Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

To celebrate our wedding anniversary, my wife and I experienced a brief staycation at one of our newer hotels in St. Lawrence Gap that is currently offering an excellent value local rate. The property and level of service certainly exceeded our expectations.

During our stay we took the opportunity of walking The Gap and apart from a few notable exceptions, were quite shocked by the overall disrepair, untidiness and seeming lack of pride in the surroundings. A coat of paint, general clean-up, especially those that are up for sale and/or derelict, even down to occupied properties undertaking simple weeding!

I cannot imagine this neglect is not noticed by our cherished visitors.

The administration knows who owns the various properties because of the annual payment of land taxes, so why not issue warnings, then fines and then eventually enforce some level of clean-up?

And no-one can place any reasonable amount of blame on Government as in the vast majority of cases, the buildings, lots and businesses are privately owned. Standing out like a sore thumb are three vandalised telephone boxes each clearly displaying the latest logo and brand signs of the ‘operating’ entity and damaged to the point of non- functioning use.

Surely a company that has received so many trading advantages and a past virtual monopoly for so many years and who doesn’t think twice about raising its rates, with at least two price hikes in the last twelve months, have more corporate responsibility? If they do not function and cannot be properly maintained, then why leave them there to act as impromptu urinals and rubbish bins?

Will one of our paint manufacturers or distributors step up again to the rescue and offer any willing property owners special prices for a limited time, so the whole area can be enhanced, prior to the critical peak tourism season?

There also appears to be further opportunity for providing recycling containers, even if responsible disposal of certain items is not yet a universally practised lifestyle.

Every tourism provider must be fully aware that our ‘product offering’ is already costing our visitors more than last year and that from 1st October 2018, it will rise even more dramatically, with a second added air departure tax.

Not surprisingly, our arrivals will naturally expect the standards to at least be maintained and many may feel it’s logical to see some marked improvement for the additional outlay.

Of course we can all hide under a stone and pretend it is business as usual.

But that no longer brings visitors back to our shores.

I refer to recent comments by the General Manager of the two Sandals hotels concerning the general destination cleanliness. Together they boast over 500 rooms, or a possible one thousand guests walking through The Gap and possibly being tempted by one or more tourism offerings just a stroll away.

Why would anyone leave either of the pristine all-inclusive properties to wander through a poorly kept, if not downright dirty area, in many cases, to spend money that they don’t have to?

53 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Tourism Matters in the GAP!”

1. Entitlement strikes again. “Maan, ya tink I gun trim dem weeds, get paint on ma treds? Wa ya tink I is, na? Steuppse.”

Watch the tourists vote with their feet…and their purses.

2. I stayed at white sands , mistle cove,and the terraces in the last couple of years ,white sands was impeccably kept the others also good but the gap itself is getting run down. Whether it is the skip at dover ,the water on the street or the drabness of it all. Sapphire beach shines like a beacon on a strip that has seen better days and in my opinion looks better at night. Everyone in the family wants to party on the gap but I fear it has become like oistins more hype than quality and I can see it becoming less of a draw especially having to go through the sewage gauntlet for the last few years. You are spot on Adrian

3. Adrian

Spoken like a true patriot.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss September 17, 2018 7:06 AM

What’s so novel about what Adrian has written about??

Hasn’t that environmentally appalling situation existed for a number of years now?

If Adrian is a “true patriot” how then would you describe our very own BU “Colonel Buggy” who has been highlighting (in both words and pictures) the awful nasty state of his beloved country for a number of years?
    Shouldn’t we be calling him (Colonel Buggy) a true National Hero and our own Environmental Commander in Chief?

Bajans and their government have to come to the realization that you cannot continue to invite visitors to a dirty filthy house and expect to overcharge them for that scary experience.

Economic hardship is no excuse for displaying downright nastiness.

5. You are 100% correct, Adrian…………. the Garbage Skip on Dover beach mini carpark is a disgrace… always overflowing and covered with wild chickens! The ugly, non-working Pay Phones have all been in that condition for years ….. they need removing. As for parking…… what a joke! Cars park on both sides of the narrow streets and hotel staff block all the avenues in Dover giving residents heartache & frustration trying to get into, or out of, their homes.

Gap & Dover residents will all tell you that the cobblestone Gap road was built for taxis & nightclub customers as a parking lot ….. oh, and for street vendors to sell their roadside food & China-made trinkets.

6. Adrian can always be trusted to get to the core of the matter and to do so in as few words as possible. Two weeks ago I unknowingly parked my car next to the skip around eight in the morning. Upon lowering my windows my nostrils were assailed by the most nauseous of odors imaginable. This, in the heart of the southern tourism belt.

Traversing the roadway opposite to the Jamaican transplant is almost impossible in the morning and evening as it has been transformed into a virtual single lane road, with traffic going in both directions and vehicles parked all along one side of the road. The indiscriminate use of the “staff pedestrian” crossing adds to the impediment of free passage.

St Lawrence Gap is certainly in need of a major facelift.

7. @ Mr Loveridge
    What are your thoughts on psychographics in tourism research and marketing. I am of the belief that with social media and access to information it may be worthwhile giving this approach a look as now it is possible to better predict attitudes and behaviours and better understand what turns off a particular tourist, what gives them delight and what motivates their decisions.

From what I have seen the BTA’s approach is built only on blanket marketing based on demographics. I think this is a flawed approach and needs revamping.

8. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

ahhhhhhhhh Redguard heheheheheheh

Spoken like a true ICT consultant and advisor to the Inner Circle of the Chairman’s administration.

“psychographics in tourism”

Adrian is going to have to research that term and even when he sees it do you think that he WILL UNDERSTAND HOW IT IS DONE?

Can you go deeper with an explanation of how the concept works? Show him a little bit of your arsenal Redguard?

Do not just ask the question but go a little bit further Redguard.

The sad thing is that wunna cant go back to Adrian officially can you? not after firing him from the last “do”

Plus, when you consider that Adrian does not kowtow to the people that wunna does bring pun the various committees what you have to do is to use BU to draw him out to comment here.

But that is not what Ardian Loveridge does, does he?

Maybe he can be even invited to ammmm download one of your “psychographic posters” and review it on his hard drive?

9. I prefer to see what he knows first. His posts are usually about inefficiencies and ineffectiveness in how our tourism product is marketed and developed so this should be right up his alley.

Psychographics is not a new concept for tourism marketing but it was a difficult to utilise before social media unless someone had advanced training (a CIA operative maybe LOL).

But with social media a lot of the hard work is given away freely, its just knowing where to get the information and what to do with it.

10. @ PUDRYR at 11 :27 AM

Ouch! Ouch! You seem to have more in your arsenal than a piece of the rock. Wuh Loss!!

11. @Vincent

Insights!

12. psy·cho·graph·ics

sīkōˈɡrafiks

noun

the study and classification of people according to their attitudes, aspirations, and other psychological criteria, especially in market research.

13. @Redguard September 17, 2018 10:31 AM “What are your thoughts on psychographics in tourism research and marketing? I prefer to see what he knows first.”

Why?

You could/should have offered an explanation of exactly what psychographics is, instead of trying to find out what an experience hotelier knows.

I had to let Google be my friend again.

Spent all that time studying English at a very good university, some call it the Harvard of the North, and I had never heard the word psychographics.

Stupssseee!!!

14. From reading your posts you are old enough to have studied Latin at school, I didn’t too young, however most people who studied latincan figure out the meaning of a word by breaking it down. Clearly you failed but Google is your friend.

15. Harvard of the north? English? Mussee the Newniversity of Tuktoyaktuk.
    The issues AL raises have been rotating on the island for decades. He has clearly been living there too long, for his solution “offer them some discounted paint” is very Bajan. Better to give them free mistints cause a Bajan loves a freeness. But then they have to use it, and that is a whole other issue. Psychographics turned inward.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

What Redguard is alluding to is the cutting edge of marketing.

Let de ole man give you a lesson that is closer to home heheheheh

How you like that one Redguard “closer to home?”

The Mia Cares red shirts!!!

That is psychographics in marketing.

A master stroke but then again Redguard is no one’s fool.

De ole man doffs de Kangol to him.

Red is both a prime and a primal colour as in red light districts.

It emotes passion and is why seedy establishments use it so regularly

No. De ole man us not saying the BLP colours are those of a roaming whore house but… heheheh

Redguard is seeking th find out from Adrian Loveridge suggestions for a campaign for the BLP s tourism drive.

They acknowledge that Loveridge has kept his small property alive for all these years so they are fishing for his expertise for cheap.

And it is for thus REASON that I am advocating for a mechanism which permits government to share revenues with private sector enablers as opposed to constantly raping the very citizens that they purport to represent of their ideas and contributions

17. For over forty years we have been saying: Smile for the tourists
    Keep the island clean for the tourists
    Chase the beach vendors off the beaches for the tourists………..
    We never understood the damage that has been done. Many citizens do not feel to be a part of the industry and they send some strange messages.
    Anybody who has visited The Gap, knows that garbage trucks are sometimes picking up garbage in the middle of the day, when tourists are up and about.
    We know that some properties keep their garbage collection at the front of the building.
    But then this all comes back from something we hate to do :
    Maintenance.

18. Finally….Barbados’ FIRST PEOPLE…the original Natives of the island, their descendants will be able to claim their place and teach the island’s current people, the REAL history of the island…

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/196318/arawak-village-soon

“Descendants of Barbados’ earliest known inhabitants are set to reintroduce an Arawak presence on the island.

The symbolic breaking of soil for construction of “Arawak Village” at Codrington College, St John, on Monday, marked the first major step towards bringing back to life here the culture of the indigenous people who inhabited Barbados over 300 years ago and whose successive generations still live in other parts of this region.

The project is the brainchild of Guyanese Amerindian Richard Winter, owner of Arawak Leather, who is partnering with Codrington College to develop five acres of land on the 700-acre Codrington Estate.

Winter said his vision was to give young Barbadian children a deeper insight into the “lost” history and heritage of Barbados when it came to the “first people”, and to show that Arawak culture remained alive in the Caribbean. “

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Okay so now we have the first vestige of “authenticity” for a tourism based project that “diversifies” the tourism offering to the degree that a tourist visiting the island can be told “come and visit the sole Amerindian settlement on the Island of Barbados”

Where Mr Winter can improve this idea is to do the following.

He reaches out to the Pineland Cultural Workshop and develops a training module for youth in the community to act as Amerindians on his complex and reenact life in the village as part of the “show” when the tourist visit for a rendition for the days he knows people from the cruise liners will be brought to his compound.

Similarly speaking Sunbury should also effect ghis active immersion on their compound and up the volume for the currently dead cultural visits to nondescript plantations.

This is what Heritage Tourism should be like for our Rock.

The fact is that men and women on Mia’s Thought Leader tanks CANNOT OPERATE AT THE LEVEL TO ENFRANCHISE THE OUTLIERS AND PO MAN in Deacons or the Pine or CRAB Hill or Haynesville.

So a symbiotic relationship that creates a Heritage Tourism product that DOES NOT EXIST WILL BE A BRIDGE TOO FAR FOR KERRIE OBLONG HEAD and his BTMI BRIMLERS

That idea is for free but is just one of 10 such ideas to diversify the ailing tourism plant with its deadbeat copycat experiences.

Time is short Mia Mottley.

We do not have the luxury to keep doing this sort of buhkvuntery EITH the hope that something comes along and changes this.

Your THOUGHT TEAM is bogged down in speculations and the untested

De ole man is tapped into The Source of All IDEAS that do not need to be evaluated cause dem will work right out of the ether. Heheheheh

But you dun know that don’t you?

20. @PUDRYR

What is wrong with the private sector running with the idea? Why does the minister of tourism have to be a significant player?

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The problem with your suggestion is this.

The section of the “private sector” which generally will benefit from the largesse that is available for the tourism industry with its special development incentives is not the poor black man

This mister Winter has been able to bypass the usual obstacles that are set up to dissuade us and get a few acres at Codrington College.

What this represents is the very thing that i wish to highlight.

Tourism and its benefits are not for us average blacks.

Honourable Blogmaster we are only supposed to sell sugar cakes and coral chains and cheap things for the tourists.

Even simple things like taxis are being replaced by John Son stables tourist buses and we don’t get Jack badword.

22. Does it matter at this point? Should public policy ignore the capital that is located in a small segment if the investment will be in the public good?

23. @ David

Apparently you don’t understand that enfranchisement is a pillar of the current regime’s policy. You can’t “ignore” certain factors because to ignore them will be NOT in the public good.
    You seem to be a master of the ad hoc!
    You speak of the public sector “ taking the lead” at every opportunity you get. You are perhaps the only person on this blog who have not accepted that our private sector is basically useless. You need to get real .

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I would wish to fully endorse what William Skinner has said and continues to say about the Private Sector being a useless set of parasites

Let me ask you to quantify the contributions they have made to growth of the Barbados economy over the last 25 years

We are not talking about “reactive employment ” I.e. employing people to work and generate profits for them.

We are talking about driving the economy and not sucking out Forex to import cars and merchandise yo sell.

There is not one single project that they have nurtured other than the Boos led Barbados Entrepreneurs Foundation front to rip off development funds.

But that fizzled

For

25. Speaking of garbage, this reflects a clean- up effort in one community will the SSA continue this program in the others and how do we prevent it from recurring?

26. You clearly cannot discern sarcastic speak. Barbados does not have a private sector of any note. Why should a government give concessions to a retail/distributive entity like Cost U Less for example?

#steupse

27. A real business is set up to run in all conditions. We have to many DRY WEATHER, NEED CONCESSION entities that are like 6o year old babies never growing up!

28. Mr blogman my message for piece get lost.Help muh.

29. I have a feeling I know what send it there.Wordpress pick up the use of the ‘N’ word.

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Apologies for not recognizing your “sarcastic speak” Honourable Blogmaster.

The Cost You Less (But We Bajans Paid) concessions were for the 1,000 IPADS and other electrical goods which were used in Stinkliars constituency to secure re-election.

Let us accept for a moment that the Government of barbados is the only player in the economy and is de facto public AND PRIVATE SECTOR “ENABLER”.

What then can a government, one that that is itself SERIOUSLY cash strapped, do to serve, and nurture, enfranchisement of the small man?

What it certainly cannot do is seek at get-go to disenfranchise said poor man with onerous taxes.

It has to nurture growth David BU, not punish it!

De ole man has been advocating the establishment of an online facility that will monitor this sector for ages.

And do not tell me it cannot be done.

Because, as you would recall, Chairman Mia Mao shook her smart phone, during her interview on TV, and announced that “she knew every single financial transaction at her ministries BY THE MINUTE”

That was during one of her earlier PR exercises during the “WE GOT THIS” BOASTS.

So, if i understand that pronouncement, it would follow that any poor man company should be enrolled on an adapted version of said tool that would show the particulars of that company.

And ensuingly, Honourable Blogmaster, the E-Repository for de Poor Black Man, the Po Black Man that Mia claims that she is representing, would display the progress of that company.

So, any of the resources that the Government of Barbados would have secured $$ from the IMF to support said Po Man would momentarily be available for Mia and her Line Ministries to see.

So let us just imagine this scenario.

An entrepreneur enrolls in the GoB Re Re Entrepreneurship Programme. Over the course of a week they are qualified as a beneficiary.

The first benefit that the GoB would offer for these new businesses is for a deferment of the various business registration fees for a prescribed time.

The second thing is targets that the business has to reach e.g. complete training AND PASS at which point they MAY BE GIVEN A SMALL LOAN which is tracked by the same software that Mia has.

So the Line Ministry is able to see how their money is spent and the revenues achieved AND SO DOES MIA!

You feeling me Honourable Blogmaster?

So now Mia and her government have a real time tool, similar to the tools of Charles Jong and that Guardian fellow to monitor what she is doing AS THE DE FACTO PRIVATE SECTOR ENABLER to enable de Po Man….

Now mind you I ENT ONE OF HER THOUGHT LEADERS like the Dynamic Duo Honourable Blogmaster but what i am saying is that she now has a tool to see what is happening with the waste foop resources that she has been giving to EGFL and Fun (d) Access.

You feeling me?

De ole man talking bout “accountability and transparency” where when de IMF staff Monitor says show me what you did with our $30 million dollars Mia can say “here are x beneficiaries who received Y $$ on z date and here is the independent bank account at FCIB or another one of these loan shark banks with their pernicious bank charges , that shows that they hare $$ in their accounts.

But then again Honourable Blogmaster a system like that would show the names of all of Sandra’s and Lynette’s friends and pally georges who dont do sh&&t but yet they get kickbacks for giving away the GoB money you sight me?

Steupseee

31. David

Can you retrieve my post that went to spam? It was before the last 2.

32. @T.Inniss

Nothing in Spam, check Bellvielle?

#joke

33. That’s alright David

34. @ Piece
    I have been asking on BU , ever since the all the noise about Sandals getting the excessive incentives: Why is it that after over 60 years, as a leading tourist destination, our private sector, did not create a product such as Sandals. For nearly three decades Jamaica has endured all kinds of economic hardship and still Butch Stewart can bring such a successful product to the world stage.
    I don’t care how funny David tries to be. He has flogged our public sector more than anybody else on BU.
    Right now the private sector parasites are just waiting to take over the Transport Board, Barbados Water Authority, The School Meals Department and The Sanitation Sevice Authority.
    That calls for no innovation and the profit will be almost instant.

35. @William,

The answer is simple: there is no entrepreneurial impulse in our culture. Look at the Irishman Paul Doyle; he sold his house in Canada, moved to Barbados, presumably the Canadian banks lent him money, now he is a multi-millionaire with the backing of the BLP government.
    Where are all those middleclass professionals who over the last 60 years should have claimed ownership of Barbados? Where are the collective investment products that should have cornered the best of our services and manufacturing? Where is our sovereign wealth fund?
    @William, our civil servants and politicians are so incompetent they lend NIS money to local business people without demanding equity for debt, the most elementary of business lending. And as you point out, they willingly transfer money from the taxpayer to the wealthy in incentives and tax breaks.We are a failed state. There will be tears before bedtime.

36. Isn’t more like the government read public sector can’t wait to hive off these SOEs because of mismanagement? Read the damn Auditor general report.

There is one sector in the economy. Both must work together to optimize output. We have a dysfunctional public sector that must naturally impact the private sector. We have success stories in the public sector as we do in the private BUT it has never reached the point to float the boat.

37. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ William Skinner
    @ Hal Austin

William and Hal, the real problem is that they NEITHER SET OF THEM, do not have any vision. FULLSTOP.

What we are encountering here is a system that votes for the dredges of our society and whom are expected immediately to deliver what they cannot!

The “Sand Sea and Sun” chant that used to run the tourism product of Barbados is long gone.

some of us could give you about nine intense Tourism Products that would make the Tourism Experience in Barbados a unique one.

Yet, why should we, William and Hal?

WIIIFM? (What is in it for me?)

Let us be serious for a moment gents. We accept that the private sector is parasitical, and that the only donkey in town is GoB but why is it begging people to step up to the plate and help stabilize things WHEN THERE IS NO MECHANISM THAT ALLOWS US TO PARTICIPATE?

If they do not work on such an avenue to empower us in 134 days dem going see what this inaction will breed.

38. Any Bajans visiting Canada ? October 17th is the day pot becomes legal.

The growth potential for this type of destination tourism, especially with Americans, is huge, says Trina Fraser, partner and head of the CannaLaw group at Ottawa-based Brazeau Seller Law.

Fraser sees a bright future for pot-friendly hotels and B & Bs, curated tours and private chef experiences.

39. @Hants

Was it you who posted Tesla’s Elon Musk smoked pot on a radio show and the stock price dived? Are those Canadians really comfortable with puffing the weed?

https://www.scmp.com/news/world/united-states-canada/article/2163327/tesla-rocked-musk-smoking-marijuana-web-show-and

40. @ Piece @ Hal
    All we are getting is the same cold soup warmed over. The rampant partisan public discourse will get us nothing. It is nothing more shameful after 52 years and our third visit to the IMF, that we are rejoicing about allowing an international loan shark , to be in control of our destiny.
    We cannot name one major investment opportunity that our overseas offices , embassies or whatever we call them has delivered since independence that we can point to fifty years later and say it provided sustainable employment for two generations.
    All we are going is fooling ourselves. I read a report today where wages in our country are in real terms less than what what they were in the 60s. I read that those controlling the wealth are wealthier now than they ever were.

41. @Hants
    Ms Fraser better be careful. Wait til border agents begin grilling returning citizens on pot use when in Canada. It is said to expect such if u r a Canadian entering the US. In fact, Nexus pass holders have already been warned.

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ William Skinner

William, I going do something here to display what Real Thought Leaders should be able to do (while sleeping) and which, with reasonable advisor, would be a step to show that Mia is really serious about this new diversification thrust.

This video is instructive on many levels from (a) the perspective of the practitioner/citizen who wants to be enfranchised and (b) from the perspective of the GoB of Barbados which wishes or pretends that it will enfranchise us.

Let me begin first by stating my endgame.

The GoB must become the proactive enabler and partner so that these virtual assets can be created.

(SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT CAVEAT, THE INVENTIONS MUST BE VIABLE ONES.)

While that issue of viability might seem to be a simple achievable objective, in practice, very few of the existing government agencies have the capacity to determine the patentability of ideas that are brought to them

Having stated that, let me also state that NEITHER DOES IT HAVE THE HR TO EFFECTIVELY SUBMIT PROVISIONAL PATENTS THEREAFTER FOR THESE INVENTIONS THAT PASS THE ACID TEST AT THE USPTO.

THe first claim would fail but i will not bore you with this detail William.

Before I go any further, I should state that Barbados has 2 patent lawyers “Francis Depeiza and i forget the lady’s name Fionna *** she is a copyright lawyer (and please do not tell the ole man bout the Hollingsworth lady)

But because of that “dearth of local expertise” it makes it even harder to develop an environment where said assets could be pursued by citizens working in conjunction with the GoB.

William, for such a pursuit to be respected on an internationally landscape, de ole man respectfully has been hinting that the GoB co-opt the USPTO, using that agencies existing mechanisms to piggy back on their resources UNTIL WE DEVELOP OUR OWN.

Enter those Waste Foop Embassies dat barbados has all over the place manned by people who dont do a thang.

My suggestion is that certain “residents from the US Diaspora” be co-opted into this mechanism.

I therefore respectfully suggest that a list of willing and suitably qualified diaspora denizens be solicited under what is a practical IP development programming.

As opposed to the lotta long talk that Mia’s waste foops are talking bout and all the breakfast lunched that make all these sea cows fat like buffaloes for my friend and fellow myope Dr. GP to comment about heheheheheh.

Remember that when i was commenting about Thught Leaders i ent say Sandra Wifes with her verbal diarrhea

But then again William this is A Bridge Too Far

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item for Mr William Skinner

44. @WS
    Offshore business. JMG signed that in 1982(?). It became a top 3 revenue earner for the GoB, plus provided better than average wages, for many Bajans (and ferners).

45. @Northern
    How will the Yanks account for this? It is supposed to cover investing too or does it only matter if the investor a Canuck?

https://money.cnn.com/2018/09/17/news/companies/coca-cola-cannabis/index.html

46. @ David who asked ” Are those Canadians really comfortable with puffing the weed? ”

Yes we are.

Canada is preparing for the increased Tourism.

47. More competition for Barbados Tourism. Gay weddings in Cuba ?

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-45546645

48. @ NorthernObserver
    1982 to 2032 will be fifty years. We ain’t reach there yet.
    My understanding is that the off shore sector is either underperforming or non performing.

49. @Sarge
    Good question. Constellation has been a major investor in Canopy. Unsure if it is via a non-US entity, all these big corps have such an option. Given the federal illegality, but some state legality, it creates a messy situation for the Yanks.

50. @WS
    IMO..under performing. 35yrs isn’t 50 u r correct, but not ‘too bad’.