David Thompsonmia mottley

Prime Minister David Thompson            Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

The country has been catapulted into a period of debate which the recent policy action by the government of raising petroleum prices has triggered. We expect that against the backdrop of financial volatility in the global market these discussions will continue apace. We think the dialogue is healthy for the country to ensure that the expectations of all the participants in our society are on all fours regarding the ideal path preferred for our small country to pursue given the global economic turbulence which we will have to navigate.

BU member Adrian H may not want to hear us repeat that there is not one economist in the BU household. However we do accept the point he has made previously, if economics is about the distribution and consumption of goods, then as a consumer we are qualified to speak on this heavy issue which is currently occupying the country.

Let us fast forward the discussion i.e. skip the bit about rising oil prices etcetera. Frankly we are disappointed at some of the political rhetoric which has erupted around the issue. The problem facing the country is one which must be tackled in a non-partisan manner. The truth is Barbadians have become fat cats, and have taken on a behaviour induced by a high absorption rate of materialism caused by a misplaced thinking honed over decades. Some have said it is a failure of our educational system to have inculcated a generation with the behaviour that consumption spending aligned to high personal debt is a sustainable approach to financial planning.

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley is entitled to her view that the shock of the high rate adjustment to the cost of petroleum products will have a negative impact on the economy. She maybe correct. Time will tell. The other side of the discussion is the need for the government to shock Barbadians to change their current consumption behaviour. Mia may want to duck her head in the sand, we do not agree with her that small incremental adjustments would address the root problem. Barbados need to create a framework which will encourage us to EARN more foreign exchange leading to improved national productivity. Supporting this approach must be an accelerated quest to uncover alternative energy solutions.

We believe the decision by the government of Barbados to raise the price of petroleum products by such a high margin was not easy for the Prime Minister. David Thompson is the member of parliament for St. John which is reputed to be the poorest parish in Barbados. Most of his constituents will be slammed the hardest by his policy to expose the country to the reality of the global financial market. Time will tell if he and his advisers made the correct decision.

It would have taken a fearless leader to have taken the decision which Thompson announced a couple nights ago. To ensure that the country navigates this challenging stage of our economic journey it will be important to do so as a collective. There is nothing wrong with with the political parties engaging the country in debate on this important issue, but it must be done “responsibly”. Key players in the country like the NGOs, media and other private sector agencies, unions and others must ensure the country is able to defeat the challenges presented in the new global economy through a high level of collaboration and partnership not seen before in Barbados.

The message embedded in this blog is targeted at our Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. We think that she has the opportunity to make a contribution alongside her youthful counterpart (David Thompson) to demonstrate to the world the reason why Barbados has been seen as a model country through the years. It is important that Mia unshackle herself from the approach which places uneven importance to economic equity at the expense of the incremental value to be had from policies which promote social cohesion in our country.

World news has started to report of riots in Haiti and other places. The current crisis caused by high petroleum prices is being exacerbated by a looming global food shortage. The time is now for Barbadians to show how the benefit of our rich educational system will give us a comparative advantage in the world.

19 responses to “Barbados Reaches The Crossroads”

1. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier

interesting
    but not convincing
    a perspective that sounds as though there is a search for some sort of excuse

2. Asiba it would be good to hear the basis upon which you are challenging our arguments. It is good to be concise but at the same time the challenge is to have content as well 🙂

Here is a related article which appeared in the Trinidad Express yesterday.

C’bean unites in fight against high food prices

Curtis Rampersad

Thursday, April 17th 2008

Caribbean countries have united in the fight against high food prices as businessmen maintained yesterday that Trinidad and Tobago was in a state of panic with regard to access to basic foods.

Barbados Prime Minister David Thompson told local manufacturers that Caricom member states agreed during a recent meeting that food security had become a big issue.

He joked that in Trinidad, it might be an issue of “security around food”, referring to recent incidents where several people robbed two delivery trucks full of flour and other goods along the Beetham Highway and another at Glencoe.

Thompson said during a recent meeting, members were made aware of high food price riots in Haiti and the Caricom members agreed that the need to address food shortages had an “element of urgency to it”.

He was speaking yesterday at the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers Association’s annual general meeting at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad hotel, Port of Spain.

Thompson, who was elected prime minister in January, was speaking on “the future of the Caricom Single Market and Economy”.

He said while Caricom governments agreed to address food prices, responsibility also lay with the regional private sector to come up with measures to deal with the rising cost of living.

Trinidad and Tobago last month removed Common External Tariff taxes on several food items including red beans, lentils and condensed milk but the reductions have not been implemented yet.

TTMA president Karen de Montbrun said yesterday that an “understandable panic surrounds us”, an emotion that was driven by high prices and issues of access to goods

3. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Economics is the study of how individuals, businesses, government and other organizations within a society make choices, and how these choices determine society’s use of its resources?

Why did american consumers choose to buy small- energy efficient cars in the 1970s and large sports utility vehicles in the 1990’s?

What have investors gone for condos rather than hotels over the last decade?

Why would a government offer a greater subsidy on diesel than gas?

Scarcity of resources, trade-offs, incentives and information play a key role in the analysis of these choices and their consequences for the allocation of resources.

Scarcity, trade-offs and the role of incentives figure prominently in Economics.

Because resources are scarce choices matter and often involve trade-offs. Having more of one thing requires giving up something else. Scarcity means trade-offs are a basic fact of life.

Decision makers respond to incentives, therefore incentives matter if we are going to understand choices.

What are the trade offs made by the government in subsidising the price of petroleum products for the period of time and to they extent the last government did?

What incentives have that policy created for individuals, firms and the government in Barbados?

One can ask similar questions about the new policy.

At least the new lot seem to understand scarcity and tradeoffs. When I listen to Mia and Liz they seem to exist in an economic cuckoo land where scarcity is not a big deal and painless choices abound.

4. D,
    couldn’t agree with you more. You seem to have your finger on the pulse. The title of your article is quite apt since I think people are conscious that this may be do or die. I grew up hearing that one should cut and contrive and have always tried to.
    This is a time for all hands to be on deck, or all will fail. Desperate times call for desperate maeasures and necessary decisions can only come from strong persons.
    The opposition seems to be adapting a position of them and us which is no help to anyone in the long run.
    Last night a man on Tell it like it is suggested we should make St. Andrew our bread basket parish and also to have some storage facility for oil reserves for rainy days. I thought they were good ideas.
    In my corner of the island I am already intent on making improvements in my personal situation.
    Can you imagine having the money to buy the fuel but not being able to source any?
    Are we going to eat the money then or are we going to stop pretending that we are entitled to some particular way of life even though we know that as a people we cannot afford it?

5. At such a critical juncture in Barbados, so many rational political and social thinkers in the country are strongly believing that both these two joke parties – the DLP and the BLP – are among two of the biggest, real stumbling blocks to further national progress and development.

Moreover, the prevailing view among many of these thinkers is that both of them must be TOTALLY rid of from the political and social landscape of this country for the grave and abominable wrongs that they have long been perpetrating on the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados.

Thus, it could NOT be a better time than now when Barbados is staring a serious economic and financial crisis in the face to really seek to mobilize the masses and middle classes of people of this country as to the absolute necessity of the removal of both these parties – at the next election – as the sole stewards of political governance and direction of this country.

Certainly, at this juncture, too, it is not so right for many people in Barbados to be overly philosophizing and rationalizing over the serious national issues and problems that confront the country, especially when it is so patently clear that the poor, the needy, the elderly, and the marginalized will be forced once again to bear the brunt of the draconian and cruel effects of these perilous and turbulent times in Barbados.

FOR, NOW IS THE TIME FOR SERIOUS CONSTITUTIONAL POLITICAL ACTION TO BE TAKEN AGAINST THE DLP AND THE BLP FOR THE MASSIVE AND IRREPARABLE WRONGS THEY HAVE OVER THE YEARS DONE TO THE VAST MAJORITY OF PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.

FINALLY, THE DLP OUTRAGEOUSLY AND DAMNEDLY LIED TO THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS IN ITS MANIFESTO AND IN THE LAST ELECTION CAMPAIGN JUST TO HELP THEM WIN THE LAST ELECTION – A VERY GRAVE POLITICAL OFFENCE THAT THEY MUST ANSWER TO THE PEOPLE FROM HERE ONWARDS!!

6. The main societal consequence of the inevitable upward spiral of energy and food costs will be an ever widening chasm between the haves and the have-nots.

Both individually and internationally.

As the crisis deepens the way we handle our response will be the mark of our political maturity.

The shock value of the PM’s announcement would have had a more galvanising effect if tempered with some mitigation concerning public transport and basic food policy.

Our leaders should be showing us the way forward and not merely leaving us to bear the increasing cost of our present unsustainable lifestyles.

7. “The truth is Barbadians have become fat cats, and have taken on a behaviour induced by a high absorption rate of materialism caused by a misplaced thinking honed over decades. ”

A great many Bajans have misplaced priorities and have sunk their teeth into rampant consumerism. One only has to look at the number of people walking about in the latest designer clothes and shoes, driving “status” vehicles and the women that spend a fortune on hair and nails only to go home at night to houses that are little more than shacks with “past due” and “disconnection” notices from B.L. & P., C.& W., and whatever bank gave them financing for the status car, piled up on the kitchen table.
    The boardhouse with galvanized roof and outdoor toilet got “for hire” furniture, computer and 42 inch LCD TV with surround sound all on monthly payment schemes which in the end cost the consumer a fortune in interest charges.
    Bajans need to stop this “instant gratification” thing and get their priorities straight. Every member of the household does NOT need their own car. Even in countries that have a considerably higher standard of living than Barbados, you do not see 16 year olds being bought a vehicle as soon as they get their driver’s licsence. Car pool to work or school and on weekends, if you have been a good son or daughter, mom or dad will lend you their car.
    Yuh see all those big name designer labels that you like to walk about in? They will not feed you when the world food crisis hits the rest of the Caribbean.

8. Economics is the inverted political ideology, philosohy and psychology of the old European elite social and intellectual classes in the 18-19th centuries. And, yes, it has since those times been dastardly exported to various parts of the world by esp. European colonizers, and has been long unwisely adapted by the nationals of many ex-colonies.

Certainly, also, and in regard of the English-speaking Caribbean, it would have been wickedly used by the old colonial elites, old colonial governments and administrations and other peoples during colonial times, and would have been ruthlessly used by many useless political leaders, many bigoted elites, and by many academic jokers, among others, in recent times, to sinisterly assist in the continual elite and state political exploitation of the masses and middle classes of people of our region, in order that they would have been able still to continue their political dominance, and their material and financial wealth accumulation – proceses similar to what the old economic elites did in the old Western society, and what the current elites are still doing in present-day Western society. So, much for Economics being one of the most destructive and inhuman forms of human thinking ever!!

9. I think the majority of houses in Barbados are free owned meaning they where built and occupied without special financing and mortgages. If this assumption is correct, then behaviour modification is not going to be too difficult for the majority of Barbadians. On the under hand those persons paying a mortgage, have two car note, pay for their health care at FMH and Bayview, have fixed cost that was already a burden even in relative good times.

Wasn’t it in the eighties that we heard calypso lyrics like “Learn to cut and contrive” RPB and “tighten your belt i say” Johnny my Boy

10. Be carefull there PiedPiper, less you be accuse of being envious. Remember there are any number of Barbadians at home that do believe we in the diaspora are catching our royal asses, and only make such comments out of jelousy. Uh mean the 50,000 and growing number of Barrels being sent to Barbados doesn’t give pause to this believe, as it is said that these are the property of Bajans going overseas and doing their shopping, and any talk about the dollar figure of cash remittances into Barbados is not talk about much. It must not be true.

11. PiedPiper– you are right on about the level of consumption. My husband and I decided last night that if you are caught on the roads of BB without paying your road taxes/insurance your Direct TV will be canceled!! Priorities…priorities…priorities.

12. “The truth is Barbadians have become fat cats, and have taken on a behaviour induced by a high absorption rate of materialism caused by a misplaced thinking honed over decades. ‘

The DLP have always come to power at the most critical times in our history. Maybe that is the hand that have been dealt to them.
    Needless to say the Dems have always be the one to made the hard choices for the good of the nation and its people whether created by misguided policies on their part or the BLP’s part.
    These are serious times and the free wheeling and dealing under the last administration would not have beefit us in the long run.The fact of the matter is that the BLP [especially under Owen] pampers citizens like babies caught up in a “anything goes mentality” whilst at the same time promoting propaganda that it has the country best interest at heart and all is well. On the other hand the DLP are more apt at “cut and contrive”.
    That’s why we need alternate government. Neither party have master the art of taking care of both the physical and social infastructure at the same time.
    DLP leans more on social infastructure and the Bees – physical infastructure.
    We have a diesel vechicle between us and the new diesel prices will have an effect of course but as one blogger said “desperate times called for desperate measures”.
    Mia claims of the government not having control over increase private sector transportation fares etc is nothing more than scare tactics on her part to remind bajans of the period ’92-94 under the Dems. But we survive did we not?
    She spoke on incerments along the way. Why could they not have done the same? Babying bajans until it is too late is not a hallmark of leadership. Bajans are now at the crossroads were we must differntiate between our needs and our wants. The sooner the better.
    What i do know is that the Dees have come at the right time in our history to deal with this gobal crisis on our hands and fate determine that they are the right persons for now to dealt with it.
    Time to tighten our seat belts as we are in for a rough ride ahead.
    Or as Rihanna would say “Shut up and drive up”.

Bajan Global Report
    http://bimchat.wordpress.com

13. Under the Arthur administration the progress of the country was measured by the number of cars in the garage and how many upstairs houses could be erected by a middle class which has had to become highly leveraged. We can use the analogy of building a house on sand.

We agree with previous commenter’s that the DLP always seem to have to make the hard decisions which they have done sometimes to their political demise. Out of all this we ask if our educational system has failed us because during the ‘goodtimes’ we all went along with it.

14. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

I am totally in agreement with PDC. The cost of living was raising for more than a year now and the current government (which was in opposition) was aware that it was due to world factors and beyond our control but yet they sought to make it a political issue to win votes. and lied to us that they have the magic solution. Now reality is upon us. The last government instead of making decision in our best interest made then for their political survival. We need an alternative.

15. I totally agree with you Pied Piper, we have become a nation of what some like to term, “Show Pigs”. It does’t matter what it costs us, so long as the neighbours and our friends can see it. When we look at luxury cars ,per capita, including those owmed by the Government, Barbados has to be rated very high in the world.
    Rolls Royces, BMW’S, Mercedes Benz, you name it, they appear to be as common as muck on our 2×2 roads.

16. Many of the comments agree that Barbadians need to change our behaviours. While many agree that this is the case there is a reluctance to offer suggestions on what is required. The reality to any Barbadian with zero common sense (no disrespect intended) is that the rules of the game have changed and if Barbados and Barbadians want to continue to succeed as a nation we will have to huddle/regroup and to avoid being called for foul.

17. To the blogger, Fair and Balanced

It is pleasing that you are in agreement with one of our earlier posts. For, it is NOT ONLY you and we in PDC who know that we MUST NOW HAVE ALTERNATIVE GOVERNMENTS TO DLP and BLP Governments, BUT ALSO we in PDC – from our relating to and getting feedback from multitudes of people in Barbados – know that there are thousands upon thousands of people in Barbados who know the said thing.

That we in our tens of thousands in Barbados recognize that the DLP and BLP HAVE SINCE THE LATE 80S BECOME SO DESTRUCTIVE AND INIMICAL TO THE WELLBEING OF THE MASSES AND MIDDLE CLASSES OF THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS, and therefore only see their most destructive and sinister role as being to CONTINUE GETTING BETWEEN THE MASSES AND MIDDLE CLASSES OF PEOPLE OF BARBADOS AND THE MASSES AND MIDDLE CLASSES’ OWN FURTHER PROGRESS AND DEVELOPMENT, must mean the inescapable need for us – those who know that the DLP and BLP are VERY ANTI-MASSES AND ANTI-MIDDLE CLASSES IN TOO MANY OF THEIR OUTLOOKS AND POLICIES AND STRATEGEMS, AND ARE VERY PROTECTIVE OF THIS ELITIST STATIST SOCIAL, POLITICAL, MATERIAL, AND FINANCIAL SYSTEM IN BARBADOS – to do three main and critical people-saving things:

1) To come and join PDC, as we continue to grow and develop, and as we continue to ideologically and politically assail this wretched and abominable anti-masses and anti-middle classes social, political, material and financial system in Barbados, and as we continue to achieve some positive results from those attacks ;

2) To go and join any other party or political groups that is/are continuing to ideologically and politically attack this oppressive anti-masses and anti-middle classes social, political, material and financial system in Barbados, and which too will be achieving some positive results from such attacks; and

3) To join with some others and form our own other serious people-centered parties and political groups that will provide alternatives to this wicked social, political, material and financial system in Barbados, and which are so serious that we know we will be getting some positive results from our actions.

18. Anyone who believed the politicians promises really wasn’t following world trends. We just couldn’t keep things as they were. It is time bajans take their heads out of the clouds and come back to a real world. We’ve been living in the world of make believe for too long. Some of us were turning up or noses at our neighbours but we never thought that hardtimes would hit us. Many are now shocked into reality

19. The Hidden Battle to Control the World’s Food Supply

By Amy Goodman, Democracy Now!. Posted April 19, 2008.

SNIP

Several causes factor into the global food price hike, many linked to human activity. These include human-driven climate change, the soaring cost of oil and a Western-led focus on biofuels that critics say turns food into fuel.

Raj Patel is a writer, activist and former policy analyst with Food First, which is based in the Bay Area. He has worked for the World Bank, World Trade Organization, the United Nations, and he’s also protested them on four continents. He has just come out with a new book called Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System. He recently joined me in San Francisco to talk about the book and the food-price crisis.

Raj Patel: There are two kinds of stories that we can tell about the food prices. One is an economic story, and that’s a story about a perfect storm of poor harvests and a demand for meat in developing countries, which is diverting grain, and the high price of oil, which is driving up food — farm inputs, and at the same time, the biofuels boom, the process of growing fuels in order — sorry, growing food in order to burn it rather than eat it. All of these are economic factors that are driving up the price of food.

But at the same time, there’s a political story here, and it’s a longer-term political story about how countries have been forced to abandon their support for farmers and to abandon things like grain supplies and grain stores. And this is a longer-term story, and it involves organizations like the World Bank and the World Trade Organization that have a fairly iron control over the economies of most of the poorest countries in the world. And what the World Bank and what the WTO and, to some extent, the International Monetary Fund have done is force these countries to tie their hands behind their back, effectively, and to bind them very firmly to an international economy in food. And the consequence of that is that when the price of food goes up, these economies have very little recourse and very little possibility of defending themselves economically.

http://www.alternet.org/story/82632