grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

The Government is encouraging Barbadians overseas to remember their roots, and gather in Barbados next year.  This is a good initiative.  However, we should correct a fatal flaw in our culture before they arrive.  If we do not, then we risk reminding them of why they left.

We have a conscience to guide us in deciding what is just and unjust.  When we see injustice, we can either participate in, oppose, or ignore it.  To prevent us from acting on our conscience, oppressors tend to define places of self-preservation in our minds, where they hope we will remain – for their benefit.

During slavery, our fore-parents were ‘kept in their place’ with the threat of being sold.  After emancipation, they were ‘kept in their place’ with the threat of being deprived of work.  After independence, it was not the planters or merchants who wanted to keep us in our place, it was our politicians.

Our place was to be at the feet of one of their approved political parties.  To keep us in this place, they increased taxes at will to keep us living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, and dependent on their good graces.  People in that state are normally too afraid to do or say anything that will risk them losing their jobs.

Any Barbadian should be able to publicly comment on their ideas to improve Barbados.  However, if those comments are interpreted as a criticism of the Minister or the governing Party, then that person will not likely get appointed, promoted, or contracted during that political administration.

If the fellow offers the same advice during the other political administration, and it is similarly interpreted as a criticism of the Party, then his ‘goose is cooked’.  Therefore, Barbadians have learnt to resist their conscience to avoid becoming a political target.  The sustainable options for people who felt compelled to follow their conscience, was to either start their own business, or leave Barbados.

To keep us in our place, we are constantly reminded of how vulnerable our position is in Barbados.  This is the normally the role of dangerous political operatives.  However, sometimes politicians reveal more than they intend.  Consider a BLP Minister of Labour’s comments in Parliament, during a parliamentary debate in 1978.

“Now let me tell you this.  Anything with D L P, if you breathe, you cannot eat as far as I am concerned.  It is as simple as that.  This is war.  If your name is Douglas Leopold Phillips, by accident DLP, and you miss and approach me and I see it just in your face; no dice.”

He continued.  “Hitler would never feed the Americans to fight him.  Hitler would feed the Germans to fight the Americans, and this will be the ball game or the Prime Minister can take his instrument.  It is as simple as that.”

This intention seems to be demonstrated with every change of Government, where we expect public workers and contractors who supported the losing party to be dismissed (cannot eat), and those who supported the winning party to be rewarded (fed).

The Minister of Education recently noted that the cost of the schools summer maintenance program had increased from the initial estimate of $1.8M to $6.6M.  On 30 August 2019 in Parliament, she described the lucky 39 contractors who were given these contracts.

“We’ve been fortunate that we had a mix of contractors this year … we had some who were new, some who had been in existence for some time, and some who had, you know, who had not been given a fair share of the pie in previous years, for one reason or the other.  We have therefore attempted to try to share the work across the landscape, to ensure that there is greater application of the resources available to the Ministry.”

While it sounds good, sharing the ministry’s resources across the landscape does not correct past wrongs, but sustains them.  When contractors are given no-bid public contracts, they seem to produce poor-quality, high-maintenance, and over-priced work, that attracts complaints from the users.

The best way to right past wrongs is by doing right things.  The best way of growing Barbados’ economy is to allow all Barbadians to fairly participate, and allow all ideas to contend.  Barbadians need to be freed to present their ideas, without fear of being excluded from participating in Barbados’ economy.

Forcing Barbadians to consistently oppose their conscience can only damage them emotionally, spiritually and physically.  Before Barbadians gather in 2020, our politicians need to break those chains that they have placed on all Barbadians.  If those who have escaped this political intimidation, are forced to relive that pain, they will likely be too ashamed to introduce their children to an enslaved people.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

160 responses to “Gathering to Remember or Forget”

1. My dear Sir, you are one fortunate man, for you recognized that we as a people are flawed culturally and even in other ways not mentioned. One day, maybe, you’ll be accorded the recognition now given to sister Harriet who could have freed a lot more had they wanted to or realized they were slaves.

2. Excellent contribution from GP2.

There are tremendous forces out there that have no desire to see our region develop.

We have to accept that there exists a tacit agreement between our leaders and larger powers to keep us in our place.

Gaddafi was called a “mad dog” by President Reagan for having the audacity to offer an alternative to rampant capitalism.

https://www.counterpunch.org/2015/10/20/libya-from-africas-wealthiest-democracy-under-gaddafi-to-terrorist-haven-after-us-intervention/

https://www.africanexponent.com/post/new-evidence-the-real-reason-gaddafi-was-killed-2706p

3. “The sustainable options for people who felt compelled to follow their conscience, was to either start their own business, or leave Barbados”

True words. I am curious about this gathering next year. It seems that it is hoped that there will be a fount of patriotism which will rise to the occasion to save Barbados’ bacon. Why should one who has experienced the facts outlined above be dying to render saccour ? The gathering seems to be an exercise in legerdemain by Mia (a sleight of hand move to bamboozle the populace in having a feel good experience). I may be wrong in my assessment.

4. @Dr. Lucas

What is wrong with the government implementing measures to create a good experience?

5. What experience is that? Can u David explain more
    What plans does govt have in place that when the dispora return home they will be greeted by an”experience”
    Where will govt generate the money for the “experience”
    Mia said Barbados is broke

6. @David October 16, 2019 5:02 AM

One cannot live by “feel good experiences” alone( just like man cannot live by eating bread alone). It is necessary to have a mixture of both. At present the bread bit is wanting if one goes by the utterances of the populace.

7. @Dr. Lucas What you are saying is true but it is a factor that must be factored in the rebuild of the Bajan brand. The government must be given a chance to rollout its policies. It is a reasonable position for reasonable people to have. And yes it has made mistakes. If you do an informal scan of Bajans living overseas and with other stakeholders, many Bajans in the Diaspora are planning to coming home next year. When the dust is settles they are Bajans and have an intrinsic and other desire to see Barbados do well.

8. Great debate so far, gentlemen…… however, I worry that when the Diaspora return in 2020 their expectations of ‘improvement’, since leaving, will be crushed by the attitude & service they receive.

We all know they will return hoping to see improvement in many areas so they can return and boast about the ‘wow’ factor to their friends …. and be proud to be Bajans BUT…. Inefficiency still abounds … successive governments and the private sector can’t seem to reverse the situation.

Painting a few buildings, patching a few potholes, and staging a bunch of cultural events won’t do the job …… serious change must come!

9. @ks

Barbadians living in the diaspora should be aware by now there reentry or visit has to be with realistic expectation. Barbadians who have been returning often usually do not have such an unpleasant experience.

10. “After independence, it was not the planters or merchants who wanted to keep us in our place, it was our politicians.”

you are lying AGAIN Grenville, it was and still are both,.

you have nothing to gain by that false narrative, the descendants of the planter class have been payng BRIBES to the idiots in parliament for decades, money that the thieves in parliament help them ROB THE PEOPLE to keep you in your place.

you need to stop misleading the youth or they will forever believe they owe the criminal minorities on the island something, as is the popular sentiment now..

there are not enuff minotirities on the island to elect you and never will be, so you need to stop kissing up to, kissing ass and trying to kowtow to these damn parasites in the lives of the majority black population…it makes you no better than the sell outs in parliament and bar association, no one will trust you.

when other bloggers see this damn nonsense from wannabe leaders, they need to call it out…stop allowing politicians to get away with lies cause if they get into the parliament with these clear misleading statements, they will do even worse.

11. David

How de RH a government could so try to reorganize the Customs Department and the most innocuous of items will be ensnared in these interminable delays, for months now, packages sent by UPS at great expense, for example.

Our information technology package which costs tens and thousands, with every day’s delay also costing additional thousands. and not a RH word as to how long this shiiite will last.

And the point is that we do not detect any urgency to resolve this disgraceful situation any time soon.

Do Bajans really still think that people doing business internationally got time or patience with this RH.

Barbados is not opened for business or anything else and maybe never will.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The Bard from Stratford on the river Avon in England,almost 5 centuries ago penned : ” All the world is a stage and all the men and women merely players . They have their exits and their entrances etc ,,”.

GPII has given an interpretation/ exposition of this perfect 20/20 Vision.

13. GP2, It is impossible to build an equitable country where a political party relies on the patronage of business enterprises in order to get elected.

Barbados is perceived as been backwards by the majority of those from the diaspora. The infrastructure of the country is on the point of collapse and is probably beyond repair.

I have just been reading up on the late great Colonel Gaddafi. He was responsible for the building of the Great Man River in Libya. An extraordinary feat of engineering which brought life to a region where there life would have been a struggle. With your disciplined engineering background you will appreciate the link below.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oIQNnF7mwWE

Compare this to Barbados where access to water has become increasingly difficult.

We had the vision to build our port in the early seventies, I believe; but we have seen little of merit since then.

Mia’s idea to set up a gathering is good in principle. However it has come too late. Barbados is perceived as been a country that is unstable. Too high risk and not a safe place to move to.

I have an alternative bolt hole in Europe outside of the UK which offers me a comfortable alternative to Barbados.

14. Not really understanding the importance of the “Gathering” every year the dispora returns for crop over folliwed by Independence
    This so call gathering sums up to a smoke and mirror event to drain the dispora pockets with govt having nothing to offer them in return
    Steupse
    Mia belives that a few trips into the dispora and by leaving them with a feel good attitude would be enough to encourage them to spend money
    However the dispora not foolish enough to empty their pockets in high priced destinations.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

My interpretation is that somebody is taking the part of the donkey too seriously.

16. @David
    If you do an informal scan of Bajans living overseas and with other stakeholders, many Bajans in the Diaspora are planning to coming home next year
    +++++++++++++++++++
    That may be true on the surface but none of my friends are planning to come home for the “Gathering”, they are making arrangements for their usual visits irrespective of when their Parishes are having a celebration. In my case I was there twice this year and will visit for part of the winter next year as usual.

Gathering,Smathering don’t care.

17. After 16 months of to-ing and fro-ing, this government’s magical economic policy is the gathering. How sad.

18. The mindset that needs changing from the clowns in parliament on down to the man in the street is that somehow UK left these riffraff bajan wihites ..and then a gaggle of their fellow criminal minorities …cocaine and gun traffickers…from india, syria and trinidad in charge of the majority black population, they are nothing but bottomfeeding parasites being maintained at the people’s expense by stupid, greedy negros in the parliament and bar association…no one left them in charge of the population or the island, it’s only your stupid leaders feel that way because the belief lines their pockets…..all they do is steal..commit multiple crimes and practice their disenfranchisement, discrimination and racism against the people.

IT HAS TO END….and Grenville better not think for one moment that he will be allowed in the parliament to perpetrate the continuation of same.

19. I am returning next year but i return 3-4 times each year. i share the sentiments some expressed above. you have to be returning to Bim regularly to be not shocked at the level of service especially in Govt.

i must admit over the years it has improved a lot on a one and one level but bureaucracy still rules and that is where the problem lies.

it seems as though we always choose the most complicated path and you sometimes wonder whether govt services was set up to thwart progress and not to facilitate it. we have to do better.

i remember that 1978 speech quoted by Grenville v well and it is one of the reasons why i dont fancy the BLP and it is in that same period that Tom Adams told a cawmerian at a hotel (i could be exact if i wanted to) that he would never work in Bim again and he didnt.

yes i am returning and it wont be because of the call for a gathering by MAM. not a bad effort on her part tho. she is good at such things and seem to really enjoy them. she should change the laws to give bajans overseas the right to vote by mail and then hold a big registration drive when we gather. that way she would have a certain voting block locked down

20. @David BU, what has informed you that Bajans returning often don’t have a bad experience? Because we can been seen laughing and skinning our teets don’t be fooled.

21. Waru: I can always depend on you, and the supporters of Atherley’s ppfdd to try to harm my reputation. Be assured that you will always fail – always.

Prior to our independence, the planters and merchants wanted to control the masses if they got ‘out of hand’. During slavery, they used the military. After slavery they used the police.

After our independence, controlling Barbadians was no longer their responsibility, but that of our politicians. They simply wanted to make money. Many business persons do not want to pay bribes. However, they see it as a cost of doing business. If they do not pay, they will not get the job.

I have never paid (or received) a bribe. That meant that I could not work in Barbados for 7 years. But being a senior structural engineer, I had options. Some simply have no option but bankruptcy – which can be a career ender in a politicized unforgiving Barbados. That is why destroying corruption in Barbados was one of our main pillars.

22. Correction. Ii was actually being a Chartered Structural Engineers that gave me options – Chartership is almost like an international passport. Which is why I encourage, and actively facilitated, Barbadian professionals becoming Chartered.

23. Chartership is almost like an international passport…????? So chartered accountants…chartered insurers…? Wow. Have charter will travel.…..

24. “Prior to our independence, the planters and merchants wanted to control the masses if they got ‘out of hand’. During slavery, they used the military. After slavery they used the police.

After our independence, controlling Barbadians was no longer their responsibility, but that of our politicians. They simply wanted to make money. Many business persons do not want to pay bribes. However, they see it as a cost of doing business. If they do not pay, they will not get the job.”

and that made the planter class so damn honest..me thinks not, they paid BRIBES,.they did it because of GREED….why did they not REPORT all these crimes committed by the sell outs in parliament to international agencies, this has been happening for decades….most of them paid to play…so they are no different..

you STILL MISS the part where, the planter class and new age minorities…CONTROL THE SELL OUTS IN THE PARLIAMENT…and have for all of over 50 years…they did not need to control the population…control the corrupt leaders..and they will control the population and keep them in misery to line their pockets BECAUSE THEY ARE PAID BRIBES.

And why DID YOU…not report any of this to international agencies yourself…but sat your backside down saying nothing until the blogs had to expose all of this…and you even attacked us for exposing certain things, so now you want to fix the narrative to fit your ambitions…steupss.

25. @ Pachamama October 16, 2019 7:48 AM
    “And the point is that we do not detect any urgency to resolve this disgraceful situation any time soon.
    Do Bajans really still think that people doing business internationally got time or patience with this RH.”

And all of this is taking place against a background where so-called experts have been included in the current fat-cheques administration obesely extended cabinet as ministers and czars.

Didn’t the CoC give an iron-clad assurance to the Chamber of Commerce and other stakeholders in the import/export game that this fiasco would have sorted some two weeks ago?

These bureaucratic bunglers and politically-appointed bullshitters can be deserving of only one thing; a good ole Bajan Right Honourable “bewsing”.

26. You are sidestepping the fact that these are the same DEMONS..who have WAY TOO MUCH SAY in how the island is managed…now mismanged….for the past 50 plus years…AND THEY GOT THE NERVE…to have been for decades telling the sell out negros what and what not to do with the majority population whom they ROB…now they are bending themselves in half…trying to STEAL THE WATER SUPPLY..

and here you are talking SHITE.

27. @Pacha

If we take the word of the president of the brokers association many of the issues were resolved. In fact she complimented the CoC for his vigorous hands on approach to problem solving. They seem to have broken the back of the initial problem.

28. @Sargeant

Of course many will be here for routine visits, nothing to do with We Garherin- the more the merrier!

29. @WhiteHill

Not sure where the blogmaster intimated such was the case.

30. @Grenville

You are too thinskin. Sometimes you ignore and keep focus on the substantive point.

31. I LOVE TO WATCH HORSE RACING ON TV, WHERE ON A SPLIT SCREEN THERE ARE THREE WAYS TO FOCUS ON A PARTICULAR HORSE.

SOMETIMES A CERTAIN HORSE SEEMS TO RUN BACKWARDS.

THAT IS HOW I THINK OF BARBADOS…….LIKE A HORSE RUNNING BACKWARDS

MANY OF YOU, ON ENTERING SECONDARY SCHOOL IN THE LATE 50’S OR EARLY 60’S HAD TO LEARN POEMS FROM “A POETRY BOOK FOR BOYS AND GIRLS.”

I AM SURE YOU ALL WILL RECALL THE ONE THAT BEGUN ” I REMEMBER, I REMEMBER THE HOUSE WHERE I WAS BORN, THE LITTLE WINDOW WHERE THE SUN, CAME PEEPING AT MORN”

WHY SHOULD BAJANS ABROAD OF SUCH VINTAGE RETURN EN MASSE, OR AT ALL TO ENDURE THE SITE OF BARBADOS…….LIKE A HORSE RUNNING BACKWARDS AIMLESSLY?

32. David

That’s good to hear.

Could these problems not have been foreseen with a pilot project in the first place.

33. Miller

We are unsure whether any amount uh ‘bewsing’ could cut this from the body politic.

And we say cut deliberately, for you will be well aware of our much favoured device for social transformation. LOL

34. David:

You allow unrestrained discussion. That is good. I do the same on the various sites that I manage. However, there is one difference. I moderate the parts of comments which attack persons’ reputations. Why? Because I want commenters to learn to be more responsible, and I do not want to attract a claim of defamation.

Since you allow personal attacks to go un-moderated on this site, every once in a while, I must expose the political operatives so that their personal attacks can be placed in context. That is not being thin skinned. It is being responsible.

35. @ Pachamama October 16, 2019 9:36 AM

Right on the RH money!

If the ‘IT’ czars in the new government were worth their cotton-picking ‘salarium’ that is the ‘obviously basic’ approach they should have recommended and managed.

That’s Element 101 in the ICT training manual.

36. Cant help but remember the big stink Mia snd her flatfooted koolaid drinking minions made when past govt reached out to the dispora to celebrate barbados 50th independence celebration
    What a bunch of hypocrites all now shown to be
    Tax papers money would be handed to friends and associates in 2020 under a fake event called “gathering”
    Watch me Now was Mia motto
    Hell yes all is watching as the dispora gets a first hand red wash as Mia siphoned there money from their pockets
    What a belly laugh

37. Yes Hal. Chartership is a recognized objectively verified international professional designation. In the US and Canada, they have the PEng (Professional Engineer) designation. However, you need to be resident in those countries to obtain that. Chartership allows persons from any country in the world to have an internationally recognized professional designation – of the highest standard.

While I was actively facilitating Chartership, there were others who were irresponsibly discouraging this initiative.

So, yes Hal. Your ‘have charter, will travel’ is correct – and proven.

38. GP 2

AS YOU WELL KNOW YOU ARE ENJOINED IN HEBREWS 12 TO RUN WITH PATIENCE OR ENDURANCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE YOU

CONTINUE TO DO SO AS BEST YOU CAN DESPITE ATTACKS AND ASSAULTS

I DONT THINK YOU HAVE ALL THE SOLUTIONS OR THE CHARISMA, BUT YOU HAVE GUTS AND THE COURAGE OF YOUR CONVICTIONS

BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING

AFTER ALL THAT IS THE BAJAN WAY AND ONE OF THE REASONS BARBADOS IS RUNNING BACKWARDS AIMLESSLY

39. it is well known by us living overseas that all Bajans want from us is a couple of barrels a year, a lil all inclusive visit by them and their family whenever, some money monthly or whenever we can, some money to buy land and build a house that they will put in their name because you already got, a visit by us once a year at most and more money and clothes, and then guh bac wuh yuh come frum.

anything beyond that is an inconvenience. i dont think this we gathering thing is anything different.

40. So what about now Grenville..have any of the business people in the last 24 years REPORTED to international agencies……the ministers/lawyers/politicians who are ALSO clearly CULPABLE in EXTORTING BRIBES from business people as many of them have complained for YEARS has happened to them if they want to do business on the island..

There have been many instances where many people complained how difficult it is to do business if u do not pay to play…how about more exposure for those on both sides who practice this crime….both the business people and those who facility bribery/extortion….

If it is not CONTINUALLY exposed…they will ALL make sure it continues, to the detriment of everyone and the already destroyed economy.

Just remember it takes two to commit corrupt crimes againt people and country, the leaders AND the business community.

41. @Greene, of course they will deny such is the case, but it is evident that what you have stated is the case and has been from time immemorial .

42. Grenville don’t want to ignore, he wants to CONTROL..

he is another one quick to holler defamation….

..just imagine him in the parliament with small island power and anyone says something he does not like….that does not fit into his fantasies and delusions.

…if ya keep posting UNTRUTHS to futher confuse the POPULI..and keep that rotten, backward status quo intact…….expect to be CALLED OUT.

43. @ Greene

Spot on. You have forgotten one thing: if you have property and squatters (so-called adverse possessors) of property owned by overseas Bajans then from the top down, including an army of dodgy lawyers, conspire to deny the rightful owners access to their property.
    Mafia capitalism.

44. This govt is just like the one before. And the one before. And the one before. And…
    Which means that and the end of the cycle of this version of the BLP we will be in the same position or worse.

45. @ WURA-WAR-on-U October 16, 2019 7:46 AM

“the descendants of the planter class have been payng BRIBES to the idiots in parliament for decades, money that the thieves in parliament help them ROB THE PEOPLE to keep you in your place”.

You have a point with the above statement.

“there are not enuff minotirities on the island to elect you and never will be, so you need to stop kissing up to”

A very dogmatic statement, which on reviewing you may want to modify. The indigenous Fijians adopted a similar attitude until prior to one election when the realization came home that the East Indians, who Australia had imported to harvest sugar cane, had been out breeding them and were poised to have a majority in parliament( all in the space of less than a hundred years). A coup ensued to prevent that from happening. Given the fact that the Barbados Family Planning Unit has high-lighted the problem of declining birth rates, it might be wise to ponder on the topic.

46. @ Robert

Demographics, dear boy, demographics. That is why say we should have a two-child policy, a third child must be fully paid for by the parents (health, education, etc) and four or more should be taken in to care and put up for adoption.
    The biggest climate change threat is over-population.

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Grenville Phillips “During slavery, our fore-parents were ‘kept in their place’ with the threat of being sold.”

Nope. If you are enslaved it does not matter if you live at Rock Hall, St. Phillip or Rock Hall St. Peter, so “no” our foreparents were not kept in place by the “threats of being sold”. They were kept in their place by VIOLENCE by BEATINGS. I was born long after 1838, but my childhood next door neighbour, about 80 at the time had spent her life being a driver of a “gang” of child labourers. At the time I was at secondary school she still had the leather whip with which she used to beat the children.

@Grenville Phillips “Our place was to be at the feet of one of their approved political parties. To keep us in this place, they increased taxes at will to keep us living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, and dependent on their good graces. People in that state are normally too afraid to do or say anything that will risk them losing their jobs.”

I’ve tried and succeeded at staying far, far from the plantation class, and the political class. When i was young and did not know any better worked for 6 years for a parastatal. i left because there was not enough work for me to do, and my conscience would not permit me to accept a pay cheque for very little work. Not lazy.

@Grenville Phillips “Any Barbadian should be able to publicly comment on their ideas to improve Barbados. However, if those comments are interpreted as a criticism of the Minister or the governing Party.”

I agree that politicians and public servants WHO ALL GET PAID FROM OUR TAX MONEY should be vigorously criticized; and such people ought not to be thin skinned.

48. @ Hal
    “and four or more should be taken in to care and put up for adoption.”‘
    Not a bad idea at all. there will be push-back from certain sectors, but with firm leadership only a few problems should occur.

49. Robert…we visited this topic already…in the last 300 plus years, taking into account the birth rate of the minority population, even when they were warned about the inbreeding and had to import females, even with migration here and there which is not more than 50,000 across various countries…the minority population remains…under 10,000 on the island …in over 300 years..

…..but yet want to continue controlling the parliament, the economy, all the land, all economic activity, all the criminal activities and now the water supply, something is not right with that picture.

I asked that question years ago on the blog, why does the birth rate for minoritie bajan “whites” remain so low….hundreds of years later after the indentured experience …and even with migration in other much larger countries, the birth rate is still very, very low, compared to real caucausoid groups and others.