With the tranquil landscape of Barbados being routinely disturbed by a culture of gun violence an unprecedented murder rate.  Civil society is being encouraged to frankly discuss short term and long term measures to implement to arrest the trending. BU commenter Greene posted the following measures (with minor edits by the blogmaster) to kickoff Barbados Underground Internet Town Hall on Crime & ViolenceHow to Arrest it NOW.

David, Barbados Underground

Short term measures

1. Come right out and tell Bajans that the young men in some areas are murderers and are terrorising BIM by killing one another and if they continue so the Govt will have to invite people in BIM to take their place in BIM.
  2. Tell them that the illegal drug trade and reprisals are responsible for murders. that the guns are coming through the Port and that any government officials including but not limited to politicians, police and customs involved and caught will be punished severely. Change the official corruption laws to suit.
  3. Tell mothers and women by accepting drug money and turning a blind eye to the activities of their sons and boyfriends that they part of the problem.
  4. Enforce or implement Money Laundering and asset forfeiture Laws
  5. Second half the Defence Force to the police as patrol units in hot spot with a view to engage and challenge suspected drug and gun men/dealers based on intelligence in the first place and observation when they are in the area.
  6. Actually engage and if fired upon shoot to kill taking into consideration threats to their own lives and dangers posed to others in the area.
  7. Speedy Trials
  8. Look to pop some necks even if it means changing the laws.
  9. Discuss openly about what is causing the problems and solicit solutions.
  10. Seek a truce between warring factions with a forum where where they can confront each other in a neutral setting (do not know if this is possible).
  11. Look at witnesses protection with a view to sending those who qualify to other participatory islands/ countries.
  12. Provide and lease farm land to young men and women who say they have nothing to do.
  13. Teach civics from primary school with an established set of ideals that we expect from Bajans.

And I would say all this to the public.

Long term

1. Look to change the school system to make it more hands on for boys with more technical subjects.
  2. Revert to single sex schools
  3. Provide counselling or more counselling for troubled youths and parents with early intervention programmes.
  4. Improve the lot of the police by paying them more and making the service more attractive. If the Government says they have no money they can exempt police, fire and prisons (emergency services) from income taxes and provide free health care at any private facility.
  5. Disband the Defence Force and recruit those who want to and are qualified into the police, fire service and prisons.
  6. Change corruption and other associated laws.
  7. Make marijuana legal for anyone over 18.
  8. Decriminalize other hard drugs treating them as a health issue and not a legal issue.
  9. Alter all the above from time to time to suit the changing circumstances.
  10. Look to improve the long term economic and employment situation.

203 responses to “Internet Town Hall on Crime & Violence – All Are Invited”

1. Of course, austerity claims its victims. We can no longer feed so many useless people.

It is time for the government to take even more decisive action against local drug-related crime in order to adequately protect villa owners and residents of gated communities. Those who pay so much land tax are entitled to security.

2. Wait, should the dlp not be blamed as before?

3. We cannot say that government is a continuum and scan the local media space to read all political parties pointing at government given the state of play. We have the Jamaica experience to learn what a divisive approach to solving the social ills of Barbados portends for us.

https://youtu.be/Reo5hD-dEYM

4. Tron u sound frighten
    Yes bozie next govt might implement measures for lockdown
    But hold your horses govt have better ideas to open the borders to let more foreigners in
    Remember the story of the Haitians
    Wonder what was the outcome

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Greene

Great ideas to begin the serious discussions about this topic and give this lost government some ideas.

I too believe that hanging should be brought back but I am of the belief that, after all legal options are exhausted, they should be done in public spsce LIKE THE KENSINGTON OVAL

@the Honourable Blogmaster

Commendation on creating the Blog so rapidly for what is a really important issue

6. In my mind the question remains as to in what manner should govt implement measures to deal with present gun and drug violence
    The measures posted only goes to preplanning or preparedness
    However what is happening now calls for immediate resolution
    As for hanging not going to happen

7. This situation hasnt arisen overnight; and cant be solved overnight.
    The signs have been visible that we would be reaping the results of a sub- culture that has been left unchecked for far too long; and is now spiraling out of control.
    That the brazen episode at Sheraton shocked the relative innocent sensibilities of our citezenry, several months ago, and we kinda forgot it and moved on only to be reawakened to this almost daily carnage should cause us to act decisively.
    The short-term listings as proposed expose some irrefutable evidence as to where we are.
    Knee jerk reactions often are ill-conceived and ineffective.
    There are several listed among the long term suggestions that we need to implement matter of urgency.
    Having worked at the front end with juveniles and first time offenders; trying to keep them out of prison; and also with repeat offenders trying to keep them out of prison, it is clear that there is significant systemic dysfunction and from a policy and programming perspective; there must be a total overhaul of the criminal justice system and how we treat to offending behavior.

8. The man who was shot at 2nd Avenue Vauxhall, Christ Church, today is dead.

Nation Online understands the man was shot multiple times near his home.

When an ambulance arrived, he had already been taken to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital by a private vehicle.

This is the 29th murder for 2019.

9. Police are investigating the circumstances surrounding the death of a man in Black Rock, St Michael.

His body was found in a house there and the death is being treated as unnatural at this time.

10. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

What a gruesome welcome to our brother the leader of Ghana since his white jet set course for GAIA there’s been three murders and he hasn’t been here a full day. He can be forgiven for thinking a coup is taking place.
    Romeo sang Gem Gone he didn’t live to see his sad prophesy come true.

11. Truth and Only the Truth Avatar
    Truth and Only the Truth

This is the direct result given MAJOR CAMPAIGN FINANCIERS 5 Drugs Lords acceptance and credibility last year in the House of Parliament.

They and their people feel they are a law unto themselves.

12. Note BS. Gun Crime has been trending north for years now.

13. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. We must not discount the influence of today’s social media and its glorification and normalisation of violence. This social conditioning is very real, because the mind of the youths are very impressionable.

Young black men in the USA urban environment readily use social media to document their flossing life style and displaying all manner of firearms. Don’t think for once that a youth somewhere in Bim is not going to start mimicing this type of behavior.

Jamaica’s gun culture and violence today sprang from Hollywood WILD WILD WEST movies of the 60s along with its politics. Kingston at one time had over 20 movie houses. Every ghettoes in Kingston at the time had their own movie theatre, and the young youths were fed a constant diet of outlaw movies. Soon after, most youths in the ghettoes want to be an outlaw and thus begin a downward spiral of life imitating art.

14. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

As I have lamented time and time again, I hope this is year is just an outlier. We have been lucky so far over the years along with Antigua, Grenada, and Dominica to have a relatively low murder rate in the region.

Going forward, I hope we can slaughter this violent gun crime monster before it becomes engrained in the cultural fabric of
    our society. Some might say the horse has bolted, but I disagree. It shouldn’t be hard to do. Why? becuase of our size.

Identify the hot spot zones (most violent crimes in any country takes place wthin a small georgahical radius) using GIS mapping technology and flood those area with law enforcement personel on the ground along with cctv.

15. “4. Improve the lot of the police by paying them more and making the service more attractive.”

The salary scale for Barbadian Police Constables range between P35 and P21, which is from $2,037.90 to $3,499.82 per month.

The minimum qualifying requirement for a police constable is “at least 3 CXC General Proficiency grades I, II and III passes or equivalent.” A constable with 3 CXC certificate should receive a salary of $30,192.12 per annum or $2,516.01 per month.

To become a police officer in Bermuda, the applicant “must have a high school diploma and applied to be enrolled or enrolled in an Associate Degree Programme at The Bermuda College.” Starting salary is $38,012.69 – $40,720.26, which is $3,167.73 (BD$6,335.45) to $3,39.35 (BD$6,786.71) per month. Please note BER$1 = US$1.

All applicants must sign a contract with satisfactory sureties to serve as a Constable in the Bermuda Police Service for at least three (3) years after completing an Associate Degree.

In St. Vincent & the Grenadines, all prospective candidates must be the holder of academic certificates with minimum passes:

……Five (5) G.C.E O’ levels Grades A-C or
    ……Five (5) C.S.E.C subjects – General Proficiency – Grades 1-3

The basic salary is EC$1,806.00 (BD$1,354.50) per month.

What would be the likely implications for the Civil Service, if police constables with 3 CXC certificates, start at a salary of…… let’s say……$3,600 per month or $43,200 per annum…….

………. when a Cardiac Technologist (salary scale Z16-6), for example, who must have a BSc degree and his/her basic salary is $3,649.35 per month ($43,792.20 per annum)?

Under these circumstances, should government look at increasing the qualifying entry requirements….. with a corresponding increase in salaries?

16. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Greene,

You quoted

“Come right out and tell Bajans that the young men in some areas are murderers and are terrorising BIM by killing one another and if they continue so the Govt will have to invite people in BIM to take their place in BIM.”

Do you have an agenda? The number of reported murders in Barbados 2019 is probably in the region of thirty something. The so-called young men who you claim are terrorising Barbados are probably less than 200. Are you saying that we should replace these bad boys with Johnny Foreigner? You do realise that the surge in the drug’s trade and the associated violence stems from Barbados been used as a drug’s corridor by outside players?

Externally the worse offenders are some South American nations; whilst internally the worse offenders are our very own Muslim and Arab “shop keepers” who are a conduit for the growth of the drug’s industry in Barbados. I understand that the white community has been using high-end boats to bring drugs into the country.

What you have said is highly dangerous. The higher the murder rate; the higher the rate of immigration.

Imagine Mr Khan sitting in his money exchange bureau having just read your above comments and him rubbing his hands in glee. Let’s up the murder rate he says by paying those dumb niggers to kill of their own and then we can get a few more of our family members on the island!

Why is it so hard for Bajans to understand that our political system has been hijacked by the drug’s fraternity. To clean up the system our current government must reject overtures from the narco industrialists and concentrate on building a country where all Barbadians can prosper without resorting to nefarious activities in order to survive.

17. @ Mr Blogmaster,

Please check your spam.

18. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

You have made a two valid points at least

The first being a requirement for all our policemen to cumpulsorily increase their Professional development.

The second is this.

AS OF MONDAY MUGABE MOTTLEY SHOULD PASS A LAW MAKING THE SALARIES OF EVERY SINGLE POLICE OFFICER FREE OF TAXES!!

The wis continue to make the commensurate contributions BUT THEY WILL NEVER BE REQUIRED TO PAY INCOME TAXES.

That is a de facto salary increase BUT THE CAVEAT SHALL BE THAT THEY MUST ACHIEVE THAT REQUISITE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT REQUIREMENT.

Our country may not have the money for her to give them increases like Bermuda but they, FOR THE MOST PART, do good work and need to be paid.

IF MUGABE CAN DO IT FOR RAWDONE AND OTHER WASTE FOOPS, she can change the law and make it happen for the Police.

19. You can make valid comments without disparaging others.

20. @TLSN

Nothing found.

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

Yes, I can and you and all of you know I can

But this is note a game where I am seeking votes.

It is a wake up call to animals in this DUOPOLY WHO DO NOT OPERATE AS REASONABLE MEN AND WOMEN “but like waste foops”

Here is the outcome of any words IN GENERAL.

Some build up people give them hope to carry on.

Some break down people and crush their spirits.

But the target of my words are not the belligerent incompetent BLP.

I consider them lost AND SO DO YOU but BY CONSTANTLY CALLING THEM THIS I am singling them out with my raw terms.

Let me show you how eloquently Mr Willism Skinner spoke about them.

He said and I quote

“…The BLP was established in 1938 and the DLP in 1955.

After 81 years of the BEES and 64 years of the DEMS, both political parties have demonstrated they do not have the capacity to lead this island any longer…”

Mr Skinner is a gentleman

He does not cuss a feller and what he says appeals to ghe intelligentsia in our society.

People will sit and realise he is speaking the truth.

De ole man ent appealing to those people.

I talking to thd sheeple as expressing the raw reality of stasis and inaction of these two parties.

WASTE FOOPS!

That emotes a fellow whose attention span is 15 seconds, to stop and realize that other than the despot Mugabe 97 percent of them are WASTE FOOPS!

That talk registers with them and AS SLOW AS THESE SHEEPLE ARE, they dont want that type of person as their MP.

There will come a day when I can live by Ephesians 4.29

“…Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear…”

But for right now David i have go be like David who killed the enemies of my Lord and was debarred from being Solomon, the one who built the Temple

Once you understand that, we cool.

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“provide and lease farm land to young men and women who say they have nothing to do”

That shite gotta stop…both governments PICKED UP AND STOLE the people’s and their BENEFICIARIES land to GIVE AWAY to the nasty Cows, Bizzys, Maloneys et al….so why when it’s Black people, vulnerable people who were robbed over tbe decades by both wicked governments and these same stinking minorities and have NO MONEY, the land should be leased to them, hell no.

Why can’t the MAJORITY POPULATION OWN THE LAND…instead of it being stolen from them to give away to thieves who do not have the same color presuasion as the majority population…but they get access to and first preferance over the majority population’s land AND MONEY….especially taxpayer’s AND PENSIONERS MONEY…via the corruot DBLP demons.

That is what should be discussed…those two blighted COMBOS of corrupt black governments and thieving miniorities…that is the BANE OF THE ISLAND ‘S MASSIVE PROBLEMS…..THE REAL CAUSE OF THE CRIME AND VIOLENCE…AND POVERTY..AND DRUGS AND GUNS.THESE DEMONS WHO ROB THE PEOPLE.and who also TRAFFICK GUNS AND DRUGS INTO THE ISLAND WITH THE HELP AND BLESSING OF BOTH GOVERNMENTS., and no amount of bullshit can change that CAUSATION.

Blaming the majority population for the EVIL decades old actions of the CRIMINALS IN THE PARLIAMENT AND THE BAR ASSOCIATION ….CANNOT WORK ANYMORE.

That is called DISENFRANCHISING YA OWN PEOPLE….dummies.

And the WORLD NEEDS TO KNOW.

AFRICA NEEDS TO KNOW.

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And just to prove my point of the careless, uncaring attitudes of these shitehound small island leaders..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/15/scabies-scare/

Scabies only appears when there is a filthy environment..,so what is it doing in a 740 million taxpayer funded building.

Get ya uppity negro Nurse at Dodds to at least clean the prison.

24. Piece the Legend Avatar

As if only to underscore my disparaging remarks I would ask you to see this more proactive incident of protests.

“…The Hong Kong government has suspended its highly controversial plan to allow extraditions to mainland China, Chief Executive Carrie Lam has announced.

She had previously refused to scrap the bill despite mass protests from Hong Kong residents.

“I feel deep sorrow and regret that deficiencies in our work – and various other factors – have stirred up substantial controversies,” she said.

Protesters expressed concern at increased Chinese influence…”

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-48645342

I pray that Barbados never gets to a point of violent civil upheavals and this type of dissent.

But Honourable Blogmaster Barbados is locked in a conflict which neither party within the DUOPOLY seems able to address

Your Mr nice guy manner thing WILL NOT WUK WITH THESE BEASTS OF BURDEN and, unless you want to do thd Hong Kong dissent thing, WHICH I AM NOT, let me throw the words

25. @fortyacresandamule

All the signs are there there is deterioration in the social fabric of society. No amount of wishing it away will address the problem. As a society we have to agree to tackling the problem on all fronts. Ordinary citizens cannot observe suspicious activity in their communities and do nothing about it. So many other examples.

The time has come to do.

26. @ WURA-War-on-U June 15, 2019 5:06 AM

Well spoken. Barbados could benefit from land reform. Barbados appears to be the only West Indian country where a minority holds most of the land. In the rest of the Islands, the individual has ownership. The minority in Barbados will always call the shots: Land is wealth. Adams and those following should have instituted land reform on a major scale. Of course some of the new land owners, like any thing else, would end up losing their new found land; but the cycle would have been broken.. At the same time, legislation should be passed stripping (the criminals) lawyers of the protection afforded then by the laws of the land.
    I noticed the Home minister seems nonplus( he couldn’t understand how the bail came about) that Richard Arthur a convicted felon could have been given bail. As I have said what’s stopping Pile from saying she is ill? Note the disparate treatment: Pile is refused bail yet again .Let me repeat what I have said in the past: I have no respect for the judiciary, lawyers and politicians in this country. If Arthur has gotten bail, so too should Pile.

27. Where it reads “legislation should be passed” should read “legislation should have been passed’

28. @ Robert Lucas,
    Although agree with you regarding lawyers (their dishonesty comes from an assumption of privilege, that being lawyers they are entitled to a certain lifestyle) the case of Pile makes it clear her punishment goes beyond reasonable justice.
    She has already been convicted, so she poses no threat to the jury, she did not rob a bank; she was convicted of mishandling a client’s money, which is a very serious offence. But should she be denied bail? I do not think so. Her punishment is a reflection of the verminous class consciousness that rots Barbadian society.
    Charles Herbert got bail.

29. Yes the horse has ready bolted
    The ground is saturated with guns and drugs
    The turf war is here to stay all these killings would continue as payback ruled by revenge would be too much for law enforecement to handle
    A similar sceanario as to what is happening in poor black communities in other countries
    Take a look at Jamaica one can bet they would have revised and introduce and passed several laws to fight gun violence so far evidence shows that the crime keeps rising
    Govt failure to secure its borders is at the root of this problem

30. What are the nationalities of those committing the crimes? You need you think before you write.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Piece…people POWER…when millions of people PROTEST.,,and HOLD YA FEET TO A RAGING FIRE…ya BACK DOWN…REAL FAST…if ya are a smart leader.

BLACK BAJANS…need to learn the ART..of holding their corrupt, shitehound leaders feet to A RAGING FIRE and keep them there.

32. @ Mariposa,

Nationalities are not important, social class is. In every nation with sophisticated crime statistics the social biases are the same. Criminal justice is a social weapon. Look at America or the UK.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“If Arthur has gotten bail, so too should Pile.”

…in all fairness to Pile..yes, and am sure she will next round…

…..but the Mia government have to PRETEND to make an example of Pile, a lowly black female lawyer ON THE FOOD CHAIN OF THIEVES…..while allowinng other tiefing lawyers closer to the government.

…….to get away…INNOTECH ACCUSING THE rough pig LEODEAN WORREL OF MASSIVE THEFT of client’s funds…. COMES TO MIND.

34. EURA-War-on-U Avatar

Rumor going around is DELUSIONAL Mia is planning yo set up an anothern USELESS consulste…this time in Africa.

What for….the ones ya have in EU and North America are useless, they siphon off and tief taxpayers money…they do not help black bajans when approached…just another uppity waste of space.

We are African descendants INVITED BACK TO OUR HOMELAND…we do not need any TIEFING BAJAN CONSULATES or ya SHITEY ATTEMPTS AT FUTURE CONTROL…of the black citizens.

Stop wasting black taxpayers money with SHITE…and bullying and intimidation of black citizens…when will you corrupt waste of oxygen for leaders learn.

35. Can we stick to the issues and stop with the useless and destructive palaver?

36. This BU Posting is typical BAJAN, let’s talk shit, do nothing and move on.

SAME OLD SAME OLD crap, BU NEEDS NEW MODERATOR who brings to the table a more reactionary approach and get bloggers off thier ass and moving by ACTION ant NOT TALK.

BRING BACK HANGING OR THE GUILLOTINE and make it’s first use on a CORRUPT POLITICIAN, then watch things change.

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Why can’t the MAJORITY POPULATION OWN THE LAND…instead of it being stolen from them to give away to thieves who do not have the same color presuasion as the majority population…but they get access to and first preferance over the majority population’s LANDV AND MONEY….especially taxpayer’s AND PENSIONERS MONEY…via the CORRUPT DBLP demons.

THIS IS THE CAUSATION OF ALL THE MAJORITY BLACK POPULATIONS PROBLEMS ON THE ISLAND….talk about THAT…it is the cause of the drugs and guns and crime and violence AND POVERTY on island….

You have a corrupt government to REMOVE…talk about that..

38. A happy good morning to all of Barbados.
    One of the simple things that I enjoy is watching sunlight trying to get through the cracks between the slats in my blinds. I will pull up my blinds, let the sunlight in and welcome him as if he was an old friend.
    I hope that you and I are sharing the warm and soft light that is trying to invade my home
    Have a great day Barbados

39. @Wily

What the Rh are you doing?

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Barbados needs some soft light…instead it’s now FORCED to wade through DARKNESS devised and created by DEVIOUS, CORRUPT LEADERS …while LIGHT IS TRYING TO FORCE ITS WAY THROUGH..

you have a BLACK population most of whom have been so SEVERELY DUUMBED DOWN..by rotten leaders, they now do not even know their asses from their elblows….maybe it’s time to move to the streets, to educate these victims of 2 EVIL GOVERNMENTS….one one one.

41. One man look at the number of murders in January and made a guess at how many murders there would be at the end of the year. Instead of combining our brains and brainstorming on how to address the problem itself, some launched a vicious attack on the man who made the projection.

His words became more dangerous than guns in the hands of a criminal; a simple mathematical extrapolation became a treasonous act; he stumbled on one of the thoughts that was not allowed and the BU “thought police’ arrived in full riot gear and attempted to control and discredit him.

But look at where we are 5 months later. It is no longer a projection based on one month of data. The reality of 6 months of data is staring us in the face with the ‘thought police’ now silent and the rest of us are sitting in a virtual-town hall scratching our heads
    A projection in January, a likely possibility in June and the dreaded bitch that is reality in December. Buckle -up your seat belts folks, the ride to December continues.

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

What we should ask is how many on BU who have had access to certain information on social media have ever shared that information with a cross section of black bajans….my 7 years on BU had always been a fight to get information, most feel big keeping information that can help their own beleagured people….to themselves…the dumb and backward will always be with us, though WE DO NOT NEED THEM…

So maybe it’s time to share info with each other MORE OFTEN ..so that the corrupt governments cannot continue to MISUSE IT to ABUSE all of you,..,that is a start…miracles take time.

43. Interesting choice of words by Greene:

Short term measures
    ” Come right out and tell Bajans that the young men in some areas are murderers and are terrorising BIM by killing one another and if they continue so the Govt will have to invite people in BIM to take their place in BIM.”

Did not the previous administration make a claim that Bajans should start reproducing otherwise the country would be forced to bring in more emigrants. You see the agenda people? It is subtle. Keep pointing the figure at the masses whilst the politicians collude with themselves and the minorities to disenfranchise the majority.

When a government colludes with narco economies and domestic minority groups who are immersed in the narco industry should we be surprise that we are witnessing a spike in our murder rates?

How long will the majority population remain as docile onlookers whilst they become increasingly isolated and marginalised within the country that was built on the back of their ancestors?

44. @DAVID

RH WILY is doing the same thing the GOB is doing FUCK ALL.

45. PIECE

We can never be persuaded that poor people who resort to violence as a by-product of social conditions should be treated in the way you so vulgarly described at 7:55

That treated should be reserved for the political and economic elites who have created said conditions. And if our guillotine is required we’ll be happen to provide it.

But to resort to this treatment for people who themselves are victims is reprehensible and represents the most unenlightened comment we’ve noticed from you..

46. “Let me show you how eloquently Mr Willism Skinner spoke about them. He said and I quote……”

“The BLP was established in 1938 and the DLP in 1955. After 81 years of the BEES and 64 years of the DEMS, both political parties have demonstrated they do not have the capacity to lead this island any longer.”

PUDRYR

Sorry to disappoint you, but the comments you have attributed to Mr. Skinner, were NOT written by him.

I invite you go to the Grenville Phillips II’s blog, re: “Power Can Corrupt Very Good People,”…………..

………………. and read the last paragraph of my June 14, 2019 3:15 PM contribution.

47. @Pacha

Well stated. The problem is multifaceted. We have to dismantle the blame culture and appreciate we are all in the same boat.

48. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

You do not need to be a political scientist (whatever that means!) to see where we are heading. Keep tightening the noose around the necks of the majority population who have no where to run to. I forecast blood, violence and perpetual death.

And we ask why countries with predominately black populations continue to fail.

Barbados is a homogenised society. We have a great climate. We live on an island that has never been destroyed by nature’s destructive forces. We have never experienced famine. We have plenty of land to produce our own food. We are supposedly nearly 100% literate. Yet we remain a broke and an indebted nation. Is their anyone on BU who seriously believes that Barbados will improve the lot for her majority population?

It should be clear to all of you that the majority population, like Noah, has been tossed overboard. Wake up people.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax

You are correct. Piece did make a mistake in attributing those comments to me.
    However I am in agreement with the comments he quoted.