Dear Owner of Barbados Underground

I would appreciate it very much if you would allow a submission I wrote on the nationnews blog to be featured here. It has to do with the nationnews paper decision to close the comments section of their June 23rd article entitled, ”Others Bribed.”

Although the nationnews paper has a right to close comments to any of their submissions for whatever reasons, I found the closing of comments on this particular article to be in poor taste.

My reason for saying this is that there is corruption in public life and, as a newspaper whose fourth estate committent should be to expose and highlight the damning matters with truth and without fear, the nationsnews choose to represent the fourth estate with dithering and tactics. One can only conclude that the caution shown by this paper relates to some type of servitude for which masters are pulling strings and puppets at the receiving end are fearful that they will get pop up.

This is why I can no longer submit my comments there. If the Donville Inniss matter is not enough for the nationnews to challenge the new regime to dig deeper into the political pit that has enabled many in political life to prosper far beyond their dreams, what purpose is a fourth estate if it comfortable with halfway functioning.

All the evidence points to less than stellar practices in the political spectrum of things. Yet, the parties that dominate the political landscape of our illustrious little rock continue to hoodwink the nation with loud- No Corruption- cries.

Even in the face of confessions as recent as business persons opening up to paying scratch-me- back campaign donations for favours in returned; even when a prominent journalist in the form of Roy Morris stated that he refused to sell his soul for a $20,000.00 bribe; even in the recent dilemma surrounding the discoveries of Donville Inniss indictment on possible money laundering charges, and even in the recent disclosures surrounding the latest Auditor General Report, the nationnewspaper remains subjective to subdued, tentative instead of tenacious.

Donville Inniss is now the face, and the proof, that corruption is no stranger to politicians. He is now the first politician in the history of Barbados to be indicted for money laundering charges. If found guilty, he should be the reason for all news outlets to step up their game and demand that investigative journalism be supported by legislation that would allow all media houses the freedom to expose corruption on to stamping it out.

The fact that an article highlighted that others similar to Donville Inniss could have also been bribed is additional proof, if found to be true, for a development such as this to be investigated thoroughly.

One, therefore, have ask: What is the nationnews trying to protect or stop by closing the comments to this article, when others exist, besides Donville Inniss, who might have take the bribe?

All the nationnews paper have have done is open up the doors of speculation and assumption for them to be regarded as a news outlet who practice double standards and a news outlet who have provided reason for more assumptions to advance a notion that they appear to have a protective agenda in place concerning political interests, and other interests in which they reap significant benefits.

I hope you will feature my comment on your blog so the nationnews would understand that their representation as a fourth estate is seriously lacking, and the people of Barbados have a right to comment to this issue, since it was featured by them.

Below is my comment to the nationnews closing of the ” Others Bribed” article. Thank you

Yours sincerely

Lloyd P Gulston

Insurance Corporation of Barbados, which allegedly bribed former Cabinet minister Donville Inniss to secure contracts, possibly made illegal payments to other “Government officials”, say prosecutors in the United States.
Prosecutors are contending they have evidence to support the allegation but don’t plan to present it when Inniss faces a Brooklyn, New York judge and jury in October.
However, it’s not known who are the “other Government officials”.
The assertions are contained in a document filed earlier this month in a federal district court and made available to the Sunday Sun. (TB)

Nationnews, why are the comments for the above on Donville Inniss closed? Why present the article if you do not want commentary on the matter? This is a serious development that needs the people say! We have corruption in political life and the people of Barbados want it stop. Why publish it if you do not want persons to comment about it? You know by doing this you have set up yourselves as a newspaper for serious criticism.

211 responses to “Nation Newspaper Closes Comments Under Donville Inniss “Others Bribed” Article”

1. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Morocco is an enslaver country…human trafficking country… that is 332 BILLION DOLLARS IN DEBT…an enslaver country….an enslaver country…what goddamn business Mia would have with a broke ass human trafficking country…she beingm PM from a majority black country…

That is the type of story the Nation government pimp News should be carrying to show BLACK BAJANS HOW MUCH DANGER THEY ARE IN…

what kind of business would anyone do with an INTERNATIONALLY RECOGNIZED HUMAN TRAFFICKING COUNTRY…

“Rabat – According to the High Commissioner for Planning (HCP) Ahmed Lahlimi Alami, Morocco’s economy will be weighed down by debt in 2019.

Lahlimi said that the overall public debt of the economy will increase to 82.5 percent of GDP, slightly up from 82.2 percent in 2018.

According to Lahlimi, “Debt is becoming heavier and we must try to increase national savings through good support and a good distribution of household income, support for the activities of SMES (small business and medium-sized enterprises).”

Read Also: Morocco’s Public External Debt Reached More than MAD 332 Billion in 2017
    He added that the situation also requires the further mobilization of both Moroccan capital, administration, consumers, civil society, and businesses.

Lahlimi said that Moroccans should consume more products made in Morocco. He also invited Moroccan investors to invest more in Morocco and to value Morocco’s investments in infrastructure, which increase Morocco’s attractiveness for investment.

In his remarks shared on Wednesday in a press conference in Casablanca, Lahlimi predicted that the global economic situation would be marked by a slowdown in growth, investment, and demand. He foresaw instability in the capital markets in commodity prices, especially in oil, due to anticipated increases in production.”

2. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Well if Mia knows what is good for her, she would leave those she sees as a THREAT…to her plans and those who are trying to FREE black bajans from racism, corruption and FINANCIAL BONDAGE…..THE HELL ALONE…

it will NOT END WELL…

you are not seeing what is happening….

i told you….you have whatever you need to MAKE THE APPROPRIATE CHANGES AND DO THE RIGHT THINGS…for the MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION.

just ASK…

LAST CHANCE..

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I beginning to feel a little vexed, because I have never been offered a bribe, never solicited one, never accepted one, although for 23 years of my career I handled money, tens of millions of money, certainly more than any Cabinet minister, and could have easily extracted plenty of well used cash or plenty bribes [in foreign currency too].

Maybe I have always been simple as my name.

Stupssseee!!!

4. @LPG

The Nation News like government and other institutions, get away with what they do because we demand no better. We accept what they offer and buy it, hence there is no need for them to up their game. If you want a clear example recently of what i mean, look at the nonesence the head of the NIS investments stated without it being challenged in the said press.

How could any balanced publication with the purpose of enlightening the public allow that to happen?

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Lloyd P Gulston,

You, unlike de ole man, are man enough to use your name, and I respect that.

“…Where do you stand in this fight, Mr Piece the Legend? …”

Where does de ole man stand?

Many here have differing opinions on “where I stand”

For some I am a SCOURGE and tormenter with a streak of relentness that many hate.

For others I am an avowed conspirationist and aluminium foil wearer

For some I am “Legion” the spirits in the possessed mandate in the Gardenes that Jesus The Christ cast out.

But I consider myself to be a practitioner of the Words of My Creator, seeking assiduously, to do that which is right USING MY LIMITED SKILLS

You continued

“..Your defense of the nationnews is acknowledged, your seeking to cast a bias and personal spin on what I wrote is not…”

I wrote no Defense of “the Nation News”

I wrote a generic perspective for ALL THE LOCAL PAPERS WHICH FEAR THAT a comment appearing on their newspaper page COULD EXPOSE THEIR NEWSPAPER TO A LAWSUIT.

I am genuinely at a loss as to what “bias or personal spin” providing an additional perspective other than your edict of Truth.

And this is often the problem here on Barbados Underground

People speak and say their belief and if one disagrees with that opinion suddenly the refrain is that one is supporting the corrupt and iniquitous Nation News, or Advocate newspapers which are only protecting a source of revenue for them.

But you can carry on smartly as you prosecute “your truth”

De ole man and me grandson will carry on with ours.

http://imgur.com/Lhzwlp2

I then went on to explain how “moderated website queues” work.

And to suggest that, in the space of milliseconds that, IF A QUEUE IS NOT MODERATED, that the Nation, Barbados Today the Advocate etc, entities that are NOT PROTECTED BY THE SUPERLATIVE ANONYMITY THAT Barbados Underground has, would expose them to defamation lawsuits.

Do you know the amount of lawsuits that Barbados Underground has had to face ON BEHALF OF POSTERS HERE ON BU?

FOR 12 YEARS!!!

At personal expense?

People, of whom you are one, are totally

6. @ Greene June 29, 2019 3:15 PM
    “so did Inniss say other “Government Officials” were bribed or is this the prosecutors saying this ? what do they mean by “Government Officials”? Government Officials in the DLP Govt?
    some many unanswered questions so much speculation…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

A lot of unanswered questions alright!!

So here is one for you, Greene.

What about asking the person who sat in the Chair of that SOE when these transactions of bribery were approved and facilitated?

Shouldn’t he (or she) be asked to account for his stewardship?

After all, a politician cannot execute any act of bribery unless aided and abetted in the process by the lackeys strategically appointed and the cowardly public sector senior managers.

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Maybe I have always been simple as my name.

Stupssseee!!!”

…lol ….count your blessings…ya not on anyone’s RADAR…

But if ya were counting STOLEN millions…ya would be …AS THEY ALL ARE..

So COUNT THOSE BLESSINGS..every one of them are worth counting.

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wait Piece…wuh yuh did with president Enuff….wuh i hope she did not get her yardfowl backside SOLD ….to SLAVE TRADERS IN MOROCCO……cause all of a sudden president Enuff is yardfowling on BU NO MORE….lol

9. Those who pay bribes and those who take bribes should be punished equally.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/27/bribery-claims/

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U June 30, 2019 8:10 AM

But, but, but, I thought that nuff, nuff money was better than any kinda blessings.

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Only if ya EARNED IT…

DID NOT TIEF IT..

DID NOT SELL OUT YA OWN PEOPLE TO GET IT…

and that is what escapes the black sellouts in parliament.

Their decades of crimes and sins against their own people keeps following them AROUND EVERYWHERE THEY GO…

And it is NEVER ENDING…cause 70+ years is a long, long time…

the irony…they ARE BLINDED by their own criminals acts…totally unable to see, no matter how many different ways we point it out to them, in hopes that they see REALITY…so far, no cigar, but it’s THEIR FUNERALS…a la Donville and others..let them keep pretending that it’s ours…..and that we, not them are the PROBLEM AND CAUSE OF THE ISLAND’S DOWNFALL AND regression into 1930s style poverty.

Their own buddies, partners in crime against the Black population, for their own selfish reasons are now GUNNING FOR THEM TOO…hopefully…..not in the literal sense…but gunning is gunning….AND A SET UP IS A SET UP.

12. @LPG

You are right. Reproducing press releases is not journalism, it is crude public relations. But the readers do not protest, even more, the journalist do not protest. This kind of propaganda is accepted as ‘news’.
    I do not like criticising journalists, but as a reader I am often left asking more questions. The Nation is about money-making. I mentioned the overseas edition earlier, in this week’s issue, out of 40 pages, we have columns by Erica Lewis (Looka Lew), Richard Hoad (The Lowdown), Adrian Green, Tony Deyal, Haynesley Griffith, all of which are totally irrelevant to a UK readership, and a number of single page news stores, most of which are badly planned.
    And to think some executive sits down every week and make these decisions. Who do they consult? It is bad journalism, bad publishing and bad management.

13. Dear Mr Piece the Legend

Thank you for your response and for providing clarity re your assertion. You point is made and taken. I am not one to engage in foolish back to back contention but more so in intelligent debate over a matter.

If the words I used in the interpretation of your comment offended in any way, please accept my apology. I came here to express my disappointment and concern regarding the nationnews decision to keep one article closed while allowing others to be freely commented upon. That move alone just struck a nerve in me, and having to witness the tentative approach our leaders take with issues of corruption, the nationnews decision to close comments to that article was the last straw that broke my ‘camel’s back.

As you can see, we all are open to various forms of interpretation and base on those interpretations, one can conclude a situation or piece of writing correctly or falsely.

This is the reason why explanations are so valid and why we must demand from those who are charged with the responsibility of leading us to make them on a regular basis. The Public must be enlightened and kept abreast on all matters involving government, and the media must be there to ensure that they do not forget this. Unfortunately, we seem to have a media that operates in the opposite, hence the lack of hard questioning.

Regarding the matter at hand, the comments section was closed upon presenting the article. So there was no queue. If there was a queue and the nation felt the need to close the comments because of the defamation or libelous use of words, they are in the habit of censoring what they deem inappropriate and allowing what can pass as acceptable, to go through. Why have they not done that in the case of this article, when to my knowledge no other article has ever suffered a similar fate? Is there something special about this article?

In addition, from time to time, the nationnews blog editor will intervene with a short explanatory comment regarding a question raise or to clear up misunderstanding generated from a comment. Why have they not done that in the case of this closed comment?

This one decision annoyed me so much that I informed them that I would not comment any further on their blog because of their decision. I will not be missed by them, but there comes a time when one must say enough is enough. That was my enough is enough moment.

We must likewise demand that our leaders reach their ”enough is enough” moments by demanding that our news media outlets bring them to that stage or public outcry via social media becomes the driving force towards pushing them to a state of ‘enough is enough.

I am glad to here that you are advocate with a movement. God speed and keep in good faith.

Best regards

LPG

14. Lloyd P Gulston Avatar
    Lloyd P Gulston

Dear John A and Hal Austin

First, I must ask are you Hal Austin the journalist?

John A, it is an appalling state of affairs that has bee sown into the fabric of our sub-conscience minds and daily thinking.

Hal Austin

You were and still are regarded as a journalist with a difference. Respect to you. Your observations regarding the journalistic interests of local media houses should be a signal for all of them to wake up from their long slumbering norm of journalism gone all wrong. Thanks for commenting to my commentary. Cheers

Best regards

LPG

15. @ LPG

Many thanks. I have offered my experience, but it has not been taken up. Interestingly, the Chinese wanted me to come over to Beijing and run a few seminars on journalism and digital change. I declined.

16. @Hal
    Sureky you know
    “A prophet is not without honor except in his own town and in his own home.”
    However, a few here hold you in high esteem.
    (We may not always show it)

17. Gotta go…
    Here comes the nurse with the medications, a whip and handcuffs
    Taking medicine is fun….

18. @ Theo

Thanks.

19. @Hal

… the Chinese wanted me to come over to Beijing and run a few seminars on journalism and digital change. I declined.

Why did you decline? Was it on philosophical grounds?

20. @ Dullard,

You may not believe it, but I am not big on travel. I rarely leave London and dislike travelling even to the Caribbean. The journey is a pain, even if the arrival is bliss.

21. @Theogazerts

Wait the nurses at the mental work on Sundays. Lol

What is life without a laugh. I like the fact you can bring a lighter side😊

22. Lloyd P Guslton Avatar
    Lloyd P Guslton

Hal Austin

The pleasure is all mine. Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself. It is borne out a foolish belief that there is no higher thinking than the fool who believes he is better than everyone else. Your talents will not go wasted. Take a boat ride and find out.

23. @ David.

I was reading an article a few weeks back and it was saying that in some parts of the USA soical media sites like yours were getting more hits daily than even the traditional newspaper in terms of unit sales in some regions.

I am curious and not asking for specifics but roughly how many hits a week does your blog get now?

Another point that was raised was that many of the younger readers said the news by the time it is printed and distributed in the traditional form, is at best hours old and in some cases days old. They would long of heard it online or on 24 hour Tv feeds like CNN they went on to state.

They also said tradition press was not interactive nor open for live discussion and further there was no contact with the articles publisher in many cases.

Basically what came out of it is that the traditional printed paper delivered the following day was seen as obsolete with those 40 years and under.

24. @ John A

Don’t believe everything you read.

25. @John A

It is a policy of the blogmaster to never discuss hits to the blog.

What can be said is that BU is read by a majority of the political class and others.

The blog is not positioned to compete with traditional media. BU operates in a niche space.

26. @ David

No problem at all just was curious but I respect your policy none the less.

27. @ Hal

You say that but I draw reference to when Howard Stern took his show to satellite radio in a move away from what was the traditional platform at the time. You remember people said he wouldn’t last a year?

Well they were wrong and Stern went on to print money. No not in the way Sinkler printed money but in as we say ” Mek ringing money.”

Remember when CNN was launched and people said Turner was probably having a Manic attack as he is Bipolar? He went on to destroy traditional alternatives and become the most viewed station in history on certain events.

So I don’t doubt the article at all as I believe the printed paper will in time go the road of the LPs and 45s.

28. @ John A

OK.

29. @ Hal

For the record Stern clipped 20 million listeners on some shows transmitted by ” terrestrial radio” as they like to call it.

What daily printed paper In his market regionally ever reached that level of daily circulation?

Sorry can’t agree with You that paper and printer can keep up with technology in speed of delivery.

Remember when a letter took 7 days to reach the UK? Today an email reaches there in 10 seconds.

Don’t get me wrong there will always be the purist who like to turn pages while sipping their coffee and Danish, but they are in the minority and whether they will be enough to keep the daily print papers alive is left to be seen.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John A, whatever the veracity of the source data vis “I was reading an article a few weeks back and it was saying that in some parts of the USA soical media sites like yours were getting more hits daily than even the traditional newspaper in terms of unit sales in some regions” the fact is that it’s more true than its not.

I say that to ask what’s the real deep seated concern re the Nation closing their comments section??

I get the anger or distaste by @Guslton but I smiled at the strange nature of this blog: has he not gotten his pique responded to using this thing called social media; could he not further expand that displeasure by posting on his FB page and that of BU; and to link here to his Instagram or whatever other platforms he uses!

Maybe, I am in a very different mind space but it’s quite amusing that in days past we couldn’t get letters to the editor published and we had NO recourse or public voice to complain so it was basically game over but now here we are aggressively publicizing to hundreds after that same style action…using a media format that has decimated the said same newspapers… ironically hilarious, in my view!

In sum, we are attacking the Nation when we should simply be continuing to press the original issue…

… Because EVERY newspaper (and Blog) will be affected by its editorial decisions and in this modern world we have every wonderful opportunity to dismiss that editorial process and get our voice heard broadly somewhere else … so just use the mediums to our advantage… a man like Eric Sealy would have been a real problem in today’s world, not so!

Seems to me we have no real reason to complain of being ‘shut down’ from a Nation comments section as we can publicize our angst at a street corner meeting real, real fast!

31. @ de

I have no problem with the Nation closing a page for comment that’s their call as it’s my call not to buy a paper.

My problem with the Nation and others locally, is they do little to enlighten the public on matters of serious importance. They don’t even challenge the people making public statements in a forum where the same press were present. If you doubt me go back and read the absolute nonesence Mr Jones from the NIS fund said about the effect on losing a massive return on half their asset base. That too went completely unchallenged.

My point is simply if you are not going to do a forensic analysis on such statements and then share the results with the public, why should I bother to support such?

Then again not a squeak was heard from the opposition either so they were no better than the print media.

I am sorry who wants to support mediocrity and paid advertisements then carry on smartly. I for one will not be part of the flock.

I don’t blame the Press alone though I blame us the consumers for not demanding better.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To again @John A pick up on one of your quotes ..this being: Don’t get me wrong there will always be the purist who like to turn pages while sipping their coffee and Danish, but they are in the minority and whether they will be enough to keep the daily print papers alive is left to be seen.

Clearly it will not unless another “feature”(not article) of added value goes along with that printed medium…already many big print presses runs have been reduced significantly..

But to me the more serious problem or problems re …“the news by the time it is printed and distributed in the traditional form, is at best hours old and in some cases days old. They would long of heard it online or on 24 hour Tv feeds like CNN they went on to state is 1) fewer people want to read stories deeply sourced and prepared after lengthy reporting whether investigative or general features and 2) they want everything is as few words as possible.

This is a grave problem and the “sound bite” generation is also faced with multiple avenues of completely fake and fabricated data and do NOT have the desire, skeptical awareness or appreciation to verify the falsehoods….

Those sites that print papers (and the legitimate digital properties) are still the best sources of properly verifiable news so the young better appreciate that and check their feeds carefully when they source their news.

33. @ Hal

@ de

Let me share this information from statistica.com which was published on June 17th 2019. It is probably some of the most recent data out there on this issue. We will take the golden child of US papers, none other than the New York Times and the below figures speak to their daily paper circulation.

Circulation daily 2008. 1,003,000
    Circulation daily. 2108. 487,000

I picked them as they are one of the oldest papers and for years the leading publication in The New York business district. They also represent one of the better off demographics in the U.S market in terms of disposable income.

I can share other data with you but most have suffered a worst fate than the precious NYT.

34. @ de

The thing is the best sources of data today are no longer under one roof but spread among information specialist.

For Instance we have entities like the said statistca who deal heavily in trends and numbers, then there is Wikipedia who also have sound basic data on many entities just to mention 2, from date of start to current owners, to annual turnover and profitability, it can all he found There. There is too much instant data out there if you know where to look, to bother waiting for any one publication to decide if they will print it in true form or ” soften” it for what ever reason.

35. Sorry I meant circulation 2018 was 487,000 not 2108.

By then they will probably be obsolete. Lol

36. @ John A

Plse remind me, who own the Washington Post.

37. @Dee Word

The bigger issue is the role of the fourth estate and if it is living up to its billing as a guardian of our democracy.

38. @ David June 30, 2019 4:50 PM

The Fourth Estate is dying.

Long live the Fifth Estate the Crown Prince of Democracy and Freedom of Expression.

The Internet is really the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil in its digital incarnation.

What title should we confer upon you, Blogmaster David? King Maker of the Bajan Fifth Realm dubbed Social Media?

39. @ Hal

Bezos from Amazon and his intention he says is to ” Continue printing papers in the original format as long as it’s feasible.”

Translated “I plan long-term to migrate it over to Amazon for download to Kindle and other type of equipment, while still charging your tail the same amount as if I had to print and deliver it to you, just like I did with the book business”

To buy say a new release by James Patterson is the same price basically online as if you went in a book shop in the USA. He will ride the wave till it’s too weak and then transition just like he has done in other areas.

He ain’t get the richest man in the world by chance, he is way ahead of the game. He only wants to own the intellectual property long term for distribution but without the dead weight of printing, delivering and all that financial drain.

It is believed that when circulation drops to around 300,000 copies daily he will pull the plug on the hard copy publication as that is where analyst claim the break even for that side should be.

40. @ Hal

Bear in mind you can already get the Washington Post online from Amazon although there is little to no saving. Amazon would argue yes but it’s more convenient and better for the environment. Lol

41. Hal the last circulation daily figures for The Post that I can remember was a little over 360,000 for reference.

42. Also while their hard paper sales are a little over 360000 daily their online subscriptions just set a new record as of December 2018 at 1,500,000.

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, I would argue along with others that there will always be a place for the fourth estate to fulfill its billing as a guardian of our democracy.

The newspaper industry or profession or trade is in the business of brokering and balancing power for sure and that will not change …in fact we must recognize the its not cliched to say that every citizen with a cell phone who records breaking news events is fulfilling the role of amateur reporter!

Thus in many regards the guardisnship of our democracy has been enhanced by the explosion of media sites and citizens live streaming breaking news … and for the traditional media their business models have changed and surely they will continue to adapt to keep themselves relevant and profitable.

We speak of lower print subscriptions but we overlook the increase in digital access of these traditional papers… and too their international reach!

Change is welcome…as it brings with it some great opportunities.

44. @De

The move to digital format will be great for the consumer but it will come at a massive cost to the staff and infrastructure of what exist today.

The journalist and intellectual property owners will be fine, but a publication will be made up of a selection of articles sent to a central hub online for editing and final distribution. And who got the biggest online distribution company globally? Back to Bezos at Amazon.

That man is a a visionary like few others alive.

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

“…What can be said is that BU is read by a majority of the political class and others…”

I think you are being modest with that statement Honourable Blogmaster.

All the politicians, and Wannabee politicians and their lackeys and their hangers on read BU

And all the traditional papers.

You continue by saying

“…The blog is not positioned to compete with traditional media..”

You DO NOT NEED to compete at all.

Your objective is to lead “in that niche space…” where, whatever the topic in the news or outside the news AS THE FIFTH ESTATE as “M” the Sage calls you, you are the medium where people come for THE PULSE.

It is from “the Temperature Here” that the wiser politicians, NOT THE DLP ONES, learn what they are to do to effectively manage the concerns of the people.

Let me explain what is happening.

The Prime Minister Mugabe, notwithstanding her own demons, genuinely wants to create a legacy of worth.

Unfortunately, she is surrounded by Dufuses BUT SHE HAS TO MANAGE THOSE DUFUSES and their ministries and the HR in each Ministry by herself.

Now how de ef does she do that on an austerity budget with a run away sovereign debt misery?

This is really hard AND 30 murders and a retarded Attorney General is not really helping

Wunna still wid de ole man???

She got little room to operate and to deliver a solution where Barbados comes out of this recession and the country begins to grow

She is saddled by 1 dying horse and two stubborn jackasses in the form of one flailing economy and 29 ministers (of whom 25 are waste foops) and a mostly indolent public service of limers

The task is herculean

But you Honourable Blogmaster must not abdicate the role of facilitator of the Fifth Estate EVEN THOUGH IT IS HARD AND THE COOLAID TASTE GOOD!!

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr. Lloyd P Gulston,

No offence is taken.

Contrary points of view can contend in these virtual spaces and coexist!

The substantive fact that you made, and which DpD who formerly used the moniker De ingrunt Word commented, continues to be “why is everyone afraid to comment about Pornville AND HIS FELLOW CONSPIRATORS?

AND WHY ARE THE ROYAL BARBADOS POLICE FORCE AFRAID TO ACT?

EVEN IN THE FACE OF ALL THE EVIDENCE?

But then again some might say that our lazy ass Commissioner of Police owes his appointment to this role to the last DLP administration

Some might opinion that both he and the DPP are unwilling or incapable of biting the proverbial hand that fed them!!!

http://imgur.com/Bq4Tj70

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr. Lloyd P Gulston,

Life has taught de ole man that “justice” is not necessarily meted out by those who are tasked to be just.

I therefore tell individuals that a man or woman, who is a DPP, or Chief of Police, a Judge, or anyone whose role is to administer or facilitate justice may often deviate from that role for various reasons.

They are doing their job ALBEIT POORLY but what is your role going to be?

You may, as is your prerogative, chose to ignore the fact that the Commissioner of Police REFUSES TO INVESTIGATE THIS CRIME, or that the DPP does not give a flying fvcuk about this $36k money laundering exercise.

You may further say that, having your name Lloyd P Gulston out there, front and centre, in this flagrant matter of money laundering, and official collusion, might be placing a “target” on your back, but, whereas several others of your peers are silent about it, conscious of the victimization that these people are capable of, called being pragmatic by some, read as being ballsless by others, AS MAN YOU GOT TO DO WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO!

The way de ole man fights is by the tools of visual warfare, silently BUT DEFTLY, inserting a single message out there AS TO WHO IS TO BE BLAMED FOR THIS TRAVESTY OF JUSTICE.

So when they are walking round in the community, or taking communion in church, or attending Parent Teacher’s Meetings PEOPLE SEE THEM AS THE DISHONEST COMMISSIONER OF POLICE kneeling for communion and talking about rights for his kids WHILE ABDICATING THEIR RESPECTIVE DUTIES to society.

Do not bother yourself with what ostensibly seems to be a win on their part.

This social media tools DESTROYS ALL THAT FALLACY IN SECONDS!!!

http://imgur.com/ZUvCVHA

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A

I wonder if you really understood the gem of wisdom you dropped on Barbados Underground when you said

“…The journalist and intellectual property owners will be fine, but a publication will be made up of a selection of articles sent to a central hub online for editing and final distribution…”

Profound.

This can be called “The GOD syndrome” because the design of its centrality is based on the primordial “I AM”

You and many others MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO SEE IT but it is the common denominator of Amazon, FedEx, AirBnB UBER, and while in full sight as the equation upon which the economy of Barbados can be “saved”, CANNOT BE SEE BY THE DUFUSES IN THE HoA.

And you end by confirming this Truth by saying

“…And who got the biggest online distribution company globally?

Back to Bezos at Amazon…”

I expect this item to be missed by everyone but do ask you to discuss for 10 Mark’s

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

49. Lloyd P Gulston Avatar
    Lloyd P Gulston

Dr Robert Lucas

For some strange reason, which I am only finding out now that it is strange, I liked and enjoyed tremendously, writing my views on the nationnews paper blog. I have heard many stories that would lead one to believe that the nationnews paper operates contrary to its fourth estate responsibilities, but needless to say, I proffer to give them the benefit of the doubt.

Barbados as a whole is a strange place where the truth is concern. Imagine a man of your talents subjected to the banning rights of news media outlets because of your point of view. This mindset is also extended in various realms of society where important decisions are made. Any opposition to political stances, any contrite reasoning that does not sync with the reasoning perpetuated as the norm, is deemed a dissenting voice that must be subjected to ‘wilderness’ devices.

The nationnews should be a very powerful entity in the mainstream of enlightenment via presentation of news facts. I am afraid it has allowed itself to be diminished to a mere whipping boy newspaper because collectively, it (would appear that it) chooses to operate contrary to sound journalistic principles. If prude is a word that can describe them at this stage, the nationnews is focus on prude writing but not necessarily truth enlightening writing that can effect change.

One blogger said it is in the business of making money so I guess that revelation writing, fact checking writing, writing to bring about change or writing to expose corruption is not in their interests or the best interest of making money.

50. Lloyd P Gulston Avatar
    Lloyd P Gulston

Dear de pedantic Dribbler

You indicated and I quote, ” say that to ask what’s the real deep seated concern re the Nation closing their comments section??

The deep seated concern is why the comments to this particular article was closed and not for argument sake, the comments to the revelations purported by the Attorney General in retrospect to business persons confessing paying out bribes or the anomalies reported by the Auditor General concerning government finances. What makes this article of corruption any different to the other articles suggesting corruption?

My initial argument is what is so special about ”Others Bribed” that the blogosphere could not comment about it.

We are already dealing finally with real revelations regarding corruption and not speculations or assumptions about the existence of corruption.

The nationnews paper by closing the comments section on this particular article only led me to believe that they are a part of the problem and not the solution.

To further quote you,

” I get the anger or distaste by @Guslton but I smiled at the strange nature of this blog: has he not gotten his pique responded to using this thing called social media; could he not further expand that displeasure by posting on his FB page and that of BU; and to link here to his Instagram or whatever other platforms he uses!”

I have never commented on Barbados Underground, once or twice on Barbados Today, never on facebook or instagram because I found pleasure in writing on the Nationnews paper blog. You may ask why then Barbados Underground? I chose Barbados Underground because the few articles I read of recent where very informative, the few arguments I read from the bloggers were very intelligently written, and the back and forth between certain bloggers was intellectually stimulating. Plus this blog was recommended to me and before I contacted the owner of the blog, I read several of the articles written by him and other contributors that were well written. That is my reason for coming here.

To further quote you,

”In sum, we are attacking the Nation when we should simply be continuing to press the original issue…”

If my submission is deemed an attack on the nationnews paper, then so let it be. Country first should be the mantra line of a democratic state. We are living in strange times, perilous circumstances that are ready and already affecting us all. We are currently operating at a precipice in our dealings with economic matters and matters of state. We need resurgences in the form of truth bearers to hold those who will not stand accountable, accountable. The nationnews paper is suppose to be one of those entities that champion the cause for truth, enlightenment and change. When the comments to ”Others Bribed” was closed, the impression I got was that there was a protectionist net put in place so that view points on the matter does not seek to shed a further spot light on everything that we know is going wrong with Barbados. Either we want to stamp out corruption that is now revealed to us overtly, or we do not. The nationnews by their actions revealed a ”we do not.”

Best regards

LPG