The displays at the recently held BMEX 2019 shows that Barbadians can create internationally competitive products. With the health and education investments made in our people, we can easily surpass the achievements of a country like Singapore within a decade, if we choose to, or are allowed to.

Many of us choose not to because we do not believe that we can. We believe that great achievements are for those of another: class, race, colour, gender, or nationality. It is time to change that, and the first step on that path is to change our perspective on our life-journey. This awakens us to opportunities easily within our reach.

Your past achievements are not monuments to be adorned and admired, but foundations to build upon. Regardless of your age, health, past achievements, or current circumstances, the best day of your life is always today; and tomorrow is always going to be a better day for you than today.

Today, you get to correct the mistakes that you made yesterday. You get to redo things that did not work-out well before. You get to try something new. You get to repair relationships, and say what you meant in a kinder way.

Today, you get to be a better: child, sibling, parent, employee, employer, and friend. You get to be a better you, and correct any deficiencies you are now aware of, because of the criticisms you received yesterday. You get to learn how to do some things better. You get to improve your products, attract more customers and make more money.

Every day you will face obstacles. Today, you get to try another way around or over them. You do that by identifying opportunities. If your landlord increases the rent, then remind yourself that you are no longer a slave. You do not have to stay there – make arrangements to find a more affordable place. If your employer is giving you grief, then you are no longer a slave – you do not have to work there. Find another job or start your own business.

If a business is giving you bad service, acknowledge that you do not have to purchase anything from them. They have no power over you. Stop wasting your time complaining as if you were a slave with few options, and go and shop elsewhere. You have options that our slave foreparents never had. Earn their sacrifice.

The only obstacles that can limit our success, are bad political decisions that result in unnecessary and excessive regulations and taxation. The aim of these policies is to keep everyone down, so that political leaders can selectively waive the regulations and taxes from their political supporters. Thus, the Government decides who wins and who loses. What is appalling is that those who benefit from this corruption, are then promoted by the Government as persons who succeeded by merit.

Excessive taxation is the normal result of the mismanagement of public services. We entrust the management of our public services to our elected political leaders. If health, sanitation, water, transportation, and all other public services are well managed, then we will spend less time waiting to use them. We will also be taxed considerably less to fund efficiently delivered services.

If public services are poorly managed, then we must spend more time waiting to use them. We must also pay considerably higher taxes, to fund the poorly managed inefficient operations and unproductive employees.

We are not the only country facing the problem of poorly managed public services. This is a common problem faced by every country on this planet. In response, the International Organisation Standardization (ISO) developed specific guidance for managing public services and Government operations to an internationally competitive standard. Unfortunately, despite Barbados being a member of the 161-member ISO, our political leaders have decided that those standards are too good for us.

Instead, we continue to use the same ridiculous management method, that has consistently failed to provide relief to the public and public workers. That is, to appoint extreme political supporters, who have no management experience whatsoever, to boards where they direct the mismanagement of public services. The only time that Barbadians can hope to experience well managed public services, is if we travel to countries that have implemented high management standards.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

158 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Best Day of Your Life”

1. With the health and education investments made in our people, we can easily surpass the achievements of a country like Singapore within a decade, if we choose to, or are allowed to.

In your dreams!!

Look at Singapore’s water resources!!

Don’t waste our time with this repetitive rubbish!!

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I loved this piece until I reached the ISO plug. But it is essential reading for the young. They need all the encouragement they can get.

3. That’s a tall order since Singapore has been performing world class for over 50 years. The difference is simply beyond anything you imagine. What you saw and think you saw is small beer.
    https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexcapri/2018/09/21/5-reasons-why-the-worlds-tech-firms-are-moving-to-singapore/#7bbc80f92aa0https://www.thenational.ae/business/singapore-s-big-play-for-the-australian-exchange-1.588801
    Look at the number of ports in Singapore, a tiny island that’s a little larger than Barbados.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PSA_International

4. Singapore has 4 sources of water … rainfall, river in state of Johor, sewage and desalination.

People with plans usually succeed!!

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

TO DREAM THE IMPOSSIBLE DREAM…
    THINK POSITIVELY; IT’S EASIER
    CONTINUE LEARNING AS LONG AS YOU LIVE
    LEARN FROM YOUR MISTAKES
    DO NOT COMPLICATE ONE’S LIFE UNNECESSARILY
    TRY & NEVER GIVE UP; SUCCESS IN LIFE IS A MARATHON
    SET GOALS AND PURSUE YOUR DREAMS

To dream the impossible dream
    To fight the unbeatable foe
    To bear the unbearable sorrow
    To run where the brave dare not go

To write the unwritable wrong
    To be better far than you are
    To try when your arms are too weary
    The reach the unreachable star

This is my quest, to follow that star
    No matter how hopeless,
    No matter how far
    To fight for the right
    Whithout question or pause
    To be willing to march into hell
    For a heavenly cause

And I know if I’ll only be true
    To this glorious quest
    That my heart will be peaceful and calm
    When I’m laid to my rest

And the world would be better for this
    That one man scorned and covered with scars
    Still strove with his last ounce of courage
    To reach the unreachable star

https://www.slickwords.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/work-hard-stay-humble-dream-big-63469-alt-3.png

6. John:

Many have found the article encouraging. However, some, like yourself, will consider it rubbish. If you do not want to waste your time, then do not read it – no one is forcing you to.

On Singapore, they took a long time to get to where we were in the 1970s – which was a professional public service. Then they professionalized theirs with ISO, while we politicized ours. We can professionalize ours once again – which is Solutions Barbados’ plan.

7. John:
    Many have found the article encouraging. However, some, like yourself, will consider it rubbish.

I consider the reference to Singapore rubbish!!

Singapore is characterized by leadership with vision and a plan.

To imply we can just get there because Singapore did is just plain misleading rubbish.

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

Watch how the man child going come back to malign John.

He going tell he someting bout he, that is Iso TALIBAN ‘s Singaporean qualities AND HE NEX MAD ASS SIDEKICK Looney Tunes going start singing Frank Sinatra or some sort of shit.

But I glad Grenville Phillips Whiting he jobby for everyone to see what de ole MSN was telling wunna for a while

NOW WUNNA SEEING FOR WUNNASELVES

Outpatient Iso Talibsn

9. William Skinner Avatar

Are we trying to be the best we can be or the best Singapore is ?
    Should we be thinking of Singapore or delivering water to those who can’t get it?
    What about an excellent bus service?
    Rather than look at the products and think Singapore, why not look at them and just think about markets and export.
    We just keep thinking the wrong way.
    I went to a trade show, I saw some excellent products, we can surpass Singapore in ten years.
    How long has there been BIMEX.

10. The point was that we can be internationally competitive. Singapore was used because we were far more advanced than them and now we are not. They are a useful standard to currently aim for – not misleading at all.

11. John: Of course we need visionary leadership and a plan. That is what the article was about. It obviously cannot happen with the current leadership and BERT plan.

To ensure that I do not misunderstand you. Do you agree that with visionary leadership and a plan, it is possible for Barbados to be generally as internationally competitive as Singapore?

12. William Skinner Avatar

Barbados needs future leaders who think that Barbados can be managed and it’s people can achieve more than ANY country in the world!
    We should set out to be beyond Singapore.
    Sir Garry Sobers remains the best all rounder in the worldNobody has come close . He should be the gold standard we aspire to. He is the only Barbadian that has set that standard.
    But then again he was no lawyer or from the so-called professions.
    You take Singapore. Give me Sir Garry!

13. @William

What is the point you are making here?

We need leadership it is true.

How does the leadership we yearn for emerge?

Has the Barbados society reached a point where the culture is so entrenched that any attempt to change it will mean failure by those attempting to change it?

Is good leadership by definition all required to make the change?

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

WE NEED GOOD LEADERSHIP!

THAT DOES NOT MEAN WE NEED ANY RH LEADERSHIP!

GRENVILLE aka Iso TALIBAN IS ANY Decrepit leadership

What is so hard about this for you to understand Honourable Blogmaster?

Steupse

15. nextparty246
    June 18, 2019 11:58 PM

John: Of course we need visionary leadership and a plan. That is what the article was about. It obviously cannot happen with the current leadership and BERT plan.
    To ensure that I do not misunderstand you. Do you agree that with visionary leadership and a plan, it is possible for Barbados to be generally as internationally competitive as Singapore?

No, definitely not.

Water is the difference.

We could never compete with Singapore.

For example, Singapore gets up to 265 million gallons of water per day from the Malaysian Peninsula.

Our entire water resource is 44 million gallons per day … now if you can get a line to the rivers in Guyana …!!

Singapore has conquered sewage (look at us) and they have desal … I mean real desal.

But more importantly, their land use planning addresses the huge issue of maximizing the collection of water.

We treat our land resource like … well … dirt!!

We got to make our own way in this world and find our own niche.

I gave one already …. “Every square inch of Barbados is a World Heritage Site”

Nowhere else has a history like ours!!

Use it, give God the glory!!

16. @John

Desalination cannot be the answer ?

17. Of course …. but the question is what economy is going to pay for it?

18. We are not Dubai!!!

We have what we have.

… and by the way, why is it so important to compete with Singapore?

Why not just do our best in the World with what God has given us.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

FOR GODS SAKE CANT YOU ASK A QUESTION PROPERLY?
    DID YOU GO TO SCHOOL?

CAN DESALINATION NOT BE THE ANSWER……….IS THE ACCEPTED WAY.

20. William Skinner Avatar

Try to see leadership in a broader sense. For example you are a leader, who has given us a blog that we can express ourselves. You should therefore seek to make the blog the best in Barbados and the world.
    Granville should seek to make solutions the best political choice in the country. Then he should seek to make it one of the greatest political parties in the world.
    Brian Lara broke Sir Garry’s record twice. Hence he became one of the greatest batsmen in the world.
    Hope you get my drift.
    The world should be our goal not Singapore.
    You are constantly only seeing leadership in Parliament. Broaden your perspective. You are a leader. Think like one!

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

“…I went to a trade show, I saw some excellent products, we can surpass Singapore in ten years.

How long has there been BIMEX…?”

I have been posting here for over a year about Iso TALIBAN the dufus.

I have said that, outside of Stinkliar, this man I’d the biggest possible failure we bajan have waiting jn the car park.

I, AND MANY MORE, including my fellow Myope Dr GP, have repeatedly said that the MAN IS NOT A LEADER

IN FACT WE HAVE SAID THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS MUST NEVER ENTER PARLIAMENT!!!

And, if only to show his abysmal incompetence he says ” I went to a trade show, I saw some excellent products AND THEN HIS COUP DE GRAS – 10 YEARS WE ARE SINGAPORE.

A true dufus and one whom I pledge will never enter our House of Assembly

22. Hi John:

Thank you for your feedback. It is appreciated.

William:

I agree with you. Singapore should not be the goal, but it should be a milestone that we should pass. That is why the first paragraph states: “we can easily surpass the achievements of a country like Singapore within a decade, if we choose to, or are allowed to.”

We are already internationally competitive in several areas. We are just held back by our perspectives, and bad political decisions that allow political leaders to decide who wins and loses in our economy – which was explained in the article.

David:

The BWA is badly managed. We do not have a water scarcity problem, we have a water management problem. Approximately half of all of the water in our mains leaks and is wasted – that is scandalous, but we have learnt to accept that abysmal standard. We pay for that wasted water, but it is never used. Instead, many households must unnecessarily do without.

Since we politicized our public service, our main problem has been bad management of public services. It can only get worse, until Government decides that the wastage is too costly, and it is more economical to privatize and regulate.

Why is it badly managed? Because we have adopted, and the public has accepted, the management method of rewarding political supporters.

23. Piece:

I get it. You do not want anyone who has a stellar career of solving problems – you do not want a doer. Instead, you want a talker. You want someone like a lawyer, who can talk around problems, but never fix them. You want a charismatic person who can sway crowds. You definitely do not want an Engineer.

So you want Verla, or Mia, or Dale, or any of the lawyers in the BLP/DLP. You want an Errol or a Tom. You want a charismatic speaker, rather than a non-charismatic doer. I get that. Compared to Verla, Mia and Lynette, I readily admit that I am a terrible speaker. We get better at what we practise, and I have spent a 30-year career practising doing. However, I am getting better at speaking – because I am practising – but still no where near as fluent as Mia.

We are at the point in our development when the charismatic speakers can no longer pretend that they are doers. They have failed us. The problems that they have neglected for so long, but tricked us that they were fixing, are affecting everyone.

If you think that it is your God-given assignment to keep propping up that type of leader, and discouraging persons from considering a doer, then please continue to obey God.

24. Freedom Crier Avatar

WHERE THERE IS NO VISION THE PEOPLE PERISH…

True Leadership Qualities are Elusive and Difficult to have in One Package, it is Usually a Mixture of Creativity, Determination, the Ability to Listen, Discernment, the Ability to Act on One’s Beliefs, to Remain Humble, the Ability to Inspire others, the Ability to See what has Evaded others and Loyalty to those whom you Serve and that Serve you.

The Mix of these Attributes help to Determine the Effectiveness of a Leader and more of one Attribute at a time in History may Determine the Effectiveness of that leader. To give you a Biblical Example of Leadership and Good Governance we can look at Joseph in Egypt.

(1) Joseph showed his Leadership Qualities when he was in charge of Potiphar’s Financial Affairs.
    (2) Joseph while in Prison on wrong Charges, was put in Charge of the Organization within the Prison.
    (3) When Joseph gained his Freedom by Interpreting the Kings Dream, Pharaoh made him second in Command in Egypt. Joseph Organized the Whole of Egypt to make it Prosperous, to keep it Prosperous, and to help the Citizenry.

Sometimes what go missing in the Story were Joseph’s Inspiration and his Moral Character that made him a Cut above Ordinary Leaders to Create Great Wealth.

JOSEPH WENT FROM BEING A PRISONER TO BEING THE SECOND MOST IMPORTANT PERSON IN ALL OF EGYPT.

There may be more than 600,000 Bajan’s in the world and every one of them may want to tell you what to do in Barbados. So which Opinion should we follow or do? Is it those who Criticize Day and Night? Is it those who Double Down on Stupid Ideas? Alternatively, do we Look for things that Make Sense and do we not Seek Someone with Moral Fiber that have Leadership Qualities and Choose Not their Own Welfare but the Welfare of All?

A Person of Understanding of How Things Work, a Person of that maybe Inspired, a person of Good Character, let us look again at the Story of Joseph. His Inspiration and his Ability to Commune with God allowed him to See the Kings Dream and the Interpretation of that Dream.

After having been put in Charge of All of Egypt and having started the Collection of Grain into Storehouses and the Preservation of that Grain, a Record was kept of All who Contributed and what they Contributed until there were not enough Grain Houses to Store the Grain. In the Time of Plenty All of Egypt Prospered and in the Time of a Seven Year Drought Egypt Survived and those that Contributed had Grain to feed themselves and their families. Even those who did not Contribute had Grain to Eat, but they has to pay back after the Drought was finished, they had to repay 1/5 of their Crops for a number of years.

Through Joseph’s leadership Egypt Prospered and was a Savior to All the Surrounding Lands, including his own family. Most people Miss the Fairness and Equity that Joseph Dealt with all of the Citizens of Egypt and at the same time making Egypt’s Government Wealthy.

INSPIRATION, LEADERSHIP AND GOOD GOVERNANCE GO HAND IN HAND, WITH THE RESULT BEING GREAT PROSPERITY.

Mr.Phillips has shown himself to be a Leader and also shown himself to Insists on Good Governance. He has also Shown himself to be a Man of God. These Qualities should be Sought After and not Denigrated. We Do Not Know if he is a Type of Joseph but his voice should be heard above those who seek to Disparage him on BU. His Voice is one of Reason, his Voice is One of Encouragement, his Voice is one of Illuminating the Path before us and he holds God as his Guiding Light. Whither you Agree with him or Disagree with him his Voice needs to be heard.

THE NAYSAYERS HERE ON BU PUT FORWARD GOOD CONCRETE IDEAS OR SHUT UP!

https://img.haikudeck.com/mg/KndHfsOwv3_1425476686328.jpg

25. @John

One has to assume adopting/implementing a desalination program must be scalable to address the cost issue.

26. Good points but Barbados is a democracy and if GP2 want to lead this country he must first get our votes .

Joseph proved himself to the Pharoah, GP2 has not proven himself to the electorate as yet!

27. On desalination.

Please note that whatever we pay the desal plant for water, we must order twice the amount, with half of it being wasted. Plus we pay for the high cost of repairing an average of 3 breaks in the line daily, and all of the associated inefficiencies. So we significantly overpay for public services, and must be taxed accordingly.

Of course, all we need is a well-delivered speech by a charismatic leader, and we willingly line-up to pay the unnecessary additional costs. Eventually, the ‘house of cards’ will fail, and we will adapt to the new normal, like every other country with a politically ruined economy.

28. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Iso TALIBAN and
    @ Grenville Phillips

Look at my salutation!

What am I trying to say to you?

What cant you see?

Have I ever over all these years of writing here about you or your character cast EVEN ONE ASPERSION ABOUT YOUR FAMILY LIFE or outside women or men?

NEVER!!!

In fact I have commended you for it.

You started Wentbridge College and made that free offer to grain and I said kudos Grenville and suggested you come back with the real metrics.

Show us jobs secured, show us PAYE slips give us evidence.

We have a crime and violence issue with de people killing nuff people.

I suggested that you stopped talking and showed us your solution.

You simply are not getting this are you?

We bajans tired of the lotta talk Grenville, WE WANT ACTION AND RESULTS, SHOW US WHAT YOU CAN DO

I recognize that you are not a charismatic talker but no one really cares about that when they are faced by people who have said that they are coming in your house eight two clips a short and a long one!

My man, from de time dem said dem words, I would have been up dem assholes like Messels used to be pun dem botty byoi dem!!.

All people want you to do is start delivering something NOW Grenville ANYTHING THAT SHOWS YOU ARE CAPABLE.

No one gives a rat’s ass about Reverend Pastor Bishop Joseph Atherley hijacking your party colours.

You are not in Parliament and that sort of empty talk is useless.

What can you do to make a difference?

29. Who are the other officers of Solutions, apart from president Junior?

30. Freedom has Witness Mr.Phillips teaching Principles that if Applied would assist others to better govern their affairs. To keep insisting that he “WE WANT ACTION AND RESULTS, SHOW US WHAT YOU CAN DO”…Well what Planet have you been on, as this man has been doing just that, weekly on BU but your Ole Brain has Convenient Memory Vacancies. Yours is just to Disparage and Degrade and Try to Drag a Good man down to your Demented Level!

Mr.Phillips it’s notable that sense 2002, you assigned responsibility was to develop an action plan to prepare the professional services sector to be internationally competitive by the Ministry of Economic as it was critically important to understand that trade agreements are negotiated to give a country’s industries a competitive trade advantage.

You oversaw a committee of over 25 Professional Associations in Barbados who Collectively gave a Considerable Value of their time to the tune of approximately $0.5M to develop a report that “detailed strategies and actions that individuals and associations should pursue to allow Barbadian businesses to become internationally competitive. It also included the critical actions that the Government needed to complete to facilitate economic growth in the services sector.”

This Plan was Successful as it was designed too for those who put it into action. You blazed the Trail in this effort by becoming by becoming the first person to qualify as a Chartered Structural Engineer in 15 years in Barbados. And you did not stop there you then trained others to successfully achieve the same international qualification.

The Grenville Phillips Column – The End Game, Part 2 – Choking on Worms…The rest of the Article speaks of the seeds planted and the Harvest reaped as you worked on projects worth over $500,000,000 over the next 5 years, and earned foreign currency in 10 Caribbean countries and was awarded for your efforts as the first service company in the Caribbean to attain the ISO 9001 quality management standard, winning the BIDC’s Exceptional Quality award.

The plan was so successful that in 2014 you were the front-runner of the National Innovation Competition, and president of Walbrent College.

The break down came as the Governments B & D failed implement the critical actions to facilitate the economic growth of the sector. And that is where the EU Exploiters stepped in dangling ‘Aid for Trade’ hook-worms to guarantee our participation.

Mr. Phillips Background and Credentials Speaks Boldly of the Road he Traveled and what he has Accomplished… Where are your Accomplishments Ole Man, besides BLABLABLA!!!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-sWwuPsskzuk/UsY5RFAQgxI/AAAAAAAAAeY/ToKfszYMU2M/s1600/talk+loud.png

31. David
    June 19, 2019 9:43 AM

One have to assume adopting/implementing a desalination program has to be scalable to address the cost issue.

Been there, done that!!!

That’s why the ground water unit called Trents was dammed.

In the words (as far as I can remember them) of Philip Atwell, a director of COW Williams, desal made no sense as a source of water … too costly.

So the Farmers area was dammed to provide water for Apes Hill!!

Even though the 2mgd Porters Catchment had already been exploited for Westmoreland.

If you want to check me out go look in the Nation newspaper in 2006!!

The best we can hope for is that the cost of desal is falling.

32. nextparty246
    June 19, 2019 10:06 AM

On desalination.
    Please note that whatever we pay the desal plant for water, we must order twice the amount, with half of it being wasted. Plus we pay for the high cost of repairing an average of 3 breaks in the line daily, and all of the associated inefficiencies. So we significantly overpay for public services, and must be taxed accordingly.
    Of course, all we need is a well-delivered speech by a charismatic leader, and we willingly line-up to pay the unnecessary additional costs. Eventually, the ‘house of cards’ will fail, and we will adapt to the new normal, like every other country with a politically ruined economy.

Think through the water in the Scotland District.

Similar problem to Singapore … how to harness every cubic inch of the rain God gives us.

You are an engineer … and a civil one at that.

Where are the reservoirs (natural) in Barbados?

Aren’t they in the sheet water Area?

No guarantee there is a great volume of water but how would you go about determining what that number is?

Use your engineering brain, forget about the leadership … for now … and look at solving problems!!

May need no treatment!!

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John at 11:29 AM

Thanks for confirming my hypothesis of a few blogs back.
    Desalination should be the last option after plugging the leaks in piping and BWA revenue. But they are too difficult to handle. I wonder why? Perhaps they are too obvious and too Utopian.

34. @William and John

Given wheee were are today fixing the leaks will take some time, in the meantime we have to generate adequate water to satisfy demand.

35. Vincent.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David at 11:41 AM

You are unbelievable. “Fixing the leaks will take some time.” And building another desalination plant? That only heeds steel? WDR!!

37. @Vincent

Enough has been said about the 140 year old mains and the time it will take for replacement to take. Off the shelf Desalination Solutions are available. This has also been widely discussed in the period of the water warriors.

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11:41 PM

Did you put us where we are today so that you may have an excuse not to execute sound advice? Wuh Loss!!!

39. Sharing an opinion Vincente.

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

At what point are you going to deal with this problem? When there is a 100% leakage? Are you going to get the desalinated water free of cost? Or build your own desalination free of cost ? You are the same person who stated on this Blog that the BWA Office building resources should have gone into the BWA leaking distribution repairs.

How is this new scenario different? Time for some linear thinking.

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Vincent Codrington

De ole man will answer your question which you prefaced by saying

“…You are the same person who stated on this Blog that the BWA Office building resources should have gone into the BWA leaking distribution repairs…”

Then you wisely asked why this volte face?

Because this is the information that the Minister of Disinformation has been given to share out.

Why else?

Follow this reasoning Mr Codrington

Prior to May 24th 2018, the scant resources should have fixed ghd leaks AND NOT BUILT A BUILDING

Now one year later THE EVEN SCANTIER RESOURCES MUST NOT FIX THE LEAKS BUT BUILD A DESALINATION PLANT!

What you think is the message Mr Codrington?

MUGABE AND MY PEOPLE GOT TO GET SOME OF THE LOTTO MONEY FOR THE PREVIOUS LOTO (Leader of the Opposition)

You should understand now

But I dun know that you do, and you only playing you slow heheheheh

42. David
    June 19, 2019 12:10 PM

Off the shelf Desalination Solutions are available

Been there, done that too.

A second brackish “desal” plant was operated in the Content groundwater unit in St. Lucy.

However, there was not sufficient freshwater feeding the freshwater lens (sheet water, to prevent the salinity rising to levels the “off the shelf” package unit could handle … or so I was told or read.

You are confusing seawater with brackish water.

It is far more difficult and expensive to process seawater to potable water than it is to convert brackish water to potable water.

So, before we get to desal … I mean proper desal … we need to exhaust whatever fresh water sources are economically feasible!!

43. @Vincent

If the blogmaster was running things the new HQ would not have been built and government resources through borrowing instead diverted to aggressive mains replacement.

The reality is that it will take years to replace the rotten mains, in the mean time short term solutions are required to satisfy demand for water today and in the short term. Hope you understand the point.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I have read what you wrote . It makes absolutely no economic sense.You are desalinating water at high cost to put into a system that is losing between 40% –60% of what is pumped into it.

45. Please note the following.

Priority 1 – Addressing Leaks

Replacing the mains to stop 50% of leakage does not have to take years. It is the old mains that leak and result in expensive road maintenance. The pipes are relatively inexpensive. It is the installation (and road rehabilitation) cost that is expensive. Therefore, we can have a 2-phased approach.

Phase 1 is to stop 50% of wastage, thereby reducing the supply cost and building-up a reserve. This can be done by generally running surface lines, and sub-surface at traffic junctions.

Phase 2 is to bury all pipes according to an importance schedule, as we can afford to do so (with the reserve).

Priority 2 – New Water Sources

It may be that we do not need new sources once we have stopped wasting 50% of our water, and the new lines can take the pressure that the old ones cannot. However, if we do need additional sources, then we can increase extraction from wells that have available capacity. Again, we cannot exploit the available capacity because the pipes do not have the capacity to distribute it.

Priority 3 – Implementation

The problem is not with coming up with workable and economical solutions. Any of the above can be refined based on the current state of affairs – I understand that leaks may now be as high as 60%. It is in implementation that we always fall down. That is why advising doers to “forget about leadership” and spend a few more decades giving advice that is never implemented, is terrible advice for Barbados, but great advice that only benefits the BLP/DLP party.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP II

Good.

47. @Grenville

Have you told this to the BWA? Why have they embarked on the other option of laying the pipes underground?

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    “The pipes are relatively inexpensive. It is the installation (and road rehabilitation) cost that is expensive. Therefore, we can have a 2-phased approach.”
    This is an interesting idea, but the road network here is crossed by so many gaps, driveways, and other access points that it might not be feasible.

They are trying to replace water main infrastructure out by me in Long Bay St Philip. They have been working on it for 18 months and the road is only 500 meters long. In that space of half a kilometer there are 51 gaps, driveways and crossroads on one side or the other that have to be accommodated. This makes above ground water main infrastructure problematic. It has been 18 months and the work is only half done. For 500 meters. Do you see the problem.

The BWA needs proper tools, techniques and management. This job should have been completed in two months. They are using a backhoe to dig the trench as though it is still 1940. A modern trenching machine could have dug the entire 500 meters in a single day and steel plates could have been deployed over the trench to maintain temporary access to gaps and driveways.
    http://nextrencher.com/en/pr/zanjadoras-de-cadenas-sobre-ruedas/zanjadora-de-cadena-sobre-ruedas-rp-385-510-RP..385/510-15

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Sorry the URL above showing a trenching machine got mangled. Here is a little video of competent trench digging.

50. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Piece the Legend at 12 :35 PM

David Bu claims that he playing idiot. I have decided to write my self into the Play and have taken on the role as Boss Idiot.