Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Tomorrow will be the last sitting of parliament before it is dissolved.  Under the Constitution of Barbados the Prime Minister can- and it appears he will- extend his government into the 90 day unchartered discretionary period within which a general election must be called.  This decision by the government to loiter in Government House against a less than stellar performance and deteriorating social landscape without calling for a mandate from the people, has seen a crescendo of public debate about when will the general election be called. The delay serves to deflate an already low confidence level by civil society which comingles with the notion that not much gets done in a lame duck period of government. The Stuart government seeks to prove 20 million Frenchmen wrong.

Since Barbados weaned itself from under the Union Jack it has nurtured a reputation of being a politically stable country, in fact a model studied by the world. That this government would rupture a well earned reputation by a wanton disregard for the niceties and conventions of a system of government we claim to follow is a worry. The reality is that when parliament is dissolved all ‘seats’ are declared vacant. The Cabinet will continue to function in their roles but without the oversight of parliament. This is where abuse of power can be questioned. Is it worth the reputational damage to secure a couple months in office during a time when it is accepted that the country will mark time until the genera election is over?

In an interesting parallel albeit ironic that the ruling communist party of China plans to remove the 10 year restriction on the president. If achieved it will see the all powerful President Jinping continuing in office possibly for life. Experts opine that this is China’s signal to the world that it has no interest in dismantling a system of government which has served it well enough to be the global power economic superpower it has become. The flipside to the irony unfolding in China was the decision by the UK government in 2011 to impose fixed term elections every five years. The Act allows for a variation if by a two thirds majority a no confidence vote is successful.

If we examine the decision by Stuart against what is unfolding in China  by following a path which precedent and convention in our Wesminsterlike model of government does not support, AND, one that departs from the decision taken by the UK government in 2011 to impose fixed term elections then it is clear Barbados is playing the Rh with how we govern.

It is instructive President David Granger of Guyana declined to attend the 38th HOGs Summit in Haiti but Prime Minister Freundel Stuart essays no similar concerns with foreign reserves at about 4 weeks and the country gripped in abeyance.

It is also instructive that members of the Stuart Cabinet would have allowed partisan politics to define  the non existent legacy they richly deserve.

186 responses to “Stuart Going Where His Predecessors Failed to Tread”

1. Breaking News

On Saturday night February 24, 2018 it was announced that Barbadians will go to the polls on March 21, 2018.

Alas, Prodigirl gets her wish !

2. David

The hogwash you have presided over in the article above – clearly demonstrates to all & sundry that you are schooled in gobbley gook and not Parliamentary procedures !

But keep on fooling yourself !!

3. @ David wrote, “Under the Constitution of Barbados the Prime Minister can- and it appears he

will extend his government into the 90 day uncharted discretionary period within which a

general election must be called.”

3 months is a very short time. MIA the queen bee can wait for her coronation.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Barbadians or Barbudians…a minor typo.
    The PM was reportedly in Haiti on Sat 24th…..did the King pronounce this to the porcelain throne in his ensuite?

5. @Hants

In the context of the Barbados economy and social landscape the 3 months is a long time. Bear in mind the key stakeholders are not on the same page. The government can rollout all the polices and borrow all the money available at roughneck terms. It will not change anything. The market lacks confidence and is marking time.

6. Dale Marshall

5 hrs ·

So…the DLP administration has waited until they have only 4 working days left in their second term to bring to Parliament a Bill entitled the Public Procurement Act, 2018!

It is stated to be a Bill that “would regulate public procurement and in particular promote integrity, fairness, transparency, value for money and efficiency in public procurement.”

Now they want to bring this law!!

They didn’t think it was necessary when Minister Dennis Lowe and Minister Michael Lashley were driving around 5 Series BMWs that we’re registered to Transtech, a company that is a major provider of goods and services to statutory corporations controlled by them!!

What about the tremendous breaches in procurement practices uncovered by the Public Accounts Committee?

Now they bringing this law?

I don’t think that this will fool anybody except themselves!!😂

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Despite trying to use the schools ministers attended to gain sympathy, Fruendel and his government will not be reelected, no one is that stupid, no matter which schools they attended all those ministers would have still failed and remained mediocre, it is their lot in life.

Fractured and Failed…Mia now only needs to follow through, she gained a lot of respect from the
    Public for exposing government corruption and criminality, it is easy for her to lose all that respect before and after the election if she does not remain consistent and truthful to the population.

How ya like that, it does not now seem like such a good idea holding the country to ransom, under siege and loitering in parliament trying to coerce and force reelection now does it, yall are pariahs and parasites…get going.

The longer yall stay, the worse it gets with shit freely flowing in the streets, the central bank reserves will soon be zero, the stadium and other buildings are eye sores on the landscape, schools are closing….and the list is growing by the day..

…. investors want nothing to do with any of you so forget collecting anymore bribe money….am sure ya know self confessed election bribers Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham, Cow et al have already cut ties looking for their next weak house negros to corrupt, bribe and use as tools to steal from treasury and pension fund, steal from the people.

Not even ya bribers want ya in parliament anymore, when lowlife criminals and thieves dont want ya, ya know ya useless, so why stick around….Fractured and Failed.

I am going to have a field day, because I have specific targets in mind.

8. Well well

The first target you should aim at is yuh Rat Botsie !

You cannot & will not dictate to the Dems when to call Elections !

If you are so convinced that Mia Aman Mottley is the clear winner in February , then she can surely be ” crowned winner ” in June…….ain’t it ???

Who are the people that fed up with the government ???

The rabble rousers like you who NEVER gine vote Dems !!!

Go back to your horse 🐴 stable and relax !!!

The horse 🐴 ain’t start yet !!!!

9. @Fractured DLP – Were you educated at taxpayer expense? Dear Lord, I pray not! What a waste of a perfectly good education on a village idiot.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dont mind Fractured and Crying….the writing is on the wall…the fat lady finished her song..

..I can afford to dictate…, yall loitering in parliament, ya have no good reason to be there and ya cannot convince the electorate otherwise.

11. “They didn’t think it was necessary when Minister Dennis Lowe and Minister Michael Lashley were driving around 5 Series BMWs that we’re registered to Transtech, a company that is a major provider of goods and services to statutory corporations controlled by them!!”

White European businesmann gave guns to black African kings in exchange for slaves during the 17th and 18th century. Today white Ex-European businessmen give BMWs to black Barbadian politicians in exchange for the taxpayer´s money.

The drama continues … Nothing changed since 1834. The house servants are still the helpers no. 1 of the plantation class.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

What an amazing comparison between our leader and China’s Xi…you have lost me in this forest of conflicting ironies.

Why is this action by Xi ironic when contrasted with that in the UK and compared to Stuart squeezing a few more days of legislative life from parliament!

President Jinping replaced a leader who can be compared to Stuart in the sense only that Xi’s predecessor was ineffectual and not a dominant personality….BUT in acting to consolidate power for life Xi has done no more than continue the legacy of his country’s more aggressive leaders.

We all know of the Moa dynasty and then there was Deng, thus supreme leader power in China is more the rule than the exception….the fact that the Chinese constitution was changed just some years ago to ostensibly shift power back to the central committee and is now being modified again to facilitate Xi’s ambitions is instructive in itself…..so how does that equate to us ??

At the end of the day or that should be the end of the current parliamentary session Stuart will still have acted squarely within the Wesminster term limited boundaries….not so!

The real irony of course is that China creates more millionaires today than anytime in their history and so too Russia….BOTH under the direction of supremely powerful, unchallengably socialist leaders….funny enough that Stuart also presided over the exploding wealth of a select business cadre and of course the alleged wealth growth of his key cabinet members .

Was our PM trying to pimpick that type of supreme strength….he has hurt our reputation badly already as you said but he still gine be gone now tho…unlike Xi!

13. Under Barbados Constitution, as I read it, an election call can wait until June 6, 2018, 90 days after parliament is dissolved. Now on June 6, 2018 an election date is called, there has to be time for electioneering, the vote itself etc. My guess is the actual polling dates could be as late as early to mid August 2018.

Open to suggestions and comments.

14. The later the better. More days mean higher risk of devaluation. Only devaluation will motivate the Barbadian workforce to do better.

15. @Wily

Are you correct? Must the election not occur before 6 June?

16. @Dee Word

Yes it does require a brain stretch to see the irony. Are you up to it?

17. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

The election MUST be before 6th June, 2018. That said the PM would be silly to allow the Parliament to dissolve before he dissolves it himself so I think the PM will make the announcement on Friday this week for an election in early April, 2018.

18. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Stuart is a blind, deaf, mute moron.

It is now reported that Stuart has speechified the reason for Sinckler and, by extension, Stuart’s and the Cabinet’s, failure to manage Barbados’ economic affairs is not because Sinckler is an incompetent, thieving jackass with no business or economic sense whatsoever who anyone who has ever had any personal contact with abhors instantly, but rather that he went to a different secondary school than most of our ruling class.

Never mind that most successful business people in Bim are driven self-made men and women who might not even have O-levels.

In the fantasy world in which the Fool exists there would seem to be all kinds of external and internal conditions which he does not comprehend and therefore sees to possibility of anticipating and managing.

I’m surprised he can wipe his own ass without blaming someone for having to defecate.

There was never any chance of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

19. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

sees ‘no’ possibility of anticipating and managing

20. @Tron February 27, 2018 at 8:58 AM “The later the better. More days mean higher risk of devaluation. Only devaluation will motivate the Barbadian workforce to do better.”

I know that you are anxious to get more work for the same or for less money.

It won’t happen.

If devaluation occurs it will spur migration out.

Bajans always migrate in times of severe hardship. They will not stay and give you cheap labour.

What you will be left with will be the least able, least competent workers, most indifferent workers.

So if you are looking for competent, highly efficient, hard workers.

Good luck to you.

21. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Dr. Simple Simon February 27, 2018 at 10:40 AM #

I know that you are anxious to get more work for the same or for less money.

It won’t happen.

If devaluation occurs it will spur migration out.

What you will be left with will be the least able, least competent workers, most indifferent workers.

………………………………………………………………………………….

Exactly.

Just like Jamaica and Guyana.

Further, labour is only one small element in the high cost of doing business here.

And, we don’t have to be cheap to be competitive. Monte Carlo is one of the most expensive places on Earth and burst with wealthy humanity.

We need to step up gov’t facilitation, facilities (like a massive marina in Carlisle Bay that we should have had decades ago), service and our environment and compete at the top, not at the bottom.

Quote: “The only thing worse than a battle lost, is a battle won”.

No-one wins a price war.

I’ve never heard a tourist complaining about prices until they get to a supermarket. My response usually is ‘don’t compare the prices of strawberries to yours at home, our mangoes are free’.

What many complain about is poor customer service.

22. The moron said he was going down to the wire and we all wondered what he meant……now we know.

I am no longer worried, when he calls it, he calls it but rest assured he has to call it at least three weeks before June 5.

Those who drafted the constitution never imagined the day when a PM would for the sake of holding on to power.

………….now tell me, who is it that is power hungry?

23. Prodigirl

It is your leader MAM that has caused the delay in announcing the election date !

Wuh um is MAM that has begged His Majesty Freundel Jerome Stuart to delay the General Elections so that she can complete her :

• LEC !!
    • Clean up the wire tapping recordings !!

So being the regaled gentleman that he is …….His Majesty has obliged her !!!

Don’t you see how dapper he looks in the picture that starts this article !!!

David , must be commended for pulling that picture out of the top drawer !!!

24. @Fractured DLP: Oh, that’s him behind the nose. Thanks for the heads up, I didn’t recognize his as he looked so much like an African dictator.

25. For years this bunch of arrogant wild boys rediculed Brasstacks and now all of a sudden the Stinkliar can leave the floor of Parliament to come on Brasstacks. …
    To do what? Spread propaganda.

Poor CBC, cannot pay its bills. No MCTV since Sunday. Yet the DLP can owe it over $100,000 for propaganda. .

26. @Fractured BLP February 27, 2018 at 1:46 PM #

Nobody needs a LEC since you get top-jobs at Barbados Supreme Court with 3rd rate university degrees, if your daddy is a DLP stallwart.

Had Pepo the Mystical, Irnerius the Creator or Accursius the Great a LEC? No noble jurist had ever a LEC.

27. Even with shitty water gushing in the air on the South Coast traversed by locals and tourists alike you seek solace in spouting more shit on BU.

28. Ha ha ha………..the dems star boy who has an LEC has lost every major case recently………case in point one he lost to Mr Hinkson, one at the CCJ, one with the Smith man who wont pay his local bar dues…………Mr LEC was made shame when the children of the late Mr Aurelius Smith reported on his behaviour at their parents house in St Philip before she was conspicuously murdered and most recently, the Maria Agard case……….ha ha!

MAM without an LEC went before big head lawyers and judges at the Privy Council in the fishing dispute with Trinidad and WON big time………..

Mr Lost Every Case…….. is this the person who is advising Fumble on how to go past five years and still try to hold on to power.

The DLP is very lucky that Barbadians are such docile people…..but no matter how much defer and deflection Fumble does………he has to call the election……..Police revised power or importation of military equipment….he has to cal the election.

29. @Wily Coyote February 27, 2018 at 8:51 AM #

How did you arrive at your June 6th date?
    I come up with June 3rd if we count from March 6th
    and June 4th if we count from March 7th, using the 90 days rule.

30. @ David who wrote ” Even with shitty water gushing in the air on the South Coast ”

So this is what has really been happening ”

https://plus.google.com/photos/photo/102163528790604335551/6526923935517541186

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP February 27, 2018 at 1:46 PM #
    “Prodigirl
    It is your leader MAM that has caused the delay in announcing the election date !
    Wuh um is MAM that has begged His Majesty Freundel Jerome Stuart to delay the General Elections so that she can complete her :”

All hail King Fumble! Let him rule until the end of his own time.

Let him be the king when the foreign reserves run so low as to require immediate visit to the IMF A&E to seek that first draw down of SDRs before the end of April.

Let him also continue to loiter at the backdoor leading onto Palmetto Square and make a parody of the Westminster tradition of electoral politics and- like the DRC (Congolese) president Kabila- make himself look like an arrogant African ‘powful-foolish ugly-ass’ dictator.

Let Lord Almighty Pontius Fumble Dictator and Supreme Emperor of all he surveys- from the ‘blind deaf and dumb’ monkeys in Marchfield to the shit-stained brown rats swimming among the pissed-off white tourists on the South coast to the crap-fed yard fowls siphoning off His Royal verbal effluence from the cesspool on George Street- deliberately misinterpret Section 61 (4) of the Constitution and declare a ‘civil’ war against perceived anti-DLP factions to rule as he sees fit for another 2 years ad infinitum to the 32nd of Ever.

Le him continue to ‘blacken’ the name of the House of Stuart and create history by not only destroying in the most iconoclastic of fashion the legacy and fading memory of EWB but also by bringing total shame and abject scandal to the former good name of Barbados by turning it into a pariah of a failed state.

32. Wily Coyote
    Prodigal @12.47p has it right.The election writs with the names of each successful nominated candidate for each constituency must be returned to Chief Electoral Officer at the latest June 4th which according to my calculation represents the 90 day limit from date parliament is prorogued.

33. Why allyuh worrying? Fractured knows that as soon as parliament dissolves next week, the full contents of the PAC Report will be unleashed: letters, memos, emails, contracts, Cabinet notes, Cabinet papers, contracts, transcripts etc. #hushistheeveninghymn

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel February 27, 2018 at 4:47 PM

Correct when you clearly understand Section 62 (1) of the Constitution.

But who knows what will be when this administration has shown repeatedly scant respect for the laws for the Land and has passed laws and enforced legislation clearly in breach of the same Constitution like the Myrie’s case, the fingerprinting fiasco, the Hyatt high drama, and more recently, the denial of Commonwealth citizens their right to vote once they meet the residency criteria.

The oft mentioning of ‘cracking heads’, ‘shooting people’, ‘ flowing in the streets’ and the electoral prognosis described as “bloody” are clearly-signposted harbingers of what could be in store for democracy and electoral fairness in Barbados in the coming weeks to months.

35. Enuff

You are playing wid fire 🔥

The PAC “Report ” has not being laid in Parliament .

If Mia Aman Mottley is a daredevil let her mention anything in that document.. (in the public domain) that has not been laid in Parliament – and which a clear breach of the PAC Act !

MAM and her gang has been outfoxed !!
    Btw , Akanni McDowell still in Barbados ???

He was up and down the country promising public officers big dollars 💵 before Parliament dissolved !!

Another Mottley stooge ….. outfox !!!

David BU had up his General Elections countdown calendar up fuh months … he too get outfoxed !!

Imagine a DLP government that these BLP FARTHOLES walking about everyday telling people weak….. and the said government can keep the country & citizens calm ….. while the BLP FARTHOLES cannot :

• Dislodge the government

• Force the government to give a salary increase

•. Face the government in the Parliament on a day when important matters are being discussed

Wuh rational thinking Barbadians can only now agree that it is Dems all the way !!

36. Let us wait until after the General Election is called before concluding who got outfoxed. The election countdown was a guess as to when elections would have been called. Who had it in then to guess that a Prime Minister of Barbados would enter the 90 day discretionary period? A nicety of the system of government hitherto no violates by any government across the Caribbean. Another reason Barbados continues to be the laughing stock.

37. @David

My understanding of the Barbados Constitution and Electoral rules are thus-

Present Parliament must be dissolved by March 6th.
    Prime Minister now has 90 days to call an election, the end of this 90 days would be approximately June 6th.
    Can he wait until June 6th to make the call, this is the question.
    Another constitutional rule states you must have a minimum of 3 weeks and a maximum of 6 weeks between the election call and election.

The question being is this 3 to 6 week time frame within or additional to the 90 days.

Calling the election within the 90 day period would, earliest election date would be 3 weeks after March 6th or as late as June 6th.

Calling the election outside the 90 day period would, earliest election date 3 weeks after June 6th and latest 6 weeks after June 6th.

Since the independence of Barbados 51 years ago both of these interpretations have been used by various governments of the time.

38. Fractured
    Uh huh. Them contracts, emails and letters existed before the PAC investigation and could fall off any truck, just like report. Why wunna don’t outfox the sewerage system. 🤣🤣🤣😂

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Friday the 2nd or Monday the 5th will be ‘D’ day for both Parliament and the DLP.

Either he dissolves on the Friday and announces a date for general elections or he goes down to the wire and on Monday convenes Parliament to do just that.

A meeting of the Senate either Wednesday or Thursday would tell a lot.

Should the Parliament be automatically dissolved without announcing a date for general elections then the ‘dictator- in the-making’ alarm bells should go off.

40. My June 6th date is a rough approximation of 3 months after the March 6th date for Parliament dissolution, your correct that 90 days exactly would be June 3, 4 or 5th depending on which days are counted.

The big question that I’m not sure about, does the election have to be within the 90 days or is it just the call for election has to be within the 90 days. My reading of the Barbados Constitution it is not clear on this issue and previous governments have been known to use varying interpretations.

41. No other PM other than this one Fumble has ever gone the full term. Each one called the election within the last six months.

This one will go down as the worst ever. He will have to live with the infamy of the worst PM. He refused to address the people of this country only DLP yard fowls. He slept while his ministers did as they like just read the PAC report.

His ministers plotted to get rid of him and he looked the other way so as to remain PM. It was like you want to be PM, well touch any one of us.

There is no one other than DLP yard fowls who do not know that these ministers were tainted by allegations of bribes and demands for bribes to be deposited here there and every where.

There is clear evidence of DLP bag men charging exorbitant fees for simple jobs.

I am convinced that the longer Fumble dallies, the worse it is going to be for the DLP and that is when the carnage that took place during Thompson’s time will be like a picnic. Donville would be the person to tar Fumble’s back side.

42. Just for info, the PRIME MINISTER DOES NOT DISSOLVE Parliament, the Governor General does. The Governor General as Head of State can dissolve parliament at any time if he feels there is sufficient justification. Should the present government and Prime Minister run afoul of constitutional law the Governor General can/will step in and take matters into his own hands.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Wily..it’s a her, the new GG is a her.

44. DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV

Sad as it is to say but I believe that Fumble WILL wait until March 5th to announce the elections…as he said if you are given 5 years you take the 5 years….fair enough…like Peter Wickham said, Fumble thinks differently..As a politician he doesn’t think in conventional political strategic terms. He doesn’t let nothing phase him..HOWEVER…behaving like this will ONLY make him come across as arrogant (or more arrogant). To Bajans…he is already perceived as not responding to the the cries of the masses….if Fumble does not announce the election by then, it will truly be the final nail in the coffin in terms of his political career if not for the DLP. I cannot see any strategic benefit to this government to allows the 90 days to lapse. Do NOT be fooled..the Bajan electorate may be quiet but are intelligent….. the 2013 election results showed that they had the finger on the trigger but did not fire the shot to execute the DLP. The electorate KNOWS the 2013-2018 Parliament is to be read its last rights and to prolong it 90 days past March 6 is the equivalent to wasting life support on a brain dead patient. Since 2013, the DLP was losing its mandate. The perceived disconnect between the people and THIS government has only widened in the 5 years. To the people of this country this Parliamentary has expired…so that Mia and the BLP boycotting parliament is mostly irrelevant to the state of affairs in this country…..It is said that in life, death and taxes are inevitable…this SO aptly describes the DLP to a T….they can TRY to prolong its life as long as it WANTS to but its end WILL come…..

45. Hope you have not forgotten Barbadians voted for the DLP with Stuart expressing the same style you have criticized.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Wily Coyote February 27, 2018 at 6:29 PM

Here is a relevant extract from the same Supreme Law of the Land you quite rightly made reference to:

“Summoning, Prorogation and Dissolution [of the Parliament of Barbados]”:

Section 60. (1)

Each session of Parliament shall be held at such place and commence at such time as the Governor-General may appoint.

(2) The time appointed for the commencement of any session of Parliament shall be such that a period of six months does not intervene between the end of one session and the first sitting of Parliament in the next session.

Section 61.

(1) The Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, may at any time by proclamation prorogue Parliament.

(2) The Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, may at any time by proclamation dissolve Parliament

So WC, are you suggesting that the PM’s advice doesn’t mean jack shit (or to be more Irish-Bajan ‘what Paddy shot at’) to a GG who is as politically powerful as the Queen of Barbados is at awarding knighthoods and dame hoods to those who have worked assiduously hard in the patronage interest of the political party over which the same PM presides?

Who do you think recommends to the Queen (and soon to be King) the person from a pseudo list of names to be ‘appointed’ GG?

Isn’t the GG, de facto speaking, a creature of the same primus inter pares who is treated in ex-colonial jurisdictions as a veritable dictator with the master-slave-plantation type political relationship even if only for 5 years on the trot just like the Guv of the Central Bank is the creature of a handmaiden of the MoF?

47. @Wily

The Constitution is very clear:

file:///C:/Users/David/Desktop/the_constitution_of_barbados.pdf

48. De gifts keep comin….. Xièxiè

“4×4 vehicles, a mobile kitchen, a refrigerator van, a tractor and a vessel. “

49. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Miller…the GG is the same house negro and messenger creature of buckingham palace, i was just pointing out its a she not a he, Wily kept saying he..

her appointment was a politically motivated one, so lets see if she is also a creature of Fruendels uppity arrogance or works in the best interests of the citizens who pay her salary…..we will know soon enough.

50. @ David who wrote ” Hope you have not forgotten Barbadians voted for the DLP. ”

Barbadians voted for the DLP in 2008 and AGAIN in 2013.

Barbadians will do the Dems a favour and vote BLP.