Dear Owner of Barbados Underground

I would appreciate it very much if you would allow a submission I wrote on the nationnews blog to be featured here. It has to do with the nationnews paper decision to close the comments section of their June 23rd article entitled, ”Others Bribed.”

Although the nationnews paper has a right to close comments to any of their submissions for whatever reasons, I found the closing of comments on this particular article to be in poor taste.

My reason for saying this is that there is corruption in public life and, as a newspaper whose fourth estate committent should be to expose and highlight the damning matters with truth and without fear, the nationsnews choose to represent the fourth estate with dithering and tactics. One can only conclude that the caution shown by this paper relates to some type of servitude for which masters are pulling strings and puppets at the receiving end are fearful that they will get pop up.

This is why I can no longer submit my comments there. If the Donville Inniss matter is not enough for the nationnews to challenge the new regime to dig deeper into the political pit that has enabled many in political life to prosper far beyond their dreams, what purpose is a fourth estate if it comfortable with halfway functioning.

All the evidence points to less than stellar practices in the political spectrum of things. Yet, the parties that dominate the political landscape of our illustrious little rock continue to hoodwink the nation with loud- No Corruption- cries.

Even in the face of confessions as recent as business persons opening up to paying scratch-me- back campaign donations for favours in returned; even when a prominent journalist in the form of Roy Morris stated that he refused to sell his soul for a $20,000.00 bribe; even in the recent dilemma surrounding the discoveries of Donville Inniss indictment on possible money laundering charges, and even in the recent disclosures surrounding the latest Auditor General Report, the nationnewspaper remains subjective to subdued, tentative instead of tenacious.

Donville Inniss is now the face, and the proof, that corruption is no stranger to politicians. He is now the first politician in the history of Barbados to be indicted for money laundering charges. If found guilty, he should be the reason for all news outlets to step up their game and demand that investigative journalism be supported by legislation that would allow all media houses the freedom to expose corruption on to stamping it out.

The fact that an article highlighted that others similar to Donville Inniss could have also been bribed is additional proof, if found to be true, for a development such as this to be investigated thoroughly.

One, therefore, have ask: What is the nationnews trying to protect or stop by closing the comments to this article, when others exist, besides Donville Inniss, who might have take the bribe?

All the nationnews paper have have done is open up the doors of speculation and assumption for them to be regarded as a news outlet who practice double standards and a news outlet who have provided reason for more assumptions to advance a notion that they appear to have a protective agenda in place concerning political interests, and other interests in which they reap significant benefits.

I hope you will feature my comment on your blog so the nationnews would understand that their representation as a fourth estate is seriously lacking, and the people of Barbados have a right to comment to this issue, since it was featured by them.

Below is my comment to the nationnews closing of the ” Others Bribed” article. Thank you

Yours sincerely

Lloyd P Gulston

Insurance Corporation of Barbados, which allegedly bribed former Cabinet minister Donville Inniss to secure contracts, possibly made illegal payments to other “Government officials”, say prosecutors in the United States.
Prosecutors are contending they have evidence to support the allegation but don’t plan to present it when Inniss faces a Brooklyn, New York judge and jury in October.
However, it’s not known who are the “other Government officials”.
The assertions are contained in a document filed earlier this month in a federal district court and made available to the Sunday Sun. (TB)

Nationnews, why are the comments for the above on Donville Inniss closed? Why present the article if you do not want commentary on the matter? This is a serious development that needs the people say! We have corruption in political life and the people of Barbados want it stop. Why publish it if you do not want persons to comment about it? You know by doing this you have set up yourselves as a newspaper for serious criticism.

211 responses to “Nation Newspaper Closes Comments Under Donville Inniss “Others Bribed” Article”

1. so did Inniss say other “Government Officials” were bribed or is this the prosecutors saying this ? what do they mean by “Government Officials”? Government Officials in the DLP Govt?

some many unanswered questions so much speculation

2. We said others were and is taking the money all during Elections, and All of you reading know its True, Barbados is filled with crooks, We know many keep taking BFP for a joke, Who making the Jokes now? We are Happy that the real Justice Department has ears, All the government members of the last 20 years need locking up!

3. “Since coming into office, some businesspeople have come forward and informed myself and others that they have paid bribes to public officials,” he revealed.

“These bribes have sometimes been in the regions of hundreds of thousands of dollars. Some have come forward out of a spirit of contriteness and others have come forward perhaps only to show what villains have occupied the seats of power in this country in recent times,” he said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/27/bribery-claims/

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Nation government pimp News….they are despicable, imps and pimps only too happy to help the tradh oaradites and friminal syndicates…land Cartel….keep the slave society in place to JUST TO keep ADVERTISING DOLLARS FLOWING…

THEY ARE A DISGRACE TO JOURNALISM AND SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN.

5. @Greene

It is not only the US prosecution authorities, but our own attorney general, the island’s top legal officer, has admitted that he has been told by top businesspeople and his excuse for not taking action is that those people will give evidence under caution. Apparently, the prime minister was made aware of this. Bollocks.
    He should have reported the matter immediately to the police; he could have launched a judicial inquiry with powers to subpoena evidence and witnesses; and most of all, give President Mottley’s call for morals and ethics in politics, those businesses should have been banned from government business.
    ICBL was linked in one of the scandals, yet minister Straughan was recently a guest at one of their events. What message does this send?
    The attorney general’s action has shown he is not fit for office, especially given the Donville Inniss affair. Barbados is a failed state.

6. will not…..

7. Those who pay bribes and those who take bribes should be punished equally.

8. @ Hal

The question I have asked and never got a reply on is what has this government put in place to ensure that not only is Inniss charged locally, but that others involved in similar cases see the court door? Still no answer.

Also in the last 13 months what has been put in place to ensure that no MOF going forward will never be in a position to rape the NIS again? Still no answer.

We are told we must learn from our mistakes, I would go further and say our embarrassments. I mean how comical it must be to those outside looking on to see a minister charged in a US court and not even a single charges laid in a bajan court!

Lord if it wasn’t so sad I would laugh.

9. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Barbados: P.M. Mia Mottley had struct “gold” again. Barbados was chosen to be the venue for the Venezuela / Islands migration.

10. @John A

Who is responsible for pursuing the matter in Barbados? Should it be the police or DPP.

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Nation government pimp News.,.they are despicable, imps and pimps only too happy to help the MINORITY TRASH, PARASITES, CRIMINAL SYNDICATES …and Drug Cartel stay happy and CORRUPT…and keep the Barbados slave society FIRMLY IN PLACE….AND THE MAJORITY POPULATION MISINFORMED FOR ANOTHER 3 GENERATIONS..

12. William Skinner Avatar

Hal
    Former Chief Justice David Simmons went on Brasstacks and said that corruption was rampant. So Marshall saying that people taking bribes really means nothing.
    You will not see any serious attempt by the BLPDLP to Stamp our corruption.
    Don’t forget Leroy Parris’ famous words to then PM Arthur:
    “ I have given you what you want. Now give me what I want”
    Don’t forget the Cheques given by CLICO to the BLP that Arthur cashed.
    All that we know is that Inniss is the first to be caught. Many others have gotten away and still getting away.
    It’s Crop Over my friend. Tell um easy.

Duopoly Rules

13. @ David

If You remember what the AG said he was “pleading with the police ” to move on the issue and they said they were waiting on the DPP.

My friend I can’t help you as it came across as 3 cars stop at a 3 crossing and each waiting on the other to move.

14. David I didn’t make up the word “pleading.” The AG was directly quoted as saying that

15. Also if you recall the commissioner said ” I do not act on rumours i will act only of facts. ”

So I can only assume seeing that no file fell off a truck and landed on his desk nothing happened.

16. Who is responsible for pursuing the matter in Barbados? Should it be the police or DPP.(Quote)

@ John A

Some people think I am rude about the chairman, but his ignorance borders stupidity. If he is playing Devil’s advocate, he is going about it the wrong way.
    Apart from the mental defective, his contributions to BU are the most juvenile. Sometimes I think I expect too much from him. His great contribution was to launch the blog. He should stop joining in discussions.

17. I am not at all surprised. Last week as I have reported on this blog, a moderator on a call-in program had the temerity to caution a caller about discussing news items that would make Barbados look bad on the international stage. Speaking from personal experience with the “Nation”, it seems to be eager to publish a lot sensational and salacious news. I have had several run-ins with this paper. Simple scientific replies by me to clear up the dissemination of incorrect data to the public have not been published by this organization. It annoyed me enough that I sent it an E-mail. I stated that the day would come (like it has in the more developed countries) when the power of print media would be replaced by social media: and that furthermore a disservice was being done to the people of this island by the conduct of the newspaper. I ended up by stating thank God for the internet. I was banned for about ten years by the ” Nation”. Each time I sent off an article.it would come back stating that the address couldn’t be found. I was shocked when in 2018,the “Nation” published the first article of three by me which dealt with the sewerage problem. Articles two and three weren’t published. I again E-mailed the “Nation” expressing my shock that one of my articles had been published. I wanted to know why the two follow-up articles hadn’t been published. I am still awaiting a reply from them. I have also sent my reply to Mohammed Iqbal Degia’s rant on western civilization for publication to it. It seems that I will have to wait another decade before anything by me is published. I have been of a mind to inquire from it what it is about Michael Ray that he seems to be able to get things publish at will in the “Nation”. I used to be able to get things published in the “Advocate”: But like the ” Nation” that also went west so I sent them an E-mail along similar lines to the “Nation.” It appears that I am persona non gratis with both publishing houses. The print media have been a disgrace to this Island. It has failed its reason d’ettre. It appears to have colluded with the elite to hoodwink the populace of this country. That semi-state funeral for. Harold Hoyte was a lot of bs( I stand by this statement).

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And if yall think that the CARTEL does not have full control of Barbados, including what news they want out there to keep the BLACK population POWERLESS …even in the banking system, they DICTATE who can and cant get money …..just think again.

19. @ Hal.

Patience my friend patience……

20. @John A

Thanks.

Did you hear the news report where the AG advised he requested from the Minister of Home Affairs to send him a report on individuals on remand for six months to two years?

21. It is obvious that the Blue Party is preparing a coup d’état against the legitimate democratic government led by the Honourable Prime Minister.

Here in Barbados there are invisible, nameless forces at work who want to destabilize the legitimate government through drug trafficking, organized crime and social media criticism. They are deliberately spreading lies about the head of government and her honourable ministers.

We need to reinstate the death penalty for capital offences such as money laundering. We need a new DPP and a new chief of police to deal with and prosecute government crime from 2008 to 2018. We also need a reversal of the burden of proof for large assets. All Barbadians who own more than $1 million must prove the origin of their assets.

Otherwise, foreign countries will continue to laugh at Barbados and call us a banana republic.

The government must act quickly. It must show no mercy to the enemies of democracy. Our Honourable Prime Minister must now have a cold heart like Stalin and destroy the enemies of freedom. If there is no other way, we need special courts and a special prosecutor under Mia Mottley herself.

22. The few articles in the public media about government crime between 2008 and 2018 are a clear sign that these media have been infiltrated by the DLP. We therefore need better oversight of these media so that the government can better present its just positions.

23. @ Robert Lucas,

It is worse than that. Sometime ago I wrote privately to a reporter on Barbados Today offering to assist him with how to write news stories. I will not go in to details, but most of their news reports are really press releases.
    The young man, who I won’t name, replied that he was a senior reporter and too busy to communicate on the basics of writing stories. At the time he wrote that, one of his colleagues was asking me for assistance. Funny world.
    Without getting too technical, the news reporters are in need of basic training. But readers will not necessarily realise what is wrong. Did you see the report on Dr Sparman and the following correction/apology? Basic? Who are the sub-editors?

24. @ Tron

What you been smoking today? Lord you want to bring Stalin type law now? No all we need is accountability and a clearly defined system of justice. Don’t get me wrong I agree real foolishness went on in the past, but let us agree even they are entitled to a fair trial in our island. The problem is the rate we move at and indifference we show to swift justice is painless to watch and wait for. Yes this Inniss issue is embarrassing but what about the poor guy languishing in jail for years without trial, isn’t he too deserving of a quick trial?

25. @ Hal

I agree with your summary of the press but will go a step further and say they have no financially trained reporters either, as is evident of how they let BS like what was said by the NIS go unchallenged.

26. BROOKLYN, N.Y. – Ingrid Innes, the former chief executive officer, and Alex Tasker, a former senior vice president of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL), a Barbados-based insurance company, were charged in a superseding indictment unsealed on January 18, 2019, with laundering bribes to the former Minister of Industry of Barbados in exchange for his assistance in securing government contracts for ICBL.

Innes and Tasker are not in U.S. custody.

27. Notice that we have a state of emergency but the governor and all the security authorities aren’t acting. Some have been in custody for far too long and others like Inniss are exempt from punishment in Barbados because they have the blue membership card.

If the public prosecutor’s office and the police no longer work, we have to replace them. Our Prime Minister must take matters into her own hands for a few years, as supreme justice and executor.

The rule of law is less important than defending democracy and the will of the people.

28. @ John A

The answer to the lack of economic understanding is easy to sort out, as I have said on a number of occasions. They can either send a reporter for training, or recruit a fresh graduate and train him/her in journalism. I will also add politics and CARICOM to the list.
    But what can you say when our leading publication is owned by Trinidadians, when our national agenda is determined by foreigners.
    Look at the facts: how many households are there in Barbados? What are the sales figures of the Nation? Then look at the ad/editorial ratio – how many pages of news compared with the number of pages of advertising; then look at the rate card, how much the Nation charges for advertising space, deduct for costs including wages, and you have an idea of the profitability of the Nation. The realty is that Bajans do not read and do not want to pay for information/knowledge. We get what we pay for.
    By the way, the Nation does an overseas version that is a composite of the daily paper and made up of innocuous columns. I have stopped buying it.

29. @ David.

Yes I saw that report but what that speaks to is gross inefficiency and mismanagement of the system. Those are not issues that should reach the AGs desk at all.

It is my humble opinion that Barbados neither in its laws or court system, is ready or equipped to tackle issues such as money laundering or white collar corruption, as both the Inniss and Paris case has proven. We may be good at locking up a fellow for stealing a flask of rum, but when it comes to modern crimes as outlined above we in ready yet.

I mean if the AG got to plead with the commissioner to act and he says I waiting on the DPP and for someone to bring me the facts, what hope we really got in that arena?

I know on TV you see fellows doing this thing called ” investigating and financial forensics ” but could Lord that must be just all fake for TV don’t you think?

I never hear Clint Eastwood say “you see me I waiting here in my office for the criminal to come through my door.”

I know I should stop watching so much cop shows! Lol

30. @ Hal Austin June 29, 2019 4:39 PM

“Did you see the report on Dr Sparman and the following correction/apology? Basic? Who are the sub-editors?:”

I haven’t. Where will I find it? “Barbados Today?”

31. Yes. On BT.

32. @Hal.

I too have not bought a Nation for years and my reason is basically this. If I am in the business of selling advertising space would I risk to offend my advertisers to please my readers? NO

If you look at the coverage of the Inniss case no where in it was a nation journalist present in the US court to cover the case, to the best of my knowledge even though it was the first of its kind for us. At no time were open discussions printed on the weaknesses of the system in dealing with money laundering etc. But the pages full as hell of the next biggest ” wuk up and juck fetes” though. Why pray tell would I waste my money buying such printed excrement?

That is why you got to take your hat off to publications like the Financial Times, The New York Times and Bloomberg.

33. @John A

What is exposes is an inability of different arms of government to work together- the symptom.

It is a silo culture as far as decision-making at policy/strategic level supported by disparate systems at a tactical/operations level.

Will the real leaders stand up please!

Observing where are you?

34. @David

Lol the truth is I think most politicians are today walking the line between being a politician first and a minister second. If they have to chose on a hard decision, I think the politician rules over the minister, as a result I got little time for them with few exceptions.

I will say something now that will surprise you but politician I respect the most in recent years is Sir Lyoid. Forgive me I may of spelt his name wrong. He knew going to the IMF and introducing the measures would of cost him the elections, but he put country before party and that was a true sign of a patriotic politician in my opinion.

Plus you got to remember alot of people who could help in the restructuring are not willing to play the political game so they will stay out of that BS all together.

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Tron

Man you got de ole man heah brekking down wid laughter!!!

You said AND I QUOTE

“…If there is no other way, we need special courts and a special prosecutor under Mia Mottley herself…”

Every time you post I does search out you ingrunce and shit meself laughing

Den you said

“…Our Prime Minister must take matters into her own hands for a few years, as supreme justice and executor…”

Now people reading what you saying and feeling you making sport AND AT ONE LEVEL YOU ARE, but at another level, what you are saying is frighteningly accurate and presages the Mugabe reign yet to come

Keep writing!

After a while the actuality on the ground catches up with the predictions you wrote and peeple and sheeple stop and listen to what you are saying

Hopefully by then, it wont be too late.

36. @ Hal Austin June 29, 2019 5:23 PM

Thanks.

37. @ Hal Austin

“correction/apology? Basic? Who are the sub-editors?”

I didn’t see the above article, but I saw one where there were elementary mistakes. I am also banned by BT. Over a comment I made about an editorial in June last year: It was stated that the new government had failed. I made a comment in the comment section that who ever wrote the editorial had to be an idiot since one couldn’t come to a conclusion after only one month, about the success or failure of the new government..

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE That semi-state funeral for. Harold Hoyte was a lot of bs( I stand by this statement).

I CONCUR 100%

39. Legend,

It’s not too late for you to join the League of Justice. We need people like you who can do some rough work.

If you were to give up your aversion to the honorable government, apologize personally, you would be the ideal candidate for directing social media.

40. John A June 29, 2019 5:26 PM

@Hal.

I too have not bought a Nation for years and my reason is basically this. If I am in the business of selling advertising space would I risk to offend my advertisers to please my readers? NO

If you look at the coverage of the Inniss case no where in it was a nation journalist present in the US court to cover the case, to the best of my knowledge even though it was the first of its kind for us.

@John A, you assume the Nation can send a reporter to New York and he/she would get more information than Tony Best its resident correspondent in New York?

41. @Bajan in MY

The level of coverage on the issue was week and given the gravity of the situation a little disappointing.

My second point about the issue not being explored by independent analysis in the press locally, explaining the challenges for example in such a case, was also lacking.

They are other similar examples that I could mention which have caused me to decide to leave my money in my wallet, but i don’t feel the need to expand on them now other than to say they have fallen short of what they were in the past.

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

“what villains have occupied the seats of power in this country in recent times.”

No villains in the BLP then?

Never? never, never, never?

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I believe in Santa Claus.

The Easter Bunny too.

Also the Tooth Fairy.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A June 29, 2019 3:46 PM “We are told we must learn from our mistakes.”

Quoting a teacher friend of mine. “We do not learn from our mistakes. We learn from DOING THE CORRECTIONS.”

Has Barbados got to the point where we are ALL willing to do our corrections?

No?

Well all we ALL can expect then is more of the same.

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

With regard to the removal of commenting rights here is another perspective for consideration

This matter is a very contentious issue.

Here in the Fourth Estate of Barbados Underground, there have been, AND CONTINUE TO BE, articles which have been selectively closed by the Honourable Blogmaster.

Such an action may ensue AFTER IT IS DEEMED, BY MANAGEMENT, to be in the best interest of the blog, GIVEN THE CALIBRE OF THE CONTENT.

The Nation News exercised such a prerogative.

They are NOT SETUP LIKE Barbados Underground with its ability to post, Truth, Lies and In Between and having the superlative protection of The Cybersecurity of domain obscuration to protect the Website!

One thing that the Honourable Blogmaster did, AND DID WELL, was *** which affords each poster here protection UNLESS HE RETRACTS OR CHANGES THAT.

The Nation Nor Advocate nor Barbados Today were not set for Extreme Social Commentary AND CONSEQUENTLY HAS TO PLAY BY THE RULES or find themselves used for defamation

Do not forget the Viviane Gittens and Morris matter a few years ago.

We might have a grouse against these so called Newspapers BUT DONT LET US GET LED DOWN A PATHWAY BY the poster nor this blog, to support a sentiment that is unfair.

Finally, the writer’s comment is a single one ALONG A BT TIMELINE.

What that means is that ther might have been 14 other comments in the NationNews queue and they blocked everything after “x” time AND NOT THIS BLOGGER’S comment specifically

AND the Honourable Blogmaster you know this too.

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Commander Theophillus Gazerts

[[ Square Brackets time

At 8 48 PM de ole man got a job offer from Tron

“…Legend,

It’s not too late for you to join the League of Justice.

We need people like you who can do some rough work…”

While the specific name Rogue Works was not used Commander we can assume that…

Now Commander Theophillus do you think that this is the right time to deploy “Operation Black Hoax”?

You remember how we had planned the “White Hoax” counter plan?

Which was to send in a plant and then Expose all uh dem?

But Tron talking bout an apology, PROBABLY IN PUBLIC, out in front of de Parliament Buildings WID CAMERAS!!

Commander dat part is really hard cause it mean dat me AND DE GRANDSON, going got to apologise together.

Whuloss Commander, I jes thought of the most egregious thing possible.

Suppose Tron and Mugabe IN ADDITION TO MEKKING DE OLE MAN KISS SHE RING, mek de ole man apologize to Grenville Phillips aka Bedroom Police Aka Iso TALIBAN aka Free Range Nadman AND MRS LOONEY TUNES ?

Dat too rough Commander, it hard to even imagine

Write do ole man and gine me some advice bout what to do ok?

Write back in square brackets ok?]]

47. Barbados Today June 25

The issue was debated in the British Parliament last Thursday after being introduced by Member of Parliament Alec Shelbrooke whose father-in-law Gordon Spencer died at the Sparman Clinic on February 13 this year, 26 days after his arrival for treatment.(Quote)

Barbados Today June 27

Prime Minister Theresa May made the announcement in the House this week as she responded to a request from Member of Parliament Alec Shelbrooke, the son-in-law of British citizen Gordon Spencer, who died in an English hospital on February 13 this year, after being in the care of the Sparman Clinic for ten days.(Quote)

48. Dear Bloggers

I believe the nationnewspaper still has a very important role to play if it can understand the need to effectively execute its forth estate responsibilities without the obvious protective measures it employs towards keeping political and prominent interests intact.

However, if it is to be effective in that role, It cannot be contented in just presenting verbatim speeches without fact checking the verbatim of political disclosures and what they want us to believe is true about their efforts.

We were told that there is no corruption amongst the elected leaders of both parties. However, we are seeing signs that that is not true in the form of the Donville Inniss case, the lack of transparency in certain big money deals, and reports suggesting unexplained and unaccounted money streams (like the billion in off shore banks) that avoids financial checks and balances.

We also have some in the political life that suddenly are able to own things they were unable to afford before, who want us to believe that they did it all on salaries and savings accumulated over several years. It does not matter what the business community is saying about paying out bribes; it does not matter what the Auditor General is revealing accurately, and certainly does not matter what revelations we have now regarding the Donville Inniss case. What persons in political life want us to believe is that there is no collusion, no deal setting, no kickbacks and drawbacks from either party that can brandish them corrupt hence all is speculation and conjecture.

The nationnews must be interested in knowing that if the politicians are saying there are not corrupt, what is responsible for all the financial anomalies and new found wealth seen amongst some of them?

What I am seeing coming from this newspaper medium is that it is not in the business of presenting information to help stamp out corruption by exposing it, with articles that directly addresses it, while providing correlations that draw patterns to show where it can be found. The nationnews seems interested in reporting what others say about it and that is that.

For me, ”Others Bribed” is suggesting that we have an endemic and covert problem of corruption that is eating away at the ability of our small nation to operate in the highest levels of integrity, transparency and morality.

If all the noise about corruption is not enough to wet the appetites of the nationnews paper to write articles questioning the reasons why the ”Dynamic Duo’ of Bees and Dees remain reticent and reluctant to deal with it than I guess the nationnews paper is simply comfortable with it, unless they too are part of the covert operation.

There is just no explanation they can offer for closing the comments section of ”Other Bribes’. Perhaps there is no corruption to report on since from an article archiving of 5034 stories on their online news read, topics on Corruption, and editorials analyzing the Auditor General Reports fairs sparsely in comparison to other news items. This tells me that there is no seriousness on the part of the nationnews to stamp out corruption but only to report what others say about it

Lloyd P Gulston

49. Dear Piece of the Legend

Nothing can be further from the truth. I have no problem with the comments policy of the nationnews. I have always abided by their rules though I would venture a little into presenting views that can be a bit provocative.

I have been commenting on the nationnews paper blog for several years. I have never seen them closed the comments section at the introduction of a story. Perhaps before I came, but I have never seen that until now.

When the article was presented by the nationnews, the comments section came closed with it. I believe no one was able to make any comment regarding the subject at hand. What makes this article any different to let us say an article on what the Auditor General or Attorney General is disclosing? Surely, we have two situations that presenting us with corruption, yet we choose to keep one under grabs and the other is left for the public to share their feelings on the matter.

There are no special circumstances surrounding the ”Others Bribed” story that warrants this type of action by the nationnews paper. Either others took bribes or they did not. Either the business community is telling lies about dishing out scratch me back monies for political favours or they are not.

I believe firmly that we can no longer operate under this misguided set of values that is seeking to make us believe that everything is right and on the upright in Barbados, as long as our media houses are prepared to simply tow the lines with news.

You may infer what you wish to see, believe, or opine base on your own interpretation. I simply do not believe that such an article was worth closing the comments section since the evidence of the Auditor General reports is telling us that we have financial mismanagement problems that are lending fuel to the claims and firm beliefs that we are operating under well planned corruption

All efforts to bring those charge with the power of change must be used to its fullest to see that change comes about.

Where do you stand in this fight, Mr Piece the Legend? Your defense of the nationnews is acknowledged, your seeking to cast a bias and personal spin on what I wrote is not.

Best regards

LPG

50. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

They are all still trying to cover up the corruption and keep the bondage style philosophy and nasty racist practices..they have on the population IN PLAY INDEFINITELY FOR THEM and THEIR BRIBER’S BENEFIT……and putting their imps and pimps in place to WATCH and FOLLOW PEOPLE AROUND WHOM THEY SEE AS A CURRENT THREAT TO THEIR CORRUPT PRACTICES AND HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES OF THE MAJORITY POPULATION…

but let them carry on smartly…cause while they got people following others around…WE GOT PEOPLE FOLLOWING THEIR BACKSIDES AROUND TOO…..and they nah know who they are……..so there…