“You are not to wrong or oppress an alien, because you were aliens in the land of Egypt. –Exodus 22:21 (ISV)

There appears to be an irrefutable presumption in the collective mind of governing administrations in Barbados that a substantial majority of our citizens are firmly in favour of the ongoing regional project in all its iterations. Hence, there is no need to consult the populace on any measure proposed by that project to which the State might be inclined to accede.

However, if I am to judge from certain views expressed in various quarters over the years, I am not so sure that this presumption might not be seriously flawed. Of course, our Constitution does not mandate the holding of a referendum in order to ascertain the public sentiment with regard to these or, indeed, any treaty matters. These are solely within the executive prerogative so officialdom is nonetheless entitled to base its international relations on this presumption without fear of legal recrimination.

We saw the application of this presumption with regard to our accession to the appellate jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice and we are now witnessing it anew with the recent enactment of legislation, the Caribbean Community (Amendment) Act 2019, intended to give municipal effect to our regional obligations under the Protocol on Contingent Rights to which the Honourable Prime Minister affixed her signature on Barbados’s behalf on July 6 2018 in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

To my mind, the presumption is founded on the popular anecdotal expression that for the people of the region, true integration is a daily-lived experience ever frustrated by the actions of the political leaders who care not one whit for any cession of their sovereignty in their several bailiwicks. The first part of this opinion was echoed by the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, sometime Prime Minister of Barbados in his speech at the 1986 CARICOM Heads of Government Conference where he declaimed, “If we have sometimes failed to comprehend the essence of the regional integration movement, the truth is that thousands of ordinary Caribbean people do, in fact, live that reality every day. In Barbados, our families are no longer exclusively Barbadian by island origin. We have Barbadian children of Jamaican mothers, Barbadian children of Antiguan and St. Lucian fathers. We are a family of islands.”

As Mr Barrow appeared to be, I, too, am a committed regionalist. Yet, it may be argued and is submitted that the reality of which he spoke is experienced by only a few in the region, and that there are numerous CARICOM nationals that have had or will have no contact with the other states in the region or their inhabitants. For these people locally, Barbados is their oyster, the self proclaimed “gem of the Caribbean” whose imagined pristine environment of low crime, harmonious race relations, and general law and order would only be sullied by an invasion of foreigners from other regional jurisdictions.

His Right Excellency would have been referring to those of us who, whether by marriage, romantic relationship, occupation, trade or otherwise are compelled to be Caribbean men and women. But there are also significant numbers who, as a caller to David Ellis last week, have never even visited a neighbouring island and whose experience of other CARICOM nationals is either based on generalized hearsay (“the violent Jamaican”, “the smart-man Guyanese”, “the poor small- islander”, or “the party-minded Trinidadian”) or on some random adverse encounter with one such person. And then there are the unrepentant xenophobes or latter-day “nationalists” who will brook no strangers at all within their gates.

As for the legislation itself, I have perused a copy of this from the Barbados Parliament website –Bills before the Senate- <https://www.barbadosparliament.com/site> (last accessed March 9 2019). My first comment is the rather esoteric one of dissatisfaction with its form. The language of treaties is ordinarily less rigorously crafted than that of public statutes, thereby permitting the ratifying jurisdiction to fashion its complying law in accordance with its perceived national interest while still respecting the intendment of the international obligation. However, on this occasion, the state has taken the “easy “ way out by simply appending the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas [RTC] and the relevant Protocols thereto as Schedules to the body of the Act that does not itself make any substantive provision. It has been done elsewhere before, it must be conceded, and I am unaware at the time of writing of any revision to the electronic document.

The Protocol on Contingent Rights, the Third Schedule to the Act, is the only one reproduced on the electronic copy referred to above and it repays reading. What is immediately striking is that certain jurisdictions are not signatories to the original document so that if the rights and obligations under the Protocol are intended to be reciprocal, these jurisdictions are not privy to them. Indeed, I have learnt subsequently that some of these jurisdictions have asked for a deferral of their accession to the Protocol for varying reasons.

According to the Recitals to the Protocol, the States Parties to the RTC that establishes the Caribbean Community, including the CSME, declare themselves “convinced that the primary rights accorded by Member States to nationals of the Caribbean Community in respect of the CSME must be supported by other enforceable rights operating to render them exercisable and effective. Interestingly, while they acknowledge the differential institutional and resource capabilities of Member States of the Caribbean Community in ensuring the enjoyment by their nationals of internationally recognised (sic) rights” and, at the same time, “the importance of equality in the grant of Contingent Rights among the Member States”; they nevertheless are “committed to conferring the contingent rights as set out in this Protocol…” [Emphasis added]

I suspect that it is these italicized passages more than anything else that is the source of phthisic for most Barbadians opposed to the measure. After all, they reason, parties enter into agreements in order to secure mutual benefits and if the parties are not equally resourced, then the benefits (and the burdens) are likely to be disproportionate. So that while Barbados is able to provide social benefits such as taxpayer-funded bus transportation for schoolchildren, I am not aware of any regional jurisdiction that does this. It is similar with regard to undergraduate tertiary education.

By the same token though, Barbados, with its comparatively high cost of living and levels of taxation might not be that alluring to many individual wage earners, as assumed.

Essentially, the contingent rights to be afforded to the principal beneficiary – a national of a Member State exercising one or more primary rights under the RTC-; his or her spouse and their dependants as both these terms are defined in the Protocol, are detailed under Article II (a) to (f). These rights are minima only and Article IV permits a Member State to confer even more extensive rights than those in the Protocol, subject to Articles VII and VIII. In addition, there is, in Article III (a) to (g), a built-in agenda of potential rights that “shall only be recognised and applied as contingent rights at such time and upon such terms and conditions as the Conference may determine”.

To be continued…

282 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Borderless Region”

1. CARICOM must set minimum rights that can be afforded by all of its members. And those minimum rights must be legally enforceable in each CARICOM country by the same date.

It seems unfair that any CARICOM national in Barbados may enjoy a “CARICOM right” – while a Barbadian in certain CARICOM countries cannot enjoy the same “CARICOM right”.

A GIS press release (dated 7 March 2019) stated that –

“…contrary to popular belief, the number of people entering Barbados under the CARICOM Skilled Nationals Programme was “small”, stating that he (i.e. Mr Comissiong) was awaiting official figures from the Barbados Accreditation Council.”

The press release is available at: https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/ambassador-clarifies-csme-contingent-rights/

The above statement gives the impression that an impact assessment of “CARICOM Contingent Rights” on the Barbadian taxpayer was not carried out before the relevant legislation came into force.

2. By definition what does contingent rights under the RTOC mean?

3. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

contingent rights under the RTOC

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE You are not to wrong or oppress an alien, because you were aliens in the land of Egypt. –Exodus 22:21

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

WHAT WAS THE CONTEXT IN WHICH THIS INJUNCTION WAS GIVENTO MOSES TO GIVE TO THE PEOPLE?

WHAT DOES THIS INJUNCTION HAVE TO DO WITH THE PRICE OF CHEESE AND THE ENSUING ARGUMENT? OR CONTEMPORARY AFFAIRS ANYWHERE TODAY?

CAN ONE OF OUR CODRINGTONIANS OR RELIGIOUS LEADERS EXPLAIN THIS TEXT ITS CONTEXT AND SHOW THAT IT IS HERE NOT TAKEN OUT OF ITS CONTEXT TO MAKE A PRETEXT AS IS COMMONLY DONE IN BARBADOS BY BIBLE ILLITERATES?”

JUST ASKING AS A “SECOND”

5. David BU

The following information may be of some interest to you.

https://caricom.org/documents/16422-protocol_on_contingent_rights.pdf

6. Georgie Porgie

What does theExodus 22:21 indicates Sir? Is God telling the Nation of Israel do not enslave because you were once enslaved in Egypt? Or is He saying do not the Nation of Israel do not mistreat the Foreigner because you were once foreigners mistreated in the land of Egypt?

7. In essence we have extended rights to others that are not reciprocated by them, may be the PM, Caricom Ambassador or the new Press Secretary can explain.

In a previous comment I reported that the lie was repeated by Wickham on his call in show, this legislation should never have been passed unless all the agreements were ratified by the participating Gov’ts.

Monkey handling gun turns weapon on itself.

8. once again we descend into biblical BS. Any of you Egyptian or Israeli?

9. @Greene

Once again you responded, the only one to have done so thus far.

10. @Sargeant

All have signed the protocol however like the CCJ some will have to go first. Are we serious about the movement or not!

11. Barbados is notoriuos for signing agreements and ammendments which eventually bites the citizens in the a.rss
    Hence we are stuck with Liat
    Those countries that withheld from signing made such a decision on how much more financial weight their countries can endure
    However i am of the opinion that govt signing the ammendment was one of using the a political measuring stake which might most possibly serve them well in the future

12. like the Author I am a small r regionalist. the Govt misconstrues Bim’s sentiments when it comes to regional integration. bajans i believe understand well what integration means on the micro level but distrust it on the macro, especially when Govt does not try to gauge their feelings on the issue

it seems to me that bajans believe unless the playing field is level- if others get free health and education in Bim, bajans should get the same or equal in other parts of the regional- Bim will be the loser.

it is more a fight for fairness than xenophobia altho some pockets of that exists.

there is a strident push by MAM for Bim to commit to this that outpaces other regional Govts that is difficult to understand

13. What is playing out in Barbados and across the Caribbean is no different to what is being discussed in the UK and greater Europe. Even in the US and NAFTA etc. We will always have people who fear what the penetration of their borders will do to transform traditional society.

14. yeah David. i did that on purpose. as i talked about it yesterday i wanted to highlight it today and show how early in the thread it came and by whom

15. Commenters who have a religious perspective will not be silence. If it gets out of hand the blogmaster will do what his name suggest is his role.

16. Jeff,

You have brought some order to our thoughts as usual. We are not all xenophobic. I love my Caribbean neighbours but I do have concerns. I question whether this will put an unbearable strain on our resources at this time. In short, I wonder if we will have enough food to offer our visitors or if we will have to give them our own plate and starve.

Barbados may not look like the gem of the Caribbean at present but I wonder, if we do indeed start to rise again, whether a premature influx may take us back to square one. That would not benefit anybody, I think. There must be balance.

What really stood out to me is that there is flexibility in treaties that allows for a particular government to implement in such a way as is not disruptive to the interests of its citizens. This attachment of the wording of the treaty rather than tailoring our own – what are the ramifications of this? Is there still wiggle room?

As usual, I will read again, wait for your continuation and bookmark this link for future reference.

You are doing good work. Maybe you could simplify your language sometimes and educate those of lesser comprehension skills. I wonder if community groups could not benefit from your clarity of thought. You make the fears seem less xenophobic and just a matter of pragmatism. The simple acknowledgement of what are not unreasonable fears would help. Also there should always be someone explaining the factors that would make this beneficial and not detrimental to the interests of Barbadians.

Poor communication and lack of engagement of the public will always lead to fear among the general population. This has been slipped in under the radar.

17. what i wanted to say is – like the author i am a regionalist but a small r regionalist and certainly not a committed one

18. Are we ready for a Bill of Rights and all it entails?

19. what would that look like Hal?

20. “All have signed the protocol……..”

Yes, all CARICOM member states signed onto the Contingent Rights Protocol. However, so far only NINE territories were prepared to provisionally apply the Protocol: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago.

And as usual, Barbados must be “first out of the gates” to sign anything……… IGNORING the opinions of Barbadians, either through town meetings or referendum.

The we apply the term “politicians are the servants of the people” when it is convenient to do so.

21. @David

It is not a question of going “first”, they could have crafted an agreement that states these rights will not be enforced until they are all ratified by the respective Gov’ts. If yuh preparing to govern for two years how does a simple provision escape the “big brains”?

If country “A” decides it is not in their best interest or modifies any part of what is agreed upon where is Barbados?

22. Probably not.

23. As usual, most of this stuff is above my pay grade and I am unable to comment.
    However, I visited the website embedded in the post https://www.barbadosparliament.com/site&gt and there was an error

24. @Sargeant

There is some merit for your position. The other side of the coin is that the region is our third highest trading partner. Should we consider that there are other benefits Barbados can derive from deepening our relationship with our neighbours in Caricom?

25. “ratified by the Parliaments of the respective Gov’ts”

26. Thanks, fixed it.

27. @ Greene,

It would put in the constitution the relationship between citizen and state, including human rights. It would also restrict the prerogative of the Executive. Drafting is the key.

28. “there is a strident push by MAM for Bim to commit to this that outpaces other regional Govts that is difficult to understand.”

Mr. Greene

I agree with your comments. Perhaps she is more concerned about creating a legacy that somehow eluded Owen Arthur, as it relates to regional integration.

The discussions I have heard so far about the protocol were, although people support regional integration, they are more concerned about the level of fairness that would apply to Barbadians in other jurisdictions.

For example, many are of the opinion that such things as “free” health care, social services, and secondary and tertiary level education should be held sacred and available to Barbadians only. Other than Barbados, what other Caribbean island afford these “privileges” to their citizens?

I have also heard some people express their disapproval of non-nationals being able to “bring in” their wives or girl friends, who could seek employment without work permits, while their children would be entitled to day care, education and health care at the expense of the state.

These are issues the CARICOM Ambassador should have addressed through townhall meetings, to allay the fears of Barbadians and resulting xenophobic reactions.

It is interesting to note that the governments of Antigua and St. Kitts expressed reservations about free movement to their country at this time, since they complained about being overwhelmed by an influx of regional immigrants and have asked for a five-year delay.

29. Have we heard from the those countries that did NOT sign-on….. why???? Perhaps we may learn more about the ‘concerns’ that still hamper this integration.

30. Georgie Porgie

There is no such things as a Bible illiterate Mr. GP…

Because the can be interpreted: literally, figuratively, symbolically, metaphorically and allegorically and in saying that a preacher can take any piece our passage of Scripture and interpret it in whatever manner he or she so desires ….

31. Artax,

the welfare state in TT is equal to, if not surpasses, that of Bim. i doubt this is the case of the rest of the region.

it seems to me that in all her policies MAM is not a cautious or studied person. therefore she will either be a spectacular success, abject failure, neither or both lol

32. Hal

do you mean enshrine the relationship between the citizen and the state in the constitution generally speaking or on certain issues.

unless we define what it is we are really seeking to protect or ensure takes place, it would be unachievable.

33. “it seems to me that in all her policies MAM is not a cautious or studied person.”

Mr. Greene

“I could agree with you more.”

I also believe Mottley will be remembered as the first female prime minister……… and the prime minister of a one term administration.

34. @ Greene,
    By definition it must be general and it must be part of the constitution; to be detailed calls for an impossible specificity. However, it would set out the relationship between citizen and state.

35. Yet another hasty, ill-judged, ill thought out move by the PM.

Common sense would suggest that if you are struggling to properly manage and support your own household, then perhaps inviting guests over and throwing parties should be put off until a more appropriate time.

It will all be well though, we ”punch above our weight”.

36. Bigger countries than Barbados are rethinking their immigration policies
    Now we have a govt out front face down makkng unilateral decision which serves others for their betterment
    Even Europe recently has revisited their visa policy of allowing Anericans to enter without having a visa

37. The USA is not a European country nor is it a member of the European Union.

Therefore, you cannot, in all seriousness, compare Europe recently revisiting its visa policy of allowing Americans to enter without having a visa…..

……. with “free movement” within the Caribbean community.

38. Artax,

What will we replace her with? You running??????

39. My comparison is one in which international govts are pursuing a path of tightening their borders
    Wheras Barbados rushes ahead to open theirs

40. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Barbados has an incredibly high homicide rate of 10.91 per 100,000 of her population. Compared to the USA homicide rate which stands at half of Barbados at 5.35.

Here are the figures from our Caribbean neighbours who are now making Barbados their home.

Jamaica tops the homicide rate with 47.00. In second place comes Saint Vincent with 36.46. In third place comes St Kitts with 30.88.In fourth place comes Trinidad with 30.88. Whilst propping up the rear in fifth places comes those hard working and industrious Guyanese. Guyana’s homicide rate is 18.37.

Why would a Bajan emigrate to another Caribbean island which may have double the homicide rate to that of Barbados?

You do not have to be an Einstein to extrapolate from these figures that our homicide rates are set to soar. By the way Africa’s homicide rates are a lot lower than the Caribbean region.

Do not expect Mr Ellis or the scholar Jeff to discuss these figures. When pressed by a caller the “foolbert” Ellis stated that we should look at the benefits that free movement brings to the region. He implied that we should accept a spike in crime as it was part and parcel of having a larger economy.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

41. David, Please check your spam. From TLSN

42. Jeff Cumberbacth Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbacth

*What really stood out to me is that there is flexibility in treaties that allows for a particular government to implement in such a way as is not disruptive to the interests of its citizens. This attachment of the wording of the treaty rather than tailoring our own – what are the ramifications of this? Is there still wiggle room?^

A very intelligent question, Donna. It is a lazy way of drafting and the imprecision of the language might lead to some problems in future. Consider this clause…

Nothing in this Protocol shall be construed as precluding or disentitling a principal bene ciary, his/her spouse or dependants from legitimately accessing at their own expense any of the rights covered in this Protocol whether or not provided by the Government of a host country.

43. Look where seeking the public’s ‘opinion’ has the UK now? We have far more to gain from embracing the CSME, contingent rights included, than many of the others who are cautious. Their caution is rooted in a fear of us and the other perceived ‘big’ member states. By the way skilled workers tend to be younger, childless and healthy, and all pay NIS and income tax.

44. Donna

Do you really believe that, after an immediate introduction of austerity measures, lack of transparency and accountability, and against the background of “doing the same things she criticized the DLP of doing,”…….

………… the Barbadian electorate will be so forgiving to give the BLP a second term in office?

And NO,………… I’m not running.

Pray tell who in their right mind will vote for a paranoid, deranged, silly, appallingly ignorant bookkeeper fool, who learnt by rote?

45. To be clear, I am referring to skilled migrant workers.

46. As usual, most of this stuff is above my pay grade and I am unable to comment.
    However, I visited the website embedded in the post and there was an error

@ Theo, It does work… You have miscopied it…

47. There is nothing in the spam folder.

48. @Dullard

It is easy to poke holes. Here is the question. How can/will Barbados pay the social security bill being created by an ageing citizenry

49. Ambassador Comissiong is defending the Barbados sign-off of the contingent rights initiative.

50. What most vibrates in my mind is govt rushed to signed the ammendment without giving paused to revisiting the issue at a time when barbados economy was stable
    Also what is the purpose of having advisers and consultants if govt wants to solely make political decisions on complex issues