In a sea of red, glitz and glamour to rival Cohoblopot at its peak popularity, Reggae on the Hill or any of the popular entertainment events,  the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) launched its 2018 Manifesto in the heart of the southern belt of the island. – see link to BLP Manifesto website. The manifesto launch followed a similarly styled event to introduce BLP candidates at Weymouth pasture on the outskirts of the city last weekend.

In the coming days the blogmaster and BU family will discuss the promises listed in the BLP manifesto, however, of interest to the blogmaster is the reference made to the IMF by Mia Mottley. In a guarded statement, she indicated that after assessing the state of the economy should the BLP win the government, going to the IMF may be an option. The other political parties as part of the cut and thrust of political debate and tactics will predictably respond to the position taken by the BLP. The blogmaster is of the view the perspective shared by the leader of the BLP regarding the IMF could be a defining moment in the campaign, not dissimilar to when Owen Arthur in a similar position dared to introduce the privatization issue during the 2013 general election.

It will be interesting to observe how the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in particular responds. On January 2018 the International Monetary Fund issued a press release which outlined the Executive Board’s Assessment based on its annual Article IV consultation. It is standard procedure for the government to approve the release of the full report for public viewing in the interest of being transparent. Four months later, the public is non the wiser about the details contained in the full report.  It is unlikely the report will be released two weeks from a general election gien the current state of the economy. Especially following the unflattering review of the performance of the economy in the first quarter by Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes. The DLP strategists have a decision to make. If they attack Mottley’s position which leaves the door open to go to the IMF, it forces the DLP to answer questions about withholding the full report from the public.

Minister of Sports and Culture Stephen Lashley explained on his Facebook page a couple weeks ago that it is not unusual for a government to delay approving the full report to accommodate final corrections and clarifications. Four months after the IMF released the Article IV summary statement, it is a reasonable conclusion to make that the contents of the full IMF report is as unflattering as Governor Haynes’ review of the first quarter performance of the economy. To use the economic jargon, clearly the government of Barbados needs to create some ‘space’ with significant foreign loan payments to meet in the next 12 months. To continue to borrow at high rates on the open market because of our  junk credit rating is unsustainable.  Equally, the selling of national assets to shore up the foreign reserves is also unsustainable, AND, idiotic.

223 responses to “BLP Manifesto Launch and IMF Buzz”

1. Cue FranticDLP yardfowl……

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Another valid reason not to vote this ex government back in, Dumbville confesses they took millions of dollars in funding from university students who are the island’s future to give away to the minority business people who now do not want to see their black asses…good. .

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/10/inniss-slams-business-sector-as-ingrates/

You take away from your own people, you disenfranchise your own people for a small gang of crooks who have beèn robbing your people and island for decades and now you complain..

there were many black business people trying to expand their businesses and you ignored them…..now you dare to cuss the white and other “ingrates” you enriched at the expense of the majority black population you stole from…..you should be hung/lynched……face the elecorate now, white minded negros.

3. Freedom Crier Avatar

Having Assets is Not what Government business such as Hotels, Transport, TV or Radio stations etc. should be involved in, that is not the Role of Government… The only purpose of Government would be to protect its citizens from force or fraud. The Constitution is the Established Law of the Land. That is why we have a Judicial System.

Any other function of government than those listed above, no matter what its intentions, would necessitate the violation of rights by initiating the use of force against the people it is supposed to protect.

There are two and only two ways that any economy can be organized. One is by freedom and voluntary choice—the way of the market. The other is by force and dictation—the way of the State…

The characteristic mark of this age of dictators, wars and revolutions is its anti-capitalistic bias. Most governments and political parties were eager to restrict the sphere of Private Initiative and Free Enterprise.

Capitalism means Free Enterprise, sovereignty of the consumers in economic matters, and sovereignty of the voters in political matters. Socialism means full government control of Every Sphere of the individual’s life and the unrestricted supremacy of the government in its capacity as central board of production management.

Capitalism and socialism are two distinct patterns of social organization. Private control of the means of production and public control are contradictory notions and not merely contrary notions. There is no such thing as a mixed economy, a system that would stand midway between capitalism and socialism.

Those who are asking for more government interference are asking ultimately for more compulsion and less freedom.
    The standard of living of the common man is higher in those countries which have the greatest number of wealthy entrepreneurs.
    The whole of mankind’s progress has had to be achieved against the resistance and opposition of the state and its power of coercion.

What pushes the masses into the camp of socialism is, even more than the illusion that socialism will make them richer, the expectation that it will curb all those who are better than they themselves are.

Socialism is not in the least what it pretends to be. It is not the pioneer of a better and finer world, but the spoiler of what thousands of years of civilization have created. It does not build, it destroys. For destruction is the essence of it. It produces nothing, it only consumes what the social order based on private ownership in the means of production has created.

Government cannot make man richer, but it can make him poorer.

https://www.rateaquote.com/quoteimg/297638.jpg

4. Ghee only two comments .where are the blp yardfowls
    Question do u agree or not with Mottley now released manifesto which clearly highlights the unreality of Mottley giveaways and sheds light that her plans of giveaway are not ironclad given the fact she stated that she would have to do a review of barbados economy via the IMF report.
    Question if the unreleased IMF report is dire Then how will Mottley source the funding for all the give aways
    Mottley is running a campagain on empty promises when almost daily she is crtical of the high debt and shortfalls in revenue
    To compound the insanity of her giveaways she openly states that her plans must meet a certain criteria depending on the IMF report
    Mottley might be able to sell her wink and wink plans to the foolish and susceptible but her words given last night tells a different story of which path Mottley is ready to take the country

5. Kudos to govt for not hastily releasing the report
    A strategy that did not give the opposition a lead way in compiling the blp manifesto forcing the blp into a corner like blind people writing a plan based on vodoo economics
    Hopefully the govt would release the plan which would expose the insanity and unrealistic plans which the blp has for the country ….a country in debt and most important must depend on a conservative fiscal plan to secure revenue

6. When I said t hat Sinckler was transferring wealth from the poorest in society to the wealthiest, there was not a single voice for or against. Total silence. Now Dumbo Inniss is speaking out. Better late than never.

7. The BLP manifesto represents an attempt to return to the Owen glory giveaway days while living in a “new normal” economy.

Either a recipe for madness or a recipe completely cooked by Washington. Anyone who thinks we can get it both ways are fooling themselves.

Just observing

8. “Either a recipe for madness”

A recipe borne out of deperation
    What is dumbfounding is Mia trying to consoildate a free giveaway plan while telling the populace daily that the country finances are in dire straits which therfore begs the question from where is the money coming from

9. The BLP proposes to abolish road tax and increase the cost of fuel. The cost of business and transport will go up. Will the average citizen be better off? Simple Simon (and all those persons who do not own cars) will now pay more for using public transport. I growing locks because Rastas (as a special group) getting access to large lots of land.

10. Ping Pong May 11, 2018 8:46 AM

The BLP proposes to abolish road tax and increase the cost of fuel…..(Quote)

This is a serious threat to the local environment. It will encourage car ownership, leading to the building of more roads, greater traffic congestion, a threat from lead in the atmosphere and the damage that could do to adolescent brains, and, overall, is a bad (a very bad) idea.
    We need to stop politicians from preaching at us from a platform and come in to a well-chaired meeting and explain their policies.

11. If you do not vote as a law abiding citizen of this country, you have disqualified yourself from any entitlement to hold elected officials accountable on how they run the affairs of this country, similarly, if you sell your vote you still have disqualified yourself from having any entitlement to hold elected officials accountable on how they run the affairs of this country. The time has come to pull the curtains back on this immoral, dishonourable practice. ~ Et Monuit

There are a number of ways that some politicians engage in vote buying:

Blatant exchange of money
    Paying bills
    Buying groceries
    Buying appliances etc.
    Promising jobs (usually not kept)

Your VOTE is invaluable and should not be auctioned off to the highest bidder to then spend the next 5 years facing the same problems.

Make your vote count for real change that benefits you long term! Not handouts but a hand-up away from just surviving to thriving.

VOTE for change that actually delivers!

https://www.facebook.com/SolutionsForBarbados/videos/276357086227244/

12. Hal

I did not make that up.

See “Abolishing Road Tax and replacing it with a more equitable tax on petroleum products.”

I am no economist nor language expert but simple arithmetic suggests the loss in revenue from removing road tax should at least be equal to the revenue gained from the proposed tax on fuel products regardless of how “equitable” it is applied.

The BLP proposes to restore “free” university education. I really hope this can be done but I have heard Mr Mascoll explain how this will be accomplished twice and I am still skeptical. Not being knowledgeable in finance or economics I would appreciate a simple clear explanation on how Government will find the money to restore state paid university education without increasing taxation.

13. @David

Is there a full document of the manifesto, all I can see are thumbnail sketches of promises (It does say a mini manifesto).

14. First Free Yourself from Mental Slavery!!

https://assets-jpcust.jwpsrv.com/thumbs/IRiU6MBQ-720.jpg

15. Aren’t we Tired of Labouring for No Returns…Get a Berry Today and the Government Takes it Tomorrow!

Many people have trouble accepting that Capitalism is a just system because of the existence of economic inequality. It is observed that famous celebrities and sports stars have very large incomes for work that is perceived as trivial, and that many hard working people make incomes which pale in comparison for jobs that are perceived to be a greater benefit to society.

What people must realize is that it is perfectly just for a superstar (like Rihanna), even if they have little or no education, to make a hundred times the income of a scientist who has a Ph.D. and works much longer and strenuous hours. Why? Because they create enormous profits through ticket sales and product endorsements, whereas the scientist generates very little revenue through his research. That is, each of them deserves what they earn, and what they earn is the result of how much wealth each of them creates (Incidentally, this is not to say that the Celebs and Artiste are morally superior to the scientist because they are wealthier).

Since each man has the right to the product of his labor, it is completely just for the disparity in incomes to exist, and the only injustice to occur would be or the government to take money from the athlete and give it to those who supposedly deserve it on the basis of their “need.”

“Sad to see the old slave mill is grinding slow but grinding still…” Slave Mill Damian Marley

https://www.facebook.com/www.roots.farm/videos/511241135890039/

16. @Sargeant

That is the link being circulated, not sure if there is a downloadable option at this stage. This will be advised shortly we are sure.

17. That is the most unbelievably exceptionally amazing manifesto ever in the history of Barbados, possibly the Caribbean or maybe the world. ( Trumpism at work )

Barbados will be like Utopia.

Overseas Bajans will be returning home with their foreign pensions to live in Paradise. #Hants?

MIA and Dionne Warwick. Promises,promises.

18. David’s …………….

Reading of the political calculus is largely correct.

We would expect a misguided DLP to take the opposite position or remain in their political bunker – the first option.

Surely, over recent years they have repeatedly foresworn the IMP option, as centered on the protection of the ‘nominal’ exchange rate regime.

If there is one positive character trait about MAM though, is that she possesses more courage than any other local politician. Sometimes misguidedly so, we must admit. But real political courage nonetheless.

It took massive political balls to tell the people, two weeks before an elections, that the IMF is a possible source for government funding. Credit due!

She has also force the DLP into taking the opposite view. This would also mean going against the considered opinion of OSA – some one not unfriendly to the regime.

Alternatively, the DLP may agree with MAM in order to take the issue off the table, as a second possible option.

But would then have to answer all manner of questions about why this could not have happened before. It would be capitulation. The surrender of the power to rule. It would smack of gross mismanagement.

MAM has effectively located the DLP in a no-win position. Both minority positions, given the mood of the electorate currently.

And knowing the coward, who is FJS, we would argue that the DLP will choose neither option and belligerently pretend to continue with business as usual.

It maybe an election home-run for MAM and her BLP, but not for Barbados. Further escalation of the national debt, regardless of lower interest rates, and with more stringent conditionalities, have the potential of sending the country into bankruptcy.

Notion of ‘re-profiling’, the latest buzzword making the rounds, is of and by itself insufficient to return sanity to public finances.

The last BLP regime in government embarked on a spate of borrowing, creating the genesis of the problems we now have.

Only in circumstances where Bajans take a leap of faith and also come to believe that all of the other grandiose promises being made by the BLP are, in the main doable, would a recommitment to more borrowing mek any sense in the medium term.

We are not so guided.

In the mean time, we should expect the DLP to be singing ‘we shall not be moved’ from their stubborn, entrenched position.

They have been easily outfoxed by MAM. For the unthinking emotionalism of the public yearns for the times of painlessness.

19. @Pacha

Agree with much of what you wrote. The blogmaster recalls the ‘space’ created by the Sandiford in the 90’s yet he was prompted in 2017 to lament – how did we get back here, a reference to the poor state of the economy.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The DLP party should be disbanded permanently. ..

..in a real life scenario with a real judiciary and a real incoming government that will be against theft from the people and corruption at the level it was practiced in the last 10 years…all the former ministers would be charged for various crimes against the people and country, arrested and prosecuted.

21. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ David…Listen I like you could never envision our country in this situation…but from where I am standing we are in some deep sewage and some choose to bury their heads in the sand

Choose to make Barbados great, if you want change be the change!

RECOGNIZE THAT SOCIALISM IS A SLOW PROCESS OF ROT AND DECAY.
    Where is Our Presence System of Governance under Socialism Leading with Unrestrained Taxation?

Capitalism (Free Market System) versus Socialism which Encourages Cronyism and Theft through Taxation!!

We are on a Very Slippery Slope…

Free Markets Create Prosperity.

Socialism Creates Poverty.
    There is Only One Way Out of Poverty
    What’s the best way to help people stuck in poverty get out of poverty?

Arthur Brooks, president of the American Enterprise Institute, shows where conservatives and progressives differ.

https://www.facebook.com/prageru/videos/vb.127225910653607/1343650099011176/?type=2&theater

22. BLP PROMISEs

Introducing comprehensive Integrity legislation to fight and punish corruption, hold Ministers and Board Chairpersons accountable and protect Whistleblowers.

Requiring politicians and key public officials to disclose their assets.

23. I haven’t seen the DLP’s manifesto so I can only offer a critique of the BLP’s “mini manifesto”. This seems to be a trial run to see how it is received in order to make minor adjustments prior to the release of the full document.

Two things that caught my immediate attention (1) QEH – expand the AE Dept. (is that all?) ;(2) Paying for education at UWI- think again if they go to the IMF as promised it will get a “thumbs down” I am also smiling at the “anger management and conflict resolution” classes- (can’t happen soon enough given the daily fights that circulate on social media).

BTW we are slowly inching our way to “Garrison politics” where supporters of the Parties are identified by the colours they wear. In the section “meet the candidates” those pictured with the exception of Holder and Symmonds (they must have missed the memo) are wearing some bit of red clothing, Santia Bradshaw is pictured in front of a garbage skip and some derelict cars (fer gawds sake). This seems to be another BLP hiccup not providing photos of all the candidates in a section titled “meet the candidates” e.g. placing a billboard of a candidate in a constituency of another candidate. A quick glance at the DLP website shows that their candidates are similarly decked out in yellow.

24. Ping Pong May 11, 2018 9:11

I have enormous respect for Mr Mascoll, who I am on record as saying is the best public economist in Barbados, certainly when compared with Owen Arthur and the current generation of young Turks (including Marla) who aspire to his crown.
    But Barbados (nor any growing Caribbean economy) cannot afford ‘free’ higher education. It is like peeing in the wind. This is a nonsense first articulated by Barrow as a political slogan but simple minded voters took it literally. If we are to have a graduate in every home, another political slogan, how are we going to pay for this?
    Again I say, instead of politicians getting on political platforms and preaching down to us, they need to explain their policies. This is where good journalism comes in and good local communities should ab inviting all the candidates to sit down and talk in a community centre or school hall.
    If in doubt, don’t vote for any party. These proposals are hints at what a party will be like once elected. Now is the time to hold their feet to the fire.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The challenge associated with publishing a manifesto is that your competitors (and don’t fool yourselves this is what these are – competitors in a game to manage the resources of the country) get the chance to see and copy your best proposals and berate you for your worst ones

Having a printed one even an electronically generated pdf irrespective of password protection, exposes one to the same types of plagiarism

So on the one side you have a bevy of intellectually starved idiots waiting to copy other people’s ideas to feed to what is an equally starved population

Because let’s face it, even if Mascoll were to get it right about how to balance the economy, a thing which his proposals seem vague about, the real issue is how do we 1. Effectively address unnecessary imports 2. Create an efficaious substition import programme 3. Diversify our mono-economy and 4. Relegate government to its correct role of facilitator AND NOT COMPETITOR AGAINST THE CITIZENRY OF BARBADOS

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ping Pong May 11, 2018 8:46 AM
    “The BLP proposes to abolish road tax and increase the cost of fuel. The cost of business and transport will go up. Will the average citizen be better off? Simple Simon (and all those persons who do not own cars) will now pay more for using public transport. I growing locks because Rastas (as a special group) getting access to large lots of land.”

So why not look at the ‘up’ side of the proposal?

A claim was once made by a senior officer of the major law enforcement agency that there were an estimated 30,000 unregistered/untaxed vehicles on the road.

Wouldn’t such a regime automatically bring those vehicles, real or imagined, into the tax net at the point of sale of gasoline and diesel?

Don’t you think such a switch to collecting the rod tax upfront might prove to be more efficient and effective?

And the calculation of that ‘specific’ tax on motor vehicle fuels can be based on the model which simply takes the current budgeted revenues from road tax and divide it by the actual quantity of diesel and gasoline imported by the BNTCL for the previous year to arrive at notional cost per litre to be added to the cost of fuel at the pump.

Why not look at another bright of side of the proposal which can be found in practice in other jurisdictions and see the possibility of encouraging people to switch to hybrid or electric powered vehicles for domestic or private use?

We can also identify significant savings in administrative costs at the BRA and timesaving by vehicle owners currently burdened with the task of an annual trek to the BRA just to get a piece of paper that fades before the year expires. Doesn’t productivity mean anything in Barbados?

The only possible major concern is what would replace the built-in check/control the annual renewal of the road tax currently applies to the number of uninsured (third party) vehicles on the roads.

27. @ pieceuhderockyeahright my BU friend,

One thing that concerns me is this promise.

“Re-profiling Barbados’ debt by renegotiating existing obligations,”

https://www.peoplesmanifesto.info/2-dealing-with-the-debt-choking-our-economy-by/

What if renegotiation fails ?

28. @Hal Austin May 11, 2018 10:31 AM “I have enormous respect for Mr Mascoll, who I am on record as saying is the best public economist in Barbados, certainly when compared with Owen Arthur and the current generation of young Turks (including Marla) who aspire to his crown. But Barbados (nor any growing Caribbean economy) cannot afford ‘free’ higher education.”

But hal, you and I both know, just as all sensible people know that there is no free lunch, no free education. If my little Susie paid $38,000 in income tax last year, $800 in property tax, and 17 1/2% VAT on virtually everything we know that education is not now, has never been, and can never be free.

I wish that politicians (all parties) would not use the term free. I wish they would just honestly use the term “tax funded”

And then we ask ourselves how much tax we are willing and able to pay, and then we pay, so that the younger generation can be educated, can thrive, can contribute.

29. Hal Austin
    May 11, 2018 8:04 AM

When I said t hat Sinckler was transferring wealth from the poorest in society to the wealthiest, there was not a single voice for or against. Total silence. Now Dumbo Inniss is speaking out. Better late than never.

I am assuming you mean riches!!!

How do you transfer something some one does not have to someone else?

What riches do the poorest in society possess that can be transferred to anyone?

Wealth however, cannot be transferred!!

It is something that is present within.

What Donville is saying is that the Private Sector should give more of its riches to Government so Government can help the “poorest in society”!!

A fascist ideology!!

https://www.thebalance.com/fascism-definition-examples-pros-cons-4145419

30. It took massive political balls to tell the people, two weeks before an elections, that the IMF is a possible source for government funding. Credit due
    ++++++++++
    No courage due, this is politics get all the bad stuff out of the way early and you can blame your opponent while the victory is still fresh. The IMF gambit will ensure that the DLP reap the spoils of the fallout that it entails.

It is better to act and repent than not to act and regret (Machiavelli)

31. Fools rush in without understanding the simple Arithmetic regarding the idea to abolish road tax. Over four years ago, I submit this notion where owners of vehicles will pay a small tax every time you purchase fuel for your vehicle (Let’s look at a 2% fee) Suppose you purchase $100.00 in fuel per week, you will pay a tax of $2.00 extra which is like paying Road Tax in weekly installments. You will pay only $8.00 in taxes for per month. The fundamental reason of removing this burdensome one-time payment for Road Tax is to reduce the pain that private and commercial owners having to dig up yearly to pay that lump sum. However, you must bear in mind that the more you drive, the more taxes government will collect. With that out of the way, police will only stop you for Insurance and drivers’ license and Government will receive payment from every vehicle owner in Barbados as Road Tax payment. I agree wholeheartedly with that creative move.

32. The Miller

How many taxes, duties, other impositions do we already have on petroleum products? Is she going to choke this choke-point to death?

Why can’t your lover go all the way, and abolish private vehicles instead of the continuing slow march, as part of taxing the population to death, as been the aim of the current regime?

Separately, we noticed that the much vaunted oil and gas exploration prospects which was raised recently does not featured, thus far.

David Thompson had told us, after the 2008 elections, that ‘there was no oil’, his words. Yet BLP pundits like to cite this fiction. A fiction made popular by MAM at the end of the last BLP regime..

33. @Freedom Crier May 11, 2018 7:45 AM “The only purpose of Government would be to protect its citizens from force or fraud.”

Why?

Why for example is it necessary for a government to protect a grown man from force or fraud.

But not immunize an infant against measles?

i say let grown men use their muscles to protect themselves from force, and their brains to protect themselves against fraud.

Silly right wing people, parrotting nonsense.

34. John May 11, 2018 10:49 AM

You certainly don’t seem to understand. And if you do not understand now, you will never understand. I suggest you stick to Barbadian and Quaker history.

35. Hants May 11, 2018 10:44 AM

What if renegotiation fails ?(Quote)

Then default and take the lashes.

36. @Observing May 11, 2018 8:27 AM “The BLP manifesto represents an attempt to return to the Owen glory giveaway.”

We understand that there are no giveaways. We understand that WE THE TAXPAYERS PAY FOR EVERYTHING, including the salaries and pensions of all politicians past and present, and widows benefits to long, long, LONG dead politicians, none of whom worked and paid taxes for 43 years like I did.

Stupseee!!!

37. Freedom Crier Avatar

Simple I agree with the first part of what you said… Simple Simon May 11, 2018 10:44 AM “there is no free lunch, no free education. If my little Susie paid $38,000 in income tax last year, $800 in property tax, and 17 1/2% VAT on virtually everything we know that education is not now, has never been, and can never be free”…
    Then you ended by saying…”And then we ask ourselves how much tax we are willing and able to pay, and then we pay, so that the younger generation can be educated, can thrive, can contribute”.

Taxation is Not Voluntary, Taxes are taken by Force we do not have a say as to how much we are willing and able to pay…they are grave penalties if we do not pay up…It is not Governments Responsibility to send people to University at the Taxpayers Expense and it is not the Taxpayers responsibility to pay for those who say they want to go to university…Nor is it the Responsibility to install a Sub -King as in Mr.Beckles and build his Kingdom to teach people Arts & Humanities which is an unemployable Job.

If taxation was not so high there would be more Philanthropy… But there is little left to exist on so people look to the State as their Shepherd.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/ef/5c/09/ef5c09bf7aab57c3fcaad69e5dbe318b.jpg

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

No sooner that te old man spoken of the bevy of our illiterate citizenry than you wrote “…But Barbados (nor any growing Caribbean economy) cannot afford ‘free’ higher education. It is like peeing in the wind…”

I should again wish to point the intellectual stragglers among you to what serious tertiary institutions have done and continue to do

You and other stragglers on from the antediluvian ages would be well advised to review the value of purpose designed university research institutes

IN fact, given that you are one if the Bajan UK I’D carriers we old man would point you to the Intellect Property portfolios of several UK universities like that of the University of Liverpool so that you might get your intellectual compass in gear

The University of The West Indies Cave Hill has long languished under intellectually deficient Deans and Pro Vice Chancellors

We live in a world where tenured professorial staff are engaged in serious initiatives, activities that are designed and built on self supporting laurels , and not our local, esconsed, parasitical existences- this old boy network and gregarious groupie congregation for masturbation.

39. We understand that the politicians don’t gi we nutten.

We understand, especially those of us who have spent a lifetime working in the private sector that we support ourselves, and we understand that in addition we support the politicians as well.

Because allpoliticians feed at the the trough that is continually replenished by the blood, sweat, tears, labour and dollars of the taxpayers.

They live offa WE. We don’t live offa DEM.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama May 11, 2018 11:00 AM

If the Miller had his way there would be a very heavy penalty to pay for the ownership of vehicles for private use with a policy of restricting ownership to one (1) vehicle per household.

Barbados is a flat 2×3 tropical island which ought to be accommodating cycles (both pedal and motorised) instead of vehicles more suited for autobahns.

Why not develop a well organized and regulated public transport system suited to the requirements of a Barbados in the 21st century which likes to pretend to be concerned about the environment?

41. These are laudable goals but AFTER the country finances and debt has been reduced, and foreign reserves stabilized. Restructured debt still has to be repaid.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

it is easy…..debt reprofiling…a term used by, and suggested by, the MoF….why? The majority of the debt to be reprofiled is owned by local institutions like the NIS.

@Mariposa
    “did not give the opposition a lead way in compiling the blp manifesto forcing the blp into a corner like blind people writing a plan based on vodoo economics”

What a fucking idiot you can be. To hell with the opposition, what about any person/group which wants to know the ACTUAL and ACCURATE status of the Barbadian public debt. It is called forcing the people of Barbados into a corner. Gross mismanagement of the financial public economy, lack of reporting, and nobody has an effing clue what is accurate. And you are now proud of this…because it forces the opposition into a corner? You should be ashamed of yourself.

43. Freedom Crier Avatar

Taxes, if stealing 100% of the Product of someone else labour at what percentage is it not Slavery?

What Percentage of Your Income Equates To Serfdom

90%? 80%? 50%?

http://i.imgur.com/MbcUD.jpg

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Trust John Liesalot to be the idiot in the room..Dumbville said in english…that millions if taxpayer’s dollars that should have gone to find university education, the government instead gave to the licorish hand to mouth thieves in the private sector…no degrees needed to understand that..of course he ismtoo ashaned to mention the hundreds of millions more in tax dollars and pensioners money, stolen to prop up the other hand to mouth thieves like Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham, Maloney et al..

It is long past time to cut off all the minority thieves permanently from money belonging to taxpayers and pensioners.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

…..that millions of taxpayer’s dollars …

….of course he is too ashamed to mention….

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

…that should have gone to fund university education for the children of taxpayers….

ac yardfowl mariSopa is an under educated jackass.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Honourable Blogmaster

Grateful if you retrieve a post from suspense thank you

48. The Miller

We agree with you, totally!

49. What i am not proud of the illogical and unrealistic plans Mia has laid out knowning full well that the barbados economy is underfinancial strain and needs afiscal plan that is feasible and economincally sound
    Mottley ought to ashamed of herself to lay out plan that cannot be sustainable or sound
    After all was it not Mottley ringing the doom and gloom bell
    Now all of a sudden as if she has a magic wand to perform a abbacarraba thedebt would disappear and money would start falling like manna from above

####:: shaming Mottley

50. Groundhog Day playing out again.
    See you in five where we will once again believe the solution is selecting the other arm of the BDLP