David Comissiong, the following was posted to St. Lucia Online

All over the world today, the United States Department of State and the US’s billionaire Secretary of State Rex Tillerson (former CEO of the rapacious American multi-national oil corporation Exxon Mobil) are gleefully boasting about the coup that they pulled off in engineering the so-called “Lima Group of States” (inclusive of the CARICOM states of St Lucia and Guyana) into issuing an international Declaration that attacks and vilifies the socialist Government of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, as well as the success of Tillerson’s recent diplomatic effort to enlist Prime Minister Andrew Holness and the government of Jamaica in the USA’s ongoing crusade against Venezuela.

These recent happenings are all part and parcel of a well coordinated strategy on the part of the Donald Trump administration to cause maximum disruption and subversion in our sister Caribbean country of Venezuela in the lead up to Venezuela’s critical Presidential election of April 2018.

And so, one is forced to query why three of our Caribbean Community (CARICOM) member states — Jamaica, St. Lucia, and Guyana — would remove themselves from our collective CARICOM umbrella, and instead associate themselves with this sinister “big power” campaign of subversion against a fellow developing country that is trying desperately hard to keep its precious natural resources out of the dirty hands of greedy North American multi-national corporations.

The US Department of State website is telling us that St. Lucia and Guyana are members of something called “The Lima Group of states” !

The questions therefore arise:- Do the citizens of St. Lucia and Guyana know anything at all about this “Lima Group of States” that their governments have joined? Was any of this discussed with the people of St. Lucia and Guyana by Prime Minister Alan Chastanet and President David Granger respectively?

Is it the case that St. Lucia, Guyana, and Jamaica (under the relatively conservative, right-wing administrations that now govern those countries) have been transformed into myopic puppet states of Donald Trump’s USA? Have these three once proud pillars of Caribbean nationhood become the “three blind mice” of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) ?

Messers Chastanet, Holness, and Granger are all relative newcomers to Caribbean political leadership, but surely they must be aware that one of the fundamental objectives of our Caribbean Community (CARICOM), as enshrined in Article 4 of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, is the coordination and the collective articulation of the foreign policy of our 15 CARICOM member states, and “the achievement of a greater measure of……..effectiveness of Member States in dealing with third States, groups of States, and entities of any description”.

It is therefore inexcusable that these three conservative right-wing political leaders have snubbed and disregarded our Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and our forty year commitment to formulating and pursuing a collective foreign policy, for by so doing they have severely tarnished the international image of CARICOM, and have done serious damage to the morale, stability and effectiveness of our regional organization.

And what should be particularly distressing for the people of St. Lucia, Guyana, and Jamaica is that these three neophyte heads of government are seemingly unaware that each of their nations possess outstanding records as architects and champions of the CARICOM determination to formulate and articulate a collective foreign policy, and to adopt a unified CARICOM position in our dealings with the “great” powers of this world.

Who can forget the historic and critical role played by Guyana’s Forbes Burnham in crafting the Treaty of Chaguaramas and its commitment to a collective foreign policy?

Likewise,who can forget Michael Manley’s collaboration with the said Forbes Burnham in insisting that CARICOM formulate and deploy a common foreign policy in relation to such critical issues as support for the anti-apartheid /anti-imperialist movements of Southern Africa; the Caribbean’s engagement in negotiations at Lome for a new relationship with the then European Economic Community; and advocacy for the establishment of a New International Economic Order?

And who could fail to acknowledge that it was in the island of St. Lucia in July of 1974 that the heads of Government of the newly established CARICOM first enunciated the principle that our nations would embark on such wider hemispheric matters as crafting relationships with the Central American Common Market, the Andean Common Market, and the nation of Mexico, NOT as individual states, but on a collective, region-wide CARICOM basis !

In light of the foregoing, all right-thinking citizens of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) should rebuke these three errant heads of Government and deprecate the folly that they have engaged themselves in.

Our Caribbean has a proud tradition of standing up and courageously speaking truth to power. It was — after all — four small Caribbean states that — in 1972 — defied the mighty United States of America and broke the diplomatic isolation of the nation of Cuba. We took a stance based on PRINCIPLE, and the rest of the hemisphere followed us.

That is the type of Caribbean Community (CARICOM) that we must remain committed to being !

We must therefore NOT permit our unity as a regional community to be fractured, nor must we allow ourselves to be led down a path of unprincipled, self-seeking, and undignified behavior by any number of “blind mice”.

274 responses to “Shame on the Three Blind Mice of the Caribbean Community”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

SMH….that would be me Senor Artax.

And as you are won’t to demand, please be more carefully accurate when you quote or attribute words to others…even if anonymously.

I did enquire how it’s possible to raise any child and not reference world wide political leaders like the Trump fella…but certainly not as “role models’ …rather just the opposite.

Barbados is a speck in the Caribbean sea and surely we have more people of Bajan descent and nationality living beyond our coastline than within our 11 parishes.

So if you and William and others find it stupid that international affairs will often supercede local affairs BUT more relevantly often directly mirror our affairs which gives us awesome opportunity to better understand how to fix ours then more power to such impractical wisdom.

Our local issues are important undoubtedly but to perceive that any Bajan can live and grow without closely studying the readily available data on a person like Trump or Kennedy or Thatcher or a Putin as if to suggest that they are different to EWB or JMGM or Arthur is surely beyond my stupid comprehension.

2. William Skinner February 20, 2018 at 8:21 AM #

To be fair to BU, only one person would cut and paste articles from publications all over the world to fill in the gaps where original thought ought to be. S/he has no original ideas, apart from threats of violence and abuse.

3. @Dee Word

The point William is making is that there is nothing wrong with threading a Trump reference in a conversation but it is overkill by some commentators on BU to harp on news events at 180 degree to the subject matter under discussion.

The BU household has been quite tolerant by giving a lot of latitude but it appears to be distracting from submissions and this is where the blogmaster will exercise our judgement.

4. hal
    you are 100% CORRECT about well well
    but she is allowed to run amock posting bull shit all day and all nite on thE BU DAILY DRIVEL

Artax February 20, 2018 at 10:00 AM #

One contributor stupidly commented he wondered how I could raise my children without finding it necessary to discussing with them, people such as Trump, as role models.

you are ALSO 100% CORRECT

PEOPLE ALL OVER THE WORLD RAISE THEIR CHILDREN WITHOUT DISCUSSING POLITICIANS AS ROLE MODELS

PEOPLE IN BARBADOS EVEN RAISE THIER CHILDREN IN BIM WITHOUT REFERENCE TO THE BU DAILY DRIVEL.ah lie?

5. FOR THE PERCEPTUAL VISION OF BARBADOS AFFAIRS 2018-2019

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ha, Ha, lets talk about dismantling the old boys club of chauvinist pigs like yaself and the destructive Lodge gang..

ya know why, I dont cut and paste anywhere as much as John Liesalot, but being the chauvinist cerdo that ya are.,., you would lie,

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And GP…dont talk about the crap you cut and paste, just another cerdo machista and fraud like Ha, Ha and John Liesalot.

8. Has anyone noticed that the news according to CBC or VOB is always of some thing some Minister say or do.Is this what News in Barbados is about?No wonder those of us who are fed up with the Staurt government want the opportunity to put our X where our hopes lie.Insularists such as William who had his moment in time in ’91,still tries to impress via BU that he is worthy of mentorship.God forbid.I am sure Hal would be the first to tell William that Barbados is now a one eyed town,that its citizens have given up hope of a timely rescue,that the political class has been a spectacular failure,that bag bline hoes and pimps now hold sway in what was Parliament,that chopsutters and sumsbeeches now running tings in de service,therefore cable news is more interesting where gladiators of the law are intent on chipping away at an executive out of touch with the norms and traditions associated with that high office.

9. yes well well, on BU cutting and pasting from the KJV IS CONSIDERED CRAP BY YOU, SO IS POSTING GODLY MUSIC SUNG BY A LOCAL CHOIR…….DESPITE THE FACT THAT FOR YEARS MUSIC HAS BEEN POSTED ON SEVERAL THREADS
    SIMILARLY THE ANGEL GABRIEL CAN POST RUBBISH UTTERED FROM THE FILTHY LIPS OF A FOX NEWS TRUMP HATER……….BUT ONE IS NOT ALLOWED TO TELL THE TRUTH THAT THIS IDIOT IS BEING TUNED OUT DAILY BY MANY MANY FOX WATCHERS.

BUT BU IS GOING THE WAY OF VALUEMD

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dont mind people complaining, but then they complain and disappear and dont contribute anything….they act like 12 years olds, complaining to see who they can get into trouble, pity there are not more females on the blogs who contribute on a regular basis….instead of the regular 12 year old males, we hope, who lack maturity.

11. FOR THE PERCEPTUAL VISION OF BARBADOS AFFAIRS 2018-2019.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…ya lie, ya also cut and paste just as more crap from racists websites as John Liesalot, which adds nothing useful to any conversation, the only thing going the way of valuemed is you, Liesalot and Ha, Ha the fraud.

13. RE where gladiators of the law are intent on chipping away at an executive out of touch with the norms and traditions associated with that high office.

WHAT A LOAD! HIGH OFFICE MY FOOT! NORMS & TRADITIONS ?????? YOU MEAN LIKE THE KNOWN IMMORALITY OF KENNEDY AND CLINTON? OR THE ALLEGED MURDER OF A PRESIDENT BY LBJ?

CERTAINLY REMOVING REGULATIONS THAT CURTAILED TRADE IS NOT A NORM OR TRADITIONAL, NOR IS RESPONDING TO LIES OF THE FAKE NEWS, NOR IS BEING YOURSELF? ah lie

SOME OF US USE NICE LOFTY SOUNDING WORDS…….PROUD PROSE……THAT ARE CONTRADICTORY, LEAVE OUT THE WHOLE TRUTH AND MEAN NOTHING

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

When have any of you 3 clowns posted something like this to uplift the Black spirit and give young people kn Barbados and the Caribbean hope and confidence in the themselves. ..everything you 3 skunks post is meant to degrade and demean the Black spirit…..just like too many other bloggers.

“Jamaica College Robotics Team Wins Prestigious Award at the FIRST Tech Challenge in New York
    19 hours agoby StephanieK
    Jamaica College Robotics Team New York FIRST Tech

Written by StephanieK
    The 13-member Jamaica College Robotics Team put on their best Usain Bolt impression after winning the prestigious and coveted Inspire Award, the highest award, at the FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) Relic Recovery Challenge in New York City. The Inspire Award is the top award given to teams at the FTC Championship. It is given to the team that is the best example of all-around excellence, acts as a strong ambassador, and is the best embodiment of the spirit of the US FIRST program.”

Read more: http://jamaicans.com/jamaica-college-robotics-team-wins-award-new-york/#ixzz57f6DPQsS

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

None of you three has beens would ever think of creating such a program for young black people in Barbados or anywhere else…one sits on his worn out old ass trying to convince black people they are better off as slaves..

…. the other negropean snitch sits on his fat tail in UK…pretending and convincing himself he is better off than the average Bajan back on the island ..,..

…. and apart from a few helpful health articles…you sit on your tail in Florida visiting racist websites and trying to brainwash people with religious nonsense….

what good are any of you to the upliftment of the island and people….Black people.

16. RE When have any of you 3 clowns posted something like this to uplift the Black spirit

CLEARLY YOU ARE A RELATIVE NEW COMER TO BU

I DO NOT HAVE TO POST BS THAT I CUT AND PASTE FROM HERE AND THERE……..I BEGUN BY POSTING MY ORIGINAL WORK AIMED TO EDIFY…….SO DID HAL AUSTIN WHEN HE POSTED HIS ORIGINAL WRITINGS.

WHY DOES THE “BLACK SPIRIT” NEED TO READ BS POSTINGS TO BE UPLIFTED

I READ MY BIBLE OR A GOOD COMMENTARY FOR UPLIFTMENT

I COME HERE, AS MANY OTHERS DO, FOR ENTERTAINMENT

WE COME TO BE ENTERTAINED BY YOUR HYSTERICS—HYPERBOLE– AND HYPOCRASY
    AND TO SYMPATHIZE WITH YOU ON YOUR HYSTERECTOMY! LOL

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP….you are clearly lost…knowing the fraud Ha, Ha…he more than likely plagarized and lifted most of what he posted from European magazines and other articles…I remember distinctly someone pointing that out on here a year or 2 ago.

I did mention you posted useful articles, but there are more important issues to address, ya see, there may be young people visiting the blog on a daily basis and do not view it as a rum shop but a forum where they can access useful knowledge and information that they cannot get in their homes schools or on the block…., a source of useful information. .

They sure as hell will not want to see comments telling them they are better off as slaves and all the other shit you 3 spout regularly.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

My uterus is intact though, ya bible been feeding you wrong information. ..just like all the other crap it feeds you….I dont come here solely for entertainment,…

… if each one cannot teach one the reality of the world and not a bunch of bible fantasies and self defeating mental and physical enslavement. ..then what’s the point.

Ha, Ha disgusts me, he is the perfect useless house negro and you are not too far behind either, ya just more mentally disciplined,

19. “Our local issues are important undoubtedly but to perceive that any Bajan can live and grow without closely studying the readily available data on a person like Trump or Kennedy or Thatcher or a Putin as if to suggest that they are different to EWB or JMGM or Arthur is surely beyond my stupid comprehension.”

dPd

I’m SMH in amazement……..

It seems as though you’re suggesting to better understand local or regional issues, we have to avail ourselves with “closely studying the readily available data on a person like Trump et al.”

…………or we should not discuss local or regional issues independently and “without closely studying the readily available data on a person like Trump….”

Hence, all topics posted to this forum for discussion should ultimately end with a extended discussion on Trump, Clinton, Obama, Muller, FBI etc, if if those issue have absolutely nothing to do with the topic.

But then again has you correctly stated, I have a problem with comprehension.

20. in my favorite book

In Proverbs 21:19 we read It is better to dwell in a corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman in a wide house.
    In Proverbs 25:24 we read ……… It is better to dwell in the corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman and in a wide house.

One wonders why Solomon said this twice………he was certainly an expert on the matter with 1000 wives and concubines

re if each one cannot teach one the reality of the world ..then what’s the point.

thats what I thought when I first came here, ……………but who am I to kick against the pricks?

I CAN EASILY GO FROM TRYING TO EDIFY TO ENJOYING THEENTERTAINMENT

BY THE WAY YOU THINK THAT YOU EDIFY ON BU……..BUT YOU DONT
    YOU ARE JUST A LOT OF HEAT ………BUT YOU PROVIDE NO LIGHT

NOW CARRY ON SMARTLY WITH YOUR CUTTING AND PASTING AND YOUR CAMPAIGN OF CRITICISM

21. Jjust minding my business but it is extremely interesting that almost every single topic posted that is related to our problems, we still end up talking about Trump/Mueller/ America.

If you look at the first sentence of this particular blog from DC you will see this blog is all about America, Barbados.

If you search on the word Barbados in the article you will not find it.

This thread should not even discuss Barbados!!

Here is the first sentence to keep it simple.

“All over the world today, the United States Department of State and the US’s billionaire Secretary of State Rex Tillerson (former CEO of the rapacious American multi-national oil corporation Exxon Mobil) are gleefully boasting about the coup that they pulled off in engineering the so-called “Lima Group of States” (inclusive of the CARICOM states of St Lucia and Guyana) into issuing an international Declaration that attacks and vilifies the socialist Government of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, as well as the success of Tillerson’s recent diplomatic effort to enlist Prime Minister Andrew Holness and the government of Jamaica in the USA’s ongoing crusade against Venezuela.”

22. @ Gabriel

“I am sure Hal would be the first to tell William that Barbados is now a one eyed town,that its citizens have given up hope of a timely rescue,that the political class has been a spectacular failure,that bag bline hoes and pimps now hold sway in what was Parliament,that chopsutters and sumsbeeches now running tings in de service ”

Please note:The dominant political class for the last 63 years has been Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour.

Your erudition is astounding

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Failed politicians should contribute, not just referee.

24. @ de Pedantic Dribbler
    “So if you and William and others find it stupid that international affairs will often supercede local affairs BUT more relevantly often directly mirror our affairs which gives us awesome opportunity to better understand how to fix ours then more power to such impractical wisdom.

Our local issues are important undoubtedly but to perceive that any Bajan can live and grow without closely studying the readily available data on a person like Trump or Kennedy or Thatcher or a Putin as if to suggest that they are different to EWB or JMGM or Arthur is surely beyond my stupid comprehension.”

Please enlighten me as to at least three things that Trump has done that will guide us to solving any of the following:

Our current account deficit
    Our depleted foreign reserves
    Our problems with the south coast sewage project
    Our violence in schools

or any other pressing issue we have at this time.

25. WILLIAM

YOU FORGOT
    1- OUR CRICKET
    2- MORONS wHO POST ON BU DAILY AND ALL DAY

THE ANSWER TO YOUR QUESTIONS IS OF COURSE…………NOTHING

ALSO IT SEEMS THAT BECAUSE YOU DID NOT WIN YOUR BID FOR OUR PARLIAMENT IN 91 THAT THIS MEANS THAT YOU SIMULTANEOUSLY HAD YOUR NAME REMOVED FROM THE BOOK OF LIFE ……FOR LIFE

THE IGNORANT POSTERS HAVE NOT READ OR GRASPED THE MORAL OF THE STORY OF ROBERT BRUCE WHO FAILED SIX TIMES BEFORE BECOMING KING OF SCOTLAND…………OR THE STORIES OF THE OTHER FOLK, TOO NUMEROUS TO TALLY, WHO ALSO FAILED AT THEIR FIRST ATTEMPT

26. Gabriel February 20, 2018 at 11:08 AM #

For an example of the poverty of our journalism, just look at the Haiti/Oxfam scandal. What have our media done about this clear abuse of Haitians, members of Caricom? When we have a Save the Children report (2008) that talks about six-year-old prostitutes, desperate people battling for survival.
    Nothing more clearly demonstrates the dehumanising regard these so-called international charities have for the very people they intend to help.
    Then we have the same with Oxfam, which promotes itself as a liberal campaigning organisation, yet ur media remain silent.
    The big question for the media is: have we had the same thing when the various bodies rushed in to Barbuda, Puerto Rico, the BVI, and other countries effected by the recent hurricanes?
    This is the real scandal of CBC and the print and digital media, writing/broadcasting nonsense every day about the silly issues raised by our second-rate politicians.
    This is what we get after over 50 years of constitutional independence and 55 years of so-called free secondary education.
    What we have now is not the journalism of Robert Best, Carlton Proute, Carl Moore, Marva Manning, Vic Brewster, Olga Lopez, and many others – or even the brilliant teenage journalism of Gercine Carter, as a young Foundation School who every week, along with her colleague, had young ears glued to Rediffusion.
    Where is our community college, where is the university, when it comes to the training of cutting-edge journalism?
    For first-rate regional English-speaking journalism, go to Jamaica, one of the many islands Barbadians fool themselves they are better educated than.

27. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

proof of lifting articles by Ha, Ha Fraud;

i posted the Oxfam scandal article on this same blog yesterday, the creep could not even wait a week to pretend he was the one posted the info….now he acts as its all his doing, the same thing pointed out about the european articles he lifts, posts to BU and claims as his own ideas.

28. @ Hal
    “…….. or even the brilliant teenage journalism of Gercine Carter, as a young Foundation School who every week, along with her colleague, had young ears glued to Rediffusion.”

As the old people say: “Yuh know yuh onions.” Gercine Carter is unmatched as a columnist . I have said for donkey years, that her columns , should be used in classrooms, to expose students to clear thinking before they put pen to paper.

Unfortunately,what we have now, is garbage in and garbage out.

29. Please note:The dominant political class for the last 63 years has been Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour.

… and the second is the progeny of the first!!

I am sure there are “experts” in genetics who might want to comment!!

30. William Skinner February 20, 2018 at 2:45 PM #

She is old school. She once interviewed as a young teenager on her Rediffusion programme, either talking about the PPM and Black Star or 4-H clubs. My two teenage interests.

31. http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/313/Origins-of-Oxfam-1942-1951

… but then again, Quakers have also been founders of Barclays, Lloyds, Cadbury. Clarke’s shoes, Bethlehem Steel Sony etc etc.

… and Amnesty International!!

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/85/Amnesty-International

32. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Finally…Oxfam donations are being cancelled, so the sexual sadists all of whom are male chauvinist pigs,will have to crawl back into their troglodyte caves.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/oxfam-chief-prostitution-murdering-babies-mark-goldring-select-committee-sex-abuse-misconduct-aid-a8219131.html

` Oxfam has received 26 new allegations of sexual misconduct since the revelations over a 2011 scandal in Haiti, embattled leaders have told MPs.

Mark Goldring, the chief executive of Oxfam GB, said the charity had put out a call for people to come forward with reports.

“Across Oxfam Great Britain we have had about 26 stories, reports come to us which were either new reports come out as a result of the stories, or earlier stories where people said, ‘I didn’t necessarily report this at the time’,” he said.

Oxfam’s government funding suspended over sex scandal
    “Some of those cases relate to the UK, some of them relate to our international programme.”

He was appearing before the International Development Committee, which announced a full inquiry on sexual exploitation in the wider aid sector. `

33. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

the curse that is male pedophilia…child rapists.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/oxfam-latest-sex-scandal-prostitution-rape-children-haiti-warned-2008-save-the-children-a8214781.html

“Our own fieldwork suggests that the scale of abuse is significant,” the report concluded. “Every agency is at risk from this problem … existing efforts to keep children safe from sexual exploitation and abuse are inadequate.”

It identified “every kind of child sexual abuse and exploitation imaginable”, including rape, prostitution, pornography, sexual slavery, assaults and trafficking.

One 15-year-old girl in Haiti told how “humanitarian men” exposed themselves and offered her the equivalent of £2 to perform a sex act.

“The men call to me in the streets and they ask me to go with them,” said another Haitian girl. “They do this will all of us young girls.”

34. John February 20, 2018 at 2:54 PM #

Was Codrington, of college fame, a Quaker?

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yall hard back old ass black men who are on BU trying to relive long lost teenage days should be using ya decades of experience to put systems in place to protect ya own people from these stinking pedophile animals out of europe and other places, instead of on a blog acting like 12 year old prepubescent little girls.

36. Yes as far as my interpretation of the wording of his will goes!!

He lists his Friends in England Antigua, St. Christopher and Barbados.

His plantation in Antigua was called Betty’s Hope.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Betty%27s_Hope

Hope is pretty conclusive, at least for me! … it cinches the deal!

The bequest of his plantations here in Barbados was to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts … he took care to see his slaves and their offspring received the Gospel

Drax was also an early Quaker family!!

Drax Hope!!

There is a John Drax will of 1671 which lists Colonel Christopher Codtington as a cousin!!

Henry Drax’s will of 1682 lists his Friends as Christopher Codrington, John Codrington, Richard Guy, Samuel Newton and John Hothersall.

Guy, Newton and Hothersall I know were Quakers.

So the Drax and Codrington families were related and both were Quaker!!

37. John February 20, 2018 at 7:19 PM #

Is this is the Codrington who owned land in Barbuda and left it in common ownership to Barbudans which the government now wants to sell off to Robert de Nero?
    Also, was Drax connected with the founding of Combermere School?

38. http://www.combermereschool.com/

It is claimed that Combermere dates back to the 1682 Drax will.

I have never researched it.

If it does then both Combermere and Lodge are Quaker initiatives from 1682 and 1710 respectively.

I reckon Harrison College was too, the Harrison family was Quaker!!

That was 1733.

It is also a fact that Foundation results from the Williams bequest of 1671 at a time when Quakers could not keep schools.

So if someone sat down and did the leg work I reckon a conclusion would be that all of the older secondary schools were Quaker initiatives.

I am not seeing Barbuda in the Codrington wills but I am seeing Bermuda!!

The whole island belonged to Christopher Codrington, 1711 will!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codrington,_Antigua_and_Barbuda

39. Are you pulling WC’s chain?

She certainly is flushing!!

I am enjoying the history too!!

40. John February 20, 2018 at 7:53 PM #

I think Barbuda was bequeathed to the ex-slaves in common ownership by Codrington. I must find time to visit the Friends library on Euston Road to dig on this connection with older secondary schools. Sounds plausible.

41. http://www.barbudaful.net/barbudaful-history/historical-notes.html

Found this link.

Perhaps the will extract I am reading from mistook Barbuda for Bermuda.

Next time I am in the Archives I will check it out.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 20, 2018 at 7:19 PM
    “Drax was also an early Quaker family!!
    Drax Hope!!
    There is a John Drax will of 1671 which lists Colonel Christopher Codtington as a cousin!!
    Henry Drax’s will of 1682 lists his Friends as Christopher Codrington, John Codrington, Richard Guy, Samuel Newton and John Hothersall.
    Guy, Newton and Hothersall I know were Quakers.”

All you are confirming here is that the Quakers were some of the biggest slave owners in Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda the slave breeding station of the Caribbean.

How could the Quakers be so much against slavery but were some of the biggest participants in that ‘ghastly’ anti-god’ business?
    They were no different from the Roman Catholic priests who backed Mussolini and his jackboot fascists and kept quiet while Hitler and his Third Reich exterminated your god’s chosen people.

No wonder that a true Quaker in the form of Benjamin Lay found you lot to be an abomination in the sight of the Light of God and as a result, for standing up for righteousness, was chased away from the hellhole of slavery by your hypocritical land-owning ancestors.

43. @ Miller

I share your sentiments as well, especially taking the following information into consideration:

“After Barbados the Codrington family expanded their interests to Antigua and established Betty’s Hope plantation there, eventually at over 850 acres it had almost THREE HUNDRED (300) SLAVES and was one of the largest in the Caribbean. OVER MORE THAN FOUR (4) GENERATIONS the Codrington family ESTABLISHED themselves as PLANTATION OWNERS and SLAVE TRADERS, becoming a wealthy and powerful political family both in the Caribbean and in England, as a result of their profits from sugar.”

If the Codringtons were Quakers, then the information clearly suggests they were slave owners and traders.

In his fascination with the Quakers and slavery…….is John attempting to “romanticize” or justify slavery?

Perhaps he should inform us what are his “real” objectives.

44. Did that already!!!!

Make every square inch of Barbados a World Heritage Site!!

45. All you are confirming here is that the Quakers were some of the biggest slave owners in Barbados,

Duuuuh

Said that already!!!!

If all the planters were Quakers then the largest slave owners in Barbados were at one time Quaker!!!

What is so difficult to understand!!

46. It is a historical fact

But so too is the fact that the Quakers ended slavery!!!

Both are historical facts!!

That’s why every square inch of Barbados is a World Heritage Site!!!

Duuuuuuh!!!!

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 20, 2018 at 8:45 PM

So if the Bajan plantocracy was made up mainly of Quakers who then why did your
    Ancestors had to hide away in their secret meeting places used to ‘Christianize’ the slaves?

Why did they kick out Benjamin Lay? Because he was the Clement Payne of that time sent by the Light to shine on your dark conduct of hypocrisy and wickedness?

48. What is difficult for me to understand is your fascination with romanticizing slavery, especially from your particular perspective.

Why not inform us about the horrors of slavery and how white “so called” physician Samuel A. Cartwright diagnosed black people trying to escape the harsh treatment at the hand of inhumane white people as having a conjectural mental illness called drapetomania.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 20, 2018 at 8:46 PM

So where are the cultural remnants of the people who were living in Barbados before the Englishman arrived and killed them off with diseases and muskets?

50. @ WW&C

Since we are “talking” about Trump and slavery, perhaps the following article maybe of some interest to you:

https://www.thestar.com/news/world/analysis/2018/02/20/two-days-23-false-claims-from-donald-trump-including-one-spectacular-lie.html