Last week, young Kyriq Boyce stepped onto a reinforced concrete well cover, as others had probably done many times before. But this time, the well cover collapsed, and he fell approximately 30 m (100 ft) to the bottom. Within hours, he would step into eternity.

Like most well covers across Barbados, it was unsafe. However, since persons have walked and played on them for many years, they reasonably assume that they are safe. They are not. Just before a slab collapses, there may be no visible cracks on the top surface, but the edges and/or the hidden underside, may be cracked, with exposed and corroding reinforcement.

There are two important components of structural design. The first is to design the structure to be strong enough to accommodate all the loads that are expected to impact it. A well cover is expected to be intentionally walked and jumped on. If it bounds a car park or driveway, then it may be accidentally driven on. If it was not designed to accommodate a truck, then while it may not collapse if driven on, it may be significantly weakened.

The second important component of structural design is durability. A high-durable structure should maintain its strength with minimal maintenance. A low-durable structure needs excessive maintenance to maintain its strength.

Well covers should be highly durable, requiring minimal maintenance. This can be achieved by ensuring that: the slab thickness is not less than 125 mm (5”); the side and bottom protective concrete cover to the steel reinforcement is 40 mm (1.5”); and the concrete is properly vibrated, and cured.
Well covers are normally approximately 100 mm (4”) thick. The additional 25 mm (1”) thickness of concrete to improve the durability, costs approximately $30. The benefits of spending an additional $30 on each well are obvious.

The well cover that Kyriq fell through could easily have taken his weight in the past. However, it was not strong enough when he made that fateful last step. While yesterday’s strength may be relied on tomorrow for high-durable structures, the promise of yesterday’s strength should not be relied on for low-durability structures.

All parents should use Kyriq’s tragic loss of life to warn their children to never walk on well covers. However, the great construction safety risk for Barbados is not its vulnerable well covers, but its vulnerable houses.

VULNERABLE HOUSES

We should be reminded that during the Haiti earthquake in 2010, a reported 300,000 persons were entombed in masonry structures, that were built almost as badly as we have built in Barbados for the past 25 years. Like in Haiti, almost every house constructed in Barbados after 1995 lacks the life-saving shear walls, that costs all of $0.00 to install during construction.

Like the reported 300,000 unfortunate Haitians before 2010, most of us are unaware that we are living in tombs. We have awoken so many mornings, with the walls still standing, that we have become oblivious to the fatal risks. Worse is that we have convinced ourselves that this level of unacceptably high risk is normal and unchangeable, which demonstrates our lack of care for the safety of the other members of our households.

Barbados’ vulnerable housing stock is a national disgrace. It is intentionally sustained because, to my knowledge, Barbados has chosen to be the only country on this planet, that offers its residents no relevant building guidance for the construction of houses.

I severely criticised the last DLP administration for this lunatic situation. Their shameless response was to ignore all warnings, and then offer this baton of stupidity to the BLP. Rather than reject it, the BLP administration is carrying this baton with the same expertise as the last administration. It is time to throw away the stupid baton and start caring about households, rather than pursue the dangerous policy of waiting for the foreseen tragic event, and then begging for international aid.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

84 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Baton of Stupidity”

1. A good article. There is need for preventive maintenance in this country. The lack of preventive maintenance not only extends to wells’ covers but also to the upkeep and maintenance of buildings and scientific equipment. I have seen cases where regular electrical outages were the order of the day( Trinidad), resulting in pH meters blowing their fuses and being rendered inoperable because there were no spare fuses: the fuses only cost a couple of US dollars. The equipment remained down until such time as replacement were shipped in from over seas. It seems that preventive maintenance is put on the back burner. The new court building is an example of lack of maintenance. Fungal growth could easily have been prevented by the installation of dehumidifiers. Once the water activity (Aw) (humidity) of the environment is reduced 0.70 or below all fungal growth is inhibited. Dehumidifiers aren’t that expensive.

2. the illegal extension of unit in some housing estates were to be remove as ordered by the Chief TP some years ago at the time when the Min of Housing were in the process of conveying units to tenants, However political folks side with tenants and objected to such. This is a common practice by those who want the vote and not to do what is right.

3. David

We see barbados hoisting highstakes negotiations for the venezuelans.

Certainly this has global soft power implications. Even zone of peace meanings, no?

It’s a good get for government, particularly if sucvessful.

4. There is a tale my dad used to tell us about a tailor whose motto, practice and statement was “Too big is a fit”. Looks like nothing has changed — Pride is absent, sloppy work is a job well done.
    I’ve seen “steel” in Barbados corroded away to nothing and was told it was the sea air that causes it – more like cheap coal comprising the bulk of it as in many countries, places very close to the sea have steel barriers that have stood perhaps for over 100 years with no sign of corrosion.

Have you ever seen what passes for road repairs? A shovel of tarry substance gets dropped into a hole and then given a few bumps with what appears to be a pounder that seems lighter than a sledge hammer — that’s done until you get a few days rain that washes it away.

BTW — The Auditor General’s annual reports offer a great insight — you could write next year’s right now or for that matter for several years/decades to come.

The build of well covers are at the low end of the malaise.

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

Special Condolences for Tragic and Unnecessary Loss of Kyriq Boyce, may his family and loved ones find comfort knowing that one day they will meet once again… This is the Hope of life Eternal!

In relation to the Article on VULNERABLE properties, one such property Freedom Knows about First-hand…

Sam Lords Castle was a Disaster that was waiting to happen when in operation… It is a Costly undertaking with the climate factor on that side of the Island and little funds if any went into the Restoration to Upkeep of the Castle.

Freedom did not know the Castle was ravished before the Great Fire… Freedom Decorated the Castle and Surrounding Restaurants at Christmas time for many years before it changed hands…

During the time spent there in the latter years, they were noticeable Termite Trails on the inside of the Castle walls and some of the Ceiling motif would fall away from the Plaster. I remember the Dining room, being closed for a short time when all the Decorative Moulding was removed and the walls repainted like nothing happened.

So Sad to see, So Glad for the Good memories Associated with this Historical Property Sam Lord’s Castle. A Sad Tale Indeed and …Now only Memories Reside…

BARBADOS THE DEMISE OF SAM LORDS CASTLE

Sam Lords Castle in Barbados was acquired by CLICO, This was one of our National Treasures. Most of it was flattened and the Castle abandoned. This was the state it is in 2009.

6. Piece the Legend Avatar

The problem I have with you Iso TALIBAN is your constant reliance on Ghe BLP BLP DLP DUOPOLY

You have taken a perfect “standalone” topic that has a focus on the target population AND MADE IT INTO A WHIPPING STICK for thd non existent DLP and the BLP

For whereas you could have ended this article by sharing the architectural details that cost nothing and which would positively “shear enable” the houses of bajans AS USUAL YOUR EGOMANIA cannot see how that total sharing would have made this a comment from a caring contender.

Keep on smartly with this style of article AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT.

You are a hard ass rock, DIFFICULT TO TEACH

7. As always, Grenville is a fount of wisdom, and a reminder that democracy is the worst form of government.

It (almost) never fails to elevate leaders who are incompetent, unsuitable and corrupt.

The only exceptions that come to mind are Donald Trump (Donald the Great) and Grenada’s Herbert Blaize.

8. Barbados 2019 Avatar

@ Piece the Legend aka Pieceoftherock

You are an ass of the highest order.

You jump out from under your miserable existence to criticise and denigrate Grenville Powell of Solutions Barbados at every opportunity,

You should stick to your fraud GoFundme page and firebombing allegations against Mia Mottley.

I have come to the conclusion that you are a major pest and attention seeker,

9. @Grenville

a couple years ago i decided that i would return to Bim to live out the rest of my years. i retired young and wanted to design and build a house. i examined all your articles on building. i then designed my pad incorporating all that you advised i.e. shear walls, bending of steel, roofing design-i have a parapet, size of footings and slab thickness.

the contractor was aware of a lot of these issues so it was not difficult to implement. the outcome is a strong looking building. i wish i had done some other things like a concrete roof but i could not. given the design such a roof would not be aesthetically pleasing so i resorted to a parapet with colored clad BRC sheetings. and i wanted to concrete- pour the corners of the building but i settled for the normal interlocking block with poured concrete infills and steel ties.

in addition i am harvesting about 75% of the rain water from the roof to be saved in an underground cistern for laundry, flushing, gardening etc.

thanks a lot for your on line submissions re building. and my well covers are 7ins thick

10. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Don’t worry, NATURE has its way of punishing those who refused to adhere to basic building standards.The devastation brought on Haiti was instructive and telling. There are a lot of sub-standard and illegal constructions on the island in plain view. Its just a matter of time before our luck run out. And as predictable as the sun shall rise, EVERYBODY would then indulged in the blame game.

11. Freedom Crier Avatar

Just goes to Show that Mr.Grenville Phillips has been Influencing others for the better for a long time, sharing his Skills and Knowledge… However, there are some people like Legion that Willfully Underestimate the Gentleman and who Seek only to Tear him down for their own Narcissistic Agenda…

Barbados 2019 July 10, 2019 2:29 AM “I have come to the conclusion that you are a major pest and attention seeker”… Freedom Concurs and would Suggest Legion and ilk hang their heads in shame and Crawl Back in their Holes of Pride and Envy from whence they Emerged… People are not Blind to the Nefarious Ways of Legion!

They are many that would Attest as some have above to the Good Works over the years that GP11 HAVE SHARED VOLUNTARY TO ASSIST HIS COUNTRYMEN TO IMPROVE THEIR LOT.

Well Done Sir, Keep up the Good Work…

https://cdn.wallpapersafari.com/64/62/0NDd2f.jpg

12. Hosting, of course

13. David

This Thorne Commission will be a political failure!

Indeed, it has been already!

14. Good article from Grenville. Within days of me arriving on the island this well catastrophe took place. What a tragedy. What is worse, the death of this young man or the fact that this death was entirely preventable? How is it possible for a government/contractor to permit/build a structure that is not fit for purpose?
    I have not had a chance to travel much however from what I have witnessed to date Barbados looks tired and ramshuckled.
    The importance of building codes and the significance of having a robust building maintenance policy is simply not part of our culture.
    Grenville you will have to accept that your good advice will never be welcomed in a modern Barbados.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Grenville you will have to accept that your good advice will never be welcomed in a modern Barbados.

THIS BECAUSE BAJANS DONT RESPECT THE EXPERTISE OR EXPERIENCE OF LOCAL GURUS IN THEIR SUBJECT AREAS

THIS BAJAN FALLACY HAS BEEN DISPLAYED ON BU FROM ITS INCEPTION

EVEN A BLIND DUNCE CAN SEE THAT GRENVILLE KNOWS HIS ONIONS IN HIS FIELD

16. Any who are interested in shear walls and other aspects of good and bad construction may read an earlier article that I wrote (Advice for Homeowners) over a decade ago, linked below.

https://researching.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/advice-for-home-owners/

17. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

This Thorne Commission will be a political failure!
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thorne is a very dishonest individual which I know of through personal experience along with documents previously exposing him on BU IN THEFT OF A GOVERNMENT AGENCY FUNDS WHILST IN OPPOSITION.

Mia used to lean heavily on him and Simmons with almost a constant daily presence when they operated in Roebuck Street as Partners.

THIS INDIVIDUAL RANKS IN THE SAME LEAGUE AS GEORGE PAYNE AND DALE MARSHALL,

ROTTEN TO THE CORE.

18. Good article.

19. yes Grenville. that is one of the articles you wrote that i read and informed how i designed and constructed my house. i changed the size and position of a few windows to get in the shear wall on all the sides like the article suggested

great stuff, mate

20. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“I have not had a chance to travel much however from what I have witnessed to date Barbados looks tired and ramshuckled.
    The importance of building codes and the significance of having a robust building maintenance policy is simply not part of our culture.”

everyone is talking about how these 2 corrupt governments allowed the island to degrade and it’s infrastructure to become such an ugly eye sore for everyone to view…..and be shocked at…

….but all of them got offshore accounts and all of them are millionaires..and got large apartment buildings and mansions and 6 cars, at least 2 of them mercedes…but the island is a disgusting ghetto scene …while their own people cannot afford to buy food because it has become so expensive or send their children to school…and September is right around the corner…..they need to explain that..

they need to explain tiefing Cow Williams et al….and all the millions they helped him and the other minority criminals steal from the majority population…that is what they need to explain…

21. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

https://youtu.be/cXT9GkrO2AY?t=80

Your black leaders are wicked, weak and love to be seen with a bunch of lowlifes who have no problem stealing from black people and would have no PROBLEM selling black people’s organs.

…. your black leaders love to be seen with the scum of the earth and give away your money to the scum of the earth because they believe once they are elected by the people, the people’s tax money and pension money belong to them..to give away…

Black people in Barbados have to be very careful especially with their children, your leaders would have no problem selling your children’s ORGANS…they are nasty and evil..and selling you out is their game….selling black people’s organs is a billion dollar industry….and your leaders are greedy as shite…

…see where Mia headed ..straight .to Morocco…to slave traders…so wake the hell up.

Your human rights are already being violated on the island…watch your asses AND YOUR CHILDREN’S ORGANS..

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Barbados 2019

I am going to respond to you in unaccustomed words

I now apologise to all of the supporters of Piece the Legend for the following words.

BARBADOS 2019, Kiss my muddah Rasshole
    Kiss my fadder Rasshole
    Kiss my sister Rasshole
    Kiss my Bruddah Rasshole
    Kiss the rotted Rassholes of my dead grandfathers and grandmothers
    And when you dun Barbados 2019
    Kiss my dead dog’s Rasshole

Now Back to the point that I will continue to make.

It is a sterling article by Iso TALIBAN

The puerility of commingling its content against the BLP or DLP is for brownie points.

He, unlike attention getters like me, and poochlickers like you, DOES NOT GAIN ANY VALUE but setting a public interest initiative like this in a political context.

The man is dojng exactly what I am saying to any 3rd party yuh Rasshole which is to bring deliverables.

But you and Freedom Crier as doggie suckers FAIL TO UNDERSTAND THE SIMPLICITY OF THIS POINT.

Watch de ole man AND YOU MAY LEARN though, now I see your continued submissions I DOUBT IT.

My grandparents are buried in Westbury Cemetery and I will send you a private note where you may go and dig them up to perform this act of obeisance

23. Piece the Legend Avatar

I Have posted a blessing for Barbados 2019 in the same vein as Pachamama the Sojourner may sometimes speak.

Please retrieve and post as is thank you

24. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Barbados governments just cannot be trusted BY BLACK PEOPLE, if these greedy,demon lawyers did not care that their building and drilling near a house built on top of a cave would collapse and kill a whole family including 3 minor children, and both dirty DBLP governments…covered up and hid the report…you think they have a problem SELLING BLACK CHILDREN’S ORGANS..think again..

…dirty Cow feels he can do whatever because of 2 evil, corrupt governments, so he was not going to stop the drilling..

But now it will haunt all their evil asses…and Thompson was just another fraud lawyer himself anyway.

“Who Decided To Continue Construction In The Few Days Before The Cave Collapse?
    Despite all this, the tragedy could have been avoided, had somebody not made a fateful – and as it turned out fatal – decision in the days preceding the cave collapse. There was an active construction site nearby that caused serious vibrations in the ill-fated house and those around it, which was felt by numerous inhabitants as far as several houses in each direction.

Furthermore, about 3 weeks prior to the cave collapse one neighbor spotted a hole in the ground that had opened up right next to one corner of the ill-fated house, about 2 1/2 feet in diameter with no bottom in sight: a gaping black abyss. Unbeknownst to him, this was the large cave that would swallow the Codringtons later on. He reported this hole to the workers at the construction site nearby. Construction was halted about one week later, yet resumed about 4 days before the cave collapsed entirely, killing the Codrington family. How could this happen? There were serious vibrations all over the neighborhood, and the top of the cave had already started to open up. What more was needed to stop construction and evacuate the people in the house over the cave? Whoever ordered construction to resume after it was halted temporarily, despite these glaring indications of impending doom, is either grossly incompetent or grossly negligent.

I have also learnt that a fairly thorough investigation was undertaken by technical experts, that is, by geologists, hydrogeologists and engineers, in the months following the cave collapse.

Apparently a preliminary report was finished in December 2007 under the previous BLP administration, a final report was finished about July 2008 under the current DLP administration. Yet this report is hidden from the public. Just why? The public has a right to know. On behalf of all Barbadians, I request that the findings of this report be made public immediately, and that they be part of a proper, impartial and open Coroner’s Inquest, which the public has demanded for a long time. Prime Minister Thompson, stand by your words: hold all accountable !”

25. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

What this professor did not know is the NEWSPAPERS IN BARBADOS ARE FRAUDULENT…they are only there to cover up human rights violations, fraud, crimes and corruption so that the international community never finds out..to act.

Barbadostoday was created to spread false information and cover up crimes against the black population…but that backfired when the shitehound Harris continued to refuse to pay out injured people with his CGI insurance scam, continued to misuse and abuse the supreme court so he don’t pay injured people …and he could not pull it off…too much exposure…so there it sits…a halfassed online newspaper…cause they are all stinking up the same bed together..

“I wrote the appended ‘OPEN LETTER TO PM THOMPSON’ on the evening of January 26, the same day Barbados’ Prime Minister, the Hon. David Thompson, was prominently featured in THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE, denouncing a “conspiracy of silence and indifference” as well as “corruption, nepotism, and malfeasance” by the previous BLP administration. I then submitted this letter for publication to both THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE and THE DAILY NATION. Neither of them dared to print my submission, even though one of them had at first indicated to me in no unmistaken terms that they were intent on printing it word-for-word in their Jan 30 edition. I have no doubt that pressure was applied that forced this retraction. Thus, the conspiracy of silence continues.”

26. Freedom Crier Avatar

THE WORDS LEGION SPEAKS ARE OF A VILE KIND IN THE LOWEST ORDER… WHEN TOXIC PEOPLES LIKE PIECE THE LEGION CANNOT CONTROL A PERSON WITH HIGH MORALS, THEY TRY TO CONTROL HOW OTHERS VIEW THEM. REST ASSURED THE ONLY DEBASE CREATURE REVEALED HERE IS THE LIED LEGION.

One does not have to Disrespect and Insult others to simply hold their own ground that shows how shaky their position is! An evil man will speak evilly all the time and seek to deceive, and somebody that is striving to do good will not speaks evilly!

We are left to judge by the fruits of each person’s heart that is what comes out of their mouth. Those that like to think evilly will entertain those that speak evilly.

TRUE GOVERNMENT IS SELF-GOVERNMENT. BRIDLING OUR OWN TONGUE IS GOOD GOVERNMENT. AN UNBRIDLED TONGUE IS BAD GOVERNMENT.

Who wants to Learn anything from a Legion except they be the same Putrid mind Set. That miserable Ole Soul wants everybody miserable like his own self. All he does is Expose all his Ill Fated Expressions, Not to worry his Articles will soon get Suspended once again. De Old Dog ain’t learning Nothing, he is just too caught up in his pornography Lifestyle that his words are Reflective of the same.

PEOPLE WHO SPEAK EVILLY SHOULD BE OSTRACIZED FROM THE MARKET PLACE OF IDEAS! SOCIETY BREAKS DOWN WHEN WE HAVE AN OVER ABUNDANCE OF AN UNBRIDLED TONGUE THAT SPEAKS EVILLY!!

He Chooses to use his Agency in the Darkest Hue exposing his Deviant Conduct. His relentless Accusations with every breath he takes demonstrate that his personality is really Warped and one of Endless Spew of Rancid Bile which must be reflective of how his heart is! His idea of Teaching Others is a Façade, he Deliberately Tries to Shame others to Pull them Down because he is already beneath them.

He uses the Lords name in vain not understanding that that name resides in each of us and witnesses all of our Sins…His Conscience is Operating on Low Band Width by his Choices to be so Abusive to others including Women it will eventually Cease to Operate if he continues of his Path. At that time, he will be Left Entirely to his Miserable Self!!

His own words will Condemn him, it is Obvious he Does Not Fear The Consequences of his Choices, by his Words and Actions. To gain an understanding of Legions Multiple Personalities Disorder and RELATED QUALITIES OF A NARCISSIST, SOCIOPATH AND PSYCHOPATH THAT MATCHES LEGIONS WARPED TWISTED PERSONALITY…

NOTE THE FOLLOWING…

HE DOES NOT PERCEIVE THAT ANYTHING COULD BE WRONG WITH HIM…

HE IS UNABLE TO FEEL REMORSE OR GUILT THAT IS WHY HE IS SO DEVIANT AND EXPLICIT IN HIS PERVERTED TONE…

SHALLOWNESS AND SUPERFICIAL CHARM…HE SELECTIVELY BROWN NOSES OTHERS TO GAIN THEIR SUPPORT…

HE IS MANIPULATIVE AND CONNING…

HE IS AUTHORITARIAN…

HE IS PARANOID…

HIS ULTIMATE GOAL IS THE CREATION OF VICTIMS…

HE CONTINUES TO DEMONSTRATE EXTREME NARCISSISM AND GRANDIOSE…BELIEVING HE IS BETTER THAN OTHERS ARE IN HIS ENTIRE EGOTISTICAL CONTEMPTUOUS ARRAY.

IN ADDITION … HIS FORE PARENTS MUST BE TURNING IN THEIR GRAVES, HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND ABOUT HONOURING YOUR FATHER AND YOUR MOTHER, HE HAS NOT BROUGHT HONOUR TO THEM BUT DISREPUTE BY HIS ACTIONS/WORDS! NO GOOD THING WILL BECOME OF LIED LEGION UNLESS HE CHANGES HIS ABOMINABLE WAYS!!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/cd/2c/83/cd2c8367b330d2f93aee351220b96481.jpg

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/d8/a3/14/d8a314916181521ce0233110b0159ac2.jpg

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Freedom Crier

You too can kiss my …

You and your type CANNOT BE REASONED WITH

Abuse and raw words are the only language that you can understand

Your type feel that life is a game to be played by your rules

De ole man doan play dat shyte and is quick to tell wunna so

The key thing that we the people want from politicians and wannabe politicians IS DELIVERABLES

We tired of wunna one upmanship cause at the end of the day we the people suffer.

ISO Taliban is still in the blame mode of pointing a finger at the Duopoly

WE TIRED OF THAT SHIT AND HE, and all like you who sucking he pooch, only understand that we are tired, once you get buzed!!!

You would do well to learn the lessons of the Irish Republican Army who, when they found that they were being unfairEd by the British started their guerilla campaign and ultimately forced the British to entertain a mutually respectful “peace”

The Duopoly has been unfairing the citizenry for 50 + years

dat haffa stop ✋

May 28th 2018 is our clear indication to wunna dat we tired uh wunna

Change de message or else

But any time you or he or your supporters forget the seriousness of what needs to be done, I going remind wunna with those word to suck out different things

They work very effectively and each subsequent article becomes more focused on the people and less on ISO Taliban

There is no need to thank me

Heheheheh it is understood

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

These uppity shite negros and their useless parasitic minority masters….STILL DON’T GET WHAT IS HAPPENING….until we drag their evil asses off the island….AND WE WILL.

Just watch..

29. Freedom Crier Avatar

WURA-WAR-on-U is a mere fly in the scheme of things in her hatred for especially prosperous minorities…SHE SPEAKS REPEATEDLY ON THE SAME SUBJECT OF WEALTH CONFISCATION and throwing Minorities out of the Island.

THOSE OF HER ILK, SEEM TO BE WELL ON THE ROAD BY ADVOCATING ROBERT MUGABE FAILED POLICIES TO DOOM BARBADOS.

WHEN WILL THEY LEARN FROM HISTORY… HOW TO KILL A COUNTRY

TURNING A BREADBASKET INTO A BASKET CASE IN TEN EASY STEPS—THE ROBERT MUGABE WAY

Zimbabwe, one of southern Africa’s most prosperous countries, held great promise.

How could the breadbasket of Africa have deteriorated so quickly into the continent’s basket case? The answer is Robert Mugabe, who by his actions has compiled something of a “how-to” manual for national destruction. Although many of his methods have been applied elsewhere, taken as a whole his approach is more radical and more comprehensive than that of other despots. The Zimbabwe case offers some important insights. It illustrates the prime importance of accountability as an antidote to idiocy and excess. It highlights the lasting effects of decolonization—limited Western influence on the continent and a reluctance by African leaders to criticize their own. And it offers a warning about how much damage one man can do, very quickly.

DESTROY THE ENGINE OF PRODUCTIVITY

In 2000, about 4,000 large-scale commercial farmers owned some 70 percent of Zimbabwe’s arable land. Nearly two thirds of these farmers had bought their farms after independence, and thus held titles issued not by Ian Smith or the British colonial regime but by the Mugabe government. Mugabe had long pledged land reform as a way of redistributing farmland to black peasants and dismantling what many saw as the country’s “mini-Rhodesias.” But he had delayed action for two decades, generally taking farms only on a “willing seller, willing buyer” basis.

Mugabe decided on what he called “fast-track land reform” in February of 2000, after he got shocking results in a constitutional referendum: though he controlled the media, the schools, the police, and the army, voters rejected a constitution he put forth to increase his power even further. A new movement was afoot in Zimbabwe: the Movement for Democratic Change—a coalition of civic groups, labor unions, constitutional reformers, and heretofore marginal opposition parties. Mugabe blamed the whites and their farm workers (who, although they together made up only 15 percent of the electorate, were enough to tip the scales) for the growth of the MDC—and for his humiliating rebuff.

So he played the race card and the land card. “If white settlers just took the land from us without paying for it,” the President declared, “we can, in a similar way, just take it from them without paying for it.”

In fact, the beneficiaries of the land seizures are, with few exceptions, ruling-party officials and friends of the President’s. The drop-off in agricultural production is staggering. Maize farming, which yielded more than 1.5 million tons annually before 2000, generated just 500,000 tons. Wheat production, which stood at 309,000 tons in 2000, went to at 27,000 tons that year. Tobacco production, too, which at 265,000 tons accounted for nearly a third of the total foreign-currency earnings in 2000, tumbled, to about 66,000 tons in 2003.

Mugabe’s belief that he can strengthen his flagging popularity by destroying a resented but economically vital minority group is one that dictators elsewhere have shared. Paranoid about their diminishing support, Stalin wiped out the wealthy kulak farming class, Idi Amin purged Uganda’s Indian commercial class, and, of course, Hitler went after Jewish businesses even though Germany was already reeling from the Depression. Whatever spikes in popularity these moves generated, the economic damage was profound, and the dictators had to exert great effort to mask it.

Bury the truth, Crush dissent, Legislate the impossible,Teach hate Scare off foreigners, Invade a neighbour, Ignore a deadly enemy, Commit genocide, Blame the imperialists

DOES THIS SOUND FAMILIAR?

https://cdn.theatlantic.com/assets/media/img/2017/11/AP_03072206561/lead_720_405.jpg?mod=1533692229

30. Yall are a CARTEL OF CRIMINALS…and ya GOTTA GO

glad to hear you are feeling it, don’t try to change minds, no one wants your criminal drug trafficking, human trafficking, gun running, money laundering asses on the island any longer…you HAVE OVERSTAYED…LEAVE..

you are THIEVES and PARASITES in the lives of the majority BLACK population…

just watch us GET RID OF ALL OF YOU….starting with ya sell out house negros…without them…YOU ARE NOTHING…and that is where you will return..

so you can bitch, moan, groan and complain…YA LEAVING…

you scum of the earth..

31. @Nextparty246

Grenville can the old hospital buildings that were damaged by fire be refurbished by casting a ring beam on the coral stone and placing a roof on it, or would the fire have damaged the structural integrity of the building?

I ask only because they are so many solid buildings there yet instead of retrofitting them we spend hundreds of thousands renting privately owned buildings to house government offices.

32. If Payne has information about the human trafficking and other CRIMES COMMITTED BY GOVERNMENT MINISTERS on the island, crimes we know they use taxpayer funded entities to commit against the majority population…he should be GIVING…that information to the RELEVANT AGENCIES…some of whom am told are currently on the island….including Interpol and Scotland Yard..and am quite sure he knows where to find them all..

instead of jumping in the newspapers with talk like if the whole island has not KNOWN FOR DECADES what the criminal ministers do …. while nothing happens about human trafficking…cause all he want to do is TALK and NOT ACT…and attempt to cover his own narrow ass..

So Georgie boy, give the info to the outside agencies currently in Barbados, they will know exactly what to do with that info.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1069613253248213/?t=0

33. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

So SAND WOMAN from the CARTEL……bring it on..and see me really GET STARTED…

34. Freedom Crier Avatar

WURA AKA THE BU RACIST WARMONGER RE July 11, 2019 1:16 PM “bring it on..and see me really GET STARTED”…

WURA AKA ‘BU WAR MONGER’ SUFFERS FROM RELENTLESS ACUTE VERBAL DIARRHEA…

WARU POTTY MOUTH, WHAT HAS COME OUT ACCORDING TO YOU IS SLANDER THIS IS WHAT YOU SUCK ON FOR NOURISHMENT. YOU KNOW NO FORM RESPECTABILITY THAT IS WHY YOU ALL YOU KNOW AND LIVE IS AS A BOTTOM FEEDER. YOUR WORLD IS CONSUMED IN SO MUCH FILTH YOU ARE DROWNING AND GASPING FOR AIR. THE UNFORTUNATE THING IS THAT YOU CREATED THE FILTH THAT YOU SUBSIST ON…

YOU HAVE MADE A LOT OF ACCUSATIONS MOREOVER, NOTHING YOU HAVE SAID IS TRUE. SINCE YOU KNOW THESE THINGS ARE TRUE, GO TO THE POLICE THAT WAY YA WILL HAVE YOUR OPPORTUNITY TO GO TO COURT. ALL THE FACTS THAT YOU THINK YOU HAVE MENTIONED ARE FALSE SO GO GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR TESTIFYING IN COURT.

YOU AND THOSE LIKE YOU WHO PERPETRATE LIES WITH THE INTENT TO DECEIVE AND DESTROY OTHERS WILL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE.

THE STENCH THAT EMITS FROM YOUR ORIFICE IS BEYOND LOATHSOME. HOW CAN YOU STAND LIVING WITH YOU LET ALONE YOUR WHITE HUSBAND AND FAMILY? YOU ARE GOING TO ONE LONELY OLD WOMAN.

YOU THINK BECAUSE YOU DO NOT BELIEVE IN GOD THAT MAKES YOU UNACCOUNTABLE FOR THE THINGS YOU DO AND SAY TO SCORN OTHERS BY YOUR FOUL SLANDEROUS RHETORIC… THINK AGAIN,…THERE IS ETERNAL JUDGMENT AND THAT IS FOR SURE.

WISE UP IF YOU HAVE NOT FALLEN TOO FAR AND DON’T LET YOUR HATE AND ENVY GET THE BETTER OF YOU…

http://quoteshumor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/30-inappropriate-humor-pictures-25-Inappropriate-Jokes-500×530.jpg

35. John A:

The old coral stone buildings can be strengthened (reinforce the walls and cast a beam to support the roof) and reused, provided that there were no foundation problems. I do not think that they were foundation problems in that building.

36. @ Barbados2019

Piecethejackass is one of the biggest Jackasses on BU.

Along with being a conman and fraudster.

Your feedback is spot on this nasty uncouth degenerate.

37. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

wuh i ain’t the one BEING WATCHED….so what do i care..lol

so how are the DRUGS AND GUN SHIPMENTS COMING INTO THE ISLAND these days….is it still as EASY…as it USED TO BE????

38. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“Is there any connection between Mohamed and the containers with guns and dope?”

Sand Woman from the Cartel…this is all yall are good for, each and every one of you criminal minorities….and that is what YOU MUST BE WATCHED FOR….

39. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Well…let’s hope the ones who brought back hanging for black people…ARE THE FIRST TO BE HUNG…lol

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1070307179845487/?t=4

40. Oh dear a nex admirer one called Baje!

There are roughly 7 to eight rassholes that de ole man enumerated during my invitation to Barbados 2019

Two have already been taken so you are invited to take the third.

heheheheheh

Few of you seem to understand de ole man’s enthusiasm and resilience against wunna commentary

You have used cussing and de ole man is impervious to that

You have used your psychobabble and de ole man is impervious to that

Wunna does ammmmmmmm ignore de ole man and de ole man is impervious to that

So what else can wunna do now?

Dont you understand that the two things that will stop de ole man is SUCCESS or DEATH?

And neither of these lies in wunna hands heheheheheheheh

41. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/13/longer-wait-for-pension/

Mia is still SUFFERING disabled pensioners…while allowing DLP THIEVES…who ROBBED THE PENSION FUND AND TREASURY for their criminal minority masters…TO WALK FREE..

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/jul/12/met-police-open-investigation-into-leaked-kim-darroch-cables

GP…….see why i told you not to gloat, this stuff comes with serious consequences, so ugly Boris can dance and side step as much as he wants trying to clean up his cockup, but the BLOWBACK will be just as ugly as he is…lol

And……we have not even gotten to the REALLY EMBARRASSING part yet..where ya boyfriend went to town…on UK.

43. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/13/appeal-court-lawyers-must-join-bar-association/
    “The bar association sets up a disciplinary committee which maintains the standards of the profession.

“We have certain responsibilities to the public including a compensation fund, which allows members of the public who have suffered detriment as a result of the dishonesty of lawyers to receive a grant from a fund which is managed by the bar in the public’s interest.”

Let’s ignore the frivolous comment a disciplinary committee.

Should they abandon the fraudulent fund? Given the sums involved it is doubtful if the fund would be able to fully refund all monies taken. In fact, it may only encourage attorneys to rob their clients and justice is rendered as as a partial payment from the fund. What if the funds pays (says) 20 cents on average for each stolen dollar.

Justice must not only be seen to be done, but must be done.

44. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/13/plastics-alternative-offered/

A story like this one is not good optics and makes my spider senses tingle.

“On Wednesday, just ten days into Government’s ban on single-use plastics, news emerged that some of the replacement products coming into Barbados tested positive for high levels of fluorine, which, according to the European Consumer Organisation is suspected of having a negative impact on the immune system and increases the risk of miscarriages.

But Barbados TODAY research also suggests the products are also extremely resistant to degradation, even at high temperatures.”

Our officials Officials may be honest people who did insufficient research, were misinformed and got in over their heads or they were corrupted.

They have to get it right in one try… Trial and error smells of corruption.

45. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/12/top-honour/

Did anyone during the past week mention “Emtage”.
    A prophet …

46. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/11/bail-for-man-accused-of-loitering-on-bush-hill/
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/11/way-clear-for-courts-to-act/

I gun stop here and go look at BU comments… Kind of scary to be arrested for loitering and then hearing about the death penalty in a single week…

What if the loiterer’s paperwork get misplaced, he is in jail for twelve years and then accidentally gets the death penalty… Nah! no one could spend twelve years unnoticed.

47. @ TheOGazerts,

loitering wha ! The man was probably in Bush hill to engage pork. lol

48. Griffith said the NHC was managing 4 310 units in 2009, but divestment had driven that figure down to 1 208 units in December of 2018, resulting in the loss of $4 million in revenue from rents.

“With the madness that is attached to the divestment programme, the implication is that you are taking in $4.2 million less to maintain all of the units across the housing estates,” Griffith explained.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240723/divestment-hurting-nhc-income

Why would NHC have to maintain houses they sold to the tenants ? What am I missing?

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The government ministers/officials whorehouses at NHC….ACCORDING TO GEORGE PAYNE….must be MAINTAINED….ya think they will TIEF UNITS MEANT FOR THE POOR AND VULNERABLE….run them as WHOREHOUSES….with the same tenants as VICTIMS OF HUMAN TRAFFICKING…….and maintain them from their own pockets too when they have the power and access to the treasury…..TO MAKE TAXPAYERS PAY FOR IT……..ya mad…lol

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

In saying that, ah wonder if Payne contacted Interpol or even Scotland Yard to tell them exactly who the government officials and ministers are who have been trafficking women and children through those NHC houses for DECADES….wuh it’s the least he could do….since he went to the newspapers to CONFESS and he knows well ENUFF…that ministers and government officials….NEVER STOPPED using the NHC units as whorehouses….a condition their victims had to meet to even get the units and not all the scum ministers like Lammy Craig died……he can ask PEDO Clarke who sits in the same cabinet…and is still very much alive..AND IS STILL SCUM…