At a critical juncture in the history of Barbados – a country successive governments have invested heavily in educating our people – is it unreasonable to expect this popular biblical quote to resonate, ‘to whom much is given, much will be required’ (Luke 12:48)? Why have we educated our people if not to be at the ready by reporting for duty when parlous times confront us?

A regret of this blogmaster is the extent to which civil society has become afflicted by a feckless and ineffectual political class. As we approach one year of the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government’s unprecedented decapitation of the Freundel Stuart led Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the general election of May 24, 2018, the level of cynicism and vapidity exhibited within the population has been rising. It should not be unexpected that the rhetoric of austerity will also increase. The level of disaffection is more acute if one considers the quality of the Opposition described as the government in waiting.

How does a population seemingly detached from national objectives demand accountability from the ‘system’? How does a political class committed to self sustaining policies demonstrate a capacity to ‘correct’ by satisfying its mandate to effectively govern the country?

We have a government attempting to grapple with the political, economic and social challenges. In the absence of a blue chip schematic, debate will continue about the best policies required to extricate the country from the abyss is continues to be mired.

In our adversarial system of government the Opposition has an important role to play by injecting a dissenting perspective that is coherent. However the quality of the dissenting interventions must be related to the quality of the actors in the opposition ranks. Regrettably in the opinion of this blogmaster the opposition entities- to bastardize a biblical expression-  have fallen short in the glory of the electorate.

In January 2019 the Leader of the Opposition Joseph Atherley announced that individuals were deputed to speak on the following portfolios. (Sidebar: Hopefully one of these days the Atherley story will be told).

Irvin Belgrave – Home Affairs

Rev John Carter – Agriculture, Food Security and Maritime Economy

Dr Phillip Corbin – Energy, Water Resources and Telecommunications

Akil Daley – Youth and Small Business Facilitation

Sen Crystal Drakes – Economic, Sustainable Development and Climate Change

Paul Forte – Housing, Property Ownership, Works and Maintenance

Sen Caswell Franklyn – Labour, Social Security, Corporatives and Civil Establishments

Paul Gibson – Health, Wellness Services Development and Environment

Sylvan Greenidge – Transportation, Sanitation and Sewage Services

Bruce Hennis – International Business and Trade, Manufacturing and Commerce

Maria Phillips – Justice, Law Enforcement and Penal System

Alan Springer – Creative Economy and Sports Industry Development

Scott Weatherhead – Tourism, Regional and International Transport

Yesterday 25 April 2019 the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) also announced the names of individuals charged shadow ministries.

To cut to the chase, the blogmaster is not impressed with the quality of the opposition on offer in the Barbados space for the obvious reasons. What is exposes is that quality players are not interested in joining the political class. A natural consequence to the state of affairs is garbage in, garbage out.

232 responses to “Whimpering Opposition”

1. David BU

For 10 long years ( 2008 – 2018 ) you operated as the de facto opposition leader of Barbados .

Are we the readers of your long winded diatribe above, to really believe you when you make bold to declare …….” the blogmaster is not impressed with the quality of opposition in the political space in barbados…….”

Wuhloss !!!!

David BU chiding his past performance as ‘ Opposition Leader ” ??????

Oh what an…..Epiphany !!!!

2. William Skinner Avatar

We can talk all we like. There is an absence of serious thinkers in the BLPDLP. It is amazing that you have now determined “garbage in garbage out” when some on this blog have deemed you nationalistic when in fact you almost daily find ways to defend the recurring garbage.
    What we have endured for the last forty years is pure political one upmanship.
    One prime minister was heralded as a great economist; another as the master of silent movies and a third has now been accused of being brilliant.
    The political garbage mounts and the political sewage spouts ………. that’s what happens when apologists are branded as nationalists!

3. @William

Are you so naive to suggest that the BLP and DLP operate in a parallel universe and that other political parties will not be influenced in their thinking by the same factors?

On another note. Are you and others capable of critiquing the system without having to throw barbs at the blogmaster because you disagree with his perspective or approach?

We have duopolies across the globe in countries many of you reside. Uprooting structures within an establishment is never easy. Changing a deep rooted culture is not easy. It does not occur because there is a wish for it to happen. Part of the problem is that one cannot destroy using a Big Bang approach without competent leadership to create the road map. A crisis of leadership exist across the Caribbean and Pacha will add the world. What is happening in Barbados is not isolated. We are witnessing a decline in societies or alternatively- to be euphemistic- a change in the family system/values. It will start and end with ensuring quality households.

4. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ All Readers

This article is a joke designed to restore the failed image of the BU BORG as the de facto outlet of the Barbados Labour Party

Behold the Pimp.

He has done a few things here and “Piece the Legend” will explain.

Now look how you readers are already vexed by that new name yet, the Honourable Blogmaster did it to you and you missed it

He said, AND I QUOTE

“…A regret of this blogmaster is the extent to which civil society has become afflicted by a feckless and ineffectual political class…”

He has first of all said that YOU READERS ARE SICK.

And then, he has listed the full names of this “feckless and ineffectual” political class!!

Yet many of you people and sheeple cannot see how they are in ABSOLUTE FEAR OF WHAT DE OLE MAN, Piece the Legend has been prophesying

“THE RISE OF THE 3RD PARTY MOVEMENT…”

MUGABE IS A 5 YEAR GOVERNMENT…

5. William Skinner Avatar

You should be the dead last to talk about “ barbs” getting thrown at the blog master. You spent a considerable time calling people JA and RH. You are an apologist for the political class. You are Status quo yo the bone and quite frankly there is nothing wrong with that. Don’t come here bright and early this morning pretending you fed up with the garbage you protect.
    Tell me something: Have you been able to talk to any of the 1300 workers Sandals employ? Or should they give up the “meager” salaries and drink the “ poison “ you recommended?
    Just asking my brother.

6. @William

You agree you do the same then? Perhaps you are a buffoon like the blogmaster? Perhaps you are a DLP apologist? You ascribe meaning to words differently based on the lexicon you are comfortable pulling?

The intent behind referring to a person as JA and RH is no different to using traditional accepted words by referring to someone a buffoon if BU is an electronic rumshop. This is Just one example.

Would you say you are hypocritical in this matter by not cautioning your sidekick from the Ivy not to refer to others as buffoons in the rumshop?

You prefer to trivialize the point being made. What can we do but smile when workers are used as pawns in the debate. The poor and vulnerable will always be with us. A government’s mandate is to ensure these groups are protected. However, it is silly to suggest that any policy government undertakes because it will create jobs should be accepted unconditionally.

7. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

And before you get vex with me as is your prerogative let me suggest another JOTFILE construct IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT REPLACING THE DUOPOLY.

We have (and though you ent speaking to me I use that pronoun) we have a problem.

This duopoly HAS TO GO, but it has to be replaced with alternatives and I know that those alternatives exist in Barbados

I again suggest a Jotform survey to find and collect people’s suggestions.

Then use that survey data to present that information to people.

It’s not going to be perfect but once people start to see electorate choices in a simple way then they start to comprehend their choices.

AND MORE IMPORTANTLY why they have to make informed decisions going forward.

Bajans ARE NOT FECKLESS it is just that we have no mechanism to show what the choices are.

AND to vigorously discuss what are the competencies associated with those choices.

Once you have selected a survey template and used the Jotform builder to design, format and customize that survey you need to broadcast the findings.

And stop being a wuss and saying you cant do something cause you dont got time.

people like me, “ent got time” and I does be here heheheh

There are tons of templates that you can use.

then add an mind organigram.

we cannot work together THAT MUCH IS CLEATLY OBVIOUS but IF WHAT YOU CLAKM TO BE INGERESTED IN ACHIEVING IS TRUE then you can use one of the free online survey form templates at Jotform and mek it up

there is a GIFlite app which you can take simple text and anti alias the font colour, ADD TWO PANELS, drop the interval to 500 milliseconds and make the gif

and then put these gifs to point to the two surveys as thumbnails

one for the legal BBA thing ANC the other for choices IF YOU ARE SERIOUS and not like Grenville Phillips, your poster boy, who too busy doing his doctorate to talk wid bajans

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHAT IS VERY CLEAR IS THAT THERE MUST BE A VIABLE HONEST EFFECTIVE ALTERNATIVE TO THE BLP AND THE DLP WHICH ARE NOW BOTH LONG PASS THEIR SELL BY DATE

BUT THIS IS FAIRLY UNLIKELY BEFORE THE IMMINENT RISE OF THE ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT LED BY ANTICHRIST FOR 7 YEARS PRIOR TO THE MILLENNIAL REIGN OF CHRIST

9. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I made another suggestion which is in suspense

I am a sucker for believing that people are looking to change so I try to help in the way I know.

Create survey.

Offer names. Brief Profile

Assign points. 1 to 5.

Create organigramme.

Get credible and respected pollster effect SPSS analysis

Post Results

“Bump up the Volume”

10. William Skinner Avatar

How can I be ever deemed an apologist for any part of your decadent duopoly.
    I have no side kicks. Hal has suffered most on BU when it comes to personal attacks if he has responded in kind he is his own man!
    You sit in your ivory tower while construction workers are eating grass
    The simple truth is that there is no empirical evidence that the poor are being looked after by the duopoly.
    Please visit the environs of Sandals and witness young people having the dignity of at least a pay Cheque.
    Then visit the homes of those who have been savaged by both the BLP and DLP. Tell them where to find a meal and bus fare tomorrow.
    Yes you say the poor will always be with us therefore they must go home while corporation tax is reduced to zero; while the welfare department budget is slashed by 3 million and consultants must earn 20 million in 18 months.
    These are not figments of my imagination.
    The BLPDLP need to be sent to the political hell where they both belong. They have outlived their usefulness.
    At least you have a job: defending them 24/7.

11. @ William,

What is the English dictionary definition of buffoon? Is that an obscenity? The guy is a perfect example of a buffoon. Just read his posts. What we all want is an impartial moderator who sets the rules and makes sure people adhere to them. Let us stick to competing ideas.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

feck·less, adjective: lacking initiative or strength of character; irresponsible.
    in·ef·fec·tu·al, adjective: not producing any or the desired effect.

These are adjectives which needs must be applied to Barbadian society as a whole because it is we who have conceived, birthed, suckled, and coddled the very political class about which we complain. Every discourse, including this thread, is reduced to the BDLP pot calling the DBLP kettle black in an utterly pointless exchange of bombast and sneering.

If we are to change we ourselves needs must develop the “initiative or strength of character” which we find so lacking in the people we have elected to represent us. Instead we appear devoted on all sides to the “feckless and ineffectual” behaviour that we take such glee in decrying in our political class.

EWB asked “what kind of mirror image do you have of yourself?” You ALL have answered “feckless and ineffectual.”

13. @Peter

Understand the point you are making. The challenge is and will continue to be how to create catalytic conditions to achieve what many of us want. Unlike some here there is no slam dunk approach. We will have our perspectives based on our lifes journey. It will always be a work in progress given the imperfect system we have to exist.

14. @William

This is the point, we can say whatever we want.

15. @David, you are very right that many with a genuine desire to help and with a track record of delivery are not interested. Perhaps, its because many fight against those who want to do the right thing but the majority prefer to sell out to their political parties or look after their self-interest.

Not a day does not pass by and I am not asked to listen to some simple poor person who is ignored by the system that’s aggrieved

Some see my passion for life as offensive but its the squeaky wheel that gets the grease.

David, those in media and persons of influence who can bring about change have sold the country out. Keep the fire burning!

16. Thanks Kammie, the support from people like you means a lot.

17. William Skinner Avatar

” You ALL have answered “feckless and ineffectual.”

Respectfully Sir, you need to speak for yourself. Many on BU believe that everybody here has just come to town. I assure you that your description of : “You ALL have answered “feckless and ineffectual” is a premature judgement. Where were you in the late 60s when Errol Barrow declared in in Independence Square that black power radicals should be imprisoned for treason.?Have you ever been involved in the labour movement ? Where were you when Barrow passed the 1974 Public Order Act ? Do you know why that act was brought in the first place ? Did you march with Comrade Bobby Clarke and others through Bridgetown calling for the release of Nelson Mandela decades before he was released ? Do you know anything about the Black Star newspaper ? Have you ever fought on behalf of the beach vendors and other groups that were marginalised ?
    Who created the current mirror image ? Who were the architects in control of our political destiny ?

18. Yes i would agree that those left in charge to keep govt transparent has fell asleep or simply made a determination that the choice the people made on May 24th was of their own making and the end result therof is theirs to keep
    However the loud and boisterous Unions ought to be ashamed as their members are daily put out to pasture and feed on dry grass
    Also the media who has all but falled in line with govt austerity plans have all but exposed themselves as minions and political arsonist hell bent on not providing any form of transparency to rules and guidelines for which govt must adhere as govt barells forward with more bitter medicine
    And yes BU underground a place where the lowly was seen as being represented has given a voice of uncommited concern and hush silence and replaced with a loud voice against those who dare to be crtical of govt harsh proposal on the populace

19. @ William,

There is no reasoned debate, just hysteria from people who want to show off their education and qualifications. I have said on a number of occasions, and say again, Barbados is the laboratory for how a professional class, two or three generations at most away from cane cutters and domestics, can betray their class.
    The oppressors in Barbados are not the plantocracy, or the colonialists, but the black middle class, at the top of which are predator lawyers and vile magistrates and idiot – yes idiots – economists and so-called criminologists who set the agendas.
    This is the debate I want to have, instead of silly people becoming abusive every time they disagree with someone. What is really sad is that many of these people brag of their university education and reject any accusations of learning by rote. But they fail consistently to show any original thinking or analytical skills..
    Just recall some of the bogus ideas we have had on BU: That our form of government is a Democratic Republic with a Foreign Monarchy; that logic is not part of philosophy; and so on; a failed criminal justice system; lawyers who are institutionally crooks; an extortionate medical system; and more. Yet, to call Barbados a failed state brings out the venom in some people.
    Let us fight with the weapons of ideas and not personal abuse.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William
    I apologize…I am guilty of hyperbole and over generalization.

I was in 6th form when EWB passed the Public Order Act in 1974 and it was one of the reasons I fled Barbados as soon as I was able and swore that I would never return (hyperbole and over generalization even way back then :-).

I didn’t join Bobby Clarke and others when they marched through Bridgetown calling for Mandela’s release because I was in Montreal and Toronto under surveillance and having my phone tapped because I helped to organize fundraising tours to Canadian universities for ANC, ZAPU and ZANU activists when the RCMP and then CSIS considered those to be terrorist organizations.

I get frustrated by the level of discourse here (BDLP vs DBLP) because I am impatient for effective change.

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss! Murdah in the market. !!

Piece which person of the Tetra—- is this David BU? Is he the right one or should we look for another?
    Just asking before I join in the “nonsense”. And get frig up like yesterday.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “The oppressors in Barbados are not the plantocracy, or the colonialists, but the black middle class, at the top of which are predator lawyers and vile magistrates and idiot – yes idiots – economists and so-called criminologists who set the agendas.”
    There is much truth to this statement, but I think we need to dig deeper.

The Black middle class in Barbados is enthralled by the philosophy of Black Respectability. This shows up in their efforts to police the Black masses and promote social values which are identical with the values of the colonial structures which they replaced in the social hierarchy. In doing so they seek to be “respectable” in the eyes of their departed massa. This mode of escape from enslavement is to seek to become massa, not to overthrow the systemic structures underlying enslavement.

Black Respectability is pure poison. It shows up in any number of forms: addiction to the material emblems of power, bragging about being ‘world class’, conspicuous consumption of foreign goods and services, contempt for local culture except when it is performed as a circus act for tourist consumption, and understanding leadership to be the power to boss people about rather than the responsibility to serve the best interests of others.

Black Respectability is a deep social dysfunction. When I was educated at primary and secondary school here it was the philosophical foundation upon which all of that education was based. The ‘better’ the school, the more effective it was in brainwashing the brightest Black students into accepting Black Respectability.

It has taken me many years to unlearn those evil lessons.

23. Hal Austin
    April 26, 2019 9:18 AM

@ William,
    There is no reasoned debate, just hysteria from people who want to show off their education and qualifications. I have said on a number of occasions, and say again, Barbados is the laboratory for how a professional class, two or three generations at most away from cane cutters and domestics, can betray their class.

It isn’t their class they betray, it is their country.

They never figured out what Barbados was about.

It’s like they learnt the technical but not the moral aspects of their professions.

They learnt to drive but are road hogs!!

A hog has no morals and …. cannot debate!!

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT at 10 :28 AM

I do not agree with all your conclusions, but I do respect your openness and your insight at arriving at some meaning to life in the current situation.
    But yes. We are searching to find out who we really are. And this is not a bad exercise. Clearly what we were told were good targets are really mirages. So we are searching and we will continue to search. That is what intelligent societies do.

So I am resigned to reading the BS that will come from many keyboards.

25. Barbados does not need an old or new opposition led by old, weak, saturated men. Because we already have a quite young energetic female leader who will hopefully show us the right way for the next 20 years. BLP, DLP, third party, who cares? It would be best to abolish parliament altogether so that the government can govern more effectively without noises and without interference.

What austerity??? I don’t like to hear all that whining about austerity anymore. The refrigerators are still full, the supply of sparkling wine is secured, the golf courses are very well-kept, always green and the parties in Sandy Lane are as roaring as ever.

Obviously some confuse austerity and premium prices on a premium island. If you want to live in paradise, you have to sacrifice a lot for it. Barbados is no longer the poor hellhole like 50 years ago, but a premium destination for the international elite. If you don’t like it, you can move to Jamaica or Guyana. But please only with life insurance.

I thank the government every day for making our dreams come true – with new roads, clean beaches, healthy palm trees and happy toursists. Once the oil flows into Guyana, enough drops for Barbados. The future is golden – provided the DLP cavemen don’t crawl out of their holes, take over the government and ruin everything again.

26. @PLT

Bingo. You are now cooking with steam. Shows you what knowledge you can share when conversations get serious. Black Respectability, is what Marxist used to call the respectable working class or petite bourgeoisie – well dressed, go to church on Sundays, etc. But it is not Marxian, but Victorian Methodist/Presbyterian morality. I suggest you read Samuel Smiles’ Self Help.
    This is the morality that elevated learning a skill above anything else, or being a small shop keeper. A good seminar on this class will be instructive – The Poujadists in France, Peronists in Argentina, etc. These are the people who supported Hitler and Mussolini or Brexit in the UK.

27. Wel said Hal

28. @ John,

Well said.

29. William Skinner Avatar

Those of us who have been involved (you included) bear the scars of the real struggle.

Peace and love bro…….keep up the good work

30. @ Vincent

So I am resigned to reading the BS that will come from many keyboards.(Quote)

Is this how you debate?

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Petite bourgeois morality is part of the equation for sure, however there is something more damaging in the Bajan post colonial context. Petite bourgeois morality does not get to the root of the corruption that pervades Bajan society. Petite bourgeois morality explains the urge to escape from poverty, but it does not explain the urge to dominate your neighbors through unethical practices. The urge to dominate through unethical practices is the cornerstone of being massa. We have tried to build a post colonial society, but that colonial cornerstone is unmoved and its evil influence seeps into every corner of Bajan life.

When you say that Barbados is a failed state it is clear to me that this is the foundation of our failure.

32. @Peter

How does your comment reconcile with the fact that there is a declining trend across the region concerning of similar tibre?

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“… declining trend across the region concerning of similar tibre?”
    ++++++++++
    I don’t understand your question. What is declining across the region?

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    If you wish to fill in the gaps in my understanding of what went on in Barbados between 1975 and 2017 email me at peterlawrencethompson@gmail dot com and I will buy you a beer or whatever else you enjoy drinking.

35. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

However which way you dive this article you end up with stagnant concepts.

We state the same thing in each article sometimes with more passion than the last time we typed it.

But it still amounts to the stasis on psychological inaction.

All we just giving enough to get by.

Look at the complacency that has entered this article already with the assertion of the decencies of debate!!

But, for many of you, we feel good now cause the realities of the disparities that Mr William Skinner levelled at the Honourable Blogmaster early in this exercise HAVE BEEN DULLED DOWN TO THE BRITISH BULL SHIT DISCOURSE THAT HAL LOVES.

AND ALL OF WUNNA, AND HERE I MAKE NO EXCUSES FOR USING ALL, cause you see the all that is being referred to clearly, all uh wunna calm down.

Which was the behavioural science behind this submission.

“List the names of the 3rd party players”

“Get them to be ranked as Part of the Duopoly”

“Have them vent a little” and

“Còngratulations, you have succeeded”

Any idiot can see how this wind up toy works.

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington

This Manifestation of the BU BORG is the very worst of them.

This one is the remote BORG, the puppet master who resided elsewhere and whose agenda is focused on destroying dissent using academic discourse.

You know what a governor on an engine is?

“…Parental Controls Come to the Car. By John R. Quain April 12, … Parents can limit the top speed of the car to 80 miles an hour, set warning beeps to go off at either 45, 55, or 65 m.p.h. and restrict the volume of the car’s stereo to 44 percent of the maximum volume…”

And this is precisely who this aspect of the BORG is

“Whimpering Opposition ” what brings whimper Mr Codrington other than dogs? yet if de ole man calls some body heah a bitch, a feller going get call out for crude language.

But here we are among the very curs who are ballsless and dont understand that this academic discourse is what gof we heah jn the first place DOCILE POOCHLICKING PEOPLE THAT WE ARE.

The intellectual revolution that is required to move us from this morass, is absent from the mix.

But mind you the group here assembled, led by the Queen ‘s representative, are very happy with the shy$e

STEUPSEEE

36. @Peter

This is the source comment.

Petite bourgeois morality is part of the equation for sure, however there is something more damaging in the Bajan post colonial context. Petite bourgeois morality does not get to the root of the corruption that pervades Bajan society. Petite bourgeois morality explains the urge to escape from poverty, but it does not explain the urge to dominate your neighbors through unethical practices. The urge to dominate through unethical practices is the cornerstone of being massa. We have tried to build a post colonial society, but that colonial cornerstone is unmoved and its evil influence seeps into every corner of Bajan life.

When you say that Barbados is a failed state it is clear to me that this is the foundation of our failure.

Can we discuss failure of the Barbados society in isolation? It is clear that regional societies are suffering the same symptoms.

37. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

38. @ PLT

“… declining trend across the region concerning of similar tibre?”
    ++++++++++
    I don’t understand your question. What is declining across the region?(Quote)

So I am not the only one who finds it difficult understanding the chairman.

39. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Also posted this earlier knowing that it would not be allowed to show

And before you get vex with me as is your prerogative let me suggest another JOTFILE construct IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT REPLACING THE DUOPOLY.

We have (and though you ent speaking to me I use that pronoun) we have a problem.

This duopoly HAS TO GO, but it has to be replaced with alternatives and I know that those alternatives exist in Barbados

I again suggest a Jotform survey to find and collect people’s suggestions.

Then use that survey data to present that information to people.

It’s not going to be perfect but once people start to see electorate choices in a simple way then they start to comprehend their choices.

AND MORE IMPORTANTLY why they have to make informed decisions going forward.

Bajans ARE NOT FECKLESS it is just that we have no mechanism to show what the choices are.

AND to vigorously discuss what are the competencies associated with those choices.

Once you have selected a survey template and used the Jotform builder to design, format and customize that survey you need to broadcast the findings.

And stop being a wuss and saying you cant do something cause you dont got time.

people like me, “ent got time” and I does be here heheheh

There are tons of templates that you can use.

then add an mind organigram.

we cannot work together THAT MUCH IS CLEATLY OBVIOUS but IF WHAT YOU CLAKM TO BE INGERESTED IN ACHIEVING IS TRUE then you can use one of the free online survey form templates at Jotform and mek it up

there is a GIFlite app which you can take simple text and anti alias the font colour, ADD TWO PANELS, drop the interval to 500 milliseconds and make the gif

and then put these gifs to point to the two surveys as thumbnails

one link for the legal BBA thing AND the other for choices IF YOU ARE SERIOUS and not like Grenville Phillips, your poster boy, who too busy doing his doctorate to talk wid bajans

40. Vincent Codrington April 26, 2019 10:41 AM

But yes. We are searching to find out who we really are. And this is not a bad exercise. Clearly what we were told were good targets are really mirages. So we are searching and we will continue to search. That is what intelligent societies do.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Behold – the source of our problems! We have at least realized that jumping in the middle with economic theories and prescriptions will keep us going round in circles.

That is what I meant when I said –
    “Let’s start at the very beginning. A very good place to start.”

Our beginning is what ails us. We must face it and deal with it. We must go backwards or we will never go forward.

Don’t cuss me for using a Disney message! They got it right with this one.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Can we discuss failure of the Barbados society in isolation?”
    You are correct… we cannot understand Barbados in isolation; we must seek to place our dilemma in both its regional and global context.

Regional societies are suffering similar symptoms (corruption, lagging development, persistent poverty) because the have endured similar histories. This is compounded by the global context where leaders who have any understanding of leadership as service (Manley, Bishop, etc.) are perceived as threats to a hegemonic USA and suffer fatal economic & social destabilization.

We require leaders who’s model is not based on being a new massa, but is based on being a servant of the people. In order to do this we need to build the social context which can create such leaders.

The closest contemporary example that I can bring to mind is Evo Morales in Bolivia. He has successfully resisted the neoliberal orthodoxy that the BDLP espouses here without provoking (yet) a US invasion or destabilization. But he did not appear out of nowhere. His leadership was formed in the active context of the society where he rose to prominence in the campesino (“rural laborers”) union movement.

In Barbados we need to build social movements which create good leadership, but instead we have been hoping and praying that some magical leader will instead create the social movement. That is bass ackward and we will forever be doomed to disappointment in our political leaders.

42. As has already been noted I am a small and simple from the bottom up kind of person. I am not equipped for or desirous of leading a national movement. But I have for a little while now been fighting a battle on behalf of the uneducated and disadvantaged who are being shafted by unscrupulous insurance companies. I have caused a decent attorney to get excited enough to rise up and do something about it. From my experience in the last few years I have determined that many of the young attorneys who handle these cases are actually not crooked but lacking in knowledge. It is amazing what a little poking and prodding can cause them to discover.

The old crew may indeed be crooked. Our hope is in the young ones. All is not lost. Education, real education is the key.

43. Thanks Peter. An interesting perspective knowing you have lived in Jamaica.

44. William Skinner Avatar

The reason we can’t move forward is because we have apologists trying their best to defend political skulduggery. They then succeed in convincing the gullible, that such a defense is in the national interest. So we slash the poor peoples’ benefits by 3 million at the Welfare Department and then spend a million or more per month on consultants.
    Before that we had some miscreants who defended the former administration, who sent home workers and then went back into the same parliament and increased their salaries by taking back the 5/10 percent they had pledged.
    The cesspool depends.

45. Apart from PLT, the egofowlism permeates. 🤐🤐

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A JACKASS JUST ENTERED THE ROOM

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@enuff
    I think you are mistaken. In fact, your decision to ignore the substantive discussion here reeks of exactly what you complain about. What made you decide to go ad hominem rather than contribute rationally?

48. PLT
    Not me! I good.

49. Any govt built on a policy of friends and family first cannot expect to build a country on a solid foundation which will benefit others other than self
    First and foremost which comes to mind are the large tax waivers
    Money which are dutifully and rightfully by law with a determination to be paid by all
    But what occurs are the poor and harworking strapped with a billing system with hidden agendas that in turn make with a certainty that whatever financial and economic damage in….respect to a shortfall in the treasury all would pay through austerity measure
    The term the rich get richer and poor gets poorer would always be with us because of corruption

50. Every territory in the British West indies has a different history.

Barbados’ is completely different from say Trinidad and Guyana.

It, like St. Kitts, Bermuda, Antigua, Tortola and some others served primarily as half way points between England and America.

Agriculture was a means of being self sufficient.

The sugar price had fallen to break even levels before 1700 and the available land area was tiny.

But Barbados had a value beyond measure, it provided a retreat for Puritans and then Quakers fleeing religious persecution.

A matter of life and death.

… and it was relatively flat and could support more agriculture than the other half way points.

Trinidad and Guyana came on stream as British sugar economies after 1797 and at a time when the slave trade was within 10 years of being abolished.

Indentured servitude, not slavery was the source of labour that developed these two economies.

Both were developed solely with the profit motive in mind.

Barbados, St. Kitts, Bermuda, Tortola and others were developed in order to develop America.

Jamaica is also different.

Like Trinidad it was taken by conquest from the Spanish in 1655.

It became a colony of England 142 years earlier than Trinidad and Guyana.

It cannot have been developed very far by emancipation because indentured labour was also used there after emancipation.

Barbados on the other hand had way more labour than required.

The point is if we don’t know our history and that of our neighbours and don’t understand how we all fit into the global economy we will continue to spin top in mud.

Even worse, we are unwilling to revisit cherished ideas that have been promoted assiduously by idiots and those with agendas that are not in our interest.