In a sea of red, glitz and glamour to rival Cohoblopot at its peak popularity, Reggae on the Hill or any of the popular entertainment events,  the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) launched its 2018 Manifesto in the heart of the southern belt of the island. – see link to BLP Manifesto website. The manifesto launch followed a similarly styled event to introduce BLP candidates at Weymouth pasture on the outskirts of the city last weekend.

In the coming days the blogmaster and BU family will discuss the promises listed in the BLP manifesto, however, of interest to the blogmaster is the reference made to the IMF by Mia Mottley. In a guarded statement, she indicated that after assessing the state of the economy should the BLP win the government, going to the IMF may be an option. The other political parties as part of the cut and thrust of political debate and tactics will predictably respond to the position taken by the BLP. The blogmaster is of the view the perspective shared by the leader of the BLP regarding the IMF could be a defining moment in the campaign, not dissimilar to when Owen Arthur in a similar position dared to introduce the privatization issue during the 2013 general election.

It will be interesting to observe how the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in particular responds. On January 2018 the International Monetary Fund issued a press release which outlined the Executive Board’s Assessment based on its annual Article IV consultation. It is standard procedure for the government to approve the release of the full report for public viewing in the interest of being transparent. Four months later, the public is non the wiser about the details contained in the full report.  It is unlikely the report will be released two weeks from a general election gien the current state of the economy. Especially following the unflattering review of the performance of the economy in the first quarter by Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes. The DLP strategists have a decision to make. If they attack Mottley’s position which leaves the door open to go to the IMF, it forces the DLP to answer questions about withholding the full report from the public.

Minister of Sports and Culture Stephen Lashley explained on his Facebook page a couple weeks ago that it is not unusual for a government to delay approving the full report to accommodate final corrections and clarifications. Four months after the IMF released the Article IV summary statement, it is a reasonable conclusion to make that the contents of the full IMF report is as unflattering as Governor Haynes’ review of the first quarter performance of the economy. To use the economic jargon, clearly the government of Barbados needs to create some ‘space’ with significant foreign loan payments to meet in the next 12 months. To continue to borrow at high rates on the open market because of our  junk credit rating is unsustainable.  Equally, the selling of national assets to shore up the foreign reserves is also unsustainable, AND, idiotic.

223 responses to “BLP Manifesto Launch and IMF Buzz”

1. … and since 3 out of 3 is perfection and unattainable the best fascism can produce is 2 out of 3!!

Unfortunately it is always the same 2!!

2. @Gabriel May 11, 2018 8:32 PM “Imagine somebody like Maloney raiding the Housing Credit Fund for 28 million when the contract was for 18 million and not one of these chopsutters in the cabinet of the rotten Dems ent say one effing double blind word.How much of the extra 9 million Donville get.”

The last time I checked, 28 take away 18 leaves 10. Not 9. If the arithmetic of our political class is like yours, no wonder we in bare trouble.

3. If we have to go to the IMF, and I believe that we will have to do so, I’d rather o there with Mia’s team, than with Freundel’s team. An i know for certain that Freundel’s team have been advised “IMF”

4. MIA rockin de stage.

5. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well after this coming Sunday in Carlisle 🚗 park – Mia Mottley – will not only be ROCKING !!!

Her reputation will be shredded like SMOCKING !!!

Damn scamp she is !!!!

6. Why is the BLP promising to have a Muslim pray room at the airport? Is this promise made on human rights or religious grounds? These things are incremental, next will be the seaport, then in every government office.
    Is this in the Manifesto? We must have public discussions of these changes in society. We must oppose the Islamisation of Barbados.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One thing that de ole man believes will assist in stopping the haemoraging that has characterized the rampage of the DLP is “the debarring of overseas travel for all but essential government travel FOR TWO YEARS” across all ministries

IF DEM CAN’T JUSTIFY THE MISSIONS AND THE RETURN ON THE INVESTMENTS DEN CAN’T TRAVEL

So the globe trotting that people like Maxine McClean and Chris Stinkler popularized MUST COME TO AN END

Stop all the travel expenses and allowances and let ministers and ministry officials pay their own passage for a 2 two year period as well

LET US SEE THEM START WITH REAL SACRIFICES TO SHOW THEIR COMMITMENT TO THE POLICIES THAT THEY ARE CLAIMING WILL BRING “BALANCE”

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“How much of the extra 9 million Donville get.””

Enough to start building 3 more apartment buildings for himself.

there were small black business people who approached Dumbville for funds for farming and for business expansion over the years and he laughed at them, no 9 million dollar kickbacks from that because he did not want them to have any money.

The private sector and corrupt government ministers are in partnership to benefit themselves and not the citizens whose money they steal.

Gabriel…the likes of Dumbville, Ince, Stuart….the signatories to the Cahill and all the other scams against the people….are only complaining about the private sector now they do not want to see them anymore and are now moving on to the other house negros they believe will be elected by the population and who will also allow the private sector unfettered access to continue raiding the treasury and pension fund..

..Mia and her gang cannot be trusted either, they are also known to bend themselves in half to accommodate minorities in their thefts of public funds, taxpayer funded contracts and whatever they can put their hands on, especially and including freedom to commit crimes on the island without consequences.

Mia has already started kissing the asses of the muslim community, a very bad sign..it’s like these house negros cannot help themselves, have no self control, self respect or self awareness OR respect for the majority population….. as it relates to disenfranchising those whose votes they all now need to be elected….because there are not enough minorities on the island to elect any of them….the sooner the black population understands this, the sooner they can sabotage those plots against themselves.

Those two old political parties should be broken up if only to disassemble their stupidity of organized destruction of the people and Island through their decades old partnership with the private sector to enrich themselves only.

With 132 candidates, it should be easier to break up DBLP organized scams with minorities …..into a coalition cabinet…. the best option for the majority population at this time…and which neither the incumbents begging to get into parliant nir their minirity masters want……..they all know that would diminish DBLPs abilities to start selling out the majority population right away with these elaborate promises they both make to minorities who make sure that those promises are kept….unlike the majority population.

Stuart and his liars should not even be a choice for the electorate, not with Maloney and his gang of thieves waiting for them to be elected to access taxpayer and pensioners funds for their Hyatt scam.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

….and which neither the 2 old incumbent political parties begging to get into parliament NOR their minority masters want…

10. Hants
    It is called equality! What I find so hypocritical about your anti-Muslim rants is that you live in a country where religion is a protected right and multi-faith rooms (Muslims included) are provided in government and private offices and airports; BUT you haven’t packed up and left the UK. Why haven’t you If it is so wrong and a threat? 🖐🏾

11. I meant Hal Austin.

12. WDF am I reading? We need to have a discussion to decide whether a room for people to pray should be provided in public offices? Why not if they should have a mosque, church or temple too? #donkeylogic

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They do have mosques, temples and chuches for praying and if muslims get caught out during their pray time, they just drop their mats anywhere and pray in public, no one should try and neither does anyone stop them….

So there is no need for Mia or anyone else to kiss muslim asses for 500 more votes, or promise to put praying places across the island for them.

the votes she needs are from the already disenfranchised by both DBLP parties majority population. …..

No need to fight to accommodate the same minorities who will hold her to her reckless promises to them and then demand even more….and whose votes are not enough to elect her anyway.

These damn incestous, disrespectful and backward behaviors by the two old political parties needs to be broken up into a coalition cabinet…it is that time.

14. Well well
    You clearly missed my point. I guess you could not google it, therefore do not have a sensible response.
    It says a prayer room i.e. for ALL faiths. Furthermore, if Muslims are already praying what is the problem with providing a room? My people pretend to be progressive, yet can be so RH backward. Isn’t Barbados more than an economy? I repeat, it is about equality and respect for people, and we as a society should welcome these soft touch measures at building a more fair society.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Enuff…I dont know about Barbados being more than an economy…that is yall fake reality.

I did not miss your point, no damn prayer room is needed at the airport or anywhere else to grow voters…..or yardfowls…or bribers…..I dont need to google that to know that is the intent.

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

When ya spewing ya yardfowl nonsense, obviouly ready to take over from the mindless yardfowls, ac, carson, alvin ect, just remember the well known histories of both political parties….then remember my memory….and then remember Vivek and his barbadostoday …who is very unlikely to forget anything.

I am about to forgive Vivek NEARLY everything if only he continues exposing yall dishonest scamps…all geared up to deceive the electorate.

17. Let’s agree to disagree.🤝🏾

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fine, hope it dont return to bite ya.

19. last thing I want is someone making peace or finding god before he gets on a plane with me.Now we need private facilities of course comfy chair /beds special food machines because of dietary concerns if you guys think this will be just a room give your head a shake.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Thing is, Mia never mentioned any of that to the people in her constituency or at Weymouth or anywhere else she had politicial meetings, about any prayer rooms for them…but vomiting it out in front of muslims like if she is doing it just for them..

…in that case she should be building those prayer rooms out of her own pocket and not from the pockets of the majority black population she never bothered to mention it to or asked if they wanted prayer rooms at the airport or wherever….and they are theones who will be paying her salary and those of her ministers, if they manage to make it into parliament as one group and not broken up into a coalition cabinet, as they damn well shoulde be,

Already she has started with the shit of doing whatever pleases her and a minority of 2 thousand or less people, without the input or permission of the majority population and she has not even been elected yet.

21. History would prove Mia to be her own worst enemy.
    With all the terrorism in the world most coming from the Muslim sector.
    Mia belives that bowing down and kissing the a.ss of the muslim sect in barbados would be a catalyst to improving good friendships between barbadian blacks and muslim.
    Airports across the global are the most “watched”areas for terrorist.
    What doesn’t Mia understand about how airports are specficially screened to avoid terrorist treats and her proposal could infact costs taxpayers an additional millions of dollars if implemented for an increase security to that one specfic area of use for muslim pray

22. Enuff is beginning to sound like ‘Fractured BLP’ already ….and the votes are not even in yet.

Clearly Mia is so desperate to become PM that she is willing to promise everything to everyone – even when we ALL know it is shiite talk….
    – New sewerage systems
    – pay /COL increases
    – Prayer roooms
    – Free university
    – Same sex marriages

This portends a blatant disregard of any TRUE commitment to any public position taken, and suggests to Bushie that we are on a fool’s errand.

Mia has to be smart enough to know how broke this shiite place is…. yet she is on a Santa Claus mission?
    This ONLY makes sense if she has no intention of honouring such promises, but has a hidden planned agenda which requires the votes of gullible brass bowls to get started.

Only a spiritual curse explains how a country – previously blessed – could find itself following a complete idiot (unmarried, lonely and spiteful) with a determined despot (unmarried, driven and spiteful) as its leader.

Wunna don’t dig up that shiite monument at the Garrison then…..
    From the frying pan to the fire….

23. @Bush Tea

Isn’t yours a facile view? Promising a gullible electorate is a prerequisite to attain the office of government isn’t it?

BTW, given your affiliation to the BBE shouldn’t making decisions to build a just society be par for the course?

24. Mia knows the the financial state of the country
    However Mia has shown that her interest of becoming PM outweighs the interest of the country.
    Therfore her need to lie and be hypocritical intensifies soley formulated out of a selfish agenda
    Her last statement of consolidation can only mean one thing that of going to the IMF because if her plans to consolidate debt is in any other formation it would cost the taxpayers millions of dollars over the years in interest at a rate which future generations would have to service

####:::: Mia tying a hangman rope

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They all need to stop with the bullshit promises already because we all know that:

Despite DLP candidates complaining about the private sector’s treachery to them, once the voters are foolish enough to reelect them, they will pick up exactly where they left off, neglecting the island and it’s infrastructure, disenfranchising their own people, enriching themselves and the minorities all over again….it is like a negro curse with them.

If the people dont break up the BLP into single candidate occupancy of the parliament, it will be more of them same, once elected, they will keep the promises made only to minorities, enriching themselves and minorities only….and continue the disenfranchisement of the majority population who elected them cause the jackasses love to be seen robbing shoulders with minorities, they are the house negro brigades….both political parties.

26. David
    Did you watch the ‘Titanic’
    What would have represented a ‘just’ society after the iceberg incident? Assurances that all would be well?

Bushie tried to get Caswell to lead a ‘just’ society before the impact – while we were speeding through the maze of icebergs
    – but to no avail.

So how is it facile to say the obvious?
    Would it not make MUCH more sense to tell the truth about the Titanic after the impact? …rather than proclaim how ‘invincible’ the shiite boat was….

How many more people would have taken to the (almost empty) lifeboats?

27. @ ac
    You could really hush…
    A cockroach would win over any of your bunch of sick-headed shiite-hound, morons in the DLP.

This is why Mia CAN AFFORD to be honest, direct, interactive, PRACTICAL and forward thinking in bringing all Bajans on board -even before the damn election date.
    …no need for lies and deceit – if her intentions are above board.

IT MAKES NO SENSE…

28. What changes? What will be different?

If you switch from Eveready to Duracell all you get is light.

I am convinced that changing from BDLP to DBLP will make a difference. Arranging the chairs on the deck of the titanic would not have prevented the collision.

In this case, the heir apparent is saying full speed ahead. We dead.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

She was bound to make a dangerous mistake with all these foolish and mostly unrealistic promises…we want to hear Mia promising and actually enforcing the investigations and arrest for all those exministers who have 3 and 4 different million dollar properties all over the place and multimillion dollar bank accounts outside the island that they cannot account for based on 17,000 dollar monthly salaries….all like Dumbville, Estwick et al.

There are recently dated anti theft, anti money laundering and seizure and forfeiture laws on the statue books just for those types of investigations.

We want to hear the accusations in the auditor general’s report of hundreds of millions missing from treasury and pension fund investigated and the thieves and those who benefitted charged and the missing money seized and returned to the treasury and pension fund.

What damn prayer room what.

30. Mia own words of doom and gloom are coming full steam to bite her on the arse which she cannot avoid
    She has been a bellowing voice against govt policies
    Now that she has to give specifics on her intented plans for the ecomomy she issues a plan which would create further gloom and a creature of high debt .

31. @Bush Tea

Nothing wrong with your perspective, on paper.

The issue as we have discussed countless times on BU is how does a citizenry whose members are at different points on the continuum from yardfowl to civic minded and intelligent, disrupt duopoly politics in Barbados.

Can it be achieved from within by wishing for change agents who are able to grow a powerbase in the major parties to emerge? Can it be done from the outside.

32. Even with an opposition FS and company behave as the like. A super majority would send Barbados back to the Stone Age. We already heading there, but let us take our time.

We cannot survive 5 more years of FS… I doubt we can survive five years of an unchecked Mia. A successful future must include SB. Let us hope he is a part of a ccoalition.

33. *they like

34. Promises are comfort for a fool and
    food for yardfowls.
    Go eat.

35. New allowances for the lazy laggards in the civil service, no firing and higher pensions.

We just need the opposite: a grand purge for the civil service, lower wages and Saturday work for the private service and lower pensions.

Expect external devaluation for late 2018.

36. ac
    Mia’s words of gloom and doom were EXACTLY on point.
    The mistake is to now seek to portray a rosy future – on the foundation of shiite that SHE HAS articulated to have been created by the DLP.
    Apart from Lorenzo and Enuff, no one else can POSSIBLY buy that snake oil prescription.

All Mia has to do is:
    – CONCEDE that the DLP mashed up the place
    – Explain that it will take ten years of HARD WORK to restore balance
    – That this will require much sacrifice, discipline and belt tightening
    – That she was prepared to lead by example and with openness and transparency
    – and that ALL Bajans are needed on board in the rescue mission…

Instead, she is pandering to the same mendicant brass bowlery that Froon and his goons allowed to take them into the hands of the albino-centric Devil….. by offering materialistic ‘gifts’ that pander to the brass bowls among us…. (admittedly they are in the huge majority…)

37. BushTea, you are too generous.
    You are advocating a brand of politics that is not native to Barbados. You have to feed your base. Now it is our turn at the trough,you are talking about belt tightening. They had their turn, I want my turn and I want it now.
    Let the food flow.

38. Bushie
    Let me tell you something. I have a global view, and where policies make sense I have no problem with implementing them in Barbados. Multi-faith rooms are in airports, private and public buildings across the world. It is a simple matter of respect–costs nothing to provide, and like baby changing facilities etc should be the norm not exception. How is it that ISO9001 is manna but something as simple as a RH prayer room is an issue? You are one to always preach on BU about godliness etc, it seems as though it is the Muslim element causing the discomfort. But it is a room for ALL faiths and for employees too. If the Dems had thought about simple matters that cost little to provide but mean a lot to average citizens then they may not be hated so much. The responsibility of a government is to include ALL its citizens in its policies and programmes.
    Where did she promised same sex marriages?
    Do we need buses? Do we need sanitation trucks? Do we need the sewerage problem fixed? The answer we all agree is yes. How then could a party during an election campaign not respond to and promise the country to fix these issues? We found over $7M to spend on an independence celebration. How much 40 buses and the proposed number of sanitation trucks would cost? We transfer over $20M, questionably I must add, from a Central Bank fund to pay a man for some overpriced units at Grotto, but we can’t find to buy buses? Again, how much the 40 buses and garbage trucks will cost? You’re the same person backing Grenville/Solutions, who is offering more giveaways, and promising giveaways even on taxes that are to be non-existent undervhis government.

39. I heard the head of the NUPW sounding like a lichorish mangey dog barking in favour of getting his big slice of Mia pie
    The present govt made him an offer for the workers which he refused and said it was not enough
    Now Annakani is in full acceptance mood tongue long out and all awaiting Mia pipe dream
    What a fool

40. David
    The issue as we have discussed countless times on BU is how does a citizenry whose members are at different points on the continuum from yardfowl to civic minded and intelligent, disrupt duopoly politics in Barbados.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    EASY!
    Wisdom is a funny thing. It can elude brainiacs, and infuse simple folks.

The fundamental mistake that we continue to make is to pander to the misfits and brass bowls of society – RATHER than to pander to the high-fliers and hard workers among us.

so we hate the 11+ because the lazy and talentless among us ‘feel disenfranchised’
    we allow the lowest and most disreputable profession among us (on earth in fact) control our Parliament and Courts
    we structure national finances to cater to the NON-productive
    we listen to freaks like Peter w

If Mia was to take the HIGH ROAD – and to focus on MERIT, innovation, creativity and volunteerism – as NATIONAL priorities then we would very quickly see the destruction of the BDLP duopoly and the emergence of a new CULTURE of productive achievement.

Problem is that all the current decision makers (Mia included) are products (‘successful’ ones at that) of the old albino-centric system of mendicancy.

The Devil DOES NOT seek to destroy Hell….. but to convert Heaven.

41. The present govt made the head of NUPW an offer for workers which he refused
    Now he is full acceptance mood awaiting Mia offer of a pipe dream for the workers
    Wuhloss

42. @ enuff
    Always a pleasure to cause you to write more than one liners…
    Now see if you can focus on the BROAD issue of National ethos – of truth and inclusive leadership.

BTW
    There are many people in this world who ‘need’ all kinds of basic things -like water, good healthcare, a roof over their heads etc… AN WHO CANNOT AFFORD THESE…. BILLIONS of people.
    What exactly gives Bajans the RIGHT to deserve these ‘necessities’ that you outlined -and which Mia is promising – even while we CANNOT repay our foreign debts?

43. Bush
    “If Mia was to take the HIGH ROAD – and to focus on MERIT, innovation, creativity and volunteerism – as NATIONAL priorities then we would very quickly see the destruction of the BDLP duopoly and the emergence of a new CULTURE of productive achievement.”

Have uou even read the manifesto?🤔

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff May 12, 2018 5:00 AM
    “It is called equality! What I find so hypocritical about your anti-Muslim rants is that you live in a country where religion is a protected right and multi-faith rooms (Muslims included) are provided in government and private offices and airports; BUT you haven’t packed up and left the UK. Why haven’t you If it is so wrong and a threat?”

Clearly, you can see why it is justified to refer to Hal Austin as a racist xenophobe with a massive chip of inferiority on his social shoulders given his ugly physical looks.

This is one ugly black bastard who left Barbados as a young man to live in a ‘white’ country only to experience some of the worst kinds of racism and cultural discrimination he is now exhibiting especially to those of the Islamic faith.

What is most laughable about this braying jackass is that he is still living in the same country which- out of contriteness- has made tremendous strides in dealing with racism and cultural xenophobia and indeed is providing today the same kind of facilities to accommodate cultural pluralism he is so vehemently arguing against in his place of birth.

Doesn’t the man of limited intellect appreciate that Barbados is a highly tourism dependant country and cannot be so openly backward when it comes to cultural diversity?

Doesn’t he understand that the visitors who come to Barbados are from many cultural/religious backgrounds?

As you quite rightly pointed out to the damn fool it would be a ‘Prayer Room’ available to people of any faith and not specifically dedicated to Muslims. And this is how it ought to be since it would be against the Constitution to do otherwise.

Aren’t all these religious people praying to the same “One” God? Then there is need for only One Prayer Room with no symbols or icons (graven images); just designed to let in the Light from Above.

45. But you do not NEED any damn pray rooms, particularly at airports if you want to pray, do so privately but not at the expense of taxpayers….yall frauds.

All of them are too backward, small minded and greedy, no wonder they cannot see past collecting yardfowls and criminal bribers, they have caused the island to regress by decades and are still on that same course of taking the population even more backward

.. not one of them are thinking progressives, creatives or have visions beyond dipping their hands into the people’s treasury and pension fund for their own personal gain. and they should all be banned from the parliament.

These are so visionless and useless, I don’t know which of the two nuisance governments did it, but they built some fowl coops at the end of Whitepark Road..all stacked on each other like concrete boxes and not one have escape exits or fire escapes in case there is a fire…everyone in those building will be burned to death should that happen..

.I dont even want to think of how much in kickbacks to the ministers responsible for those death traps or the criminal builders who helped robbed the. treasury to build them or who built the doors you can see from outside as small as they possible could..

..you are dealing with complete jackasses from two useless political parties and that is without mentioning the corruption which consumes all of them.

46. So garbage collection, buses and the south coast are not priorities, whyhave you and many others commented on their state for the last months? The BLP has identified critical issues to be addressed in 6 months. Are they critical or not? What are the numbers and what are the recurrent and one-off costs? I don’t engage in arguments bereft of evidence.

47. Enuff
    Have uou even read the manifesto?🤔
    Manifesto shiite!!
    You think Bushie has nothing to do??!!
    Why the hell would Bushie waste time reading some shiite document that has NO legal status; NO meaning beyond wishful thinking; No commitment to future performance; No consequences for future back-peddling?
    – that is in fact PURELY a bowl of shiite politicking.

Fool Bushie once – shame on you
    Fool Bushie twice – Shame on Bushie
    Three times ???
    NOT FOR SHIITE!!!

BTW
    What happen to the hashtags #?

48. Miller…Mia cannot afford any prayer rooms with shit flowing in the streets, she should be talking about a new sewage system…praying for shit and it’s smell to go away will not work, she should at least be realistic

a new stadium is NEEDED for the youngsters to develop

many abandoned buildings NEED to be repaired and upgraded

the hospital NEEDS to be fixed

the island NEEDS buses and a better bus service

the roads NEED to be upgraded

the sanitation NEEDS garbage trucks

THERE ARE SO MANY OTHER IMPORTANT NECESSITIES needed…since when did a prayer room become a necessity.

ya pray enough while on a plane….no one needs a prayer room at an airport to remind them how much pray they need in those flying coffins.

49. “But you do not NEED any damn pray rooms, particularly at airports if you want to pray, do so privately but not at the expense of taxpayers….yall frauds.”

Expense of taxpayers? Woman you are clutching at straws. May I remind you and all, that fairness and equality were set out in the Covenant of Hope that was scoffed at on BU, and I said if the BLP used the doc as a guide in formulating policy it would serve them well–this is an example as well as those relating to jobs and loans for members of the disabled community. #progressivepolicies

50. “– that is in fact PURELY a bowl of shiite politicking.”

for yardfowls only.