Barbadians have been drilled from primary school that we are a water scarce country. There is a technical definition, a simple translation is the lack of available water resources to meet demand. In Barbados there are three reasons to explain the predicament we find ourselves- change in climatic conditions adversely affecting water catchment, a growing demand for potable water AND poor management of available water resources.

In 2016 or thereabouts a  water shortage severely affected the North of the island and gave rise to a citizen group calling itself the Water Warriors- there was talk then as there is now- that solutions were/are in the pipeline.  It is 2019 and if we listen to the cries of citizens about the lack running water, the problem appears to have gotten worse.

People pay taxes to ensure critical services like water, waste disposal, transportation and a few others are efficiently supplied by government. The fact that we continue to demonstrate the poorest management that forces citizens to embarrass themselves by making public cries is unacceptable.  Can we honestly label ourselves an educated people if we continue to mismanage our affairs to this degree?

Here is a reminder of short and longer term solutions promised in 2016 by the then Minister of Water Resources David Estwick.

• The Barbados Water Authority has put in an order for eight additional water tankers to provide potable water for residents of St Joseph, St Andrew and St John.
  • The tankers will take the BWA complement to 13, and they should be in Barbados in about two months.
  • The BWA is presently rehabilitating a well at Groves in St George aimed at providing an additional 500 000 gallons of water to the Golden Ridge/Castle Grant system which supplies the northern parishes.
  • The BWA has also completed a new pumping station at the Lazaretto, Black Rock, St Michael which allows it to push desalinated water down the island’s west coast into the St Peter system to get water to St Peter and St Lucy until the completion of the Northern Upgrade project which was started under a previous administration.
  • The St Philip Water Augmentation project to find additional water to alleviate shortages in the south of Barbados will be commissioned next Wednesday, allowing the BWA access to an additional 3.5 million gallons of water per day, some of which will be pushed to St Joseph, via Bowmanston in St John – Nationnews

The Ionics desalination plant was also upgraded and contracted by government to augment the supply of water.

The majority of middleclass Barbadians have invested in water storage facilities, it is always the poor and vulnerable who are exposed by the chronic mismanagement by authorities.

The same lament can be repeated to explain the garbage pileup across the country. We hear the excuses and promises from Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod that new garbage trucks will be deployed shortly.  However sensible people are asking what is the backup plan. Is there a good case to contract private waste-haulers to assist with short term waste collection? Do not forget there is a systemic problem to be solved of implementing a waste management plan. Dumping garbage in a landfill is a primitive waste disposal solution and exposes successive governments for the inability to implement relevant solutions.  The current flare up by sanitation workers is another symptom of mismanagement of our national affairs.

The quality of debate in this space and elsewhere means we can anticipate political operatives tossing the usual vacuous barbs to defend narrow political interest. This is where we are and where we will will continue to be as a nation- a country in decline if…

236 responses to “Garbage Pile Up Water Shortage Pon De Replay”

1. Well…if they ALL did not HELP TIEF…the PEOPLE’S money it would STILL BE THERE…

so they can expect to hear about this for a LONG, LONG TIME..ya don’t want to hear, ya know what to do..

besides, according to Simple…some of us will outlive others…even by 5 minutes…so someone will be around..to remind ya..

2. @ Quaker John

Barbados is going through a water shortage, but not a single word about watering golf courses or swimming pools. Can you imagine it? Barbados is a failed state.

3. “Barbados is going through a water shortage, but not a single word about watering golf courses or swimming pools.”

Wuh ya tink the thiefing, COVETOUS Williams want control of the PEOPLE’S WATER WELLS to do…ya should see the SPREAD THEY WATER EVERY DAY…and not them alone..

FYI…swimming pools in PRIVATE residences are replensihedonly once a week..

for commericial properties hotels etc, am sure it is more often.

4. @ Enuff August 25, 2019 1:21 PM
    “The collection of garbage and the operations of the TB go beyond vehicle numbers, recycling, garbage separation and the usual solutions advanced here on BU. John A’s observation and suggestion in relation to communal collection/storage points fits into the broader picture to which I refer. But ten years of neglect can’t be corrected in 15months especially given the government’s finances.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What you have said about the performance of the current administration is quite commendable in light of the damage and desecration ‘executed’ by its predecessor.

However, wouldn’t you agree that ‘impressions’ in the morally filthy arena of politics can count for much more than the ‘behind-the-scenes’ performances?

So when is the Mottley administration going to make an example out of someone from the last administration given the ‘winning’ rhetoric of ‘documented’ corruption identified during the last campaign and which, as nauseatingly promoted, has contributed greatly to the current fiscal state of her administration?

How about exposing some of the graft which took place in the MoF when duties and taxes were waived on a luxury vehicle imported for the use of a ghost for a Sales Director hired by an imaginary hotel called Hyatt which would soon be going the way of the dodo bird?

Were similar concessions awarded for the hiring of the Sales Director of the reincarnated Sam Lord’s Castle?

What is stopping the current MoF from recouping the proceeds arising from a blatant heist on the Treasury under the previous administration? Shouldn’t such recovery of a material tax loss go a long way in financing at least one of those much promised garbage collecting vehicles needed to stave off the looming public health disaster?

What is MAM waiting for? Has she been crippled politically because of the Ross University deal or because it’s somebody else’s turn, with the most ‘affected’ English accent’ to sup from the teat of the cow of corruption while tethered to the ‘blooming’ White Oak tree?

5. Barbados is a failed state because golf resorts have their own irrigation systems or recycle water to water the courses? Why should there be a word on that and from whom?

6. Don’t know what that fowl is talking about…she is acting as though Mia was elected by the people, just to hire consultants to do everything…THEY WERE HIRED TO DO A JOB..and White HOAX could have been hired for a lot less.. or not hired AT ALL…to do the same thing.

ya hired consultants cause yall have NO functioning BRAINS…..ya are colonial minded lackeys and are not fit for purpose..

7. ” Prominent businesspeople such as Ralph Williams, Mark Maloney and Anderson Cherry were all invited as well as members of the islands utility companies, transport, hospital, sanitation, education, ports of entry and more.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241430/stakeholders-gather-discuss-storm-preparedness

8. So how is the corruption going to end, they sit on every board and KNOW EVERYONE ON THE ISLAND’S BUSINESS…and actually ENGINEER some VERY evil shit..

They sit on every bank BOARD…and know EVERYONE’S PERSONAL INFORMATION…and ENGINEER SOME really EVIL SHIT…

how do you think they get to STEAL so much land and money with the help of the TRAITORS..in parliament and bar association.

9. @ Artax

You are correct in that my suggestion alone is not the solution. The thing is though this government has been charging in excess of 100,000 consumers over $40 a month now for roughly a year, so where are the garbage trucks? I mean using my little $30 Casio that is $48 million minimum they have collected in sewage tax! So with a new full size Freightliner or Peterbuilt garbage truck listed at $142,300 USD and new vehicles available for sale as we speak, what’s the hold up? I will tell You what it is and it’s that money is going straight into the consolidated fund either directly or indirectly to keep the IMF happy!

10. @ Miller August 25, 2019 2:23 PM

“when is the Mottley administration going to make an example out of someone from the last administration given the ‘winning’ rhetoric of ‘documented’ corruption identified during the last campaign and which, as nauseatingly promoted, has contributed greatly to the current fiscal state of her administration?”

Miller, as you know, between your dream and reality stands a person called DPP. With the current DPP, there will be no charges against Donville and the other blue outcasts in a thousand years.

Ask Enuff where the DPP is currently applying for … LOL. But that doesn’t make things any better!

11. ” BULLETIN
    Tropical Storm Dorian Intermediate Advisory Number 5A
    NWS National Hurricane Center Miami FL AL052019
    200 PM AST Sun Aug 25 2019

…DORIAN GETTING A LITTLE BETTER ORGANIZED…

12. That DPP want locking up too, she is as useless as the one before her..

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax August 25, 2019 2:11 PM “I’m NOT “saying” your suggestion is a bad idea…… but, it isn’t the dogs tearing open garbage bags you have to worry about that much, it’s the bottle scavengers. And the skips would not provide enough protection for the garbage from them.”

Again sorting in our own kitchens and bathrooms will solve ths problem.

Why can’t we leave the clean empty bottles in an open container, separate from the other garbage, Since the bottles are clean the dogs and rats won’t be attracted them, and the people who collect bottles to supplement their living won’t have to scavenge for them. They could very easily pick them up from the open container. We don’t want the clean empty bottles, the “bottle scavengers” wants them. Why not make them easily available. It won’t cost us anything to do so.

If everybody, or most people agrees to do this, problem solved.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A August 25, 2019 2:49 PM “I mean using my little $30 Casio that is $48 million minimum they have collected in sewage tax! So with a new full size Freightliner or Peterbuilt garbage truck listed at $142,300 USD and new vehicles available for sale as we speak, what’s the hold up?”

I dunno.

Maybe they have the $48 million BDS cash, but not the $24 million USD cash?

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Robert Goren August 25, 2019 2:29 PM “Barbados is a failed state because golf resorts have their own irrigation systems or recycle water to water the courses?”

You know as well as i do that the golf resorts do not MANUFACTURE their own water. All water used in Barbados is drawn from communal sources, whether those sources are land based aquifers, or the sea.

Only God makes water.

We human being draw on those divine sources. We process it, that’s all.

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 25, 2019 10:01 AM “Again the typical Barbadian alarmism.”

I heard your favourite “girl” on VOB this afternoon. Was she also engaging in the typical Barbadian alarmism?

Or is it just me who is alarmist?

17. Hopefully we will get plenty rain and the winds won’t be too strong.

The aquifers will continue to be recharged and from hereon in in the wet season things will get better for water supply.

Demand will fall!!

I have been collecting rainfall data where I live for the past 3 years on a weekly basis.

All done electronically, wireless communication from the sensor to the display on my desk.

I started at the beginning of September so in a week or so I should be able to say how much fell here for the last year.

Year 1 was about 59 inches.

Year 2 fell to 53 inches.

Year 3 is so far running at 41 inches as of a couple of weeks ago.

The rainfall data from Barbados from 1847 to 1984 was collated by the BSTA.

Anyone know what BSTA stands for and how we happen to have such detailed data?

Over the century and a half Barbados rainfall varied between 40 and 60 inches.

I am in Christ Church so pretty dry but still bang on the average for the island.

Up in St. Thomas and St. Joseph there will be places averaging in excess of 100 inches for the past three years and parts of St. Lucy and St. Philip less than Christ Church.

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 25, 2019 10:01 AM “In other CARICOM destinations almost every household has an emergency generator and its own water pump.”

Have you forgotten that it is we the “mendicant pensioners”, and “lazy workers” who have through rates and taxes that we have been paying for 100 years or more have already for ALL of the infrastructure, the generators, the pumps etc “owned” by the Barbados Water Authority.

We have paid already. We are not interested in paying twice.

19. @ sir simple

Them got the USD you forget they just say their reserves at nearly $1 billion USD! I mean we owe the foreign creditors a few hundred million out of it, but as Persaud say don’t worry about that now!

After all 10 trucks at $140k USD is only $1.4 million USD And the boss man at the central bank say we got reserves of 1000 million which is a billion.

Sound to me 10 garbage trucks is lunch money, according to what the central bank say we got! So the question has to be who stopping us from getting 10 new trucks by October? If they don’t know where to buy them I can give them the contact information free of charge.

Wait hold on! You better make me A seniour garbage truck consultant first. That way I could take a year to give wunna the address and charge $20,000 a month and go to the beach! After all if others doing it “I is people too!”

Please pay the retainer to John A SENIOR consultant acc no: #####1

20. And then the greedy Willams just want to TIEF the whole water supply, wicked crooks acting like they can take it to their graves…let’s see if the equally wicked negros who SUCK taxpayer’s money in SALARIES…and then do the BIDDING OF THIEVES…let’s see if these cockroaches in the parliament allow this to happen.

21. Why is Mia sticking her nose in weather related issues of this magnitude
    Never knew she was a certified meterologist
    Why wouldn’t she let the authorities do their job without her interfering
    Every press conference called where the minister in charge should be taking questions or stating messages or concerns she steps forward like a dictator to answer questions

22. “Why is Mia sticking her nose in weather related issues of this magnitude. Never knew she was a certified meteorologist.”

You political yard-fowls are truly amazing.

During her press conference, did the PM provide Barbadians with weather forecasts or a report on the pending weather conditions? Did she explain any meteorological phenomena?

Do you know the difference between giving a press conference about government’s emergency plans and a weather forecast? Or are you suggesting it’s not up to government to discuss emergency plans….. that’s a job for a “certified meteorologist?”

Ironically, a historical review of your contributions to BU would indicate that, whenever concerns are raised in this forum as it relates to the economy, an upsurge in gun related crimes, irregular garbage collection, squatters at Rock Hall, water outages, inefficient transport system etc, you did not questioned the “minister in charge,” instead, you have been CONSISTENT in calling on the PM to address these issues, despite the fact she is not an expert or qualified in the associated disciplines.

What makes the pending adverse weather conditions any different or special that you’re now of the opinion it does not warrant her intervention because she is not an expert?

BTW……. I was saying to myself I haven’t “seen” my FAVOURITE contributor Mariposa for the day, perhaps she’s busy with her party’s 64th annual general conference. Lo and behold, it seems as though she took time out to appear on BU, regurgitating the mouthings of Verla, Guyson or Irene…… or perhaps Astor B. Watts served a special extra strong brew of his rum punch……. and she consumed a bit too much.

Have a wonderful evening, my friend…..

23. All Barbadians should be satisfied that the government has come out of the blocks managing the affairs of state as it relates to preparing for Dorian. It seems from driving around the island it is being taken seriously.

@John A

Have you seen the garbage trucks on the road? They are out working. Congrats t them for coming out.

24. God is a bajan

25. Artax my comments stand as fact she is not a Certified meterologist
    And she always stick her nose in other ministers jobs at press conferences
    No apologies here
    Btw stop looking for me you would make yourself crazy answering my comments

26. @ David.

Good move for sure. Don’t worry as soon as the signatures dry on my appointment as chief advisor to garbage truck acquisitions I going order 10 more. The will cost $1.4M USD But you all better give me $2M USD to cover my ” incedentals ” 😊

27. Do you think they have any other choice
    Imagine the amount of garbage the sanitation workers have to pick up in one and half days
    Dont know how they will do it when all it took to have the garbage cleaned up was govt paying them over time
    Now at the eleventh hour govt has to resort to emergency efforts to clean up the mountain of garbage that has been piling up for weeks
    Impossible for the sanitation workers to remove the moutains of garbage that was lying around for weeks in one and half days
    Also the gutters that are littered with debris and the gullies how about them cause they are potential threats for low level flooding

28. I do not like the ‘heading’ – Stakeholders gather to discuss storm preparedness.
    Everybody in the path of the storm is a stakeholder. Dose not matter how ‘big’ or ‘small’ you are.

Now you know that none of my family was there, but they are stakeholders also. It might seem like a small thing, but the writer has reduced thousands of people to zero as stakeholders.
    The story itself is slightly better written.

Would have preferred a simple statement..
    Government officials, emergency personnel and prominent businessmen …

29. The government is the representative of the people

30. We need a human sacrifice to appease storm god Dorian. I suggest Donville Inniss. He will soon be in jail in the southern states anyway, where he will be driven to penal labor with shackles. Maybe he even volunteers. That would be a useful DLP minister for once.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Baje

Either the BLP is what Barbados need or it is not. I will not justify certain decisions made on the basis of who or what Mia Mottley is perceived to be because those decisions made have benefitted her, her friends, family and not bajans in general. My concern in all of the political matters surrounding Barbados is why somethings are moved with haste and others are not. I am aware that Mottley has inherited a mess from the last administration but please tell, how can you accused the DLP of all forms of corruption but now in office, refuse to conduct investigations related to the corruption claims. Imagine Donville Inniss is in the hands of a US court for laundering money. I would think that that is evidence enough to launch further investigations into him and all DLP ministers regarding why haste became the operative word in pushing through certain concessions for certain establish big name operations. I am not interested at all in what she has done to bring stability to the economy. That was a foregone conclusion the minute she took up office because to do nothing would have been detrimental to Barbados and her new image as Barbados first female Prime Minister. What interests me is why the big bloated cabinet and where is the proof that this big bloated cabinet is justifying the decision related to many hands make like work. Also, the decision grant tax amnesty was done on frivolous reasons but granted in any event. My concern is if you can grant tax amnesty you should be able to publish names of those who benefitted from it. Barbadians have a right to know more on this move than what was offered and be privy to see a list of those businesses and persons who fall under the amnesty. All the operations of government should be an open book, so much for transparency, accountability, and implementing legislation that would keep politicians and government ministries under greater scrutiny to account.

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 25, 2019 7:59 PM “We need a human sacrifice to appease storm god Dorian. I suggest Tron.”

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A August 25, 2019 6:43 PM “Good move for sure. Don’t worry as soon as the signatures dry on my appointment as chief advisor to garbage truck acquisitions I going order 10 more. The will cost $1.4M USD But you all better give me $2M USD to cover my ” incedentals ” 😊”

Ok, ok. You can have the $600.000 USD for incidentals. But you will have to provide a highly detailed list of those incidentals. So if you buy $5 in phone credit, we the people want to know. And we also want to know the name, phone number, and occupation of the people whom you talk, and how many minutes you spent talking to them. You are allowed the first 30 seconds of any conversation free.

i am trying to be real reasonable here.

34. “Btw stop looking for me you would make yourself crazy answering my comments..”

Nah……my sweetheart, Mariposa…….. no way I’ll ever “make (myself) crazy answering (your) comments.”

But, yuh know, more often than not, your comments indicate you’re either (a) crazy, (b) silly or (c) intoxicated after imbibing far too many glasses of Astor B. Watts’ special brew very strong rum punch.

I enjoy proving the answer is: (d) all the above.

35. “We need a human sacrifice to appease storm god Dorian. I suggest Donville Inniss.”

From reports, Donville believes yall already sacrificed him to hide yall BILLION DOLLAR THEFTS from the people…all Donville needs to do now, is RETURN THAT FAVOR…a cake walk…sacrificing thieves like yaselves while ya are STILL INTENT on RIPPING OFF, IMPRISONING and DISENFRANCHISING the Black majority with ya dirty bribers, friends and family is quite in order and should be done SOONER rather than LATER.

Donville thought he had friends, he is learning that black crabs are friends to no one.

36. @ Mariposa

Why is Mia sticking her nose in weather related issues of this magnitude
    Never knew she was a certified meterologist
    Why wouldn’t she let the authorities do their job without her interfering
    Every press conference called where the minister in charge should be taking questions or stating messages or concerns she steps forward like a dictator to answer questions(Quote)

@Mariposa, you are right. Certain things are the responsibility of technocrat s and certain ones are the reserve of politicians. A hurricane emergency is one for the technocrats. The role of the politicians is to instil confidence, reassure the public and instruct them to obey orders. We cannot, should not, politicise a hurricane warning.
    Hearing the prime minster talking about hurricane co-ordinates and such nonsense, even referencing Hurricane Janet, was ingenuous. Th experts were just but players on the prime minster’s ego show. The prime minister is presidential, and uses so-called press briefings like an Athenian philosopher-king. Words of wisdom flow from her lips.
    Why was the lady there from the meteorological office? What she said could have been read by anybody. Why was the commissioner of police there, dressed like a boy from the block? I am sure he had time enough to get in his uniform, which carries the dignity of office and authority; having his shirt tail outside and a gold chain round his neck represents the worst of the street boys. Maybe this is the new Bajan middle class thing.
    And then what did he say: nothing reassuring, just threats that if people were on the streets they would be arrested, only to be repeated by the prime minister like a stereophonic sound. She loves the sound of her own voice. Nothing was sad about a state of emergency or a curfew. It was all assumed in the Bajan way.
    Why was the acting attorney general there? He did not say a word, except when he moved to let the police commissioner get close to the microphone..
    Of course, all right thinking people, especially Barbadians, no matter where in the world they are, wish the best for the nation and that Hurricane Dorian would pass us by.
    But political theatre is not the same as preparing the nation for an emergency. I know an elderly old man, 100 years old, and at the time of writing not a single official has checked on him to see if he is safe. That is the practicality of emergency warnings.
    To end it all, a pray from the minister of Labour, an ordained minister.

37. “Why was the commissioner of police there, dressed like a boy from the block? I am sure he had time enough to get in his uniform, which carries the dignity of office and authority; having his shirt tail outside and a gold chain round his neck represents the worst of the street boys.”

Jeez…ease up on him, it was an emergency and me thinks he has been MISUSED Enuff in the Mia sideshow, while in full dress regala…he is allowed to have down time and dress casually too on a Sunday afternoon, gold chains are for everyone, that is why they are sold..

38. “And then what did he say: nothing reassuring, just threats that if people were on the streets they would be arrested,”

And the COP has very good reason to threaten people with arrest, last time there was a hurricane threat…WITH WARNINGS…some dumbass, uppity bajan white ADULTS went surfing on the East Coast, ignorned the warnings put out by BOTH the Met Office and police, took along a young 16 year old boy with them and HE DROWNED with all of them standing right there, then instead of the authorities arrest these stupid adults for endangering the welfare of a minor, they all turned it into some bullshit like he was some hero and not the endangered child that he was with these bajan whites as the criminals they are.. and the idiot DLP gvernment went right along with it…..even CNN had to highlight the fact that the boy was a minor..

so yes, many people do stupid things during a hurricane or storm to cause the death of themselves and others and should be arrested.

39. @ Hal Austin

You’re simply amazing. What You wrote @ 5:43AM is absolute rubbish.
    Only you would say Mariposa is correct, but it’s funny you never say she is silly, ask her to explain in English or she learnt by rote when she posts nonsense, the same way you attack the blogmaster?

Is there an instructions book for what politicians should or should not do in times of approaching bad weather?

Why should officials check the elderly man? Where are his relatives? You are no different to Mottley, you come to BU just trying to convince yourself that you are the wisest man here.

40. Hal there is no doubt the PM is a cat 4 dictator
    Only dictators speak on all issues dealing with country problems
    It as if Mia is afraid that technocrats words would be not in sync with hers
    Therfore she sets the ground work for them to follow

41. Also Hal look at the eleventh hour hot and sweaty approach being used by govt to collect weeks of garbage off the street
    One would have thought that good goverance would have been required weeks ago to get all the garbage off the street especially knowning that barbados is in the height of hurricane season
    But No govt decides to butt heads with sanitation workers over a few dollars about overpay
    What madness

42. 10 am National shutdown.

43. @ Mariposa

As you know, I believe that chairpersons of meetings should be seen and little heard. That is how I have spent nearly all my working life. Chairpersons do not dominate meetings, expressing their personal views and shouting and insulting delegates. S/he is the musical conductor, not an instrumentalist. The purpose of conducting is harmony – to have a successful, melodic, productive, representative sound (meeting).
    But what do I know?

44. Now it is hard not to belive OAS words when he called her a megalomaniac and he would not be treated like a “boy in the yard
    For surely her recent demonstration at the PR press conferences speaks loudly to what OSA meant

45. William Skinner Avatar

Everything is now political even a hurricane. Very nonproductive.
    I hope we have no casualties ,injuries or destruction of property . I am just a simple Barbadian.

46. @ sir simple

I can’t understand you don’t want to see a small man get through at all at all at all! Lol

47. Mariposa and Hal Austin do you remember the confusion last time when your Dems were in office? The lady from DEO was saying one thing the private sector another including a Minister who opened his shop on the day beyond shut down time and retained his position.Leaderdhip from the then PM and AG in my view was non existent.However today we have a PM wbo is leading from the front and you two clowns complaining give me a break.

48. You should criticize Chastanet and Mitchell from St. Lucia and Grenada for doing same.