The following article was posted to the Financial Times and will be of interest to the BU family. Discuss for 10 marks.

-David, blogmaster

Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees

“London-based boutique, White Oak, in line for payout for work on $7bn restructuring

“White Oak’s engagement letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister last year…”

May 9, 2019 8:30 pm by Colby Smith in New York

A little-known UK advisory firm stands to make about $27m from the restructuring of Barbados’s $7bn of debts — close to what Lazard earned seven years ago when it advised Greece on defaulted debt nearly 40 times bigger.

White Oak Advisory is a small firm with just two partners located opposite Claridge’s hotel in London’s Mayfair. The size of the fee it will receive from its work on the default has outraged the Caribbean island’s creditors.

“The fee is absurd given the size of the debt,” said Sean Newman, an Atlanta-based portfolio manager at Invesco and a member of the external committee of creditors. “I’ve never seen anything like this in my 20 years in the business.”

White Oak was founded a decade ago by Sebastian Espinosa, a former Houlihan Lokey banker, and David Nagoski, an ex-US Treasury Department official. It will earn about $27m from the bankrupt country, according to FT calculations. That is almost double what Ukraine paid for advice on its $18bn restructuring in 2015, according to people familiar with the deals.

The Bajan government hit back at the creditor criticism. “We believe it is excellent value for money given that through their efforts we have saved over $1bn of interest and principal. We would hire [White Oak] again.”

White Oak’s engagement letter indicates that the Bajan government agreed to pay the firm just over $21m for the successful restructuring of its roughly $5bn of domestic debts, excluding arrears. The letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister on May 25 last year, and two days before the government announced it was defaulting on its debts.

By any metric or rationale, the fee is outsized and unwarranted.

Sean Newman, Invesco
Negotiations with external creditors are ongoing. Once complete, the government is set to pay White Oak about $4m for restructuring approximately $910m of debt owed to foreign investors. The firm is also receiving an $85,000 monthly retainer.

It is likely to take at least another 12 months to finalise the deal, according to another person involved in the negotiations. The additional $2m in monthly fees brings the total payout from Barbados to roughly $27m.

“It is a disproportionate fee for a small country,” said one financial adviser.

“Barbados is not Greece, which had a massive debt stock, multiple debt instruments and huge political tensions,” the financial adviser said. “Double-digit fees are for very large transactions that are super complicated with a large number of instruments and a large number of different creditors.”

White Oak’s partners said the fee was justified because “placing this debt on a sustainable footing has required an unusually complex operation”. Its rates are “among the lowest charged in any Caribbean restructuring, again in relative terms”.

Barbados’s debts came to roughly 160 per cent of gross domestic product at the beginning of the restructuring in June last year, among the highest in the world.

Mr Espinosa and Mr Nagoski point out that their business in the country goes beyond the public restructuring and that they are not charging a fee for additional work. The pair say they are advising Barbados on several commercial contracts, as well as the restructuring of a number of state-owned enterprises and the country’s regional airline, of which the government is the largest shareholder.

However, few Caribbean debt restructurings have paid out fees in the tens of millions to financial advisers in recent years. Citigroup earned roughly $3m restructuring Jamaica’s $9bn of defaulted debts in 2013, and in Belize advisers were paid single-digit millions for the restructuring of more than $525m of debt in 2017, according to people familiar with both deals.

https://www.ft.com/content/164613a4-7234-11e9-bbfb-5c68069fbd15”

367 responses to “Two Man White Oak Making 27 Million from Restructuring Deal”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“If the Mottley led BLP had lost the election who would have paid White Oak? Would these plans then be placed on the back burner and trotted out at the next election?”

Always some grand setup, this one looks like it backfired though, we shall see indeed.

we shall see if bajans get bang for their buck with white hoax or end up in more debt, with more suffering and sacrificing for the vulnerable, while those who syphon off and funnel tax dollars into offshore accounts continue to look obese and unhealthy.

2. I don’t understand your excitement.

A premium island like Barbados just pays premium prices for financial advice.

Our dear Prime Minister must not let herself be distracted by the whining on Barbados Underground. She must stay on course.

1) Debt restructuring,
    2) wage cuts,
    3) pension cuts,
    4) privatization,
    5) deregulation
    6) lower taxes and
    7) abolition of the welfare state.

Debt restructuring means hope.

3. David for those fees everybody better come out bald then!

4. The report in Britain is totally one-sided. Greece paid so few service fees only because it was a political project of the EU, France and Germany. The debt restructuring involved the finance ministries of France and Germany, the EU Commission and the Euro Group.

But Barbados is alone and has no external aid.

That is the difference.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“But Barbados is alone and has no external aid.”

No difference whatsoever…ya lying…Barbados got OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS..that is EXTERNAL…BRING THEM BACK.

6. MI|A and the BLP won an absolute majority. Therefore my prediction is that……

The use of marijuana for personal use will be LEGALISED.

Gambling Casinos will be LEGALISED.

The “spin” will be that ” we are legalising marijuana so that our oung people will not end up in Dodds.

“We are legalising Gambling Casinos so that our tourist industry can compete with other Caribbean destinations.

7. Tron by your argument how come then Jamaica only paid 3 million USD to Citibank on debt that was way higher than ours then? How come Belize only paid 1.2 million USD to save $500 million on theirs? Sorry that argument don’t hold up to scrutiny. They like us are small Caribbean islands close to home with no ties to the EU

8. @John A

Do we know the kind of debt that was negotiated.e. ageing, state of the economy, standing with credit rating agencies etc?

9. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

As someone and i just discussed… the UN and the bigger countries need to create organizations that can monitor small island governments who have a track record for corruption…they should never be allowed to touch the people’s treasury, pension or anything unless they are monitored….things cannot continue like this, as soon as these miniscule beasts get access to a treasury and small island power…this is what happens…

this cannot continue.

#havetolearnthattheyareemployeesnotmasters
    #havetolearnthatelectoratedidnothirethemtotief
    #havetolearnthaneithetthepeoplemoneynorcountrybelongstothem

i think that is part of the problem, some of these corrupt families who in their delusions think they are some kinda a royalty believe that they are personal OWNERS of Barbados and the people and they can do whatever they like and have been.

10. @ John A May 11, 2019 11:39 AM

Barbados is not a rat hole, but a premium island, a global brand. The prices are higher than in the backyard of the Caribbean. We have the highest debts, the highest hotel prices, the highest taxes and the highest food prices. That’s why the fees are the highest.

Compare the fees for a day of golf at Sandy Lane and for a day on any golf course in Jamaica. If you put that in relation, White Oak is a real bargain.

11. Lord have mercy I have now heard it all. I going share this last piece if data with you. If you take an average cost of debt restructuring as a percentage of the debt being restructured it comes out at roughly O.O4 PERCENT. I want you write down that figure as it includes both international and regional neighbours in it. When the process is done locally come back and tell me how our cost compares with that figure even with your premium island so pay through your nose logic. Plus how you could call islands like Jamaica a rat hole? They got some room rates there for premium accommodation that makes ours look cheap! Don’t let your party loyalty blind you from facts and figures that are based on hard data.

12. I want those who refer to other islands as ” ratholes” to read this article in the BBC . It is entitled WILL GUYANA SOON BE THE RICHEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD?

It was posted on the BBC site on May 8th this year and written by Simon Maybin. The morror is never look down on others they may get the last laugh.

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A.

I am good at my craft, that is why I am called the Legend

You are new here AND I SOUGHT TO ASCERTAIN DEFINITIVELY that you were not John the Quaker

Then de ole man sought to ascertain your “predisposition” and emoted the response required.

So we good

Welcome to Barbados Underground.

Like if um belong to me heheheheh

Expect to get assailed regularly if you say anything about Mugabe Mottley or Fumbles stuart

It is preferable that you use those titles else you risk getting a lawsuit or arrested for treason.

Other than that there are no real rules other than you cannot use the ni**or word and you must be respectful to or use respectful tones to the Honourable Blogmaster

Oops I forgot to tell you that you can curse de ole man liberally heheheheh

14. John A
    On my phone so I will be brief.
    You are manhandling folks like you are some boss.
    Jolly good work

15. According to the White Oak Engagement Letter, the White Oak agreement was negotiated with the DLP administration, not BLP.

Both DLP and BLP need to stop signing corrupting no-bid contracts on our behalf. When we do not tender, we always lose.

From the Financial Times article, instead of taxpayers being forced to pay BD$54M, we could have got the same result for around BD$5M – which is likely with competitive tendering.

16. May 11, 2019 11:55 AM

@ John A May 11, 2019 11:39 AM

Barbados is not a rat hole, but a premium island, a global brand. The prices are higher than in the backyard of the Caribbean. We have the highest debts, the highest hotel prices, the highest taxes and the highest food prices. That’s why the fees are the highest.

Compare the fees for a day of golf at Sandy Lane and for a day on any golf course in Jamaica. If you put that in relation, White Oak is a real bargain.

you have to be stark raving mad. how could any sensible person refer to their Caribbean neighbours as their backyard. These countries are members of Caricom, Barbados imports most of it food from these so-called rat holes. Why don’t Bajans since they are premium learn to feed themselves rather than depending on the backyard of the Caribbean. have you been to Jamaica. Well, for your information, I am Bajan, Barbados has nothing, absolutely nothing on Jamaica. From the time you arrive at the airport, either of the two, you know it is a cut above the rest.

17. Sorry the above is a reply to Tron’s post. Not John A.

18. Piece the legend thanks for the welcome. You have Walter Blackmans comment on the NIS to balme for me coming here lol. It was so well written and factual. I was told of it by a friend on this blog and ended up sticking around…

19. TheOgazerts thank you. Like you I enjoy facts and data in a debate.

20. @Dame Bajan
    Well said. You will find that on this blog, people sometimes say the most nonsensical things. Often this is to defend their party, either the B’s or the Ds. To add to this confusion, we unfortunately still have some Bajans who think they are better than other Caribbean people coz the slave master convinced them that although they are African descendants, they are nearly like the Englishman. Some messed up psychological stuff, I know.

21. Thank you very much nextparty246 May 11, 2019 1:07 PM for this very important information!

Everybody anticipated that Chris Sinckler (?) or another DLP official had signed this overpriced contract. Probably they slipped again at one decimal …

The question remains, why did the English publish this raging article in the press? At the behest of creditor consultant Worrell, to exert maximum pressure on Barbados? Or was it a renewed attempt by the DLP to discredit the democratically elected government?

Our beloved Prime Minister must now stand firm. In the case of Greece, creditors have lost a lot of money. I don’t think they should be better off in Barbados for any loans after 2007, as the bankruptcy was foreseeable in the near future after the figure of Thompson seized power. DLP and national bankruptcy, it’s like Adam and Eve or rum and sun. The two belong together inseparably.

22. Why has this White Oak issue not blown up in the Barbados press, the radio and TV?

Barbados needs some investigative journalists with the COURAGE, the SKILL and the WILL to take this up and run with it.. on behalf of the long-suffering people of Barbados..

Who is going to take this on?

23. Hi Tron:

No need to thank me. I must be fair and honest in all of my writing, and must be careful to be even more so since I am publicly professionally known.

24. “5 days after election…ya had no cabinet in place” Salemite Abigail

<New Cabinet Sworn in
    27 May 2018

Barbados officially has its Cabinet.
    In a two hour long ceremony this evening, the Governor General Dame Sandra Mason swore in 24 members of Prime Minister’s Mia Mottley’s new Cabinet at the Bay Street Esplanade. The session was watched by both invited guests, the public who gathered from all sides and those following online. (AD)

25. Grenville, Tron,
    So why is the present government saying ‘WE would hire [White Oak] AGAIN”
    Why would they make this statement if Mr Sinckler of the DLP signed the contract?

26. Good question Ms. Cole. if the DLP signed the contract, why did the BLP have to run with it before a thorough review, and even a cancellation/amendment of terms and conditions? SMH.

27. Man @Tron stop trolling de man blog chatting rubbish. Y

Anyway it is sliced or diced Barbados overpaid for the Why Hoax advice. The only question is whether the inflated fees are the result of corruption or gross incompetence. The Dullard suspects a bit of both.

Only yardfowls would attempt to justify this latest disgraceful saga.

Then we have some idiot suggesting that the article is the DLP’s fault…

Barbados is a failed state.

28. And why are some of you yardfowls comparing the Barbados and Greece situations? The only similarity is that both countries had ‘debt restructurings’. It is like comparing a Casio digital watch with a Patek Philippe or some other Swiss high end time piece. They are both watches but whereas the Indian man pun Swan Street can fix the Casio, the many parts and complicated movements of the Swiss piece calls for a higher level of expertise, skill and experience.

In the case of Greece, their debt comprised many complex structured products and credit derivatives that Goldman Sachs engineered.

As far as the Dullard knows, the Barbados portfolio is relatively uncomplicated.

Barbados is a failed state.

29. All the white Oak stuff that you want can be found here.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/sittings/details/238

I give up.. Mia doing things before she took office… Sinckler doing things after leaving office.
    The letter of engagement is dated May 30, 2018 and is signed by Ian Carrington….

30. @Dullard
    “As far as the Dullard knows, the Barbados portfolio is relatively uncomplicated.”

Now, you just hold it there. This is Barbados you talking about, not some backyard country. We punch above our weight and must therefore pay above our weight.

31. @SB
    Can you tell me the paragraph/sentence which indicates negotiations with the DLP. Legal documents of any kind and my mmind goes blank.

It look as if you want Enuff’s job. With opposition like you, who needs friends…

32. @Dullard

For the dullards among us what defines how complicated is the deal between a sovereign and foreign creditors as in the case of Barbados? Is it the design of the investments owned by the sovereign or investments owned by the sovereign cum overall state of play.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Everybody anticipated that Chris Sinckler (?) or another DLP official had signed this overpriced contract. Probably they slipped again at one decimal …”

Now i see…yall love to hide information from the public..rushing to take credit for hiring white hoax…now the shit has hit the fan at full speed …ya signed the contract knowing it was a goddamn scam…so ah glad …ya adpted Sinkler’s mess when there was no need to …for what…to carry on the scam i say….divvy, divvy…

“Enuff May 11, 2019 2:37 PM

“5 days after election…ya had no cabinet in place” Salemite Abigail

<New Cabinet Sworn in
    27 May 2018”

yeah..and then ya went and signed a SCAM CONTRACT belonging to Sinkler…but only now ya confessing..

keep trying to shut me up.

34. Piece the Legend Avatar

Again you have de ole man concerned.

“…The blogmaster is inclined to have the view the decision to engage White Oakes with good intentions.

It does not make it the best decision but as some are suggesting that it was intended to fleece the treasury is conjecture…”

Either the intent to engage with good faith or the intent to engage to fleece are both conjectures

One could as easily say that, given the precedence of Cahill, and Transtech and the Transporg Board $20,000 consultant and the water tanks and EDUTECH and Crab Hill and the School Meals Syrup scam and the $40 million scanners, one could easily say that we THE PEOPLE HAVE REASON TO ERR ON THE SIDE OF BELIEVING IT TO BE A FLEECE by the fellow Carry Way a Ton who to the best oc my knowledge is now a big wig within the BLP regime.

We need to follow the money.

http://imgur.com/KcjZYax

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And don’t come with any tricks now bout…oh ya had no choice…Carrington did not sign the contract until June and ya had time to rescind the verbal…..but no…who you…nah…ya went ahead and told the nation about ALL THE QUESTIONABLE CONTRACTS…DLP left..ya cried, ya groaned, ya moaned …but ya NEVER ONCE SAID…that white hoax was one of Sinkler’s questionable contracts…

ya remember now right…cause i do…it’s a memory thing…

36. I will pray tomorrow to Goddess Bim that our beloved Prime Minister will stand firm. The year 2019 will decide the fate of the island. Only the mighty goddess Bim and her messenger Mia can save us.

Serving debts: yes; usurious interest: no.

37. Finally a not so nice remark about the “outspoken economist Jeremy Stephen”. When Chris Sinckler raged on the island like a hurricane CAT 5, dear Jeremy was very quiet and ventilated this idiotic idea called Arabian loan. Now, after the change of government, he opens his mouth and criticizes absolutely necessary restructuring measures.

The board of the local university should consider carefully whether they would like to let such blue opportunists and foamy beaters step in front of their students.

38. Are we to believe that the DLP government contracted White Oaks and the BLP government is just carrying on the work of the DLP ?

Ask no questions hear no lies.

39. @Hants

Where is the evidence White Oak was contacted by the former government?

40. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Sinkler…”raged on the island like a hurricane”…and then Mia picked up one of the hurricane’s SCAM CONTRACTS and honored it…

ah sincerely hope yall can’t top that one…seriously..

41. @ David,

read ” nextparty246 May 11, 2019 1:07 PM

42. @Grenville

Where is the evidence to support your claim that the former government initiated the White Oak conversation?

43. @ David,

TheOGazerts May 11, 2019 3:33 PM

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Population of St. Kitts = 55,345 (2017)

Area of St. Kitts = 104 mi²

St. Kitts has a LAND BANK

Population of Barbados = 290,000

Area of Barbados = 166 sq mi

Barbados has NO LAND BANK …according to Jeremy…

what they do is pick up old people’s properties and give away and sell to the old thieves who bribe them…robbing their victims beneficiaries for decades into the future…

45. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

So..does that mean another 12 months of paying white hoax US85,000 a month retainer. i forgot the life of the contract, but remember that it can be terminated at anytime with 30 days notice..

so what does Mia need white hoax for again, to help her get sued or what..and taxpayers paying for that too.

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

The most egregious issue about this $27 million payment, whether it was signed under the DLP by Ian Carrington or under Mugabe, being informed by Ian Carrington of the proposal to engage varied debt restructuring firms to assist with the cuntry’s financial predicament, is the quantum of the fee.

I mean look at the publicly available financial records of this fly by night 2 man firm!

Look at their profits 2 years ago available on the internet

Follow Piece the Legend with this one now.

You are living in st Lucy and you eed transportation because de transport board buses ent efficient.

You go and find a Skoda car valued at $ 5,000 and purchase that car at $27 million

And dat mekking sense to wunna!!!

Wunna really deserves de bu**ing Mia giving wunna wid no grease

http://imgur.com/Y0aH7ok

47. the UN and the bigger countries need to create organizations that can monitor small island governments who have a track record for corruption
    #####
    Looool. They are more corrupt and criminal than the ones we have here in Barbados

48. Hi David:

Unfortunately Heather Cole and Dame Bajans have created much confusion by mis-stating what I wrote.

I wrote that “According to the White Oak Engagement Letter, the White Oak agreement was NEGOTIATED with the DLP administration, not BLP.” I never mentioned who signed it. It was actually signed by the BLP on 18 June 2018.

I based this claim of the DLP’s involvement on the 20 May 2019 date of the Letter. White Oak’s subsequent Side Letter referred to the Engagement Letter by specifically referring to the date, which reduces the likelihood of a typo error in the Engagement Letter.

The General Election was held on 24 May 2018. Therefore, the DLP administration was still in government when the Letter was written to the Government.