One thing this blogmaster knows from reading evaluations about the 2008 global economic crisis, it rubbished classical economic explanations. In fact the crisis served to popularized behavioural economics which is described as “an important link between economic and psychological sciences in the analysis of individual decisions especially combining psychological assumptions with economic decision-making analyzes, draws attention with its approach to the 2008 global crisis“. In simple terms the classical economic approach assumes individuals will be rational and consumed with self in decision making. Injecting behavioural economic considers psychological factors that serve to motivate people, force attitudes and create expectations.  Using the theory of behavioural economics the conclusion was made that the 2008 global meltdown was more than a financial crisis, it was a crisis of confidence.

In recent years both political and NGO talking heads have been trotting out the message Barbadians should save in the credit unions because the movement is seen as more supportive to empowering Black and working class people based on its philosophy. They should challenge a risk averse mindset and use the billions in savings lodged in the banks to invest or buy equity stakes in businesses. In recent weeks the government has indicated a special arrangement will be established to attract citizen investment in renewable energy program. The government is on a mission to persuade risk averse Barbadians to INVEST.

There is an interesting inference to the 2008 global financial crisis and the austerity period Barbados has been navigating for the last eleven years. Although acknowledged  there was a financial meltdown in 2008 in the USA – bear in mind the Barbados dollar is forever pegged to the US dollar – Barbadians ignored the failing economic indicators and maintained a lifestyle not reflective of the harsh economic environment. The irrational behaviour by Barbadians- including the government- has been responsible for the current perilous state of the economy.

In the book Stolen: How to save the world from fictionalization  by Grace Blakeley, she wrote, “when people are uncertain about the future, they may behave in ways that seem irrational – for example, saving when they will receive little return for doing so, or spending far above what they can afford. This is because in the context of uncertainty, people prefer to hold liquid (easy-to-sell) assets – and they tend to prefer to hold the most liquid asset of all: CASH (blogmaster’s emphasis). Liquidity preference means that, the higher the levels of uncertainty, the more people save rather than spend“.

The same is true about business behaviour and how investment decisions are taken. Blakeley states, “this kind of uncertainty marks business’ behaviour even more than consumers’ and affects their investment decisions. If businesses’ confidence about the future turns, they are likely to stop investing. These lower levels of investment will result in lower revenues for suppliers, who may have to lay people off, who will reduce their spending, leading to a fall in economic activity“.

The point to be made is that it is not enough to expect Barbadians will behave rationally by answering the call to invest, there are underlying psychological reasons to consider. How does a government committed to transforming the way we do business understand the psychological factors at play in Barbados? Has this government with a bevy of communications people on payroll developed a strategy to counter the underlying psychological factors? So much learning from the 2008 meltdown but have we learned anything?

222 responses to “You Asking Me to Invest?”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    “You know the banks will not like You though!”
    +++++++++++++++
    High praise indeed! If that is so then my time on this earth will not have been entirely wasted 😉

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The economy of Barbados going forward cannot be anchored in micro businesses. We must produce for large external markets if we are to remain a middle income country. What you are recommending are for countries emerging out of subsistence economies. We were never at that stage. And we are not going backwards. I am afraid we have to think big. We are not poor rakey.

3. Spent half of today talking to my cousin about investing in her business. She has oodles of talent and was at the top of her field but was derailed by her ex husband’s vengeful blowing up of her business. He caused so much drama that her customers fled and many have not returned. Don’t know why I didn’t think of the option of fronting the money and reclaiming it in services. Strange, since I did think of it with my best friend’s business.

I have made my mind up. Unless she dies or gets too sick to perform the service, I really cannot lose.

So…. this discussion has done somebody some good.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent
    I am not at all aiming this at micro business or small businesses. This initiative is to fill a gap in the financial ecosystem for innovation and technology businesses. It will not list micro businesses.
    It is for companies like Red Diamond Compost who have innovated an agro-tech product using the many tons of fish guts, fins, tails and heads that the fishing industry pays to dispose of. https://reddiamondcompost.com/index.php/en/

5. Vincent yes it will take much more than what we are discussing for sure. What we are looking at I agree is micro based, but in terms of percentage growth the small companies will offer that. But I agree it would probably take 20 small companies to give the same revenue base as a large one.

Think of it as the Barbados Penny Stock Market. You know the game high return on a small capital outlay.

6. Then again what is a micro business revenue wise? Do we say micro based on profit per dollar sold or on total revenue? Then again what percentage of our total corporate revenue is under say $3 million per company? I don’t have this data but I wouldn’t write off the contribution the small and medium size companies could make.

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent & @John A,
    Take a look at the Red Diamond Compost Website. Young Joshua Forte has created a bio-stimulant (fertiliser concentrate) from fish waste that has achieved excellent results in testing. If he gets the investment the business needs it is likely to be earning over US$1 million in annual exports in a few years. Is that micro??

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Four or five dozen innovative companies like Red Diamond Compost will make a much bigger and lower risk contribution to the Barbados economy that mega projects like Four Seasons and Sam Lord’s Castle.

9. @ Vincent.

You know the central bank data collection as a old veteran. Lol

Do you know if they record their corporation tax by revenue category? It would be interesting to know who contributes what to the treasury as a percentage of their revenue.

10. Let me clear up what I asked.

Do companies that would be deemed small to medium in size pay more tax per dollar on their sales than the large conglomerates?

If they do this would imply they are more profitable per dollar in sales than large companies. Taking this to the obvious conclusion they would be in a better position to pay a dividend than the larger ones to their shareholders.

If only the data was publically available.

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@IronsideNovember 10, 2019 8:44 AM “the Central Bank bond fiasco.”

You call it fiasco?

I call it something that begins with F

It should have been clear to a blind man that the government would have been unable to honor the bonds.

So when I heard senior officialdom hawking the bonds, I did not buy them for the same reason i do not buy pudding and souse on Saturday nights.

By nightfall the pudding and souse stinks, and so did these government bonds.

People really got to stop being so naive.

Stop believing that something is good because Mr. So and So say so.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A November 10, 2019 10:16 AM

I would do something completely crazy. Something not taught in economics class.

I would find a child, any child or young person, a niece or nephew, a grandchild or godchild. a child who is currently a ward of the state, any child will do, and I would spend some of my hundreds of thousands on the education of that child.

If the child is educated and can follow his or her passion for pay, then it is win-win.

If the child turns out to be ungrateful, at least there is one win, the child, and the elder can always subsist on their NIS.

NIS still there right?

Honestly I would rather do this than to have hundreds of thousands sitting idle in the bank.

But then I am a…

Simple Simon

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Money BrainNovember 10, 2019 11:03 AM “people are conned by the higher rates that seem guaranteed.”

In this life NOTHING is guaranteed, not even crossing a quiet country road.

People are not conned, people are not even seduced.

People are GREEDY. They think that a fella who went to school with them is so smart that he can turn floss into gold.

Unlikely to happen.

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I know a bajan woman who did not go beyond elementary school here. Went over there and studying part time gained a technical qualification even while raising a family. Thought of returning home and building one of the big “returning national” houses.

What for? Asked her draftsman, a very sensible fellow.

So instead built an apartment building thusly. Finish one apartment and immediately rent it out for a bit below market rate, that way the tenant who is at work all day anyhow will put up with a bit of noise, dust and disruption. Use the rent from apartment one in addition to some wages (always remembering to hog any overtime which is available) to construct apartment two. And so on until in about 15 years all 6 are done, and tenanted, always at a bit below market rate. Cut the grass and do the garden beds at least twice a month, paint the building every 5 years or so. Have repairs done immediately. That is keep tenants happy, happy all the time. If you wish save one apartment for yourself, when you are not using it rent it out on Air BNB or such. All income is good, income in USD, Euros and such, even better.

Now 20 years later the building is paid for, and generates a nice $4,000 per month after expenses, enough to supplement the pension of anybody who spent 40 or more years in work. If push comes to shove the fully tenanted building can be sold.

Slow and steady wins the race.

This is not high finance so it might only work though for those who did not go beyond elementary school.

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

And perhaps we need to look at the demographics and stop building 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom houses.

Two bedroom, 2 bathroom houses apartments designed this way one bedroom to the left, one to the right, both bathrooms in the middle and opening directly into bedroom and bedroom 2 respectively, so that if sharing with a non family member or children there is a good bit of privacy work wonderfully for the following demographic groups and are therefore easy to market. After all which “just leaving home for the first time” single or couple even those earning a professional salary can afford to rent a three bedroom, 2 bathroom?

Single people
    Two unrelated roommates
    Married or cohabiting couples
    Married couples cohabiting couples with one child
    Married couples cohabiting couples with 2 children of the same gender
    Elderly parent(s) with their care giving middle aged daughter, whether she is single or partnered

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@moneybrain ” Clico occured due to very weak monitoring and controls.”

Nope.

Clico occured because of political interference, and it suited the politicos to interfere.

Wunna like wunna forget already that the Supervisor of Insurance whose job it was to monitor and regulate clico was sent home, she may still be at home on full pay more that ten years later.

That was political mischief.

It was NOT weak monitoring and controls.

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompsonNovember 10, 2019 5:48 PM “No we are not. We are talking about getting several thousand mostly middle class and upper middle class people to invest a few thousand dollars into their neighbors’ enterprises. Ten thousand locals and another ten thousand in the diaspora investing on average a couple of thousand US dollars gives about US$40 million in equity investment. That is a quite adequate scale to make a transformative difference to business innovation in Barbados.”

Thanks Peter.

Why do you always have to be so pragmatic, so sensible?

19. I posted this earlier but…

I just read 112 comments of this blog titled “…You Asking Me to Invest?…”

And, as de ole man was viewing the reparteé I realised that all the brilliant minds assembled here commenting had not seen it understood Minister Abraham’s question?

Which, for all of you is,

“…I, and my Mugabe Regime, are asking you what do we do Create an Investment Environment?

So, when one goes through the 112 comments, WITH THAT FILTER APPLIED, you the see how the ministerial query, of a government that is lost, has been floated to an unsuspecting audience AND THE THINK TANK SKILLS OF BARBADOS’ INDIGENOUS WHITE IAKS TEAM has risen to the occasion of how to propose a micro and macro infrastructure to engage our investment resources.

2 people provided specific business initiatives that went beyond the generic concepts.

PLT with his bio offal from sea denizens and the Financial Intermediary to serve as a duplicate stock exchange regulator to seduce people into releasing their savings.

All in all, as Mr Codrington summarises the quantum leap required to move from these mickey mouse micro entrepreneurial ideas to macro economic activities CONTINUES TO BE MISSING.

But de ole man ent bright like wunna so leh me go back to a nex blog to cuss a body!

20. Some quick thoughts about the subject under discussion:

Entrepreneurial traditions, effort, aptitude, skill, and accomplishment vary among ethnic groups. For example, compare the Ibos of Nigeria to their Yoruba and Hausa countrymen. Or compare Chinese and white West Indians to their black compatriots. (Of course, underperforming black communities always blame slavery for our failures, but slavery was abolished two hundred years ago.)

When I lived in Toronto some years ago, I was particularly embarrassed by the fact that, while the West Indian community was overwhelmingly black, the only West Indian billionaire in the city was a Chinese Jamaican.

Social scientists have no satisfactory explanations for these ethnic differences. Many old-fashioned economists ignore them, and treat people as atomistic individuals, as if we are all the same, which is nonsense.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Piece the Legend
    What you fail to realize is that the journey of a thousand miles is accomplished step by step. Instead of taking step one then step two you are sitting and searching for a magic carpet that will whisk you all thousand miles in a heartbeat.
    There is no magic carpet.
    There is no magical government policy that will create the investment environment to fix the lack of economic growth in Barbados. You are chasing after an illusion.
    The investment environment will be created by Bajans creative and courageous enough to innovate first— then ask for forgiveness later from all of those whose corns they mashed in the process.

22. @peterlawrencethompson November 10, 2019 7:39 PM
    The logic of the micro investment entity you are proposing is solid. I like it. We can quibble at the term “micro” but that is a red herring.

What is critical is that there are two questions that remain germane and largely unanswered:

++1++ How do we move from the current situation (a.k.a risk averseness) to an “appetite” for risk?

++2++How will these micro-investment, domestic-market-horizon activities lead to the generation of/ redress of the Forex situation?

My opening answers to these are as follows:

++Risk averseness++
    Risk averseness is a symptom / consequence of deeper “independent” variables. In other words, we need to unpack the variable “risk averseness” in the Barbadian context. That is an empirical research problem and no amount of speculation here will resolve it.

+++Generation of Forex+++
    Unless the “micro entities” created impact significantly on import substitution it will not bring us out of the current [but-no-so-current] situation. so we are still battling with micro-macro, scale issues, whatever you want to call it.

I know it is cliché but we need a “paradigm shift” here!

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart Archer

I don’t know why you were embarrassed.

Re: The late Chinese Jamaican billionaire

Are his children and grandchildren billionaires too?

How many Chinese Jamaicans are billionaires?

Maybe it was not his Jamaicanness nor his Chineseness that caused his billionaireness.

Maybe it was a combination of education, hard work, opportunity and luck.

And maybe not even his children nor grandchildren have had that exact combination

24. Social scientists have no satisfactory explanations for these ethnic differences. Many old-fashioned economists ignore them, and treat people as atomistic individuals, as if we are all the same, which is nonsense.(Quote)

Give us an explanation.

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Doc Martin
    Any investor who is not an idiot will prefer to invest in companies that address a market bigger than the domestic one.
    The company making fertilizer out of fish waste is export oriented for example.

26. peterlawrencethompson November 10, 2019 4:02 PM
    The answer (e) is like motherhood and apple pie? Your focus on the individual and collective need to make things happen is agreed with.
    That said, while there is no need to complain about B or D, there is a need to improve the level of government and its governance. Likewise bemoaning our perceptions of the risk tolerance of others, really means there is likely to be less competition associated with any opportunity. So go for it.

27. Peter from what I have observed of the island and the supply and demand factors is you should be investing in dat. I found whenever I would would walk down town with my teenage daughters I would always hear people saying…. gimmah some of dat…. or …..want some dat nah. So I can only guess there is a shortage of dat whatever it is.

28. Ok fellows well unlike some i don’t like to pull figures out the air, so below is why I proposed going to a small cap market where the public can participate. As PLT outlined we would place certain guidelines in place so that the investors are protected. Now below is data from fsb.org.uk on the small business sector at the beginning of 2019 there.

” the UK currently has 5.82 million small businesses with 0 to 49 employees. They represent 60 percent of total employment in the UK private sector and 50 percent of the total turnover in it as well.”

Now I am not saying we are anywhere near that level of contribution percentage wise here. But i will say the sector based on the UK data, has tremendous scope for growth. 50 percent of the total Turnover in the UK private sector is nothing to sneeze at.

29. @John A

We have to start some where.

30. @David

Yes and ideas have been ventilated here and other places. The problem is we can’t legalise such suggestions, only government can put the necessary frame work in place.

What I can tell you though is that the U.S Stock Market does a nice trade in what is called PENNY STOCKS. Those that are interested can research this area.

31. @ John A

Both in the US and UK small and medium enterprises created most of the jobs. Mega companies do not created a proportional number of jobs. By the way, how is a small enterprise defined in Barbados?

32. create

33. @ Hal

At one time is was defined as a business with sales of under 1 million dollars annually. Not sure though if that criteria still stands.

34. November 11, 2019 1:04 PM

@ John A

Both in the US and UK small and medium enterprises created most of the jobs. Mega companies do not created a proportional number of jobs. By the way, how is a small enterprise defined in Barbados?

@ Hal

I have asked the same question for years. Never got a proper answer. Same way I asked how do we define middle class. We can’t explain or understand the basics but love the” hifuhlutin “.

35. @ William

Government has (or had) a small business unit. Do they ever report? I remember attending a meeting with them in Warren’s, all the young man and woman did was to take notes.

36. @peterlawrencethompson November 11, 2019 10:52 AM

+++Any investor who is not an idiot will prefer to invest in companies that address a market bigger than the domestic one.+++

Presumably that is the answer to the question: Would an investor prefer …… a market bigger than the domestic one?

Respectfully, however, It is not the issue I posed. Here is what I said:
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Unless the “micro entities” created impact significantly on import substitution it will not bring us out of the current [but-no-so-current] situation.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What I am saying is that we will need to ensure that we create enterprises that are export oriented, perhaps from the get-go. A restaurant is not by definition (or is it “expectation”? ) an export-oriented enterprise. However, Cheffette has achieved a certain level of internationalization.

The question – if we really need one is: How do we “ensure” that the enterprises created are export oriented…from the get-go?

Alternatively:

What policy framework can be implemented to drive entrepreneurs and investors towards creating/ financing export oriented (a.k.a “born global”) enterprises?

37. Barbadians who have enough savings put aside for an emergency can take a ” risk ” with their extra cash.

Emergency cash to pay for an Air ambulance to Miami and the deposit for the Hospital visit.

38. Eight pseudonyms and counting. Anyone who uses so many bogus names must have a problem.

39. In the Caribbean, lending money for business startups only makes sense if you can trust the borrower.

Lending to blood relatives, honest and reliable friends, members of your church, etc. might be sensible, but lending to total strangers seldom is.

It is downright irresponsible of politicians and community activists to make it sound like we have a patriotic duty to lend our personal savings to local entrepreneurs. Given the horrific failure rate of new businesses, it is almost never a good idea to finance somebody else’s business ideas.

If the Barbados government needs to stimulate investment activity, the time-tested approach is to use a Citizen-by-Investment program. Or facilitate the formation of specialized venture capitalist firms.

40. One million Barbadians could be the boost the economy really needs, respected economist Jeremy Stephen has suggested, as he threw his strong support behind Government’s push towards a managed migration programme.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/12/million-by-migration-economic-boom-says-stephen/

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

did you see some ‘think group’ wants Toronto to grow to 35 million by 2070. The new wave of economics seems to be growth by massive population expansion.
    The infrastructural load, sewage-water-garbage alone, would need massive expenditure.
    Every time I watch Stephens, he reminds me, facial expressions and how he grabs his face with his hand, of Kellogs Walrond.

42. venture capital

43. God save us all from the current generation of UWI economists.

44. @Hants

One million Barbadians could be the boost the economy really needs, respected economist Jeremy Stephen has suggested…(Quote)

I was under the belief that Mr Stephens was a lecturer in banking and finance at UWI. What is his experience in banking and finance, apart from his academic studies?
    Anyhow, to the above point, the idea of a million people on a 166sq mile island is not just bad economics (the prime minister is also supporting a call for a growth in the population), it is idiocy. It has something to do with mimicking Singapore.
    Of course, no one is saying why we need a growth in population, but it can be assumed that what they are talking about is productivity. WE DO NOT NEED A GROWTH IN POPULATION TO INCREASE PRODUCTIVITY. We need to work smarter, maximise the economics of comparative advantage and use technology and artificial intelligence positively.
    Why can’t we debate these things.
    By the way, can @Walter Blackman explain to the blog what de-risking means in terms of insurance and banking? I have seen some weird explanation in another place that put a smile on my face.

45. Lending to blood relatives, honest and reliable friends, members of your church, etc. might be sensible, but lending to total strangers seldom is.(Quote)

When you work and have your salary paid direct in to a bank account, does that mean you know and trust the banker, who then charges you to access your own money?

46. Any investor who is not an idiot will prefer to invest in companies that address a market bigger than the domestic one.(Quote)

Plse explain what percentage of the Barbados economy is driven by consumer consumption and what by exports.

47. Hal
    Never take an IQ test because the results will be really bad.

Banks and bank transactions are highly regulated. All financial institutions are required by law to have strong internal control systems. (Look up the meaning of “internal controls” because it is used here as a technical term). That is why we can usually trust banks with our money — but not total strangers

48. @ Ewart Archer

Financial institutions highly regulated in Barbados? Really? First, do you know anything about financial regulation, because I do not. Plse explain the internal controls in its most technical sense? So we trust banks because of their internal controls? I have said to you before you should use these years for learning.
    By the way, what is an IQ test? Poor me.

49. Nothing in Barbados would be properly managed or control So when Stephens throws his endorsement around a migration plan bandied about by present govt
    He could not be living inside barbados
    First govt would have to deal with the millions of extra garbage coming from this vast migration
    Along with the growing expansion of families which includes birth rate
    A hospital that can accommodate and give impeccable service to this new and expanded population
    Also natives barbadians once again having to get accustomed to differing cultures and they way of living
    Not to count out violence which will become more pervasive as the population increase
    Housing a must to housed the increased population
    Does govt have resources or plans to accommodate an extended population of foreign people on our soil.

Leave a Reply to Walter BlackmanCancel reply