Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Tomorrow will be the last sitting of parliament before it is dissolved.  Under the Constitution of Barbados the Prime Minister can- and it appears he will- extend his government into the 90 day unchartered discretionary period within which a general election must be called.  This decision by the government to loiter in Government House against a less than stellar performance and deteriorating social landscape without calling for a mandate from the people, has seen a crescendo of public debate about when will the general election be called. The delay serves to deflate an already low confidence level by civil society which comingles with the notion that not much gets done in a lame duck period of government. The Stuart government seeks to prove 20 million Frenchmen wrong.

Since Barbados weaned itself from under the Union Jack it has nurtured a reputation of being a politically stable country, in fact a model studied by the world. That this government would rupture a well earned reputation by a wanton disregard for the niceties and conventions of a system of government we claim to follow is a worry. The reality is that when parliament is dissolved all ‘seats’ are declared vacant. The Cabinet will continue to function in their roles but without the oversight of parliament. This is where abuse of power can be questioned. Is it worth the reputational damage to secure a couple months in office during a time when it is accepted that the country will mark time until the genera election is over?

In an interesting parallel albeit ironic that the ruling communist party of China plans to remove the 10 year restriction on the president. If achieved it will see the all powerful President Jinping continuing in office possibly for life. Experts opine that this is China’s signal to the world that it has no interest in dismantling a system of government which has served it well enough to be the global power economic superpower it has become. The flipside to the irony unfolding in China was the decision by the UK government in 2011 to impose fixed term elections every five years. The Act allows for a variation if by a two thirds majority a no confidence vote is successful.

If we examine the decision by Stuart against what is unfolding in China  by following a path which precedent and convention in our Wesminsterlike model of government does not support, AND, one that departs from the decision taken by the UK government in 2011 to impose fixed term elections then it is clear Barbados is playing the Rh with how we govern.

It is instructive President David Granger of Guyana declined to attend the 38th HOGs Summit in Haiti but Prime Minister Freundel Stuart essays no similar concerns with foreign reserves at about 4 weeks and the country gripped in abeyance.

It is also instructive that members of the Stuart Cabinet would have allowed partisan politics to define  the non existent legacy they richly deserve.

186 responses to “Stuart Going Where His Predecessors Failed to Tread”

1. David comments at 8:02 pm on February 27,2018 are very instructive .
    Good
    I , Freundel Jerome Stuart, will announce the General Elections for 2018 when I feel it is time to do so .
    I always abide by the laws of the land .

Why the fuss ?? If some believe the Bees will win .. then can wait to do so in March , April , May or June !

Ain’t it ???

So Prodigirl go back to your cage !!

2. Let’s stop beating around the bush.

The dlp did not win that election in 2013 fairly. We all know what went down. After the poll, those who had all to loose flooded the dlp with money beyond possible.

The money was poured into constituencies to buy votes from simple people who were suffering and for whom 100 dollars was a lot of money.

A washed-up politician was given 40 thousand dollars to go into SMWC. At 2pm when Donville realised he was in trouble, he called George Street and asked for reinforcement, thousands were distributed in SMC and we know for sure that the PM knew that his constituency people did vote buying as well as the AG in SPS.

A group of people in St Joseph ran the dlp hacket man, they followed him and he could not distribute his ill gotten gains.

So don’t be fooled, the dlp stole the last election and hope to do the same in 2018. The problem is that although they have a large cache built up, the people are on to them and it is going to be hard to buy votes openly as they did in 2013.

No wonder they are afraid to call the election.

3. Prodigirl

Only your candidate, Gregory Nicholls, was caught using money 💰 on Election Day 2013 – to buy votes !

The Bees get beat fair & square !!

Please go back to your cage & sleep !!!

The elections for 2018 will be called when the time is right – within the laws of Barbados 🇧🇧

4. This GG,a former high court judge,is a youngster as previous office holders go.Add to that she is an old QC girl.That combination can be intimidating to many a politico.

5. Would she bite the hand that fed her, Gabriel?

6. I think she would gently guide him as to the right and proper path to travel.I don’t think she would have to resort to the language surellyut used to Sinckler and the eager 11 but it is abroad that she is very capable if the occasion so demands.

7. The DLP has one play book. A few years ago, the dems, especially Verla Depeiza, Irene Sandiford Garner and Maxine McClean said in the Senate that the BLP were telling people not to invest in Barbados.

Now right on cue ……..here is Fumble in New York telling those who were stupid enough to listen to him that the BLP is in a plot with David Commissiong to delay the Hyatt project which could bring in 100 million dollars in foreign exchange.

How laughable………did not Miller tell us that the people behind the project were looking around Barbados trying to raise the money. Many believe that the morons would take up our NIS dollars and give it to him, they are that stupid.

Yes Fumble, you and your government have been such a dismal failure that you have to look for a boogey man to deflect……………total failure and we the people are the biggest losers.

Since when is Fumble defending and taking up for white people, a man who is one of the biggest race baiters in recent history.

8. @Gabriel February 27, 2018 at 9:48 PM “This GG, a former high court judge,is a youngster as previous office holders go…”

Not really. When sworn in as Governor General:

Sir John Stow was 54
    Sir Winston Scott was 67
    Sir Deighton Ward was 67
    Dame Sandra Mason was 68 (nine days short of her 69th birthday)
    Sir Clifford Husbands was 69
    Sir Hugh Springer was 71
    Dame Nita Barrow was 73
    Sir Elliott Belgrave was 81

So I would say that Dame Sandra is a pretty average age for a Bajan GG.

9. @Prodigal Son February 27, 2018 at 10:00 PM “Would she bite the hand that fed her, Gabriel?”

I wouldn’t say that she was hungry before her appointment as GG.

She doesn’t strike ma as being a woman who is hungry for power, status, or money.

10. “Commonwealth citizens living and working in Barbados have already started taking

advantage of a High Court decision handed down on Monday which reaffirmed their right to

vote in the next general election.”

11. Elections coming real soon.

” Fifty prison officers have been given a boost of confidence in their jobs as a result of

securing appointments and promotions.”

12. This is what you call “operation sunset”.

We will see at least 1,000 more promotions from the Supreme Court down to the maid and secretary. Only the least gifted and most retarded Barbadians will be promoted to secure the DNA of the DLP in the public service. All postings will be blocked for the next 10 years.

We need a purge in the public service. 10,000 must go.

13. The blogmaster had a quick listen to the debate in the Lower House yesterday and was struck by the paucity of the content, lack of urgency reflected in the tone of the members who contributed etc. Interestingly though was the contribution of Stephen Lashley who continues to separate himself from the pack by his use of articulation to support his researched pieces. It is obvious he is trying to weasel his name into the conversation if that time comes when a leader has to be selected by the parliamentary group. Clearly he lacks the rambunctious traits possessed by Sinckler and Inniss to a lesser extent which he needs to cultivate – if he can – to have the cross over appeal.

14. Maybe something rubbed off on him while an employee at VOB,still he is also among those on the front bench who practice lying with impunity.

15. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Tron February 28, 2018 at 1:28 AM #
    This is what you call “operation sunset”.

We will see at least 1,000 more promotions from the Supreme Court down to the maid and secretary. Only the least gifted and most retarded Barbadians will be promoted to secure the DNA of the DLP in the public service. All postings will be blocked for the next 10 years.

We need a purge in the public service. 10,000 must go.

………………………………………………………..

As I’ve typed many times over the past ten years, lack of civil service facilitation has been a problem for over 20 years.

BLP ministers micro-managed them to keep Bim slowly turning over.

DLP ministers couldn’t manage a piss-up in a brewery.

Policies and objectives are irrelevant with implementation plans.

Fumble’s Fools still don’t even know what a plan is, far less any idea if implementation or management of anything.

The lack of business facilitation is the reason Barbados is where it is today. 95% of the business community disengaged after the last general election when it was obvious we were going to get no-where without paying bribes.

Like every civil servant in Bim knows, the easiest thing to do is nothing.

There was never any chance of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

16. Didn’t Donville promise to revolutionize business facilitation in government?

17. Frustrated,

“when it was obvious we were going to get no-where without paying bribes”. When a foreign investor hits Barbados at GAIA, takes a taxi and he talks to the driver, he knows after FIVE minutes from the driver what is going on in Bim.

The sewage crisis does not end, since no repair will be done without a kick-back. And those patrons from Sandy Lane, foreign investors or foreign states offering FREE help won´t kick-back. So there is no fix.

18. @David

Thanks David, Section 62 of the constitution appears to suggestions that indeed the election must take place within the 90 day period so that a new parliament can convine prior to the expiration of the 90 days. This can be extended by the GG under extenuating circumstances, I.E. natural disaster or possibly because of current affairs, flowing sewage, no forex for Bill payments etc.

Next Tuesday March 6th or before will show what direction government is headed.

19. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Tron February 28, 2018 at 8:50 AM #
    Frustrated,

those patrons from Sandy Lane, foreign investors or foreign states offering FREE help won´t kick-back. So there is no fix.

………………………………………………..

And those expats and Bajan business people who are massively emotionally committed to this country are the reason there hasn’t yet been a total economic and social collapse.

Some might call it patriotism, maybe it’s just because we all have no-where better to go.

We have lasted 10 years of gov’t incompetence, corruption and destructiveness when Guyana and Jamaica lasted 3, for that reason.

We have seen businesses taking new investment elsewhere but most are still heavily committed here.

Waiting for Fumble’s Fools to F*** off back to the gutters they came from.

Not long now.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

That is exactly where they belong and should go, back to the stinking gutters they came from after election, because of their own actions those gutters are now strewn with raw sewage, the landscape is littered with dilapidated and decaying buildings and potholed roads…

… how did they get so weak and stupid when they have had all the tools available to them to be strong, progressive and pushing their own people forward instead of backward…for over 50 years.

The males dominated the society and failed miserably, too weak, too stupid…too corrupt…too selfish.

21. “Breaking his recent silence on the controversial matter, Stuart further suggested that “it may

be just coincidental that the Leader of the Opposition [Mia Mottley] and Comissiong are first

cousins”.

22. #BTEditorial ” Bring your alternative plan, Ms Mottley “

23. @Hants

Arthur brought the privatization issue to the fore early in the campaign last time around and was he burned as a result?

24. Hants. I am most certain that the BLP’s Covenant of Hope gave a sneak preview of what to expect in their manifesto. From in Barrow time, these two front runners never gave the government in power any advance ideas. The only party that did it was Richie Haynes NDP.

25. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

As the Prime Minister does not dedicate much time to leadership and given the little time that he does, would Barbados not be better off if he tried to govern rather than focus on genealogy matters?

Hyatt is in the state that it is in because they perverted the TCPO permission process which then led to public outrage followed by litigation. Litigation then caused the developers, the brand and the financiers to back away because of the reputational and other risk.

26. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

That Prime Minister is the reason Hyatt is in its present state, and not because of any family/blood connection between persons in Barbados.

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Litigation then caused the developers, the brand and the financiers to back away because of the reputational and other risk.”

So why are they still trying to build Hyatt, I hope Maloney isnt thinking he is going to steal hundreds of millions of dollars from the NIS pension fund….using the various idiots of parliament.

The sewage system cannot handle another hotel until fixed….dont even have to be an engineer to know that….they cannot fix the sewage system inside of another year..or even longer, so there is no need for a Hyatt anyway,

Fruendel did indeed cause the hold up, if he had done an impact study as was the intelligent and legal thing to do, Comissiong would never had been able to sue and stop the project..

Fruendel was always a mediocre attorney.

28. “Fruendel was always a mediocre attorney.” And now we know a mind-boggingly incompetent PM as well.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yep

30. Staurt is a catastrophe for a Prime Minister.The article in Barbados Today is pure piffle and a litany of preconceived ideas gone awry.When I read it,I was heartened by the many comments left by other readers which tarredfeathered Stuart already ebony ratbotsy with with some serious home truths.Good god Freundel, please go and let Barbados be rescued from your destructive policies and prescriptions.You haven’t a clue and your cabinet less than you.

31. What about the Cabinet? They all seem to buyin to Stuart’s policies? The days of the Eager 11 are long gone?

32. With the constant flow of sewage water on Barbados’ roads, would it now be a solid reason for a new environmental assessment be done on the Hyatt and its impact on our problematic system? Whilst at it, I have a gut feeling that probably without any conclusive evidence that the increase in capacity at the Sewerage Plant might be due to the massive hotel in Maxwell that was opened early December. Disconnect the waste service for just two (2) days from this establishment and see if the waste stop flowing. Just an idea to save my beloved country.

33. David

These men have no honour, no sense of ethics nor conscience……….they have suffered Freundel for so long because they all like power and what comes with being a Cabinet Minister. Do you understand the pride and pomp that they exhale as they travel about on diplomatic passports?

They have allowed this country to suffer and go into the economic pit only because they are selfish and self centred. How could any one with a good conscience sit in a cabinet and condone all the ignorance that a man like Stinkliar has done posing as a guru on finance and economics while he imposed 40 new taxes on this country………..and not a man objected and even asked for a raise in salary to help those struggling. But they made a stink to get back their so called sacrifice…….and get it back they did retroactively. These men do not care about a fellow.

Now the PM instead of facing the reality of what a failure he and his ministers have been got up in New York and said that Chris was not given a chance because of where he went to school………..the man is a real ratboxy in truth.

Honour, no they have none. David Estwick is the chief culprit but he knows why he never took a stand even after declaring that it is the DLP’s fault that the country is where it is. Yet the man still voted every single year for the Budget brought by the incompetent minister whom he seemingly despises.

He is the Minister of Agriculture………..a big agricultural exhibition is put on yearly and he never shows up…………I want the people of barbados to show the dlp the same contempt that they have shown the people for 10 long years!

34. @ Tell me Why,

The sewerage system must be upgraded and expanded whether Hyatt is built or not.

The BLP will inherit the problems and spend the next 5 years blaming the DLP.

plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

35. @Tell me Why February 28, 2018 at 1:56 PM #

“With the constant flow of sewage water on Barbados’ roads, would it now be a solid reason for a new environmental assessment be done on the Hyatt and its impact on our problematic system? Whilst at it, I have a gut feeling that probably without any conclusive evidence that the increase in capacity at the Sewerage Plant might be due to the massive hotel in Maxwell that was opened early December. Disconnect the waste service for just two (2) days from this establishment and see if the waste stop flowing”……………….

………………………………………………………………

You are right, Tell Me Why.

This has been my point on BU for the longest while……….the problem has to be with the massive Sandals properties…….trace back when this rot began and one has to come to that conclusion. But they cannot touch Butch Stewart. He gets the sweets and we get the stink!

I had to pass by Big B today and I was appalled to see the sewage flowing in front of First Caribbean…….the stench was awful. I just dont know how the Trinidadian people could still be there selling in that stench.

This is the legacy of the DLP………..they have no record to run on hence the Fumble talking about a BLP plot and who is family to whom…………what an idiot!

36. Hants

The BLP stands on a proud record of solving problems………they will do so as soon as the PM calls the election. If they complain who can blame them? I believe that they will get on with the job as we done know it is going to be a real mess!

37. @ Prodigal Son,

I have no doubt the problems can be solved but massive amounts of money is needed and

Bajans will feel a whole lot of pain.

38. Prodigirl

Your arguments have in holes like a strainer !

If the Bees are so confident of winning…..no need to run down the election date !

Unless of course……..there is something they don’t want the electorate to find out !!

Hah hah hah !!!

Who tap me phone ?????

39. The sheltered area cover over 5 acres and disappear through pvc pipes. The majority of the outside is cemented walkways and car parks with areas of foliage and the rest of the property are pools.. You don’t need scientists or expensive consultants to give a definitive answer to the whereabouts of all that water. Furthermore, tell me where the water from the influx of all those toilets, baths, kitchen sinks, laundry and cleaning floor water goes. Did the BWA technical team signed off on the connections like how poor Barbadians in the area have to show all connections to the system. How many wells are on this property and are the said wells pumped by Waste water haulers? We must get to the cause of this national problem.

40. It was reported today the minister David Estwick did not attend Agrofest?

41. @TMW

The sewage coming from the man hole in front of FCIB was brown and stink so this means that it is raw sewage……………….and we have a PM in Haiti playing he is still in charge talking just what is running on the streets……………

The President of Guyana decided not to go to Haiti as a result of pressing matters at home but he who is to all intents and purpose is out of time…..his time has expired…….is in Haiti with a large entourage talking foolishness like everybody does not know that only four countries have signed on to the CCJ…………..

Wait he has now realised this????? Did not the yardfowls bragged over and over that the Fumble was head of Caricom not knowing that the Presidency rotates every six months. Barbados used to be leaders in Caricom and it was left to languish under Fumble……..Jamaica is now having doubts……no surprise there.

42. David

He did not go this year nor last year…………but Dennis Kellman was there….lol!

43. What is he being paid for though?……….Just to hand out big contracts to Innotech?

The BHTA is now begging for a senior person to be the voice for this horror show going on on the south coast………no leadership at all.

This is the sum total of the farce that has been the DLP government. Poor Joanne Haigh has finally decided that they are not going to make a jackass of her any more.

44. Prodigal
    It’s a real pappy show at BWA especially since that GM with the silly Toco accent who knows nothing about managing a Water and Sewage Authority.Trinidadians would laugh his ass to scorn if he had anything to do with WASA.They would go on strike rather than have a stupid sounding JA like him runnin’ tings there.Only a DLP JA government would have an octogenarian chair that institution and allow him to hire a cell phone salesman to help ruin its Tourism Industry.All that Kerry and Petra have done and poor Billy come back here to have his name dragged in the mud and his CV soiled, all owing to poor decisions by a poor rakey lot of policy makers and their Fatted Calf chopsutting supporters.

45. @ Gabriel

Looks like the Trini GM at BWA just secured US$28 MILLION in grant funding for BWA from the global Green Climate Fund.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

2017 Transparency International Corruption Perception Index of Caricom nations
    [Least to Most Corrupt]
    1. Barbados
    2. The Bahamas
    3. SVG
    4. Dominica
    5. St Lucia
    6. Grenada
    7. Jamaica
    8. Trinidad & Tobago/Suriname
    9. Guyana
    10. Haiti

2017 CARICOM Debt to GDP ratio as issued by the CDB
    BAR 157.1%
    JAM 113.4%
    BEL 93.9%
    ANU 78.3%
    SVG 77.2%
    DOM 72.7%
    BAH 72.7%
    SLU 67%
    GRN 66.3%
    SKN 64.6%
    SUR 63.2%
    T&T 60%
    ANG 56.8%
    HAI 32.6%

2018 CARICOM GDP Growth Forecast as issued by the CDB
    DOM 6.4%
    ANU 5.3%
    GRN 3.5%
    GUY 3.3%
    SKN 3.2%
    SLU 3.1%
    HAI 2.4%
    JAM 2.3%
    BAH & SVG 2.0%
    BEL 1.8%
    SUR 1.2%
    T&T 1.0%
    BAR 0.7%

Interesting that the perceptually least corrupt Caricom nation, Barbados, is a runaway winner of the Debt/GDP race with the lowest economy growth rate forecast in 2018.

Anyways, the CBC has been given an additional $9M, so it can at least be operational to run political ads, and provide additional credit to customers, sugar gets $13mil so it can get the late 2018 harvest going before elections, and 15,000 Clico holders will get $$$$ by month end. Certain prison employees and public employees feeling sweet with new job assurances. The BEEware ad (better tek care you doan piss off the Chinese by associating the leader of the DPRK with Hitler).

Soon from now.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Mia Mottley: Barbados should seek to strengthen ties with Canada as they have a stellar environmental track record and could provide assistance to the island”

Miz Mottley I beg ya to lef we outta it. We have 86 native areas which still do not have potable running water. And barely any houses in the minus whatever temperatures. We guvment when dey did running fah office promised us a balanced budget by 2018. Now in 2018, de forecass is fuh deficits tru 2022!!! While ya might like the photogenereric PM to visit, he is likely to hold a big party and invite Sydney Burnett Alleyne, and all dem crooked lawyers hole up in Florida to avoid prosecution. And the good Lord could know, eff he come in crop over time (dat is effin it evah start),what he will wear!! Probably a hat wid some pitch fork, feelin dat ting at de Garrison is some national symbol. The cole wedder got we roads wid nuff nuff potholes, so at least the PM would feel at home. But he en de one who used the word Sh!thole hear, dat is de orange head man souf a here. See effin he can help, dey got nuff more money. Beg Tillerson to pass tru, like he just give Jamtown some warm dollars to buy out de refinery. Frame it as anti-Venezuela and he will be dere in a heartbeat.

48. @NorthernObserver March 1, 2018 at 2:29 PM #

The corruption list is based on perception, not on FACTS. The Barbadian masses are clueless and behave like sheeps in front of their butcher.

However, international investors do know better. Whenever you take a taxi from GAIA to a ministry, the taxi man will brief you about all kind of corruption in 5 minutes.

The numbers on debt and growth are different. Facts do not lie. Barbados is the new Haiti of the Caribbean. Independence did not work out for Barbados.

49. Fractured BLP Avatar

Just lmagine this one !

Barbados’ lone DESPARADO – Mia Aman Mottley – when she was responsible for Glendairy Prison , ignored ……for years the sound advice of the late Rev. Gordon Matthews and others ……to address the vexing problems at that prison !

But NO …….MAM let Glendairy bun down then rush to VECO a global bribe taking / giving company to build DODDS !!

That Mottley prison scam took years to complete !!!

Was it US $ 700 million or BDS $ 700 million ???

Bajans had hell finding that out. !!!

What they know though that MAM has ‘ gifted ‘ them a $ 30 million bill to settle every January……for 25 years !!

Now just imagine……again …… this DESPARADO in March 2018 is promising Barbadians that she will fix the South Coast Sewage project……….in one (1) WEEK time ” after she is voted ” into office !!!!

You hear LIE ???? That is LIE…….

Just show MAM where the last Sewage pipe passed …….and she will run a new one !!

Barbados deserves better !!!!!