The following article was posted to the Financial Times and will be of interest to the BU family. Discuss for 10 marks.

-David, blogmaster

Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees

“London-based boutique, White Oak, in line for payout for work on $7bn restructuring

“White Oak’s engagement letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister last year…”

May 9, 2019 8:30 pm by Colby Smith in New York

A little-known UK advisory firm stands to make about $27m from the restructuring of Barbados’s $7bn of debts — close to what Lazard earned seven years ago when it advised Greece on defaulted debt nearly 40 times bigger.

White Oak Advisory is a small firm with just two partners located opposite Claridge’s hotel in London’s Mayfair. The size of the fee it will receive from its work on the default has outraged the Caribbean island’s creditors.

“The fee is absurd given the size of the debt,” said Sean Newman, an Atlanta-based portfolio manager at Invesco and a member of the external committee of creditors. “I’ve never seen anything like this in my 20 years in the business.”

White Oak was founded a decade ago by Sebastian Espinosa, a former Houlihan Lokey banker, and David Nagoski, an ex-US Treasury Department official. It will earn about $27m from the bankrupt country, according to FT calculations. That is almost double what Ukraine paid for advice on its $18bn restructuring in 2015, according to people familiar with the deals.

The Bajan government hit back at the creditor criticism. “We believe it is excellent value for money given that through their efforts we have saved over $1bn of interest and principal. We would hire [White Oak] again.”

White Oak’s engagement letter indicates that the Bajan government agreed to pay the firm just over $21m for the successful restructuring of its roughly $5bn of domestic debts, excluding arrears. The letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister on May 25 last year, and two days before the government announced it was defaulting on its debts.

By any metric or rationale, the fee is outsized and unwarranted.

Sean Newman, Invesco
Negotiations with external creditors are ongoing. Once complete, the government is set to pay White Oak about $4m for restructuring approximately $910m of debt owed to foreign investors. The firm is also receiving an $85,000 monthly retainer.

It is likely to take at least another 12 months to finalise the deal, according to another person involved in the negotiations. The additional $2m in monthly fees brings the total payout from Barbados to roughly $27m.

“It is a disproportionate fee for a small country,” said one financial adviser.

“Barbados is not Greece, which had a massive debt stock, multiple debt instruments and huge political tensions,” the financial adviser said. “Double-digit fees are for very large transactions that are super complicated with a large number of instruments and a large number of different creditors.”

White Oak’s partners said the fee was justified because “placing this debt on a sustainable footing has required an unusually complex operation”. Its rates are “among the lowest charged in any Caribbean restructuring, again in relative terms”.

Barbados’s debts came to roughly 160 per cent of gross domestic product at the beginning of the restructuring in June last year, among the highest in the world.

Mr Espinosa and Mr Nagoski point out that their business in the country goes beyond the public restructuring and that they are not charging a fee for additional work. The pair say they are advising Barbados on several commercial contracts, as well as the restructuring of a number of state-owned enterprises and the country’s regional airline, of which the government is the largest shareholder.

However, few Caribbean debt restructurings have paid out fees in the tens of millions to financial advisers in recent years. Citigroup earned roughly $3m restructuring Jamaica’s $9bn of defaulted debts in 2013, and in Belize advisers were paid single-digit millions for the restructuring of more than $525m of debt in 2017, according to people familiar with both deals.

https://www.ft.com/content/164613a4-7234-11e9-bbfb-5c68069fbd15”

367 responses to “Two Man White Oak Making 27 Million from Restructuring Deal”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Art….I take it Jackie cussed ya dumb ass…i have not even looked at the video yet…poor you…ya can never win any of this can ya..

note that i never, ever called you appallingly ignorant…ah think it;’s ya leader president Enuff called ya that…

2. “Here we go again. Scanner Gate over and now we on to White Oak.”

Enuff

Don’t you find it strange that the Mottley administration was able to broker a deal with White Oaks in a mere five days after being elected?

And all you can “say” is “go and listen to the PM Budget speech?”

Do you believe it is fair for this administration to be paying 2 inexperienced men $27M and $85,000 per month, when this money could have been best used to repair and buy Transport Board buses and garbage trucks?

Enuff, everyday the Mia Mottley is looking more and more like a “one-term” prime minister.

3. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

BTW….Artax…ah see ya still can’t tell me WHO TOLD Jackie about the BLP government setting up DEA in the 90s…when ya get the information…i would love to hear it..

4. There isn’t any “dumbass” in this forum other than you.

I don’t give two f%#@s about Jackie Stewart and I DON’T CARE if she cusses me. SO WHAT. Cussing me isn’t going to CONVINCE George Payne or Dale Marshall to give her back the land.

And I don’t watch waste my time watching her silly videos

What she should do is, rather than cuss me and talking shiite on FB, while the people are allegedly “stealing” her land…..

……………she should hire a lawyer to make her case public and go to the CCJ.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“To repeat, sovereignty rests in the people and is delegated to parliament and parliament delegates some of that power to the majority party that can get its programme through parliament; members of that majority party then elect/decide on a prime minister.”

DBLP governments CORRUPTED THAT WHOLE PROCESS..and added their own SICK TWIST..COMPLICIT IN THAT BARBARIC PRACTICE…were all the representatives of the crown…the GGs..who also infested and polluted government house..

They even STOLE SOVEREIGNTY from the people and rendered then POWERLESS…the only power left to the people is to vote for either corrupt party each election cycle…the more money these 2 wicked governments continue to steal…the MORE CORRUPT THE ELECTION PROCESS WILL BECOME..

6. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“……………she should hire a lawyer to make her case public and go to the CCJ.”

you are NOT A LAWYER…and your head is hard as shite…but that is your thing, it looks real good on you..

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

So what you so angry about though..ah just watched the video and Jackie even sent ya a kiss.

8. Fractured BLP Avatar

On the night of May 23, 2018 Mia Mottley’s voice rang out in the night air…..” Barbados is BROKE …….the TREASURY is empty !”

Mia Mottley on the said night with the SHEEPLE in the crowd ( David of BU with sheep collar on…….lol 🐏 ) amongst the excited crowd……Mia Mottley PLEADED………..” Gi muh the VOTE and watch MUH save Barbados ”

Within the next few days post May 23, 2018…….here is the PROOF of how Mia Mottley saved BARBADOS :

On May 28, 2018 she installed the largest CABINET in the history Barbados…….to the tune of an additional $ 10 million dollars a month to the country’s DEBT !

On May 30, 2018 she signed with White HOAX ….oops White Oak……a $ 27 million dollar deal to ” restructure ” Barbados’ debt !

And for good measure…..on the anniversary of the BLP victory in May 2018…..Mia Mottley with Dale ” Smiley ” Marshall in tow in May 2019……announces a $ 40 million – Port Scammer – to prove that a ” BROKEN country & Treasury ” can still find :

$ 10 million !

$ 27 million

And

$ 40 million to finance the BLP – SHAMS !!

Blasted Lying People – BLP

No wonder David BU is their bosom….pal !

9. Artax

My comment about the budget speech was in relation to the $40M, scanners and the Port, nothing to do with White Oak. “White Oak was founded a decade ago by Sebastian Espinosa, a former Houlihan Lokey banker, and David Nagoski, a former US Treasury department official.” If 20+ years is inexperience, then very few people can be considered experienced in anything.
    Well if it is a one-term government so be it.

10. Barbados 2019 Avatar

DON’T FORGET TO ADD $21 MILLION FOR THE CONSULTANTS

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

ARE YOU ALL NOW understanding why Mugabe Mottley will only have a one term government?

The fact is that “everyone can buy land but you cannot hide and wuk it”

Mugabe Amin Mottley DOES NOT HAVE ANY RECOVERY PLAN.

She has 30 ministers and a horde (or is that whore) of cunsultants who she is paying $close to $25 million a month to.

So she has stopped up the leakage to the Demonic Lying Party and now she is paying the Mugabe Regime

It is all working out nicely.

When the Interpol Country Office issues the Red Notice for *** that will seal her 5 year term.

Watch and see

http://imgur.com/IPMk0eu

12. And when I say 20+ years I don’t mean combined, but each principal. The foreign investors rep get their FT link to print a favourable story? I witnessed a similar act auite recently, so wouldn’t be surprise at all. #iamnotasalemite

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“White Oak was founded a decade ago by Sebastian Espinosa, ”

Wuhloss …ain’t the VECO crooks who built the 740 million US dollar prison had experience too…but the US still had to lock up their crooked asses ain’t it..

A decade ago…how convenient…don’t know what that ex-treasury guy is doing in the mix…but am sure we will find out soon ENUFF.

14. @enuff

Agree the external creditors have resorted to media to support the negotiations. The government should have anticipated? Who takes a hair cut willingly?

The average Bajan will run with the story.

15. Barbados 2019 Avatar

@ ENUFF

The foreign investors rep get their FT link to print a favourable story?

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

STOP INSULTING PEOPLES’ INTELLIGENCE WORLDWIDE.

IS GREECE NOT MANY MANY TIMES THE SIZE OF THE POPULATION OF CORRUPT AND BANKRUPT BARBADOS?.

WASN’T GREECE DEBT MANY MANY TIMES MORE THAN BARBADOS CURRENT DEBT?

THEN WHY IS IT LITTLE 2 X 4 ISLAND OF BARBADOS WITH A LITTLE OVER QUARTER MILLION PEOPLE PAYING MUCH MUCH MORE TO WHITE COLLAR CRIMINALS FOR FAR FAR LESS DEBT?

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Just to drive home the point the creditors, IMF and everyone else is making about white hoax……

Population of Ukraine that was mentioned in the FT article.= 44.83 million (2017)

Area of Ukraine = 233,062 mi²

Population of Barbados = BARELY 290,000 THOUSAND

Area of Barbados = 166 sq mi

White hoax is…a hoax, they are not needed.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Q Who takes a hair cut willingly?
    A MOST MEN DO……..WHEN REQUIRED

18. @David
    Agree the external creditors have resorted to media to support the negotiations.
    You agreeing with that conspiracy stuff? The FT people join up with foreign investors to beat up on poor Barbados? It is mighty strange that a deal of that magnitude could be consummated with five days of the Gov’t taking power. I don’t care how many financial experts are in the new Gov’t it would take more than 5 days for them to know the true extent of the country’s financial position.

So who was negotiating with White Oaks on behalf of the people of Barbados prior to May 24th? As the old bajan saying goes “yuh can hide and buy land but yuh can’t hide and work um”. The veil of “transparency” is getting thicker and thicker, since Her majesty’s loyal Opposition doesn’t exist it will be up to the bloggers to raise questions.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The much more experienced company Lazard restructured about $280 billion of Greek private sector debt achieving a steep haircut of around 75% on a net present value basis. Their fee was apparently about $30 million for achieving savings of $210 billion.

We are paying $27 million for a much simpler restructuring to achieve savings of $1 billion. This makes me very suspicious.

http://www.ifre.com/greek-tragedy-averted/21052459.fullarticle

20. @Sargeant

Agreeing that a foreign bondholder probably dropped the story to the FT. They have those relationships. This is separate from the concern about the size of the fee.

21. Artax

I thought gutter language was beneath an educated fella like you?

22. Fractured BLP Avatar

And looking back at it alll ……as I now come to thnk of it…..why did I allow David BU convinced me – Fractured BlP – to vote for the Bees on May 24, 2018 ????

A decision I rue every passing day since then !

Oh David BU….should I forgive you ?

23. There is still time to persuade Freundel and Sinckler to return and save us.

24. Frature BLP

Blaming David is liken to blaming Trump for being the first ignorant megalomaniac to govern the US… the ignorance of the Bajan electorate is analogous to that of the American electorate as far as Donald Trump is concerned…

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I am concerned with your remark and I quote

“…Agree the external creditors have resorted to media to support the negotiations…”

Why that verb?

You are the person who put up the FT article after a feller posted it here last night

The verb agree in the face of such an egregious fee for such paltry services seems to most like if you are on the same side as Mia’s number one poochlicker!

Then you continue ALMOST COLLABORATIVELY with

“…The government should have anticipated? …”

Why should the mugabe government have “anticipated” this response?

Is it that unlike the bajan sheeple THE INTERNATIONAL CREDITORS DONT HAVE TO SUCK MUGABE MOTTLEY ‘S pooch?

Why are you using these conspiratorial verbs?

WUNNA SEEING HOW WELL THE INTERNAL SPIES ARE WORKJNG TO EXPOSE ALL THE FEES THAT WUNNA TEIFING?

My boys wukking well heheheheh

Then you continue…

“…Who takes a hair cut willingly?…”

Imagine that! Bajans get fleeced of their hard earned cash and you trivialise it by calling ghis theft “a haircut”!!!

http://imgur.com/PlZGQru

Unbelievable absolutely amazing!!!

Then you add this final derogatory comment

“…The average Bajan will run with the story…”

What is so “average” about bajan citizens???

You comprehend what your verb “run” connotates?

It shows how you identify with Mugabe AND NOT WITH THE COMMON BAJAN and now ascribe a criminality to these people commenting about this attempt by Mugabe to fleece the international community.

When we are finished with the government of Mugabe Mottley WHEN THE ELECTIONS ROLL AROUND NOT ONE OF HER LOT WILL WIN A SEAT!!!

Watch de old MAN now

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE the ignorance of the Bajan electorate is analogous to that of the American electorate as far as Donald Trump is concerned…

WAS THIS THE SAME American electorate THAT VOTED FOR SHITBAMA TWICE WHEN HE SHOUTED HOPE AND CHANGE AND BROUGHT DESPAIR AND NO WORTHWHILE CHANGE EXCEPT CASH FOR CLUNKERS AS HIS BEST PLOY?

27. Fractured BLP Avatar

Thank you David BU !

Your mission has been accomplished !

Too bad for me & others who you hoodwinked !

28. Fractured BLP Avatar

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/govt-to-probe-m-contract/article_736d2830-72be-11e9-b2b9-7f125abd291f.html

A careful read of the article above about our neighbour – across the pond – Trinidad … would reveal some interesting similarities and ONE GLARING DIFFERENCE to this BU article :

SIMILARITIES !!

The story concern a port of entry !
    The story involves a SCAM….oops a SCAN machine !
    The Office of the Attorney Genera l is involved in the matter !

GLARING DIFFERENCE !!

The Minister Stuart Young in rhe Office of the Attorney General in Trinidad has instructed an investigation into the matter and his own PNM government !!

Whilst

Our Attorney General in Barbados has sought to BACK TRACK from the original $ 40 million SCAMMERS a.k.a Scanners story he first gave to Barbadians !!

Only bout here !!!!

29. Fractured BLP Avatar

Stuart Young Communications Minister ( was formerly in the AG Office ).

Stuart Young reported ( not instructed ) that Cabinet ordered a probe .

My reporting at times …..showing FUZZINESS – like David BU .

lol

30. Fractured BLP Avatar

https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-48231978

A read of this story will cause thousands of Barbadians to ask :

Given the high international appeal of this individual …..couldn’t she have been asked to help restructure our country’s international debt – rather than 2 scamps operating out of a – one door shop – on a London back street ?

31. @ Fractured,

Has any Barbados-domiciled business an annual turnover of Bds$1bn? Rihanna is right to make her fortune outside Barbados, visiting occasionally to see friends and relatives.

32. Fractured BLP Avatar

@ Hal

I am pleased with Rihanna efforts and support her business ventures fully .

I was just marvelling that those in power ( BLPites ) believe that they have to choose ” First World gurus ” to solve our issues .

33. Let’s keep it simple and just focus on 2 figures only for the purpose of comparison.

Barbados paid 2.7% of its savings which totalled 1 billion dollars by all reports to these guys for their services.

Greece with a more complex restructuring paid 0.014 percent or their saving on restructuring to its contractors.

So all we want explained is why such a massive variance as a percentage of savings achieved that’s all. Is it a case of a sliding scale of fees, or what is the standard used for placing a value on such services as a percentage of each dollar saved?

We really need to hear how this was arrived at so we can better understand these numbers, as currently they appear totally out of whack when compared to other similar fees as a percentage of savings.

34. @ Fractured

Like White Oaks???? Someone must be getting kick backs.

35. @John A

Could it just be a bad deal a la Credit Suisse and the Japanese bullet loan?

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Are you intimating that Mugabe Mottley is as stupid as Stinkliar?

You better be careful dem doan confiscate your BLP membership card!!!

Heheheheh whuloss I sorry D I cud not help that one.

You dun know we does laugh at this ingrunce often too, cause if you tek it serious it would kill you.

37. John A
    We also want to know who got finders fees or by whatever name called who got a “cut”. I hope it ain’t that silly looking Oxford fake accented Asian guy who was adviser to Thompson as well.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hal Austin May 10, 2019 4:52 PM

@ Fractured,

Rihanna is right to make her fortune outside Barbados, visiting occasionally to see friends and relatives.

YESTERDAY YOU CUSS ME FOR SEEKING to make MY fortune outside Barbados SO HOW IS Rihanna right to make her fortune outside Barbados? JUST ASKING?

39. David might be but the variance is way too big when compared with the price other islands paid closer to us like Jamaica. From memory I think Jamaica was around 1% of the sum saved. I see it was also stated that they were doing reviews of Liat etc, but if that was the case only our portion as a shareholder of LIAT should be our expenses. I think the only way this can be put to rest is if government comes out and shares all the numbers with us. As a result of the past bajans are watching all expenditure closer now and so they should. I have to say that I am happy to see all of us paying attention and asking questions on such matters.

40. @ Hal Austin May 10, 2019 7:40 AM
    Just read your comments which are spot on( I don’t know what you posted before). Unlike you I will name names. Persaud. His father had an insurance company which the government of the day had to close down leaving him in disgrace. One thing I will say, Persaud junior is one smooth operator. I admired how he dealt with the Four Seasons’ affair. As I told persons at the time, the only one who was going to benefit was junior. I said he had to be laughing at how stupid Barbadians are. It would appear that some skullduggery went down with White Oak. The money trail has to be followed and I would not be amazed to find it leading to person one. One is supposed to forgive seventy times seven but not being very religious, I cannot find myself doing so in the case of Roy Morris. One is known by the company one keeps. I have very little faith in the Barbadian political system; do not support either of the main parties seldom vote( they both represent the same bs). This country will only change when some blood is shed and even then, the shedders of blood will end up like Napoleon in “Animal Farm”.

41. David just to correct Jamaica’s cost as a percentage of savings. I had said it was under 1% but I just found the actual figure and it was 0.03% of the value saved that was paid out to its contractors at the time.

42. The Belizean dollar and the Barbados dollar are almost 1:1.
    Belize paid $1.2 M for $525 M in restructuring. This suggest that a cost of $16 M may be defensible.

Let me add that all cost are quoted in US $; else at JA $3M those Jamaicans got a hell of a deal (US $ 22,000)

I also believe the quoted cost for the port scammers by the port scammer will be in US $ when the smoke clears.

Despite the brouhaha, the minister has not informed us, if i he is talking US $ or Barbados $. It will be amusing when he states… “I never said $40 M, the price is US $20M. ”

🤣🤣🤣🤣
    🖐🏾#SalemitesWhoSellScammersInBarbados$

43. Reposting a link I saw earlier..
    It looks as if the swith from US to Barbados dollars is already being made. Note the link says usd40-million
    Good move Dale
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239702/scanners-costing-usd40-million
    🤣🤣🤣🤣
    🖐🏾#SalemitesWhoSellScammersInBarbados$

44. @John A

Is it the best comparative analysis to compare consultant fees across countries? Does the state of the economy relative to the global system impact decision making?

https://ftalphaville.ft.com/2014/04/04/1819992/guest-post-the-imf-approach-to-sovereign-debt-restructuring/

45. Actually Belize is an interesting case for sure. In terms of value theirs was a small restructuring. So if you say that the same process of review is required for a small as a large restructuring, then the $1million US they paid should reflect a massive percentage of the amount saved, but it doesn’t. If we convert the Belize amount to USD let’s round if off at $250m USD. So even they only paid 0.5% of the saving as a percentage of the savings for their contractors.

46. “If 20+ years is inexperience, then very few people can be considered experienced in anything.”.

How have many restructurings have they done in 20 years?

I do not believe that restructuring is like baking bread where there is a new batch is placed in the oven when the last one is done.

🤣🤣🤣🤣
    🖐🏾#SalemitesWhatWunnaKnowAboutRestructuring

47. David that is a great question but we don’t know exactly what they were contracted to do as that was never published. If their task requires them to review statuary boards, future privatisation, refinancing of LIAT and more, then it’s not fair for us to compare their fee for those services with other fees charged for just a debt restructuring. That is why the government needs to share with us in detail what we have contracted these guys to do. If that is done and a break down for each service published with the relevant fee, maybe it will change the picture completely. In the absence of that data though the fee for the debt restructure as a percentage of savings seems high, assuming it’s only debt restructuring they are doing. We need more info and a clear breakdown of fees for services being supplied to clear the air on this one.

48. @John A

This is the point. Interesting with Mia strongly defending the arrangement post FT article.

49. Good observation…….

Belize is a big country,but its population is is not much more than that of Barbados. The $525 M seem like a rather small sum.
    Could it be that Belize is very poor, found itself in a desperate situation and was willing to pay to get out of the corner it found itself in.. Others made the most of their desperation.

The tighter the corner you find yourself in, the more you have to pay to get out.
    (My wife locked herself out and a locksmith ripped her off)

It would be interesting to find out how Jamaica was able to pay just $3M.

50. @John A – Some good observations
    @David – Do you expect her to say it was a bad deal???