“You are not to wrong or oppress an alien, because you were aliens in the land of Egypt. –Exodus 22:21 (ISV)

There appears to be an irrefutable presumption in the collective mind of governing administrations in Barbados that a substantial majority of our citizens are firmly in favour of the ongoing regional project in all its iterations. Hence, there is no need to consult the populace on any measure proposed by that project to which the State might be inclined to accede.

However, if I am to judge from certain views expressed in various quarters over the years, I am not so sure that this presumption might not be seriously flawed. Of course, our Constitution does not mandate the holding of a referendum in order to ascertain the public sentiment with regard to these or, indeed, any treaty matters. These are solely within the executive prerogative so officialdom is nonetheless entitled to base its international relations on this presumption without fear of legal recrimination.

We saw the application of this presumption with regard to our accession to the appellate jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice and we are now witnessing it anew with the recent enactment of legislation, the Caribbean Community (Amendment) Act 2019, intended to give municipal effect to our regional obligations under the Protocol on Contingent Rights to which the Honourable Prime Minister affixed her signature on Barbados’s behalf on July 6 2018 in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

To my mind, the presumption is founded on the popular anecdotal expression that for the people of the region, true integration is a daily-lived experience ever frustrated by the actions of the political leaders who care not one whit for any cession of their sovereignty in their several bailiwicks. The first part of this opinion was echoed by the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, sometime Prime Minister of Barbados in his speech at the 1986 CARICOM Heads of Government Conference where he declaimed, “If we have sometimes failed to comprehend the essence of the regional integration movement, the truth is that thousands of ordinary Caribbean people do, in fact, live that reality every day. In Barbados, our families are no longer exclusively Barbadian by island origin. We have Barbadian children of Jamaican mothers, Barbadian children of Antiguan and St. Lucian fathers. We are a family of islands.”

As Mr Barrow appeared to be, I, too, am a committed regionalist. Yet, it may be argued and is submitted that the reality of which he spoke is experienced by only a few in the region, and that there are numerous CARICOM nationals that have had or will have no contact with the other states in the region or their inhabitants. For these people locally, Barbados is their oyster, the self proclaimed “gem of the Caribbean” whose imagined pristine environment of low crime, harmonious race relations, and general law and order would only be sullied by an invasion of foreigners from other regional jurisdictions.

His Right Excellency would have been referring to those of us who, whether by marriage, romantic relationship, occupation, trade or otherwise are compelled to be Caribbean men and women. But there are also significant numbers who, as a caller to David Ellis last week, have never even visited a neighbouring island and whose experience of other CARICOM nationals is either based on generalized hearsay (“the violent Jamaican”, “the smart-man Guyanese”, “the poor small- islander”, or “the party-minded Trinidadian”) or on some random adverse encounter with one such person. And then there are the unrepentant xenophobes or latter-day “nationalists” who will brook no strangers at all within their gates.

As for the legislation itself, I have perused a copy of this from the Barbados Parliament website –Bills before the Senate- <https://www.barbadosparliament.com/site> (last accessed March 9 2019). My first comment is the rather esoteric one of dissatisfaction with its form. The language of treaties is ordinarily less rigorously crafted than that of public statutes, thereby permitting the ratifying jurisdiction to fashion its complying law in accordance with its perceived national interest while still respecting the intendment of the international obligation. However, on this occasion, the state has taken the “easy “ way out by simply appending the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas [RTC] and the relevant Protocols thereto as Schedules to the body of the Act that does not itself make any substantive provision. It has been done elsewhere before, it must be conceded, and I am unaware at the time of writing of any revision to the electronic document.

The Protocol on Contingent Rights, the Third Schedule to the Act, is the only one reproduced on the electronic copy referred to above and it repays reading. What is immediately striking is that certain jurisdictions are not signatories to the original document so that if the rights and obligations under the Protocol are intended to be reciprocal, these jurisdictions are not privy to them. Indeed, I have learnt subsequently that some of these jurisdictions have asked for a deferral of their accession to the Protocol for varying reasons.

According to the Recitals to the Protocol, the States Parties to the RTC that establishes the Caribbean Community, including the CSME, declare themselves “convinced that the primary rights accorded by Member States to nationals of the Caribbean Community in respect of the CSME must be supported by other enforceable rights operating to render them exercisable and effective. Interestingly, while they acknowledge the differential institutional and resource capabilities of Member States of the Caribbean Community in ensuring the enjoyment by their nationals of internationally recognised (sic) rights” and, at the same time, “the importance of equality in the grant of Contingent Rights among the Member States”; they nevertheless are “committed to conferring the contingent rights as set out in this Protocol…” [Emphasis added]

I suspect that it is these italicized passages more than anything else that is the source of phthisic for most Barbadians opposed to the measure. After all, they reason, parties enter into agreements in order to secure mutual benefits and if the parties are not equally resourced, then the benefits (and the burdens) are likely to be disproportionate. So that while Barbados is able to provide social benefits such as taxpayer-funded bus transportation for schoolchildren, I am not aware of any regional jurisdiction that does this. It is similar with regard to undergraduate tertiary education.

By the same token though, Barbados, with its comparatively high cost of living and levels of taxation might not be that alluring to many individual wage earners, as assumed.

Essentially, the contingent rights to be afforded to the principal beneficiary – a national of a Member State exercising one or more primary rights under the RTC-; his or her spouse and their dependants as both these terms are defined in the Protocol, are detailed under Article II (a) to (f). These rights are minima only and Article IV permits a Member State to confer even more extensive rights than those in the Protocol, subject to Articles VII and VIII. In addition, there is, in Article III (a) to (g), a built-in agenda of potential rights that “shall only be recognised and applied as contingent rights at such time and upon such terms and conditions as the Conference may determine”.

To be continued…

282 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Borderless Region”

1. David March 10, 2019 11:47 AM

“Ambassador Comissiong is defending the Barbados sign-off of the contingent rights initiative.”

Typical Tactic under the guise of doing good for Caribbean people by the Pied Piper Communist Ambassador of CARICOM… The Reality is that when we have Open Borders we lose our Identity, Culture and Sovereignty. It makes it easier to have Un-elected Officials in charge in telling you what to do, like the Dictatorial Bureaucrats in Brussels over the EU. Those are the aims of all Communist, to Rule by Tyrannical means.

Immigration should be Merit based. Institute merit based immigration whether you are poor or rich. A man might be poor but, may have a Skill (Carpentry).

See Merit Based Immigration & Citizenship by Investment Submitted by Freedom Crier

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/07/13/for-the-good-of-our-country-barbados/

2. Dean Cumberbatch…“You are not to wrong or oppress an alien, because you were aliens in the land of Egypt. –Exodus 22:21 (ISV)

Thank God for his Creation and by his wisdom in placing Volumes of water between our Nations as Natural Borders. In other words we do not have to spend Billions to Build a Wall!

Scripture above does Not mean that we should live in Lands with Open Borders…It implies the type of people that we should be that we should do unto others as we would have them do unto us. Man has a propensity to treat people who are not like him harshly and the scripture is saying that you should not, that he should be treated fairly e.g. the Muslims and the Syrians that live among us whose ancestry are different to our own, they should be treated justly as the scriptures says.

Exodus 20:2 I am the LORD thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.

He has walked the path with us in that He has taken us out of the culture of Egypt, lies/deception/servitude working for that which decays/rusts/deteriorates and out of the house of bondage, the ideologies of men the “dead men’s bones” we all follow, instead of the living spirit that we have access to all the time in real time.

This walking in the desert, the deprivation of food, water, feeling the heat in this life and learning to trust God in seeking after the spirit, builds solid confidence in us as it did for the children of those who left Egypt. He, God Rules but he allows us to choose and this counsel was given to the people who are us if we will hear:

1 All the commandments which I command thee this day shall ye observe to do, that ye may live, and multiply, and go in and possess the land which the LORD sware unto your fathers.
    2 And thou shalt remember all the way which the LORD thy God led thee these forty years in the wilderness, to humble thee, and to prove thee, to know what was in thine heart, whether thou wouldest keep his commandments, or no…
    6 Therefore thou shalt keep the commandments of the LORD thy God, to walk in his ways, and to fear him.
    11 Beware that thou forget not the LORD thy God, in not keeping his commandments, and his judgments, and his statutes, which I command thee this day:

http://dotb.tc0bblfg2d81v7kurec.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/Joshua-24.14-15.jpg

3. Moses wanted the people to be Spiritually Free Above all else…He was not talking or implying a free for all with Open Boarders…The First obligation we have is to protect our Families, our Lands/Properties and to protect the Idea of Freedom of Religion…

As an aside think for a bit, Moses had a life with his father in-law, a wife and children, had good experiences was called to free the Hebrews, did as he was asked. They were free and on the way through the desert and we continue to read that they wandered in the desert for 40 years. Moses stayed with them all the time and for a while worked from morning till night sitting in judgement.

He sacrificed his life, the rest of his life, for them he could have gone back home and told the Hebrews you are free now go in that direction and you will reach the Promised Land. He knew that freedom was not just physical freedom, physical freedom is great but the real freedom is spiritual. Hence, he laboured for 40 years to help build the society that God wanted, to teach the God-given laws etc. that transformed the people from wanting to go back for “the melons and leeks”, to a people who lived righteously, trusted God, obeyed him always and reached a level of spirituality that they were free.

After crossing the river Jordan to enter the Promised Land they had no king, they were ruled by judges who settled the disputes that may arise They had no army, each man defended or went to war as the need arose. They were a free people every man did good and lived righteous and for a long time until as the way of all men corruption entered in. We learn from their example that real freedom can only be had by a righteous people or we lose real freedom; that self-governance is the best way of true freedom. This was the legacy of Moses who gave up the rest of his happy and spiritual life to a people he loved, to a people who God wanted to “destroy” for their waywardness. He pleaded with God for their deliverance he asked for another chance for them. To my mind Moses went to the Promised Land that was the real spiritual Promised Land that we spoke about here, what we are trying to achieve in our own lives.

When we are beset by the vicissitudes of life and they come even if you are poor or rich, black or white, it does not matter, they come. These things are not a respecter of persons and really should not be…. The easy road does not exist, the lessons we learn are hard fought, for it is how God refines us to inherit what he has for us. We must teach those who start to embark on this journey, “And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children”.

The Promised Land anyone?

http://www.wawaseebible.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/MeditateDayNight-1024×768.jpg

4. @Donna
    My thoughts precisely.

5. It is worth repeating that all the countries signed off on the contingent rights protocol. A couple countries asked for additional time to make ready for two additional categories.

If we are serious about the integration movement we have to accept that movement of people is an integral part of the arrangement or do a Brexit with our brokeass self.

6. We have become so arrogant that we expect to have a trade imbalance with many of the countries in Caricom, however, we want to do so by absconding from our obligations on the RTOC.

7. if that is the case and i have no reason to not so believe, dont label it as an economic policy.

dont bruit it about as tho it is the saviour of our economy and way of life.

i believe as an integration / free movement policy it can stand on its own

8. It make sense that we as Caribbean people have some kind of Close Relationship with each other but a Bajan wants to remain a Bajan and a Trini wants to remain a Trini and so on.

Merit Based Immigration stops a Country from being Overrun by another Country.

Barbados does not want all of Guyana’s peoples in Barbados, those Rules and Poops that the would be migrant has to jump through slows the pace enough that it is not a major problem.

Most of our Islands in the Caribbean have friends and family in other Islands and so it is a good things that we can have closer relationships, but we must be Separate Countries without having whole migration one to another.

To Quote a Lebanese Poet “Stand together but not too near together for the Pillars of the Temple stand Apart and the Oak and the Cypress grow not in each other’s shadow”.

https://scontent-iad3-1.cdninstagram.com/vp/1779405a156a0a64796dbd539cf55678/5CE407A9/t51.2885-15/e35/40958040_2163313760661385_5034095399054207642_n.jpg?_nc_ht=scontent-iad3-1.cdninstagram.com

9. Does any one belive if this trade balance was working that these small islands would be struggling to make ends meet
    For what it is worth the world has become an giant-normous shopping mall and these small island nations have to fight fist tooth and nail to required economic leverage enough to sell their products to small nations at reasonable prices and si far the consensus from the people says different
    This thing about small island nations trading among each other with the exception of a few barrells of oil is not all it is supposed to be.
    Competition is fierce and most of the time these small nations protect their own economies first leaving whatever falls to the ground for the other small islands to fight over
    ExhibitA question What was Mia first thought when she poached Ross University

10. I share the assessment of Mr Greene and David BU.

The oil boom in Guyana is the very last chance for Barbados: both for Barbadian labour migrants and for massive investments from Guyana to Barbados.

In recent decades, Barbados has produced far too much intellectual waste at the university, which best wallpapers its academic titles next to the window in the toilet. Now is the time to roll up your arms and emigrate. Guyana becomes the new Panama, only a little more dangerous and wild 🙂 As long as your gun is always loaded, nothing can happen to you.

11. Caribbean Community

12. We can’t say either, but in an age of Brexit, the destabilization of established trading or political blocs and all other kinds of threats to what globalization has come to represent, we too remain uncertain as to the current meaning of the regional project.

We however continue to be burdened by the nostalgia of youth when living within a much larger region as promoted by Demas, McIntyre, Ramphal, Williams, Barrow, Burnham et al held a special allure.

Maybe, its about keeping diplomats and regional civil servants employed. For little has been achieved in 70 years. There’re varying levels of commitment from island to island.

13. @Pacha

William Demas and the giants of that era must be writhing in the great beyond.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax March 10, 2019 12:08 PM “$109,606 to be exact.”

Plus interest.

No reason to give the DLP an interest free loan.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Greene March 10, 2019 8:38 AM “if others get free health and education in Bim, bajans should get the same or equal in other parts of the region.”

But there is no free health care or education.

We Bajans pay taxes. The migrants who come? Tax them too.

Why would any country do otherwise?

16. This St.Vincent farmer is to be admired.

17. @ Freedom Crier March 10, 2019 5:51 PM

“Barbados does not want all of Guyana’s peoples in Barbados”

You must have emigrated from Barbados in the last millennium.

Finally get it into your head: Barbados is no longer the diamond of the Caribbean. The inhabitants have lived on credit for decades and boasted of their literacy rate. Nothing more than hot air.

In the 21st century, Guyana is the new Dubai. No Guyanese even remotely comes up with the idea of emigrating to Barbados anymore. Why should they do that to themselves? Sadomaso or what?

The Guyanese are now the lords of the Caribbean. If you are lucky as a Barbadian, they allow you to sit under a Guyanese table and wait for a bit of meat to fall off.

Drink a bottle of rum and read on the internet under “oil” and “Guyana”. Maybe you understand then.

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa March 10, 2019 10:45 AM “Even Europe recently has revisited their visa policy of allowing Anericans to enter without having a visa.”

Not true. The EU is NOT planning to ask Americans to obtain visas before visiting the EU. What the EU is asking is that Americans register online before coming to Europe. The process is designed to improve security, let the Europeans know who is coming. It is also designed to be cheap $14 USD and quick.

What Americans will need to do is register with the European Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS, set up for travelers from about 60 so-called “liberalization countries” that is, nations that do not need a visa to visit the Schengen Area. The ETIAS is essentially an online screening system meant to prevent potentially dangerous individuals from entering Europe. In a statement, a spokesperson for the European Commission said the EU expects that in 95% of cases the application will result in a positive result, and the traveler will obtain immediate permission to travel to Europe for three years, or until their passport expires if that happens before three years.

Currently EU citizens do not need a visa to visit the United States. However they do need to register on the ESTA system: https://www.cbp.gov/travel/international-visitors/esta

Just as Bajans do not need a visa for short visits to Canada, but they do need an to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorisation (eTA) before visiting. The process is quick, easy and cheap $7 CDN.

19. Pacha
    A lot has been achieved. What is stymieing further progress is the fear of politicians driven by their fear of the X.

MsEU Marketing Manager
    As a resident of the EU you should be able to provide BU with a crtical analysis of the situation. Aren’t you a beneficiary of contingency rights too?🤫

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron March 10, 2019 1:49 PM “Take a look at the USA, where nationalism is a clear sign of decline.”

A Simple Response: President Trump doesn’t share your views.

@Tron March 10, 2019 1:49 PM “We need a world government made up of international corporations to promote the welfare of humanity.”

I thought that the reason international corporations exist is to increase the return on investment of the corporation’s shareholders.

What are you trying to do now, turn global corporations into the Salvation Army?

21. David

Thanks much

Yes, they certainly must be resting uncomfortably.

We have come to see parallels between the integration movement as the African-American which was so badly misled and this regional integrationist failed-project. We have suggested the analysis of Professor Smalls as evidence to demonstrate such parallel tracks of misdirection.

Enuff

If so much has been achieved you should tell us where in the Caribbean the very basic, meaning ‘local communities’ owned and controlled by the regular people, are situated. Communities which could survive absent international finance and debt peonage.

Would it be possible for us to engage without an assumption that party politics and a particular leader must have a regional stage in order to burnish the cult of that leadership.

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Talking Loud Saying Nothing March 10, 2019 11:15 AM “You do not have to be an Einstein to extrapolate from these figures that our homicide rates are set to soar.”

So you are blaming the murders on migrants who haven’t even arrived yet? Who may not even have been born yet?

Ya know, we Bajans don’t need anybody to teach us how to murder. We have learned quite well without any foreign help.

What sort of Trumpian logic is that?

What if the migrants who come are serious working people. As serious as the Bajans who migrated to Panama, Cuba, Guyana, the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada?

What if they have no interest in murder?

23. William Skinner Avatar

I have been castigated for supporting regionalism on BU. The problem here is that the current crop of regional leaders have done a poor job of educating their citizens about CARICOM and almost every goal it has set.
    I do not respond to party hacks; all I do is laugh at how they interpret positions to suit what goes on near Lionel C Hill Supermarket or St Cyprians Church.
    From time to time I will point out their pathetic inconsistencies.
    I remain a proud advocate for a New Caribbean Nation and unapologetically support contingent rights.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

What are CARICOM’s strategic objectives ?
    How will achieving these objectives coincide with Barbadians welfare?
    Can we have an economic union without a political union? I think that it maybe best to remain at the cooperation level. Right now even that is in a shambles.

25. For as long as the blog has existed immigration has been a “hot button” issue. Thompson gained popularity in his campaign against illegal immigration by mainly Guyanese citizens and there were frequent broadsides by commenters against Rickey Singh and Norm Faria one mans “skilled worker” is another’s illegal immigrant. The debates never touched the issue of “skilled” workers but always focused on the illegals that remained in the island.

There are many blogs about the subject and for a little perspective I looked at two:

1) Time to Rally Around PM David Thompson
    2) The Caricom Immigration Mess

26. “When ExxonMobil begins oil production in Guyana next year, mining crude from its seven new deepwater wells, life may change dramatically in this small South American country.”

Gyanese in Barbados may head back home.

27. Not only the Guyanese. The Barbadian businessmen, workers and prostitutes will also move to Guyana.

And what’s left on the island? The usual suspects who are too lethargic to move: civil servants, welfare recipients and other boarders. They can try to tax each other. With this bunch there is not much left anyway.

Barbados is ripe for mass emigration.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There is no objection on my part concerning Caricom or the Free Movement People inter-Caribbean. I simply want to know if there is enough stability amongst the Caribbean nations to accommodate the movement at this tentative stage. How will Barbados benefit at this time when it has so much to contend with. Free Movement means that the persons coming will have to earn a living. We are sending home people. Tell me, David, how will Barbados dismal position in the job market support employment for our Caribbean neighbours, when we cannot even provide jobs for our own? Ya think businesses will pluck up in droves from their home islands and flock to the same brokeass Barbados in a flash.

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

It is Monday and while you and other honest men sleep and yet dream, me fears such sleep ever if somnambulistic, wilt not come to de ole man.

The faces come though …

Let me begin this piece of drivel with a quote

“…But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams…”

W.B. Yeats (1865-1939)

What de badword does this mean Luminary?

Soft awhile and I shall explain it ere I end my drivel

“…and we are now witnessing it anew with the recent enactment of legislation, the Caribbean Community (Amendment) Act 2019, intended to give municipal effect to our regional obligations under the Protocol on Contingent Rights to which the Honourable Prime Minister affixed her signature on Barbados’s behalf on July 6 2018 in Montego Bay, Jamaica…”

Do you honestly think that the act of Mottley singling any of these protocols IS OF ANY EFFING CONCERN TO THE AVERAGE BAJAN?

https://imgur.com/Escp1XH

Forgive my language but de ole man humbly submits that, What you wrote here, is lost on most of the commentators

People are of course not as vigilant as you are, searching as you did for this truthfully obscure treaty change.

Why are you fiddling in these nether regions of the legal matters of the Mugabe Regime?

How is it that Reverend Pastor Bishop Joseph Atherley is not doing his job as leader of the Opposition?

What de badword we are paying him for?

But de ole man digresseth

Which particular protocol are you looking for them to change, in the dead of night?

Why has your article brought The Nameless Ones # 1 to your blog?

Why is this enablement being pushed all of a sudden?

Is this a case of facilitating gerrymandering during the 2023 general election?

How will you know who is on or supposed to be on, the Barbados electorate registers?

What was the count last time? How can we twiddle with that count this time?

Are you with me Luminary?

Do you understand whose “dreams” you are treading on now Luminary?

You see why de ole man pushing dat Third Movement Party E platform?

You mek any contribution to it?

I think you betters had cause Mugabe coming fuh you my man cause you writing seditious articles.

Which you ignoramus audience talking all ovah de place about

But I gone now, for Macbeth can sleep no more, having shed the blood of …

How are we going to look our Father in His Face and ask forgiveness for those most grievous acts?

This totally left field article that has absolutely gone over the heads of its readers IS A VERY SERIOUS ARTICLE INSOFAR AS TO WHAT IT BODES FOR THE 2023 General Elections

Forgot to ask you if they Ratified the Protocol on …. or is that still not ratified?

Maybe in your continuance you might care to comment on when do Protocols Under the Revised Treaty of Caricom come into law particularly when you said and de ole man quotes

“…What is immediately striking is that certain jurisdictions are not signatories to the original document so that if the rights and obligations under the Protocol are intended to be reciprocal, these jurisdictions are not privy to them…

So, oh Luminary you really mashing up Mugabe’s dreams here of Dictator for Life with all these errant CARICOM MIGRANTS

Ido hope you can make use of the reciprocal RTOC provisions when she rescinds your citizenship for sedition.

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Sargeant

“…It is not a question of going “first”, they could have crafted an agreement that states these rights will not be enforced until they are all ratified by the respective Gov’ts. If yuh preparing to govern for two years how does a simple provision escape the “big brains”?…”

You would do well to read the Revised Treaty Of Chaguaramas (I think de ole man may have use Caricom earlier)

And you will see a specific clause which binds all of them to sign any amendment

But the Luminary will deal with that in his response soon

31. @SSS

What are the stats telling us?

The authorities should share the information.

If the agriculture skills workers travel into Barbados would it help the economy?

32. Tron

It is true Barbados cannot afford to take all of Guyana citizens, but it ought to do what it can to help the ones it can … we too often forget or have forgotten that when Barbadians were in need of help they moved to Guyana to seek that help …

Now, several years ago I came across a Fenty family on Facebook who lived in Guyana, and being curious I asked how the name Fenty got into Guyana, and to my surprised I found out that they were originally from Barbados.

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

…they could have crafted an agreement that states these rights will not be enforced until they are all ratified by the respective Gov’ts. If yuh preparing to govern for two years how does a simple provision escape the “big brains”?…”

@ Sarge and Piece, they tried….

This Protocol shall be open for signature by the Parties to the Treaty. The Protocol shall be subject to ratification by signato states in accordance with their respective constitutional procedures. It shall enter into force with the deposit of the instruments of ratification of all the Parties.

although a state does not have to wait until then…

Seven or more of the Parties to this Protocol may, upon signature, or at any later date before this Protocol enters into force, declare their intention to apply it provisionally.

34. @ Lexicon March 11, 2019 5:27 AM

Indeed.

The development potential in Guyana is very high not only because of the enormous oil wealth. The people of Guyana have two bad examples in front of their eyes in order not to fall into bad governance: firstly Burnham the butcher and secondly Maduro in Venezuela.

International investors are queuing up in Guyana. Every day new projects are started to restore the infrastructure. It’s only a matter of time before the common people there have full pockets so that they can afford Barbadians as domestic servants and go on holiday in Sandy Lane.

So if this isn’t a win-win situation for Babados at first glance. But if you think that Guyana will simply subsidize Barbados in the future so that the local laziness can continue, you’re wrong. Guyana will expect a profit for all investments in Barbados. And that is the negative side of the future.

With such a rich country in the Caribbean, the whole structure of CARICOM, its economic and regional policy structure will change. If the Guyanese are somehow smart, Guyana will become the new gold standard in the region.

In the future, we will have plenty of opportunity to discuss the relationship between Barbados and Guyana on BU. In any case, for Barbados the days of isolation are over. Barbados can only survive economically if it has close ties with Guyana.

35. @Dullard
    It is easy to poke holes. Here is the question. How can/will Barbados pay the social security bill being created by an ageing citizenry

Is this a serious question or rhetorical?

36. Barbados can only survive economically if it has close ties with Guyana*

Why not just auction off Bim to the highest bidder? Why stop at Guyana? How about Canada? China? Quatar?..

Surely that’s easier than carving out a place of relative peace and prosperity in this world, right?

37. Looks like Kyffin was a smart businessman after all…. having ‘invested’ in Guyana years ago according to the rumours, lol.

With the billions of dollars (US) expected to flow with the oil reserves discovered off Guyana, the Guyanese will be heading home so Barbados need not worry ’bout dem & small-islanders coming here in droves….. we have become the “Land of Taxes” and Mia shows no signs of ‘free-ing’ up the situation.

As our work-pool dwindle with everyone heading to Guyana, and our aging population, our governments will keep raising taxes ….. I am in my 70’s & I’ll bet you I will see VAT = 20% before I croak!!!

38. Yeap PIece agree with your sentiments
    Mia has already demonstrated she will use stealth or sinister approach to get her way
    Evidence .liberty to the pensioners money
    I have to agree her signature also has political attachment from which she can easily draw from the political well of self-interest

39. Dullard,

The difference is that relations between Guyana and Barbados are much closer than between the states you mentioned and Barbados. Guyana and Barbados are both in CARICOM and share many regional interests. Besides, Guyana has much more oil …

The problem is that many Barbadians are still far too arrogant to realise that the country is totally run down. They are attached to the fantastic misbelief that everything can go on as before.You can see for yourself how great the resistance of the population is against any reform. Barbados is almost as conservative as the Taliban when it comes to reforms. Read the many whiny comments on BU, in which hopelessly blind authors complain about tiny reforms.

With the usual sayings it is certainly no longer enough in Barbados. Much more needs to change than Her Prime has ordered so far.

40. This point is worth repeating: the number of work permits being issued to non Caricom applicants are many times more than citizens entering Barbados under the skills certificate arrangement.

41. William Skinner

This is a public discourse. Why would you seek to personalize these issues? Why do you arrogantly insist on the nostalgic and refuse to embrace historical and current realities?

This is not about personalities, whether great or insignificant. We are seeking to define a developmental ethos. And in doing so, the best information must be brought to bear.

The truth is that ‘integration’ is best understood as a rouse, a trick, to elevate a misdirection as the follow-up to slavery, colonialism, neo-colonialism and now austerity, which will go on forever it seems.

Why do the ideas of the Great Lloyd Best, a genius for his time, continue to dominate our lives when it is now clear that they have outlived their usefulness.

You represent the quintessence of the Bajan or Caribbean mentality. A disposition that is so very committed to the false ideas of our enemies.

Since integration is such a good thing you should tell the Blog why have the patterns of ownership of resources, as the basis for building any real ‘community’ continued to show growing disparities.

42. William Skinner Avatar

Guyana was always going to be the CARICOM country with the greatest potential. Both Errol Barrow and Eric Williams recognized this six decades ago. The major problem confronting Guyana remains the undercurrent of race relations and its political/ economic consequences for Black Guyanese.
    Barbados’ main strength was its excellent infrastructure which has been deteriorating since the early eighties. Our major problems now will be crime and environmental issues.
    We are going to by saddled by this IMF agreement and are therefore facing several issues because of visionless leadership for the last forty years and including that which exists today.
    However, many CARICOM citizens will still find us attractive because of political stability and a citexentry that has patience with the BLPDLP clowns masquerading as leaders.

43. William Skinner Avatar

“citizenry”

44. Skinner should also tell us why do other groups continue to weaponize economy while we must sing a cumbiyah about regionalism.

Internally, we see this in traveling throughout the region. Whether Trinidad, Guyana, Surinam we see ‘recent’ arrivals buying up economy from under us. But you insist that this is all good and we should depend on a Caricom heaven as a carbon copy of the EU formation, which could be breaking up currently.

Externally, every country, possibly except Cuba, is riddled with foreign debt. Is this not the classical debt trap that ‘great’ Caribbean leaders like Arthur Lewis sold to us and got a Nobel for?

Nobody could revere the ancestors more than this writer but there comes a time when we must dispense with ideologies unhelpful for the future. And we must be ruthless in so doing.

45. @Pacha

We have a couple simple choices to make. And it hinges on this question.

Is the life style we aspire to sustainable?

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Please point out or quote where I have ever presented any model based on the EU. I tried unsuccessfully to get a debate going on BU as to how Barbados Shipping and Trading sold out Barbados rather than innovate and create jobs. Silence.
    Trinidadians have been buying up real estate in Barbados since the early eighties, it started off as residential and a few tourism related properties. It then switched to mainly commercial. We sat by with a lot of fancy talk, while the Trinis were investing in our country.
    The point that we fail to accept is that in the global economy, we need to be one force. Right under our noses, we have seen the entire health industry promoting fruits and vegetables that we once grew in abundance in our own back yards ! Theory is one thing doing is another.
    We are so sold on anything foreign that we refuse to push road tennis as a global sport. For the detractors of CARICOM and regional solidarity, I pose one simple question: If this is not the road to travel , kindly point us to a better sustainable route not based on pie in the sky meanderings but reality.

47. @ David,

who is we ?

48. David

We think that question answers itself. And the answer has been given loud and clear for decades, we continue choosing to hear but not listen.

49. Skinner

We have never said that you particularly posited the EU as a model. However, it has been long understood that CARICOM was shadowing the EU. Look at the structures and you’ll see the similarities. More broadly, we are arguing that we are in an age where these groupings are collapsing, yet you refuse to consider the unworkability of CARICOM after 70 years.

The rest does not make contact with out intent.

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Since you mistakenly insist that I am personalizing the issue and embracing the old worn out guard please put forward your ideas for the region. As you said : This is a public debate. Ah waiting.