing customs officers and other civil servants with her brown envelopes, cause she knew the weakminded negros well, what she did not know is that greedy politicians eat bribers too, when the bribe from the other side is much bigger…their eyes are ALWAYS bigger than their stomachs..

Hers are the FILTHIEST STORES I HAVE EVER SEEN in my life and i have seen stores everywhere …once i wandered in and was so horrified i asked the staff how could they work under such repulsive conditions, a fire hazard did not begin to describe,then the fire station was not even 10 metres down the street so i wondered what kinda halfassed fire station allows such dangerous practices in stores down the street from them, am sure she bribed them too to look the other way, knowing full well that they would.

…then am like, how much yall get paid for working in this fitlhy dump, i later found out she paid 5 BDS dollars an hour, i won’t hold my breath that that beast ever raised the pay, that is how she TRAPPED YOUNG BLACK PEOPLE IN HER FILTH.

me thinks her staff were too traumatized to even answer me…both governments colluded with this beast for at least 50 years to treat their people like that, mistreatment, disrespect racism, they can NEVER SEE ANY BETTER FOR THEIR PEOPLE…and dumbass Verla is now trying to paint Ram as a victim, why would anyone want Verla as a leader, she is weakminded.

…..Barrow allowed this criminal into the island to keep his own people in financial bondage and sell them population inferior quality garbage for decades..

13. While it is true that we must be vigilant about government’s compulsory acquisition of land let me say that if they must unfair anybody it could not have happened to a better person.

She treats staff worse than cattle in a cowshed. And as for her husband……well she is not going to sue me so I done with that.

I would prefer to sweep the streets than to work in her filthy place. I do not shop there. It is a fire hazard. There is no ventilation. I could go on and on but we all know the story.

The place and her other “establishments” should have been shut down years ago. The staff could probably make more money selling coconuts, ackees and the like.

Never has the saying “Good riddance to bad rubbish!” been more appropriate. Literally.

PS. Has she paid the $250,000 in arrears to the BWA as ordered by the court? When will she have to pay the balance?.

If she is “a broken woman” she is one woman who deserves to be brek.

14. Verla should be ashamed of herself. Of all the people who have been unfaired in this country she raises her voice on the behalf of this beast

15. Everyone knows Verla is NOT LEADERSHIP MATERIAL…how she ever passed the bar is a damn mystery, her analysis skills in this case lack of…she herself highlighted with that idiocy….., just goes to show anyone can get a law degree if ya memory is good enuff, wuh even Ram got one and look how despicable she is..

16. Even worse…they all knew how dirty and disgusting Ram is but from those in government right on down to the clowns in media are always bigging her up as this great business woman fully aware what she has done to 2 gnerations of people in Barbados with her low class, Black Hole of Calcutta practices…

….. these hypocrites for Black Bajans are even worse than her.

17. Google Ms Ram Mirchandani. The lethini of court cases and media reports surrounding the decades of the harm she has cause to this nation is mind numbing. Countless lawyers she has paid to fight every hint of an acquisition instead addressing concerns or even threat the staff well at least. Why should any citizen of this land blink about this. I even worked for her 1 day in my early youth. 1 day was enough for me to see how poorly people were treated and exploited under fear of being “easily replaced”. I could not believe how adults were reduced to child like behaviour.. and I was a child amazed that this spectacle. I knew that I could never allow myself to be consumed by a place and a person(s) such as this.
    Of Course I was a kid and many adults have much more responsibilities and probably felt they had little options and thus the power of ms Ms Ram Mirchandani was sustained.

18. Bingo! Kudos to you 2bxact!

19. Wunna talking a bunch of RH. Urban redevelopment is a public objective and therefore a benefit…period. The acquisition of the Liquidation Centre appears essential to facilitating the development of what appears to be a much improved Hyatt scheme as the catalyst for the transformation of Bridgetown. Public benefit is not confined to publicly funded proposals.

20. Was a man electrocuted while working on Casa Grande?

21. MONTEGO BAY, St James — Karisma Hotels and Resorts last week announced that it will be investing near US$1 billion to build its 4,800 room multi-resort development project in Llandovery, St Ann.

22. Piece

I also took at your comments and laughed out loud thinking how you resort to political game playing instead of answering the question pointed towards Atherley
    Maybe in some issues you might do Atherley a favour and let him speak for himself

23. On the matter of valuation, an existing use value with a premium appears to be a suitable approach in this situation. Ram musse looking for an alternative use valuation. #tooRHwicked🤣🤣

24. Now I have got the cussing out of my system let me set aside the emotion and deal with the legality of it.

Not often I agree with Enuff but today I do 100%. Public good is broader than what some have said here and what he says about the valuation seems quite believable. She should get the value of the existing use.

25. Layman’s valuation.

Market value for land and buildings plus loss of business projected for the next 10 years.

( would require ms. Ram to show profits for the previous 3 years.)

26. @ Mariposa formerly Asinine Cretin but still ManyPussy

What is the title of this article?

So why is it, that instead of writing your shy$e on the copious other blogs here that specifically reference the People’s Party for Democracy and Development, you here trying to hijack the topic?

You ole bat yuh!

Heheheheheheheheh

27. What loss of business for the next ten years? What would it take for her to set up another shoddy establishment somewhere else? Could be done by next year! Sheds don’t take long to build.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    November 19, 2019 10:45 PM

What if the Government is eminently unconstitutional?

29. Will the new Hotel have its own electricity generating capacity and desalination plant … and sewage disposal?

Why are we going through this sh!t with these swords of Damocles hanging over our heads?

30. November 20, 2019 10:01 AM

November 19, 2019 10:45 PM
    What if the Government is eminently unconstitutional?

.. or worse, imminently unconstitutional?

31. The liquidation centre is a dump. For them to say there is 7 million dollars in stock is dubious at best, a lie at worse.

32. No one feels an ounce of sympathy for Ms.Ram the issue (for me) is whether an independent valuation was done or whether Gov’t is the sole arbiter of property value.

Why should anyone trust the Gov’t to do the right thing? Remember when Gov’t zoned land for agricultural use and the moment the land was sold it was immediately zoned for other uses.

33. Who trusts the government? There should be independent valuation. But Ms. Ram can fight her own battle.

John,

We shall get to all these things with the new Hyatt Hotel. Isn’t there supposed to be some sort of town hall meeting or something?

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

NorthernObserverNovember 20, 2019 1:45 AM
    “The buyer (Hyatt developer), and the seller (Mirchandani) could not reach agreement. And then the Government stepped in.”
    This is incorrect. The buyer is the government of Barbados. The government already owns the adjacent parcel where the Harbour Police used to be. The developer owns none of the land in the vicinity.

35. 🚨🚨🚨

@ Sargeant

Commander Theophillus Gazerts left and emoticon above and it made me aware that emojis can be added to these submissions.

The “alarms” above are elicited by your focused observations and voiced remarks about it being a citizen’s task and responsibility to watch the government it elected 30-0

You comment is more noticeable IN A TIME WHEN, IT IS DANGEROUS TO VOICE AN OPINION THAT IS CONTRARY to the policies of the Party in Power, on peril of your observations being noted as dissenting opinion, AND THEREFORE AN ENEMY TO THE MOTTLEY REGIME!

De ole man’s Stoopid Cartoons are considered by some crass and crude, by others, disrespectful but, a few see their MAIN AND TRUE purpose.

All viewers, including the sycophants, immediately see the focal point of the topic and, EVEN IF IT EMOTES THEM TO ANGER, OR DISGUST ABOUT THE DISRESPECT SHOWN TO THEIR RESPECTIVE HEROES, what it does is bring multiple citizens INTO THAT MINDSPACE OF ETERNAL VIGILANCE.

Friend and foe alike, the governed and THE GOVERNMENT, ALL become aware that they are being watched.

Comments like your own MUST CONTINUE UNABATED, AND UNFETTERED AND CONSTANT so that, over time, every citizen comes to the realization that it is their right AND EVERY PARLIAMENTARIAN, comprehends that they are accountable to their people.

36. @Donna

There was a town hall last night, the Rams were given scant respect by the Chair of the meeting.

37. @ Sargeant

The problem is not what kind of person Ms Ram is, even if that is important, the fundamental issue is government’s abuse of process. Today it is Ms Lamb, tomorrow it may be you, figuratively speaking.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna November 20, 2019 10:57 AM
    “There should be independent valuation.”
    The government is said to have offered them Bd$75 per sq ft for the 80,000 sq ft property: Bd$6 million. They have apparently asked for Bd$250 per sq ft. Other beachfront land on Carlisle Bay is listed for an asking price of Bd$128 per sq ft.

At the Hyatt public meeting last evening I pointed out the price of comparable lots and asked Mrs Ram in private whether she would consider Bd$130 per sq ft to be a fair offer. She smiled and said yes… but then she claimed that someone had paid $250 per sq ft for another beachfront lot along Bay St. I asked which lot, but she was non committal. A few seconds later she claimed that Rihanna had bought the beachfront lot at Bd$300 per sq ft.

I have no idea what to make of this confusing conversation.

39. Ms.Ram sought an injunction to delay the government taking possession of the property after her request for an extension was not granted by the government. She is not contesting the acquisition.
    On the matter of valuation, who did the value on the land tax bill she objected to repeatedly? Pass me with the BS! She pay the BWA yet?

40. Miss Ram is being visited by Karma. She is a disputable individual who has made a mint on the backs of Black people and exploiting the most vulnerable and greedy.

41. @plt
    I take your facts as correct. So was the GoB negotiating with Mirchandani? Is the deal the GoB is to lease/sell land to the developers? The GoB is like any other entity, is free to buy property from any party. But if they don’t like the price requested, they invoke compulsory acquisition?

@Blogmaster
    The last court issue related to relief to delay the sale, so one cannot blame anybody. The courts decided. So no I do not blame the PM.
    The reality the GoB has acquired other nearby properties is great. By private treaty? Very appropriate. By compulsory acquisition? Possible, but I doubt it.

I do not like to like to invoke situations elsewhere. There are 50 cranes visible from the CN tower, I counted them last week. Daily battles where condo/other developers need a footprint size. Daily battles where there is a holdout owner(s). Is the Government to decide that one development is of such “public value” they must seize the land by invoking eminent domain. NOT unless it is for public use. (Verses public benefit….directly or indirectly)

42. @Enuff

Looka you putting me in the invidious position of defending Ms. Ram but people always complain about land/property valuation when it comes to taxes if it will save them money, yuh want to tell me that the other corporations/companies don’t complain? Those valuations have no relation to reality, ask any Bajan if they would sell their property based on the assessed value that the Gov’t provided.

43. Hal AustinNovember 20, 2019 11:25 AM

@ Sargeant

The problem is not what kind of person Ms Ram is, even if that is important, the fundamental issue is government’s abuse of process. Today it is Ms Lamb, tomorrow it may be you, figuratively speaking.

Correction, Hal. Yesterday, today and tomorrow it is us. Who rose to our defence? Ms. Ram has the resources to fight her own battle. If she wins that does not mean the effects will be passed on to us. Let her go to her favourite place again – the courts! If a precedent is set the rest of us stand a chance.

Why should the court of public opinion help her?

Steupse!

44. @Northern Observer

If this government is serious about developing the Bridgetown area especially given its world heritage status hell yes!

45. @ Donna

I am not a property owner in Barbados that the government can take off me of, so I am out of the conversation. I was talking about the principle: Ms Ram could be the Devil, the point is the government is wrong. It is an abuse of process. But I am out.

46. You do not know but you can be conclusion in your judgement of the matter?

47. Northern Observer
    The Act says public purposes. The objective of publicly acquiring land for public purposes is the delivery of public benefits. Urban regeneration is a public exercise that serves a public purpose and delivers public benefits. Let me expand on the matter of purpose/benefits as it relates to this matter. Jobs during the construction and operational phases (both directly and indirectly) and foreign exchange are the obvious benefits. In essence economic activity. However, early in this administration’s term it revamped the planning law and in the process placed a heavy emphasis on planning obligations–a practice that is standard in the UK where our planning law originates. Planning obligations simply allows the government to maximise public benefits (or the public purpose) of a development. So in this instance, the government can go further and legally bind the developer to use targeted recruitment, employment and training and procurement; provide publicly accessible beach facilities like changing/bathrooms, public seating areas; and contribute to the greening of Bridgetown for example. They could even seek financial contributions toward infrastructure, maybe some work on or furniture/solar panels/water harvesting equipment etc for St.Ambrose, St.Marys and other primary schools in the area. The removal of Liquidation Centre through public acquisition to facilitate the regeneration of Bridgetown serves a public purpose and is long overdue.

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    The GoB is acting within the ambit of the 1949 Land Acquisition Act. It authorizes compulsory land acquisition “3. (1) Whenever it appears to the Minister that any land is likely to be required for any purposes for which the Crown is authorised by any Act to be to acquire land or for any purposes which, in the opinion of the Minister, are public purposes…”

So Hal, as you can see, the purposes are ENTIRELY within the digression of the Minister to determine. You may conclude that this colonial era law gives the Minister too much power, but it is crystal clear that the GoB has acted lawfully and the Courts have substantiated this point.

49. @PLT

Why do we have to discuss the same thing round and round in circles. If the government is compulsorily purchasing the property (eminent domain) for the public good, then that is right and proper; if it is in order to pass on to a private owner, it is an abuse of process. I ask again: who will own the freehold? All these documents should be public records, both in the planning application and in the order.
    No nonsense argument about urban development, or hotel corridor or providing jobs and tax revenue would justify this in any independent court of law. It may do in Barbados. That is why I say she should go to the CCJ.
    The other non-argument is play the ball and not the person; no matter what we think of Ms Ram, the point is the abuse of process. Such an argument is barbaric. It is like saying Ninja Man should not be given the protection of the law. Savagery. Ms Ram did not arrive in Barbados yesterday – nor is she the only foreigner who behaves in unacceptable ways.
    However, once you allow the state to do this kind of thing our rule of law is dead.

50. Govt can not acquire property for at tax payers expense for the sole purpose of enabling a private cooperation to build on our use the property for business purpose
    The land or property must be used for govt purposes with out a shadow of infer doubt as to whether has trampled on an Individual constitution rights and the property well serves people and country interest..not showing bias or goodwill towards any business interest