I can go further back to ’86 when Richie offered unlimited home repairs as a write off on income tax and David Thompson in 94 invited all and sundry to Queens Park where he was going to read an IMF letter written to Owen Arthur and Sandy in 91 countering Henry’s facts that thousands of public workers going home post election, by saying not a man going home, the economy performing like Garry Sobers..All a bunch ‘o liars worse than Ananias.

One of the major disappointments of the blogmaster 19 days from election day has been the level of discussion by those representing the political parties, supporters AND the general population about the issues affecting the country. The concern is given context when one considers the economy has been in a perpetual state of flux for nigh ten years and the social landscape has been deteriorating. So disappointed has the blogmaster been, there is no fire in the belly to comment on political issues in recent days.

One would have thought with the Governor of the Central Bank confirming what all sensible Barbadians already know i.e. that all economic indicators support the view that the economy is in stall fall mode, it would have unleashed a torrent of commentary from independent voices on the Hill, NGOs and wider society.  Instead we have the leading media house in Barbados overseeing the punctilious exercise of being ‘balanced’. It should not be about being balanced if the mandate of the media is to play the watchdog’ role, the channels of the news media can function to promote government transparency, accountability, and public scrutiny of decision-makers in power, by highlighting policy failures, maladministration by public officials, corruption in the judiciary, and scandals in the corporate sector.21 Since …Sep 15, 2007 1 Chapter 8 The Fourth Estate What is the role of the free press in …

Clearly the ministers lining up to call the media houses on the eve of a general election is opportunistic and should be dealt a retaliatory response by saying NO, we are not fools, pay for your message. The number of homeless people and vagrants to be seen in Bridgetown and its historic environs is a sure sign the mantra of the incumbent government  is a mythical concoction meant to deceive a gullible public if for no other reason it has been unable to implement.

The blogmaster has resigned himself to the view that the politics of bombast is preferred by Barbadians. The colourful political vernacular utilized by the politician on the platform; the theatrics, stokes the excitement for many who eagerly look forward to sitting on folding chairs in the ‘dew’ and listen to platform speakers deliver bunkum and balderdash.  Is this why Prime Minister Freundel increased tertiary level cost to Barbadians because he assessed that it was money better spent in other areas?

Unlike many the blogmaster will be meticulously read the social contracts of BOTH parties, otherwise described as manifestos, to determine if there is a new thinking which is required to lead Barbados out of the economic and social morass the country remains firmly lodged since 2009 .

In the next few days thousands will venture out in the night air with the expectation the party their support will deliver the Queen’s Park or Haggatt Hall bombshell message. Will we ever Rh learn?

There is a tide in the affairs of mean, Which taken at the flood, leads on the fortune; Omitted, all the voyage of their life is bound in shallows and in miseries.

• William Shakespeare

62 responses to “Politics of Bombast and Bombshells Preferred”

1. Well said, you can’t sell Jaguars when the majority of the market want a Suzuki. Ellis is a hypocrite, balance my tail. The current situation demands robust and honest debate, but Ellis facilitating ministers calling in and only making themselves look foolish.

2. The Election campaign could be set to music from “Queen” the band not the Monarch :

First is Under Pressure on you know who

Then “Radio Gaga” the title not the lyrics for the drivel from the platform, media and blogs by the usual suspects

As the campaign comes to an end there is “Another one bites the dust”

Finally, on Election night some party supporters will sing

3. Very intetesting trend of thought. However i got the sense that the article lends itself to specfic topical current or trending views which in your opinion should be of foremost in the mind of the people
    Unfortunately political topics and views lend them self to a philosophy of self interest and whose interest serves betterment as part of campagain strategy
    In one of my comments i asserted a fact that the barbadian populace interest is bent on a hardened and comfortable belief of self interest and the noticeable size im revenue decline does not lend itself to how they make ends meet
    The blp philosphy of pursuing ideas that the average bajan does not understand is a fait au complit

###:##::# the sweeter the bait the bigger the catch

4. Heard a comment this week from a concerned Barbadian on the talk show that resonated. He asked why has government not legislated the purchase of solar powered vehicles OR commission those with small engine size (cc). A simple suggestion which makes so much sense. The blogmaster adds construct strategically located solar powered stations to ‘refuel’ vehicles. Not only does it allow government to lead by example, it reduces expenses and foreign exchange.

5. “.So disappointed has the blogmaster that there is no fire in the belly to comment on political issues in recent days.”

None of the BDLP wants to win. Even the yardfowls are giving a half-hearted effort.

Fatted cow looks magga and full of ‘disease’.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you are indeed a harsh critic…but balance is ALWAYS good.

Even the PERCEPTION of balance even is truly desirable. Lacking that perception the calls of a biased or fake media are loudly made in attempts to mute the impact of that ” mandate of the media … to play the ‘watchdog’ role” of which you so boldly speak.

We can’t have it both ways Mr Blogmaster.

Your asessment of “.. the ministers lining up to call the media houses on the eve of a general election is opportunistic […] we are not fools, pay for your message” obscures the other business angle about which you speak!

Surely it’s not lost on you that payment comes in different forms. A heightened political season can demand either higher rates for ads (regular ones) at this time or more generally drive higher audience participation which translate to significantly higher annual advertising audit metrics. That in turn allows the media house to increase overall ad rates for the next Starcom budgeting year. In the absence of more paid political ads rather than the ministers’ speak money is still being made now or later!

All that to say that indeed we may in fact be “the fools” … as the nuances in this “game” are many.

Case in point: Despite all the political harangue in US market, the ad revenues during political campaigns go through the roof … despite the fake media tag, media houses like NYT and MSNBC hosts in particular have enjoyed tremendous revenue growth from subscriptions and greatly improved viewership respectively , all from balanced news and opinion (thus biased) reporting on the political going ons. And all of them do a significant amount of free minister/political hacks interviews in their space.

Ellis and his counterparts at the Nation basically do a miniature replication of that …because like the others they have a business to run to make money. Politics is one of their best products to ‘sell’….

Thus even as they beat up on the politicians and their shenanigans they shamelessly use them to generate interest to sell advertising.

Watchdog, you say…well yes, but the dog must be fed in order to be a diligent watcher…What wonders to behold!😐🙃

7. I know some are trying to keep it on a higher plane. I admire them and hope they stick to the task. Without men/women of your caliber there would be no hope of a future. Stay dedicated, stay proud, don’t let the naysayers like myself get you down. Barbados first.

8. Was the blog master downplaying the role of manifesto last week
    Et tu brute

9. I hope that is/was latin

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, excellent point/query at 9:06.

Why indeed has that not been a driving (cheap pun) aspect of our tranportation growth on the island!

Cost in a big deterrent I am sure but yet its a case study worth the review.

11. @Dee Word

The reason is that the owners of the retail and distributive sectors control the economy as far as campaign financing, jobs and by extension influence on the politicians.

12. @Dee Word

Well aware there is a business model Ellis has to satisfy. Therein is the conundrum. It is why people like Pacha will remain sceptical of the establishment.

13. I know this is not Latin
    Politicalus Barbadicus yardfowlicus will always puzzle us

A study is needed

14. Do I REALLY want to hear about the many serious issues facing Barbados? The economy, crime, growing poverty, environmental degradation, demographic collapse, unemployment, water scarcity, uncertain food supply, chronic diseases and the list goes on????

Hell no!!! My stress level is already too high just trying to make ends meet as it is.

Give me funny photo shopped images, clever campaign songs, hilarious videos, salacious gossip and scathing commentary on political opponents. I need the comedic relief.

15. @Ping Pong

The blogmaster feels your pain.

So many good ideas are out there.

Here is another, an integrated government database that makes it easy for one department to interrogate the central data base to take business facilitation in government to the next level. In this regard minister Donville Inniss and government has failed.

16. The state of inertia and ineptitude that has blanketed Barbados for the last 10 years can only be tackled with visionary leadership.
    There is a remnant with fire in their bellies who will emerge to engender hope and map out a way forward for the country that we love.
    On this “cinco de Mayo “,
    That shift will happen.
    See you at Weymouth.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David May 5, 2018 9:16 AM
    “Heard a comment this week from a concerned Barbadian on the talk show that resonated. He asked why has government not legislated the purchase of solar powered vehicles OR commission those with small engine size (cc). A simple suggestion which makes so much sense. The blogmaster adds construct strategically located solar powered stations to ‘refuel’ vehicles. Not only does it allow government to lead by example, it reduces expenses and foreign exchange.”

This proposal has been discussed on BU before but with little or no traction.

There is absolutely NO need for Bajans to be using scarce forex to import vehicles in excess of 1600 c.c’s for private or domestic use on their country’s makeover cart roads.

Our Canadian colleague, “Hants” has been distinctly one of the contributors instrumental in pushing it to the fore but with little notice from the powers-that-be.

It has been argued before that the government, despite all the Alternative Energy PR, has little interest in seeing its taxation cash cow (fossil fuels like gasoline and diesel) go up in smoke.

How difficult would it be to convert pump islands at the Central Purchasing depot to charging stations to facilitate the new breed of electric Mercedes Benz, BMWs and top of the line SUVs allocated to the parasites so precisely identified by “Tron”, my friend of similar thought?

Too besides, (to take grammatical liberties like Jeff C.) what would BL&P do with its Spring Garden dinosaur? What would happen if the BWA, QEH and other large government –managed institutions go off grid during the day?

How can the Government of Barbados- paradoxically possessed with all the attributes of a small island developing state (SIDS) to make it extremely vulnerable to the vagaries and exigencies of climate change arising from the excessive use of fossil fuels- promote a programme of offshore drilling for fossil-based fuels as a plank for economic sustainability while pushing an agenda of Alternative Energy to help fight the battle against the same climate change?

18. @Miller

Will we see this in the manifesto of the two main parties? Will citizens who want to go the route of solar powered or hybrid vehicles receive the tax benefit to support?

19. People are so tired of the pain and pressure that they have been under for the last ten years that they are tired talking.

I think people have made up their minds what they are going to do and are just waiting. I met a friend yesterday who is a dem and is in the financial sector and he told me ……no boy…….not this time …….I cannot votes for the dems…….they have screwed up this country and it is affecting my ability to get sales and earn a decent dollar!

20. The pitbull looked so ignorant on DLPTV last night ranting and raving. Really sick of dem!

Now sewage has been flowing on the south coast for months and we have not heard a word from him. He suddenly has gotten up and now up in my face shouting propaganda…..something sabotaging the sewage system.

Tell me why would someone do that………..he really thinks that only dems are Barbadians? RH …JA.

The GM comes out and says water rates will go up…..so now at not to upset voters more…….he says there are no discussions on rate hikes…….yeah right …….just like not one pyblic servant is going home.

Bloody losers and liars!

21. Prodigal,i heard the Minister shouting and I was not impressed.This man said nothing in Parliament or went to meet with the residents as far as I know ,on this sewerage issue similar to the water problem in St Joseph and now on the eve of an Election wants people to come to a polictical meeting to hear him,utter rubbish.On another note heard Mr Ellis talking about balance and not using the program for politicking.This is the same Mr Ellis that hired Dems like Mr marshall.Mr Jemmott,Ms Munroe-Knight ,Ms Hind-Layne,Ms Holder,Ms Watson,Mr Husbands,Mr Corbin,and Ms McClean,and facilited the Trini Dem,Ms Undecided,The Taxi man,Mr P,Ms P,Straker,s Tenantry among others?Where was the balance then.Mr Ellis you are aDem in my opinion trying hard to appear neutral but you ain,t fooling me,i listen to you carefully as I like you as a moderator,but I have a question for you what is the position with Mr Wickham,?You need to answer this question up front the next time you are on air.

22. David
    Are solar powered cars commercially available? On electric vehicles, it is not just about tax concessions on importation but also the infrastructure to support the vehicles, for example who would be responsible for providing EVCPs? In any event, a focus on electric vehicles must form part of a broad transport strategy that also looks at public transportation, streets, cycling and walking. Forex is savings is but one part of the equation, air quality is the other.

23. @enuff

Agree but with the relevant concession to dealers and others from government the cost of the vehicles will drop and charging stations will proliferate.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, is there any real discussiin of solar powered vehicles? The issue is of course the vIability of EVs which are of course commercially viable and available.

Your remark per “In any event, a focus on electric vehicles must form part of a broad transport strategy […] Forex is savings is but one part of the equation, air quality is the other.” sounds like the sweet political sound bite.

From all that has been discussed in Barbados going all the way back to the seminal work done by Prof Heatley on solar/alternative energy sources and even the work by other local UWI experts on reefs, oceanography and alternative systems from that end one would expect your assertion to have been looooong ago integrated to our strategic outlook as a key tourism component.

A country or govt that can’t appreciate the vital importance of well maintained sewerage systems surely are lost at sea in implement huge incentives to have vehicle fleets as hybrids with the intent to move to more EV systems in as timely a manner as possible.

Maybe the sea spray plays more havoc of EV tech or some such tribulation because otherwise it is shocking we have not implemented any such systems in a meaningful way and boast as a tourist destination of becoming an alternative energy showpiece.

25. ”One of the major disappointments of the blogmaster 19 days from election day has been the level of discussion by those representing the political parties, supporters AND the general population about the issues affecting the country. ”

Mr.BlogMaster,

Look, most people here only care if they have the capacity to obtain, by one method or another, for example, a conDo on the watErfront in Toronto, or say, own a gated comMunity in Toronto, or a company in Miami that sells pipes, or some property in Engerlund.

Yuh tink we care bout sumting else?

Ho ho hum, yuh tink Jack Sparrow is de onliest pirate bout the Caribbean?

26. Maybe the sea spray plays more havoc of EV tech or some such tribulation because otherwise it is shocking we have not implemented any such systems in a meaningful way and boast as a tourist destination of becoming an alternative energy showpiece.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Sea spray shiite!!!

Does sea spray also explain why we would shut down Almond Beach Hotel and bring in Sandals?
    …or sell of BNB to the Trickidadians? ….or BL&P to the Canadians? ….or BS&T to Massy?…
    Does it explain Estwick digging up sugar cane and planting river tamarind…?
    Does it tell you why Stinkliar imposed a tipping fee – and now spends more cleaning up cart roads and gullies that the fee collects?
    Does it explain these politicians aggressively restoring THEIR salaries – while public workers scrunt?

Skippa…
    Only ONE thing can POSSIBLY explain such jackassery….
    A spiritual curse in our donkeys…

Bushie would NOT be surprise to see some of the leading &$#@&s dribbling and mumbling to themselves by the Treasury building soon…
    …after elections….

27. Natalee is going to win Bridgetown!!!

28. depdantic

Political sound bite? Boss I am talking about what I KNOW works and how EVCPs are provided. I am not politician.

29. Crusoe May 5, 2018 1:15 PM

If there is any justice, Natalee should win the City.

30. Anyone that supports Natalee winning the City shows his/her disdain for the people of the City.

31. Enuff, the current DEM’s have shown and continue to show disdain for us ALL.

32. Bushmaster,
    You are doing a wonderful job of separating the wheat from the chaffe

These jokers would make you think it is a high performing machine that missed a beat, or a newborn baby without a history

33. Crusoe

isn’t that why the majority here on BU against them being returned to power? So your point?

34. TheBDLP is of the mindset that it should be B or D. Third parties and independents need not try. The enemy of my enemy is my enemy.

35. TheoGazerts

Governing is a serious matter, where Barbados is now is a serious matter, this is certainly not the time for revenge and fantasy. I am still awaiting your progressive policy ideas. All RH hot air and contradictions.

36. @Bush Tea May 5, 2018 1:14 PM

Calm down! In my cynical personal textbook of Barbadian history Grand Old Barrow stated, he and his party will make sure that one day Barbadians wake up and the island is sold out 😉

And this day is not far away. So Barrow´s party just kept the promise made in 1966.

37. In the words of those who have more flesh in the game than I do… I not giving wanna any ideas before wunnah steal them

Dude,ask those who are competing for your vote for the ideas… I am running to/for/from nothing

Hot air is those meetings you attend

38. @ Bush Tea,

circa 1977, SOLAR POWERED AIR CONDITIONING. MOA building in Graeme Hall.

Wha happen ?

” Since 1974, Solar Dynamics has been at the forefront of development of solar hot water systems for residential and commercial use.”

It is now 2018. Wha happen ?

” Warm and sunny! Barbados weather is generally warm and sunny all year round with an average daytime high of 30°C / 86°F. In fact, Barbados has over 3,000 hours of sunshine each year ”

I am waiting to see if any of the political parties will make alternative energy a priority.

39. Fantasy is thinking that after 50 years of BDLP bad management, theBDLP has a solution

40. I frown on the BDLP, but one arm of the duopoly wants to shut me down… power hungry?? V

41. Enuff May 5, 2018 1:24 PM

Disdain?

42. That would be a badge of honor.

43. Common entrance exam is Tuesday. CXC exams start Monday. Thanks to the BLP anyone in a half mile radius of Weymouth will not be able to study for the rest of today maybe even tomorrow.

The Dems will have their turn tomorrow to disturb all the homes around the stadium.

44. These power hungry people who thinks that the other guy messed up so badly, they should automatically get a turn at bat.

With their one of two mentality, they try to run others off the field.

Slim pickings on both sides …

45. Theogazerts
    Lmao, I don’t know who wants to shut you down, certainly not me. It would only be fantasy if the alternatives were not promising a 10% flat tax, ISO9001 as the solution to everything, a US$250,000 fine if its members renege on their policies or similar policies to the “duopoly”. The City of Bridgetown is the capital city of Barbados, its concerns do not revolve solely around picking up garbage.

46. If memory serves the Arthur BLP Manifesto included a promise to create a tax benefit to encourage Barbadians to save towards educating their children. With skyrocketing cost of education and the inability of government to pay the bills this appears to be a good idea. Hopefully Mia will roll it over in the 2018 budget. In fact if the DLP ‘steals’ the idea this will be acceptable as well.

47. We do not need any CXC. What can the children do with a CXC? NOTHING.

There are no academic jobs in Barbados anymore beyond the lazy, highly dysfunctional civil service. Offshore Financing is vanishing, banks soon leaving Barbados.

Children should learn how to use the machete for future battles against the drug soldiers in Saint Michael North West.

48. There are so many countries including some in Europe which have solar generated power.India runs a large airport with enough solar energy left over to supply thousands of surrounding homes.Barbados is blessed with solar,wind and wave energy and with the expertise to harness.Hawaii has thousands of solar energized homes.The USA similarly.Barbados seem to be hamstrung by one sided clauses imbedded in certain foreign owned companies which prevent us from having a better handle on our financial resources the opportunity cost of which is a hindrance to our development.Its these cowardly approaches to development that spell danger in a democracy because an informed and educated citizenry will support the first guy or gal who is willing to take the bull by the horns,stop the lip service and take control of the commanding heights of the economy.

49. David May 5, 2018 2:19 PM

If memory serves the Arthur BLP Manifesto included a promise to create a tax benefit to encourage Barbadians to save towards educating their children. With skyrocketing cost of education and the inability of government to pay the bills this appears to be a good idea. Hopefully Mia will roll it over in the 2018 budget. In fact if the DLP ‘steals’ the idea this will be acceptable as well.(Quote)

Another example of Arthur’s failure to manage the economy competently. I dealt with this issue in one of my Notes….A fiscal policy initiative would have been fairly basic: every child would be entitled to an educational savings fund from free: earned income would be invested, allowed to grow tax free, and withdrawals at age 18 would also be tax free.
    That sis the role of government.
    The other part would be the responsibility of the financial institutions, banks and insurance companies in the main, who would offer the products, the design and management of which would be the responsibility of the companies, under close supervision from as the regulator and an investment protection fund.
    Such an initiative would have served two key purposes: the financialisation of the small and medium business sector; and, more importantly, would have gone somewhere towards resolving the controversial issue of the funding of higher education.

50. Notes From a Native Son: The Role of Education Policy in Development Part One

Posted on June 13, 2013 by David 83 comments

Introduction: The immediacy of the financial economic crisis facing Barbados is so important that there is a real danger of this single issue crowding out other equally important social and cultural policy initiatives, many of them far more important to the long-term development of the nation and its people. But, for a variety of reasons, including the routine acceptance of mediocrity, politicians,

Read more

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Notes From a Native Son: The Role of Education Policy in Development Part Two

Posted on June 20, 2013 by David 59 comments

Introduction: Globally, a greater proportion of privately educated pupils go on to higher education than those educated in the public education system. Not only does this simple empirical reality does not take a lot of analysis and can be explained in a way many of us will understand, its simplicity also hides a lot of generational advantages; for example, it

Read more