Chris Rogers (l) Walter Prescod (c) Charles Herbert (r)

The news that approximately 3 million dollars worth of illegal drugs was discovered on a boat owned by Goddards Enterprises – a successful and respected international company domiciled in Barbados – continues to be the talk of the town. A few high profile names are reported to be assisting the police force read Charles Herbert the Chairman of Goddards Enterprises and Chris Rogers a non executive member who were reported to be on the boat when the interdiction was made by Barbados Customs Officers.

Information coming from the police about the progress of investigation has been slow as one would expect when prominent individuals are involved. Then add high profile lawyer Andrew Pilgrim to the mix. The blogmaster joins many expressing an interest in who will be charged and incarcerated for the crime. The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.

The blogmaster ask commenters to be smart when posting comments. On behalf of the BU household we appeal to all those out there to continue to tip off the authorities so that we can arrest the scourge of drugs, guns and other illegal activity pouring into our little island. Feel free to email BU also with tips by completing the Contact List that will be forwarded confidentially to the blogmaster.

Thank you for your response. ✨

BU’s Featured image is Charles Herbert, Chairman of Goddards (l) and Chris Rogers, non executive board member (r).

778 responses to “Goddard’s Yacht Ecstasy Busted!”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so

@ Barbados Underground Whistleblower.

You said and I quote “…Barbados is only a Paradise for those who have money and connections. All in all most BLACK people locally are suffering in silence whilst acting like crabs in the bucket pulling down and seeking to destroy each other in their communities or workplaces…”

I would past that $3 million times IF I COULD

In one breath one would say, I really do not care about what the white bajans have, but without skippin a heartbeat I would quickly add what we are not permitted to access.

As a certain popular supermarket owner once said “Mr Corridor (that is a made up name) you have two establishments AND THAT IS ENOUGH. If you seek to get more WE GOING HAVE TO STOP YOU.

Life had shown that he is more popular than they ever believed that he would be but you can bet your bottom dollar that they are gunning to destroy him and others of his ilk.

You know something Whistleblower?

Here we are conversing about this reality that we live daily “in the castle of our skin”.

Many who are of a “different skin suasion” will see that comment and it will slide off their backs like water on a duck, not even impinging on their consciences.

For them IT IS A NON POINT which very few of them EVER HAVE SOUGHT TO ADDRESS even here in the anonymity that is BU.

I have NEVER SEEN THE QUAKER or Loveridge with all his spiritual charity stop ONCE TO SAY “what do you mean by suffering” or seek to engage in a public place but i have learnt that, the same way you do not get invited to their houses, even engaging in a virtual space like this IS ANATHEMA to them, because their brothers and sisters will see them and they will be ostracized.

Maybe it will change Whistleblower and we will start to engage but my brother in the Spirit GP does not encourage me to think that that will happen on this side of the divide.

2. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Yachts and Containers are used as the main way of getting drugs and guns into Barbados EASILY.

Aided by Customs officers and Police being on one’s payroll.

The commonality is greed I have never met a customs officer or police officer who will turn down $1000 further more many thousands, in fact many of them demand it to do their jobs they are being paid for.

All major players in Barbados know this; common sense dictate it is easier to give up $10,000 and make a million than being stupid and being busted or setup.

The Customs officers and Police knows this so it is a win win in their criminal conspiracy.

I will repeat one of the things I said earlier they are Banking officials, Indian Business men, several Indian Businesswomen, Syrian Business men, Insurance company owners, Black businessmen and White Businessmen who are the main players in the local cocaine and marijuana business with some dabbling in the gun racket.

When you hear in the news someone being caught in the port with small quantities of drugs or guns in the port they are very small fry however the media publicity is good PR and optics for the Police and major players as it focuses away from them and satisfies the public that something is happening.

What this discovery on the Ecstasy Yacht along with the whites on board and their prominence locally has opened a can of worms that is now to late regardless of the outcome the cat is out the bag..

It amazes me if it were black businessmen owners of Goddards Enterprises only on that same Yacht they would not have so many defenders most everyone would be saying I told you so they were always doing drugs and crooks that is how they make their money. Now is white men I am hearing Barbados scholar and actuary what a bunch of bullshit.

People are still caught up in mental slavery.

I know major DRUG players locally who are Bank managers, Insurance Executives, Music Promoters, Poultry Business, Construction Magnates, Retailers, Distribution company owners, Strip Club owners etc this thing is widespread and is pandemic in the local society.

3. Trading has not been suspended the company board did the right thing by reaching out and protecting their shareholders interest by putting in place a new chairman before the vessel sank

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ACTUALLY PIECE, I ATTENDED A CERTAIN BAPTIST CHURCH IN THE LATE 60’S THAT HAD A FEW WHITE FOLK, WHO MIXED WELL. I WAS OFTEN INVITED TO TEA BY TWO OF THEM

THEY HAVE NOW DIED OUT EXCEPT FOR ONE LADY, WHOSE GRAND DAUGHTER I HEARD SPEAKING.

AMAZINGLY, SHE DID NOT HAVE A WHITE BAJAN ACCENT AT ALL!
    SUGGESTING THAT SHE HAD BEEN BROUGHT UP AROUND A LOT OF BLACKS!………PROBABLY THE CHURCH MEMBERS

5. “But Enuff at least yuh should be ashamed of your govt who laid up in bed with Charles Herbert as news now indicates he is one of the people held in custody on the drug laden boat called Ecstacy.”

No fool! IF true and he is charged it destroys the foundations of your platform. Don’t forget Greenverbs was the PM friend and he and dead, and alive, citizens of Dewsbury still remain untouched.

6. Hey Charlie Boy the DEA is asking for your finger prints and mug shot .Negro hope yuh fingers dont have any ties and connections to drug and money laundering in the carribbean
    If yuh sit there thinking this is only a barbados issue the USA also has its own interest involved
    Sorry bro but you are going down
    Dont count on the wifey either

7. PLT,

Plse shut up.

8. All need to be charged, all need to be on bail of 3 times the amount of street value, We shall see if the DPP and COP, We were told the DLP did guns and the BLP did drugs, now their on office as the streets are full of gun and here come the drugs in time for crop over, England paid their bills with drugs in China and now Barbados looking to pay their Bills with Drugs, How is it that illegal can do better than legal? Ministers and Lawyers need extra strong rope made of Hemp,

9. PLT, I am not considering intent, I have absolutely no knowledge as to whether U were friends but you know his traits much better than most on here. You should know him better than I as a result since I know more of his family, friends etc than being in his proximity.
    There certainly have been cases where White people have got off unjustly. On the other hand darker people who were very well connected have never been tried for murder. Stokes and Pele.

In the Goodridge case a few years ago people here were ready to imprison him when in fact the Sargeant involved was family to the thief. My nephew was hit (in the side of his auto) by a cyclist who came out of gap without stopping, the police involved hounded my nephew for years as a result, because he would not pay $$$$. I was hit by a youngster in very similar circumstances and luckily the youngster had realised that he could not stop in the wet and dismounted his bike at the last moment–$2,000 of repairs for my family’s car later I was the one out of pocket for being innocent. Other family have been hit and never received compensation. Hopefully, others will read this and appreciate that it is not always Whites that benefit from the system in Bim.

The racial situation today may not be quite the one way street some pun here may believe, although I do agree that there was much unfairness historically which was and is not acceptable.

10. de pedantic,,

If the person is the chairman and a NED, then the right and proper thing to do is to suspend trading for a short time. If the BSE does not step in, then the regulator should. Is this a challenge for Mr Persaud?

11. Oh Charlie boy the DEa also requested a blood and saliva sample
    Charlie boy you might be sh. Ting bricks much longer than you expected
    Oh mia you being watched too.
    Not smart or a good idea to lie with dogs
    But u were warned

12. I asked before: Is this the Charles Herbert who was involved in the Barbados Mutual?

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hal Austin July 26, 2018 3:34 PM
    “I asked before: Is this the Charles Herbert who was involved in the Barbados Mutual?”

It is the very first result of a Google search, Mr. investigative journalist 😉
    https://www.google.com/search?q=Charles+Herbert+Barbados+Mutual

14. That is your problem, @plt. Googling. Good lawyers warn you may Google a libel. The internet is not gospel. Also, a fact you may not know, never ask a question unless you have an idea of the answer.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

HA
    this is the same Charles herbert who was a former employee of The Mutual.
    Note. I did not ask you if by The Mutual you meant the B’dos Mutual Life Assurance Society, the Mutual Fund Association of B’dos or Co-operators Mutual.

16. Phew Enuff getting angry already.The smoke and mirrors have come to a dead stop ..full stop..

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin July 26, 2018 3:46 PM
    Of course the Internet is not gospel but it is a useful tool. It must be embarrassing for you that for 24 hours you were not be able to answer for yourself a question that any 10 year old could haveanswered in 24 seconds.

18. @ T. Inniss

You should be uneasy, AG Marshall task is to lock up some of Inniss friends who are part of that thread you think/know will unravel

19. It is embarrassing for me that your memory is so short. Don’t get angry because I told you to shut up. That is a teenage tantrum. This issue was raised at the time of the 21000 people march and answered. As I said, a basic principle of cross examination is to know the answer to your question. The supplementaries would have been of importance.

20. Bdos Free,
    The DLP did guns and the Bs did drugs.

Do you appreciate that would make the Bs far more clever criminals than Ds? Repeat business and addiction must work better—SADLY! Who is doing crackpot religious activity, that is massive business and profit too?

21. HAL—yes. BMLA.

22. This incident here has peeled off the racial scab and opened the wound of a racially divided Barbados.

But other than just the white or black players in this movie involving drugs,race,guns,money etc – there are now some new entrants to the field.I am speaking about the Syrians (Get in-A-Bed,Mow-ses,Ha-Loot),the Indians and now even more recently the chineese.

They all have one thing in common to find a majority black population country with black politicians and black public servants.In the 50s,60s and early 70s – the last 2 were not as easy to bribe,but with the newer entrants in the game, they started targeting the lower level civil servants and the younger politicians until we have what we have today.

5 known drug lords being invited to the opening of Parliament to sit among the diplomats,High court judges, etc with their official invitations.

Barbados has been destroyed and this is why those players and sponsors of campaign fought so hard to get the political result they wanted,because for them – its only a means to an end – and they believe every ‘negra’ got their price.

2013 was a shock to them – but they were intent on ensuring that 2018 would yield the result they wanted.

A sad day indeed.

23. The BLP Gov’t led by Mia is basking in the goodwill generated since its Election victory, but she will have to rein in people like Holder and Clarke at a minimum or it die a slow death by a thousand cuts. It can’t be business as usual this go around, the optics of the Speaker of the House representing someone in a Criminal matter is horrendous, this is taking moonlighting a bit far and reinforces the skepticism that people have for “greedy” politicians. Similarly, Deputy Speaker Clarke is asking for a raise, is this one of the same individuals who said they were donating their salary increase to charity when the DLP Gov’t decided to reinstate a previous pay cut?

These politicians are among the top earners in Barbados, if the salaries are insufficient they had the option of not contesting the General election and sticking to their day jobs or other employment opportunities.

We have been promised Integrity legislation, this looks like something that should be covered in this legislation, however the proof of the pudding is in the eating.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ HAL
    RE a basic principle of cross examination is to know the answer to your question.

THE LATE THEODORE WALCOTT USED TO TELL THE POLICE PROSECUTORS THIS IN THE DISTRICT D COURT IN THE EARLY 90’S

IT WAS A PLEASURE TO GO TO COURT FOR THE CROWN WHEN HE WAS PRESIDING OR AGAINST HIM WHEN HE CAME OF THE BENCH, BECAUSE I WOULD ALWAYS LEARN SOMETHING FROM HIM, THAT I HAD NOT READ IN SIR KIETH SIMPSON’S TEXT ON FORENSIC MEDICINE .

25. Another reason why the Speaker of the House should not be seen to be running behind and doing the bidding – or call it representing – whatever – of any drug lord,drug pusher,young tout,shotter – rapist – nothing so.

This is the said very man that fought so hard to get the’infamous’ Lord Evil out on bail.

I wonder if he knows the 5 Drug Lords who get them invitations.

26. I suspect there are six people in custody.

Four of them appear to have lawyers which suggests 2 don’t.

We hear absolutely nothing of them.

If they do exist, my gut is the outcome will turn on their evidence to the Police.

I suspect there are four who knew nothing of the drugs on board, and one or two who did.

If they do exist, I would not like to be in their shoes!!

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Cannot say much on this matter, but the following section is pivotal. It reverses the presumption of innocence;

“…where it is proved that a person had in his possession or custody or under his control anything containing a controlled drug, it shall be presumed until the contrary is proved, that such person was in possession of such drug… _section 42 (1) (b) Drug Abuse (Prevention and Control) Act, Cap 131

28. Jeff

Can you provide guidance as to if there is flexibility in the commonly held view that you cannot hold the subject of an investigation for longer than 48 hours without charging him?

Are there exceptions to this ?

The length of time 4 days without a charge is what is boggling the mind.Under what circumstances would this happen?

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ T. Innss, Someone would have to apply for a writ of habeas corpus to have them released. In the absence of this, the police has a discretion the conduct of investigation as far as I know. The length of time does seem odd though. Ultimately the court would decide in such an action whether they should be released or whether further police investigations could continue.

30. Thanks Jeff

I am glad I am not alone in thinking that length of time is indeed odd.

31. Rule of law for all drug dealers black or white yacht or not. The dirty BBLP need to stand down, and let us see what the other crooks in the non-law enforcement will do,

32. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

This local drugs trade is so pervasive I have sat at a table with the eldest son of the now dead DPP along with others. He openly stated how much he hated his father who was alive at the time.

He also mentioned that he used to sell drugs for the number 1 kingpin in Nelson Street named Ricky who specialises in cocaine orignating from Guyana and owned a bar downstairs and upstairs whorehouse in Nelson Street the city..

He claimed his father knew but in his words he didn’t give a fuck. He was selling drugs for this kingpin with his father’s knowledge while going to HC.

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so

@ T. Inniss

The next thing that we can expect is said MPs who are lawyers asking that the House of Assembly approve the purchase of walkie talkies that are connected to the QEH ambulance services so that they can get news of the accidents on the fly and go to the scene of the crime and start litigation against parties who knocked them down

https://i.imgur.com/k3ZGFcP.png

34. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster, an item in continuance of this matter of the Speaker Holder running all about bringing the Office of the Speaker of the House to disrepute, is in need of your retrieval, thank you.

Once again, I go on record to say to the BU community that The Old David of BU DOES NOT “MODERATE THE OLE MAN’s submission” but they are held because of a filter that conflicts with the VPN my grandson setup.

Wunna can appreciate dat de ole man ent too popular with the BLP nor de DLP because of de Stoopid Cartoons and udder tings so I got to be paranoid. (doan mind Mia got dis heheheheheh)

Once I let the Honourable Blogmaster know by these periodic request, and he is on duty, the items are released.

But wunna would sometimes appreciate that he will leave to go to the toilet or his other activities and that i why I will ask again.

35. @T.Inniss

Why do you think others have not commented about the length of time in custody? You have not been reading the blog?

36. The statement supports what the blogmaster, Norther Observer et al have opined on the matter of Herbert being relieved of the chair of GEL while the investigation is ongoing, it is standard.

Goddard Group issues statement PR,

Added 26 July 2018

A media release today sought to clarify claims that Herbert, who is also head of the Barbados Private Sector Association, had been removed.

The statement follows:

Goddard Enterprises Limited (GEL) would like to take the opportunity to clarify an article that was reported in the July 25th edition of Barbados Today newspaper.

The report stated “Charles Herbert relieved of Goddard chairmanship”. GEL would like to correct this statement. Mr. Charles Herbert still remains the Chairman of the Group.

Mr. William Putnam, the Deputy Chairman of the GEL Board of Directors, will be acting in the role of Chairman until such time as Charles Herbert can resume his official role as Chairman of the Goddard Group.

Goddard’s continues to support the outstanding work of Police in their efforts to bring the investigation to a timely close. (PR)

37. Piece…ambulance chasers..lol

38. David
    July 26, 2018 6:41 PM

@T.Inniss
    Why do you think others have not commented about the length of time in custody?

++++++++++++++++++++++

Racists …. interested only in seeing white people suffer!!

Most natural thing in the world … well … Barbados!!

The joke is they don’t even have a clue what they are!!

It is pathetic!!

39. David

Kaymar and Barbados Today—again!!

40. @enuff

Yes, saw it.

Wonder if GEL asked for some money.

CGI must be covering the liability insurance for BT.

41. Just read their editorial of 25 July more piffle.

Can’t even differentiate between a Board and a General Manager/Director of a statutory board. Chairpersons and Boards are not employees; they are appointed by Ministers and sometimes are changed with the change of a Minister within the same party. If a newspaper can’t educate the public who will? Mariposa and Well well? lmbao

42. Noticed that too.

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Thanks for the clarification of the verb relieved since many would have releid on it in subsequent statements

It would appear like if they are reading the blog AS SHOULD MOST BAJANS WHO MAY NOT WANT TO SEE THE DRIBBLE THAT IS CALLED REPORTING in the regular media and would prefer the BRIMBLE in OUR RUMSHOP by the bloggerati and the myopes heheheheh.

44. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David, Enuff, stating that Herbert was relieved of the Chairmanship might have been technically untrue but it was not thereby defamatory.

45. relied ** not releid errata

46. @Jeff

Point taken, was playing on a view frequently expressed by enuff, blogmaster and few others that Kaymar needs to be more careful’ how she prosecutes issues.

47. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Accepted, David.

48. Police find trafficable quantity of drugs on a yacht. Persons found on yacht are detained for questioning.

What can he, she or they be charged with ?

How much time can he, she or they expect to spend in jail if convicted for smuggling $3 million in drugs ?

49. David/BU

Once again I am forced to ask you to explain your remark to me.This time its your post @ 6:41 p.m.

Please elucidate.

I notice that you drop these remarks and when ask to clarify you just move on.So in the interest of politeness and fairness – please clarify what exactly you are trying to say to me.

50. @ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

You just frightened me, big time.

You said, and I quote “…“…where it is proved that a person had in his possession or custody or under his control anything containing a controlled drug, it shall be presumed until the contrary is proved, that such person was in possession of such drug…”

The reason that I am frightened is because, I just posted a part of the Integrity Legislation Section 9.1 for Grenville Phillips II .

Mr Phillips is prosecuting the Integrity Legislation matter in an article here with the subtitle called “Loopholes for the Guilty”.

Said section spoke to the plenipotentiary? powers of the Investigators (i hope that i used that word correctly Luminary, I jes trying to appear learned among the wise) but it spoke of the expansive powers of these Integrity Investigators

So you mean to tell me that, in a hypothetical situation, where the Investigators, as the Bill currently in its draft permits, are investigating ANY MATTER, I think that is the extent of their powers, and a feller stow way some wacky tabaccy pun de ole man, you mean to tell me that it is proved and you also mean to tell me dat de ole mad is de facto guilty and going get lock up and detained like Mr. Charles Herbert?

But Oh Luminary you know dat de ole man ent white and if John de Quaker gots anything to do with it, de ole man going get loss way in prison!

Whuloss, dat give de ole man a headache