Submitted by xxxxxxxx

Why is there a big white end of life Boeing 747- 400 aircraft, capable of carrying 490 passengers or troops 7,285 nautical miles non stop, sitting at Grantley Adams International Airport for the past month being de-registered from an FAA holding registration of N508BB to a Barbadian registration of 8P-ERI?

Research shows that this is the very same aircraft, serial number 29031 registration number B18208 that was delivered to China Airlines, a Taiwanese airline company in September 1998, and retired from service in October 2017 to long term storage at the California Logistics airport at Victorville (Aircraft Boneyard).

This aircraft was recently de-registered and re-registered as N508BB by AAR corporation in May 2018, and then transferred to a Trust company called Aero Intelligence Inc (Trustee) in April 2019.

This aircraft was then re-painted white, overhauled engines were fitted, and it was ferried from the southern California logistics airport (SCLA) at Victorville California (boneyard) on May 23rd 2019 to Phoenix sky harbor airport (PHX) Arizona, and then Ferried from Phoenix to Argyle International Airport (SVD) in St. Vincent on May 24th 2019, by Canadian company Nolinor Aviation.

It arrived in St. Vincent to great fan fare, to be delivered into the waiting arms of fledgeling Vincentian charter airline One Caribbean which is only 2 years old, and only operates a single Beechcraft 1900, 19 seater charter aircraft. Sources say that one of the owners of One Caribbean is the son of Vincentian Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves.

One Caribbean then sought to de-register and re-register this end of life Boeing 747 aircraft in St. Vincent under the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority. However, the ECCAA said they had never registered a Boeing 747 and sought guidance from the US FAA on registration of this aircraft, since this would require oversight and maintenance to be done in accordance with ECCAA regulations.

Capt. Paul Delisle, ECCAA’s flight operations inspector, confirmed that the request to certify the 747-400 was a big step for ECCAA.

Related link:

ECCAA Seeks FAA Guidance over St. Vincent 747-400 Registration Plan

St Vincent’s First Boeing 747- 400 Now Registered In Barbados

He noted that, as the airworthiness regulator for six member nations of the English-language Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St Vincent), ECCAA today has oversight of six AOCs, 14 airports and just 41 aircraft. Six are helicopters—but none of the aircraft is a large commercial jet.

Delisle said ECCAA was taking a two-step approach to re-registering the One Caribbean 747-400. First, “We were discussing the whole plan with the FAA,” which originally awarded the Boeing 747-400 its type certification, he said. “We wanted concurrence” with the FAA on all matters relating to N508BB’s potential SVG certification.

One reason is that, 21 years ago, ECCAA’s predecessor certified a McDonnell Douglas DC-10-10 for the Antigua and Barbuda registry, for a company called Skyjet. However, according to Delisle, the aircraft actually was based in Belgium, from where it was leased to various carriers throughout the world.

The FAA took such a dim view of the situation that in 2002 it removed the Eastern Caribbean regulator from its list of approved Category 1 airworthiness authorities. “We had to stop that [Belgium-based] operation to get Category 1 categorization” back, said Delisle. “It’s a sensitive subject.”

It seems that following information received from One Caribbean about the purpose and use of this aircraft, as well as the information received from the FAA regarding the maintenance requirements of this aircraft, the ECCAA is not interested in registering it.

Following this development, we are reliably told that Vincentian Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves phoned Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley and asked for her help, by having this aircraft registered in Barbados.

Barbadian colors were then painted on it’s tail; and it was ferried under dark of night to Grantley Adams International Airport, where it now sits.

We are reliably informed that Prime Minister Mia Mottley has given instructions to the Director of Civil Aviation to have this aircraft registered on the Barbados aircraft registry, despite objection from the DCA, and that this has now been completed and it is registered as 8P-ERI.

This however poses other serious issues for Barbados. Being a Barbados registered aircraft, it will need to be operated under a Barbadian commercial air carrier with a valid Air Operators Certificate (AOC). There happens to be one such Vincentian owned charter operator in Barbados called Executive air, run by Vincentian John Ackie. On a side note, John Ackie’s brother in law is currently serving time in a US prison for drug smuggling and money laundering. John’s sister still resides in Florida.

We are reliably informed that this aircraft has been licensed under Executive Air’s AOC to be operated by fledgeling Vincentian charter operator One Caribbean, and apparently re-leased to a Dubai company to move passengers and cargo between the UAE, Africa and St. Vincent.

As a Barbadian registered aircraft, this plane will have far less scrutiny than a US, Vincentian, or UAE registered aircraft. It will also require local civil aviation authorities to have oversight and sign off on all maintenance and inspections. It will require an approved maintenance program be put in place, none of which the local authorities in Barbados have experience in, for such a colossus as a Boeing 747-400. We don’t even have a hanger in Barbados large enough to house a 747 for maintenance inspections.

Why is a Dubai company going to such great lengths to conceal the true identity of the operators of this aircraft? If such a company wanted to offer 747 Charter flights between the UAE, Africa and the Caribbean, why not simply lease or purchase one directly and register it in the UAE under the UAE Alpha 6 registration?

Why would a tiny startup Vincentian air charter operator who has only ever operated a 19 seater Beechcraft turboprop aircraft, purchase or lease a near end of life Boeing 747-400 aircraft which can carry 490 people, through a trust company, register it in Barbados through a Barbados based Vincentian owned air charter company’s AOC, only to lease it to a Dubai company to do charters between the UAE, Africa and St. Vincent?

That aircraft can carry 490 people or troops, or thousands of tons of cargo, weapons or drugs over 7200 nautical miles, non-stop.

This Boeing 747-409 would be close to it’s maximum airframe life limit of 20,000 cycles for its age, is extremely uneconomical to operate, will require compliance with an extensive list of service bulletins (SB’s) and airworthiness directives (AD’s)? This type of aircraft is only useful for extremely long flights, moving large numbers of passengers and huge quantities of cargo.

It is an inordinate and uneconomical gas guzzler.

Where would any charter operator find enough passengers in the UAE who want to travel to tiny St.Vincent to justify the cost of owning and operating such a large and expensive aircraft? Are there enough Vincentians anxious to travel to Africa or the middle east each week to fill up 490 seats?

Or will it be used to transport marijuana grown in the Caribbean to far away destinations?

Perhaps it will be used to deliver aircraft parts to Iran who has been using front companies to purchase 747 parts to keep its aging fleet in the air?

Is it really being leased to a Dubai company? Or an Iranian front company posing as a Dubai charter operator?

This is a highly unusual arrangement, and can place Barbados Civil aviation and International Airport in jeopardy of being de-categorized by the FAA, or worse.

Further, FAA records show that Aero Intelligence Inc (Trustee), the owners of N508BB told the FAA that this 747 aircraft was being exported to Antigua and Barbuda, but we now know that it was in fact exported to St. Vincent and not Antigua. Why did they tell the FAA they were exporting this aircraft to Antigua & Barbuda and not St. Vincent? Would this have created a red flag?

Antigua is well known for aviation operators and is the base of regional air carrier LIAT. But St. Vincent has never ever had an aircraft this large land there until now.

What will this plane carry?

Marijuana? Troops? Weapons, drugs, nuclear material? Regional politicians on long expensive business trips to the middle east? aircraft parts or weapons to Iran or other countries?

We sincerely hope that the United States, The International Civil Aviation Organisation and international customs agencies keep a very close eye on this Boeing 747-409 registered in Barbados as 8P-ERI. Who knows what it may be transporting in the future, and to where?

By the way, the middle east is presently on a heightened aviation terror alert. Could Dubai based operatives be planning to use a Barbados registered 747-400 aircraft as a flying bomb in a terror attack against Iran in retaliation for recent attacks on UAE targets? What impact would this have on Barbados if this aircraft is used for such a purpose? How will the Barbados Civil aviation authority have proper oversight of an aircraft being subleased to 3rd parties in St. Vincent or the middle east?

Barbados Civil Aviation Authority should not touch this aircraft with a ten foot pole. They are setting Barbados up for international trouble. If One Caribbean wants to operate or lease this aircraft to a middle eastern company, let them register it in the eastern Caribbean or the middle east.

Barbados should not touch it.

We need some answers about this.

287 responses to “Message to PM Mottley: Why is 747-400 Boeing Being Registered Under Barbados Colours in the Dark?”

1. @Artax

If you listen to Gonsalves he is saying the right things to convince us he and other shareholders will come with open minds to the meeting this evening. We know this is likely not the case. Barbados does not have the financial and political resources to continue the old practice. It is hard to see how any new plan will not require shareholders to lend financial support. If only there was the urgency to make LIAT more efficient 20 years ago. We need to listen and if there is an opportunity to retrieve the situation for the sake of Caricom and regional unity it should be considered. We cannot afford wedge issues at this time when collaboration and functional cooperation should be the norm.

2. @ David

RE: “Barbados does not have the financial and political resources to continue the old practice. It is hard to see how any new plan will not require shareholders to lend financial support.”

Browne previously admitted this around the time he approached Mottley on selling Barbados’ shares. I’m wondering why he’s now insisting Barbados should invest in his LIAT 2020? Why can’t he accept we no longer have any interest to proceed with LIAT and move on?

RE: “We need to listen and if there is an opportunity to retrieve the situation for the sake of Caricom and regional unity it should be considered.”

Does this opportunity lies ONLY with the LIAT ‘brand?’ What is there to prevent us from exploring new ideas and options?

3. @ David July 20, 2020 9:53 AM

LIAT cannot be resurrected like a Lazarus by these regional politicians who fancy themselves as gods unless its politically-constructed pork barrel HQ is removed from Antigua and the associated overhead manpower numbers and costs cut by a minimum of 80%.

Poor Owen! At least he got to find out that managing an airline is not like spending Bajan taxpayers’ money in a quest to build an empire of SOEs to boost the ego of a megalomaniac.

4. @MillerJuly 20, 2020 12:04 PM

Then I wouldn’t be surprised if OSA had purchased the jumbo jet as the new flagship for LIAT 2020.

5. @Artax

LIAT 1974 Ltd as you know is incorporated in Antigua. There seem to be some contentious issues regarding who is responsible for certain financial liabilities in the orderly winding up of the company?

And know LIAT does not have to be the only option on the table which is why Browne’s presentation will make for interesting meeting.

6. I am sure that shareholders meeting is either continuing right now or will be over soon. But I will forecast one of two things: EITHER Browne will be refused or he will head into reviving LIAT as 2020 Limited. In either case, he is doomed to failure. His manifesto / project is full of assumptions that do not hold water. Castles in the clouds. Antiguan employees – ANY employees – will not happily work for half pay while the same political jackasses who lost them their jobs erase their severance.

Anyone who thinks a new LIAT can rise out of the ashes for anything less than US$40 million – about EC$100 million – is crazy or fooling themselves. Anyone who thinks that a new LIAT can sail happily on with the three CDB ATR aircraft without having to pay for them has NO CLUE about business or finance. Just like the somebody who did the financials for Browne’s projection.

So what will happen?

interCaribbean has NO legal rights in our region, being based and registered in a British OT and not being party to the MASA. Any CARICOM carrier which wants a route they (iC) are operating simply has to apply for it, and interCaribbean is GONE. They are doing the same in Jamaica – routes nobody is operating INCLUDING domestic routes such as Kingston-MoBay – but as soon as a Jamaican carrier steps out they are OUT.

One Caribbean is a mess – pure chaos. They of Boeing 747-400 fame, now sitting in Kansas City waiting for Godot. Two pilots, a Board of Directors which includes His Royal Highness King Fat Ralph’s lawyer representing the airline’s owner (SO COME AND SUE MIH, NAH????), three types of airplanes, no hangar (an ECCAA REQUIREMENT for an AOC), airplanes registered in TWO countries (NOT the USA), and not a clue how they are going to operate the new schedule they published.

SVG Air is the only carrier I respect. It started as a charter carrier and has been there through thick and thin, doing what was necessary to stay alive, and doing it all LEGALLY. It operates from Grenada up as far as Nevis and Barbuda, and has a great safety record. Not perfect, but before you open your mouth I will remind you that LIAT has had a crash too.

Caribbean Airways? Poised to make the rest of us second class citizens to Trinidad (like Tobagonians are) as they cherry pick the most profitable routes and leave the rest of us isolated to rot. Not true? Check yourself before you shout, it is in writing.

We need a LIAT, but a private airline that is NOT run or in any way affected by any politicians. They should have commercialised it 40 years ago and refused. 15 years ago His Royal Highness Fat Ralph took over and it became a Marxist tool to defecate on the people and taxpayers of our region. Yes, fat Ralph did that, but refusing at every turn to make a single change in the way LIAT was run. And both His Royal Crooked Highness Sleepy Fumble Freundel and Her Royal DoNothing Highness Queen Mia have supported him in his efforts by not insisting that the shareholder Chairmanship not rotate as all regional resources do.

There are proposals, but His Royal Highness Gaston Browne has not responded to any of them. Not even a simple acknowledgement of receipt, like any other Caribbean person with the most basic manners would provide.

Politicians are the scum of the earth. And it is THEY who made it so.

7. bimjim, a white man that always insulting black people. I know dat de blog would be hot if John, Freedom Crier, MoneyBrain or Lawson did do dat.

8. @ David

Gonsalves has offered to sell SVG’s shareholding in LIAT to ANU for EC$1 and ANU would pay off the value of the debt SVG guaranteed the CDB on the 3 ATRs purchased for the airline during the re-fleeting exercise.

Gonsalves also took a ‘jab’ at Browne re: “You noticed in all of this, I haven’t thrown any words at anybody. When I talk to people privately, I say what I have to say but I’m not getting into any quarrel with anybody across the seas.”

Rather than being stubborn and greedy, Mottley should have accepted Browne’s proposal to buy BGI’s 49.4 % shareholding in LIAT and let him pay the amount we guaranteed for the 3 ATRs as well.

Her STUBBORNNESS and GREED may have created a situation where BGI may not get anything for those shares and may have to sell them for BD$1.

https://antiguaobserver.com/breaking-gonsalves-offers-antigua-svgs-liat-shares-for-ec1/

9. Browne unveils LIAT’s reorganisation plan.

https://antiguaobserver.com/pm-browne-unveils-liat-reorganisation-plan/

10. @Robert — bimjim, a white man whose roots (like so many other whites in Barbados) come directly from black people. Don’t blame my for my colour, just as you should not blame me for my sheer honesty. Corrupt is corrupt. NO MATTER THE COLOUR, and if the cap fits, let them wear if. Take your own racism and shove it, people like you who are unable to have a discussion without referring to race are indirectly who support the corruption that permeates and destroys our community by making it cost ten times in taxes what it should.

LIAT should have been paying profits back into our Treasuries for at least the last 20 years. It should have been commercialised without all those incompetent political appointees and money wasters. POLITICIANS directed LIAT’s downfall, now King Gaston wants the employees to pay for it.

I ask again, WHERE are LIAT’s annual accounts for the last 40 years? This is no small thing, imagine if our government’s accounts were a “private matter”??

11. @Artax

There is no guarantee Browne would have purchased the shares. What it would have done is to remove that argument Browne has been milking to fuel his arguments.

12. people like you who are unable to have a discussion without referring to race are indirectly who support the corruption that permeates and destroys our community by making it cost ten times in taxes what it should. {Quote}

@ bimjim

You want to tell me that you can’t have a discussion bout LIAT and corruption WITHOUT insulting black people and because I tell you so that is racism and means I indirectly support corruption? Bare foolishness.

You raise valid points bout LIAT, which are overshadowed by the unnecessary name calling and insults.

We could be HONEST discussing issues, BUT WE COULD LEAVE OUT THE INSULTS, TOO.

13. @ Bimjim

@Robert — bimjim, a white man whose roots (like so many other whites in Barbados) come directly from black people. Don’t blame my for my colour, just as you should not blame me for my sheer honesty. Corrupt is corrupt. NO MATTER THE COLOUR, and if the cap fits, let them wear if. Take your own racism and shove it, people like you who are unable to have a discussion without referring to race are indirectly who support the corruption that permeates and destroys our community by making it cost ten times in taxes what it should.

LIAT should have been paying profits back into our Treasuries for at least the last 20 years. It should have been commercialised without all those incompetent political appointees and money wasters. POLITICIANS directed LIAT’s downfall, now King Gaston wants the employees to pay for it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT.

ONLY A FOOL WOULD TALK ABOUT INSULTING BLACK PEOPLE AS A DEFLECTION.

WHAT YOU HAVE DONE IS TO EXPOSE HIS IDOL MIA MOTTLEY AND OTHERS FOR THEIR INCOMPETENCE AMONG OTHER ACTS.

KEEP POSTING ON THIS MATTER AS FROM ALL YOUR PREVIOUS POSTINGS I CAN TELL YOU ARE AN EXPERT IN THIS AREA AND BRING CLARITY.

14. Steuspe

15. @ David you could start a Hurricane 2020 blog.

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo.php?basin=atlc&fdays=5

16. WHAT YOU HAVE DONE IS TO EXPOSE HIS IDOL MIA MOTTLEY AND OTHERS FOR THEIR INCOMPETENCE AMONG OTHER ACTS. {Quote}

Bring proof to this blog that Mia Mottley is my idol.

YOUR idol said there is a composite of behaviours that he call the Bajan Condition. He said if somebody pose an uncomfortable question you go on the attack, if they insist, you become foul-mouthed and abusive.
    YOUR idol was describing you to a T. Dat is how you does behave. When somebody put you on de spot, you does become foul-mouthed and abusive.

YOUR idol said if people are discussing ideas and somebody find themself in a corner, he/she does talk about their qualifications, which is mean to close down the discussion.
    All yuh have to do is read your posts and yuh would see how much times you does talk bout how much degrees you got, how successful you are, how much businesses you managed or owned, how much big boys you hang with or how much universities you teach at.

YOUR idol also talk bout not having independent thoughts and copy and pasting. 80% of your post does be articles you copy and paste to BU, 10% yuh does be cussing and abusing everybody and the next 10% yuh does BRAGGING bout yuh self.

Everybody here know dat you are a FRAUD.

17. @ David

Barbados has agreed to sell it’s LIAT shares for $1.

https://antiguaobserver.com/breaking-news-liat-could-be-restructured-within-60-days/

18. If it is true that Barbados has told its 40 per cent stake in LIAT for $1 (EC, B’dos or US) that was suggested her on BU by me long ago. It is not a new idea. Chelsea football club was sold for a pound; so was BHS and others.
    But our great leader, backed by her economic consultants, advised that they could get $44m (EC, B’dos or US). This is not greed, it is incompetence. It gives us an insight in to the business acumen of those who lead us.

19. 49 per cent

20. @Artax

Thanks, have received the links in the BU inbox.

Say what we want the arrival of COVID 19 forced this matter to a head.

21. I AM A FRAUD AND MIA ALONG WITH BLP ARE INCOMPETENT AND DECEIVERS OF THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.

REGIONAL – Parliament agrees to buy additional US $15.8 million in LIAT shares
    Published on
    November 1, 2019

ST JOHN’S – The Government of Antigua and Barbuda has been given the go-ahead to secure a loan of US $15.8 million (approximately EC $40 million) with Banco del ALBA, to purchase additional shares in regional carrier, LIAT. (BARBADOS SHARES)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/01/regional-parliament-agrees-to-buy-additional-us-15-8-million-in-liat-shares/

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

8 MONTHS LATER BARBADOS SAME SHARES IN LIAT SOLD FOR $1
    Published on
    July 21, 2020

“One of the interesting things coming out of the meeting is that both Barbados and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, they have agreed to transfer their shares to Antigua and Barbuda for the grand sum of $1 each; and the aggregate shares that would be transferred to Antigua and Barbuda would be around 60 per cent between the two governments. So I think that’s a responsible proposition,” he said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/21/liat-shareholders-reach-agreement-to-sell-3-planes-airline-could-fly-again-in-90-days/

STEUPSE

22. “8 MONTHS LATER BARBADOS SAME SHARES IN LIAT SOLD FOR $1.”

That’s not entirely true.

In November 2019, a resolution was passed in Antigua & Barbuda’s Parliament, authorizing the government to secure a loan of EC$40M, from the Venezuelan Banco del ALBA, to purchase additional shares in LIAT……. and NOT BGI’s shareholding.

Browne secured the loan AFTER BGI and ANU failed to reach an agreement relative to the sale of BGI’s shares and Browne subsequently REFUSING to purchasing them for US$44M.

According to Browne’s EC$108M LIAT reorganization plan, if the existing shareholder governments are not INTERESTED in INVESTING in the reorganized LIAT, they will be REQUESTED to SURRENDER their shares for $1.00, which it claims is a superior offer to what they would get in liquidation.

Clearly, Mottley and Gonsalves had no further interest in investing in LIAT and opt to ‘surrender’ the shares for $1

23. @Artax LIAT once it remains under Antigua’s control will be a basket case. Makes sense for Mottley to cut and run. The issue about the role regional transportation is expected to play to bring the region together continues to be a concern.

24. Not selling the shares to Antigua a few months ago was a CLEAR miss on Barbados’s part and surprising given the heavy weight economic team we brag about and are told we desperately need in these times.

There was nothing to suggest a few months ago that LIAT’s revenue posItion would have improved so it should have been a case of loss minimizing by getting a fair price on the shares and AVOIDING the liability if LIAT had collapsed which was foreseen and predicted on this blog.

LIAT is dead as it ought to be. Let other carriers step in and fill the void so we can use our resources more productively. We should be about building economies and societies not wasting money in chronically unprofitable glamour / ego industries

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

LIAT will recover. In ten years LIAT will still be here.

The others

?

26. “The issue about the role regional transportation is expected to play to bring the region together continues to be a concern.”

Yes, I agree.

However, since Browne’s EC$108M (US$40M) reorganization plan was not enough to convince BGI and SVG to remain ‘on board,’ I’m wondering if PMs of non-shareholder islands that resisted investing in LIAT over the years, especially St. Lucia and St. Kitts/Nevis, would now be having ‘a change of heart?’

Also, we haven’t been hearing anything from DOM PM Skerrit. Perhaps he has decided to support Browne.

Interestingly, Browne “said if the the plan is not successful, the company will still have to go through the process of liquidation.”

https://antiguaobserver.com/pm-says-liat-will-resurrect-within-months/

27. In the mad rush to take @PLT’s idea through parliament, and claim the world-wide credit, this government has once again produced a badly flawed draft of the legislation, only to amend it following pressure from the homosexual lobby.
    Why is this government so incompetent? Why does our president and a former attorney general continue to ignore the details of new legislation, something she is clearly expert at? When is she going to be held accountable by the media and opposition?
    BERT, BEST, BOSS; White Oak; squatters; BWA; back log in the courts; a senior prison officer faces jail for doing his job and a killer police officer gets bail? The list is endless.
    Then we have a hotel corridor, Hyatt and the legal theft of Ms Ram’s property; and on and on.

28. @Artax

There is a press report somewhere that Skerritt supports Beown in principle however he is waiting for the submission of final proposal. Regarding if other countries will support Browne – do not underestimate the relationships in the subregion.

29. @ David

Are you suggesting since Barbados ‘jumped ship’ the other regional territories will support Browne?

If that’s what you mean, insularity is much more of a hindrance to regional unity than anything else I can think of at this time.

However, despite having a 49.4% shareholding and representing T&T’s 1% share, BGI never really had any say in LIAT’s operations. As you know, Antigua opposed or rejected proposals to improve the airline’s financial and operating efficiency.

And, based on his pronouncements recently, it seems as though Browne appointed himself as chairman of LIAT’s shareholder countries.

30. @Artax

Insularity exist. The sub region is strong because of the OECS establishment and resulting ethos. Do not be surprised if St. Lucia, Grenada and others are persuaded.

31. Here comes CAL. Will that airline be given approval to travel in the OECS countries given the reemergence of LIAT?

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/caribbean-airlines-expands-eastern-caribbean-3

32. I am not even going to comment on the bad and flawed claim, but how does a murder committed in 2015 and bail granted in 2016 the fault of government, far less the incumbent? A retired journalist yuh. #egofowlism

33. Let the private aviation companies take care of inter island aviation themselves devoid of any Government interfering. The more the merrier with fierce competition. The only stipulation is that they must put up a guarantee so that when they disappear clients can get their tickets refunded.
    Here is a wild suggestion.
    We all know that when the West Indies cricket team is winning everyone in the Caribbean feels copasetic . Whether you are poor or rich, male or female, young or old, the excitement of the commentators telling us of the fours and sixes that create a winning score gives everyone a warm and fuzzy feeling inside.

Having said this, I want to suggest that the University of The West Indies starts a cricket academy to groom young talented players in a similar fashion to what Australia did decades ago. This academy should be funded by the Governments. Either through scholarships or directly.

The West Indies cricket team needs to win again. The older players who were the backbone of the past era are still around and can certainly contribute to the setting up of the said academy. The institution should not only train cricketers but also umpires and commentators. It should have persons who can train the players mentally, physiotherapists, a state of the art gym etc.

This cricket academy should be based in Barbados!

34. I am breaking one of my main rules, which is not to become involved in discussions on cricket with Bajans. But here we go. The notion is a cricket academy is going back in time. The Australians first ‘invented’ these academies back in the 1980s, and the most outstanding produce was Shane Warne.
    Following his success, the England and Wales county teams all formed academies with little success. It is a trendy, but flawed model with its origins in the business.
    In the Caribbean we do not need so-called cricket academies, and certainly not under the UWI. It is a bogus solution looking for a problem. What we need to do is return to the model that has served us between the 1920sd and 70s so successfully; our academies then were our schools, from infants to secondary, backed on local players playing in the streets, at clubs and hurriedly arranged games.
    What we can add now is closer coaching, but practice, practice, practice is still the core of an applied sport. We need a system that spots talent early and fast tracks it to the highest standard. In short, we need a West Indian model of cricket, and not an imported one that suits other environments.
    By the way, i the UK there is the same nonsense, what I call the Tony Cozier of way young black people do not play cricket with the enthusiasm of their parents and grand parents generations.
    That holds that the absence of young black people from the game in the UK is because of many other interventions, including football. It is crap and has always been.
    I was once in the company of Cozier and the cricket correspondent of the Daily Mail, Brian Scovell, when he repeated it and I just smiled. It revealed an ignorance of the black British comm8unity.
    The ECB is now looking again at the matter.

35. ALL OF THAT JUST TO SAY “I” WAS ONCE IN THE COMPANY OF TONY AND I KNOW MORE THAN HIM

SMDH

36. @ john2

Hahahahaha….

The goodly gentleman has an annoying penchant for presenting himself as knowing everything about everything or having more knowledge of any particular field than those individuals who are personally involved.

However, as it relates to his comments re: “In the Caribbean we do not need so-called cricket academies, and certainly not under the UWI. It is a bogus solution looking for a problem. What we need to do is return to the model that has served us between the 1920s and 70s so successfully; our academies then were our schools, from infants to secondary, backed on local players playing in the streets, at clubs and hurriedly arranged games,…….”

………… in all fairness, he has a point.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    What changed in cricket in the 70’s?
    Do you remember when Barbados had two opening bats called Greenidge?

38. 8 MONTHS LATER BARBADOS SAME SHARES IN LIAT SOLD FOR $1.”

That’s not entirely true.

In November 2019, a resolution was passed in Antigua & Barbuda’s Parliament, authorizing the government to secure a loan of EC$40M, from the Venezuelan Banco del ALBA, to purchase additional shares in LIAT……. and NOT BGI’s shareholding.

Browne secured the loan AFTER BGI and ANU failed to reach an agreement relative to the sale of BGI’s shares and Browne subsequently REFUSING to purchasing them for US$44M.

ALL YOU HAVE DONE IS STRENGTHENED MY POINT.

IN 2019 BLP GOVERNMENT AIDED BY FAVORITE LIAT BOARD MEMBER THEIR FORMER ALLEGED CROOK AND NOW BOSOM BUDDY WHITE KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR Mark Maloney SQUANDERED AN OPPORTUNITY WHERE THE BARBADOS TREASURY SHOULD HAVE BEEN MANY MILLIONS OF $$$ BETTER OFF BY SELLING THEIR SHARES TO ANTIGUA 8 MONTHS AGO WHO WERE WILLING TO SPEND MILLIONS.

HOWEVER ARROGANCE, MISMANAGEMENT AND INCOMPETENCE SEE THOSE SAME LIAT SHARES SOLD BY BARBADOS TO ANTIGUA FOR $1.

STEUPSE.

39. @ NO

Unfortunately, I don’t know what changed cricket during the 1970s. But, in my opinion, our cricket began to decline during the early 1990s.

I remember Alvin Greenidge who used to live in Dover.

40. ICC made rules against the bouncer
    Or batting declined – more basketball being played in the road instead of cricket

The other teams caught up with us and passed us with the use of Technology to Aud their natural skills

41. Baje

They was NEVER a concluded agreement to buy the Barbados shares. Thing were under negotiation.

U need to read what you post to support you wrong claims

42. If you WAN to continue with your argument then tell us How much we could have Walker away with

Surely it was not the $40 million US and you have submit evudence that it wasnt

Fool !

43. “ALL YOU HAVE DONE IS STRENGTHENED MY POINT.”

Strengthened what point?

You wrote: “ST JOHN’S – The Government of Antigua and Barbuda has been given the go-ahead to secure a loan of US $15.8 million (approximately EC $40 million) with Banco del ALBA, to purchase additional shares in regional carrier, LIAT. (BARBADOS SHARES).”

By mentioning “(BARBADOS SHARES)” at the end of the news extract, you’re essentially giving readers the impression the Antiguan government secured the ALBA bank loan for the SPECIFIC PURPOSE of purchasing Barbados’ shareholding in LIAT…..

……… when it’s SOLE purpose was to invest DIRECTLY in LIAT…… and NOT to purchase Barbados’ shares.

RE: “IN 2019 BLP GOVERNMENT AIDED BY FAVORITE LIAT BOARD MEMBER THEIR FORMER ALLEGED CROOK AND NOW BOSOM BUDDY WHITE KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR Mark Maloney SQUANDERED AN OPPORTUNITY WHERE THE BARBADOS TREASURY SHOULD HAVE BEEN MANY MILLIONS OF $$$ BETTER OFF BY SELLING THEIR SHARES TO ANTIGUA 8 MONTHS AGO WHO WERE WILLING TO SPEND MILLIONS.”

In October 2019, Gaston Browne made an announcement saying ANU was NO LONGER INTERESTED in purchasing Barbados’ shares in LIAT and told Mottley his government had received a loan committed of EC$40M from the ALBA bank, which he would use to invest DIRECTLY in LIAT.

Taking the above information into consideration, pray tell……how has ‘government’ “squandered an opportunity where the Barbados Treasury should have been many millions of $$$ better off,” ……. when Browne REJECTED the US$44M (EC$119M) our government was demanding for part of its shares in LIAT and subsequently informed our government he was NO LONER INTERESTED in purchasing those shares?

My friend, you don’t have any point.

44. *********his government had received a loan COMMITMENT of EC$40M……

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    The two were Gordon and Geoffrey. The former played for Hampshire, the latter for Sussex. Cricket was entering the professional realm. Cricket could be a career choice. Until then, fellas played for fun on the weekend.
    It was the lack of professional opportunity which allowed Packer to lure so many to play in S.Africa. It was 💰.
    The WI could have fielded 3 test teams.
    Shortly after, cable TV appeared, other sports were more glamorous.
    The passion for cricket en mass has waned.

46. NO

You have the Tony cozier condition. Lol

47. Baje

They was NEVER a concluded agreement to buy the Barbados shares. Thing were under negotiation.

U need to read what you post to support you wrong claims

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE BARBADOS TREASURY SHOULD HAVE BENEFITED FROM MILLIONS WHATEVER THE FINAL FIGURE FROM LIAT SHARE SALE 8 MONTHS AGO WHEN ANTIGUA GOVERNMENT WAS WILLING TO BUY LED BY Mark Maloney BEING ONE OF THE FAILED LIAT BOARD MEMBERS WHICH THEY NOW SOLD FOR $1.

THE FACT THEY ASKED FOR US$44 MILLION AND WAS REJECTED SHOWS CLEAR STUPIDITY, MISMANAGEMENT AND INCOMPETENCE COSTING MILLIONS IN LOSS REVENUE.

NOT INTERESTED IN ARGUING WITH YOU TWO BULLSHITTERS.

STEUPSE.

48. Browne’s statement that he had a commitment from ALBA Bank may or may not have been true. In any case the money never materialised, and Browne DID walk away from the greed of Queen Mia. As he should have.

Now Queen Mia has received BD$1 (or is it even less, at EC$1?), for “her” Barbados shares in LIAT (1974) Limited.

Browne’s current predicament is that he has made promises to all and sundry to keep LIAT operating, to do this to do that, all on the assumptions that castles will grow in the clouds and that the employees in Antigua will accept half pay and lose half of their severance.

I don’t know if you know Antiguans, but my assessment is that they will not be at all happy about such highway robbery. Pension funds are not allowed to be be invested in risky businesses, but all of our governments “borrow” our pension monies – with the tacit approval of the actuaries and accountants who are supposed to protect them – and forcefully making Antiguan employees invest half their previous salary into this dubious (at best) venture and should be vocally resisted by all of us.

Browne’s prospectus makes further assumptions that LIAT will continue to be politically directed, with a political appointee as Chairman and politically appointed Directors, and (I assume) politically appointed management.

Would YOU invest in such a continuing LIAT shambles and be threatened or begged every six months for even more money – like Comrade Fat Ralph used to do??

Browne came out of the first shareholder meeting and declared the company would be liquidated. As Paul Keens-Douglas would have said “Who, tell he, say dat??” Browne is neither the shareholder Chairman, nor the Chairman of the Board, nor is he the majority shareholder. He came out as an injured party and blurted out what the Press wanted to know – the worst possible news.

I always want politicians to be transparent, to tell ALL of the people he represents the truth, no matter how bad. But this time he set the lessors on edge, the creditors on edge, the staff on edge and anybody remotely connected with LIAT’s welfare.

As a result, nothing was ready when Comrade Chairman Fat Ralph invited six carriers to replace LIAT in the middle of a pandemic. Caribbean Airlines alone could have picked up the slack, but of the carriers invited two were not even qualified under CARICOM to provide inter-island service under the protections of the CARICOM Multilateral Air Services Agreement.

interCaribbean is based and registered in the Turks & Caicos Islands, a British Overseas Territory, which is is NOT in CARICOM, and is nowhere mentioned in the MASA. Air Antilles is a full-blown French carrier based in the two easterly French islands, and is so far outside CARICOM it is ree-dickalus.

Nor has ANY concern been shown for organising the needs of the islands by allocating routes or areas to the selected carriers. Is it first come, first served? Or is it whoever bullies their way in first gets the plum routes?

The politicians – as filly expected by everyone I talk to – have screwed the entire situation up AGAIN. No planning, just knee-jerk reactions and behaving like little spoiled children in a school yard. Who pays for all their tantrums and mistakes? Yes, the taxpayer – then the politicians go back to stealing and lying business as usual.

CHAOS.

Politicians are the scum of the earth, and it is THEY who made it so.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    Given TC knowledge and standing within the 🏏 world, while unaware of his condition, there are far worse conditions I could be afflicted with?

50. @ John2

Here is a man who professes to be much more intelligent than many of us in this forum; a man who CONSISTENTLY boasts about having gained several qualifications, taught at several universities, managed and owned several businesses…. and about his successes and business savvy.

Rather than ADMIT he was WRONG by suggesting Antigua secured ALBA loan SPECIFICALLY to PURCHASE Barbados shares in LIAT, he PURPOSELY chose to ignore that statement in preference of presenting a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ARGUMENT.

That clearly indicates he’s not only the BIGGEST BULL SHITTER of us all….. but he’s an intellectual fraud with a very FRAGILE ego as well.

A REAL MAN admits when he’s wrong and moves on.