Of concern to Barbadians everywhere is the ‘fatigue’ that has set in triggered by an economy stuck in the doldrums for  more than 10 years. Some Barbadians although tired of the persistent state of affairs seem to have expected Mia and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to flick a switch to quick fix the economic problems of the country.  Old news!

In the build to the 24 May 2018 there was chatter in the country about:

• Austerity measures
  • Government printing 50 million dollars a month
  • Dwindling foreign reserves
  • A judiciary about to crash under its weight
  • Sewage spewing onto the street on the South Coast
  • Garbage pile up across Barbados and the under-resourced SSA
  • Poor public transportation and the under-resourced transport Board
  • Outstanding income tax rebates
  • Low domestic and international investment flows
  • Pothole ridden highways and byways
  • Poor maintenance (physical/environmental of buildings
  • Rapid fire borrowing from the NIS Fund by Central government and questionable lending to private entities
  • Unresolved CLICO mess
  • Twenty something credit rating downgrades
  • Public servants not having a wage hike since 2006
  • Poor financial state of SOEs (see Auditor General reports)
  • Dysfunctional working committees of parliament

The list is not meant to be exhaustive.

What the last decade should have taught us is that we have to find a way to build consensus to move the country to an improved footing. Persisting with the adversarial and fractious approach will not help. Unfortunately the last general election has left the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) a broken party and the so-called third parties have not stepped up to the task at hand (so far) as a credible alternative.

See blogmaster’s pulse chaeck notes in red to the above.

• Austerity measures/no change
  • Government printing 50 million dollars a month/from all reports significantly reduced
  • Dwindling foreign reserves/stabilized as a result of default on loans and IMF and other injections
  • A judiciary about to crash under its weight/no change
  • Sewage spewing onto the street on the South Coast/immediate problem addressed until a permanent fix is implemented, so promised Abrahams
  • Garbage pile up across Barbados, landfills and the under-resourced SSA/moderate improvement
  • Poor public transportation and the under-resourced transport Board/no change
  • Outstanding income tax rebates/significant improvement
  • Low domestic and international investment flows/small improvement
  • Pothole ridden highways and byways/small improvement
  • Poor maintenance (physical/environmental of buildings)/no change
  • Rapid fire borrowing from the NIS Fund by Central government and questionable lending to private entities/significant improvement
  • Unresolved CLICO mess/no change
  • Twenty something credit rating downgrades/moderate improvement
  • Public servants not having a wage hike since 2006/small improvment
  • Poor financial state of SOEs (see Auditor General reports)/no change
  • Dysfunctional working committees of parliament/No change

The blogmaster shares his  musings based on rumshop talk and observation. The thing about debate in a rumshop is participants hold strong views and know they have the answers to everything. The libation does not help!

Postscript: we need to hear more about government’s plan to address concerns about the NIS. It is our lifeline.

158 responses to “Post General Election Musings”

1. In what manner or way did you come to making a grade of significant performance without having the necessary facts to prove
    All most hear is word of mouth by one source that is govt however nothing of substantial evidence is shown to the public that can be proven that all these “significant ” improvements are happening with good reason and sound economic input
    The Sewer system problem by all accounts has been “resolved” ( if one chooses to say) but also has in long term created another problem for the enviroment
    No minister or scientific reports has been said or given as to how much damage has been done to the Natural habitat of the Graeme hall Sanctuary animal or plant life or for that matter how much of or underground water system has been affected
    In your mind sewage not backing up in the street is a solution /short term / while the bigger issue of what is happening to the environs surrounding the plant and the many bodies of water stares us in the face

2. Fractured BLP Avatar

To add to David’ s scorecard :

Cabinet larger – terrible change
    Consultants increase – bad change
    Crime increase – sad change
    Water rates increase – terrible change
    Taxes & cost of living increase – horrible change
    Bus fares increase – savage change

And a not finger can be pointed to the DLP for the above , by a BLP ( Blasted Lying Party) who promised……better……but delivered BITTERS !

3. David you have wasted your time on a report that has a refection of sugnificance in that it reflects a govt hell bent on smoke and mirrors
    Here we have a govt who has increased barbados debt in less than a month after elected and in turn has bushwhacked and even hoodwinked the public into a false sense of belief persuaded by the slogan to stay the course
    Boy what you have written in your article all the above should be punished with laughter
    As the old folks say don’t mek me laugh

4. Postscript: we need to hear more about government’s plan to address concerns about the NIS. It is our lifeline.

@ Blogmaster
    Anyone depending on the NIS for a lifeline is screwed.

The NIS is insolvent and the government has neither plan nor competence to address the many issues. In fact, the man who directly over saw much of the recent failure of the fund was promoted to Economic Czar. Go figure.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

No one expected a flipped switch to change the downward spiral ….but they expected when taxpayers money are helping Mia pay million dollar consultants….that there would be results…

What everyone expected was for MIA TO DO THE RIGHT AND LAWFUL THING…..bring back all the billions of dollars and estates….STOLEN BY HER ILK…to help the economy recover…and ease the suffering of those who were robbed, those whom she laid off….and the most vulnerable in the society….but she dont want to do thatt…she prefers to run from pillow to post begging…but that will never fill the gap and replace what they ALL STOLE OVER THE DECADES

What they stole….MUST BE RETURNED to whom it was stolen from.

But Mia dont want to do right by her black people, she dont want to see her own people prosper and become wealthy and productive …and for that she will pay THE PRICE…

6. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Whatever the hell a czar is…the only czars are drug czars…but that is what happens when ya believe too much in ya own bullshit..

7. As you know BU has posted many blogs sharing concerns about the management of the NIS fund. Both political parties have used the fund as you would an ATM. The fact this government with a bevy of financial advisors has been reluctant to tackle the problem almost one year in does not bode well for the country.

8. There is a reality the blogmaster has come to accept. Barbados is in very deep dodoo and the slide did not start last year. We will be in austerity mode for a long time to come. Here is the thing about austerity measures, they hurt!

Citizens need to be smart with the advocacy effort. Criticizing for the sake of it is easy.

9. William Skinner Avatar

Here we go again:
    BLP + DLP = Same Party

Common sense shows that we simply change parties; we don’t change governments.
    We have a one party state!

10. As you know BU has posted many blogs sharing concerns about the management of the NIS fund.

And you deserve great credit for it.

I really don’t understand why no one is kicking up a fuss about the NIS. The state of the NIS is big, big deal.
    Where are the unions, the Cave Hill crew, NGOs, etc. ? It’s amazing.

Why do you think no one is saying anything about the state of the NIS?

11. @Dullard

There is a leadership vacuum.

We have a generation of Barbadian who does not know what it is like to sweat for a piece of stale bread.

The two commingling is a receipy for lack of purpose and lethargy that has taken deep root.

12. @ William Skinner

I believe you are correct. Personally, I don’t see any differences between the BLP and DLP. The way supporters of both parties behave on this blog, would give one the impression BEES and DEMS are different. They are not.

I have read contributions by posters such as Mariposa, Greene and Fractured BLP in which they try to portray the BEES as being corrupt. Then there are people like Enuff, Lorenzo and Gabriel who would like us to believe the BEES’ hands are clean and the DEMS are dirty.

When the BEES give an example about untoward activity of the DLP, you can be certain an example can be given where the BLP did something similar. Vice versa.

For example, during election campaigns whoever is in opposition accuses the incumbent party of corruption, promising to investigate and lock up the perpetrators. We saw this scenario played out during the 2008 election campaign when David Thompson wanted to fulfil his childhood dream of becoming PM. He promised to be transparent and accountable, and other promises that were not kept. Then we witnessed it again when Mia Mottley wanted to fulfil her childhood dream of becoming PM. She also made promises of transparency, accountability and others that are yet to be fulfilled.

When they, as we would say, get in, they ignore or forget the issues and do all types of things to protect their counterparts.

13. This is what concerns most ..govt having no growth plan but has unleashed a barrage of taxes on the most vulnerable
    A govt hellbent on bending the Constitution to seek resolve for social problems
    A govt who has unilaterally used pensioners money as a piggy bank to pay off debt
    A govt who uses the ocean as a seondary spetic tank to off load millions of pollutants which becomes a real source of contaminating the enviroment
    A govt who has yet to formulate a plan to secure our borders
    A govt which is of yet to attend to the ongoing problem of gangs in communities

14. Same philosophy. Why are we not seeing a credible voice to fill the space?

Anyone?

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And just to prove my point…the Mottley family have invested their illgotten gains heavily in the marijuana trade…very recently…..hooking up to sell out as usual without a thought for their own people……but black bajans are yet to see one permit or license to grow the plant….the same black bajans who are paying Mia and her gang of parasites….salaries.

Ask Mia why Stewart her brother, iss investing so heavily in the marijuana trade and besides the 28 year old regime for medical marijuana in place…11 months later…still no legal framework in place so that the majority black population…can also invest in their birthright….but the Mottleys already invested.

16. So here we have the Minister of Distraction DAVID BU telling all and sundry by way of an insignificant score card what has worked in favour of govt measures
    What a belly laugh
    Pig sh.it would be the operative word for that article

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

This show is about to begin…ticktock

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1005156909693848/?t=0

18. Minister of Distraction David how about telling us the significance of not being transparent by present govt in their extravagance of tax write offs to individuals and business
    A list please would suffice

19. For the ladies on BU.

20. For the men.

21. Have one for me but I ent sharing. lol

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

What voice are you looking for? And to fill what space? I do not know about you, but I find the cacophony disorienting. Bare noise pollution.
    By the way who asked you for a score card?

23. @Vincent

What was posted is not a score card. It is the opinion of a blogmaster. Is he allowed to share an opinion on the blog?

Creativity and innovation comes out of diversity

24. A couple weeks ago there was a question about the number of uninsured houses in Barbados. Today minister Edmund Hinkson confirmed the majority of houses in Barbados are not insured. He did not share numbers.

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

What Mia in her blind state needs to be told is…. that it is time for her fellow minority criminals and MASTERS……STOP FEEDING OFF BLACK PEOPLE…

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Dullard
    in reporting on the SOE’s, Minister Straughn referred frequently to changes in financial position as a result of “inter-governmental write-offs”. I haven’t seen the financial reports, but could these be NIS monies due, which the SOE’s had been instructed to withhold, and now the decision has been taken to write them off?

Clearly, this version of the GoB is avoiding the issues at the NIS.

27. This is article is more worthy of a discussion as it clearly pinpoints govt pitfalls

Home / Local News / Economy / Opposition urges Gov’t to slow down on BERT

Opposition urges Gov’t to slow down on BERT
    Article by
    Katrina King Published on
    April 7, 2019
    Members of the Opposition are warning the Government to take its time in the execution of the IMF-sponsored Barbados Economy Recovering Transformation (BERT) programme.

Responding to the ministerial statement delivered by Minister in the Ministry of Finance during the Estimates debate, Ryan Straughn, where he outlined the precarious state of Government’s state-owned enterprises, shadow Minister for the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport Scott Weatherhead said the Government’s austerity programme could not be realistically executed during the proposed seven years.

“This is a 15 to 20 year thing that this administration is trying to force on the backs of Barbadians in one election term or seven years. The problem we find ourselves in wasn’t created in seven years, it was created in over 40 years. We cannot solve it in seven years.

“You cannot turn around an economy that is $16.4 billion in debt, you cannot turn it around in seven years,” said Weatherhead.

“We really believe that Government needs to slow down, pace itself and take this thing in strides and in pace. There is no rush. Rome was not built in a day and Barbados cannot be fixed in seven years.”

Weatherhead was joined by Opposition members Crystal Drakes, Bruce Henniss, and Sylvan Greenidge at a press conference held at the Opposition Leader’s office in the Parliament Building.

Weatherhead argued that the Mia Mottley administration was building the blocks for a debt-ridden Barbados, as the $580 million loan from the IMF, $100 million loan from Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and $230 million loan from Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) increased the public debt.

“A billion dollars in loans cannot clear $16.4 billion in existing debt. This is additional debt that this Government has just placed the citizens of Barbados in, so I want us to be very aware as we go along into this programme.”

The prominent businessman also expressed concerns about the growth strategy of Government. He believes that the suggested growth strategies could bring no immediate results.

“Investing in education, investing in training is not going to directly impact economic growth this year, next year, or five years from now. That is a 30-year plan. What we need to see is growth in the productive sectors. We need to see growth in agriculture, growth in manufacturing, growth in exports, development of products and services for exports and I do not see any of those things contained in the BERT programme . . . We are talking about real measures to incentivize farmers, manufacturers, people who make products, people who export products outside of Barbados, that is what we really need to see

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

What i want to know is why Mia did not tell Caribbean people, particularly Bajans, that Africa is opening her doors to all her descendants so they can access the wealth to which every black person on earth is entitled….that is what i want to know…she has known for a while because Hunte-Cox was at that meeting with the ambassador so Mia knows…instead she was hot to have bajans who had to run from the island seeking opportunities…send their money to her so she and cow, bizzy etc all the usual parasites and thieves…could tief it…

…cause if she thinks Cow and Bizzy and her fellow minority lowlifes will slither into Africa pretending to be slave masters and to tief….and leave with their two ugly dried up heads intact…she better think again…

as long as she knows…the hardest thing is to know.

29. David April 8, 2019 12:39 PM

A couple weeks ago there was a question about the number of uninsured houses in Barbados. Today minister Edmund Hinkson confirmed the majority of houses in Barbados are not insured. He did not share numbers

Uh think he didnt know all this while in opposition
    Now coming in a pretentious manner as if he has News for the public steupse
    The question he should be asked is giving the harsh austerity measures how does govt expect households to carry more extended debt
    It is either a choice between govt debt via taxes or household commitments

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David at 12 :39 PM

The minister shared an opinion which we all knew. It added nothing to our bank of knowledge. It is not compulsory to ensure one’s house. The decision not to ensure is a rational decision for most persons. We are insuring risk of loss by fire. The house owner might decide that the probability of his house being burnt is small and that portion of his income should be allocated to other more necessary and important goods and services. That is perfectly rational.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer at 121:41 PM

I am not too clear about your perception of the problems at the NIS. But clearly the backlog of audited Financial Reports will have to be delivered before an assessment can be made. From alternative sources, there are indications that the Fund may have been used, in the past, as an extension of the Consolidated Fund. The extent of this can only be confirmed by an independent audit of the accounts.
    I do not think write offs is the preferred and appropriate solution. But in the past ,and in other jurisdictions, is this not what was done?

32. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

An intelligent government would see what i can so clearly see…the opportunities…just handed to us by our ancestors…opportunities i never thought i would see manifest in my lifetime…i sent my grandchildren the info and they saw the opportunities right away….without me saying one word…that is why i did it, i wanted to see if they could see without me telling them.

Mia should never have kept that information from the majority population..

so why cant these uppity lawyers/ministers see..maybe if they would stop trying to run every scam…they would..

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    true. Yet, one cannot have a mortgage without home insurance [versus contents insurance]? Hence the extension is the ‘majority’ of Barbadian homes have no mortgage?

34. @ Vincent,
    A home is the biggest expenditure for most families and, it follows, should be protected. That much is given. The big question is whether government should allow insurance companies to rip off home owners? Good regulation should sort this out.
    The other issue is that to put a vehicle on the road it must be insured. That is the law. if someone has a mortgage, the lenders insist on insuring the home to protect their investment. Government can easily make home insurance compulsory.
    By the way, do our fire investigators carry out investigations in to the cause of household fires? If so, do they publish the results? I believe most domestic fires are caused by electrical faults. Another area for good regulation.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

That should have been 12:41 PM

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC @ 1.16pm
    when this current administration took over, one of the early statements [memory says it came from an IMF report] was that SOE’s and the Central GoB had been withholding premium payments, due to the NIS.
    Hence my query was whether these large inter-governmental write-offs referenced by Minister Straughn, referred to the outstanding NIS premiums due.
    Clearly formal financial reporting from the NIS itself, will hopefully shed light on a wide range on topics.

37. Agree every home owner should do the sensible thing
    However what we have (here) is a minister tooting vhis political horn absent of the fact of barbadians experiencing unbearable hardship under this govt

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer at 1:17 PM

The majority of Barbadian houses are built out of personal savings and short term credit from building suppliers . One needs a steady job and a certain level of income to access mortgages. The credit unions also provide short term loans without a formal mortgage. The culture is not North American. Not only are we risk averse ; we are also loan averse. Culture is very important. That is why I always inquire whether decisions are fit for purpose.

@ Hal

One cannot expect GoB to do everything. It comes with a charge. ..high taxes and the potential for corruption. You also know the track record for regulation in Barbados within recent times. Should we keep flogging a dead horse?

39. One should not hold breath as to who and to whom these tax write offs were given
    Needles to say the “make up for loss revenue would be dumped in the lap of the tax payer

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    I suspect you are 100% correct. One may also add the ‘inter-personal loan’ as another source of financing.
    Yet, in recent times we have been told of large write-offs by financial companies and been led to believe they are mortgage and loan related. The two opposing concepts do not mix well?

41. No comment from me. Done casting my pearls before Salemites and pick-a-noisettes.🤣🤣

42. One cannot expect GoB to do everything. It comes with a charge. ..high taxes and the potential for corruption. You also know the track record for regulation in Barbados within recent times. Should we keep flogging a dead horse?(Quote)

What comes at a cost? Make the industry pay for its own regulation, only that it should not regulate itself.

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern at 1 :50 PM

You inquired about the majority of uninsured houses and not the majority of default mortgages. The latter is made up of a section of upper middle income cohorts that on some criteria do not really qualify for that level of mortgage . When there is a dip in household income they are unable to meet monthly commitments. I do not think that they are significantly large; but the ratio changes in tandem with the national economy.

44. @Vincent

If there is a disaster and the majority of houses are not insured who takes the hit of last resort?

45. @Sargeant

Looks like Mia had a good turnout? What is the on the ground feedback?

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Robert Green

You are way behind in that discovery. Why you think it is easy for all politicians in Barbados to say that they are not corrupt. Thompson accused the BLP and Owen Arthur. The idiots holla hard, by into his smoke screen, and kick the crooked BLP out. Mia Mottley accused the DLP, turn around after she got what she always wanted and said where the evidence is overwhelming she will execute an investigation. The bottom line of all of this, tell the idiots what they want to hear and they will give us the government to do whatever the shite we want. So Mottley won the government, elevated Dada and momma, wipe dada’s interest on unpaid taxes with tax exemption, but to ensure that it does not look like favouritism, granted all others owing, the same tax exemption. All the other stuff about it was recommended, the money cannot be recouped yadayada, is a bunch of hogwash. All the shite about many hands make like work is another smoke screen. The BLP cannot do as much as thieving as they did when they had the government for 14 years. It would be too obvious and too early. They will do it very tricksy indeed. Just wait and see.

47. @David

That was the Montreal meeting, today is Toronto’s and I expect a large crowd but the message will probably be the same.

48. KINDNESS INSURANCE for the poor.

” She said they were expecting to move into temporary housing this week, but until then, were staying with other relatives at various locations.

“People have reached out. They brought clothes, toiletries, towels, and even my workplace said they would take up a donation to help out.”

49. @ Sargeant,

we await your report.