Submitted by The Mahogany Coconut Group

The Mahogany Coconut Group (MCG), joins with all Barbadians in wishing the newly elected Barbados Labour Party government, all the best as it takes over from the badly beaten Democratic Labour Party, whose ten years stay at the wicket, is best described as anemic and unsuccessful. The former prime minister, Mr. Freundel Stuart displayed not only poor leadership skills but bad manners by scarcely having any meaningful dialogue with the public. He chose mainly to address constituency branches of his party.

The public therefore gave Stuart and his miserable group the severe beating it deserved by giving the then opposition Barbados Labour Party under the leadership of Ms. Mia Mottley, all thirty parliamentary seats. The Democratic Labour Party will have to find a way to make itself once again relevant to the political process.

We also congratulate, Ms. Mia Mottley on becoming the first female prime minister of Barbados. We know Ms. Mottley as a seasoned politician. She has gone through the hottest fires and has emerged as one made of the finest steel; we will now await her performance as a leader

The MCG having closely followed the election of May 24th, 2018, must sadly conclude, that both parties have determined that the real cure of the country’s economic ailments are to be found in the IMF’s medicine chest. Hence as expected the country will be heading straight to the International Monetary Fund, for some very bitter medicine. Fifty years after Independence, and with literally thousands of University of the West Indies (UWI) graduates occupying our Caribbean landscape, we still cannot get our economies functioning at any progressive level.

Barbados, to all intents and purposes, is a one sector economy, depending almost exclusively on the tourism industry to keep its growth in any proper shape. Over the last ten years the government of the Democratic Labour Party failed to devise any sustainable economic policy.

Ms. Mottley has been given a warm welcome by all the major players, including the Social Partnership, which includes trade unions, business organizations and other interest groups. While we wish the new Barbados government all the best, we fear that once the IMF gets its predatory claws into the affairs of the country, escape may prove difficult, if not impossible.

Ms. Mottley has already delivered a mini-budget, which was nothing more than an instrument to raise taxes and deliver some promises made by her party during the elections. These included reinstating payment for university education and an increase to old age pensioners.

However, citizens are waiting to see what kind of restructuring program the country will enter under the IMF. Any underperformance of the tourism industry will be disastrous to the island’s economy. The great irony of Ms. Mottley’s mini budget, is the fact that it attempts to extract money from the very tourists, who it is inviting to assist with the country’s current predicament.

We can only hope that she does not kill the goose that lays the golden egg.

323 responses to “Mia Mottley Government and the Goose”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Arghhhhhhh….

This is becoming harder each day.

De ole man heah up wid many world shattering thoughts rushing through de brain heheheheh

So leh me stop complaining a likkle and give a solution EVEN THOUGH I WAS DID PROMISE NOT TO SAY A PANG heheheheh

The grandson created an application called VALENCY whose concept is posibly applicable in this civil servants situation where people have been promoted WITHOUT REASON OR QUALIFICATIONS read competence for donkey years

We can refer to them as de wuk fuh wuk crew

Given the IMF EDICTS and the imminent downsizing of said Snivel Service, there has to be a fair and equitable mechanism that permits government’s human resources to be meaningfully matched and sized.

As Sir Fuzzy says, and Mike Howard the noted DLP ECONOMIST is parroting, downsizing will demand that the BLP finding the most capable people to keep government running efficiently

Wunna dun know that Senator Caswell Franklyn, noted Union leader is going to be watching them closely when it comes to them firing government workers WHICH THEY MUST.

This is even going to be a harder weight to bear IF THEY ARE UNITY WORKERS AND there is not a way to fairly evaluate staff competencies, fairly weigh their years of service and assess all the other issues that usually give him and Akani and miss moore “hardons”, figuratively speaking. ( NOT MISS MOORE with thst erection talk …)

so the grandson s tool VALENCY which i am here advertising for de grandson, does a few things 1. acts as an impartial adjudicator for its candidates 2. weighs each staff ‘s competencies, determines productivity and assigns ratings and 3. provides such data in a simplified report to be used later when deciding to keep or fire the parasites in the Army of Occupation some of whom i already said may be Unity members

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Former ministers must be held to account, these obvious malfeasance cannot go unpunished…

“He repeated an allegation first made on the campaign trail in the lead up to the election, that the then DLP administration had signed off on a $5.8 million payment in legal fees for the discarded Cahill Waste to Energy project, a portion of which was paid as a deposit to an unnamed attorney.

“I have in my possession a document here for $700,000, only a part payment of legal fees for Cahill. Legal fees for $5.8 million for a lawyer who just received a QC (Queen’s Counsel), even though the project does not exist. This is the level of nastiness because there is no adjective that could describe this injurious act,” Prescod said.”

/////////////////////////////:/:/^////////^::^^^^^:^////////

Piece. …. the police are ridiculous, they have been violating the constitution not to mention the rights of accuseds whether guilty or not in these criminal cases, all the commissioners of police should know better…I am yet to meet one who does not have a law degree and at least a passing knowledge that you do not allow cases to linger with no case files or accused to be on remind for an inordinate length of time, this is pure incompetence and violations of rights on the part of the police, prosecutors etc…..they should be recalled by the GG for this decades old practice of evil against the people.

The civil cases however are a whole nother animal in human rights violations by lawyers etc…against those seeking justice through the courts…and must remain highlighted in the public domain.

3. So when i thought the mini budget had done enough damage to the tourism industry now i read that next in line to receive its share of bitter medicine is the cruise ship industry
    Plans are being put in place to pummeled that sector with taxes
    By the time Mottley finished devastating barbados one nest basket batbados would be in competition with Venezuela
    Lawd hsv merci

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Exyardfowl….yall would have done worse, if the electorate had not shown intelligence and destroyed yall…, Fruendolittle had already put the tourists he waste taxpayer’s money feting at Llaro court on notice that if things were so good in their countries, they would not be visiting Barbados with the shit running in the streets….and that they too had shit running in their streets wey dey come from…

Tell me am lying..

5. Mariposa,
    Keep up the fight. Hysteria does not make good economic policy. The new government is offering us a Budget in three phases, so it can b assumed that phase one was the most urgent. Nothing in phase one was that urgent, unless you ant to consider ridding the country of 5000 pit toilets a matter of national urgency.
    The government also imposed a five per cent rise on the public sector, down from the 23 per cent they were demanding of the defeated DLP government. The unions must at some point explain this about turn.
    It is also worth noting that 60 per cent of workers in the United States, the wealthiest nation in human history with the lowest post-war level of unemployment, have not had a real pay rise for two decades.
    In economics there is something called the Philip’s curve, which basically suggest a trade off between jobs and pay rises. It is flawed, but still of interest since there are about 30000 people on the public payroll, if the IMF is to demand a cut in this number before it considers a loan, this is an issue to follow closely.

6. The urgency of the mini budget and time series of events which have occurred since the 24 May- and they have been many- when coupled with the visit to Washington by the PM to meet with the IMF today to flesh out a Barbados program to support balance of payment … connect the dots. So far we are seeing energy from the government, it has the majority support from a Barbadians waking up to the perilous state of the economy, we will have to wait a few months to evaluate results.

7. Oh David, shut up. You do not understand economics, or policy. What urgency? Connect what dots?

8. Hahaaa Hal tell David he does not understand economics. I guess Hal understands because he edited the FT Financial Adviser? A quick read of David’s post, however, speaks more to governance than economics. 🎪🎭🎭

9. @PUDRYR
    Yours @ 2.24 am June 14, 2018

That cartoon is absolutely brilliant, even if one didn’t understand politics of Barbados or the names of the players they would get the meaning. Kudos to de the “grandson” he needs more exposure, I’ll have my agent contact you with the details.

10. Hal what is going on is political spin by the blp yardfowls mostly embarrassed that Mottley lied to the electorate
    She put on a grandstyle performance full of promises.The blp manifesto had promised the people better by way of putting money in their pockets most of what was interest to the people
    Now the supporters have gone on a campagain as if to redo or untied Mia hands to the promise of better
    As these measures are realized by the people the Blp govt would have to renge on these measure
    Mia First two weeks have all but been founded on a PR csmpagain using slight of hand to build confidence and convince the populace that bitter is better
    Her impromtu visit to the IMF would tell a story of whether the mini budget was one of truth or fiction for in that budget the need to cut expenditure cannot be given to a populace of only 275hundred thousand people while decimating the one nest basket of tourism
    Again i reiterate the IMF would look at this budget and say hell No the numbers just do not add up to a country whose debt levels are caused by high borrowing and high levels of spending through aggressive taxation

11. Voters always get tricked Avatar
    Voters always get tricked

@ Enuff

Yes I do have an agenda and that is to expose the arrogance and deception in Barbados of the two parties D or BLP.

Unlike you I have no allegiance to either.

I am not one of the ignorant Bajans who believes in any Political party especially the two who have taken turns destroying the island whilst fattening both their waists and bank accounts.

I call a spade a spade, like it or lump it.

12. What really angers me and insults my intelligence is that Mia all but lied saying that she did not know the country financial situation.All the country finances are well documented in Parliament and all Ministers have access to them
    Then public would soon come to a clear understanding of all the deceit in form of propaganda and trickery that Mia used to take advantage of a populace who had no longer want to pull the heavy load but instead prefer was looking to a better way forward and now what they got is a wagon taking them down a path of unkept promises

13. Mariposa,
    Everybody in Barbados knew the financial situation was bad. What they did not know were the details. That is why in every constituency they voted out the DLP.
    I said on here on numerous occasions, the country knew it wanted to get rid of the DLP, what it was not sure of was if it wanted the BLP. The BLP won, not based on its manifesto, but because UPP and Solutions Barbados failed to come up to the level needed.

14. Understood. However i am not convince that Mottley did not know all the full details of the economy .I find that hard to belive

15. There has been a cultural shift in Barbados, many of the younger generation (25 – 40) have no interest in upward social mobility, the focus is now on consumerism, the result has led to

No interest in building houses, i.e waiting on parents to die
    No interest in investing in the future
    Little to no savings and high levels of debt

To combat this behaviour I believe the personal allowance should be reduced from $25K to $10K, tax deduction for mortgage interest, RRSP and investments re-introduced, a tax deduction for health insurance introduced, a tax deduction for professional development introduced.

Those citizens who wish to continue mindless spending can continue but government will get more tax from them, those who wish to develop themselves and grow wealth through investment will be rewarded with deductions.

The shift of the younger generation to consumerism has affected the older generation who most of the money on the banks belong to. Because of consumerism there is nothing to invest in, so the money is just sitting there.

The personal allowance for pensioners over 65 needs to be reduced from 40K to 25K. Deductions for home improvements and investments re-introduced and the deduction for healthcare costs increased

Why have we spent so much on education for our citizens for them to fritter it all away buying junk

16. There has been a cultural shift in Barbados, many of the younger generation (25 – 40) have no interest in upward social mobility, the focus is now on consumerism, the result has led to

No interest in building houses, i.e waiting on parents to die
    No interest in investing in the future
    Little to no savings and high levels of debt

@Redguard.

Morning. Less i forget my manners.

I agree with you. The trend towards consumerism is not in Barbados alone. I however don’t believe this trend is occurring by mistake or happen-stance. There has been a calculated push by finance houses and sellers of these service and goods to “brain-wash” the youth and not so youthful into a particular life style that favours the financing class. The instant gratification index is high and thus must be satisfied. Finance institutions must lend money to make money and they cannot make the return their aspire to, if the old saving and buying mindset is prevailing. Our grand parents will be a nightmare for these finance institutions with their old fashioned attitudes to borrowing; and basically limiting their debt exposure.

This consumerism is also going hand-in hand with an increase to easy credit. Provided by both bank and the credit union. In my personal life i can count on a certain Canadian owned bank to send me a loan offer of around $20.000. This has being happening like clockwork for the last five year for certain. All i need to access this extra money to do stuff is to just show up at any branch with the promotion letter and a job letter; and i think my goose will be well cooked thereafter. Cause its tied to my credit card; with those ridiculous borrowing rates.

Apparently the job of some persons in these finance houses is to keep us(the consumer) in debt; preferable credit card or short term higher interest debt. Our job is to stay away from debt less we fall into the “debt trap”. Its simply requires seeing the forest from the trees and looking past your nose, but the “instant gratification index of buying stuff cannot be under estimated if it is marketed well. Furthermore why would any right thinking person consider saving as the minimum saving rate offered by the commercial bank can be seen as a dis-incentive.

Just my take.

17. What really angers me and insults my intelligence is that Mia all but lied saying that she did not know the country financial situation.

Understood. However I am not convinced that Mottley did not know all the full details of the economy. I find that hard to believe..”
    ++++++++++++

What really angers me is the fact that you are a hypocritical DLP yard-fowl whose outlook on situations is not based on truth or rational analysis……..but on political propaganda.

On the eve of an economic recession, David Thompson and the DLP made some promises to Barbadians, as outlined in their 2008 manifesto, which they were unable to fulfill. Barbadians voted for the DLP on the strength these promises, which included duty free cars for police officers, nurses and teachers; VAT off electricity; establishing a Home Ownership Revolving Fund to provide interest-free mortgages for public sector employees; 2000 lots at $2.50 per sq ft;

On Monday, May 18, 2009, Thompson delivered his first “budget speech” and it is ironic that he expressed the view that he was unaware of the Barbados’ economic circumstances at that time.

At that time, you were not angered, your intelligence was not insulted and you did not hold a view that Thompson “all but lied saying that he did not know the country’s financial situation.”

People like you believed Thompson, because it’s what yard-fowls do…….that’s your job.

As I have often mentioned in this forum, there are no fundamental differences between the BLP and DLP.

Their ideological and political philosophies are similar.

The only difference is the “spin” on issues yard-fowls of both parties introduce.

18. The politics of the situation means that we will have hardcore- and the ignorant- making this a cyclical issue. We need to move on and focus on the current state. A simple example of the problem is the cost to fix the sewage plants on the South Coast and Bridgetown plant. This is info that would not have been available to the public because the info gathering and number crunching was a work in progress during the election campaign.

19. @ Artax. Take a bow. You could not have said it any better.

“As I have often mentioned in this forum, there are no fundamental differences between the BLP and DLP.

Their ideological and political philosophies are similar.

The only difference is the “spin” on issues yard-fowls of both parties introduce.”

If all the energy generated by this political discourse in all the social, broadcast and print media could be harvested. Just maybe and i say maybe the BL&P could use that to reduce the amount of fuel oil it burns to generate electricity for this nation.

In that scenario as long at we have party politics, Barbados would have some form of renewable energy.

@artax – Maybe you know of some device that can capture this political energy generated? lol

20. Mariposa. Was the last IMF consultation report made a document of the house. If the answer is “NO” do tell the electorate whose desk draw contained that said document. It is about time that political “yard chicken” stop and accept defeat, regroup and come again.

21. @ David,

The only uninformed bunch in our small close knit society are those that don’t want to know what is happening, or maybe the mental ill etc. The important ministries in Barbados are populated by supporters of both parties Blp Dlp Upp and SB etc. Since the minister really doesn’t do the number crunching as there are support staff at their disposal for such; information becomes available at all levels in any ministry. The civil service may have s a code of conduct, etc . But realistically information will flow to the person that needs it outside or inside the respective ministry. The BLP knew what was happening at many levels in ministries and SOEs before assuming the government. Its called intelligence gathering. . They probably knew the big numbers; they just could not tell us they knew. Likewise the DLP and other parties will know the numbers within the BLP run ministries. Bajans in general are not fridges; they cannot keep their mouth closed; and sharing of information is often a badge of honour among soul mates and peers.

22. @sirfuzzy

Have you read Auditor General reports highlighting gaps in financial and MIS reporting?

23. ” The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) will be conducting inspections of residences and businesses along the south coast this Friday, June 15, to determine whether properties have the correct sewer connections and appropriately-sized grease traps.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/166822/south-coast-property-inspections-tomorrow

24. @ David.

I have had the pleasure or task of generating reports in my previous job. In school i was taught that there is a a difference between data and information. The auditor general may not have access to all the data when he generates his report(s) but it doesn’t mean the data is not available. The auditor general report gives the reader the information as he chooses to present it.

“Data vs. Information – Differences in Meaning. Data are simply facts or figures — bits of information, but not information itself. When data are processed, interpreted, organized, structured or presented so as to make them meaningful or useful, they are called information. Information provides context for data”

Just my take.

25. Agreed sirfyzzy, bear in mind the point of contention is what data would have been available to the BLP in Opposition.

26. Cant wait to see and hear how Mia wiggles her way out of the promise of wage increase after the IMF advices her that she cannot deciminate the tourist industry her only one nest basket bytop loading her debit in order to fulfill promises made to the Unions and those of University level

27. Artax you try to speak as one with authority . your indication that i did.not refute David Thompson comments leading up to the 2008 election you cannot backed by any factual information attributed to me in any way shape or fashion

28. Sir Fuzzy

Your post @ 11:06 is spot on.This is the point I have been arguing as well,that is, that Mia Mottley as leader of the opposition had all the info on the debt,the reserves,contracts entered in and those about to be entered in.Information,data call it what you will was being leaked through unofficial sources as well as being available through official sources e.g. the Central bank report,IMF reports etc.

Therefore it is totally dishonest to my mind for motley and her ministers to keep saying that she didn’t know the true picture of the finances and she was so shocked.Steupes

29. Let us understand your point, the BLP should have relied on unofficial data sources to support proposals?

30. The issue surrounds the State Enterprises i.e. statutory boards. With no audited finances, pray tell what would have been laid in Parliament? #moreliesorigrunce

31. Another excellent post Sirfuzzy @ 10:18 a.m.The worrying trend of instant gratification bythat 20 – 35 age group.

I feel hopeless when I try to forecast the future with the mentality of Some of that age group.Take their lack of understanding of the importance of their vote as an example.

32. JUST ASKING PREDICTED
    BLP – 30 SEATS
    DLP – 0 Seats

More than 5 years ago

The proof can found right here in this forum.
    History is a bitch that bites. Records are the teeth

JUST ASKING was mocked by such Honourable members as BUSH TEA; CARSON CA-DOG -AN ‘ the Abominable Curator of partisan filth — ac and a few others.

33. if you are referring to my post david I specifically referred to official sources e.g. central bank and IMF reports as well as unofficial sources.

34. T.Inniss
    How would Mia as Opposition Leader had access to contracts? Where in the Constitution is government required to furnish the LOO with contracts?

35. @Tinnis.

Therefore it is totally dishonest to my mind for motley and her ministers to keep saying that she didn’t know the true picture of the finances and she was so shocked.Steupes

In a pure ethical world that does not exist in Barbados at this time or has ever as far as i know I would say u are correct.

However; we dealing with politicians and the world of politics. I have readily heard the term “cut throat” “back stabbing” “win at all cost” associated with politics and politicians. Elections have consequences winner takes all. History is usually written by the winners. Unfortunately Westminster politics is about winning and there’s no prize for second or lower; this is not a sport its a “blood sport”.

I also said “They probably knew the big numbers; they just could not tell us they knew.”.

This particular stunt allows any new administration to claim ignorance on any issue. If we as Bajans are as intelligent and educated as we claim to be “then it is par for the course”. The real issue may come if we are not as intelligent as we believe we are.

I believe you are a grown person; You know what happens; don’t send too much time on the spilt milk. If u don’t intend to drink the “koolaid” just don’t. All is fair in love and war; but not in competitive party politics. Lol

36. If Mia used the lie trap to buy the vote and win the confidence of the populace. Sooner rather than later her attempts to renege on her promises to appease the IMF would certainly manifest the truth and under mine her abilty to govern
    How can any one forget that Mottley own words stated that Barbados economy was in worst shape than Haiti either Mottley was lying or she had hard facts to back up her words
    Go figure
    In mind Mottley would always be a liar and cannot be trusted to tell the truth

37. If you are being honest there is no Opposition that can speak authoritatively to public finances given the lack of transparency successive governments have practiced. Also the point enuff made about the lack of financial disclosure with SOEs is valid.

38. Let us understand your point, the BLP should have relied on unofficial data sources to support proposals?
    @BU,
    Unofficial sources does not automatically mean the information/data is incorrect. A far as i know all data is unofficial until its officially released presented or laid etc etc.
    So if you had a house than the mortgage company was going to foreclose on and your buddy give u the head-ups. I am sure you may act on that information/data. Although that is unofficial data until the Finance house puts a stamp on the envelope and send it your way. The content of the correspondence probably will not change in the time it takes to the the document into the envelope.

Just my take.

39. The last Central Bank Report a month or so before the election stated that the overall debt increased from 146% of GDP to 151%.Yet 1 month after when motley took over she was lying to the public and saying the debt was 175% of GDP and other BLP commentators have been saying 185% .

Projected growth dropped from 0.5% – 1% to 0.25%

The foreign reserves grew by $14 million.

The IMF Report which was recently released didn’t vary too much in the trend lines projected before.

Yet people keep parroting this nonsense that motley didn’t know what was the position of the economy when she took over.She will get all the foreign exchange from the projects the DLP left that were about to be started,The OIL Company,Hyatt,Sam Lords,Sandals other projects etc.Also expected to come in was the $110 U.S Million or 220 million Barbados dollars from that contract with the port,

40. Point taken Sir fuzzy @ 12:58.Noted

41. @T.Inniss

You are aware we have to differentiate between debt that includes NIS, Central Bank and other SOEs and not? Do not confuse the discussion, we are not idiots here.

42. Some times the comments here is a bit bewildering.

We live among human and other creatures. However we mostly deal with humans.

Expect humans to be humans. Humans are capable of the complete gambit of actions from self sacrifice to human sacrifice.

What we see acting out in the open as part of the political culture is just a microcosm of what humans do everyday.

From the Judea Christian prospective Jesus Christ was a perfect man without sins; but when the rubber hit the road they choose Barabbas. In two thousand plus years i don’t think we humans have changed that much.

Just my take.

43. T.Inniss
    I would bet you it is even higher!

44. The bottom line is that politicians will never reveal the full facts on a campaign trail IF they want to win Office.

45. Yes, “I try to speak as one with authority,” especially when it comes to you and the other DLP yard-fowls that pollute BU to post shiite and criticize just for the sake of criticizing.

Since May 25, 2018 you have been constantly in this forum, “trying to speak as one with authority,” by making all types of accusations and assumptions……not BASED on RATIONAL ANALYSIS, but on DLP propaganda.

However, as it relates to your comment re: you “did not refute David Thompson comments leading up to the 2008 election,” my ASSUMPTION is based on your ANTECEDENTS.

For example, you were on BU day and night posting several contributions in support of the former inept DLP administration’s decision to sign the CAHILL agreement and CUSSING all those who were against the project, including Kammie Holder. You REFUTED expert advice of the environmental issues associated with WTE plants.

When Stuart said he DID NOT sign the agreement and BU presented a copy of the Stuart signed agreement, you said the document was FAKE.

However, when Stuart subsequently ADMITTED he signed the CAHILL agreement and government decided to “shelf” the WTE plant, you returned to BU to HYPOCRITICALLY SUPPORT all that was said AGAINST the plant.

You are WILLING to SACRIFICE your SELF-RESPECT for the sake of blindly SUPPORTING a political party.

People like you DISGUST me and that is why each time you come to this forum with shiite, I will highlight it.

46. The issue surrounds the State Enterprises i.e. statutory boards. With no audited finances, pray tell what would have been laid in Parliament? #moreliesorigrunce

@enuff. Why over the last 30 years no administration has been able to compel any and all SOEs to present their audited financial statements on time. I often wonder how powerful is our PM in the whole mix of things. That they cannot order the relevant ministries that oversee the SOEs to deliver their statements. This occurrence really shows how powerful the permanent opposition(civil service) is?

47. Talking Loud saying Nothing Avatar
    Talking Loud saying Nothing

@Hants June 14, 2018 11:11 AM,

This is excellent news from the BWA. Let’s us hope that the authorities will take all necessary action to fine, to back-date all invoices and where necessary to imprison those individuals and businesses who have have habitually flaunted the law over a number of years.