Nelson statue on Broad Street defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

Some of my more literate readers will recognize that I have borrowed the title of today’s column from the BBC comedy show of the 1960’s that satirized the week’s developments and news stories. I do not at all possess the satirical or comedic talents of the BBC’s scriptwriters, but some events of last week do merit further exposition. Moreover, with the radio talk shows on a self-enforced break so as to take advantage of the lucrative pre-Christmas commercial offerings, I suppose that people will do a lot more reading of the newspapers and the blogs to keep themselves abreast of local current affairs.

One of the highlights of the week was the public anticipation of the decision of the Fair Trading Commission [FTC] on the legal validity of the SOL/BNTCL merger as proposed. Since I currently have the honour of chairing that institution, I paid especial attention to the populist public discourse on the matter. What struck me most about that phenomenon was the seeming consensus among those who aired their views publicly that the merger should not eventuate into approval by the FTC.

So much so that when one newspaper suggested, even before the decision was published, that the sale had been approved, it provoked comments that I consider defamatory of myself from one source, clearly without the slightest clue as to the law relating to fair competition, that “integrity needed to be returned to the Commission” while making mention of the last two years, the period that coincides precisely with my tenure as Chairman. I have accordingly referred the matter to my legal advisors and will say no more on that for now. His was clearly a purely partisan view, based wholly on the perceived sentiments of those to with which he may be politically aligned.

There seems for some reason to have been a general public anticipation that the sale would be approved or maybe it was the case that there had been some misleading leak of the Commission’s deliberations, since another section of the press, not the Barbados Advocate, also boldly suggested in its Tuesday edition that the “FTC [was] set to okay the BNTCL sale.” On the subsequent publication of the decision to the contrary, that section of the press, to my best recollection, did not even deign to concede the inaccuracy of its Tuesday item. Ah, well.

It is clear, and perhaps understandable, that some members of the public perceived the issue as a partisan political matter. If approved, a victory for the DLP, if not approved, a regrettable loss. This is indeed a pity, but par for the course in Barbados, especially at the current time when much is viewed through partisan lens. I am pleased to relate that both the technical staff involved and the members of the Board of the Commission dealt with the matter judiciously as one of applying the relevant law and economic theory of fair competition to the proposed agreement between the parties and took all relevant admissible evidence into account.

A work of art

Another divisive event that took place during the week was the re-decoration (I put it no higher or lower than that) on the eve of the observance of our 51st anniversary of Independence of the statue of Lord Nelson in Heroes’ Square in the national colours. It seems clear that the occasion was chosen with some care, to highlight no doubt, the incongruity of the substance of the next day’s celebration with the prominence of the Nelson statue in the equivalent of the national pantheon.

In this context, public reaction again varied, though not necessarily on partisan political lines this time. Rather, it lay in the unstated but nearly palpable distinction among those who wondered how we would appear to others if we were to permit the destruction of national monuments with impunity and who therefore appealed for condign punishment for the culprit(s); those who view Nelson as some totem of the whitish Barbadian and for whom his removal would be anathema; those who consider the statue to be a blot on our current national ethos undeserving of such geographical prominence; and perhaps those who do not consider the current placement of the statue to be even worthy of contemporary discussion.

Officialdom, of course acutely sensitive to the majority public opinion at this time, came down safely on the side of law and order and cowered under the promise of a national conversation on the matter; as if these ever result in anything other than an intermittent resumption of the debate every six months or more. Whither, one may ask, the “national debate” on formal constitutional republican status for Barbados? Whither the “national debate” on the execution of the death penalty? Whither the national debate on corporal punishment in schools?” All kicked down the road until the next time with a promise of an imminent national discourse. Given our cultural penchant for talking over doing however, [with of course the exception of the Nelson decorator(s)], it may be just as well.

Of course, the apt democratic mode of resolution would be to refer the matter to a plebiscite but, given the unpredictability of these and the natural fear of a governing administration to have any substantive indication of being out of step with its electorate, this seems most unlikely.

As if this were not sufficiently heady, a local historian managed to introduce another intriguing angle to the entire debate. According to Dr Karl Watson or, at least, the newspaper headline, “Nelson was not pro-slavery”, a proposition not at all proven in the text of the published article that appears to suggest rather that the Admiral acted merely as a tax collector on the island for the British government and points to no utterance of his or other evidence that might support the assertion in the headline. More debate is expected.

228 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – What was the week that was…”

1. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

nelson lost his sight in one eye in a bar fight, contrary to all the lies told about the how, he also lost his hand in a bar fight after it was nearly torn off and had to be surgically removed and dumped in a bucket…, plus there is the pervert practices of which he was world renowned …and intelligent people should take a hooligan like nelson seriously, oh really.

2. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

John at 8:06 AM

I love your submission . It reflects a high level of scholarship. Thanks for restoring my faith in our Education System.

3. de pedantic Dribbler December 4, 2017 at 9:47 AM #

You should try to be . respectful at all times. What is the earliest school curriculum in your . possession? Do you have a copy of . the early or pre 20th century curriculum of any secondary school in Barbados?

4. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

d p D at 9 : 47 AM

I quite understand your frustration as witnessed in this submission. Like me ,12 hours ago , illogic wears a sharp brain down. On religious matters you can safely ignore John. On matters of race you can safely ignore him as well. We do not know him nor the shoes in which he has walked or is walking. Tolerance ,my brother,tolerance.

5. We have seen how Richard Straker used the “damnable doctrine” quote.

Now, lets look at Hilary Beckles.

“For this, Nelson targeted and denigrated Wilberforce. In this regard he boasted to Simon Taylor that he will fight and speak to the death against the “damnable doctrine of Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies”. The concept that the promotion of freedom for black people was a “damnable doctrine” went viral. In addition to a warrior and politician, Nelson became an intellectual spokesman for white enslavement of blacks.  However, to those persons in the British parliament and civil society who wanted slave trading and slavery ended, he was an evil man, a hater of black people and represented the wickedness of the British Empire.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/24/why-nelson-must-fall-2/

Peer reviewed peer except neither, unlike Nelson actually earned their peerage by their action!!

All I can say is that at least Richard Straker was honest and let us know that the quote was unrelated to slavery!!

What is the point of preaching division when unity is what our country cries out for?

Doesn’t Nelson’s statue speak to loyalty and service to Country?

Isn’t that all we need from it?

6. John December 4, 2017 at 11:52 AM #

John, it is interesting that white Bajans want to interact with black Bajans – tha.t is the future. The alternative is the New Barb adians taking over.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin December 4, 2017 at 11:59 AM

Bajans ‘passing for white’ are easy targets for the still mentally-enslaved black Bajans to blame for their current condition of economic disenfranchisement and failure to control the commanding heights of the economy as clearly demonstrated in the ongoing fire sale of the country’s strategic assets (BNB, BL&P, BNTCL and now the Hilton Hotel for a song).

Bajan whites are a dying segment of the Bajan population whose economic dominance is fast disappearing like their physical presence.
    Maybe they are paying the ultimate price for the sins of the forefathers.

Bajan whites have no electoral presence in Parliament which is made up of 30 black men and women, some of whom are as black as night.

Meanwhile, other ethnic groupings (according to Hal, les nouveaux Barbadiens) are quietly moving to become the new economic masters of the black Bajans who soon will be returning to a socio-economic status equivalent to that when whites had them in physical enslavement.

Instead of dealing with this oncoming hurricane of socio-economic disenfranchisement
    and also with the very serious threats posed by the South Coast sewage situation to their country’s only remaining forex cash cow and public health, Bajan blacks prefer to find solace and satisfaction in rounds of oral diarrhea intellectual masturbation on a statue of a disabled man long dead even before their ancestors were freed from the chains of bondage.

8. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Ha, Ha..the eternally slave minded…hope his children and grandchildren escaped that curse.

9. Hal Austin December 4, 2017 at 11:59 AM #
    John December 4, 2017 at 11:52 AM #
    John, it is interesting that white Bajans want to interact with black Bajans – tha.t is the future. The alternative is the New Barb adians taking over

It was always the case that “white” Bajans want to interact with “Black” Bajans and vice versa!!!

Proof of this is the mixing that has occurred!!

No clearer proof of desire to interact than that!!!

The New Barbadians are by and large atheists!!!!!

They have nothing to hold on to!!

The first sign of trouble they will brek and run!!

So, don’t worry, this too will pass!!

10. Twenty years ago when the debate on the movement of Nelson started, I started researching and in no time was able to present to the Committee!!

I had all the facts I thought were necessary but I lacked this one, who were Wilberforce’s hypocritical allies;

I was a gullible fool back then, I figured the historians who had presented the “damnable doctrine” bit had done their due diligence, who was I to question.

But they haven’t!!!

I assumed Wilberforce was only about slavery, but he wasn’t.

I could kick myself for being such a gullible fool.

Wisdom was just to high for me!!

It is only because of how the argument subtly shifted that I realized the difference in what they were saying now …. and to be truthful, it really wasn’t me and education, it was a piece of inspiration!!!!

When William Pitt the Younger returned as PM in 1804, Nelson was concerned that the French, who he hated, would be appeased by the politicians and would ” murder of all our friends and fellow subjects in the colonies”.

These friends and subjects were of all colours!!!

So if anything, Nelson was entirely colour blind … and it did not have anything to do with loss of one eye!!

His only concern was the French …… who were …. white!!

So if anything, Nelson hated white people is probably truer to say given the facts now available to me and what little wisdom I have!!

11. John December 4, 2017 at 2:38 PM #

Have . you read William Hague’s biography of Wilberforce?

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wondering…..should the statue of Nelson in Barbados be

Tossed into the Careenage or otherwise disposed of
    Removed and placed in a museum or similar space in Barbados
    Sent to England from when he came, and let them decide what to do with it
    Other

13. @NorthernObserver

It is part of our history and should be located in the museum.

14. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Miller at 12 : 56 PM

The Miller is grinding exceedingly fine to day. You are on point. We have been majoring in minors lately haven’t we?
    In any case we do not have too far to travel .

15. NorthernObserver December 4, 2017 at 2:47 PM #

Some of our more popular schools have been bequeathed to us by slave owners. Should we re-name these schools or bulldoze them?

16. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

John at 2:38 PM

That is the answer I was expecting. It had more to do with mercantilism/economics than concerns for the slaves and the slave trade. It was a clash over hegemony between the French and British. It was about sugar and maybe cotton.
    The Planters and the Merchants were the net beneficiaries of the victory at Trafalgar hence their eagerness to celebrate and memorialise.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

OK. That is 2 votes for relocation within Barbados.
    Hal, I am unsure which of the 4 options applies to you? Other? You wish to rename the statue?

18. Hal, I am unsure which of the 4 options applies to you? Other? You wish to rename the statue?

I have no opinion about moving or renaming the statue. I think vandalising it is criminal. About .the schools, I would simply ..improve the quality of the education.

19. The Planters and the Merchants were the net beneficiaries of the victory at Trafalgar hence their eagerness to celebrate and memorialise.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

… and the slaves got to keep their lives!!

20. Have . you read William Hague’s biography of Wilberforce?

No, I rely on the Internet and try to answer questions I pose myself like why Wilberforce does not appear as a place name in Barbados and rarely as the name of a slave in the 1817 returns!!

Did you know his wife was a Spooner, Barbados connected?

Documentaries are good and again they are on the internet and they reduce the time in gaining access to information.

Sometimes I will buy a book if I want more than is on the internet.

Books are great when you first read them but then they need to be stored and take up space!!

I am not trying to disparage Wilberforce, I think it was remarkable that he even kept the issue of the slave trade on the agenda in parliament at a time when there was the far more pressing issue, war.

But, he was a politician, and I am sure he himself would admit not a saint!!

Another lesson I learnt during this exercise, people don’t exist or act in a vacuum … to understand their actions you need to understand others closely connected.

21. Bajan whites have no electoral presence in Parliament which is made up of 30 black men and women, some of whom are as black as night.

Go and use your two eyes and don’t rely on what people tell you!!

22. When Bajans owned something we could have spoken about a cultural cleansing of foreign signs and symbols

Not it is the problem for the Trinidadians, and whoever else LOL

‘These fields and hills are (not) our own’

23. These fields and hills are (not) our own’
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Yeh they are, they ain’t going any where!!

24. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Jonn at 3:53 PM

“and the slaves kept their lives”

I do not understand the sentence above. Did the French slaughter slaves when they captured territories? Did that happen in Trinidad, St Lucia, Dominica . Martinique etc? The plantations still needed labourers. Or are you saying the British treated their slaves more humanely?

25. @Bernard Codrington at 10:50 AM said “I love your submission .”

It truly saddens me that you are so easily duped by John’s brain damaged (that’s not metaphorical, but clinical) extravagances.

26. Wilberforce himself was also considered a hypocrite.

What you won’t hear is that people considered him a hypocrite because he expended his energies on the slave trade and did little to help his own who were the victims of wage slavery and whose conditions were far worse.

Google Wilberforce Hypocrite and you will realise a lot more was going on in England tha just the abolition of the slave trade and ultimately slavery.

27. @Bernard Codrington at 3:27 PM #

“That is the answer I was expecting. It had more to do with mercantilism/economics than concerns for the slaves and the slave trade.”

AHA! I knew you weren’t completely bereft of brains Bernard. You are right. It was about economics for the Planters and the Merchants who were the net beneficiaries of the victory at Trafalgar.

But what was the cornerstone of their economics? Oops… their slaves. They didn’t have “concerns” about their slaves, they simply wanted to keep them enslaved.

28. @Bernard Codrington December 4, 2017 at 4:50 PM #
    “Jonn at 3:53 PM
    “and the slaves kept their lives”
    I do not understand the sentence above.”

You do not understand Bernard, because you have not yet realised that John inhabits another reality since the tragic and cruel incidents that have robbed him of his once considerable faculties. He will no doubt compose some fanciful nonsense larded with historical references, but to witness his performance is heartbreaking for those of us who knew him before the damage.

29. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

John at 4 :07 Pm

If those elected whites you saw in Parliament are whites” because they “self identified as white”, do you expect normal people like Hal and I to see them? Tell us who they are nuh.

30. I do not understand the sentence above. Did the French slaughter slaves when they captured territories? Did that happen in Trinidad, St Lucia, Dominica . Martinique etc? The plantations still needed labourers. Or are you saying the British treated their slaves more humanely?

Read what happened in St. Domingue/Haiti between 1794 and 1804 if you want to see how the other “half” lived at the time of Nelson!!

Try Guadeloupe too!!

Martinique however was British in the period. Like Guadeloupe, it too was captured by the British in 1794.

Guadeloupe was retaken by the French, Victor Hugues the same year.

See what happened there!!

Figure out for yourself what Nelson was referring to when he wrote about the “damnable doctrine” in Jine 1805 when he was after the French fleet and why he hated the French!!

Brigand’s War, Victor Hugues, Delgres,you should read about.

Bussa is insignificant, besides being a fiction!!

I went through that exercise 20 years ago after spending about 6 days up in the mountains hiking in Guadeloupe on the Victor Hugues trail.

Matouba is another place you should read about.

I knew “white” and not so “white” people from both Martinique and Guadeloupe ……. different folks, all French, but just different because the two islands went through different experiences.

When you do that you will get the answer to your questions!!

31. John at 4 :07 Pm
    If those elected whites you saw in Parliament are whites” because they “self identified as white”, do you expect normal people like Hal and I to see them? Tell us who they are nuh.
    +++++++++++++++

Been thru all that already.

People can self identify as black or white.

Politicians are people too!!

32. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

John

Please ignore my last submissions at 5:04 PM and 4 :50 PM. No offence intended.

Thanks Peter.

33. None taken

34. https://archive.org/details/chronologicalhis01sout

This is a good source, the Chronological History of the West Indies.

A lot of what I learnt about the French experience came from there.

I used the volumes in the Public Library but it is available for download on the internet

I chose pdf, 23.3 MB.

Hope the link works.

35. Sorry, looks like this is only the first volume, 1492 to 1655

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dont mind John…nelson hated the french because he lost either the eye or the hand because he went after a french woman and nearly got killed..lol

Thàt is the honest truth.

37. @ Peter Lawrence Thompson who wrote ” John inhabits another reality since the tragic and cruel incidents that have robbed him of his once considerable faculties.”

Slaves also suffered tragic and cruel incidents that robbed them of their considerable faculties.

38. @Hants

How do you mean, were the Quakers not present to rub balm on our physical and emotional wounds?

39. @ David,

I will do some research before answering your question. lol

40. @ David,

“Despite their efforts, the Quakers failed in their experiment to transform the culture of Barbados.

By the 1790s, the Quaker presence on that island had vanished. “Many of them simply just moved to Pennsylvania,”

41. @ David “They challenged the very powerful plantation power structure and lost,” he says. “It was an extraordinary challenge, but today there’s little evidence that they had much impact.

But they did have the local government frightened for two decades.”

Enough of this .

I gine and watch some music videos starting with Glennis Grace.

42. Hants

You probably got that from Gragg.

Gragg is a step or so behind me!!

I started from where he got to in 2010/11!!

Prior to 1790 and for the previous 100 or more years the culture of Barbados had been essentially Quaker.

These were the people who owned slaves, recognized it was wrong and did something about it.

This was no experiment.

This was the real thing and it was successful as evidenced by the facts that Barbados survived and slavery was abolished!!

In 1780, 10 years earlier, Samauel Rous, a descendant of Margaret Fell widow who married George Fox was laid to rest in the Rous vault at Halton.

Halton is where George Fox stayed in 1671 when he visited Barbados on his way to America.

“President, the Hon. Samuel Rous, owner of “Clifton Hall” pltn in St. John died and was buried in the Rous vault on “Halton” pltn.

The 1790’s was if you like, a changing of the guard.”

Nelson’s statue 20 years later was a watershed. This is far from Quaker thinking as it gets from what I read so for sure by 1813 the Quaker

How many statues do you see in Barbados prior to 1813?

Quakers did not just up and leave for Pennsylvania!!!

Pennsylvania became available to Quakers and other non conformist sects in 1681/2.

If the Quakers had up and left then, Barbados would have collapsed and slavery would still be going strong!!

Some did go from the 1680’s, but many stayed, many died here.

Succeeding generations after the first couple drifted away from Quakerism and became Anglicans.

So, if you read Schomburgk, you will see him asserting that by 1810/11, there were no Quakers in Barbados.

But there were!!

For example, there was a Wilkinson burial at Strong Hope in 1828.

Rowland Gibson was born in the Quaker Yard in which the Jewish Synagogue exists in the late 1830’s.

43. Foundation, Combermere, Lodge and Harrison College remain as evidence of their presence.

It is kind of like Cadbury, Quaker from its inception until it was recently bought by Kraft and resold to Heinz 57.

Quakers have just moved on.

44. “They challenged the very powerful plantation power structure and lost,” he says. “It was an extraordinary challenge, but today there’s little evidence that they had much impact.”

I say they were the planter class for more than 100 years!!

There is evidence all over to show the impact they had on Barbados.

World Heritage Site … every square inch!!

45. John September 14, 2017 at 7:17 PM #

Let’s look at Professor Woodville Marshall’s book of place names and see what he has to say about the Choyce (Choice) and Prerogative.

The Choyce (Choice)
    “It is identified by name on both Mayo’s Map (1721) and Schomburgk’s map (1848) ….. The origin of the name is unknown. It might be speculated that it is a sardonic reference by a contemporary to an individual’s selection/acquisition of an unpromising piece of real estate.”
    Prerogative

“The name can be found on in the Barralier listing of 1825 but its origins are unclear. It is possible that the name was merely an example of Barbadian bombast.”

He did not get it!!

So far I have shown three historians who missed out on the contribution of the Quakers, Professor Jerome Handler, Professor Hilary Beckles and Professor Woodville Marshall.
    Just need to look at the writings of Dr. Karl Watson and see what his position is/was.

Professor Henry Fraser who is not a historian does publish works on History. Of the Moravians, he writes in his book on Historic Churches “The Moravians seem to have fared better than the Quakers of an earlier period in their relations with the white planter population and in their efforts towards conversion”

Professor Fraser misses the fact that the white planters were Quakers themselves.

Life goes on and knowledge progresses leaving us behind!!

Larry Gragg, in his book published in 2008, “The Quaker Community on Barbados:

Challenging the Culture of the Planter Class” shows more recent scholarship in the area.
    … and in 2014

https://muse.jhu.edu/book/33418

“This collection of fifteen insightful essays examines the complexity and diversity of Quaker antislavery attitudes across three centuries, from 1658 to 1890. Contributors from a range of disciplines, nations, and faith backgrounds show Quaker’s beliefs to be far from monolithic. They often disagreed with one another and the larger antislavery movement about the morality of slaveholding and the best approach to abolition. Not surprisingly, contributors explain, this complicated and evolving antislavery sensibility left behind an equally complicated legacy. While Quaker antislavery was a powerful contemporary influence in both the United States and Europe, present-day scholars pay little substantive attention to the subject. This volume faithfully seeks to correct that oversight, offering accessible yet provocative new insights on a key chapter of religious, political, and cultural history. Contributors include Dee E. Andrews, Kristen Block, Brycchan Carey, Christopher Densmore, Andrew Diemer, J. William Frost, Thomas D. Hamm, Nancy A. Hewitt, Maurice Jackson, Anna Vaughan Kett, Emma Jones Lapsansky-Werner, Gary B. Nash, Geoffrey Plank, Ellen M. Ross, Marie-Jeanne Rossignol, James Emmett Ryan, and James Walvin. ”

… still see “every square inch a World Heritage Site”

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Whatever John suffered or is suffering…is just a manifestation of the long ago suffering of others…..it is bound to happen, people suffer all the time, nothing new, I just will not fill up my head with his suffering.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Beckles weighs in and nothing done to an old statue, like throwing paint, a statue which is representative of the brutal enslavement of and racism practiced against Africans and their descendants is unjust, says he…and I totally agree.

Stephen Lashley should never be reelected to parliament, he wants to lock up someone, he needs to look no further than in his own household, a 100,000 dollar UNESCO loan in taxpayer’s name and he needs 5 (FIVE) consultatants at over 800 dollars per consultant to tell him what to do, he should be in prison….at least the UNESCO peoplen were cognizant enough to know giving that money to government is highway robbery and that thiefing is a REAL crime.

“It’s unjust!
    No one should be charged for vandalizing Nelson, argues Sir Hilary

Added by Kaymar Jordan on December 4, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies Sir Hilary Beckles has come out strongly in defence of whoever defaced the statue of Lord Horatio Nelson late last month, suggesting that one day they may very well be revered by society for seeking to right an “immoral” wrong.

On the eve of this island’s 51st anniversary of political independence celebrated on November 29, city commuters were surprised to discover that the statue, which was erected in 1813 – some 30 years before the towering monument in London – was covered in yellow spray paint and other graffiti.

Whoever defaced it also left a sign at the base of the statue stating: “Lord Nelson will Fall. This racist white supremacist who would rather die than see black persons free, stands proudly in our nation’s capital. Nelson must go! Fear not Barbadians have spoken, politicians have failed us.”

The text was similar to the headline of a column written by Sir Hilary in September, calling for the removal of the sculpture.

In another article submitted today on the topic, Sir Hilary compared the illegal action of defacing Nelson to the breaking of an “unjust law” by freedom fighter Rosa Parks in Alabama, USA in 1955, out of which he said “the spring of freedom flooded the nation”.

48. You are actually watching Hilary Beckles self destruct!!

49. Barbados was a Quaker experiment in Christianity just like Cadbury was a Quaker experiment in making chocolates!!

The major difference is that the Cadbury experiment was conducted by one Quaker family whereas the Barbados experiment was conducted by many!!

Same logic goes for Barclays, it was a Quaker experiment in banking, or Clarks which was a Quaker experiment in making shoes.