The Editor

Barbados

Barbados Underground

Bridgetown, Barbados

West Indies

Dear Sir/Madam,

There was an article in the Daily Nation of the 20th.December 2018 captioned Sutherland calls for sanitary lab. The article alluded to the fact that “Shop Smart” seemed to be having problems over the amount of money it was losing when food products had the Best Before Date (BBD) embossed either on canned or film-packed foods. Minister Sutherland alluded to the fact that money could be saved if the products basically,were tested to determine their wholesomeness after the BBD. He also mentioned in paragraph six that :”the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, (DCCA)… we can’t carry that because we may engage in the risk of harming people………..”

All I could do was laugh. Is it not the function of the Supermarket to ensure that products stocked and their movement through the facility are monitored, to facilitate savings? Obviously, products with short moving times should be purchases in larger amounts than those with longer moving times. Surely this is not the job for Minister Sutherland, as was clearly seen in the awkwardness with which he addressed the topic. Surely this a management problem which the management Shop Smart must address. Some Supermarkets have shelves devoted (Popular Discount and Cherish to name a few) to BBD products. The price of the items are reduced and the consumer buys them.

It is also quite obvious that the DCCA does not seem to have a clue about what tests would have to be done to achieved the goals stated by Minister Sutherland. As a matter of fact one must ask oneself if there are persons trained in food science in DCCA.

In 2000, there was a letter published in the Barbados Advocate on the first of November under the caption: “Not such an easy matter” by me; part of which I now reproduce:

The following comments are made from an educational and consumer aspect…….since it is evident that …..needs more exposure in the area of food science and the quality characteristics associated with stored food products. To illustrate what Iam talking about,I will deal with a box of cornflakes. In the fresh state the consumer expects the product to have the following kinesthetics or textural characteristics: crunchiness when chewed in the absence of milk;brittleness when bitten and mashiness when mixed with saliva in the mouth. These characteristics all come under the heading of mouth-feel and are taught as part of the undergraduate program in food science…..Storage test at room temperature and accelerated storage tests at elevated temperatures are conducted to determine the length of time over which the stored food products retain premium quality status.Chemical analyses to determine the levels of ash,sugars,vitamins….Analysis of the head space in canned and film-packed foods are also done to determine if there is any change in flavor or odor and a BBD is then issued. Cornflakes are packed in an inner barrier of wax paper,which is enclosed in a cardboard box. The inner wax barrier reduces the rate at which moisture and oxygen diffuse from the surroundings,through the cardboard and into contact with the flakes themselves.Over a period of time,diffusion of moisture and oxygen affect the texture of the stored flakes which become soft.The consumer will not buy such a product. It is therefore pointless to talk about extending BBD of cornflakes. In the case of canned food products, simple observation of the shape of the can tells one whether or not the contents are wholesome. Whole chapters of food science books under thermal processing of canned foods are devoted to this. In any event, extending BBD means that the nutritional values would have to be checked and since Barbados places no stress on the scientific capabilities (apart from computer science) of its nationals, there is a slim chance of nutritional assessment being done,since a very high level technical ability is needed to do so. I have not addressed perishables (meats, fish and fruits) for self-evident reasons.

Minister Sutherland would better serve the country by dealing with food fraud instead. In a letter to the Barbados Advocate of the 18th. November 2000,captioned : “Food fraud a global occurrence” I outlined the adverse effects of such fraud: from the mixing of red lead to paprika; the addition of mineral oils to olive oils, to the fake antibiotics that cause an increase in antibiotic resistance; changing of labels ,expiry dates and BBD are all par for the course with food fraud. Advanced countries have their hands full dealing with food fraud.

Robert D. Lucas,PH.D.

Certified food scientist (CFS)

54 responses to “Minister Sutherland @Shopsmart Notsmart”

1. Don’t know if it is still the practice to put “L” on learner drivers but there should be some around and we could put Min.of X (L)

2. Yuh ever try listening to Dwight Suderland read a speech or talk off the cuff ?

Painful man, real, real painful.

3. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Dr. Lucas

You are a very brilliant individual; unfortunately you live in a backward society which does not utilize your knowledge and expertise because of what is in it for the powers that be re: kickbacks.

That is why Barbadians with the best brians over the years have left leaving behind the lackeys and followers.

4. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Although the majority of new ministers are ahem new we cant recall fresh ministers in governments of the past out of their depth like this crowd. The sheer numbers between 26/30 ministers and portfolios deny the public from knowing with certainty who is responsible for what. . Traditional ministries were cannibalized so all the girls and boys could feed at the trough. It makes the entire ministerial set up a joke.

It was posited Mia Amor is all 26/ 30 ministers. She alone speaks with confidence on any of the portfolios. The newbies aren’t galloping up the steep learning curve either. Most are like deer caught in headlights. Many carry the look of utter disbelief that not only are they in Parliament they are ministers of the crown. The big money and power thrust on them was a pipe dream a short time ago. The fellow who toured Shopsmart is a prime example. His shifty looks suggest he expects to be awoken from his dream any moment.

There’s hardly any substance to statements from the guys in agriculture, sports, youth, blue economy etc. They compete for the most meaningless remarks which don’t connect with the bread and butter issues of john public. It is a mystery what tasks they perform for their fat monthly cheques. The public is obliged to afford them opportunity to grow into their jobs. Its just that a lot of them suggest incapacity of so doing.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

Oh the value of being seen and not heard from. Let the PS, or someone who does have a clue speak, and then all the Minister has to say, if anything, is I concur.

6. This is obviously a case of a solution in search of a problem. Is this what we are paying the minister for????

P.S. There are many bright “brians” still among us, whistle blower. You need a new tune.

7. Why mention it if the government is clueless about when a lab will be built to facilitate testing? A case of a minister wanting to drop information to appear relevant. Is it try a prominent BLP politician is part owner of Shopsmart?

8. Excellent…

Let me state that I do not know if can agree with the idea of having products “tested to determine their wholesomeness after the BBD.”

I am still straddling the fence after reading the persuasive insert of the author, for though I believe that some foods should have BBD, I still believe that on some foods it is not needed or too short.

Give them an inch and they will take a while..

Whilst there may be a nugget of sense in what the minister stated, the degree of corruption and dishonesty is such that some may start importing some products whose BBD have expired, take them directly to ‘the lab’ and then to the market. Didn’t we have a case where ‘spoiled’ chicken wings were imported for Local consumption?

We must resist the urge to race to the bottom.

I strongly agree with “Minister Sutherland would better serve the country by dealing with food fraud instead.” instead of trying to weaken existing standards.

9. Donks Gripe

So true my friend.So true.

But remember they call the last set wild boys and acted as if the BLP has the most quality people ever to grace parliament.Ha ha ha.

10. If the supermarkets lowered the price the goods would be sold before the ” best before date “.

11. this thread wont be going too far or too long
    the basic BU barkers brayers and brimblers not really capable in this arena
    Good info by Dr Lucas- as usual…but as usual beyond the comprehension of even the “highly credentialed”BU commenters. ah lie?

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 10 :27 AM

You are right. If they can reduce the price by a high percentage on sell by date that indicates that the goods were overpriced in the first place. They would increase demand for the goods if they were to reduce the price to a level that would clear the shelves long before sell by date. No rocket science here. Total revenue from sale of items /total items sold.
    Actually hawkers exhibit the same syndrome.The early buyers subsidize the low prices of the late evening customers.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Householders of BU,what drive discount stores? In whose interest is it to have tests of products offered for sale? Surely the consumers have a responsibility to themselves?

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

One more foolish question.

Are PSs no longer responsible for drafting the speeches of ministers for these public occasions?

15. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

That’s a good question

They making the PS’s look bad.

16. @Vincent

Why role does government play in regulating matters in t(e interest of the public.

17. Not really, GP. It is just that Dr. Lucas was quite comprehensive. What is left to be said? Do you really believe that all the brains left Barbados in your head??????

18. What the hell was so hard to understand about Dr. Lucas’ submission? I had to reread to see what the hell you thought was difficult.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 3: 12 PM

I am happy that you too find Dr. Lucas writings pellucidly clear. He has an interesting way of communicating scientific ideas that the average person can understand.

20. @Vincent

Agree with you!

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

There are enough public institutions that regulate and monitor the quality of consumer goods. We do not need to add another layer. Sell by dates is a rough guide as to the freshness of the item. The consumer is quite capable of making the decision himself. What has become of the common sense guide. “emptor caveat” (buyer beware)?

22. @Vincent

Are you dismissing the legal ramification of selling a product that is mashing the BBD?

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

David BU at 7:02 PM

What do you mean by mashing? And what is BBD? It is usually sell by date. I already pointed out that it is a guide to freshness. Used by date is a guide to effectiveness. It is the consumer’s responsibility to decide whether he buys the item or not. We are not children? Must GoB legislate everything? What legal ramifications are you writing about? Please clarify.

24. DONNA WROTE Dr. Lucas was quite comprehensive. What is left to be said?
    THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOU CAN SAY, IM SURE OF THAT

re I am happy that you too find Dr. Lucas writings pellucidly clear. He has an interesting way of communicating scientific ideas that the average person can understand.

WHY HAS THIS BLOG NOT THEN UP TO 200 POSTS AS MOST ARE AT THE END OF A DAY?

NO ONE SAID THAT Dr. Lucas writings WERE NOT pellucidly clear.

BUT NONE OF WUNNAH HAVE ADDED ANYTHING OF ANY SUBSTANCE IN 22 POSTS —JUST AS I PREDICTED. AND THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

25. TheoGezerts

“Let me state that I do not know if I can agree with the idea of having products tested”

Hear you…?
    Who really cares what you think…? And who might you be that speak with such a qualified opinion …?
    But I nonetheless admire your audacity though because you speak with a haughtiness analogous to the one called Georgie Porgie…

26. RE And what is BBD?

ON BU IT USUALLY MEANS BIG BIG DUMMY

BUT IN MANY PLACES IT MEANS “BEST BY DATE”

HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH “SELL BY DATE”

RE It is usually sell by date. I already pointed out that it is a guide to freshness.
    HOW IS THIS AN INDEX TO FRESHNESS? WHAT IS THE PARAMETER OR MATRIX USED TO ASSESS “FRESHNESS?

RE Used by date is a guide to effectiveness. EFFECTIVE HOW ? IN WHAT WAY? PHYSIOLOGICALLY? BIOCHEMICALLY? NUTRITIONALLY?

27. Georgie Porgie

Oh shut up … who really cares about your three-cent opinion … man you so arrogant until it is sickening… here is a piece of advice: take sometime and listen carefully to what comes out of your mouth because it is repulsive, egregious and despicable …

28. GP
    BU cannot fault you when you are waxing on matters Medical or pharmacological.Neither can Dr Lucas be faulted on matters of Food Science.
    It is when you two venture outside of your remit that you will get cut azz if required.In other words it look like wunna ent know nutten else but wuh wunna certifed in.

29. THE ANGEL GABRIEL FROM HEAVEN CAME IS PERHAPS MY FAVORITE CHRISTMAS CAROL
    GABRIEL MA BWOY IF YA IS A SLOW BOWLER IS WHY YUH MUST PLAY YA BOWLING FAST?
    EVEN IF YA GOT TALENT AS A BATSMAN YOU MUST ADOPT THE PLOY OF KALLICHARAN WHO SAID HIS AIM WAS TO STAY AT THE WICKET TO EXECUTE HIS STRENGTHS

I AM VERY CAREFUL. TO STAY AT THE WICKET TO EXECUTE MY STRENGTHS
    AS I ENJOY MURDERING LOOSE BOWLING HERE PUN BU. WHEN DEBATING WITH “THE HIGHLY CREDENTIALED BU COMENTERS”

I LOVE TO MOCK IN THE RUM SHOP MAN
    THEY CALL IT CHALLENGING AND BEING A PROVACATEUR
    I HAD TO LEARN HOW TO DO THAT MAN
    MY TEACHERS HERE AT BU DID NOT THINK I WOULDA LEARN IT SO GOOD AND SO FAST

30. I WOULD LIKE ALL OF WUNNA WHO CLEARLY UNDERSTAND THE PELLUCIDLY CLEAR AND COMPREHENSIVE WRITINGS OF DR LUCAS TO ADD TO HIS DISCOURSE AS WUNNAH DOES DO PUN ALL THE OTHER BLOGS

COME JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE. CAUSE I WANT TO LEARN BOUT THIS THING

31. @Vincent

It is the customer’s responsibility to buy food that is expertly labeled. There is a reason every country in the world has enacted consumer legislation. Why do you believe this to be the case?

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Why are you shifting the goal posts?
    We already have consumer legislation. The question is do we need to test food that has passed its BBD so as to reduce wastage of food at discount stores? All food is properly labelled in the country from whence they are imported. There is a desk at ports of entry manned by the Ministry of Agriculture that monitor imports of food. The Ministry of Health do periodic checks at food stores. These provisions have been in place for decades.

There is a good reason why we have the particular public service structure. There is a good reason why I asked if Permanent Secretaries no longer draft speeches for Ministers. PSs exist for a purpose. … to guide and advise the ministers.They are the backbone of GoB continuity. The BLP now forms the government and it must shed the electioneering coat.

33. @Vincent

We have legislation. Is it relevant? You see it as reducing wastage of food others may see it as protecting an ‘ignorant consumer.

34. RE We have legislation. Is it relevant?.

Can any of you tell me how “ sell by date” is a guide to freshness.
    HOW IS THIS AN INDEX TO FRESHNESS? WHAT IS THE PARAMETER OR MATRIX USED TO ASSESS “FRESHNESS?

Can any of you tell me how “Used by date” is a guide to effectiveness. EFFECTIVE HOW? IN WHAT WAY? PHYSIOLOGICALLY? BIOCHEMICALLY? NUTRITIONALLY?
    If we cant answer these things how is the legislation relevant?.

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I noticed that you have side step the question I posed: Why are Discount stores Discount Stores? Had you answered that question for yourself you would have zeroed in on the perceived fundamental issue.

36. A discount store is one that is able to sell products below market based on some competitive advantage. Nothing to do with the failing quality of the product.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

The idea of reducing wastage of food is not mine. Revisit the speech of the minister. Yes! What we have is relevant and as far as I know they are being enforced in as far as resources allow.
    I fail to see how consumers from the same genetic and cultural pool as you and I could be ignorant. Is that why some people are behaving the way they are. Barbadians always punch above their weight. Do not underestimate them.

38. Can any of you BDD’S stop talking shite and tell me how “ sell by date” is a guide to freshness or how “Used by date” is a guide to effectiveness?. .

HOW IS “ sell by date” AN INDEX TO FRESHNESS? WHAT IS THE PARAMETER OR MATRIX USED TO ASSESS “FRESHNESS?

HOW IS “Used by date” is a guide to effectiveness.

EFFECTIVE HOW? IN WHAT WAY? PHYSIOLOGICALLY? BIOCHEMICALLY? NUTRITIONALLY?
    If we cant answer these things how is the legislation relevant?.

Is it because you can not answer? Or wunnah fraid that I will mock the the shit wunnah post.

I want to learn bout this man cause I only know bout matters Medical or pharmacological.

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

39. can any of wunnah dummies comment on banana boxed food and if such is allowed in Barbados.
    do any of you highly knowledgeble and credentialed commenters know anything at all?

Is it because you can not answer? Or wunnah fraid that I will mock the shit outa the shit dat wunnah post.

I want to learn bout this man cause I only know bout matters Medical or pharmacological ya know.

40. Can any of “you consumers from the same genetic and cultural pool as you and I,” who always punch above their weight illuminate me on any of these matters?

What about those who “find Dr. Lucas writings pellucidly clear” and know that ” He has an interesting way of communicating scientific ideas that the average person can understand?”

What about those who “Agree with you!? Do they know anything? Anything at all?

What about those who think ” that Dr. Lucas was quite comprehensive, and wonders ” What is left to be said?” or ” What the hell was so hard to understand about Dr. Lucas’ submission?” and who ” I had to reread to see what the hell you thought was difficult.”

only 39 posts for the day and nothing of substance!
    did I not say that “this thread wont be going too far or too long and dat the basic BU barkers brayers and brimblers not really capable in this arena

Good info by Dr Lucas- as usual…but as usual beyond the comprehension of even the “highly credentialed”BU commenters. ah lie?

IF WUNNAH COMPREHEND TEACH OR GOOGLE AND OPINE! OR WAKE UP DE DEVIL AND LET HIM COME AND CUSS

MOCKING IN DE RUM SHOP IS BARE FUN
    WHERE ARE THE CHALLENGERS AND PROVOCATEURS NOW?

IS BU NO LONGER is “just another artery in the social media distribution network that share information and opinions?”

DONT “Some commenters intrigue by their articulation in delivery” ANY LONGER?.

Given that time is precious, it is unfortunate a few prefer to waste it by continually haemorrhaging it
    Operating in the blog space is no place to be thinskin, you open yourself to nerves being frequently pinged.
    ARE THERE STILL ANY ONE WHO “are often surgical in THEIR plethora of attacks (playfully) on fellow commenters. IS STILL ALLOWED? OR ONLY BY THE BU ELITE?

41. No comment from you Bush Tea!

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man always has to tell wunna dat I is not too bright.

But I will attempt to address this Best By Date or Blogging By Dummies conundrum that is before us.

Dr. GP my fellow myope (though unlike him I have been assigned aluminium foil) said

“…this thread wont be going too far or too long the basic BU barkers brayers and brimblers not really capable in this arena…” and, to be truthful, we have just either repeated what was said or remarked that what was said was not said, by who said it, but by his Permanent Secretary who de ole man Hope’s was not EDISON Alleyne OR fat fellow ***.

So let me see.

De ole man would suggest the following.

A BBD Verification Mechanism which authenticates at source, is inviolable to all sorts of collusion by dishonest customs officials, ministers of government who sell dead chickens OR GIVE LICENCES TO IMPORT CONDEMNED CHICKEN WINGS TO FRIENDS.

But let us not comment on the jailbird feed he will soon be feed on.

But back to the substantive matter.

Inviolable BBD VERIFICATION FROM MANUFACTURER that is validated by consumer WITHOUT THE INTERVENTION OF MINISTER SUTHERLAND.

Now were de ole man to say dat, in addition to de thought, de old man got de solution, ALREADY, I wonder what detractors would say to de tin foil wearer?

Would such a solution be courted by this vision less GoB as a public Private Sector collaboration to secure this Forex earnjng product be pursued OR would de usual persona non grata mentality prevail?

And de answer is “dere is de centipede, kill he, kill he….”

Baaaaaaaaaa

43. Gp,

The A levels that you brag so much about some of us also did. I was a science student. I WAS BUSY BEING A REBEL and so did not pursue a scholarship but I picked up more than enough to follow the submission of Dr. Lucas and add something from a laywoman’s perspective. I would not presume to argue the intricacies with Dr. Lucas because I do not claim to be an expert in every field. This does not diminish my worth as an intelligent being. In fact it shows that I understand what many do not – that one person cannot know everything. And I don’t even feel the need to try!

You have a serious problem. Not everything should be about you and your grievances and showing up everyone here to be less intelligent than yourself. Who are you trying to convince????????

And why do you need to convince them??????

44. Dr.Lucas exposed Sutherland as an intellectual midget
    GP what more is there to say?
    As a consumer i checked expiration date on products i purchased preferably if the expiration date is more than two days closer to time allowed for sale i would not purchase the item
    My answer to food fraud avoid foods made or label
    Produced in China mostly cheap outlets selling food items is where these products are found

45. By the way GP, I start my Christmas with Sting’s version of Gabriel’s message. While I was busy being a rebel I ALWAYS risked punishment by listening to Alvin Isaac Kallicharran’s innings on the transistor radio during science class. In my opinion he is the most underrated batsman in cricket. He is still my number one.

And so there are things I do know about – good music of all kinds, good cricket and cricketers and happily for me there’s enough of those things online to make me happy.

And so I will argue a point or express an opinion when I so desire and not when you mock or insult me.

Why would i care what you think??????????

46. Why mock all day when I can do this instead??????????

47. GOOD MORNING DEAREST DONNA DARLING
    Lol lol
    you all have just continued to maker my point
    HA HA

I HAVE NEVER BRAGGED ABOUT A LEVELS AT ANYTIME
    I DONT EVEN KNOWE WHERE THEY ARE

RE You have a serious problem.
    YES I CANT GET NONE OF WUNNAH TO EXPAND ON THIS IMPORTANT TOPIC LOL ha ha

re Not everything should be about you and your grievances and showing up everyone here to be less intelligent than yourself.
    LOL HA HA IHAVE NO GRIEVANCES I JUST CHALLENGING
    AND I KNOW THAT ALL OF WUNNAH MORE INTELLIGENT THAN I AM

Who are you trying to convince???????? NOBODY AT ALL
    I JUST CHALLENGING AND BEING A PROVOCATEUR
    IF UM WAS FAIR FOR THE GOOSE UM SHOULD BE FAIR FOR THE GANDER TOO AH LIE

And why do you need to convince them??????
    I JUST CHALLENGING AND BEING A PROVOCATEUR
    IF UM WAS FAIR FOR THE GOOSE UM SHOULD BE FAIR FOR THE GANDER TOO AH LIE
    LOL ha ha

I MADE A SIMPLE BUT TRUE STATEMENT WHICH WAS CHALLENGED
    SO I CHALLENGED BACK
    ha ha

now HEAR THE WORDS OF PIECE THE SAGE
    Dr. GP my fellow myope said

“…this thread wont be going too far or too long the basic BU barkers brayers and brimblers not really capable in this arena…” and, to be truthful, we have just either repeated what was said or remarked that what was said was not said, by who said it, but by his Permanent Secretary who de ole man Hope’s was not EDISON Alleyne OR fat fellow ***.

SEEMS TO ME THAT PIECE GOT IT

48. And because I am a clown who loves dogs my second Christmas song is always

Gets me everytime and always embarasses my son when I sing it while shopping at Sheraton Centre. That’s always a bonus. Pays him back for all the trouble he gave me for the year.

P.S. What about the expiration dates on dog food has anybody thought of that?

49. Too busy being merry!

50. dearest donna
    another favourite crib carol of mine is called ROCKING
    AT CH CH PARISH CHURCH IN THE 60’S WE HAD A SOLOIST SING THE WORDS WITH THE CHOIR SINGING LULLABY IN FOUR PART HARMONY IN THE BACK GROUND
    I STILL SING IT WHEN I COME ON BU, BUT MY VERSION IS
    MOCKING INSTEAD OF ROCKING
    HA HA HA

SINCE I LEARNED TO MOCK AND CHALLENGE IN DE RUM SHOP LIFE IS A DREAM IN RETIREMENT