Submitted by Melissa Martin, Ph.D., is an author, columnist, and educator. She lives in U.S.

The footprints of Bob Marley appear on the sand in Jamaica and across the earth wherever freedom is held hostage. Likened to Martin Luther King, Jr., Marley desired peace for his people. And for all humanity. Music was the vehicle for his message. His passionate personality was his vehicle for harmony in a chaotic world of violence.

I am remembering Bob Marley with my words in this column. “Bob, you are missed. But your legend of light shines on and on and on.”

Nesta Robert Marley was born in 1945. Being biracial, Marley was bullied as a child, but declared, “I’m not on the white man’s side, or the black man’s side. I’m on God’s side.”

Marley died of cancer in 1981 in Miami at the age of 36 years. He was laid to rest in Jamaica.

According to a 2014 article in the Jamaican Observer, “The lives of many people all over the world have been profoundly influenced by Jamaicans such as Ms Mary Seacole, Messrs Marcus Garvey, Bob Marley, Claude McKay and Usain Bolt. Some who were revolutionary political activists destined to change the world spent an important interval in Jamaica. The most famous was the liberator of Latin America, Simon Bolivar, who penned the famous ‘Jamaica Letter’ from these environs.” www.jamaicaobserver.com/.

Marley received The United Nations Peace Medal of the Third World in 1978. On April 22, 1978, the One Love Peace Concert was held at Kingston’s National Stadium where Marley asked two opposing politicians to join hands. “You entertain people who are satisfied. Hungry people can’t be entertained – or people who are afraid. You can’t entertain a man who has no food,” is a quote by Marley.

The 74th birthday of Marley, the reggae legend, was celebrated at the Bob Marley Museum on Hope Road in Jamaica in February 2019, according to The Gleaner www.jamaica-gleaner.com/.

The Bob Marley museum is situated on the site of the legendary musician’s home. “Bob’s home is filled with rich memories and treasured mementos, which seek to preserve the life and accomplishment of this great Jamaican and outstanding musician.” www.bobmarleymuseum.com.

The Bob Marley Foundation implements social intervention projects that aim to preserve the spiritual, cultural, social and musical ideals that guided and inspired him. “Never expect God to do for you what you don’t do to others,” Marley avowed.

A March 10, 2005 article published in the Rolling Stones sang a tribute to Marley. “But Marley’s early-to-mid-1970s Island recordings were also something a good deal more than pioneering entertainment: They put forth an uncompromising vision of a society kept in hell and ready to storm its gates. Songs like “Burnin’ and Lootin’,” “Small Axe,” “Concrete Jungle,” “Revolution,” “Them Belly Full” and “War” — especially “War,” with its proclamation of eternal worldwide conflict: “Until the philosophy which hold one race superior/And another inferior/Is finally and permanently discredited” — brandish unsettling images and incendiary pronouncements that are among the most authentic in modern music.”

So Much Things to Say, a book by Roger Steffens (Norton & Company, 2017) contains myriad interviews by those who knew Marley. His story begins when his white father abandoned his pregnant mother. From being raised in the slums to becoming a cultural icon, Marley remained true to his roots. He sang about the worst of humanity and the best of humanity.

Sinner, saint, or both. Marley was quite a colorful character. Fathering multiple children with multiple women. Being an advocate for marijuana as a spiritual restorative herb. Humanity’s heroes are not without flaws and foibles. “Who are you to judge the life I live? I know I’m not perfect — and I don’t live to be — but before you start pointing fingers, make sure your hands are clean!” stated Marley.

The legacy of Bob Marley, the singer, the humanitarian, and the man, remains.

182 responses to “Remembering Bob Marley”

1. So when all get up on BU and talk about Trump and his illegalities and indiscretion.
    Wunna need to shut mout because the people of USA kneww all but voted for him
    Give Trump a rest doo
    Only in bad -bud -dus

2. And if Mia memory is phto genjc
    Then why would did she not procduce it
    Whether the Dlp was rejected is not the issue
    The issue adds up to accountabilty
    Transparency
    Bold faced lies
    Only Bad bud- dus

3. There are more important things to worry about . I have listed plenty on this site. Whether or not she has an LEC does not affect the price of butter. It is the price of butter we are worried about!

4. A legend!

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, vulgar language is a very complete – comprehensive even – part of everyday speech!

Not validating the word usage but in forums like this one can simply avoid words/posts that you dislike or more…. It’s really as simple as that !

On a daily basis in business, political and social fora the effing dis and effing dat is spewed …

Whether we like it or not.

@ Mariposa…get real.

MAM lec is an issue for political BS artist like you only… As @Theo and the Blogmaster noted this is a DEAD POINTLESS issue.

If you people had any SERIOUS data to upend the now PM then you would have brought a a case to court…via the AG but it’s BS so u just talked a lot of baloney!

At least two former AGs affirmed she was duly appointed

2If she was not a valid practicing attorney her status or lack thereof may invalidate certain matters she signed as AG and on and on we can go.

Get real do…steeupse!

Your US cheating scandal is also a big non-issue.

Since forever rich folks have been using their resources to get a leg up for their children…the fact that they got caught is more hilarious and ridiculous (the stupid things they did) than it speaks to any of the social issues u raised.

They spent oodles of money wastefully…money they could have used for legitimate private tutors, private schools for more rigorous focus or simply send the kid to a very good private college which accepts you not on tests status but on social status.

What does any of that have to do with the MAM issue…say what u want about her but she does have some grey matter up top!

Anyhow. I gone.

6. Who said i was talking about politics
    The campagain is over
    But the reality of transparency and accountability lives on
    The fact that Mia is PM does not remove the issue of her telling a bold faced lie
    Politics my foot
    The root of Mia issue like that in the USA revealation /University gate /is steeped in Power wealth and influence a rot that is as close as coming to Mia LEC

7. “Whether or not she has an LEC does not affect the price of butter.”

Donna

That LEC nonsense was resoundingly rejected by the electorate on May 24, 2018.

Perhaps what Mariposa should be more concerned with, is if former Attorney General FULFILLED the PROMISE he made in Parliament to have the Office of AG INVESTIGATE whether or not Mottley is qualified to practice law in Barbados……….. and present the findings of the investigation to the public.

“Then why would did (Brathwaite) not produce the investigation report? The issue adds up to accountability…….. Transparency…….. Bold faced lies……. Only Bad bud- dus.”

8. Jamming

9. doan worry

10. Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake Up and Live
    Read more at: https://www.brainyquote.com/authors/bob_marley

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE What does any of that have to do with the MAM issue…say what u want about her but she does have some grey matter up top!

SO DOES LEXICON AND DE PEDANTIC BRIMBLER AND HAL AND PISSY MAMA

BUT WHAT PROPORTION OF FUNCTIONING BETZ CELLS ARE PRESENT IN THIS GREY MATTER?

RE vulgar language is a very complete – comprehensive even – part of everyday speech!

Not validating the word usage but in forums like this one can simply avoid words/posts that you dislike or more…. It’s really as simple as that !

On a daily basis in business, political and social fora the effing dis and effing dat is spewed …

Whether we like it or not.

THIS OF COURSE MAKES IT RIGHT?
    THE NATION HAS DEPARTED FROM ITS MORALS AND THIS IS ALL RIGHT?
    THEN WE RANT AND RAVE ABOUT ALL THE EVILS IN OUR IMMORAL SOCIETY FROM TOP TO BOTTOM.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PISSY MAMA
    LEH ME KNOW WUH U TINK BOUT DIS

THE MARLEY BWOY WAS PLAYING A LIKKLE FOOTBALL BARE FOOT
    AND HE LET GO A TOE PUNCH AND HIT HE TOE PUN A ROCK INSTEAD OF THE BALL

SO BACKTERIA AND VIRUSES ENTERED HIS TOE TO BECOME ONCOGENES

AROUND THAT TIME DE MAN FROM DE STATES GIVE HIS OUTSIDE WOMAN SOME CANCER CONTAINING SERUM WID MORE ONCOGENES AND PROTOONCOGENES TO PUT IN HIS UNDERWEAR

SO WHEN HE SING SOME NOTES
    THE ONCOGENES AND PROTOONCOGENES FLOAT
    AND POP DOW TO HIS TOES

AND CAUSE HE WAS A RED SKIN FELLA
    OR SORTA YELLA
    WITH A LIKKLE LESS OF THE MELLA
    SO THE POOR CHAP FALL DUNG
    POOR FELLA
    AND ALL O WUNNA DOTH BELLOW

ROCKIN AND ROCKIN
    MOCKIN AND MOCKIN
    WHILE PISSY MAMA CUSSIN

DE RUM SHOP ROCKIN
    GP MOCKIN

13. My wife laughed.
    She thinks you guys are ‘full of ability and smart”
    But “idle”
    ROCKIN AND ROCKIN
    MOCKIN AND MOCKIN

14. A whole setta comedians up in hurre “suck yuh mudder……”. Too funny!!🤣🤣🤣

15. chant

16. exodus

17. GP,

He said in his SNEAKERS not his underwear. That was a mistake which he corrected.

Anyway, you cannot blame people for believing this particular conspiracy theory. All promising young black leaders wound up dead, did they not? And the CIA and the FBI did plenty of them in.

Bob had a way of awakening people. If you read some of the comments on the Youtube posts you will see that he is still awakening people worldwide – India, Indonesia, Chile, Italy, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Sudan, Nigeria, Holland, Australia, Brazil, China. Young people are still listening.

The man has been dead for nearly forty years and young people of all races are listening. and speaking of him in the present tense.

18. Yes i just came from bible study and the topic was about character
    Yes character and accountability
    So yes therfore i will speak on a path directed by morals and integrity
    Not on what the brimblers of BU so determined. whether i am mocked or frowned on
    In my earlier comments i determined that Mia spoke a bold faced lie in Parliament when she said that she would present her LEC and as of present she has not
    Now i asked if anyone her thinks that her actions of telling a lie in parliament was correct
    Either u stand on principle directed by moral
    Or u stand for hypocrisy and corruption

19. It is amazing how bajans can see the mote in others people eyes but cant see the mote in theres
    Hence Trump becomes the model of all immorality
    While Mottley becomes the poster child for Forgiveness
    The funny of it all that Trump lies and Mottley lied

20. When Mottley stood up in Parliament and told a lie she reacted like a cornered rat having no where to run
    Only in Bu- bu -dus would a politician tell a bold faced lied and not be questioned
    Could nt careless how many elections Mia wins
    A lie is a lie and when a lie is used as a defence
    The one telling the lie should be reminded as often as possible
    Mia lied and there is no getting around that lie until she tells the truth
    Bajans might have short memories but i am not one of them

21. Some BU clown asked the most ridiculous question
    What does Mia LEC has to do with the affairs of Barbados
    Answer knuckle head everything
    As head of our justice dept her credentials and accreditations must be fully certified and not be attached or tainted by wealth influence and power
    The question which all right thinking barbadians should ask is what does Mia has to hide and why has she not presented as proof her LEC for all to see.

22. What has Bob Marley done for Barbados
    All this hypocrtical song and dance is just what it sounds like
    Bajans sticking their noses right in peoples rear ends
    Here we have our own Rhianna who has made barbados a household name everytime she sets foot on international stage and on the many times i have read articles on BU making mention of Rhianna they have all been negative
    I wonder why.but then it goes back to barbadians having a crab mentality and hatred of their own

23. re The man has been dead for nearly forty years and young people of all races are listening. and speaking of him in the present tense.

THE ONLY MAN THAT HAS DIED THAT I REVERE OR WORSHIP IS THE LORD JESUS CHRIST
    WHO ROSE FROM THE DEAD FOR MY JUSTIFICATION AND IS SOON COMING AGAIN TO TAKE HIS FOLLOWERS TO BE WITH HIM

HE HAS BEEN DEAD FOR 2000 BUT young people of all races are listening. and speaking of him in the present tense. SOME ARE EVEN DYING FOR THEIR BELIEF

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Dr GP
    Thanks

25. One of his powerful moments in history. The one love concert when he brought Seaga and Manley on stage.

https://youtu.be/rl6QRpusrBs

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 13, 2019 1:54 PM “A NASTY STINKING LIAR OF THE ORDER OF SHE WHO ADMITS HERE ON BU TO BEING A FARE PICKER.”

Bob marley live1978-06-09 Maple Leaf Gardens Toronto Canada. I was there. The stadium was so blue with smoke, you could not see one side from the other. The cops looked confused, but were quiet.

Happiness!!!

Georgie Porgie wasn’t there.

Lolll!!!

P.S. If I add a little happiness to people’s lives, why does it trouble so deeply? Am I doing you any harm?

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David March 13, 2019 5:18 PM “#loosenrheweave”

You got something against weave, or are you just being sexist.

28. It seems as though Verla Depieza gave instructions for you to resurrect this LEC nonsense on BU.

As far as I remember, Mottley never said she would present her LEC in parliament, she said her qualifications. Unless you want to prove me wrong by showing us a press report.

Saying someone said something without proving it, is nothing more than hear-say.

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog March 13, 2019 5:56 AM “Why are black people still allowing these demons to label their children, because a child has emotional problems, it does not mean they are possessed.”

Who says that the child has emotional problems? Where did that come from? The same people who are abusing the child?

If two people twice your body weight tied you up with ropes and attempted for approximately 30 minutes to drag you up stairs would you not resist? The child was the only person in the video acting rationally. She was resisting gross physical abuse. What was she supposed to have done? Play dead? Take the abuse?

We really need to wake up.

The old white witch moved to Barbados and discovered that she can sit at home make an easy living from gullible people.

You can bet your bottom dollar that she is making/has made a serious amount of dollars from “helping” credulous people.

I gather that the child has been sent for a psychiatric evaluation.

My questions: When will the adults be sent for a psychiatric evaluation also? Or when wil they be arrested?

If a “bad boy” from Deacons was caught doing to his daughter or girlfriend what was being done to that child he would have been arrested already.

The old witch claims that she is a Gnostic priest, and a psychologist. I would not be at all surprised to find that she barely completed elementary school.

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 13, 2019 1:24 PM “Dem could wuk up dough!”

You have something against good healthy exercise?

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler March 13, 2019 7:24 PM “They spent oodles of money wastefully…money they could have used for legitimate private tutors, private schools for more rigorous focus or simply send the kid to a very good private college which accepts you not on tests status but on social status.”

The thing is, from the information released so far, many, maybe even most of the parents had already spent lots of money on [elite?] private schools, private tutors, etc. the kids had plenty of opportunity to focus.

The thing is sometimes parents who are outstanding in their fields produce mediocre kids, ordinary kids, who average C+ or B-, and who should therefore go to a community college or an ordinary university, and afterwards go on to live an ordinary life, earning ordinary wages.

But ordinary life does not pay very well, hence the lying, cheating, and scheming. Fancy paying somebody $100,000 USD to write the 3 hour SAT exam for your kid. Fancy paying over a million dollars to get your kid into a “good school.”

And the exam writer, who was willing to fly across country, or across the continent from Florida to British Columbia as alleged by the USG to write exams for the duncy children of the wealthy is none other than a white, male, Harvard grad.

We should pay attention.

What if these people got ahold of Harrison College?

32. Nice to see a white American woman writing about our black cultural icons on a black-focused blog. Bajans are often jokers. Can you imagine this happening in Jamaica?
    Our dynamic, culturally aware chairman. The man is a bad joke. Oh, by the way, this white woman has a PhD.

33. The question of privelge Power and influenced and achievement through backdoor and darkened room methods have become a hot topic of interest recently
    After it was discovered that indivduals having wealth can buy their way into higher schools of learning and become certified and accredited
    There has been a dark cloud of suspicion hanging over the head of Mottley as to how she became accredited and entitled to become an admitted lawyer of the bar
    The issue in question hinges on a LEC requirement and how it was bypass by powers in high places on Mottley behalf
    Yes all have heard the answers on the whys and shoulds and coulds
    However no one has heard the full and convincing story as to Why a woman of privilege and political back ground was given a pass to receive a required achievement when others in lowly and not influential did not
    Mia issue of not having an LEC Is just as much an issue as what has happened in the USA recently when power wealth and influenced combined can open doors only to rich and famous and influential

34. Mariposa

Rihanna, is the envy of most Jamaicans …and that isn’t an understatement …

However, I do agree with you that Rihanna has put Barbados on the map, but the problem with Rihanna is that she has become too provocative and ghetto …

Now when Rihanna first came out in America she was loved by Blacks, Whites, Hispanics and Asians, but as soon as her music started to take on this immoral tone, as well as her lifestyle … people started to forbid their children from listening to her music….

But she has made my brothers, sisters as well as myself here popular by virtue of the Fenty name… So nuff respect Tah Rihanna… and as GP wah sah …he who is without sin pell de first big rock…

35. I thought Barbados was punching above its weight before anyone heard about Rihanna.
    And the legendary WI cricket teams did not get us known anywhere outside of the Caribbean?

We seem to lack the ability to give more than one person credit for bringing recognition to the islands,
    Wondering if Usain Bolt put Jamiaca on the map??? Please don’t answer.

36. A lot of Bob Marley wisdom came from the writings of Haile Selassie for Ethiopia … I was surprised to have read the words: until the philosophy that holds one race Superior to another was written by Haile Selassie … and if you don’t believe me research Selassie writings …

37. You have taken the weak comments of only two to support your last comment? How can anybody compare Rihanna to Bib Marley. Songwriter,musician and a performer who elevated an indigenous genre of music to global appeal? Some comments are not worth opining on.

38. @Hal A
    “Nice to see a white American woman writing about our black cultural icons on a black-focused
    Wondering if I would have thought of Bob Marley if this was not posted. And It send my mind off along several avenues.

It would be good if others would put pen to paper and let us have several posts to view and comment on but as this is not the case, and as long as this is not a Rachel Dolezal I just read and move on.

Have a great day Barbados.

39. David
    What €

40. millerthe anunnaki Avatar
    millerthe anunnaki

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife March 14, 2019 1:18 AM
    “@David March 13, 2019 5:18 PM “#loosenrheweave”

You got something against weave, or are you just being sexist.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Yes there ought to be express objection to Mariposa wearing a musty weave because it scrambles the limited brain cells of the many pussy character called “ac”.

All that is missing is her skin bleaching cream to turn her into the full political zombie she is stupidly becoming.

Why is she attacking MAM on nonsensical irrelevant matters like an LEC which every sane sensible person (other than the Mari pokey, the Fractured BLP and the now disappeared T.Inniss) knows Ms Mottley never possessed?

What does ac aka Angela skeete the fraud want MAM to do? Turn into a magician like Merlin or David Copperfield and produce an LEC like Denis Lowedown’s ‘bought’ PhD?

There are so many critical matters worthy of serious criticism of the MAM administration like the building of more Cost-U-Less-type foreign exchange wasters on former agricultural lands and in direct competition to budding black businesses.

Why is a goods-importing superstore selling trinkets and consumer junk being given ‘investment’ priority over the potential forex-earning Hyatt hotel which has been in the planning pipeline for years?

Where is the forex going to come from to keep this forex glutton alive? More borrowings from the country’s banker of last resort, the IMF, to prop up the balance of payments junkie?