As I enter my 53rd Year in tourism it’s perhaps time to reflect on some of the very many experiences and opportunities this incredible industry has brought to me.

Having spent a prolonged period as a child in hospital being treated for what, at that time, was a disease with a 50% mortality survival rate, the seemingly endless days were abridged with second hand copies of National Geographic magazines. Even in the late nineteen fifties the journals photography was outstanding and it was those images which drove my relentless interest in travel.

My first ‘voyage’ of discovery was at the age of 16 years hitch-hiking from England to Istanbul in Turkey.

I vividly recall seeing Paris for the first time and trying to comprehend how a city, so close to London, could be so strikingly different.  Paris would later become the most popular destination for our tour operation company and I would re-visit literally hundreds of times, without for a single second, losing any of its magical appeal.

Soon after, I travelled to Canada and whilst maintaining two jobs, one at McDonalds and another as a waiter at the Lock, Stock and Barrel, it allowed me to volunteer my services to a local travel agency to acquire the necessary skills to make a living within the industry.

Whilst still in the travel industry I replied to an advertisement in the British Sunday Times placed by a Swiss based company, Globus Gateway.  They invited me to an interview which took place in a nondescript third floor office in Oxford street in Londons West end.  At the time I felt the interview went badly for me and I returned to Canada. Days later an invitation arrived to join a training tour taking in as many European countries as there is in a week.

Looking back it is now easy to understand that this training tour was for me, and the other 20 plus hopefuls, an endurance test for physical and mental ability.

Once again, so doubtful that I had secured the job as a  Tour Director I returned to Winnipeg.  To my absolute astonishment about a week later a telex  arrived in my office on Portage Avenue instructing me to collect all relevant documentation to guide T628. The ‘T’ indicated the type of European tour and the ‘628’ the date it started – 28th June.

Fortunately, the 36 Americans booked on T628 arrived at Heathrow and spent the first two nights in London, a city that I had an intimate knowledge of.   But, that was just the beginning.  T628 turned out to be the longest tour operated by the company – 47 days duration, taking in 16 sovereign countries, 4 of which I had never visited before!  3 days later later I and the group flew to Madrid to begin the Continental European portion.   In broken Spanish I introduced myself to the main motor coach driver and sheepishly asked Manuel if he knew Europe well.  His response was that he lived in Madrid and occasionally visited Barcelona.  He had never been outside of Spain whilst driving a coach….

The adventure began and despite all the associated challenges, I managed to complete the tour almost seven weeks later.

I would always be grateful to Globus for giving me an incredible opportunity and if there is any recognisable moral to this weeks column it is the travel and tourism industry provides an unparalleled platform to advance a career anywhere in the world.

97 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Hotel Veteran Pauses to Reflect”

1. The days of the well-heeled tourist in Barbados are long gone, and the advent of the tattooed, drunken, drug addicted yob has overtaken all.
    A huge tactical error in my opinion as tha norms of these gormless barrel scrapings have been thoroughly inculcated into what was the jewel in the crown of our rock – the people.
    You went to Antigua for rudeness and aggression, Guadeloupe for civilisation, Dominica for spectacular scenery and the old world charm of the Fort Young. Barbados was simply the envy of all.
    Tell us Adrian, how often have you cinsideyghat swimming against the tides of corrupt, greed and indifference have test you commitment to our failing state?

2. ?????? blather only has a 50% survival rate… weird.

3. David, is there any reason that an edit feature cannot be offered like almost any other comment board? It should only be open for a limited time, but what with Apple’s dad-blasted predictive text feature which is far from foolproof, and big fingers, sometimes you end up with gibberish, as in my post above.
    If you can do a reply button, it doesn’t seem difficult to have an edit button.

4. @45govt

The predictive text is a feature on your device, go to your settings.

5. poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    poorpeacefulandpolite

Our own conclusions are the best editor. They blank out all future contributions automatically.

6. That is no answer at all. I KNOW that, but sometimes when you select your choice of word, it fails to register.
    Now, let me ask again.
    It is a civil and simple question – is there any reason that an edit feature cannot be offered?

7. To repeat, predictive text is a setting on your device. WordPress does not offer an edit feature for commenters.

8. “Are they no Bajans that can manage a hotel efficiently……..they had to bring a man from Germany.” [David Hunte, Calypsonian]

Is government ever going to consider limiting the number of work permits they approve for hotels, especially Sandy Lane?

Recently, Sandy Lane advertised vacancies for a Resident Manager and a Director of Human Resources. As is the norm when it comes to jobs of this calibre, if you read pages 3 and 5 of today’s Mid-week Nation…….

…………the hotel has “conveniently” not received any suitable applications for the positions advertised, and indicated their “intention to submit an application for work permits for non-nationals to fill these positions.”

These hotel owners beg for all types of incentives and tax concessions that are granted off the backs of Barbadian tax payers, who they seem to believe are ONLY qualified for employment as housekeepers, maintenance, bellman, gardeners or pool & beach attendants.

Government needs to send a strong message to the owners of these hotels.

9. Ok, your last sentence is the answer. Simple, no?

10. If you share the type of device you have we will help you to change the settings, don’t be shy to ask for assistance.

11. …..autocorrect will ALWAYS make you miserable…regardless.

I fight with that damn thing on a daily basis, it seems deliberate sometimes.

12. I have an iPhone, and I DO know how to work it thanks David!

13. “Government needs to send a strong message to the owners of these hotels.”

same cry now for decades, never going to happen as long as they are paying government ministers bribes..

14. @45govt

Go to Settings> then General> turn off Auto-Correction.

15. Artax

Well said. I am in yuh corner with that one.

Govts past and present seem unwilling to address this nagging issue of abuse of work permits for expats.

We are told that they are supposed to have an understudy to take over a period of time – but that seems never to be the case.

I can understand having a few key positions from their overseas staff e.g. Financial Controller,Managing Director – but goodness gracious man a H.R. Manager or baby sitter ? Steupse.

I believe in the 21st Century the Tourism sector can be reasonably described as a Mature Sector and we should not continually be holding their hands and spoon feeding them with Concessions after Concessions – and we the taxpayers can’t see a reasonable return – not enough in the retention of foreign exchange – because most of that foreign exchange is kept in their overseas account.

16. This is a case where the tail wags the dog.

Can we say no to these billionaires who own Sandy Layne?

#royalshop

17. Dear God in Heaven David, are you thick? I have told you twice I F’ING KNOW HOW TO WORK MY PHONE. I have ignored your pathetic attempt to belittle me, while refusing to answer a simple question, but pull yourself together man, and grow up.
    PS it is Sandy LANE.

18. Do you make the change 45govt?

19. Oops, forgive the predictive text!

20. @David

Can we say no to these billionaires who own Sandy Layne?
    In a word “Yes”

Why do we allow these businesses to operate in a world that put Bajans at a disadvantage?

Are we only good enough to cut hedges and mop floors?

How long has Barbados been in the hospitality business? It never ceases to amaze me how these people get away with the nonsense that they can’t find a “suitable” applicant to fill a particular job and successive Gov’t allow them to get away with this shite.

This “punching” thing has got to stop, we are punch drunk, anymore and we will be comatose.

21. @Sargeant

We have structured the economy, successive governments, to depend on tourism.

Until we come up with alternatives to add to gdp we will continue to prostitue ourselves.

22. Price of gas and diesel significantly reduced at the pump from today.

23. BARBADOS

” Gasoline will be adjusted from BDS $3.71 per litre to BDS $3.60 per litre, a reduction of 0.11 cents. ”

Gasoline in Ontario is about BDS $1.50 per litre.

There has to be a way to reduce the price of gasoline in Barbados.

24. @Hants

It appears our problem is lack of storage to buy in sufficient volume.

So we have been told anyways.

25. @hants,

Gasoline at two gas stations across the highway from me is .94 and 96.4 cents per litre. You should change your car so you don’t have to buy premium. lol.

26. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

David January 7, 2019 3:37 PM

Lack of storage? But didnt we build the storage facility relatively recently to fix that said issue?

27. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Hants January 7, 2019 3:19 PM

BARBADOS

” Gasoline will be adjusted from BDS $3.71 per litre to BDS $3.60 per litre, a reduction of 0.11 cents. ”

Gasoline in Ontario is about BDS $1.50 per litre.

There has to be a way to reduce the price of gasoline in Barbados.

That is why i would love to see the formula tha ti sbeing used to determie the price we pay. That should answer many pof hr questions out there.

28. @sirfuzzy

Can only share what the Chairman of BNTCL was quoted in the news a few weeks ago

The lack of storage translates to not being able to optimize on future contracts. This is the blogmastyer’s best guess.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Different costs structure .No economies of scale. Different tax incidence. Add the costs and means of distribution…. shipping versus pipe line. These minor costs do contribute to a higher price than Canada.

30. @ Vincent,

you may find this interesting.

Some Canadians complain too,

https://nationalpost.com/news/canada/if-canada-has-so-much-oil-why-is-our-gasoline-so-expensive

31. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

maybe with the coming electrification of the transport sector, the need to store more fossil fuel will diminish. In a few years time that storage we have may be just correct for the island.

Has any heard of peak ICE. Never heard it until yesterday on a youtube video. Apparently Peak ICE(internal combustion engine) was 2018. 2018 was the year that the total number of “new” ICE reaches its maximum. production Going forward new ICEs will start to fall as EMV(electric motor vehicles) start their upward ascent. Exciting times and maybe an inflection point in the transport sector at least in the OECD and china

32. @Adrian,

Has any Barbadian government or organisation ever tried to draw on your obvious expertise?

33. Hal, my LinkedIn entry will give you some idea. But simply YES, I have contributed to successive Governments, Ministers, Barbados Tourism Authority, BTMI, BTPA, BHTA, TDC etc., consistently over the last 30 years. All contributions that I have made have been free of charge on my behalf entirely at my cost.

34. @ Adrian,

That is great. Although your services are free they must still recognise your contribution.

35. 45 govt,

What is “f’ing?”

36. “I can understand having a few key positions from their overseas staff e.g. Financial Controller, Managing Director……”

T. Inniss

Are you serious????

There is a CGA qualified accountant who has been working in the accounts department of The Fairmont Royal Pavilion for over 20 years and each time a Financial Controller resigns or is “forced” to resign, she is asked to act in the position.

Recently, the Financial Controller at that hotel “resigned,” and management advertised for the post of “Director, Finance & Business Support,” which is basically a Financial Controller by another name…..as is evidenced by the duties outlined in the vacancy notice.

Why is it that, with over 20 years’ experience, this lady is only suitable to ACT as Financial Controller…….but is UNSUITABLE to be appointed to the position?

I also recall Sandy Lane employed a Puerto Rican in its maintenance department who was working without a work permit. When the hotel finally advertised the position, one of the requirements was that the candidate must be fluent in Spanish.

A few years ago another hotel advertised for a Executive Chef/Trainer who, in addition to a chef qualification, must possess a degree in computer science and be a qualified teacher. Obviously, they did not receive any suitable applications and indicated their intention to apply for a work permit to recruit a non-national.

A qualified chef, who was a former teacher and possessed a degree in computer science, applied for the position and after reading work permit notice, he went to the press with his qualifications to challenge the hotel.

These hotels advertise positions with all types of fancy names and unnecessary qualifications to deter Barbadians from applying or to give them an excuse to recruit a non-national.

37. Artax

Don’t you think the Senior Immigration Officers,the Ministers of Labour and their Senior Personnel and the various Prime Ministers going back 30 – 40 years are aware of the scheme that is taking place in plain sight ?

So why is there no will to deal with this issue ?

Is it that the arrows are pointing back to kickbacks and Campaign Financing.

Woe is we my friend.

38. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

There is an online petition to organize a March against Gun Violence . The frequent shootings will hurt tourism if it hasn’t done so already. The march is to send messages of zero tolerance to criminals using firearms and to government to bring perpetrators to justice. Where is Caswell, Hammie La, Bush Tea, the blog master and community leaders including Loveridge and the BU family who should be at the forefront arranging the march. You all claim you look after the people’s interest. There is great fear in the community and the community must act in unity to take back their neighborhoods from murderers, gunmen and thugs.

39. A protest against lawless gunmen should have nothing to do with the safety of tourists, but primarily with the safety of ordinary Barbadians in their communities. By definition, if people are safe in their communities the tourists will be safe. We must get our priorities right.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    as a former journalist, your opinion on the headline versus the content of the following
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/231274/gel-selling-shares-sagicor

41. Donks

“The frequent shootings will hurt tourism, if it has done so already”

If our concerned is merely for tourism with respective to this senseless gun violence, and not for some innocent boy or girl caught in the crossfire on his/her way to school, then we can’t be in the right frame of mind.

Mexico for example, is by far one of the most dangerous places in the world to vacation today, because one does not know if he or she will make back home after vacationing there, and yet thousands of Americans still vacation in Mexico annually.

Jamaica is another example of these senseless acts of gun violence, and yet the Jamaican tourism enterprise is Booming…

42. What march what! What is causing the crime? That is what we need to determine and solve.

And here we are back at the door of corruption and how it diverts funds that could be used to develop the country and provide opportunities for ordinary Bajans.

PS. We need to reduce crime for the safety of Bajans first.

43. @ Northern Observer

It tells me GEL is in need of cash. The question is why?

44. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

No wonder this blog has a mere dozen regulars and zero impact on social media or the real word. We mentioned tourism because it was a matter of interest under tourism guru Loveridge column. The gist of the posit was locals retaking their communities from murderers, gunmen and thugs. Only a blithering idiot doesn’t know if a society isn’t safe for the people who live in the society it wont be safe for foreigners who visit the society. Home drums always beat first. We should all march in a demonstration to make the gunmen and the government pay attention.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    GEL is withdrawing from the insurance business as a long term strategic move. This makes sense as the risk profile of general insurance is adversely affected by climate change. Goddards is already exposed to hightened climate change risk because their catering & ground services division depends on the growth of airline traffic and their automotive division sells no electric vehicles and is getting their lunch eaten by Megapower Inc.

Their balance sheet shows $436 million in retained earnings as well as $66 million of liquid cash in the bank, so I don’t think they are particularly in need of cash at the moment.

46. @Peter

You are smoking. The GEL model must change if it is to sustain itself.

BTW, since when is the foreign exchange reserves referred to in Barbados dollars?

One BILLION makes a point?

47. @PLT,

Are you privy to inside information or are you privy to the operation of their collective minds?

48. Since when is the foreign exchange reserves referred to in dollars and not weeks coverage

Since when is the foreign exchange reserves referred to in bajan dollars

Since when is the foreign exchange reserves not referred to in U.S Dollars

The answer my friend is pure and simple HYPE – as is the norm with this Mottley government

To refer to the reserves in weeks will show that though there is an increase – it is not extraordinary

To refer to the reserves in bajan dollars – will make the amount seem larger – than if you use the U.S. exchange rate.

You listen to that JA Stetson Babb – ONE !!!!!! BILLION !!!!! DOLLARS !!!!

Ah boy – VOB – VOB – VOB -One day coming soon the people will wake up !!!

All this complements of Jong and Mottley – the prescription – treat them like children – since they will not see through this shite..

All this is borrowed money from the IMF – and not earned money through exports or new Foreign investment.

49. @T.Inniss

Like it or not communications is an important part of the apparatus to infuse confidence in the people. That said we need to see forward progress on the many challenges facing the country.

50. But David this info is infusing false hope or confidence.

It is expected that if you borrow money to prop up the foreign reserves – then there will be an increase.

Why shout to the rooftops every time you get a draw – down or some more borrowed funds ?

I don’t recall Sandie or Tom doing this.

Owen however borrowed money quietly to prop up the reserves and at the time the majority of the population wasn’t even aware.

This is not communications – this is propaganda – dressed up to look like news.