[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. If there is one thing that Herbert is correct about is that he has been tried and found guilty in the court of public opinion by the many.

2. This is the first time I have seen a person go to the media when they have been charged with a crime. Well well my gradmother would say “The longer you live the more you hear.”

3. There is a lot at stake?

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The media went to them right outside the courthouse.

5. Another man was charged where is he?

6. Manager on firearms charge

marciadottin, marciadottin@nationnews.com

Added 10 June 2013

http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/030/10030/10gunsandammo3207-450×303.jpg?1415602650

POLICE HAVE ARRESTED and charged a St George plantation manager with illegally transferring his licensed firearm. Adrian Ricardo Moore of Redland Plantation is expected to appear in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court today to answer the charge. According to police reports, Moore was apprehended amidst an ongoing investigation into a drug landing at Fyreswell, St Lucy, where a boat said to be registered to a company under his name was recovered from the scene. Meanwhile, a number of police units led by the Drug Squad found three firearms and a quantity of ammunition buried in an open field at Fairfield, Black Rock, St Michael. The firearms include a Mark 11 .380 calibre machine pistol, a nine millimetre pistol and a .22 revolver. No arrests have been made in connection with the discovery. (TS/PR)

7. He was remanded. No surety was forthcoming.

8. Greene…that is a hard sell for me too…the frame part, if Crusoe said, that someone in the exgovernment knew about these trips that generated the trafficked drugs , I would say maybe a tip resulted in an established trafficking ring being busted…that would fly with me…but to frame someone using that much drugs, oh hell no.

Besides, if this guy was the owner of that much drugs and has been doing this before,, he would have bailed out long time…he would have had the funds, property etc for collateral.

This is a common sense thing.

9. When I tell people I have nothing to do to white people they think I am racist. A black man charged and they are the ones who get to declare their “innocence ” in public. All I can do is shake my damn head.

10. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Anne at 5:02 PM

Did he go to the Media or the Media went to him? It is not that obvious to me from the excerpt. I agree with you that it is unusual. But it is another indication of how Americanized we are becoming.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Anne July 27, 2018 5:05 PM
    The other man charged was still in court while his family try to find someone to stand surety for his bail of $450,000. These two accused are wealthy enough to make bail from their personal resources.

12. He always seems to be adjacent to these types of people… http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/12905/manager-firearms-charge

13. Meanwhile less than 150 miles away here are these two trying to pull a fast one on the french Coast guard

“French authorities are confirming the two were arrested during an operation that began on July 18 involving customs officials, the regional coast guard and a French frigate. They were trying to intercept a sailboat they suspected was being used to traffic drugs. Rough waters prevented authorities from bringing the vessel under control, but they said the occupants agreed to follow customs officials to the island of Saint Martin. However, officials say the two men abandoned the boat the day after, setting it on fire and taking refuge in a life-raft. The fire was quickly brought under control and authorities say they managed to salvage some 1,506 kilograms of cocaine. Le Journal de Montreal identified them earlier this week as men in their 50s from the Riviere-du-Loup area, about 200 kilometres northeast of Quebec City.”

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2018/07/27/two-quebec-men-arrested-after-boat-with-cocaine-set-ablaze-near-martinique.html

14. Really Now!

I would like to see the lil punk youth get up there or his lawyer and dissing who gave the go ahead to be charged.

Who he mean Typee – the Commissioner of Police?

The Director of Public Prosecutions who gives the go ahead to lay charges after consultation with the Police?

Already he trying to put doubt in the gullible mind by suggesting something sinister.

Really?

I suppose its just coincidence that 2 different employees associated with your companies were all caught with large amounts of marijuana?

What are you doing associating with such a known criminal as Prescod eh?

The police can’t come out and talk but who knows if they had him under surveillance for a while.

Everybody has to come out and put up a defence so that is his right – but if he was not Charles Herbert – would people be giving any consideration to that argument

I will wait and see as this unfurls..

15. Your response supports Herbert’s assertion that this matter has become caught up in race bating and non evidence-based diatribe – and will not for many people be decided on the weight of the evidence.

16. Well, Well
    July 27, 2018 5:10 PM

Note that I did not point my finger at anyone. I referred to framing and noted that we can only guess who might have done it.

17. The Caribbean sea and the nearby Atlantic must be just crawling with first world coast guardsmen on the lookout for boats filled with wacky backy and other “controlled substances” some of these substances destined to end up in and to prickle the brains of said first world citizens, and to burden their health and security systems, while at the same time lowering national productivity.

18. David
    July 27, 2018 5:17 PM

Wherein, if it went that far, points to an aspect of the law that is critical.

19. Middle aged men.

How the youth get so?

20. If Charles Herbert is found guilty and gets 25 years, some here will say it should be 50. He is charged, gets bail and that is being questioned. Is it normal to get bail in such circumstances or not? The Salem mob is encircling. But what Herbert mean by: the CID did a thorough investigation, which shows that he “innocent”? He castings aspersions on the recently appointed DPP? Will this be the court case of the 21st century so far? I have my popcorn and mout 🤐. The gumbs bumpers may proceed.

21. Found it interesting that Herbert called out the DPP on the charge. It leads one to think that assurances were given by the police and subsequently overruled?

22. What does a chaiman make or director make , why would someone jeopardize their lively hood for a paltry 500,000 this doesn’t pass the smell test,

23. Not Fyreswell

But Fryer’s Well, St. Lucy, Barbados.

24. “The fire was quickly brought under control and authorities say they managed to salvage some 1,506 kilograms of cocaine.”

Bet ya they claimed they were framed too, of course they would be asked, so why try to burn it..lol

The framing is kinda far fetched though we gotta admit.

Personally Crusoe…I believe someone knew about those scheduled trips or they were observed loading the boat..but someone knew hence the tip off.

25. @enuff

Our comments crossed. We are on the same page on the DPP decision.

26. TheoGazerts - Captain of the fishing boat - Aspririn Avatar
    TheoGazerts – Captain of the fishing boat – Aspririn

Suddenly the policemen in Barbados are roaring like lions,….
    What has changed?
    Elections?
    Is Mia sending a strong signal to wrongdoers?

Does anyone know Adrian Ricardo Moore?
    Is he rich as shit?
    White?
    Went to school at HC?
    Was the boat registered under his name a yacht?
    Is he being framed?
    Is he innocent?
    Those guns I saw in the picture look a bit old….

27. Lawson…ya can guarantee you will be pulled in for questioning next time, you seem to know. a lot..lol

28. If you were Charles Herbert and you know a large shipment of drugs onboard the yacht, would you risk sailing it home from Grenada? would you not have flown home instead?

29. “…where it is proved that a person had in his possession or custody or under his control anything containing a controlled drug, it shall be presumed until the contrary is proved, that such person was in possession of such drug… _section 42 (1) (b) Drug Abuse (Prevention and Control) Act, Cap 131

30. The Manager charged in that article above, lived and worked at Redlands Plantation, and that incident was 5 years ago in 2013.

At the time I remember thinking – but look how this man gone and embarrass his Employer and the Plantation.

Now I am only shaking my head.

Maybe questions and investigations would be done as in developed countries of tracing wealth,and acquisition of property like a plantation etc.

I really don’t know what to think or make of all of this.

Where did Prescod get the money to buy that drug – he is only a sailor.

If he was charged and spent 12 years in prison for drugs, did you Herbert know of this and if yes why would you decide to give him a job which would make it easy to commit that same crime again ?

Steupes

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

It is inevitable that this case has become about the inequities of race and class in Barbados… inevitable, but it does not aid the search for truth and justice. If the evidence shows that Herbert is not guilty, an outcome that I personally believe is highly likely, that will do little to staunch the public clamour for his blood. It will damage public confidence in the judicial system even further and it will inflame racial and class resentments to dangerous levels. Barbados is in a hot mess and that is tragic.

32. @T.Inniss July 27, 2018 5:16 PM “I suppose its just coincidence that 2 different employees associated with your companies were all caught with large amounts of marijuana?”

What’s the matter with you?

it is a lettuce, not a marijuana, farm.

33. I don’t care 2 wuk-ups what you think about my response.

Why you don’t make those same comments to your BLP Posse.

I am getting tired of the self serving nonsense you spout.

34. @Peter

You could have easily added that we have some people on the blog and elsewhere who are taking delight in stoking the race angle for the fun of it.

35. “He is charged, gets bail and that is being questioned.”

I would have much preferred Mia freed up the weed and let them go, but it is nice to slow down the trade some, in preparation for a slackening of the laws and get the Medical Cannabis laws activated as soon as possible…I can see the good in all of this.

The government needs to take control of the marijuana trade and let the PEOPLE use their skills to produce the derivatives from the plant…AND grow the marijuana in Barbados…grow and reap your own supply.

Herbert et al should be glad they are part of history..

36. @peterlawrencethompson July 27, 2018 5:12 PM “The other man charged was still in court while his family try to find someone to stand surety for his bail of $450,000.”

So he has no wealthy white friends to sign bail for him?

I don’t know when black MEN will stop betraying black children and the women raising the children of these same men.

37. @SS

And your comment is predicated on the assumption Prescod is guilty?

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Found it interesting that Herbert called out the DPP on the charge. It leads one to think that assurances were given by the police and subsequently overruled?

@David, I got the impression that he was calling on her to look at the paucity of evidence and to reverse the charges.

39. This is dangerous what we have just observed.

He is clearly trying to create a divide between the CID – Police and the DPP office.

And then I remember whistleblower.He came on here and told us that this person HE (whistleblower) knows has connections in the police force and with top politicians.Uh huh

40. This is a thread to read and keep quiet. Jokes graaanmurrrr.🤣🤣🤣

41. Mariposara5ey Avatar

Charles Herbert lawyers needs to tell him to STFU
    Btw wonder how many whites there will be on the jury
    Amm the evidence to charge could have resulted from previous surveillence video from other islands the boat frequent
    Charles is going to find out yet again the hard way that govt surveillence is linked to DEA surveillence system and it was only a matter of time before he got caught
    Of course i am happy he was taken down

42. Charles Herbert and Chris Rogers are not behaving like guilty men!!!

Very interesting to see the position taken by Charles.

We are in for interesting days.

One thing I am pretty sure about, the Dees hate him and the Bees fear him.

Just listen to Donville of the Dees on him and you will see what I mean.

… and at one time Donville was being spoken of as a future PM!!

43. David
    He tek a jab at Kaymar newspaper too.🤣🤣

44. @Jeff

He was complementary how the investigation was conducted by the Police then he launched into the DPP. There will be a lot to learn before this matter reaches its conclusion. Herbert and Rogers have access to money and they will force the justice system to deliver justice.

Those who are backing our justice system raise yuh hand!

45. @Well, Well July 27, 2018 5:32 PM “I would have much preferred Mia freed up the weed.”

Even if Mia frees up the weed, weed destined for export will still have to be HAACP compliant and all that. No weed can be exported unless it can be shown that the workers had access to soap and warm water for hand washing, toilet paper etc. No nasty agricultural chemical permitted in weed for export either. No watering the precious thing with water outta a dirty ditch nor nuffing so. The weed producers have to put their name, address, telephone number, email address and website on the packages of weed. You think dem first world people easy!!!

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2018/07/27/manitoba-rcmp-make-canadas-largest-drug-bust-through-a-traffic-stop-according-to-police.html

“RCMP said even if cannabis were legal, the shipment would be against the law and dangerous, because there’s no way to tell who grew it or how without further testing. “Even under the new legislation which comes into effect in October, this (would) still be an illegal load,” McMurchy said.”

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David July 27, 2018 5:30 PM
    The comments here on BU “stoking the race angle for the fun of it” simply reflect the national mood. I understand their anger… I share their anger… anger at the pervasive power of White supremacists in Barbados. My personal and professional life here are spent in the pursuit of Black economic empowerment: I am a Black power activist and completely unapologetic about it.

In this particular case I am convinced that something even more nefarious is afoot that the old racist shenanigans, and until it is brought to light I will not sleep soundly.

47. TheoGazerts - Captain of the fishing boat - Aspririn Avatar
    TheoGazerts – Captain of the fishing boat – Aspririn

I agree it is a hot mess. I can see why people would follow this story with great interest.
    Do you see how the system abuses those who steal a loaf of bread or a soft drink? Do you think that those under pressure will have sympathy for anyone who is “rich as shit”

They would not ask you to protest their innocence but would be grateful if you protest the awful sentences handed down to them..

Don’t you see this as a cry for equal justice? It is the inequalities of our society manifesting itself along racial lines.

Let me borrow this>
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;

48. @ PLT July 27, 2018 5:27 PM

Very good comment sir.

In very little the whole episode has quickly descended into complete farce. The only real losers here are the (already shambolic) judicial / administrative systems and ultimately the brand and reputation of the island.

Throw in phase 2 of the pending austerity budget and who knows where things will go.

A. Dullard

49. It was more than a jab. He clearly has BT in his line of sight. Not sure if they cross the line suffice to open up to legal pursuit.