grenville-phillips
Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

The Ministry of Education appears sufficiently concerned about the environmental health of our students, to close and clean schools.  Solutions Barbados is requesting the Ministry to be at least as concerned about our students’ physical safety, to strengthen unstable schools.

Due to an updated building standard, most of our primary and secondary school buildings built before 2012, are vulnerable to collapse in a major earthquake.  Solutions Barbados has urged both the previous and current administrations to make the safety of our students a priority.  Unfortunately, both administrations have displayed the same low level of concern.

After the reported 300,000 deaths from the 2010 Haiti earthquake, which damaged or destroyed 4,000 schools, we should not be so careless about our students’ safety.  Unlike hurricanes, earthquakes strike with very little warning.

The Ministry is strongly urged to assess the structural stability of all schools, and identify economical but effective strengthening methods to prevent their collapse.  Once the list of what needs to be done has been provided to each school, the affordable strengthening can commence.  The PTAs can be encouraged to contribute, since it is the safety of their students and teachers that are currently at risk.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

111 responses to “Please Strengthen Our Schools”

1. John,

Here Simple Simon is correct. I was attending an independence programme at my son’s school during the earthquake. The Arch Cot cave in occurred in August. There was excavation and construction going on nearby using heavy duty equipment. There is a suggestion that this played some part in the collapse. Find the Nation article since you are so good at research. If I put my hands on my copy I will scan and post.

2. Grenville,

An estimate of the cost AT THE TIME would have indicated the affordability of the project and may have made it seem more feasible. It did not matter that the costs would have had to be adjusted at implementation to keep up with inflation. The affordability of the project would already have been demonstrated.

3. @VC
    could you tell me how I might know which rums are made from Bajan molasses?

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 9;24 AM

@ Northern Observer

Thanks, Hants. But it is known in the industry which manufacturers use imported molasses. It is also detected in the after taste, flavour and aroma of the liquor. I am not a quaffer of liquor but I know the difference between the texture and aroma of Appleton rum and that of Mount Gay.

5. Thank you, John 2. But there was another article that outlined all the highly questionable decisions that saw the building on the site being approved – both the apartment building and the later excavation and construction that may have caused the collapse.

Best Nation article I ever saw.

6. DonnaThe collapse of the Shalom apartment building at Arch Cot Terrace, Brittons Cross Road, St Michael, four years ago, which kille

Saw an article but in the advocate. I just posted that link to show that the collapse was caused by the earthquake or hurricane.

7. @VC/Hants
    did you know that for a number of years, MG bought aged rum from another local distiller? Even though it is known who imports molasses, it doesn’t translate all their rum is made from imported molasses. And with blending, it becomes even harder to know, which final product is from pure Bajan molasses.
    If you read the nicholas abbey site posted, they are claiming to ferment the cane juice. Which is the method used by agricole. Many of the Spanish speaking countries, use a concentrated juice versus molasses. Plus not that long ago, I acquired a bottle of NAbbey rum, which according to the label came from RLSeale?? All totally confusing. The rum either tastes good or it doesn’t? lol
    The latest trick I have noticed, is 700ml contents versus 750ml, at least from the French group who bought the WI Rum Refinery.

8. Every earthquake is a foreshock or an aftershock.

Unfortunately, they don’t come labeled!!

They are just earthquakes!!

An aftershock of a major event could be a foreshock of a much larger event.

A tremor is like “walking pneumonia” or a “silent heartattack”.

It is what it is …. an earthquake.

The model Hans Machel used to explain the collapse he tapped constantly to make the crack he had put in the roof of the cave model give way!!

How did the crack in the top of the cave get there in the first place?

Foreshocks?

Or, construction in the area …. or a combination.

A major earthquake event is often foreshadowed by smaller earthquake events and followed by smaller earthquake events.

The subduction taking place below our feet as we write involves one plate slipping over another.

It occurs right through the archipelago of islands.

Perhaps I should have said, increased seismic activity rather than identify a single event as the cause.

Might have avoided the confusion.

The collapse happened decades after the initial construction and while it may have been an accident waiting to happen, the presence of increased seismic activity cannot be ruled out.

So what can we learn from the location of the event(s) and their impact on Barbados?

The infrequent quakes we felt here in a major way, 1843, 2007 seem to have been centred in the Guadeloupe/Martinique area.

Any events in the future occurring there should be regarded as potential foreshocks … unless they are catastrophic, the main event!!

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO at 10 :37 AM

It is the residual sugar in the molasses that is being fermented into alcohol. It is the source of the input that is my concern.
    You may not be aware but the fumes from a Bajan sugar factory smells differently from the fumes in a Jamaican sugar factory and a Brazilian sugar factory. I do not think that it is all in my mind. It has to do with the soil and varieties of the cane.

10. John:

While major earthquakes are infrequent, they normally cause catastrophic damage. A house that is designed to survive a major earthquake costs the same to construct as one that does not. That is why building codes are important.

Donna:

The cost will vary depending on thew amount of changes that will be acceptable to teachers. But a 2-storey classroom block can be sufficiently strengthened against collapse for in the region of $15,000. Please note that we just spent $6.6M making cosmetic changes to our schools (up from the initial estimate of $1.8M). So it is not an affordability issue, rather, a prioritizing one.

11. It is so sad when you have to use the pretended concern for the safety of the kids to push an agenda for a building code to be implemented.

12. @ Johns

It is the blurring of professional and political judgements and readers are left not knowing where one ends and the other begins. It is a deliberate attempt o confuse and mislead.

13. @VC
    I appreciate your point.
    So I ask again, how do we know the source of the raw material inputs?
    The makers frequently tell you how long it has been aged and in what, but not the source of inputs. I gather, anything distilled on the island is now known as Barbadian Rum? That the distillers know the various sources of products, doesn’t help me?
    I see the younger Seale is part of a group known as the Guardians of Rum, and Foursquare seems to be preeminent distiller.

14. Johns:

If you were following the discussion, I noted that I did this work in 2012. Further, I have been trying to get the Building Code implemented since 1995.

For your information, Solutions Barbados was formed in 2015. I do not pretend to to anything.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO

As I say it is general knowledge which manufacturers use imported molasses and who do not. They will readily tell if asked. Very often the information appears in the local press .It is not a national secret.

16. With Foursquare’s Executive Chairman Richard Seale revealing that about 90 per cent of the molasses used in the rum sector was imported, the Minister anticipated that molasses production would also save the country much needed foreign exchange.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/08/24/weirs-rum-wish/

17. Whether we like Grenville or not I doubt he is so evil as to not care if the school buildings fall down on the children’s heads. And what is wrong with pushing an agenda for building codes?

18. Donna:

When someone is consumed by hate, they cannot be dissuaded by logic and have already seared their restraining conscience. They will simply continually invent ludicrous false accusations until they are spent.

19. Can someone explain why despite several months of little or no activity in the school buildings, Gov’t finds it difficult to reopen all the schools on time after the Summer break? 50 years ago this wasn’t an issue, today on the eve of school re-openings someone suddenly discovers repairs are needed or environmental problems exist and then the excuse of the day/week is trotted out on the idiot box.

Come next September Haloute should open another window at his gambling emporium where patrons can bet the over/under on the number of schools that wouldn’t be open on time.

20. @Vincent

“The only rum I will buy in the Rum Shop is Bajan Rum . It must also be manufactured from Bajan molasses. The others will have to remain on the shelf.”

It’s obvious you don’t drink BAJAN Rum as no rum made in Barbados has used local molasses for years, all is imported, most from Jamaica. BAJAN Rum is an oxymoron as most ingredients for same comes from offshore sources and manufacturers. Four Square is one of the few producers that have local significant content, most others are totally reliant on offshore sources and operation.

21. The Archcot disaster was a TRAGEDY that could/should have been avoided. Has anyone investigated Barbados present Prime Ministers, MAM, involvement. MAM’s legal manuverings ultimately lead to the property bring advanced for development and significant personal profit. Lack of legislated BUILDING CODES and INTERGITY LEGISLATION and Barbados duploy RULES.

22. @Sargeant

Many of the schools are in bad condition because they have not had maintenance for years. Rats and birds have taken residence in several. It makes sense for the ministry to take the time to fix properly.

23. @David

“ministry to take the time to fix properly”

David this must be your JOKE OF THE DAY as anyone knowledgeable about the Barbados duploy situation knows this is not in their vocabulary, stick a bandaid on the situation and hope for the best.

Same old same old.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@i Wiley Coyote at 3:14 AM

You certainly have that right. I do not go into rum shops and I do not buy rums not made with Bajan molasses on principle .So I have not drunk it for years. I know what Jamaican rum tastes like.

25. JOHNS = john2 all the rum probably affected me.

@ Donna I don’t hate GP2
    I have already stated my opinion on the building codes. Ok to have one published and available for someone who is building but not legalized and enforced. Why? Because I would keep back a someone like who had to build bit by bit on family land in order to shelter his/her family. It took my family three generations before we could afford a sturdy house.
    thank to the plantation act that our parents were able to purchase the land that we now use.
    Again I am not against a building code but against the enforcement of such a code as it will keep back the poor like me and there are a lot that are less fortunate than me out there.

26. nextparty246
    September 30, 2019 2:15 PM

John:
    While major earthquakes are infrequent, they normally cause catastrophic damage. A house that is designed to survive a major earthquake costs the same to construct as one that does not. That is why building codes are important.

What is the point of having codes that won’t be enforced?

Enforcement costs money.

Codes won’t prevent catastrophic damage.

It doesn’t matter if a building has been built as a blockhouse nature can move it, or damaged it irreparably.

The houses in the Bahamas that were supposed to have been built to the best codes in the region stood no chance in the the storm surge.

At some time we need to understand and accept that we have no control over nature.

I also happen to believe construction is a dead end activity in Barbados.

What is built is built.

So I don’t get all hot and sweaty over codes for new construction.

Nothing however is wrong with strengthening existing buildings if they can be strengthened sensibly and responsibly.

But whenever nature is ready to reclaim the land they are on, it will!!

27. @ Vincent

Should there be a legal definition of Barbadian (Bajan) rum?

28. GP2

If you so much care about the safety of the kids and you did a free study of all school they why stop there? Why wait on government?
    You said that the PTAs can contribute why not go that way – raise the funds then approach the ministry about doing the work. You don’t have to do all at once but one at a time. Since 2012 you probably would have done one or two.
    you could even co-op a few school that are close to each other and raise the funds faster therefore completing each of those school in the pool in a shorter space of time.

Now, I am illogical so lets deal with some probabilities.

What are the probabilities of a destructive earthquake hitting Barbados?
    We already know the it is 50/50 that one can hit any place on the earth at any moment.
    Historically, geographically logically (or any kind of ly I may have missed) what are the factors that make Barbados probability to increase or be greater than any of the other islands?

Historically and geographically we know about California. You can push a case for the northern Caribbean (Haiti, Jamaicia).

What are the probabilities that a destructive earthquake hits Barbados when the kids are in school ( instead of on vacation, weekend or night)?

When I think about these reducing probabilities I somehow come to some conclusion that the ministry acted logically and spent the money in areas were immediate priority (even if it was a coat of paint to keep away mildew).

After weather related, the next most PROBABLY natural disaster Barbados should be concerned about is a Tsunami.
    this can be caused by an earthquake under the sea in any of the areas around us or an eruption of the under sea volcano to the south west of us.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal at 11:20 AM

No! a total waste of money and scarce legal resources.

30. John2

Whether or not building codes should be enforced is a matter for debate. So…. let us debate it. The approach you offered GP2 as a way of reinforcing the schools would also be my approach. I believe in grassroots solutions. Bit by bit gets more done.

What I thought was over the top was the assumption that GP2 was pretending to care for the children. Most of us do. Why not him? Flawed he may be as we all are in some way but what evil has he done that suggests he only pretends to care about the safety of a whole school full of children?:

PS. I started my posts by acknowledging that limited funds would logically be directed to the areas of greater risk. GP2 maintains that it is affordable. He also posits that you would still have been able to afford your house only a safer model.

John,

Because we cannot save all lives does not mean we should not attempt to save any. We know that buildings built to a certain code will survive minor to moderate events. For massive events we must concede the fight to Mother Nature.

We all know that. But I don’t see anybody giving up without a fight. And why should they?

31. GP2

I was not referring to your study studies of the schools when I said you are using the pretence caring for the kids to push your codes agenda. Your intentions may have been honorable there/doing the study.

I was referring you are trying to push you building codes for the last few week but when you got heat on it you came this week using to kids (because you know most people has sympathy towards the safety of kids). This was a slimy move because it coming over from you that your main care is to really get your build codes implemented/legalized.

As I said before if your main concern is the safety of the kids in the schools then you can go about it one school at a time pro bono

32. John,
    Because we cannot save all lives does not mean we should not attempt to save any. We know that buildings built to a certain code will survive minor to moderate events. For massive events we must concede the fight to Mother Nature.
    We all know that. But I don’t see anybody giving up without a fight. And why should they?

He who fights and runs away lives to fight another day.

On the approach of a major hurricane, run to higher ground if you live on the coast or under the cliff!!!

Make sure you got good insurance that will either ….

,,,build back the old house if it is lost because no one enforced the codes that may have prevented you building there in the first place ….

…. or buy you another in a more sensible location that meets codes.

Simplest way to enforce codes, no compliance, no insurance!!

33. nextparty246
    September 29, 2019 11:37 PM

Donna:
    No cost estimate was done. Given the Haiti earthquake, I was hoping for some positive response. However, having seen no action the previously 20 years, I suspected that nothing would be done. “Therefore, why waste the effort on something that would likely become outdated before it is actioned, and will need to be redone”.(quote)

GP2

One may also ask ” why waste money and effort on something that will become outdated in a few years and will need to be redone” .
    You are the engineer that is pushing it and is making that statement then why should the common man or government buy into something that is not necessary and will become obsolete after a while?

34. If we understand the prime minister correctly she agrees with Grenville. The government will be exerting strategic focus on enforcing a building standard.

35. Donna

As I said building codes should be published and made available to whoever is building. They then will decide how much of the safety measures they want to implement. If they can do all the good for them, I am sure they will. But on this island there are still a lot of us who cannot afford to build a house and wait until it is finished to live in it.

Enforcing codes will prevent the poor man from starting in his little box on four blocks just to cover his family and building out/better when bit buy bit when funds are available. This is how I see most people in my village started out..
    Without this start a man like me back then would have either have to raise my kids in an over crowded family home or go out and find a “coded” house to rent. Enforcing building codes in Bim will only help to keep the poor man down!
    Codes and safety are ok but my first concern is for a roof over my family’s head then I will build as I can afford.

That how it was for me. I am better off now but know where I come from and that there are still a lot of those like me out there.

36. If you happen to live in an old house that went through Janet, survived the 1898 hurricane and perhaps even the 1831 hurricane and by extension the 1843 earthquake what can anyone do to reinforce it?

Maybe replace any timbers that are rotten.

The older secondary schools will for sure have buildings that survived some or all of these natural disasters.

Lodge will almost certainly have such buildings!!

Codrington College stood as far as I know.

HC was there from 1733 so maybe there is a rally old building in there.

Mill walls stood.

How many schools are advertised as hurricane shelters?

… and churches, most were built or rebuilt after the 1831 hurricane.

So they withstood the 1843 earthquake and the 1898 hurricane and Janet.

Nicholas Abbey, Drax Hall etc etc etc!!

What was so special about the buildings that have lasted 350 plus years?

Not codes!!!

The only natural disaster that moved a building 236 plus years old was Sir COW et al!!

The magazine at Fort George that withstood hurricanes, earthquakes and epidemics fell in a day because somebody wanted to move the earth to please!!

We need codes to protect us from these types of disasters!!

37. john

38. The only thing I would do would be to the schools roofs, to strengthen them because they are where the people will go on approach of a powerful hurricane.

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 12 :43 PM

Have you read and understood the points that John ,John2 and Donna have made? In the light of these what is the relevance of this intervention.
    What is it about risk management that you are not too clear about?

40. @Vincent

The blogmaster understands all the points made, is it a crime to agree with Grenville and the prime minister that we should police standards to ensure a stable building stock?

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The substance of the arguments put forward by the commentators mentioned was that” policing standards” would not “ensure a stable building stock”. Recent events support this position. A more meaningful approach is for builders to employ best practices when executing all building projects. and as a public service publish improvements on a regular basis.

This blog is full of complaints of failure to enforce guidelines and codes of behaviour in this society. There is nothing to indicate that after passing legislation etc that they will be enforced or enforceable.

But you have sidestepped the import of my questions. I did not expect you to answer them.

42. @WC
    Yours@3.26 am

Are you vying to be designated as an “enemy of the State”? BFP had extensive coverage of the Arch Cot disaster including information about the Corporate links and business/political ties of some people who allegedly were instrumental in getting the site reevaluated and ultimately approved for property development. A proper inquiry would have determined if there was any veracity to those allegations but this is Barbados and inquiries never come to any meaningful conclusions.

To anyone reading this let Google be your friend.

43. Enforcing building standards and enforcing building codes are two different things.
    I am supposed to be totally ignorant of what is a building code and what it does so I will just say the building standards in the heights/new developments are totally different from those of the villages.

I am also understand how we speak

44. https://barbadosfreepress.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/20090315_p32.jpg

had it on my pc since yesterday but never got back to reading it.

45. Though I posted the link. Sorry. will try again

46. ooops not working. I tried .

47. @Vincent Codrington October 1, 2019 12:22 PM

@ Hal at 11:20 AM

No! a total waste of money and scarce legal resources.

May YES maybe NO.

First it would give the lazy jackass lawyers something than other than trying you expropriate clients funds.

Barbados has an overabundance of legal resources that are liming away with no practical goals in life, givem something TO DO. SCARCE LEGAL RESOURCES, you obviously mean COMPETENT LEGAL RESOURCES as lawyers, judges etc are a dime a dollar.