Those following the current global financial crisis, particularly events unravelling in Europe (EU) would have taken note of the call by French President Nicolas Sarkozy and German Chancellor Angela Merkel last week to ban ‘short selling; and ‘naked credit-default swaps’ on sovereign bonds.

Credit-default swaps are derivatives that pay the buyer face value if a borrower — a country or a company — defaults. In exchange, the swap seller gets the underlying securities or the cash equivalent. Traders in naked credit-default swaps buy insurance on bonds they don’t own. Naked short selling involves selling a security without ever being in possession of it.

On the back of this news the market was further disheartened by the news release that owning Europe’s Corporate Bonds has become more risky. On the domestic front the negative economic landscape in Europe is a foreboding prospect given its importance as a tourist market to the Caribbean. The latest Caribbean Tourism Report 2010 mentions a 6.5% and 1% growth in the USA and Canada markets but a 4.3% decline when describing tourist arrivals originating in Europe.

Is it reasonable for world citizens to have expected that many of the causal factors which precipitated the economic crisis in 2008; when the world witnessed  the demise of Lehman Brothers and Merrill Lynch two of the largest Wall Street investment banks should have been plugged by now? The biggest irony exposed by the financial mess is that we live in a world which now places value-added on the need for interconnectivity, this has facilitated the contagion effect. Simply defined, we live in a world where high salaried suits sitting in offices high above the ground can make decisions which can negatively impact our future and that of our children in seconds. They engage in speculative behaviours by accessing ‘synthetic investments’ which commonsense dictates should have been banned or severely curtailed soon after the collapse on Wall Street in 2008.

The USA and the UK are reported to be debating banking (financial) reform. Is it unreasonable if all* the other countries loudly voiced concern about the slow pace of such reform? BU continues to be kuhfuffle by a reality where injudicious financial decisions made by a few in a handful of developed nations around the globe can precipitate a global economic crisis the likes which has not been seen since the Great Depression. In the ensuing crisis fledgling economies like ours in the Caribbean and the developing world are wiped out in the process. The ridiculous state of affairs which continues to fuel discussion in our media are the decisions by Credit Rating Agencies like Standard and Poor’s and others who downgrade the investment ratings of poor countries around the world. Bear in mind the state of the global economy was caused primarily by the USA and other developed countries. A failure to police its governance structures and a healthy dose of greed has driven us to where we are now.

The controlling environment which exist to the detriment of vulnerable economies forces the question – What can we do to ameliorate our position to safeguard the well being of our citizens now and in the future?

BU is minded that the prevailing economic climate is a state never* experienced by Barbados in its history of recorded existence. A big reason for the calm which Barbados has enjoyed in the last 18 months has been the willingness of companies in Barbados to dig deep into reserves to maintain employment. While this is a commendable effort at some point the crap will have to hit the fan. That time maybe rapidly nearing. Those in the political opposition who cite their record as a resume to inspire confidence as the government in waiting ignore the current reality.

38 responses to “Developing Countries Continue To Be Buffeted In The Global Economic Storm”

1. The hubris of world economic power from as far back as the Renaissance (and one would assume this to be Venice, Florence and others) – however, the truth is it has always been THE SQUARE MILE* called the CITY (of London)…

The Knights Templar (and following on their heels THE FREEMASONS) made sure that “THE CITY” after 800 years would remain the “AXIS” of monetary evil in our world…

Few folks know that a little known “CORPORATION” called the CITY OF LONDON CORPORATION* has more power than Queen Elizabeth, David Cameron or any other so-called heavyweight within the global socio-political sub-stratum…

The corporation after 800 years has undeclared wealth and assets in real estate and investments that is beyond the reach of the British government, any financial regulatory organization, or forensic accountancy practice…

It is reported that the Chancellor of the Exchequer must meet with the board of the Corporation once a fortnight and HER MAJESTY* Elizabeth Windsor MUST* meet with them once a month…

Like the VATICAN* – a CITY* within a city…

When folks are harping on about offshore tax haven (the likes of OBAMA* & Crew) – when asked which is the largest offshore tax haven in the world – FEW KNOW THAT THE CITY* TAKES THAT CROWN!!!

The dubiousness within the world financial system remains a bastion of intrigue where few have any CLUE* as to its inner workings both from a HISTORICAL* standpoint as well as the contemporary shenanigans being wielded right under our noses – yet we are POWERLESS* to do anything about it…

A slight deviation if I may – “CURRENT ROTHSCHILD ASSETS INCLUDING GOLD BULLION AND OTHER COMMODITIES ARE REPORTED TO BE SOMEWHERE IN THE VICINITY OF £30 TRILLION SUPERSEDED ONLY BY THE “vatican” WHOSE NOMINAL WEALTH IS INESTIMABLE…

2. Terence, Dan Brown you ain’t.

3. What is percieved to be the truth about nationhood and governance and the reality of such enterprises is…well…

Man the most that I could hope for is to die in my sleep… Feel like breaking into a song now

4. Bonds in Athens are at junk status…

Romanian austerity measures pulled public sector workers on to the streets in mass protest today as severe cuts in services and wages are piped down to the poorest in the society…

OBAMA* will be giving a crucial OVAL* Office speech later in the day as the BRITISH PETROLEUM* sabotage of the United States (infrastructure) coastline sees no end in sight – destroying natural habitats, livelihoods, businesses and the economic structure of a country already riddled with DEBT*, negative growth and astronomical unemployment…

EU countries on their knees as the EURO* bobs & weaves in economically turbulent waters…

George Osbourne in concert with Vince “the FLEX” Cable about to unleash a catalogue of measures which will bring to a sudden end the LAX* consumption and frivolity of a society whose only recourse to dealing with major societal issues is – RETAIL THERAPY!!!

Welcome to the “Brave New World” of mass global instability and unrest…

Is this a great time to be alive or WHAT?

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

When I was a young teen attending church and Sunday School at Ch Ch Parish Church, the rector at the time, the late A I Johnson often quoted 2 Corinthians 4:18

While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

I didn’t understand it then, but it makes a lot of sense to ME, now!

We read in I John 2:15-17 about the world system or cosmos diabolicos that it is passing away. i.e IT IS TEMPORAL!

15. Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
    16. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.
    17. And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

We need to realize that THE WORLD SYSTEM IS PASSING AWAY!
    THE TIMES OF THE GENTILES ARE COMING TO AND END
    GOD IS ABOUT THE TAKE BACK THE REINS

HE HAS LET MANKIND & SATAN DO AS THEY PLEASED FOR AGES BUT NOW THE WORLD SYSTEM IS PASSING AWAY!

GET USED TO IT
    THERE IS NOT A MAN WHO CAN SOLVE THE SITUATION

Revelations Chapter 18 tells us about the final financial collapse of the world system, now tottering at the brink! Several US states bankrupt. USA in unprecidented debt! Several countries of the world with a glorious and wealthy pass in debt…. And they have done it to themselves.

Soon God will give a little tap, and they will ALL fall over the precipice! Read all about it in Revelation 18!
    Its breaking news revealed before the event. Babylon the great is fallen, is fallen

IT SURELY IS A GREAT TIME TO BE ALIVE!
    I am looking forward to seeing mockers and scoffers and scoffers squirm!

Wont be long now!
    And its pointless cussing me for having this view. After all I not cussing you for disagreeing with me.

6. Many of the countries like USA, UK, Russia and others are saddled with debt, huge debt. Coincidentally these countries currently possess superior military might.

Does anyone believe that these countries will not use their military power to defend their economic positions?

7. “Does anyone believe that these countries will not use their military power to defend their economic positions?”

Sorry David but I believe that you are guilty of turning a blind eye for at least the last fifty years now…! (Assuming that you are not that old, then of course you have to try pinching yourself from time to time)

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David my friend
    How can you defend the indefensible?

How can you stave off the inevitable?

How can countries pay an army when their money is all gone?

Will they go back to paying salaries with salt?

( For those who dont know the English word salary comes from the Latin word for salt sal, salis.) Hence the term “He is not worth his salt” or salary, referring back to the day when salt was used as a currency.

9. @David: “Many of the countries like USA, UK, Russia and others are saddled with debt, huge debt. Coincidentally these countries currently possess superior military might.

An interesting (but not seminal) observation David.

Further, most people world wide are also in deep in debt, often paying usury levels of interest. (Also not a seminal observation.)

So then the question might become, just who has all the money?

And is this fair, stable and sustainable?

10. David:

“Does anyone believe that these countries will not use their military power to defend their economic positions?”

Where have you been since Bush 1?

A more pertinent question would be “Does anyone not now believe…..?”

11. A very topical story, David, but the title is incorrect; it should be “continue to BE BUFFETED” rather than its current form. Just to prevent Mr J. Bowman LOL!

Thanks Bagehot!

12. @Chris et al

To expand, the USA many suspect had ulterior motives in the Iraq invasion and along with other aggressive moves which can be gleaned from assessing its foreign policy moved in recent years. There should be agreement that the US and its allies have sought always to legitimize whatever actions they have taken to date under UN resolution for example. What BU has intimated in the blog is whether a change is likely to occur where naked aggression by exploiting military might may become par i.e. no explanations required just take it

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re What BU has intimated in the blog is whether a change is likely to occur where naked aggression by exploiting military might may become par i.e. no explanations required just take it

This has always been so from time immemorial (c.f Egypt Assyrians Medes & Perians Grreks Romans etc) and it will continue so to be until the final battle of all battles.

14. @David: “To expand, the USA many suspect had ulterior motives in the Iraq invasion and along with other aggressive moves which can be gleaned from assessing its foreign policy moves in recent years.

Indeed. Particularly during “Juniors’” reign.

If I may please quote from a WashingtonPost article quoting Junior with regards to the question if he had consulted with his own biological father (and a former President): “‘You know he is the wrong father to appeal to in terms of strength. There is a higher father that I appeal to,’ Bush said.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A17347-2004Apr16.html for anyone interested in doing the DD….

15. Man David why you always singling out Chris fah special mention, you ain’ know dat he quals don’ even come close to rivalling mine, or you lookin’ at other criteria…? Man single out GP instead…!

Please of course be reminded that the US currency is fiat, they don’ even need salt to back it den…! So they can create and declare as many wars as they need to keep their industries and people employed in the interest of BIG OIL of course…! They just print the money needed to pay the bills. Man David you still sleeping…!

16. @BAF

Read somewhere the Canadians believe their currency is as good as any to be a reserve currency…LOL.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP
    You are a man I respect, but when you start calling my name in the same sentence and on the same day of that irritant. I worry about your mental health man.
    Behave ya self man.

He never has anything of consequience to share.
    Lowdown Hoads biodigester has even rejected his BS as woefully substandard.

18. There was a time when we used to snigger at the Canadian Armed Forces'(Germany) antiquated equipment.Even at one time NATO had downgraded the Canuks to the level of support troops. This was the result of the Canadians spending some 2 -5 % of its annual budget on Defence.The bulk went to social services. Looks like the Canadians had it right all along,and could now hold its head and its currency well above water.

19. GP ah dead man… hahaha.. yah kill mah man… HAHAHAHA

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

You have to ignore that man yuh hear he would give ya hemorhoids hernia and any other H you can think off

21. Bosun and David;

Man since the fall of Bretton Woods way back in 48, the Americans have been masterbating on the international financial order in plain view…. And no one will dare cry foul…!

22. BRITISH PETROLEUM (the U.S. division is contemplating Chapter 11 bankruptcy) given that the cost of this fiasco may cost some 30 billion… OBAMA* is demanding 12 billion to be paid into a secure account to offset spiraling public sector cost (i.e. lost of jobs, wages & businesses going belly-up)…

In a similar vein, SHELL* continues to poison the OGONI PEOPLE* of the NIGER DELTA* which toxic spills, lack of cleaning up existing oil slicks and the decimation of natural forestry and other environmental habits used by BLACK* folks for 1000’s of years – their way of life virtually destroyed…

An(g)kela Merkel’s GERMANY is now implementing austerity measures to the tune of some 4 billion EUROS* ( strange given that all the while Germany was touting its fiscal viability) is now looking to make some 12% cuts across the board…(while the IRON-CHANCELLOR* is losing ministers left right and centre)…

IS GERMANY NOT TELLING US THE REAL TRUTH HERE?

Is she on her last leg? I am not a betting man – but commentators believe she won’t last!!!

Greece is also cutting public sector workers pay by 12% while increasing VAT to 23%…

Spain’s austerity measures will mean a 19.1% in cuts in an economy that has lost serious jobs and continues to contract…

The UK’s official job loss figures are up today by another 23K – positing a staggering 2.47 million unemployed with austerity measures to be outlined by Georgie boy in a matter of days which will have spin off effects which could push figures well over 3 million…

Could Britain see a return to a 1980’s scenario under Maggie Thatcher???

High-flyers in the DEPT* of International Development, Barbados and other developing countries are in the “docks”… If your governments are looking for hand-outs from the EU community – they will likely point you to the IMF, World Bank and other institutions as your port of call…

But then there is always CHINA***…

23. GULF OF MEXICO PART 2…

THE MORE THINGS CHANGE – THE MORE THEY STAY THE SAME… LOL

24. @TMB… Thanks for that. I *love* Rachel Maddow. She is a very cool woman.

If I may please contribute… Recently some *very* serious men met with the US President to argue that perhaps alternative energy is potentially viable, and should be taken seriously.

http://www.americanenergyinnovation.org/

Also worth noting — in today’s “Midweek Nation News” on page 21A it is reported that Barbados Light and Power (BL&P) have launched their pilot projects which will help reduce carbon-based generation here in Barbados.

(Some might have missed this, since it was on page 21A, and there were five other articles about Rihanna before hand.)

Anyone serious might wish to contact BL&P to see if they can participate in the pilot program….

25. CHRISTopher Halts-all with his typical whitey huff-puff luvvin the wikka Made-OW

CHRIST says that some *very* serious men met President Oh! Shame-Ah!

For what???? To talk about AmeriKKKa and IsraHELL and the FEARthquake machine???

Are these *very* serious “men” from the maFFIa or the eLIATs? I don’t think so.

You no nuttin, CHRISTopher. Nuttin of James BONDage. You is a whitey tool who don’t get the Con-SPYracy.

26. @Hopi… Please calm down…

Just because I haven’t invited you personally out for a whistle doesn’t mean I don’t respect you….

27. CHRISTopher Halts-All telling ME to calm down.

Think about it: CHRISTopher HaltsALL.

That same white christian shit they been shoving to the BLACK MAN.

You got no whistle for me CHRIST. Massa day done. Typical whitey.

28. @Hopi: “Typical whitey.

So you’re judging me and my message because of my skill colour?

Hmmmmm…

@All… Interesting results recently…

Empirical results suggests that rather than one Higgs Boson, there may actually be five (5).

Exciting.

If proven true, this would result in a major re-think of the Standard Model, and might finally result in a link between Quantum Mechanics (QM) and General Relativity (GR).

Thank the Gods for the Large Hadron Collider….

29. It is the shitstem in AmeriKKKa and Israshell. And you are forgetting about the FEARthquake machine that Oh! Bama? controls with BEE-PEE and the Templars and de Masons and de Jews wid der blood libel to control we.

30. @Hopi: “And you are forgetting about the FEARthquake machine…

You don’t *actually* believe that anyone can trigger an Earthquake using photons (read: radio waves)?

Do you Hopi?

31. @CH: “You don’t *actually* believe that anyone can trigger an Earthquake using photons (read: radio waves)?

Perhaps I’m presumptuousness here…

@Hopi or anyone… Please explain the physics and engineering required which would allow anyone to trigger an earthquake without being physically present.

32. The fearthquake machine exists. I have seen it. The BLACK MAN of Haiti has witnessed its effects.

Typical whitey, the CHRISTian CHRISTopher, trying to control a Black Space.

When did you feel the whip? Typical whitey huffpuff. Typical whitey.

33. @Hopi et al…

Just because I’m white don’t mean I’m rich, or that I or my predecessors took advantage of you or your predecessors, or anyone else… My family has also suffered greatly in the past…

Just because I believe in physics and the sciences, rather than your particular God, doesn’t mean I’m bad…

And, yes, I was named after Christ…

The family and the Church have regretted it ever since….

34. Typical whitey huff puff.

35. The real Hopi has now shown up 2059hrs.

Will the owners of this blog PLEASE let it be known to interested parties that the douchebag/s using my handle is a mere nuisance and vagrant.

@Christopher Halsall mon cher, that idiot is not Hopi.

——————————–

Whoever you are I’m sure you can find other bloggers here who would LOVE you unconditionally, since I suspect that its LOVE & ATTENTION you are seeking. Please get me out of your dreams. Please stop stalking me. Please, pleeze, pleeessseee I don’t love you! Love don’t live here! Go away. Or do I have to call 911?

36. Young people are looking at the head lines in the newspapers every day and are watching the news and wondering: just how did Barbados find itself in the perilous crisis when three years ago–they were enjoying such prosperity under a competent Barbados Labour Party Government?

They know that the DLP’s manufactured fiscal crisis has implications far beyond the job market — basically every aspect of daily life has been impacted in some way. Scores of young people are now educated, motivated and ready to enter the workforce, but the jobs simply aren’t there.

As a result, young people are frustrated and want answers but are now finding that having been tricked into voting for the incompetent DLP – it has no explanation and no answers to the questions they are asking.

37. The leaders of the G8/G20 will be meeting for a photo op in Toronto starting tomorrow; well actually they are getting to discuss world affairs and sign an agreement or two. The agreements have been worked out in advance so don’t expect any surprises. but one of the issues that the US and Britain was hoping to have an agreement on was a Global tax on Banks to help pay for any future bailouts. Canada balked at this proposition arguing that they shouldn’t be forced to tax their banks since none of their Banks were at any risk. The USA, Brits and the Europeans still pushing for it and it will be interesting to see whether Canada can withstand the pressure.

Another issue that was supposed to be on the agenda was the Chinese Yuan. The Americans and the Europeans argued that the value of the Yuan was kept artificially low by China to keep its exports low while any imports were more costly so last week China announced that they would let the Yuan find its own value which defused that issue for the time being. Speaking of China, perhaps there is a crack in the fortress wall, a few weeks ago workers at Honda factories in China refused to work until their grievances were addressed, they returned to work after they won wage concessions and other benefits. If this becomes a trend cheap goods from China may become a thing of the past but I wouldn’t bet any money on it. (BTW the only Caribbean countries invited to the G20 meeting are Jamaica and Haiti ….. conspiracy buffs take note).

Another issue proposed by the Canadian Gov’t is the establishment of a fund to address women’s maternal health in underdeveloped countries however the Gov’t has stipulated that none of their funds can be used to fund abortions. The US Gov’t has no objection to funding abortions since many women in war torn areas required abortions as a result of rape. At the last G8 meeting there was an agreement to establish a 50 billion fund to fight Global poverty at last report the fund was 20 billion short.

One wonders what will be on the table for those nations “Buffeted by the Global Economic Storm” , they did invite the two Caribbean countries above. We will have to wait and see.

I know you shouldn’t compare apples to oranges but since folks are always complaining about the cost of the World Cup, how about one billion for security and that doesn’t include all the “improvements” that the Gov’t has foisted on the folks of this city…. Imagine a fake lake located less than one kilometre from one of the biggest lakes in the world …… All this to impress journalists attending the conference, even with all that security the demonstrators/anarchists will be out in force and if past events are any indication I expect some violent clashes with Police this weekend.

As for me I will be relaxing this weekend at my “backyard beach” and watch the events as they unfold.

38. I’m back and dipping my toes in the water to test the socioeconomic and political temperature, every now-and-then.

Linchh