August 2019 saw at least two murders taking place in Barbados (34 for the year so far). One took place in the parish of St. Michael, while the other took place in St. Philip. The victims were both male and died as a result of knife and gun related violence respectively. The data was collected and compiled based on available media reports at the time. See below charts for additional details and analysis.

Heat Map of Murders in Barbados – January to August 2019

175 responses to “Barbados Murder Statistics August 2019”

1. @ Tron

A question for you.

While you have not said it outright DO YOU WISH THAT MORE OF THE DRUG DEALER FOOT SOLDIERS get killed off?

You know that depending on how you answer that, it defines you as either hopeful that these killers can be changed OR THAT THEY ARE A LOST CAUSE?

With each death, especially the younger deaths, I grow more despondent with regard to the hopelessness that such represents in terms of “options for the perpetrators”

That one could be so hopeless AND SO YOUNG.

and what is Mugabe doing to give these citizens hope Tron?

Not one RH and this is why de ole man been saying rather promoting this message

https://imgur.com/7mQLoXP?s=wa

And the only party with this deliverable IS THE PDP!

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    September 12, 2019 10:37 PM

The St. Andrew murder. The 2 victims and the two accuses are all YOUNG MEN aged between 20 and 24.
    Barely out of childhood.
    What is it with YOUNG MEN?

Their mothers perhaps?

They all actually do have mothers, something they all have in common!!

3. https://www.illinoislegalaid.org/legal-information/am-i-responsible-my-child-after-they-turn-18

“Under the Illinois Parental Responsibility Law, you can be liable for the personal or property damages caused by the “willful or malicious acts” of a child “not yet 19 years of age,” if they actually live with you. It’s not easy to make parents liable under that law, but it extends your possible exposure another year, to age 19.”

Are mothers (and fathers) in Barbados held legally responsible for the acts of their offspring?

4. This should be herer
    Thanks Amit.
    Yo do a great service. I hope you manage to just provide the numbers and ignore the comments.

My fellow Bajans can be very witty and full of suggestions.
    Mariposa will give you her ‘official’ count
    Baje will include a person who murdered and buried himself, and then we have this gem
    “We have to exclude the dead from the drug war. These are war casualties, not civilian casualties that fit into the statistics alone. According to my own statistics we have only 5 civil casualties so far this year..”

Some of these guys are just brillian

5. @ Piece the Legend September 13, 2019 4:01 AM

Why do you ask me, oh You Legend?

I am just a simple, worried citizen who has to watch as the diabolical opposition tries to damage our Prime Minister.

6. Theo i have already given my two cents worth
    I have come to the conclusion this govt is very dishonest

7. “It should be criminal to raise criminals”!!

In Barbados most of the parenting is done by women, single women.

In many cases, the man has disappeared for whatever reason!!

While it would be interesting to know how these young murderers were raised seems we need to hold the parent, or parents responsible.

Maybe if a parent/parents went through the raising process with the constant fear she/he/they would be held accountable for the actions of their children we would end up with fewer criminals.

The only time we see a mother, rarely a father, appear speaking on behalf of a young criminal the story is how good a child he is.

If the young criminal happens to be dispatched by the police in the execution of their duty the police are to blame.

It should not get to this stage.

If it does, there should be a record of the delinquency not only of the young criminal but of the parent/parents.

8. The discussion about the so-called murder statistics is once again totally hypocritical. The panelists criticize the government for an international drug war, which it did not initiate.

The same discussants, however, remain silent about the Donville Inniss case. Or they even support it by demanding an ancient “complaint” (invented by the British to protect slave drivers from prosecution) that never occurs. The silence about the “Donville” case is very obvious and shows the people who opposes democracy and order on this island.

9. As far as I can recall LEAVE is the present tense and LEFT the past. I clearly said LEAVE. The TinFoil seems to be referring to the past, unless Bajans or even tourists are currently boarding ships in Bim bound for New York, London etc. I know tourists and Bajans are tekkin planes to come/go board ships. In any event, I asked how many and not a fella can tell me. But this blog is about personalities and agendas. Then we have the KNOW IT ALL, who seems to be struggling with language or is just a boldfaced liar. In closing, there were 28.5M cruise passengers in 2018, 4.3B airline passengers and the internet is projected to account for over 50% of retail sales in 10 years. I remain confused and exhausted. Blogmaster please pull the original from some months ago. Rahim Ward’s murder is added to the stats and what now? Stupse

10. @ Enuff

Here we go again. You are now an expert on the English language. Still waiting for an answer. If online accounts for 50 per cent of sales, what accounts for the other 50 per cent. In case you do not know, 50 per cent is half.

The article says it ALL, even the UK government’s decision to pump more resources into saving high streets. Instead this KNOW-IT-ALL is trying to save face by defining “killing off” (which I never said) in its literal sense.(Quote)
    If I got it wrong, plse state clearly what you meant. If not killing off in its literal sense, in what sense did you mean?

PLSE ANSWER THE QUESTON AND STOP PREVARICATING.

As to planes and ships. Have you heard of the Windrush? Older people from the Caribbean in the UK sailed by ship. We still have ships, but people now use them mainly for cruises and cargo. Same vehicle, different purpose.
    What worries me is that you clearly have a responsible position in Barbados. I STRONGLY SUSPECT YOU ARE A SENIOR PUBLIC SECTOR WORKER. I hope you are not a teacher.

11. And therein lies the central issue poochlicker.

Every death goes through the same treatment

It’s a botheration to the Mugabe regime

And your last line of blatant dismissal of the murder of Rahim Ward where you said and de ole man quotes

“…Rahim Ward’s murder is added to the stats and what now? Stupse…”

You and the rest of the poochlicker group have no type of empathy for or care directed towards these poor unfortunates in the Barbados landscape

Listen to the way you rack up his demitting this scene of life!

Just like if we were counting sheep at the abbatoir going to be slaughtered.

People here will gradually notice the real state and regard that you AND YOURS have for this segment of our society cause, as you have shown here, Rahim’s addition to the murder count has you incensed!

You frankly DO NOT GIVE 2 FVUCKS that he was murdered!

But carry on smartly because with each insensitive utterance you make here, it reinforces de ole man’s words THAT YOU ARE PART OF THE MUGABE CLITORIS EVAGINATION HORDE of despots

12. So as expected the comment was …

And therein lies the central issue poochlicker.

Every death goes through the same treatment

It’s a botheration to the Mugabe regime

And your last line of blatant dismissal of the murder of Rahim Ward where you said and de ole man quotes

“…Rahim Ward’s murder is added to the stats and what now? Stupse…”

You and the rest of the poochlicker group have no type of empathy for or care directed towards these poor unfortunates in the Barbados landscape

Listen to the way you rack up his demitting this scene of life!

Just like if we were counting sheep at the abbatoir going to be slaughtered.

People here will gradually notice the real state and regard that you AND YOURS have for this segment of our society cause, as you have shown here, Rahim’s addition to the murder count has you incensed!

You frankly DO NOT GIVE 2 FVUCKS that he was murdered!

But carry on smartly because with each insensitive utterance you make here, it reinforces de ole man’s words THAT YOU ARE PART OF THE MUGABE CLITORIS EVAGINATION HORDE of despots

13. “Or they even support it by demanding an ancient “complaint” (invented by the British to protect slave drivers from prosecution) that never occurs.”

and yall in all ya WICKEDNESS…still keep those SLAVE LAWS on the statute books…FOR YA OWN PEOPLE…when NO ONE, including the british are forcing ya to.

14. What has those who are aware totally INCENSED…is the vicious legislation they copied from apartheid, racist South Africa where the stupid leaders still do not know, just like Barbados’ leaders…that they should rid themselves of the stinking minotrities who control them and help them keep their OWN people in a state of BONDAGE…

ah hope Mia heard the message from Rihanna in the US about SOCIAL JUSTICE.

NO ONE IS AMUSED… no one…but these are dizzy so i doubt anything connected…emptyheaded.

15. Tron
    What silence about Donville case yuh liar
    Donville case has been highlited in international media as well as media across the Carribbean
    Unlike the Charles Herbert case which was silently sweep under the rug followed by a not guilty verdict with a cause of the justice system of barbados seemingly closing their eyes to the obviuos
    The long and short (being )that Donville case relates to a crime that might land him in jail but having no reprecussions that would entail drug and gang related murder across the social enviroment of barbados or for that matter the Carribbean Region
    How is it that a yatch carrying multiple cargo of drugs and those like Charles Herbert eho was cut red handed is let go without even facing the judicial system in front of a jury of his peers
    Go check Charles Herbert case and ask why the silence and indifference led to his release

16. “Donville case has been highlited in international media as well as media across the Carribbean”

So you admit yourself that the national media were silent.

Who intimidated them?

The people have the right to know the answer here. The people also have the right to know the source of Donville’s wealth.

17. @ Mariposa

In the Charles Herbert case the DPP claimed there was not enough evidence to secure a conviction and it was not in the public interest to continue with the prosecution. She must explain what was this public interest claim. Have the attorney general been asked any questions in parliament – or by the media?
    Since three persons were arrested over the alleged drug smuggling offence, does the withdrawal of the Herbert prosecution suggest the other two must be guilty, or at least there is more evidence to prosecute and to do so would be in the public interest? There is a case to be answered. Where is the president?

18. Tron again yu are a liar
    While you at it separating truth from fiction once again tell why didn’t the barbados justice system not provide the evidence to the people they claim was insufficient to charge Charles Herbert along with his cohorts with bringing drugs into the island
    Dont u not belive that the suspicion behind his release speaks of a system which would protect the rich while the poor would be thrown the book for stealing a loaf of bread to feed a family

19. Donville is being set up tp talk the WHOLE FALL…all alone …no one who SHARED in the corruption wants to share prison time with him, ya always know who ya enemies are when the SCREWS ARE TIGHTENING.

20. Wahlosssssss. People talking about the Windrush. Cruise liners were around for years and were and are first and foremost about leisure. The Windrush (a passenger ship) argument is a get outta jail card. I tell wunna this blog bout personalities and agendas. The mere fact that one has to reference the Windrush shows my original statement to be true. I gine book the revamped Windrush to London.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 One week I am a lawyer, then a politician next a senior civil servant. Whatever I am, earlier this week I had the privilege of engaging with the developers and their full project team on a £600M project. I should have told them to hire some of the BU experts, none moreso than the former senior editor and my girl Ms.EU MM.🤣🤣

21. TinFoil
    I am going to make you lose your sanity…
    more.😛 I repeat, Rahim Ward’s death has been added to the statistics, so what now? You’re still talking conspiracy, the other crazies are still just frothing and the former senior editor is fighting hard not to prove that he’s all bluster and gymnastics. In essence y’all haven’t added anything of value to the discussion cuz wunna only interested in numbers. Go back to my very first comment on the blog, it still holds true.

22. Enuff you afraid of numbers
    Well holy cow wunna played the numbers game for ten years
    Every issue was numbers.get over the reality of having to deal with deaths associated by murder and govt trying by all intents and purposes hiding the body count

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@ronSeptember 13, 2019 4:47 PM “The people also have the right to know the source of Donville’s wealth.”

Maybe he is NOT wealthy?

According to sources he borrowed $70,000 from a friend to help with his kid’s tuition. I mean who borrows from a friend to put a kid through uni? Even a Simple Simon like me was able to put the kids through school with EARNED scholarships, and borrowings only from legitimate student loans places. I also hit up a sibling or two or three. Lolll!!!

I’ll be honest I don’t know any friends who would lend me even $7 to put the kids through school.

It is not as though uni is an unexpected expense. Parents receive at least 18 years notice that the uni time is coming.

Unless like the former DLP administration “free’ UWI tuition is cut off from students and their poor parents with little or no notice. That was really, really bad thing for the administration in which Donville served to do.

24. Thanks for the information. We should have another talk about the dedication of said altar to Goddess Bim. You are welcome to bring a homemade Voodoo doll with you … 🙂 The only restriction is that you can’t have “Tron” written on the doll when you use the hot needles.

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 13, 2019 5:34 AM “Are mothers (and fathers) in Barbados held legally responsible for the acts of their offspring?”

So an 18 year old can vote, can marry, can decide to go to war, but if they decide to murder you want mummy and daddy to be responsible.

As a parent, I say “NO please”

Are you a parent John? If you are you must know that is an uphill struggle getting some older teens to listen to wise and loving parents.

So sometime parents give up on these young ADULTS.

And sometimes the young ADULTS hit rock bottom.

My old elementary school teacher used to say “hard ears you won’t hear, own way you will feel.”

She was right. She lived to be well over 100 years old.

26. a £600M project.
    Dude I don’t care how you mean it…. With that kind of money call my name as well.
    I am project ready.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 13, 2019 4:58 AM “Their mothers perhaps? They all actually do have mothers, something they all have in common!!”

Once you are an adult you must take responsibility for your own actions. No point blaming mummy or daddy. I’ve never blamed either of my parents for a single thing. Long before I was 18 I was sensible enough to perceive that they were doing the best they could with what little they had. And they had very, very little.

The young man who was recently found in a grave in St. Andrew had a “good” job. Another one who was convicted some years ago had a “good” job too. Worked with one of my siblings.

We see that some of the 1% and some of the politicians are very, very greedy.

But we are all afraid to say that some of our young men are greedy also.

They want everything, and they want it now. And if they can get things by drug dealing they are willing to do so. They don’t care that they are putting their lives at risk. They don’t care that they are putting the health of other people’s sons and daughters at risk.

MONEY. MONEY. MONEY.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TheOGazertsSeptember 13, 2019 6:35 AM “Mariposa will give you her ‘official’ count.”

You know very well that Mariposa counts just like Big Bird on Sesame Street.

29. To enuffs point. What does a comparative analysis of the last four months over the previous four reveal? Obviously a significant decline. There is more to be deduced. Let us hope the trending continues from recent months.

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 13, 2019 10:29 AM “In many cases, the man has disappeared for whatever reason!!”

My beloved mother who was married to one man for more than 70 years always used to say that when a woman has small children pissing and vomiting all over her, then nobody loves her, not even her husband.

Small children are noisy, demanding, shitty, pissy, expensive etc. A lot of men can’t take the noise, the piss, the shit, the demands, the vomit. A lot of men run when the children come along.

The thing is when a young couple is in love nobody tells them about the vomit, the piss, the shit, the noise and the expense.

So marriages end…the men are not running from their wives, they are running from what their wives have become.

Smelly, pissy, shitty, mothers.

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

So don’t blame the mothers who stay. Put some of the blame on the fathers who run. Maybe mothers would run too, but it is hard to run when pregnant, or when attached to a lactating infant, or a demanding toddler.

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece – September 13, 2019 2:28 PM “CLITORIS EVAGINATION”

A clitoris and a vagina are NOT the same thing. Since you refer to yourself as ‘de ole man’ i take it that you have enough life experience to know this?

If not you might find yourself divorced and miserable.

A word from the wise…

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-WAR-on-USeptember 13, 2019 5:17 PM “Donville is being set up.”

Being set up by whom?

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@EnuffSeptember 13, 2019 5:38 PM “he’s all bluster and gymnastics.”

I am really, really skeptical about the accusation of gymnastics.

You ought to apologize for that.

35. “According to sources he borrowed $70,000 from a friend to help with his kid’s tuition. I mean who borrows from a friend to put a kid through uni? Even a Simple Simon like me was able to put the kids through school with EARNED scholarships, and borrowings only from legitimate student loans places. I also hit up a sibling or two or three. Lolll!!!”

Wuh somebody said when people would be reeling under the weight of university tuition for their kids back in 2010 and tell him, he would look them in their faces with his once uppity persona and tell them….when ya fail to plan ya plan to fail…totally ignoring the circumstances that causes all plans to go to hell..at anytime.

Wuh i bet he is remembering all that now though.

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    September 13, 2019 6:03 PM

@JohnSeptember 13, 2019 5:34 AM “Are mothers (and fathers) in Barbados held legally responsible for the acts of their offspring?”
    So an 18 year old can vote, can marry, can decide to go to war, but if they decide to murder you want mummy and daddy to be responsible.

Nope!!!

Be held responsible in the period prior to 18!!!

At 18 kick the little bugger out of the house if it ent listening to you in your pwn house!!

But if as a parent you done your job properly that circumstance never arises!!

37. At nine months mummy pushes him out.

Mummy don’t complain and long for him to stay inside with mummy.

Mummy only too glad to be rid of him!!

Daddy ent got no say at that point!!

Truth is there are a lot of women who will have a child for a man just to get money, nothing to do with love.

38. The child grows up motivated solely by money, taught by mummy.

If I is a boy, he don’t have the parts necessary to operate like mummy!!

So, he steals ….. like mummy … but just in a different way!!

39. If it is a girl all she got to do is watch mummy go from man to man.

The cycle continues

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 13, 2019 7:14 PM “Truth is there are a lot of women who will have a child for a man just to get money, nothing to do with love.”

Must be a real, real hard way to “earn” money.

Me?

A 9 to 5 worked fine for me.

41. Sounds like John is talking from experience..

42. If your child is a thief and brings home stolen goods, whether the child is over or under 18, when the police come calling, you and the child going at the main guard!!

If the child is under 18, you will be the one doing time as the responsible adult!!

If not, both of you ending up at Dodds!!

Don’t mind if you on a 9 to 5 stint, the stolen goods in your house!!

It is plain common sense.

43. Same for drugs!!

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Give up the bitterness.

Sometimes life is tough.

Do your best everyday.

Leave the past in the past, just where it belongs.

45. Leave the past in the past, just where it belongs

++++++++++++++++++++++

So am I allowed to research history which I enjoy and bring it into the present?

46. Other 3 I am good with!!

47. Poor John, he single, no wife, no girlfriend, no children. Just lots of money.