Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

Long before the global financial crisis stunned the world, the BU family had expressed concern about the need to restructure the Barbados economy. Many blogs were posted which discussed the need to rollout alternative energy initiatives, to examine the system of education which was and is not producing graduates with the skill-sets to make Barbados competitive in the global economy, make our civil service more efficient by holding it more accountable, the need for Barbadians to participate more fully in our democracy, pressure our lawmakers to make laws which encourage ethical behaviour among many other concerns.

The prevailing global crisis has exposed the underbelly of our small and open economy, more so the false sense of security which the boom period created. We accept that the pressure of external shocks will always rock our boat, but that knowledge should have informed strategies and policies which demanded we provided for the barren times. Even with our debt to GDP ratio alarmingly high, reducing foreign reserves, rising unemployment our politicians and people continue to debate the issues along party lines.

Tomorrow we understand a public and private sector consultation on economic and related matters will take place at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre from 9AM to 5PM (to be broadcast live on CBC TV). The government’s Medium-Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) will no doubt be placed under scrutiny. Up to now there has been heavy debate on whether Prime Minister Thompson’s wait and see conservative approach is the correct one. The Prime Minister has been very reluctant to support more aggressive stimuli initiatives because of our high level of importation which would place pressure on our foreign reserves.

Key to the global economic recovery is the US economy. It is the world’s largest economy and one of the top three tourist markets for Barbados. In recent weeks the rest of the world would have been emboldened by the financial analysts in G7 countries and international financial agencies who have been suggesting that the economic trend in the US economy is bending upwards.  Last week Former Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan threw a spanner in the works by suggesting the U.S. economic recovery was “extremely unbalanced,” driven largely by high earners benefiting from recovering stock markets and large corporations. He went on to issue the bold statement that the current financial is by far the greatest financial crisis, globally, ever” — including the 1930s Great Depression. Greenspan was Fed Chairman from 1987 to 2006 and should be given credit for understanding the US economy.

The discussion at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre tomorrow should be interesting. Will our captains of industry and public sector officials recognize that these are extraordinary times which call for extraordinary solutions, or will we have yet another talk shop? Despite the dark economic clouds which loom on the horizon Barbadians seem not to have connected to the gravity of the situation confronting the nation. Some BU family members have already suggested that as a country and a people we will have to indulge in a fiscal and monetary discipline the likes we have never done before. Can we do it?

What is not in dispute is the recovery of the Barbados recovery is entwined with the fortune of the US economy. If Greenpan’s prediction rings true and the US economy goes W, the welcoming arms of the International Monetary Fund maybe unavoidable.

The daunting task for the government is how does it exercise fiscal and monetary discipline which must be managed by the entrenched army of occupation who is guarded by the unions still steeped in 19th century approaches.

64 responses to “Barbados Government Peering Down The Economic Barrel”

1. Iam Not Anonymouse Avatar
    Iam Not Anonymouse

“I will point out the elephant in the room. If you are poor for more than one generation it is because you want to be.”

Spoken like a true aristocrat … I mean negrocrat.

“There are lots of people who make a good living in Barbados; lots of civil servants, Private sector accountants, engineers, land surveyors, sales and marketing professionals, insurance professionals, programmers, all sorts of technicians, electricians, auto mechanics, bodywork specialists, plumbers , carpenters, masons, tilers hair dressers, caterers, dee jays, radio announcers , promoters, landscapers, chefs, fishing, farming.”

Therein lies the “real”elephant in the room.

2. @Bad man sayin Nuttin

Question: Was that a message intended for “Poor People”.Maybe you could define the word “poor”. I know of people who have worked extremely hard and have not been able to climb up the economic ladder .Maybe you are being extreme in your analogy.

3. @Bad man sayin Nuttin

In all my time lurking in the shadows and reading these blogs – and this is years now – I have never ever come across a more profound statement. Your sentiments should be compulsory reading. If only Bajans would get it. I wish great blessings upon you!!!

4. SOMEODY got to run the country, however it is not David Thompson

5. Dis blog look different… I feel like a stranger..! I ain’ use to it man…

Could use a comfortable pillow right now…! Wah happen to Bonny?

6. @BAFBFP

Aw I can’t give you de pillow.yuh know to me dat is you
    But yu can have me.

7. All of these plans seem to conveniently come to fruition around election time, seems all this hot air isn’t fixing anything its just another soap box being built to stand on. During the last election, speeches about fixing the economy and transparency were the foundations of the verbal “bric a brac” Thompson and his cohorts lobbed at the ears of Bajans.
    ________

Nickster, guys/gals like you make me sick.

This is the first government I know of in Barbados to publish a Medium Term Fiscal Strategy. And I mean ever.

And instead of you guys critique the document and say whether it fixes anything – including our fiscal deficit – you just crap about politicians. I really simply care about the man who leads. Jamaica? Agree with IMF and then come to the public. OECS – no leadership. Trinidad in turmoil.

Barbados – systematic, inclusive and sensible. Even the Opposition came to the Leader to have their say. What a departure!!

I have to say it: our DT is an inclusive mother###er who has the balls to stand up there and say, I need a team! I dont have all the answers.

I plan to pull my weight.

I say to David Thompson: Kudos to you for telling us up front what pain we may have to bear. And kudos too for inviting the public and the social partners to look at your policies before you implement them. Have we ever had this before? No.

I now feel like I am part of a team. Fah true.

8. Meanwhile during this economic crisis when all of us are required to put our hands ,and brains ,to the plough our finest brains at the university are busily engaged in a ‘numbers/turf” war and our government is forced to engage a financial consultant from “over and away.”to give it advice. I tell ya.

9. Alex Fergusson Avatar

The late Prime Minister Tom Adams Remembered

When Mr. Rawdon Adams delivers the 5th Tom Adams Memorial Lecture at the Grand Salle, Tom Adams Financial Centre, on Thursday, March 11th, 2010 at 7:30 p.m, – he will speak on the topic: “The Value of Political Confrontation, Transparency and National Reputation in a Crisis.”

This public lecture – which is being organized by the Tom Adams Memorial Committee, will be held under the patronage of the Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., Leader of the Opposition of Barbados and will commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the passing of the former Prime Minister of Barbados – the late Rt. Hon. J.M.G.M “Tom” Adams, Q.C., M.P.

All are invited to this public lecture.

10. Are there available copies of the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy available to the public?I would really like to read the document.

11. Any strategy that emphasizes agriculture and manufacturing without focusing on competitiveness is headed for failure. To ask Barbadians to support uncompetitive
    operations for the sake of a few jobs while the rest of society pays ridiculously high prices is a policy that will fail. Maybe Arthur was correct when he focused on FDI and Tourism.

We need a policy that will drive down costs of our exports. The cost of food indirectly affects the cost of labour. One area that we can work on is to reduce the production of high cost agricultural products and replace them with cheap imports. The Tourist industry would benefit from cheap imports and workers cost of living would decline.

Another by- product of a policy of low food cost would be that more land would be available for housing and the price of land would decrease thus making land more affordable

Select what we are going to do in manufacturing and agriculture very carefully. Do not make the many subsidize the few.

12. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

I see we had a lavish handing over of keys ceremony for the new houses. I thought we as a government was suppose to be watching our spending to help trim our deficit. I wonder how this public relation campaign cost the tax payers.
    Not fair and balance – Just being mischievous

13. In today’s Nation newspaper there is a report of an additional $700 000 being approved for the repair of two sports pavilions. This is in addition to $1 300 000 already spent on these pavilions, So this party which bitterly criticized the large sum spent by the former administration on building new public bathrooms, has no problem in spending $2 million on refurbishing two relatively small pavilions.

Does anyone notice that the present governing party, who criticized the former administration for then size of the Cabinet, now has probably the largest number of Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries ever in our history?

Has anyone heard that this administration has signed away Barbados’ energy independence by agreeing to a gas pipeline deal with Trinidad?

It’s mid march, any activity at the Four Seasons site?

Any word on CostCo, the ferry service between Dominica and Barbados, the fishing agreement with Trinidad (btw Kellman still living in Barbados)?