Many issues of the day continue to question our ability to govern. One of them is the health of the National Insurance Fund (NIF). If you listen to the politician while in Opposition, it is a fund under stress. If you listen to the same politician on attaining the office of government, the NIF is described in more positive terms.

For the sober in the crowd there are the actuarial reviews to consider. Successive governments have been unresponsiveness to public inquiry about  releasing the reviews for public consumption in a timely manner. Of equal concern has been the inability of successive governments to ensure the timely release of audited financials to parliament.

Generations of Barbadians have contributed to the NIF to give currency to the tagline – it is our lifeline.  Auditor General report after report detail bad investment decisions taken by successive governments of  National Insurance Scheme (NIS) motivated by pampering and pandering the old boy network. The “investment” of USD60 millions in Clearwater Bay referred to loosely by Barbadians as Four Seasons is one example.

The NIS is one of a handful of state owned entities that should be ring-fenced to protect against the incompetence of the political class.  Judging from all reputable sources of economic data, the inability to adequately govern a 166 square mile, less than three hundred thousand people located in an idyllic geography should be evidence enough.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley and the Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw have signaled in recent weeks that major reform is coming for the education  system. The issue of revamping the  system has been discussed for decades by the more progressive minds. The inability of our leading lights to manage the NIS and the other entities that combine to ensure well functioning organs in the society is an indictment on the current system of edcuation.

Successive NIS Boards, NIS Investment Committees and the ancillary services have been managed by “educated” Barbadians.  The performance of the NIS like the judiciary, like the BWA, like the transportation system, like the waste management system, like the PSV sector etc etc all point to the inability to convert significant investment in education in the post Independence period.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) since wining office in May 2018 has aggressively pursued economic strategies to address an economy in free fall.  Interestingly, we have not observed the same urgency to address challenges with the NIS. In fact Prime Minister Mia Mottley hinted that the hesitation to address the NIS problem is rooted in the enormity of the solution required given the future obligations of the fund.

This week it was reported that millions of  Brazilians protested against President Jair Bolsonaro’s plan to privatize the pension plan. The story attracted the attention of this blogmaster because one senses that Barbados will have to implement draconian measures to protect the NIS for the many sooner rather than later. Already President hBolsonaro as suspended several benefits to Brazil’s low income, disabled and senior citizens. Only a few years ago Brazil was considered the emerging economy from the Latam region.

Related links:

Brazil: Bolsonaro to Suspend Senior, Disabled Benefits Programs

Brazil: Millions Protest Bolsonaro’s Neoliberal Pension Reform

The message to Barbadians is that we cannot continue to do the same thing all the time and expect a different result.

BB = P+G (E*SOEs +NG-S)

232 responses to “Rise of the Uneducated Class”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron at 6:5 p.. of June 1, 2019

Looking for another way to transfer the black working people’s money into the pockets of you and your useless greedy friends are you?

2. @ Pachamama June 15, 2019 9:21 PM
    “We are in much more danger from the hordes of the miseducated classes than the uneducated
    At least the uneducated can rely on their innate sensibilities
    Those sensibilities are trained out of the miseducated.
    These instincts gravitate the uneducated towards land ownership and real assets. Building things with their hands and minds. Employing the miseducated sub-humans.
    Whereas the miseducated continue to walk around thinking that all other things should be added them because their have a head full of brain space carrying somebody else’s thinking.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pacha Sage, the Ascended Master, you have just untied the Gordian knot to the Bajan psyche as to why there has been a dramatic fall from grace from being the ‘best-managed black country’ to one bordering on the brink of abject incompetence which your English bête noir Hal constantly refers to as a “failed state”.

The Bajan “mis-educated” class ‘have’ indeed lost that natural talent called ‘COMMONSENSE’.

How else can you explain the inability of modern-day university-attended bureaucrats to resolve problems which their ‘Seventh-Standard’ trained predecessors were able to treat as routine matters like public transportation, sanitation and tax collection?

How come the so-called uneducated workers were able to remove the detritus and garbage from the streets and vacant lots within 48 hours using only hoes, brooms, shovels and donkey carts whereas the modern-day lazy laggards in cahoots with their office-bound university-trained supervisors equipped with their sophisticated equipment cannot arrange for the same simple jobs to be done in a timely and efficient manner?

Commonsense, Dear Pacha, has exited the Bajan backdoor of integrity and basic competence while the regurgitation of bullshit has entered through the front door fabricated by the Guild of the UWI.

The shit of ‘mis-education ‘has certainly floated to the top in the sea of Bajan governance.

The only raft or lifeboat left to Salvation is to bring Bajan to their knees by injecting the serum of Devaluation and hard(er) times into their socio-economic bloodstream.

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David at 11:09 of June 15, 2019

Maybe if there are not enough nurses to “man” the polyclinics, we can train some real-real MEN to man them?

Imagine if those 27 dead men so far for the year and their 27 or more almost certainly young male killers, imagine if instead of learning how to use a gun, imagine if they had learned to be nurses, and could deliver babies, give immunizations, take blood pressures, counsel diabetics, dress “lame foots” etc.

There is plenty of good work to be done in Barbados, and evidently the money to pay for it, because we will have to house and pay the Ghanian nurses won’t we?

Why not train the guys of the “ghettoes” to be public health nurses. Turn a 20 year old potential criminal into an excellent public health nurse by 25.

I would love to have some of those young men looking after me as I grow older.

I would rather be nursed be a handsome young man, than by a sour old woman.

4. UPPITY NEGROS…can’t stop tiefing from their own black people…we have less than 4 YEARS to WATCH them ATTEMPT ways to ROB THE PEOPLE AND ISLAND…and between them, their crime syndicate from bar association and their criminal Cartel in the minority community…they will be burning the midnight oil..for all 4 years….cause they got the whole Caribbean to play in…until they are STOPPED.

let’s watch…it’s movie time, let’s just make sure it ends with ALL THE UPPITY NEGROS IN HANDCUFFS….since they CAN’T STOP tiefing…FROM THEIR PEOPLE..

5. The biggest concern I as a Barbadian have is what is going on, or better yet, not going on in the foreign debt settlement at the hands of White Oak.

We are getting dangerously close to being black listed by foreign finance institutions as was done to Argentina post 2004. The fact that White Oak refuses to accept the foreign creditors offer which meets the IMF target but just 12 months later should raise questions. Is it that meeting an agreement would mean an end to the $85000 USD a month gravy train?

If you look at the way Argentina dealt with their foreign creditors back then and how White Oak is dealing with ours they are some glaring similarities.

I urge the PM to step in and tell White Oak to accept their offer before we end up on a black list like Argentina. If this God forbid was to happen, what we as a country stand to lose, would be ten fold plus greater than closing a deal based on just 12 months difference in the meeting of a goal.

We basically quarelling over cents when being black listed by international dollars would cost us millions, not to mention hamper our growth for years going forward.

6. @John A

So we settle the external creditors and our uneducated people continue business as usual what next?

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Time for a realty check.

What is an educated society?
    What social function does education serve?
    What do we mean by education?
    You may not have noticed ,but this blog is all over the place like Punka.

How come you did not inform the Blog about the foreign debt holders brouhaha?

Are we going to have a discussion on the foreign debt restructuring? That would be educative.

8. @Vincent

Someone sent the Nasdaq link a couple days ago. We can discuss tomorrow on another blog. We have discussed the matter a week or so ago?

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TheOGazerts at 7:57 a.m.

But the MIL is the same wonderful person who gave you that lovely, long lasting heavy sweet.

Enjoy your day do!

10. @ David.

No not at all, but it must be now our priority because if we don’t settle it the opportunity for our people both educated and not, will be severely hampered in terms of opportunity in the short to medium term.

What we need most is growth in the economy so our people can have opportunities for betterment. When we educate them they need to have a road to growth. If this isn’t done we will have people with Bsc’s packing shelves at Massy.

There can be no growth without foreign money. The government can run in the short term to the IMF, but the rest of the island needs to be in a position to be seen favourably by the said foreign creditors that White Oak is offending.

It is therefore time for the PM to step in and instruct white oak to settle on this final offer.

11. @John A

Yes we need t close it.

12. @ Simple Simon,

By a sour old Ghanaian woman. Hope you do not end up in any major London hospital. They are rude, obnoxious, aggressive and unhelpful. They also often fiddle records.
    I know a Barbadian man (n his early 60s) who died minutes after he was visited by his children; as they left North Middlesex hospital, they saw a mature African nurse approach his bed. He was dead minutes later. May be coincidence. I do not think so.
    What these nurses, like all people, bring with them is their culture. When they see a black person they relax and think they are dealing with someone from ‘home’ and old forms of behaviour come to the fore. This will end in tears..

13. I am not saying your point on education is important, I am just saying when we educate people what do we do with them in the absence of opportunity?

This foreign debt settlement should be the biggest concern of every Barbadian and our government!

14. Sorry I meant is not important

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A at 9:12 a.m.

Agreed.

I can’t anything.

16. “If you look at the way Argentina dealt with their foreign creditors back then and how White Oak is dealing with ours they are some glaring similarities.”

That is why am always concerned about Argentina being in Barbados..,they should NOT be any any black majority country, especially one as vulnerable as Barbados with such weak, corrupt leaders.

They always got some wishy washy excuse for being in Barbados despite it all sounding like outright lies…since they systematically killed off all their blacks with their ugly racist selves, why are they now sniffing around a black majority island with vulnerable people.

Bajans need more information at this point…it needs to sink in deeply that this wicked government is no good for the people or island.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

John A

No one who advised the MoF to restructure GoB debt understands economics or finance. It was a recommendation for disaster.

18. @ David

I Don’t think many understand the seriousness of this matter and that is why it is brushed aside. Even the so called opposition has not bothered to explain to the people what getting black listed by international creditors could mean. Not one of them has taken the time to explain to the public the price Argentina paid for trying to play hard ball with them.

The only person I heard who publically came out and stated his concern by linking it to Argentina’s failure was Jeremy Stephens. For that he was nearly crucified too.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A
    I used “restructuring ” ,their euphemism for walking away from a financial obligation.

20. @John A

On a point of elucidation regarding the debt matter between Argentina and creditors took 14 years.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-argentina-debt/argentina-lead-creditors-settle-14-year-debt-battle-for-4-65-billion-idUSKCN0W2249

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

The onus is on GoB to explain to the Electorate what they did and why they did it.

22. @ Vincent

I agree with you 104% ( the 4% is to cover inflation)

The way everyone is just glossing over the issue is frightening. I mean I can understand why government frighten to talk about it, but what about the dam opposition that want us to take them seriously? The whole way this foreign debt restructuring had been handled is a pathetic failure and an embarrassment. From what we paid white oaks to what we have gotten from them is laughable.

I like You wouldn’t even use the word restructuring at all, as that implies that a concrete settlement has been reached and Implemented.

Then again Vincent if you paying 2 men $85000 a month to fix a problem what incentive dem got to rush and fix it?

23. White Hoax is anticipating another 12 months of bullshitting and stringing out international creditors at US85,000 a pop per month….per Mia’s instructions….no money laundering monitoring in place for the hoax company…..a nice and easy way to funnel and siphon off millions of tax dollars…,so who is going to know…and even if people know, what can they do….no recourse.

24. @ David

Thanks for posting the Argentine story for all to read.

25. @ Sirsimple

I would bet you if you went through the city and asked 20 people what they see the fallout being for not closing on the foreign creditors would be, no more than 2 may know what you are talking about.

Not because they are “uneducated ” but because the government don’t want to discuss it, the opposition seem incapable of doing it and when people like Jeremy open their mouths to use Argentina as an example of what happens when you play the ass with people money, he gets cussed going and coming by party faithfuls.

26. @ David

If you thinking of posting the Nasdaq article next week there was also a good article written by Bloomberg Financial around the same time too. They looked at it from a slightly different slant as well.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David you often provide me a hearty 🤣… I can only gather from your wry remarks that you did NOT read the brief 200 words post but stopped after the first 40 words!

Now, THAT my good sir I would signal as an indictment of our education system 🤣!

Bro, how can you assert “Our ability to create cannot be limited to a Barbados space. Think big man!…Wheel and come again please” when I ANTICIPATED your line of delivery and bluntly and clearly noted:

so why then are there not more Bajan originated regionally spread manufacturing firms, you may undoubtedly retort… I have no idea, other than we have not been able to create better mouse-traps than those of our regional cousins!…I don’t blame that on education.

OK I will give in to your gen X styled desire 😂 to not read past 40 words (or is that characters) and dun here!

I will indeed wheel and come again!

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal at 9:29 a.m.

To Hal who would prefer white nurses.

I regret if my [literal] black sisters and sisters-in-law who have for decades worked in the U.K health system as midwives, with spinal injury patients, with severely burned patients, as public health nurses, and as emergency room, neuro-surgery nurses and geriatric nurses, did not treat you well. They are all black. They were all born black. They could no more change their blackness than you could change yours. They have all met patients like you who did not want to be nursed by a black nurses, even before any nursing took place, but as soon as they saw her black skin.

Racism is racism, even, or especially when it is racist words spoken by a black person against other black people.

29. If uppity Mia thinks she can bullshit veteran creditors who have already BEEN THERE AND DONE THAT….and they are all linked together in the international market….welll go right ahead….we watching….in watch muh nuh style,…wuhloss.

“Hedge fund Elliott Management, run by billionaire Paul Singer, brought numerous lawsuits against Argentina.

The legal saga involved years of court battles, street protests in Buenos Aires, the seizure of an Argentine naval vessel, and increasingly distorted economic policies as the government tried to avoid settling with the holdout creditors who blocked them raising capital on the international markets.”

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I’ve had a white nurse try to take a blood sample from me. By the time she was finished the bed was a bloody mess. I do not blame her whiteness for that. Maybe she was inexperienced, maybe she was just one incompetent white nurse out of millions of competent white nurses. And by the way it is very easy to take blood from me as I am a generous and long time voluntary donor.

But I am certain her whiteness had nothing to do with the incident.

31. @Wura

True but what the article doesn’t tell you is that years after 2004 the foreign creditors still basically had Argentina black listed. Those that lent them did so under some of the harshest guidelines imaginable. Many in Argentina still say today they are paying the price for how badly that foreign debt issue was handled.

I really hope that opens the eyes and minds of many Bajans.

32. Since Barbados has NOTHING TO SEIZE…except some criminal minorities and PLENTY tiefing ministers and lawyers…,we beg the international creditors..take the bitches and INTRODUCE THEM TO HARD LABOR….they do not know what that is and NEED AN INTRODUCTION…up close and personal.

Cause we KNOW…THESE THIEVES PLAN TO RIP OFF…THOSE CREDITORS…that is all they know.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Vincent you got me kerfuffled here…

Second item, first! Are you really, really, REALLY suggesting that any interested Bajan had to wait for David to link them to the Argentine debt issue! Fah trute, really?

And the first item: No one who advised the MoF to restructure GoB debt understands economics or finance. It was a recommendation for disaster. Seriously!….. You can be as critical as you desire about the ploy to renege but unless you are privvy to all the complexities of thOfe funding obligations and hard push back negotiations it’s merely YOUR interpretation of how they should have proceeded.

Whether you or John A like the strategy or not it is a LEGITIMATE one… the FUNDAMENTAL story of Argentina as I gleaned it years ago is that a major default MUST be handled well and to the Blogmaster’s point you CANNOT continue business as usual as a settlement is reached.

That nation came out of its late 1990s early 2000s financial crisis slowly but was back on the international markets issuing debt (and people buying it) some few years ago and again now they are at the IMF’s door cup in hand…that nation is a freaking serial defaulter, like Greece and Spain and a number of others… they are still functioning sorta well!

The question as I glean from you all is whether that is now Bim’s fate.. I get that and its not a pleasant scenario!

These fiascos are games…. played for the ridiculous fees for the White Oaks, lawyers et al who are friends of power brokers…. we know that so lets get real and cut the clap trap about government needing to educate its citizens about the Argentina scenario vis Bim!

As said above EDUCATION is about pragmatic, continuos learning…. if Bajans dont have the basic whererwithall to inform themselves then indeed we are a bunch of “uneducated’ nincompoops …and we ARE NOT that!

Anyhow, I gone!

34. I don’t appreciate the generalization of “African” nurses as incompetent or untrained, it is the same characterization that has been levelled at Caribbean professionals of all stripes in some countries. If they are going to be brought in what we should be concerned about is, are there trained to our standards (assuming we have standards) and how quickly they become acclimatized to our norms particularly in the health care environment.

Our actions in some areas remind me of the saying “if you don’t know where you are going any road will take you there”, in the not too distant past people who were trained in the medical field in Cuba had their credential questioned or rejected when they tried to utilize them in Barbados yet the Barbados Gov’t was assisting in sending patients to Cuba for various medical procedures, now there is a wholesale effort to import Ghanaian nurses.

The eleven plus results will be announced shortly, watch the politicians take credit and watch the media laud those who did well, the current nurses dilemma is an indictment of our Education system because we are still mired in a system that has been abandoned by its initiators and we haven’t identified where our weaknesses are and how we can fix them.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ooooops,, @Vincent the Argentina link item was not your post but @John A!

36. “I really hope that opens the eyes and minds of many Bajans.”

a mature, intelligent government would have sat down with these creditors and reached an amicable…to both parties ///agreement…but not these greedy so and so…they want to drag it out for maximum effect…KNOWING that these same creditors…CAN SHUT THE ISLAND DOWN……

but the plan is to drag the shit out and then blame the other corrupt government, when the creditors strike back in anger and frustration,,,…a plan i don’t know if the UPPITY CAN SEE…has already BACKFIRED…but let them carry on smartly…more ammunition for us to bury their corrupt backsides with.

37. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Re: Ghanaian ancestry…most Caribbean people of AFRICAN DESCENT will find that they…like myself, have anywhere between 9% or more Ghanaian ancestry…it is not something ya can hide, if you do ancestry testing..

do your ancestry testing before this government with their …CONTROL FREAK SELVES…try to railroad you into what THEY WANT..instead of what YOU as an AFRICAN DESCENDANT…is ENTITLED TO.

38. Argentina and Uruguay woke up in darkness Sunday after an unprecedented power failure cascaded across their shared electrical grid, affecting millions of people.

https://www.npr.org/2019/06/16/733191328/millions-in-argentina-and-uruguay-without-electricity-after-power-failure

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 1 : 49 PM

I am no engineer . But should these occurrences not be expected in a integrated distributive system.?

40. Vincent Codrington,

It cannot be acceptable for 48 million people to lose their electrical power.

I expect that their hospitals have backup power generators.

Hopefully the engineers will be working on a solution.

41. This one occurred in 2003. Had to cook on a gas barbecue grill.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/biggest-blackout-in-us-history/

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dPD at 12 :44 PM

DPD if you do not have anything intelligent to contribute to a discussion, please desist from proving yourself uneducated. Is defaulting from a debt legitimate? Since when? And in which civilized country? In any case is the question of legitimacy under discussion? The issue is that creditability vanishes when one does not pay one’s debt on time and according to contract. It is worse when you indicate you have no intention of paying back. In private individual arrangements one negotiates repayment but on manageable terms.
    The question of legitimacy is irrelevant. It is one of your usual ploys to jackass the moot. So haul.

43. @ Vincent

I have just heard of the death of Barbadian Sylvia Denman, an outstanding legal scholar. I have not seen a report of her death in any of the local papers, but UK papers and the BBC have made announcements. She is someone who should have been celebrated in the country of her birth.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at3:54 PM

Condolences to family and friends.
    I do not know the person. Denman is not a Bajan name. What was her maiden name? What area of law did she specialise in?

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA 11.57am
    For years, one SOE after another failed to provide an annual report. Do u think there is a shortage of accountants on the island?
    Nary a word. And from persons who know better. They simply don’t wish to be tarred and feathered by the political hacks. Now we want transparency, we want the GoB to tell us why?
    The horse dun bolt. We like it so?

46. @ Simple Simon,

I am not sure why you misinterpret things, if it is your stupidity. It is not the first time. I have reached the conclusion you just cannot read. I never said anything about preferring white nurses, you clown. So much for your university education.
    Nor have I mentioned anything about nurses being black or lack of training (apart from good manners). Caribbean nurses are black too. I said African, and that they are rude, obnoxious, aggressive and unsympathetic. If you have not spent any time in a hospital with those pigs you cannot talk. Both black and white patients complain about them. May be it is cultural.
    By the way, I recently spent a month in hospital with Caribbean, African, Irish, English, Indian, Chinese and Asian doctors and nurses. By a mile the Africans were the worst. Nigerians and Ghanaians. They are despicable.
    The excuse often given is that since they came to the UK en masse in the 1980s and 90s, they missed the worst of English overt racism. I do not buy that. They treat white patients differently.

47. @ Northern

Yes you are correct that’s why when I hear politicians say to us ” don’t worry the NIS is in sound financial standing ” I can’t help but laugh and asked ” oh based on what?”.

Not only have then not produced audited financials for years, but I doubt they have ever even carried out a ROI on any of their investments individually. Let’s. Take one for example.

The Grotto housing project.

Finished cost. ?
    Annual running cost. ?
    Rent collected annually. ?

Total return on investment yearly =

I would bet the return got a minus in front it.

Do the same for other buildings and see if the ROI meets any acceptable level of return. Yet those investments form part of our retirement safety net. That and the 1% on Sinkler worthless paper.

48. I shudder to think in real terms what the amount needed as a cash injection would be to put the NIS on a sound footing now. Remember too the government paper they hold is useless if they need cash now, as government is not in a position if called on by the NIS, to convert any of that paper to cash for them to meet their monthly commitments.