The blogmaster received the following written on the back of an envelope from a medical student and felt to share with the BU community.

Given the heavy focus by the Barbados government to attract medical schools to Barbados, supported by plans to integrate with health delivery strategies – citizens need to be curious to probe decision making (Discuss for 5 marks).

-David, blogmaster

Medical Scool.png

52 responses to “Medical Students Influence @QEH and Polyclinics”

1. At the time the medical faculty was established in Barbados one of the students complained about the shortages of students needed to fill the quota that would make the enterprise a profitable one. At that time I also wrote an article which was published in the press about the lack of equipment needed for the new faculty and the poaching of scientific equipment and chemicals as well as students from the chemistry department: which left that department in a mess. As I said at the time, the creation of the facility was done to stroke the ego of one man. Scientific equipment is very expensive, so too are the costs of chemicals needed . Given the economic conditions in these parts, it was always better to have one facility properly equipped and staffed, than a lot of them that are not up to scratch. So I am not surprised by the note that BU has received. Given the dire economic position of the government, the viability of UWI will come into question. The new (Ross) is going to offer better salaries and will have better equipment than UWI; so medical staff will leave. That off-shore hospital in Grenada is better staffed and equipped than the medical faculty and some of the science departments at UWI.I remember the push -back against it when it wanted to come to Barbados; there was a lot of noise about cadavers. As the saying goes, where there is no vision the people perish. What is about to happen or has happened is not new. In 1988 I was a research post doctoral associate at the university of Massachusetts -at-Amherst when I came across an article in the science section of the New York Times newspaper: it dealt with the recession at that time and its adverse effect on the medical faculty of UWI. The article highlighted the fact that the top lecturers in the medical faculty(some from Sri Lanka who were internationally recognized) had left and as a result, the USA had removed accreditation from UWI’s medical school. The article went on to state that in the past a lot of interns from UWI did their internship in the US and that as a result of the loss in status, such would no longer be the case. Some time ago there was the problem with space at the local hospital for interns, a result of the loss in status.

2. Should be University of Mass…

3. Looking to end up dead 50/50 better goggle

4. At one time Barbados graduated about 20-25 doctors a year. Obviously that number would have increased over time. The economics of having a medical faculty in Barbados should have been considered prior to its establishment. The cost of producing one doctor including the recurrent cost of equipment, chemicals, salaries, incidentals and upkeep of plant all have to be weighed against the cost of producing one doctor at an outside facility. It is futile to say that one has a medical facility, if one cannot maintain it adequately.

5. There is no need for an island the size of Barbados to graduate that amount of doctors unless the majority of them are from overseas?

6. @Lexicon
    Most of the local ones ended up in the US at one time. The idea was to graduate locally, because it was cheaper to do so and the degree was recognizes internationally. As a result, it was easy to get into the US or the UK and work for lots of money under better conditions. For those who were interested in research it was ideal.

7. Given the financial constraints of Cave Hill and government is there not a good case to rationalize the medical faculty?

8. Ok Doctor …I see … now Dr. Lucas are you a medical doctor by profession?

9. @Lexicon
    What has that got to do with the topic posed by the blog master?. Medicine is a scientific discipline, albeit one that entails a lot of rote learning, but it is still scientific.. It has a lot of the problems in common with other sciences eg. cost of equipment, cost of chemicals. The need for cutting edge research and top level instructors. It seems that you, despite the moniker you are using are unaware of challenges faced by people who do science.

10. Dr. Lucas, you may have misconstrued or misinterpreted my question … because my question regarding your profession has nothing to do with the topic here … I was just curious as to your profession because I really haven’t met any medical doctors that are Bajan … so do not take my question as an affront …

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Lexicon

Looka this thing nuh? Do you see them short tossed balls that you pelting?

I am going to add you to my short list of conspirators. I am going to keep my eyes focused on you also.

12. @ David May 12, 2019 7:53 AM
    To rationalize the medical faculty is going to be difficulty. There is a syndrome called “follow pattern” that we in this part of the world suffer from. You can observe it in villages. Some one opens a variety shop from their home; immediately others in the village open theirs also;selling the same goods forgetting that the size of the market is limited to the size of the village. Then there is the “show off” aspect. Each country whether it can afford a medical faculty wants one. You only have to look around at what Gaston Browne wants for Antigua (he wants a campus). The University is having problems surviving as it is .Some of the countries haven’t paid their contributions to the University in years and he is talking about a new campus. Similarly with the sixth forms at schools when it comes to sciences. Shortage of equipment and chemicals same thing occurs at the Barbados Community College.. It is truly a depressing state of affairs..

13. “difficulty” should read difficult.

14. On this topic I can contribute… Thinking.

Excellent job so fAr RL

I am waiting to see GP’s thoughts on this matter.

Between the two of you, we will have ample food for thought.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Medicine entails a lot of rote learning,

NOT NECESSARILY
    IF YOU LEARN YOUR HISTOLOGY WELL PATHOLOGY IS VERY EASY
    IF YOU KNOW YOUR ANATOMY AND PATHOLOGY WELL SURGERY IS EASY
    AND SO ON………

It has a lot of the problems in common with other sciences eg. cost of equipment, cost of chemicals. The need for cutting edge research and top level instructors

BULL SHIT
    AT THE SEVERAL OFFSHORE SCHOOLS AT WHICH I TAUGHT I DIDNT SEE ANY COSTLY EQUIPMENT OR MUCH EQUIPMENT AT ALL NOR CHEMICALS

BUT HUNDREDS OF MY STUDENTS ARE PRACTICING IN THE USA AND OTHER COUNTRIES

TO PRODUCE GOOD DOCTORS YOU DONT NEED NO cutting edge research and top level instructors

THE TEACHERS NEED TO UNDERSTAND THE BASIC SCIENCES AND BE ABLE TO EXPLAIN THEM WELL–THATS ALL

TEACHERS WHO HAVE PRACTICED FOR A WHILE IS AN ASSET AS THEY CANT BE VICARIOUS IN THEIR DELIVERY. THEY CAN TALK ABOUT THE THINGS THAT THEY HAVE SEEN

TEACHERS NEED TO RELATE ISSUES IN THE BASIC SCIENCES TO HOW THEY RELATE TO DISEASE PROCESSES

E.G HOW LITTLE’S AREA IN THE NOSE RELATES TO NOSE BLEEDS
    HOW KNOWING ABOUT THE POUCH OF DOUGLAS RELATES TO LOWER ABDOMINAL PAIN IN WOMEN

GOOD MEDICAL TEACHERS TEACH THEIR STUDENTS LITTLE THINGS LIKE THIS
    THEY NEED NOT BE “top level instructors” I.E HAVE Phd’S, OR BE BOARD CERTIFIED, OR HAVE MRCP’S OR FRCS, ETC

BUT THEN SOME ON BU SAY I WAS A SECOND AND MEDIOCRE

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The economics of having a medical faculty in Barbados should have been considered prior to its establishment. THIS IS CLEARLY VERY TRUE ……….

BUT ………..

the creation of the facility was done to stroke the ego of one man- HENRY FRASER, THE WHITE MASSA GOD .

WE WERE GRADUATING ENOUGH BAJANS FROM JAMAICA AND TRINIDAD BEFORE 2008
    At one time Barbados graduated about 20-25 doctors a year.

WE ALL KNEW EVEN THEN THAT AS LEXICON CORRECTLY OPINED “There is no need for an island the size of Barbados to graduate that amount of doctors unless the majority of them are from overseas” BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT DONT HAVE THE POSTS FOR THEM TO DO THEIR INTERNSHIPS, WHICH IS THE FINAL PART OF THEIR TRAINING IN OUR SYSTEM OF MEDICAL TRAINING……..AND THERE is NO LONGER POSTS FOR THEM TO GO ON TO DO POST GRADUATE TRAINING EVEN FOR THE ONE YEAR SUB SPECIALTY DIPLOMA PROGRAMS, LIKE DA, DO DGO DCH etc

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SHOULD BE TEACHERS WHO HAVE PRACTICED FOR A WHILE IS AN ASSET AS THEY CAN BE VICARIOUS IN THEIR DELIVERY. THEY CAN TALK ABOUT THE THINGS THAT THEY HAVE SEEN

18. GP reconfirms that luke azz should stick to his specialty Food Technology and stop misleading BU

19. @Georgie Porgie
    I wonder where you learnt your science. Let me explain a few facts of life to you. Medicine is a rote subject especially when studying the symptoms of diseases. Medicine is basically the study of the zoology(to use a term) of the human body. In biochemistry, the purified enzymes are expensive, electrophoresis and the support highly purified chemicals are expensive HPLC(chromatography) is also expensive..In microbiology, the cost of monoclonal antibodies, ELISA ,DNA hybridization methods, Tris buffer solution and rapid methods of enumeration of pathogens are costly. Even the use of cadavers are costly. Methods are constantly changing, so if you want to abreast of your field you must adapt.

20. @Gabriel
    As I have indicated above, medicine is science and food technology is a science. The basic science and the problems faced are the same. Science is science. I have gone on record as stating the most Barbadians do not know much about science and you have just verified that by your comment.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE
    In 1988 I was a research post doctoral associate at the university of Massachusetts -at-Amherst when I came across an article in the science section of the New York Times newspaper: it dealt with the recession at that time and its adverse effect on the medical faculty of UWI. The article highlighted the fact that the top lecturers in the medical faculty (some from Sri Lanka who were internationally recognized) had left and as a result, the USA had removed accreditation from UWI’s medical school.

WHAT A LOAD OF BULLSHIT!

AS EARLY AS 1974 WHEN I ATENDED the top lecturers in the medical faculty WERE ALL WEST INDIANS! PEOPLE LIKE GEORGE NICHOLSON , SIR HARRY ANAMUNTHODO, SIR GEORGE ALLEYNE, PROF WYNTER AND HIS WIFE A PROF IN MICROBIOLOGY, PROF HARRIS IN HAEMATOLOGY, PROY WARD IN PHYSIOLOGY, ETC ETC

WHEN I DID ANATOMY WE HAD SOME PRECEPTORS IN THE DISSECTION ROOM WHO WERE SRI LANKAN DOCTORS. I THINK ONE EVENTUALLY BECAME PROFESSOR OF ANATOMY. AFTER HIM WAS A GRENADIAN SURGEON.

The article went on to state that in the past a lot of interns from UWI did their internship in the US ALSO BULLSHIT. ALL UWI GRADS DO INTERNSHIPS IN TEACHING HOSPITALS IN THE CARRIBEAN. YOU CAN NOT GO TO DO A RESIDENCY IN THE USA COMING FROM A BRITISH TYPE MEDICAL SCHOOL UNLESS YOU HAVE FINISHED YOUR INTERNSHIP, AND THUS ACHIEVED FULL REGISTRATION AS A DOCTOR.

RE and that as a result of the loss in status, such would no longer be the case. ALSO BULLSHIT!

Some time ago there was the problem with space at the local hospital for interns, a result of the loss in status.

THE PROBLEM with space at the local hospital for interns WAS DUE TO LACK OF POSTS. WE HAD MORE GRADUATES THAN POSTS TO DO INTERNSHIPS IN THE QEH. GOVERNMENT HAD NO MONEY TO CREATE MORE POSTS TO ACCOMMODATE THE INCREASED NUMBER OF GRADUATES FROM BARBADOS………FAR LESS TO ACCOMADATE GRADUATES FROM OTHER ISLANDS AS WAS THE CASE IN THE 60’S AND 70’S.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    I wonder where you learnt your science.
    HC BCC UWI (CAVE HILL & MONA)

RE Let me explain a few facts of life to you. Medicine is a rote subject especially when studying the symptoms of diseases.

THANKS FOR TRYING TO TEACH ME WHAT MEDICINE IS
    I HAVE BEEN A DR FOR 4O YEARS AND I DISAGREE WITH YOU

RE Medicine is basically the study of the zoology(to use a term) of the human body
    IT MOST CERTAINLY IS NOT!

ZOOLOGY IS NOT A TERM USED TO STUDY THE HUMAN BODY

In biochemistry, the purified enzymes are expensive, electrophoresis and the support highly purified chemicals are expensive HPLC(chromatography) is also expensive..In microbiology, the cost of monoclonal antibodies, ELISA ,DNA hybridization methods,Tris buffer solution and rapid methods of enumeration of pathogens are costly.

SO WHAT? YOU DONT NEED ALL THAT TO PRODUCE A DR OR TO TEACH THE BASIC SCIENCES

Even the use of cadavers are costly. MANY SCHOOLS DO PROSECTIONS OF THECADAVERS AND REUSE THOSE PROSECTIONS

TODAY MANY SCHOOLS USE PLASTIC MODELS AND VIDEOS IN TEACHING

Methods are constantly changing, so if you want to abreast of your field you must adapt.

YES INDEED IT IS BETTER TO SHOW STUDENTS SLIDES THAN GET THEM TO WASTE TIME BEFORE MICROSCOPES THAT THEY CANT USE PROPERLY

AND BY THE WAY WHEN TALKING ABOUT ROSS…….I HAVE A LOT OFF PPTS USED THERE AND ELSE WHERE

AND I HAVE FOLLOWED THE DEBATE ABOUT OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ON VALUEMD FROM ITS INCEPTION

23. @Georgie Porgie
    What does your tirade have to do with what was requested by the blog master in his post? You have gotten very emotional cussing in trying to prove a point that good teaching is an asset. I acknowledge that that is so. But it does not gainsay that chemicals and equipment are expensive. It also does not gainsay that in the world today cutting edge instructors can’t be good teachers also. It also does not say that doctors will not leave to go to Ross for better pay and better working conditions including state of the art equipment particularly when teaching microbiology.

24. @Georgie Porgie
    I reported what was stated in the NYT. You can argue with them about the veracity of their reporting.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The new (Ross) is going to offer better salaries A JOKE
    and will have better equipment than UWI WHAT EQUIPMENT? STUDENTS COMPLAIN REPEATEDLY ABOUT EVEN THEIR LIBRARY.

YOU SEEM TO THINK THAT YOU NEED A LOT OF FANCY EQUIPMENT TO TEACH BASIC SCIENCES. YOU DONT

MEDICAL STUDENTS ARE NOT BEING TRAINED TO BE TECHNICIANS

RE so medical staff will leave. MEDICAL STAFF LEAVES ROSS EVERY TERM
    I CAN SHOW YOU THE CURRENT ADVERTISEMENTS THAT ROSS HAS FOR STAFF

That off-shore hospital in Grenada WHAT OFSHORE HOSPITAL?
    is better staffed and equipped than the medical faculty and some of the science departments at UWI. THIS IS DEBATABLE FROM THE INFO I READ ON VMD.

What is about to happen or has happened is not new.
    IT MOST CERTAINLY IS IF STUDENTS FROM BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS WILL BE COMPETING WITH UWI STUDENTS FOR CLINICAL TRAINING SPOTS AT QEH. OR IN THE POLYCLINICS.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I reported what was stated in the NYT. You can argue with them about the veracity of their reporting.
    WE KNOW THAT THE NYT PRINTS BULLSHIT
    I WONT BE ARGUING WITH THEM BOUT NUTTIN……….I CAN TELL YOU ABOUT UWI, OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS AND THE TEACHING OF MEDICAL STUDENTS AT UWI AND ELSEWHERE WITHOUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION

27. @Georgie Porgie
    I have no problem with your posting above.

28. @Georgie Porgie

I have no problem with your posting above.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    What does your tirade have to do with what was requested by the blog master in his post?

I HAVE NOT GOTTEN AROUND TO THAT YET
    I JUST HOPE THAT WHAT THE STUDENTS SEEM TO BE SUGGESTING IS NOT SO

NONE OF THESE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS HAVE A HOSPITAL IN THE CARRIBEAN
    THEIR MODEL IS FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO COMPLETE THEIR CLINICAL STUDIES IN THE USA
    THEIR STUDENTS THEREFORE HAVE NO PLACE IN OUR HOSPITAL OR OUR POLYCLINICS

RE You have gotten very emotional cussing in trying to prove a point that good teaching is an asset.
    NOT EMOTIONAL AT ALL OR CUSSING……BUT BULL SHIT IS BULL SHIT

RE But it does not gainsay that chemicals and equipment are expensive.
    WHO CARES ABOUT YOUR CHEMICALS? YOU DONT NEED THOSE TO TEACH BASIC SCIENCES OR TO TEACH THE CLINICAL SCIENCES

It also does not gainsay that in the world today cutting edge instructors can’t be good teachers also.

RE It also does not say that doctors will not leave to go to Ross for better pay and better working conditions WHAT BETTER PAY AND BETTER CONDITIONS? HAVE YOU CHECKED OUT ABOUT THE COMPANY THAT OWNS ROSS NOW?

RE including state of the art equipment particularly when teaching microbiology. YOU DONT NEED ANY STATE OF THE art equipment when teaching microbiology.TO MEDICAL STUDENTS

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ST GEORGES UNIVERSITY BOUGHT UP ALL THE SO CALLED GREEN BOOK CLINICAL SPOTS IN NY—THE MOST DESIRED PLACE FOR CLINICAL ROTATIONS FOR OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN THE PAST

MANY SCHOOLS ARE NOW REDUCED TO SUBJECTING THEIR STUDENTS TO BLUE BOOK ROTATIONS. IE NON HOSPITAL EXPERIENCE BUT FOLLOWING DRS IN HOSPITALS

QEH AND OUR FACILITIES IS A MOST DESIRABLE PLACE FOR THESE PLACES

ARE THEY OFFERING THE CASHED STRAP BLP GUVMENT LOTS OF MONEY?
    DONT THEY CARE ABOUT OUR HEALTH CARE INSTITUTIONS AND OUR TEACHING HOSPITAL?

WHY IS NO ONE SPEAKING UP?
    DOES NO ONE CARE?

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

QEH AND OUR FACILITIES IS A MOST DESIRABLE PLACE FOR THESE SCHOOLS

I HAVE POINTED THIS OUT BEFORE ON BU

IN 1967 MEDICAL EDUCATION BEGAN AT QEH WHEN THE UWI BEGAN THE EASTERN CARRIBEAN SCHEME, IN WHICH UWI MEDICAL STUDENTS FOR THE FIRST TIME COULD COMPLETE THEIR FINAL CLINICAL YEAR IN BARBADOS, AND TWO HOSPITALS IN TRINIDAD.

THIS RESULTED IN AN EXTENSION OF SERVICES NOT PREVIOUSLY OFFERED AT QEH, AS CONSULTANT SPECIALISTS CAME DOWN TO TEACH

IN 1977 THE EASTERN CARRIBEAN SCHEME WAS EXTENDED SO THAT THE LAST TWO CLINICAL YEARS COULD BE DONE AT QEH, AND THE HOSPITAL WAS FURTHER ADAPTED TO ACCOMODATE THIS

MANY OF THE BAJANS AFTER FINISHING THEIR INTERNSHIPS WENT TO CANADA OR USA TO DO RESIDENCIES- A FEW RETURNED.

SOME BAJAN GRADUATES WORKED AT QEH AND WENT TO THE UK TO TAKE THEIR EXAMS

THE ADVENT OF PARASITIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS IS A PROBLEM.
    IT IS A PROBLEM THAT SEEMS TO BE RAISING THE UGLY HEAD I PREDICTED TWO YEARS AGO HERE ON BU

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE BLOGMASTER SHOULD TRANSFER THE QUESTIONS ON THE ENVELOPE TO A POST THAT CAN BE BETTER VIEWED.

I KNOW THAT I AM A SECOND AND A FAKE DOCTOR TO SOME AND MEDIOCRE TO OTHERS AND SAID TO HAVE BEEN PUT OUT TO PASTURE BY YET ANOTHER……..BUT I KNOW WUH I TALKING BOUT CAUSE I HAVE WALKED THE WALK BOTH AS A STUDENT AND AS TEACHER IN OFFSHORE SCHOOLS…SO I CAN TALK THE TALK WITH OUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION

33. GP:

Please review RL’s claim about loss of accreditation – I think that it was UWI Mona that had the problem. I know that UWI St Augustine’s Civil Engineering program had accreditation problems.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GP II
    I KNOW THAT AT THE END OF 2003 THE BRITISH MEDICAL COUNCIL STOPPED AUTOMATICALLY ACCREDITING ALL MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE BRITISH OUTSIDE THE UK. THIS HAS RESULTED IN CAAM-C. A CARRIBBEAN “SITUATION” FOR ACCREDITING UWI AND SOME MEDICAL SCHOOLS.

I DO NOT KNOW IF THERE ARE/WERE ACCREDITATION ISSUES WITH OTHER ASPECTS OF UWI.

35. GP:

Professional Institutions headquartered in the UK continued to be invited to accredit the UWI Civil Engineering program after 2003. I was part of the Accreditation team in 2004, and the accreditation visits continue.

UWI Civil Engineering Bachelor degree lost its accreditation to satisfy the educational base for a Chartered Engineer qualification in 2003. Since then, it has only been partially accredited, with further study required. The partial accreditation expires in 2020, so another accreditation visit is required.

Accreditation is important since UWI graduates will find significant challenges getting professionally qualified, and becoming legally entitled to practise through national professional registration. This means that the firms they join may have challenges successfully competing for work.

36. I knew of the loss of accreditation but always thought it applied to all disciplines,

Civil would have been the major one.

Seem to remember from 5th form History that UWI came into being from around the time of Federation ,, set up by the Mother Country..

Science is based on theory … kind of like religion, it is faith based.

For example I learnt that the charge on an electron was 1.6X10 to the -19 coulombs way back at HC!!

I did Millikan’s Oil Drop experiment.

I believe there is such a thing as an electron although I have never seen one.

Now I am hearing there is such a thing as a God Particle!!

So pervasive is the belief that it has been translated into different languages so all mankind can understand.

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon May 12, 2019 8:16 AM “Dr. Lucas are you a medical doctor by profession?”

No he is not.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@robert lucas May 12, 2019 11:42 AM “You only have to look around at what Gaston Browne wants for Antigua (he wants a campus). The University is having problems surviving as it is .Some of the countries haven’t paid their contributions to the University in years.”

Is Antigua one of the country’s that hasn’t paid its UWI contribution in years?

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lucas “The article went on to state that in the past a lot of interns from UWI did their internship in the US.”

@GP “ALSO BULLSHIT. ALL UWI GRADS DO INTERNSHIPS IN TEACHING HOSPITALS IN THE CARRIBEAN. YOU CAN NOT GO TO DO A RESIDENCY IN THE USA COMING FROM A BRITISH TYPE MEDICAL SCHOOL UNLESS YOU HAVE FINISHED YOUR INTERNSHIP, AND THUS ACHIEVED FULL REGISTRATION AS A DOCTOR.”

GP is correct. Don’t know where Lucas got his misinformation from.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I am not a doctor, nor a scientist, but I think that an important part of the study and practice of patients is LISTENING TO THE PATIENT, AND TAKING A GOOD HISTORY.

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John

re Seem to remember from 5th form History that UWI came into being from around the time of Federation ,, set up by the Mother Country..

ACTUALLY UWI HAD ITS ORIGINS IN 1948 AS A COLLEGE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LONDON, AS A CONSEQUENCE OF THE MOYNE COMMISSION

ITS PRIMARY INTENT WAS TO ADDRESS THE DEARTH OF DOCTORS IN THE BRITISH COLONIES IN THE WEST INDIES. CONSEQUENTLY. THE FIRST FACULTY WAS THE MEDICAL SCHOOL

TODAY, 70 YEARS LATER, UWI HAS SUCCEEDED IN ITS PRIMARY MANDATE, AS THERE ARE UWI GRADUATES PRACTICING MEDICINE IN THE CONTRIBUTING COUNTRIES, AS WELL AS GUYANA, BELIZE AND THE BAHAMAS.

WHEN YOU WERE AT SCHOOL YOU MIGHT HAVE NOTICED THAT MANY OF THE TEACHERS HAD DEGREES FROM LONDON-UCWI.

IN I962 THE UWI WAS GRANTED ITS OWN CHARTER ALLOWING IT TO OFFER ITS OWN DEGREES.

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@nextparty246 May 12, 2019 9:21 PM “Please review RL’s claim about loss of accreditation.”

The USA does not accredit foreign educational institutions [although this misconception in quite common] unless such institutions based outside of the USA are USA registered institutions.

So the USA cannot accredit UWI, nor can it cause UWI to lose its accreditation.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Doctors need to LISTEN to patients. Only the patient has lived in his or her body form the beginning. Way back when I doctor diagnosed me as early menopause when I was 34. My mother had her last child at 44, and several sisters had children after the age of 40 so I know that the doctor was talking bullshit. Ff HE had asked enough questions and listened to the responses, he would have taken into consideration that one sibling and 5 first cousins are hyperthyroid. So I dragged my poor exhausted body around for 5 months until one evening undressing I noticed a swelling on my neck and diagnosed myself [no expensive chemicals nor equipment required]. I still paid the doctor for the diagnosis though. I think that HE is still teaching medicine. Lolll!!!. The menopause came as expected after my 55th birthday. At 34 i was good to have a dozen children still. Lolll!!!

Some male doctors too like to pin everything on female patient’s femaleness.

Being FEMALE IS NOT A PATHOLOGY.

The fellas have to take their eyes out of the lab and really question and really LISTEN.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

A female vendor in the fish market diagnosed my doctor diagnosed “gout” as my body’s response to eating dolphin/mahi-mahi. I paid her for the fish, but not for the correct medical diagnosis. Lolll!!! She no longer sells me dolphin. I still long to eat dolphin. Decades later I no longer have “gout.” I haven’t taken pain medicine in decades.

I feel so good that I spent yesterday evening playing hopscotch with the grands.

I am NOT a doctor, nor a scientist.

But I know MY BODY.

Doctors need to ask questions, and to LISTEN to the responses.

45. @ Georgie Porgie May 13, 2019 8:37 AM
    “ACTUALLY UWI HAD ITS ORIGINS IN 1948 AS A COLLEGE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LONDON, AS A CONSEQUENCE OF THE MOYNE COMMISSION
    ITS PRIMARY INTENT WAS TO ADDRESS THE DEARTH OF DOCTORS IN THE BRITISH COLONIES IN THE WEST INDIES. CONSEQUENTLY. THE FIRST FACULTY WAS THE MEDICAL SCHOOL”

Isn’t it ‘wonderful how’ “what goes around comes around”?

There is a crying need for GPs (not the ‘Georgie Porgie’ type with his teaching slides from the days of his Greek god Hippocrates) in the UK.

So why can’t the ex-British West Indies export some of the surplus to requirements doctors trained at the UWI?

Wouldn’t such a programme not only free up places for those young doctors undergoing internship but also act as earners of much needed foreign exchange similar to what their 7th Standard-educated fore parents did in the 1950’s and 60’s.

Without sustained sources forex the UWI, especially the Cave Hill campus, has a bleak, bleak future.

46. Simple:

I never mentioned anything about the USA accrediting the UWI. Further, an institution can lose its accreditation if it is not renewed after it expires.

47. SS

If you stop eating dolphin and drinking fine wines the gout will go!!

It is always debatable as to which caused the improvement!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

48. At 34 i was good to have a dozen children still. Lolll!!!

When my niece was probably less than 5 she was the cause of great amusement in the family when she asked her mother how many children could she have in a year!!

She wanted as many children as she could get!!

Your statement would have confused her no end!!

49. So why can’t the ex-British West Indies export some of the surplus to requirements doctors trained at the UWI?

That’s one way of addressing our population size and dearth of opportunities.

However with 7 billion in the world everybody probably has this idea as well.

We are stuck with making the best of what we have here as the foundation for survival,

50. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John May 13, 2019 11:15 AM “SS. If you stop eating dolphin and drinking fine wines the gout will go!!”

I’ll drink to that.

Lolll!!!