Submitted  by Dr. E. Anthony Hurley

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Batts Rock has been, for more than half a century, one of my favorite spaces in Barbados, that means on earth. It was there I had one of my most treasured experiences of childhood terror, when my schoolmates (we were all less than nine years old) suggested I climb up on one of the large boulders in front of the caves that were a feature of the beach in those days. They roared with laughter at my shocked surprise when a wave entered the cave, apparently underground, and washed me off my rocky perch, tearing my swim trunks and bruising my legs as I was knocked into the surf. It was there as a teenager we hung out in the bar built under and around the bearded fig tree that used to dominate the beach.

Over the years, as I lived abroad, I made it a feature of my frequent trips back to the motherland to visit this spot which held so many pleasant memories. On my visits for the last twenty years or so (I usually come at least two to four times a year), my practice has been to walk from Batts Rock to the old Paradise, my favorite (please excuse any American English spellings which my computer insists on using) swimming location.

In the last few months, therefore, I witnessed with increasing shock the renovation (and racialization) of the bar facilities (in front of the lifeguard station) which had been non-operational for many years. I grew concerned when I saw the installation on the beach front under the trees of concrete stands for umbrellas, the laying down of a straw carpet along the path where I previously walked, the setting up of standing light fixtures, and the positioning of tables and chairs.

The way in which the remodeling of this new bar has treated the beach space has conjured in my mind notions of recolonization. This renovation process has provoked in me the question: What’s going on at Batt’s Rock? Beach space that I thought was public has clearly been appropriated by the owners of this new operation. Even the public bathroom facilities, where for decades I’ve left my car keys in the care of the attendants, have been appropriated and colonized, bore a sign for a short while saying “La Cabane,” thereby signaling the ownership of the formerly public (Barbadian) rest rooms.

Colonization, I have been taught, in most cases involves the appropriation of space, of land. Barbados is in this respect a signal example of successful British colonization. The Barbadian land space was forcibly occupied, appropriated, by the British in the 17th century. The British, like other European colonizers of that era, made what was to prove an historical misjudgment by importing masses of Africans as chattel to further the economic objectives of their colonial enterprise. The lack of foresight of these colonizers and their inability to exercise permanent control of the majority populations they enslaved and colonized led to the reduction and destruction of the British and European empires internationally and eventually even to the relative independence of “Little England.”

Octave Mannoni (1899-1989), the French ethnologist, philosopher, and psychiatrist/psychoanalyst, taught in Martinique in the 1920s and in Madagascar in the 1930s. This experience gave him insights into relationships of dependency between colonizers and colonized people, and formed the basis of his 1950 text, Psychology of Colonization. In this text, as part of the understandable necessity to justify France’s brutal colonial practices and the responses of the colonized populations which he had witnessed in Martinique and Madagascar, Mannoni claimed that colonized people suffered from a dependency complex and in fact were unconsciously waiting and wanted and needed to be colonized. According to Mannoni, colonized people suffered from an inferiority complex that existed before they were actually colonized, that colonial racism was different from other kinds of racism, and that France was the least racist country in the world.

Mannoni’s theories of the dependency complex of colonized people were effectively challenged and refuted by two the Caribbean’s intellectuals, Aimé Césaire and Frantz Fanon, both Martinique-born. Cesaire’s Discourse on Colonialism exposed the limitations and fundamental hypocrisy of Mannoni’s assertions, in trying to excuse and justify the violent actions of colonizers, and emphasized that colonial racism was no different from any other kind of racism, while Fanon, himself a distinguished psychiatrist, more respectfully alluded to socioeconomic factors that inevitably contribute to psychological reactions and psychoses. My own explorations of colonial history and psychology also led me to the firm conclusion that Mannoni’s pronouncements were typical of the European need to justify colonial practices that were clearly crimes against humanity.

How therefore do I explain what is happening at Batts Rock? The owners of La Cabane, while clearly appropriating public space, cannot do so without the knowledge, acceptance, approval, or complicity of our national leaders or those in charge of protecting our national cultural heritage. Barbados is, after all, an independent nation. As the politically-conscious and socially-engaged musician, singer, and cultural ambassador Gabby (Dr. Anthony Carter) has had to remind us, our beaches belong to us. They are public. Barbados is a small country, with limited land space. Who gives permission for this tenuous land space to be occupied, to be appropriated, to be recolonized? Were we subconsciously wanting this? Are we suffering from Mannoni’s

137 responses to “Batts Rock and Recolonization”

1. John

I think a lot of Black have a general fear of dogs … and this is based on a lack of understanding or blatant ignorance regarding the animal … however, I’ve often observed white people petting some of the most vicious breed of dogs, and aren’t even associated with these animals…

2. Lexicon
    October 28, 2018 10:36 PM

John
    How many white people have been associated with in Barbados?

I am 62 and have met and interacted with many people of all sorts from around the globe.

Most but not all “white” households with which I am familiar have a dog.

It can be a mutt that wondered in off the street or a “high” breed dog or an in between.

Some “black” households” I am familiar with have dogs … usually one.

Some have mutts.

The funny thing is that it is mostly “black” people I see in Barbados walking a dog … but that dog is often an attack dog and often one you would associate with fighting.

Often I get the impression the dog for many “black” people I see with one is a status symbol and is usually a “high” breed.

I have spent some time in the UK (1970’s) and America (80’s onward) and rarely see a “black” person walking a dog.

Often in the US people, mostly “white” people will walk up to a person walking a dog and instinctively look to pet it or make a fuss over how sweet it is.

They will usually ask permission to pet and it is not given lightly as a dog bite in America is bare $$$!!

I have visited places in the far east, worked there as well … can’t remember seeing any dogs being walked … by anyone!!

….. Chinese especially!!

3. PLT…this is how we teach racists reality in REAL TIME…lol

https://www.facebook.com/171721039848318/videos/368580976828989/?t=80

4. As I have mentioned previously, the NCC “redeveloped” Batts Rock Bay, making improvements to the pedestrian and motor vehicle access to the area, as well as the toilet facilities and placing tables, seats and a play park for children.

It is nonsense to suggest or even think that segregation is being practiced to prevent black people from accessing any area of Batts Rock, since it remains one of the popular picnic spots in Barbados.

However, since the La Cabane was opened, locals and tourists visiting the area at night have expressed concerns about several robberies.

5. Who the dog like he lick!!

A dog won’t bite the hand that feeds him!!

… further proof that dogs cannot be racist!!

6. Amazing.

7. Hahahahaha…..

8. Walter Blackman Avatar

John October 29, 2018 6:00 AM

“I have visited places in the far east, worked there as well … can’t remember seeing any dogs being walked … by anyone!!”

John,
    How come I have never visited these places, yet I have seen many dogs being “walked” on a plate by waiters and waitresses?
    Who wouldn’t let the dogs out? Who? Who?

Face it, you simply do not have an eye for detail. By the way, was it far in Eastbourne, St. Philip you visited and worked?

9. I can’t believe that John actually posted that in the United Kingdom and in America from the 80s onwards he has never seen a white person walking a dog.

I didn’t even intend to comment on this blog but all I would say is look up all those dog walkers small businesses (persons who take the dogs out for walks when the owners are busy) – whether in New York,California and elsewhere in the USA and you will see the owners of the businesses are white and their clients are almost,always white.

Steupes.

10. John

Which UK is it that it is unusual for black people to walk dogs? It seems you do not even read the |UK press since dogs are frequently mentioned as weapons of war.
    Even the Asians in my street now have dogs. If you are not familiar with a society you must resist temptations to generalise about them. Who are the organisers of illegal dog fights?

11. Was La Cabane built with Town Planning approval ?

12. It is like deja vu all over again.

The same party (BLP) and the same person (billie miller) are once again in office – when in the 90s Bajans objected to encroaching of the beach on the west coast;

they objected to the bollards that were placed on the Sandy Lane public pavement where the bajans beach holders used to park;

The raised concern about the lack of public access to the beach – where the now monstrosity has been built obliquely opposite Coach House

WHAT DID BILLIE OFFER AS A RESPONSE TO THESE CONCERNS BY THE CITIZENS ?

SHE SAID: “BAJANS ARE TOO PARANOID !” SHE SAW NO REASON FOR ALL THE FURORE.

Don’t expect anything different for this BLP administration.

13. @T. Inniss,

This is Bajan nonsense. For ages there has been a popular view that beaches in Barbados are opened to the public. This has never been the case. Someone recently mentioned the Aquatic Club and the Yacht Club as a case in point. It is not clear if there is any legislation that covers beach access.
    Some months ago we had the same discussion on BU and the only person to mention legislation was @PLT, and the legislation he mentioned was only put on the books in the 1970s. Barbados has been around longer than the 1970s.
    More important, we have a parliament of lawyer/politicians, the prime minister is also minister responsible for town and country planning. Id this government can amend the constitution within hours of coming to office to accommodate friends and associates, then it can get new legislation through parliament to clarify what is a deeply sensitive social issue: access to the beaches.
    It is my belief that they get in smoked filled rooms with foreign investors and tell them not to worry about local people invading the beaches.
    They will send in the police and defence force to sort it out. How many people realise the defence force regularly patrols the West Coast?
    They do it because of a perverse belief that this will bring foreign reserves. It will not. It will undermine the very reserves they crave since the biggest magnet for foreign direct investment is the rule of law. In Barbados there is no rule of law.
    Barbados is a failed state.

14. John needs to take is medication, he is talking nonsense .

The rule of law must be enforced in Barbados…it never will be enforced with corrupt lawyers and ministers in the parliament who PROTECT corrupt business people.

15. “…….they objected to the bollards (I think you meant BOULDERS) that were placed on the Sandy Lane public pavement where the bajans beach holders used to park……”

Hmmmmmm……

This DLP yard-fowl…… sorry, operative…….. must POLITICIZE every issue…. dividing these silly one-sided arguments into BLP versus DLP scenarios.

Firstly, perhaps you should answer Hant’s question re: “Was La Cabane built with Town Planning approval?”

Secondly, comparing the Batts Rock issue with that of blocking the pavement near Sandy Lane and “the lack of public access to the beach – where the now monstrosity has been built obliquely opposite Coach House,” is “comparing apples with oranges.”

Who are the people protesting at Batts Rock what is the issue they are protesting about?

If you did not want to expose your “yellow underwear”……….you should have compared those issues with that of Crane Beach Hotel controversy, “when in March 2018 Bajans objected to encroaching of the beach on Crane Beach,” and how under your DLP administration, Paul Doyle was allowed to confiscate the beach vendors’ chairs and locked them in a container on his hotel’s property……… depriving those vendors of earning a living for almost two weeks.

This dispute happened only 7 months ago and should be “still fresh in the minds” of people, but undertaking the duties your political masters in George Street pay you to perform…….you conveniently remembered and could refer to issues that occurred as long as 38 years ago……….

………..that are for removed from the issue the author raised about Batts Rock.

16. “How many people realise the defence force regularly patrols the West Coast?”

Hmmmmm…

Perhaps you may want to refer BU to the legislation authorising the BDF to regularly patrol the West Coast.

Whereas the RBPF is responsible for internal law enforcement, including migration and border enforcement, the BDF has responsibility for national security and may be called upon, when necessary, to undertake joint patrols, assist the police in ensuring public safety, conducting general anti-crime patrols or any other specific needs.

If you had mentioned RBPF and BDF joint patrols………then……….

17. Hal Austin
    October 29, 2018 10:09 AM

John
    Which UK is it that it is unusual for black people to walk dogs?

1970’s UK!!

18. … can only speak to 3 years of living there .. 1975 to 1978!!

19. … so can generalize on what I saw!!!

20. John,

Bad philosophy. Generalising from a three-year experience over 40 years ago.

21. Hal Austin
    October 29, 2018 10:09 AM
    Who are the organisers of illegal dog fights?

Have absolutely no idea.

Sometimes on the Sunday Hikes we would come across a pasture with cars parked in the early morning.

They put on a good act …. looked like they were a bunch of men up at that hour walking their dogs, all of which appeared to be vicious!!

… kind of like they had all gone to an outdoor church!!

Probably a lot less now as Barbados has become more built up but who knows.

Over the 20 years I hiked, I have seen the congregation in Newcastle Woods, on the cliff over looking Lancaster, in a cartroad by Blackman’s Gully, in St. Lucy etc. etc.

I had a friend who I discovered was a partaker …. found him one early Sunday Morning in Horse Hill …when I asked him if he had a lady friend in the area he said no, he was going to a dog fight!!

Told me the partakers only know the morning of the fight!!

All you need to do to figure out who in your area fights dogs is see who has abnormally vicious dogs …. like the Mount Friendship incident …. no doubt the dogs who killed the old lady were trained to fight and got away from their owner.

I never looked too hard at the congregation so can’t tell you if there were any white faces.

I get the impression that the dog is viewed as a status symbol, kind of like an extension of the owner’s machismo.

22. Hal Austin
    October 29, 2018 12:49 PM

John,
    Bad philosophy. Generalising from a three-year experience over 40 years ago.

… so Hal, how many “black” people do you see nowadays in London walking their dogs?

Just want to get an idea of how Caribbean immigrants have blended into the English way of life!!

23. @millertheanunnaki October 28, 2018 10:39 AM “Why do you want to play “god”? Don’t you think the “animal” has the same right like ‘humans’ to perpetuate it genes?

I, as you call it “play God” because I can, and because had I not “played God” the 2 cats, one male and one female would according to this cat reproduction calculator have produced more than 22,000 offspring by now. Currently I spend $25 per month to feed one cat. I will send my banking information to David the blogmaster so that you can send me the $550,000 per month that I will need in order to feed 22,000 cats.

No. I do not think that an animal has just the same right as a human to perpetuate its genes.

I don’t share your view.

Cat calculator: https://calculate-this.com/420000-kittens-unspayed-cat-kitten-calculator

24. John,

I do not walk around with a calculator checking dog walkers. But I see enough to know it is no unusual.

25. So Hal,

Does the UK have as part of the etiquette of dog walking that you have to pick up any poop it deposits?

One of the most repulsive things I see in the US when a person walks their dog is after a deposit, soft or hard, the owner dutifully (and lovingly) puts their hand in a plastic bag which they bring along and picks it all up to carry home!!

As much as I enjoy dogs, this requirement is not acceptable.

I can’t see any Bajan, black or white, being cool with that!!

26. @John October 29, 2018 9:27 AM “A dog won’t bite the hand that feeds him!!”

Not true.

https://nypost.com/2018/09/17/dog-kills-female-owner-injures-2-year-old-girl-cops/
    Dog kills owner, injures 2-year-old girl: cops

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/pitbull-dog-kills-poodle-attack-woman-london-home-wood-green-a8553716.html
    Pitbull dog kills family poodle and attacks owner after bursting into London home

https://calgarysun.com/news/crime/langdon-woman-killed-by-own-dog-after-child-attacked
    Langdon-area woman killed by own dog after child attacked

And many more cases, but David’s blog will permit only three links

27. Peoples

You see what I tell you that Artax is a real BLP kool aid drinker stool pigeon.

This man is so puffed in his ignorance and imaginary brilliance – that he likes to jump into bloggers post and boldly try to correct them while unwittingly showing up himself to be a pure bred jackass.

During the instance refer to above where bollards were placed in front of an ex-patriate residence on the Sandy lane area – the items place on the side walks were referred in the press as ‘Bollards’

Artax – the joker was so bold as to try to disparage my post by asserting and implying that I used the wrong word and I really meant to say ‘boulders’.

Oh lordie – bare sport in this rum shop.rotfl

Now lets see the dictionary definition of ‘bollards’

Bollard – short thick post used to prevent the passage of motor vehicles

Now those who are familiar with the matter – can verify that they are indeed,short,thick concrete posts.

First it was BLP Enuff yesterday making a false accusation about my post – but at least he was gracious enough to apologise

But this shite hound Artax is of a particular brand of stupid.

I expect no better from this brilliant BLP fool.

28. @John October 29, 2018 1:09 PM “One of the most repulsive things I see in the US when a person walks their dog is after a deposit, soft or hard, the owner dutifully (and lovingly) puts their hand in a plastic bag which they bring along and picks it all up to carry home! As much as I enjoy dogs, this requirement is not acceptable.”

So is it less repulsive to leasve you dog mess there for other people to clean up? or for other people to seep in?

If you think that cleaning up after your own pet is repulsive, but that leaving it there for other people to clean up or to step in then you are just another nasty, disgusting Bajan.

29. “It is nonsense to suggest or even think that segregation is being practiced to prevent black people from accessing any area of Batts Rock, since it remains one of the popular picnic spots in Barbados”

Very apt and indeed nonsense as you suggest because people like the author tend to believe that after fifty years living abroad they must come back and find the country in the same state they left it and i have heard the same nonsensical comments such as “we in even got no way to pass” ” theses people tekking over we beach” in relation to the increasing use of Brownes beach by tourists and the proliferation of beach chairs. What people like the author must realise is that times change and development is very much part and parcel of the change. My concern would be to ensure that the benefits of the development are evenly distributed and not confined to the owners of the Boat yard, or Harbour Lights or Pirates Cove who would have ready access to developmental capital.That caveat notwithstanding; yes to development.

30. John,

It is not just etiquette, it is the law. We have wardens who will be on you in seconds – and the general pubic can also report offenders. The fine can be heavy.

31. So Hal,

On average, how many loads of hot steaming dog poo do you pick up when you walk your dog?

32. Only what I cook with.

33. Simple Simon
    October 29, 2018 1:20 PM

@John October 29, 2018 1:09 PM “One of the most repulsive things I see in the US when a person walks their dog is after a deposit, soft or hard, the owner dutifully (and lovingly) puts their hand in a plastic bag which they bring along and picks it all up to carry home! As much as I enjoy dogs, this requirement is not acceptable.”
    So is it less repulsive to leasve you dog mess there for other people to clean up? or for other people to seep in?
    If you think that cleaning up after your own pet is repulsive, but that leaving it there for other people to clean up or to step in then you are just another nasty, disgusting Bajan.

I have a simple solution which I am amazed you have not considered.

If I lived in an area where such a law or etiquette existed, I simply would not have a pet!!

So when Bajans were encouraged to protest Sandals ban on walking dogs on the beach where their guests sunbathe, I didn’t take mine!!!

I don’t need law or etiquette to figure that out!!

Wonder if PLT took his dog to the protest at Dover!!

34. This whole discussion has gone to the dogs……..

35. “I can’t see any Bajan, black or white, being cool with that!!”

Speak for thyself.

36. Wow, T. Inniss…..yuh gine kill muh?

37. I am waiting on your apology Artax.

That is ,if those things matter to you.

38. @John October 29, 2018 1:53 PM “If I lived in an area where such a law or etiquette existed, I simply would not have a pet.”

I am beginning to wonder if you are my very bad neighbour from 3 houses away, whose dog has shat on my premises for decades. Because it is not against Barbados law to have your dog mess on other peoples’ premises, I am without legal recourse. Many people have advised me to poison the dogs, but because I am a soft hearted simpleton I have not done so. So even though I have never kept a dog, I have for years cleaned up other people’s dogs messes. I use the plastic bag n my hand method, then I wash my hands with soap and water. Plastic bag, and soap and water works. I am in realitively good health for an old lady. No zoonotic diseases yet.

It is either clean it up or have my children and grandchildren play in it.

Or never let them play outdoors.

Sigh!!!

Sometimes we have to do more than should reasonably be expected of us.

39. On a more serious note…….

You took a SIMPLE issue the author raised about Batts Rock and compared it with the Sandy Lane issue, under circumstances where they are two COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ISSUES……..only to politicise the situation, in the hope of “scoring cheap political points.”

And my highlighting this FACT to you……….. is indicative of me being a “BLP kool aid drinker stool pigeon.”

I must COMMEND you for your “exceptional skill” of being able to identify BLP yard-fowls, even though their contributions do not contain anything that can be identified as defending that political party.

I’m sure that you CANNOT refer to any phrase in any of my comments that would EXPLICITLY identify me as a supporter of the BLP…….

………….and rather than “rant and rave” ……. I CHALLENGE you to PRESENT the EVIDENCE to SUBSTANTIATE your claim.

But you, on the other hand, posts contributions that are excessively critical of the BLP, while defending the tenure of the former inept DLP administration and praising its members.

My friend, the ONLY bloggers’ posts I “like to jump in” is yours and the other DLP yard-fowl, to “unwittingly show wunnuh up as two pure bred DLP lackey jackasses,” a task I have ACCOMPLISHED on several occasions.

You come to this forum with a lot of silly one-sided, shiitey political arguments that even Dompey could easily “tear apart.”

“Bollards” are steel rebar encased in concrete structures, usually round or cylindrically shaped that are meant to be permanently placed on side walks, pathways or drive ways, and used for purposes such as security or to guide traffic to particular area.

As it relates to the Sandy Lane issue, BOULDERS were placed on the opposite side of the road, which prevented the popular food vendor, Sandra, from parking her food van to ply her trade and cars from parking in that area.
    This action resulted in people protesting, causing the hotel to remove the boulders, allowing Sandra to continue plying her trade and cars parking there.

In case you do not know, the word “PERHAPS” is used to express “uncertainty or possibility.” Taking the above information into consideration, it’s clear that you were unaware of the situation opposite Sandy Lane and may have incorrectly used the word “bollards,” hence the reason I wrote “PERHAPS you meant BOULDERS.”

It’s a pity you continue to allow “a shite hound such as me that is of a particular brand of stupid” and my “imaginary brilliance” to EXPOSE the shiite you bring to this forum………as shiite.

WHAT DOES THAT SAY ABOUT YOU, my friend?

And despite all your insults, “ranting and raving” ………. I will CONTINUE to EXPOSE the NONSENSE you post to this forum.

“Watch Muh!!!”
    “I got this!!”

Hahahahaha.

40. I am beginning to wonder if you are my very bad neighbour from 3 houses away, whose dog has shat on my premises for decades. Because it is not against Barbados law to have your dog mess on other peoples’ premises, I am without legal recourse. Many people have advised me to poison the dogs, but because I am a soft hearted simpleton I have not done so. So even though I have never kept a dog, I have for years cleaned up other people’s dogs messes. I use the plastic bag n my hand method, then I wash my hands with soap and water. Plastic bag, and soap and water works. I am in realitively good health for an old lady. No zoonotic diseases yet.

Not much chance of me being your neighbor, you aren’t that lucky!!!

So, do you agree with Sandals preventing people walking their dogs on the beach, a public place?

Maybe PLT should devote some of his efforts to a dog poop law!!

41. “What people like the author must realise is that times change and development is very much part and parcel of the change.”

Mr. Skeete

Having grown up in Black Rock I’m familiar with the Batts Rock beach area. I also recall when the Mounters lived near the top of the road leading to that beach. It was one of several beaches in the area we frequented as children, especially on Sundays. One could easily walk from Batts Rock to Paradise (or Four Seasons), Fresh Water Bay, Spring Garden and on to the “hot pot”, Texaco, Brighton, Brandon’s and Lands End beaches.

The Coastal Zone Management Act of 1998 required the Coastal Zone Management Unit to prepare an Integrated Coastal Zone Management Plan (ICMP) to provide a framework for planning, managing and safeguarding this island’s sea coasts. The NCC, under whose mandate the management of beaches falls, prepared a draft Beach Management Plan (BMP) in accordance with the recommendations of the ICMP.

Batts Rock is one of the beaches managed by the NCC.

It is interesting to note that the NCC also builds bar and restaurants for rental and allocates spaces on the beaches for beach vendors’ booths or kiosks.

Perhaps the building that houses La Cabane was constructed by the NCC and leased or rented to the current operators of the restaurant.

Between 2005 and 2006, the NCC conducted a study of beaches that falls under its mandate. A survey of Batts Rock beach was conducted between November 21 – 27, 2006, during which 120 locals and 58 tourists were surveyed. The researchers also observed activities that were unique to certain or specific beaches. it was observed that Picnics were popular at Batts Rock beach, especially on weekends and public holidays….. and people parked their cars and ate lunch in the parking area at the beach.

They also received complaints about the extent of beach erosion caused by rough seas, as well as stay dogs, the quantity of garbage scattered about the area by vagrants after picnics and people riding motorcycles on the sand in a manner that was dangerous to the users of the beach.

As a result and as I have previously mentioned, the NCC redeveloped and improved the Batts Rocks beach area to accommodate locals and visitors alike.

42. Walter Blackman Avatar

Sargeant October 29, 2018 2:02 PM
    “This whole discussion has gone to the dogs……..”

Sargeant,
    Pay attention to the mischievous smile on William Skinner’s face when he wrote (6:18 AM):

“As a youngster, I vividly recall a dog that used to chase people….
    I observed that this dog never chased a white person….. .”

These are a sprinkling of the classic ingredients needed to stimulate the imagination of the feather-pated. From the moment John the Quaker sniffed the aroma, he took off like a hare rabbit.
    “Well, the dog dead now”, I thought to myself.

Dog dead? Before the cat could lick his tongue, far less his ears, others got a whiff of the aroma also (or of John’s tail) and now we have an exciting dog race.

At the end of the first furlong, John the Quaker, is ahead by 20 lengths. Will he tire?

Enuff scratched.

43. SS

My household always had dogs, up to 7 dogs one time … in an area allocated to them.

They defended one side of the house!!

They had a grassed area where they pooped.

The rain took care of moving it … completely naturally.

The last one died in 2014 and I swore I would never keep another dog … too much emotion and at the time I was in and out of the island.

Since then three have wondered in, abandoned by uncaring Bajans in the area.

That is a big problem in Barbados. far bigger than the recolonized Amerindians at Batt’s Rock!!!!

44. The Coastal Zone Management Act of 1998 required the Coastal Zone Management Unit to prepare an Integrated Coastal Zone Management Plan (ICMP) to provide a framework for planning, managing and safeguarding this island’s sea coasts. The NCC, under whose mandate the management of beaches falls, prepared a draft Beach Management Plan (BMP) in accordance with the recommendations of the ICMP.
    Batts Rock is one of the beaches managed by the NCC.
    It is interesting to note that the NCC also builds bar and restaurants for rental and allocates spaces on the beaches for beach vendors’ booths or kiosks.
    Perhaps the building that houses La Cabane was constructed by the NCC and leased or rented to the current operators of the restaurant.
    Between 2005 and 2006, the NCC conducted a study of beaches that falls under its mandate. A survey of Batts Rock beach was conducted between November 21 – 27, 2006, during which 120 locals and 58 tourists were surveyed. The researchers also observed activities that were unique to certain or specific beaches. it was observed that Picnics were popular at Batts Rock beach, especially on weekends and public holidays….. and people parked their cars and ate lunch in the parking area at the beach.
    They also received complaints about the extent of beach erosion caused by rough seas, as well as stay dogs, the quantity of garbage scattered about the area by vagrants after picnics and people riding motorcycles on the sand in a manner that was dangerous to the users of the beach.
    As a result and as I have previously mentioned, the NCC redeveloped and improved the Batts Rocks beach area to accommodate locals and visitors alike.(Quote)

What has all this to do with what the original author calls ‘racialisation’ of Batts Rock – which, by the way, is a beach I am not familiar with.

45. Circa 1960.

At mansion near Glitter Bay there were a couple of Alsations/German Shepards that used to chase passers by into the sea.

Then they stopped. It was reported that one of my friends intervened with a rock stone.

The owner of the dogs was white. Me and my friends were black although they used to call me brown skin or red.

46. Going north along the west coast, towards the end of Black Rock, Batts Rock is on your left approximately opposite the old Lazeretto, now the Archives. A nice heavily wooded beach. I have nothing against the beach there, but i don’t like the sea there. But I haven’t gone there since 2006/2007.

47. When I was little my parents used to keep an Alsation/German Shepherd (not the one which chased Hants and his friends lol!) he was the biggest, sweetest, most gentle, most foolish, most lovable dog ever. I loved that beast. More than 50 years on I still remember him fondly. He was deathly afraid of thunder, and would find a bed to hide under whenever thunder started.

i’ve never kept a dog in my adult life, but if I could clone our Rover I would indeed be happy.

48. My friend, the discussion went on to people mentioning the La Cabane and it was implied that the operators may be expatiates who were preventing locals from accessing the beach.

As is proven by your comment re: “We need the government to speak out. No Barbadian government has spoken out about public access to the beaches, and sought to enforce the law (is there a law?) over the last 50 years. That is where the pressure should be applied. We also have to put pressure on Town and Country planning (the prime minister’s responsibility) and the police to enforce the law.”
    “I have said before I suspect that secret agreements are made with foreign investors which are not put in writing for fear of the back lash. It is all to do with foreign reserves. Prostitution is prostitution, whether it is on Bush Hill or for foreign reserves.”

My comment clearly indicates that NCC manages the Batts Rock beach, conducted a survey and subsequently improved access to the beach and the surrounding area. I also mentioned that the NCC constructs bars and restaurants for rental and allocates spaces on the beaches for beach vendors’ booths or kiosks……..

……….. which under the circumstances are relevant to La Cabane……..and as I mentioned, there is a probability that it was constructed by the NCC.

Even Dompey could understand where I was going.

“What has all this to do with what the original author calls ‘racialisation’ of Batts Rock….?”

And I guess your below comment and the subsequent comments about dog walking, dog poop and foreign reserves has everything “to do with what the original author calls ‘racialisation’ of Batts Rock.”

“Which UK is it that it is unusual for black people to walk dogs? It seems you do not even read the |UK press since dogs are frequently mentioned as weapons of war. Even the Asians in my street now have dogs. If you are not familiar with a society you must resist temptations to generalise about them. Who are the organisers of illegal dog fights?” [Hal Austin October29, 2018 10:009 AM]

49. When are you going to refer this forum to any legislation that authorizes the BDF to regularly patrol the West Coast?

50. HAL

Don’t pay that pure bred idiot any mind and go answering any of his questions.

He knows all – yet he knows nothing. He was caught out once again.