On behalf of the BU household sincere congratulations are extended to BU family member and Head of Unity Workers Union on his appointment as a Senator. Go forth and do the people’s work you faithful son of the soil.

The other Opposition Senator will be appointed in a couple of weeks.

Up and On!

David – BU blogmaster

127 responses to “Congratulations Senator Caswell Franklyn”

1. Finally, the DLP is TOTALLY defeated. LOL.

2. Congrats Caswell Franklyn. The workers of Barbados will have a sincere voice in parliament.

3. Reverend Joe’s senators!!

Oh my God!!

4. @ David,

What Caswell said about concessions being annulled within 40 days is worth discussing.

He already bowling 90 mph yorkers. lol

5. Congratulations Caswell!!!! You have your work cut out already. Hit the ground running.

6. Good choice.Congratulations to Caswell,well known for his candour and sound knowledge of workers’rights,one not for sale.

7. Congratulations to Caswell Franklyn.

8. Interesting.I wonder if Mia had a word in Atherley’s ear.

Anyway it is obvious Caswell’s expertise in the Rules of the Civil Service is something Mia would need especially when dealing with the Public Accounts Committee.Interesting indeed.

Since I always appreciated Caswell’s knowledge and expertise as well as his candour at times, I want to wish him well in this new season of his life.

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

All of this

Is Mia’s Fault = I M F

10. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Congratulations, my brother. We know that you will equip yourself well.

” God moves in a mysterious way; His wonders to perform”.

A genuine voice for the workers of this country.

11. @Hants

Yes, Caswell posted the comment last night on the Sinckler blog. It is obviously something he is passionate about out …:-)

12. What is the link between Caswell and the 41,000 people who oppose the Government?

13. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ John at 5:01 PM

Does there have to be a link? Did they oppose the Government? Or did they vote for their preferred candidate?

There is a big difference.

14. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

David BU

No problem. You are the boss.

15. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

We are so happy for you, You were to be BFP AG, Well next elections you will be, The Best Man for this work with the crooks and liars are there, We hope Violet Beckles reach the Table, BFP and KGB Steve Hunte the Sheriff Christ Church South Just spoke your Name, of the Work Done so Far, Rule of Law Just showed Up in Barbados,Hon: Caswell sweet,Alex Mitchell BFP/CUP

16. We have to assume that Atherley and those responsible for selecting Caswell are serious about improving the governance framework in Barbados. We say this because all and sundry are aware Caswell cannot be bought.

17. Bernard comments will show moderation from time to time for various reasons.

18. Great appointment, Caswell. Now you should be co-opted on to the Social Partnership and those jokers at Cave Hill should give you an honorary PhD in labour law.

19. Congrats Brother Franklyn!!

Walk good

20. Congratulations Caswell you have a track record of opposing both Parties.

“Booby” Morris got his wish

Why does the Bishop need a spiritual advisor?

21. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

David at 5 :27 PM

Relax , David. I appreciate that.

22. Congratulations Caswell. I enjoy reading your columns, I hope you continue. Maybe you owe some thanks to Bush Tea who kept pushing you to BUP, while pointing out the good you do.

23. Congratulations, Caswell.

24. But look my crosses doh neh!Black lipped Denis Lowe publicly cussed Mia upside down,so did Freundel,so did Estwick,so did Sinckler. Mia and her party stalwarts and supporters so filled St Michael’s Cathedral on that day in April that the nave was dark in broad daylight.That was a sign of things to come.Mia and her party came out of that church service renewed in spirit and took to heart the message….here I am Lord,send me.The rest is history.A 63 year old party has been consigned to the back of the political queue because for the first time in all its 63 years the DLP has no voice in the Parliament of Barbados.Let the JA’s Stuart and Bobby Morris ponder on these things.Wunna thought wunna could do as wunna like but the people rise up ‘gainst wunna and say BUT NOT AS LONG AS WUNNA LIKE.Get out mih damn face do!

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks for the expressions of confidence. I appreciate your sentiments and will always endeavour to do my best when doing the people’s business.

26. @ Caswell
    I appreciate your sentiments and will always endeavour to do my best when doing the people’s business.
    Yuh betta!!!
    …else you will be whacked with many stripes…

Congrats Boss….
    Go forth and show David Thompson what is meant by-
    “ever upwards to the light…
    ever true to God and right”

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin June 2, 2018 5:31 PM
    “Great appointment, Caswell. Now you should be co-opted on to the Social Partnership and those jokers at Cave Hill should give you an honorary PhD in labour law.”

Totally agree!

Our Caswell has shown his intellectual gravitas not through the pursuit of sterile academic qualifications but through the dint of practising at the coalface in the real market of industrial relations to produce the fruits of his ‘labour’.

Let us treat Caswell with some of the same adulation as we do to ‘big-up’ Dr. Tony “Gabby” Carter.

To Dr. Caswell Franklyn: Hip hip hooray!!

28. Anyway it is obvious Caswell’s expertise in the Rules of the Civil Service is something Mia would need especially when dealing with the Public Accounts Committee.Interesting indeed.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

… Isn’t he supposed to be an opposition senator?

29. Way to go Caswell..

30. Normally Caswell I would congratulate you but I can’t.

All I can say to you is listen to your conscience and be guided by God.

31. There is nothing in the constitution that says an opposition senator cannot advice the PM…any such advice is supposed to benefit the people who elected the candidates/ministers…

no more divide ad counter in the parliament..

32. divide and conquer.

33. Caswell, Congratulations! I have no doubts that you will work on the behalf of the people and prosecute those who brought the island to its knees. God’s speed!

34. Bernard Codrington
    June 2, 2018 5:15 PM

@ John at 5:01 PM
    Does there have to be a link?

Yes Bernard, there has to be a link.

It is through the Leader of the Opposition!!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John June 2, 2018 7:15 PM
    “Normally Caswell I would congratulate you but I can’t.
    All I can say to you is listen to your conscience and be guided by God.”

But can’t you see that Caswell has been selected by a Man of your God, Rev. Joseph Atherley, to serve as a morally upright senator and be a guiding light to the people?

Doesn’t Caswell consistently demonstrate the qualities that would easily qualify him as a ‘black’ Quaker by always looking out for his fellow man especially the underdog in your much admired capitalist system?

36. Carson Cadogan the ex everything is on another blog dripping sour grapes…lol

37. God tests us all, every day.

He tested Abraham when He told him to sacrifice his son.

Abraham had the choice to make, obey God or let his son live.

He obeyed God.

God provided and his son lived.

How does anyone know if fresh elections are called whether true leaders will not come forward?

God will provide.

Reverend Joe, a man of God knows full well it is never too late to change course.

God will provide.

38. @Sargeant

A rhetorical question?

Maybe he needed him as a prop for the press conference given his second pick was not available.

39. How the DLP responds to this situation is critical to seeking redemption from an unforgiving public. So far the motley crew making up their support on (BU) social media have been having some poor and ignorant interactions with the public.

40. Congratulations to Caswell Franklyn.
    Excellent choice for senator.

41. Talking loud Saying Nothing Avatar
    Talking loud Saying Nothing

Congratulations Sir. Be steadfast, remain vigilant and beware of those who will want to befriend you. Funny how BU appears to be influencing events in Barbados.

42. I was a bit surprised at Stetson Babb on Thursday………..he knew how to get in touch with Stephen Lashley to ask him about the Joseph Atherley saga…………and boy was he not willing to spout off his mouth as usual.

The BLP had just redwash his party and he talking foolishness about trouble in the party and that people are not satisfied………hello! Joe Atherley saw an opportunity and he grasp it much to supporters disgust. Atherley has to know what he is doing……..after all he is now a leader in his own right…….he will have to deal with his own conscience.

But what I was waiting for Stetson to ask the same Mr Lashley was this ………

……………Mr Lashley, the Prime Minister held a press conference yesterday and revealed that under your stewardship the contract for the CEO of the NCF for which you held responsibility was due to expire in 2019. A few days ago at the eve of a general election, the contract was renewed for three years. Why was this done and did you not think that such a course of action would be tying the hands of the incoming government?

Now that would be good journalism………throw him off of his talking points and make him explain the nasty deed. Not that anyone would believe him.

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr BushTea, I really don’t know that Mr Franklyn needs to show DThompson anything but re your remarks: ““ever upwards to the light…ever true to God and right” it does appear by Caswell’s choice of an ‘old school tie’ (yes?) to his presser that he does cherish those lines.

Geez, reading all you’ll palaver on BU has educated me on lines from songs, words on crests and a whole lot more…about different schools. Way to go.

And I lend my voice to the cheers Mr Frsnklyn.

44. David
    They are arrogant and indecisive with their ignorance, just like they governed. Red washed at the polls, offered an opportunity to still have a voice in Parliament and dithered–with one faction saying yes and Bobby Morris no. Yet Stephen Lashley in the media talking about a disunited BLP even after a 30-0 rout. Out manoeuvred once again, but remain stuck on Mia. Their mottley crew on BU has been proved time and time again to be liars, so are just viewed as that by me.

45. Prodigal
    The short-knee-crotch fellow Lashley is also short of words and uses a few phrases which have become hackneyed.I dismiss that JA and am happy that the result would spare me the torture of having to hear these little hitlers who don’t even know basic civics.As for Stetson he needs speech training and a sharper understanding which David Ellis or Denis Johnson can teach him.I know of a newspaperman who showed his mettle in 5th form.There was a particular teacher who feared him and his questions.That guy went on to become one of Barbados’s leading journalists.

46. Good choice, I’ll be watching and listening

47. David BU.

I remember BU member, Bush Tea, having pegged Mr. Franklyn years ago as political leader of the BUP. If he had taken BT’s advice and BUPPED he would not just be a Senator today but probably the PM. (:<)) Ah well, I guess he had to get his feet wet somewhere!

Mr. Franklyn, hearty congrats to you,. remain humble and seek guidance through the Holy Spirit and you will do very well by all of us. May I be a bit presumptuous and advise you to be mindful of those who will try to gift you a “Trojan Horse”. Now go sock it to ’em. Lets get on with the people’s business. Thanks for accepting the call and responsibility to serve. That’s exactly one of the most important reasons why Heavenly Father sent us here……..to love and serve each other.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Caswell Franklyn

Congratulations

Now the real work begins and all of the “skin hardening” experience that you would have acquired in the trenches will be required as you get down to the real business

There will be many challenges assuredly like how you will weigh in on security cameras for employees in customs or employees rights for staff at the various small businesses in Bridgetown where dem does unfair poor BAJANS of the most infamous slave institution Furniture Limited.

Poops de ole man sorry cause dem is not public servants and dem ent got you to represent dem so dem chain pop

49. @David

At the first presser the Rev. (can’t decide whether to call him that or Bishop) was flanked by his wife, now he has his spiritual advisor by his side. None of his explanations are palatable to me but if they are acceptable to his constituents and other Bajans who am I to quibble. I like Caswell as a Senator, ideally, he should have been appointed by the GG as an “Independent” now he has been cast in the role of an “Opposition” Senator. Traditionally Opposition Senators act in much the same way as their counterparts in the House i.e. attack or oppose Gov’t policy and programs. However, tradition has been thrown out the window but given Caswell’s penchant for bucking the system if the Rev. has hopes for a mellow Caswell his hopes may be dashed and the nuptials short-lived.

Early days…….