Since the announcement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley announcing the launch of a pilot project with FinTech company Bitt Inc,  there has been a growing concern among the savvy segment of the population about the project.

There is the Heraclitus cliché that ‘the only thing that is constant is change‘. Commonsense therefore informs a view that technology will continue to be used by humankind to interact with the ecosystem for as long as we exist. The challenge however for Barbados is effectively managing the timing of the adoption of new technologies to optimally support efforts to maintain a quality of life for Barbadians.

The blogmaster holds no brief for government’s arrangement with Bitt Inc. Often times provocative positions taken by the blogmaster to canvas and ferret information on topical issues – especially those where there is heavy fog – is misunderstood. It is a hazard of what we do and have no issues with it.

Subject matter experts in the IT field endorse the disruptive impact the use of technology driven solutions will continue to have on the the central bank controlled fiat system.  A system that is tired and has been manipulated to the point of minus-utility in the opinion of the blogmaster.

What are a few key concerns about the project?

1. lack of a legislative environment to safeguard the integrity of the market
  2. security issues
  3. SMEs say Barbados need mobile/online payment solutions, not a digital currency
  4. Bitt Inc does not have a robust IT/governance platform to certify with best in class FIs to be a disruptor
  5. Barbados is an immature cybersecurity space operating without a ‘sanctioned’ roadmap’

Several commenters continue to conflate the issues while responding to the Bitt Inc Barbados government pilot partnership.  The pilot arrangement which promotes a digital currency should not be confused with other concerns about cryptocurrency, Bitcoin and Blockchain technology for example. Clearly there is a need for public education. There is also a responsibility for individuals to educate themselves about the important issues.

In the public interest Barbados Underground reblogs the following LinkedIn article by Niel Harper, a Barbados Consultant qualified in the area of Internet Security and whose expertise is sought after internationally.

Why Bitcoin Will Not Solve the Caribbean’s Financial Inclusion Woes

The article was shared by Niel Harper, Managing Director, Octave Consulting | Program Lead, Internet Society | VP, TEN Habitat | WEF Young Global Leader What is Bitcoin? Is it electronic money? There’s a deluge of hype around Bitcoin and blockchain technologies right now, and policymakers and regulators in the Caribbean are doing their best to wrap their heads around

Read more

276 responses to “More Information Needed About Government’s Partnership with Bitt Inc”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa September 23, 2018 7:36 PM
    Do you use a debit card, a credit card, or sent a wire transfer? That’s all paperless money too, but controlled by banks like CIBC, Royalbank, and Scotiabank that have proven themselves much more rapacious and predatory than the IMF or Bitt.

Do you like the fees they charge? Do you like the fact that they pay you zero interest? Do you like the fact that they make it close to impossible for small scale entrepreneurs to accept credit or debit cards? Do you like the fact that they devote none of their loan portfolio to productive loans for small enterprise? Do you like the fact that their entire agenda is to lend people money to buy imported cars that drain our FX and pollute our environment?

What is it exactly that has you in service to these banks?

2. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@PLT.

I think the average bajan sees the bank as somewhere to save money and get loan for a car or mortgage. There may not be interested in borrowing for a business becuae they are content to be an employee.

Unless you see the inner working of the banking system like u maybe acquainted with; the bank is just your friendly neighbour lending institution that granny took me to when i was a little boy/girl.

banks sole purpose is to extract the most outta of u and me via fees, service charges and interest that is humanly permissible without me the customer dying. A dead client is of little use.

3. “CIBC, Royalbank, and Scotiabank that have proven themselves much more rapacious and predatory than the IMF or Bitt.”

How do you know that…you have not seen Bitt in action yet..Bitt downgraded from Bitcoin to mMoney to get a foot in the door…..they have to get in first, then you will know what their real plans are..you usually pay to find out..

4. Sir i do not pay bank charges not one who let money sit on an account to collect dust
    Furthermore checks is my preferred choice
    Now what you are doing is encouraging an unregulated form of transaction where those in charge of moving money from one party or more parties have the upper hand when money transfer get lost ..with not having to be responsible according to their terms and agreements
    Which means these legalise opportuinist can sucker punch ever tom and Mary without having to feel the effect of legal ramifications
    Now if i were you i would by all means necessary avoid putting my name as a voucher for these scam artist
    If this m money was above ground there agreements would be dutifully binding to protect the customer not a bob and weaving attempt to shield and protect their self interest

5. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

I am not surprised by your spew.

I myself have nothing to do with Naked Departure not sure about anyone else.

You seem to think that divide and rule helps you achieve your objective to provide smoke and mirrors.

If Adams was someone else your Prime Minister would not be pushing this.

6. Peter lawerence
    @

@Bush Tea
    Do you imagine that “cash, debit card, credit card, PayPal etc” were “created by reputable, non-political people…”? Not a single one of them; they were each created by the shysters and robber barons of their day.

Boy yuh tell yuh cant imagine such comment to come out of your mouth as a signal of your endorsement for another shyster
    Boy yuh tell yuh with friends like you who needs enemies

7. The 0% deposit rate and ensuingly large spread seemed to have been allowed (encouraged?) during recent times, to make publicly created instruments ‘more attractive ‘?
    I still haven’t figured out exactly how CIBC/First Caribbean managed to lose the huge sums reported. I believe Republic, though not Cdn, have followed suit. What rates/spread are the credit unions offering?
    Despite these margins, the banks seem to have soured on the Caribbean region.
    We certainly are not seeing the services offered by the likes of Tangerine (Scotia), Simplii (CIBC) in the region.

8. @PLT

“What is it exactly that has you in service to these banks?”

Let me answer this question for Mariposa.

REPUTATION, REALIABILITY, INTEGRITY, SECURITY and most of ALL A PROVEN TRACK RECORD.

9. Hal

Your post at 7:11 p.m. on 23rd Sept was bang on – all of it but especially the first paragraph which states that there is an agenda to get anyone who sings from the same hymn sheet – to be featured in CBC,VOB and The Nation newspaper to preach to the gullible public saying the same thing over and over – which after a while becomes fact.

Have a look at those who write columns in the Nation since 2008 and even until to day.Pure empty BLP propaganda,or people like Lisa Cummins looking for a pick.We are in a famine where knowledgeable discussion,analysis,commentary etc are concerned.

This season brings forth empty vessels like the said lisa cummins, jeremy stephens, ryan Straughn, lisa gayle, crystal Haynes, crystal drakes, kirk Humphrey, santia bradshaw, Gabriel Abed, rawdon adams, Marla dukkeran, and to top it off – the leader herself Mia Mottley .

You gain nothing of substance when you read the newspapers,listen to the radio or watch tv.Here on BU there are some who are making a valiant effort to lift the discussion,but in the main you have some of the same culprits spouting gobbley gook all day long,every day,every topic.

At least there are some on here who make a difference – and for that we should be thankful.

10. Interesting article from Canadian CBC News….

https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/hut8-medicine-hat-bitcoin-mining-1.4834027

11. Here we read that present govt planning to mash up and brek up the taxi business with a plan of bringing Uber to barbados
    Yet here on BU you got these so called intellectuals pushing online scams for bajans to get involve
    Also more than a week has gone by when pensioners have sound a warning bell about the Red Wash govt has planned for their financial security
    Not a word of mention but all kinds of detractions in the form of feelgood articles can be seen making way across BU in support of govt initiatives

12. Where is the report that government plans to bring in Uber?

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Wily Coyote September 24, 2018 6:05 AM

So you are saying that you think that paying you zero interest, making it close to impossible for small scale entrepreneurs to accept credit or debit cards, devoting none of their loan portfolio to productive loans for small enterprise… etc is a fair price to pay for their “REPUTATION, REALIABILITY, INTEGRITY, SECURITY and most of ALL A PROVEN TRACK RECORD.”

I don’t.

14. In yesterday Nation news paper Kerrie Symonds made the statement at a church service about Uber /govt plans
    Now all this ts2lk abiut m.money seems to be more a distraction
    A way of taking society mind away frim the hard issues that impact peoples daily life
    People lives are dependable on jobs without jobs mmoney means nothing
    I for one couldnt give two rats a.ss because if it can put money in my pocket it does worth time of day to my interest
    If Govt has a plan for bringing Uber that would be of more concern for the those owners /drivers of the taxibusiness it would impact
    What bitt coin …steupsee

15. Government is exploring? What does exploring mean?

16. People trying to make two ends meet and all this talk about mmoney
    People looking for some needed support to pressure govt on all these burdensome policies
    Yet David BU taking people down a rabbit hole of nothingness
    People complaining about water bills triple in payments
    Electric bills gone up much from last year
    The same garbage problem getting worse
    Sewage floating in the sea
    Gas triple in price
    Pensioners now being taking advantage because of the default and on and on
    Not to mention the increased inflated prices in groceries
    Yet David BU thinks that people coming on BU will find solace in reading an article about a scam called m.money Those issues which i mentioned as to govt policies impact people lives and people are looking for answers

17. @ PLT
    So you are saying that you think that paying you zero interest, making it close to impossible for small scale entrepreneurs to accept credit or debit cards, devoting none of their loan portfolio to productive loans for small enterprise… etc is a fair price to pay for their “REPUTATION, REALIABILITY, INTEGRITY, SECURITY and most of ALL A PROVEN TRACK RECORD.”
    What is your point PLT?

The Banks should really charge RENT to the Bajan jackasses who want to put their money with them….
    They should set the fees such that all small deposits are wiped out within a year…
    They should all have only one ugly, slow, unmannerly cashier to serve the jokers…
    …and they should force us to make appointments to come in and complain.

We are just lucky that they don’t have the balls to give us what we DESERVE.

Which kinda JACKASS gives up ALL BANKING business to foreigners?
    Arthur and Stinkliar does…
    What kinda RH monkeys would prostrate themselves to pit bulls ….and then complain about being barked at..?
    …they are lucky they don’t get their donkeys bitten off…

Bajans HAVE to be the MOST STUPID people on this whole earth.

Sell the Banks
    Sell the Supermarkets
    Sell the Sugar Industry
    Sell the Hotel industry
    Sell the Rum industry
    Sell the Power company
    …and what they don’t sell – they give INCENTIVES for foreigners to come and take….

Shiite … we will soon see Chinese selling coconut water
    What a bunch of LOSERS….

THIS is the problem Boss…
    Not the shiite banks making life hard for brass bowl idiots…
    ..it is our shiite leaders looking to see how they can sell off our very underwear for a few dollars to buy bling and big rides…

We just need to figure out EXACTLY how Bitt fits into this established pattern….

18. Explore another smoke and mirror buzz word
    Explore meaning a position held to making plans
    Not withstanding that govt also wants to hold meetings with the taxi drivers
    Issues like this needs public support to stem and stop the flow of a tide where govt is now heading to privatize every dam thing
    So this sh.ite about exploring is another con job to sway peoples attention in a direction that govt can control

19. “We just need to figure out EXACTLY how Bitt fits into this established pattern….”

Won’t be long now, they are smal time and not the brightest people…not compared to those in the know.

20. Government is exploring? What does exploring mean?
    “Exploring” means that some moron had a brainwave last night – after a late meal? and have quickly rushed to the media to share some high-school-level initiative that could not pass muster with Dompey.;

The previous set of clowns figured out that they were incompetent – and they stopped talking to the press. Even the now highly expressive, short, clown – formerly from the central bank – would not say a word back then.

This set seems to have decided to tell us their every brainwave – even when it is completely untested, poorly thought out, and often ill-conceived.

Oh for a coherent, thoughtful, visionary and inspiring presentation that EXPLORES the need for NATIONAL CLEANSING at the political, legal, moral and spiritual levels…… as a FIRST step to progress…

Shiite…. even Bushie is now guilty of ‘exploring’ the ill-conceived….
    That is a bridge too far ..for brass bowls…
    Murda!!!

21. Where did Chris Sinckler give ALL banking business to foreigners?

It seems that where there is blame to be cast on the BLP – the DLP has to be thrown in there to share the blame however misdirected.

Owen Arthur as far as I know sold majority shareholding of BNB to the Republic Bank.Therefore putting them in the driver’s seat to make decisions and pass them.

22. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) September 23, 2018 4:41 PM/”… Therefore i would prefer the CU movement on such a venture…”

The CU movement should first resolve the matter of unallocated retained profits – even if to, for the time being, permanent shares.

23. @ Bush Tea at 9:49 AM

You are something else. Where did the Boss Engineer get you from though? How come He brekkup that mould after making you?

24. @ Bajans HAVE to be the MOST STUPID people on this whole earth.

Bush Tea you are so correct.

Bajans just like being slaves. To be employees rather than bosses and to borrow rather than lend.

Even the so called educated Bajans seem not to be able to think and see the most obvious.

It should be obvious to any one with half a brain that if you hand control of something over to someone else, then maybe – just maybe- they would excercise that control at some point. If I give my neighbour my car then I should not complain and get upset if one day he tires of giving me a lift to work and eventually decides to charge me for it.

It’s absolutely amazing how Bajans ”think”.

A. Dullard

25. BT….u forgot the brewery/dairy/bbc.

PLT…what makes it nearly impossible for small business to use CC/DC?

The GoB should reinstate minimum deposit rates, esp in light of slowly rising rates elsewhere. No need to alter natural demand for GoB paper. The niggling challenge maybe the debt held by banks.

Anybody….are the rates offered by credit unions etc significantly different from banks?

26. LOL @ Vincent
    Don’t blame BBE for Bushie….
    They adopted….

According to Dr GP, Bushie was created by a different source…
    LOL…

@ T Inniss
    Trust you to seek to differentiate BLP brass bowls from DLP ones….
    Bushie is talking about BAJAN ones…. INCLUDING those on the fence who sit and watch the shiite without a whimper…

@ NorthernObserver
    Thanks for the reminder…. after a while Bushie was just too ASHAMED to go on….
    IMAGINE…
    Can you fathom that Stinkliar could go so far as to shut down OUR ALMOND brand …
    ….and give the whole kitchen and sink to Sandals…?
    So that Jamaicans can now come to Barbados and lord it over the ultimate brass bowl idiots anywhere?

Bushie is surprised that the national anthem has not yet been converted to dub….

Sorry boss… give BT a break… don’t ban muh!!!

Bushie is just pissed off because Enuff has so disappointed him…
    Shiite man…
    Bushie THOUGHT that Enuff would have been able to provide some guidance to Mia …after such a LONG stint on BU..
    …now to find out the Enuff is just another brass-bowl ‘lackie’ yardfowl….

Steupsss…
    Piss in Bushie’s pocket do!!!

#whatatraitortoBU

27. David why don’t you ask Gabby for an Article on how his Company Started instead the Miss-Information by…

• peterlawrencethompson
    September 23, 2018 11:29 AM
    @abajanhowe September 23, 2018 11:10 AM

As I stated: “Bitt was started with Abed family money.”

ITS OBVIOUS THAT JEALOUSY IS AT THE FOREFRONT HERE BY SOME!!

28. @NO

Credit unions rate averages 1.5% which is unsustainable in a liquid market.

29. I guess today meeting with pensioners holding govt instruments can be called an expedition exercise
    But for what! govt defaults had all but made the final decision on how decisions mapped out by IMF policies ( would be made)
    So this s h.it. talk about “exploring”is now dependable on how much more the debt laden basket can handle
    From my vantage point the basket handed to the people is very heavy and what ever debt is left over goes into basket nowv called The privatization basket
    Didnt we not hear govt also exploring the sale of the Transport board to private citizens Yeah right
    Next they will try selling grame hall swamp too

30. Really…yall minority drug dealers ran amok in Barbados for the last 40 years because of weak black governments, now ya children and grandchildren are doing the same thing, running new age scams while never giving up the old Cartel trade…yall contributed significantly to the third world banana republic the island has become.

…but just because the jackasses in the new government are afraid…they know why…to acknowledge and address this, does not mean it is not so….now yall want to feed the majority population more scams and self serving garbage to get at their money., while continuing ya Cartel trade….oh really..

31. SOME ARE ADDICTED YO LYING AND SPREADING THEIR BILE AND PUTRID WASTE!!

32. SOME ONLY BELIEVE THAT WHEN OTHERS ARE SUCCESSFUL IT IS BECAUSE OF DEVIOUS MEANS…

SOCIALISM IS THE GOSPEL OF ENVY!!

http://www.golfian.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/18-Envy-Quotes-600×338.jpg

33. All this over talking and overthinking about the emoney scam not going pull barbados out of the debt spiral
    At the end of the day the elephant in the room call debt stands tall and unshakeable until govt create growth plans to pull barbados out of a repetitive cycle of borrowing to pay debt

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver September 24, 2018 11:06 AM
    “…what makes it nearly impossible for small business to use CC/DC?”
    High rental fees for the card reader machines ($100 to $150 per month per machine)… stupid rules to make it more difficult to use third party card reader machines… other stupid rules to discourage taking credit card numbers over the phone… extortionate per transaction fees that discourage small ticket sales (when the bank charges the vendor 70 cents per transaction they cannot afford to sell you $2 worth of Thyme)… idiotic collateral requirements quoted at between 5% and 20% of projected annual volumes (if a vendor does $100k in annual volume it is punitive to make them keep a balance of $20k in their account earning no interest)… etc.

35. The unions would march…
    The business community would “stifle” the economy…
    The GoB debt holders too proud to do anything…
    Therefore make the debt holders pay for everybody and keep the GoB assets for the sweetheart deals to come

36. Incorporate a mixture of currently active and idle GoB assets into “Crown Corporation” and make a portion of the shares available to the debt holders, both individuals and institutions, for the reduction in interest payments. As it is, you are creating a new crisis to keep political promises.

37. You have to feel for BARP people.

38. Yes no doubt the pensioners are getting the shit.ty end of the stick after years of back breaking jobs and saving a penny to make a dime
    Then govt gave no hoots as to how defaulting on debt would have had catastrophic ends for the pensioners
    Also one can added the basket of heavy taxation applied to their daily live

39. “Good examples of this Bajan conservatism are the boring and intellectually silly arguments about foreign reserves, which dominates our thinking, and the hero-worshipping of economists with PhDs.”

Hmmmmmmmm

“Silly arguments about foreign reserves”……….interesting……

…….especially coming from someone who suggested the establishment of “a pooled Caricom-based FOREIGN RESERVES fund.

Well, well, well……perhaps the author of the above comments reference to “foreign reserves” is beyond the “intellectual capacity” of the other BU contributors.

40. Artax

Why do you bother. His partner in economics in her last post claimed that a basket of heavy taxes is burdening pensioners. Apart from $45 for water and sewage, and a fuel tax, what are these taxes that are burdening pensioners? Increased PAYE and NIS? Mind you pensioners were paying road tax and most were mainly running errands, and I would be surprise if they are not saving with the introduction of the fuel tax. Earlier she said gas prices have tripled; September 2017 the price was $3.25/litre with a road tax and world oil prices at an average $52/barrel; it is currently $3.91 without a road tax and oil prices have averaged $69/barrel.

41. @enuff

What about the pensioners who are holding government debentures and Treasury Notes?

42. Enuff just like you listen to the “poor” people cries for economic ease from taxes for ten years
    I am doing the same hearing the cries of poor people saying across social media that they water bill has tripled some even posting their past and current bills as proof
    The same cries for the fuel bill and grocery bill
    Some even outwardly stating that Mia lied to them taking away the NSRl tax and replacing it with three or more taxes and grociers have not come down
    Now you come here on BU with your smoke and mirror calculation per this and that but to ever per this is an additional cost that is siphon out of the pockets if every manjack.

43. Good question what about the pensioners
    The blp yardfowls gone sleep on that question
    Lest they forget the hue and cry against past govt when pensioners lost their savings in Clico
    The funny yet not funny as past govt made a way of having the pensioners compensated
    Mia slam shut the door on that too and not a peeking word from the bombastic blp yardfowls
    Guess they too shame to say one word

44. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Mariposa

Why don’t you accept that Politicians whether BLP or DLP are ALL Stinkliars?

45. @plt
    Fairly standard list of issues.
    The collateral one seems very high. Transactional is always the killer. For years many small retailers in Ontario, refused cards until the sale was above $x. Several, like Korean convenience store owners banded together, to reduce the fees via pooled volume.

46. @ac
    Wondering, between say Oct 1 2003 and Oct 1 2018, WHEN did debt become the elephant in the room?
    It must have occurred recently, because the evidence on BU from 15-16-17 shows you supported taking on more debt….for the preservation of the social economy.

47. Canadian firm to construct hundreds of new houses