Nelson statue on Broad Street defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

Some of my more literate readers will recognize that I have borrowed the title of todayโ€™s column from the BBC comedy show of the 1960โ€™s that satirized the weekโ€™s developments and news stories. I do not at all possess the satirical or comedic talents of the BBCโ€™s scriptwriters, but some events of last week do merit further exposition. Moreover, with the radio talk shows on a self-enforced break so as to take advantage of the lucrative pre-Christmas commercial offerings, I suppose that people will do a lot more reading of the newspapers and the blogs to keep themselves abreast of local current affairs.

One of the highlights of the week was the public anticipation of the decision of the Fair Trading Commission [FTC] on the legal validity of the SOL/BNTCL merger as proposed. Since I currently have the honour of chairing that institution, I paid especial attention to the populist public discourse on the matter. What struck me most about that phenomenon was the seeming consensus among those who aired their views publicly that the merger should not eventuate into approval by the FTC.

So much so that when one newspaper suggested, even before the decision was published, that the sale had been approved, it provoked comments that I consider defamatory of myself from one source, clearly without the slightest clue as to the law relating to fair competition, that โ€œintegrity needed to be returned to the Commissionโ€ while making mention of the last two years, the period that coincides precisely with my tenure as Chairman. I have accordingly referred the matter to my legal advisors and will say no more on that for now. His was clearly a purely partisan view, based wholly on the perceived sentiments of those to with which he may be politically aligned.

There seems for some reason to have been a general public anticipation that the sale would be approved or maybe it was the case that there had been some misleading leak of the Commissionโ€™s deliberations, since another section of the press, not the Barbados Advocate, also boldly suggested in its Tuesday edition that the โ€œFTC [was] set to okay the BNTCL sale.โ€ On the subsequent publication of the decision to the contrary, that section of the press, to my best recollection, did not even deign to concede the inaccuracy of its Tuesday item. Ah, well.

It is clear, and perhaps understandable, that some members of the public perceived the issue as a partisan political matter. If approved, a victory for the DLP, if not approved, a regrettable loss. This is indeed a pity, but par for the course in Barbados, especially at the current time when much is viewed through partisan lens. I am pleased to relate that both the technical staff involved and the members of the Board of the Commission dealt with the matter judiciously as one of applying the relevant law and economic theory of fair competition to the proposed agreement between the parties and took all relevant admissible evidence into account.

A work of art

Another divisive event that took place during the week was the re-decoration (I put it no higher or lower than that) on the eve of the observance of our 51st anniversary of Independence of the statue of Lord Nelson in Heroesโ€™ Square in the national colours. It seems clear that the occasion was chosen with some care, to highlight no doubt, the incongruity of the substance of the next dayโ€™s celebration with the prominence of the Nelson statue in the equivalent of the national pantheon.

In this context, public reaction again varied, though not necessarily on partisan political lines this time. Rather, it lay in the unstated but nearly palpable distinction among those who wondered how we would appear to others if we were to permit the destruction of national monuments with impunity and who therefore appealed for condign punishment for the culprit(s); those who view Nelson as some totem of the whitish Barbadian and for whom his removal would be anathema; those who consider the statue to be a blot on our current national ethos undeserving of such geographical prominence; and perhaps those who do not consider the current placement of the statue to be even worthy of contemporary discussion.

Officialdom, of course acutely sensitive to the majority public opinion at this time, came down safely on the side of law and order and cowered under the promise of a national conversation on the matter; as if these ever result in anything other than an intermittent resumption of the debate every six months or more. Whither, one may ask, the โ€œnational debateโ€ on formal constitutional republican status for Barbados? Whither the โ€œnational debateโ€ on the execution of the death penalty? Whither the national debate on corporal punishment in schools?โ€ All kicked down the road until the next time with a promise of an imminent national discourse. Given our cultural penchant for talking over doing however, [with of course the exception of the Nelson decorator(s)], it may be just as well.

Of course, the apt democratic mode of resolution would be to refer the matter to a plebiscite but, given the unpredictability of these and the natural fear of a governing administration to have any substantive indication of being out of step with its electorate, this seems most unlikely.

As if this were not sufficiently heady, a local historian managed to introduce another intriguing angle to the entire debate. According to Dr Karl Watson or, at least, the newspaper headline, โ€œNelson was not pro-slaveryโ€, a proposition not at all proven in the text of the published article that appears to suggest rather that the Admiral acted merely as a tax collector on the island for the British government and points to no utterance of his or other evidence that might support the assertion in the headline. More debate is expected.

228 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – What was the week that was…”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Last week, I found myself in the unusual position of defending Sir Hilary. While walking through Swan Street, I actually felt forced to intervene in a conversation on the issue to tell the young men that I did not think that Hilary would do something like that.

2. That newspaper published what was leaked to them no doubt. It begs the question the extent a traditional media house is willing to bet on a source. They must have liability insurance anyway although the downside is that it will negative affect premium?

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

Your decision in the BNTCL shows that there are still men of integrity out there.

4. @Caswell

You are aware that Jeff is Chairman of the group of FTC Commissioners?

Our People

The appointed Chairman and Commissioners of the FTC are drawn from various sectors of business. It is these Commissioners who make decisions on applications, issue orders, initiate prosecution if necessary and create policy. Please click here for our Commissioner’s bios.

• Mr. Jefferson Cumberbatch

Chairman

• Mr. Adrian Elcock

Deputy Chairman

• Ms. Monique Taitt

Commissioner

• Mr. Kendrid Sargeant

Commissioner

• Dr. Philmore Alleyne

Commissioner

• Mr. Andrew Willoughby

Commissioner

• Dr. Donley Carrington

Commissioner

• Mr. Dawood Pandor

5. Here is SOLโ€™s reaction to the decision by the FTC:

What the proposed sale means for Barbadians

At Sol, our customers are our top priority and we have pledged our continued commitment to the communities we operate within. We are proud to call Barbados home and are committed to providing you with credible, easily-accessible information surrounding the proposed Barbados National Terminal Company Ltd. (BNTCL) sale.

We have thus far respected the FTCโ€™s investigative process as it relates to the proposed transaction and now that we have received a final ruling, we are reviewing the FTCโ€™s decision regarding the transaction to determine how best to move forward with our proposal to purchase the BNTCL. Below, we are sharing the facts to address any queries you may have.

1. Will Sol be able to import petroleum products after the privatisation of BNTCL? BNTCL does not import, own or sell any petroleum products โ€” it merely provides through putting services (storage and transfer of petroleum products). Ownership of BNTCL would not allow Sol to influence or control the importation of petroleum products, because this is the responsibility of the BNOCL โ€” a separate, government-owned entity. Sol has not requested any right to exclusively import products as part of the transaction nor does it intend to.

2. Would Solโ€™s ownership of BNTCL allow Sol to control the pricing of fuel products? No. The pricing of any fuel products is, and would continue to be, the responsibility of the Government of Barbados, through the Division of Energy. If the sale were to be approved, the Government would retain regulatory oversight and control the final pump price to consumers.

3. Would there be any increase for consumers at the pump, as a result of the proposed sale? If there is an increase it would be minimal. For consumers filling up on an average 45-litre tank, the proposed increase in throughput fees would translate into approximately BBD 0.02 (2 cents) per litre on gasoline and BBD 0.014 (1.4 cents) per litre on diesel at the pump. This means that four full tanks a month would result in an increase of less than BBD 5.00 per month to the average consumer.

4. What would be the governmentโ€™s role in BNTCL after its sale? It has been stipulated in the sale and purchase agreement that the Barbados Government will be issued with a โ€˜Golden Shareโ€™ which would allow it to maintain some control over the use and operation of BNTCL in the interest of the Barbadian public. From the onset of the transaction, Sol has advocated for the regulation of BNTCLโ€™s throughput fees. The Government of Barbados, however, would need to establish the necessary framework for such regulation of BNTCLโ€™s throughput fees post-merger.

5. What structures would be in place to ensure that the current competitive landscape is maintained? Sol has suggested to the FTC (and is open to any suggestions from the FTC) to have conditions imposed on the merger which will address any competitive concerns pertaining to the transaction. Sol is willing to enter into binding agreements with the approved users of the BNTCL terminal and with the FTC in order to set definitive and fair operating standards to which the BNTCL terminal will be bound, and to ensure that all customers of the terminal, including Solโ€™s direct competitors, are adequately serviced on fair and non-discriminatory terms.

6. How would the foreign exchange generated by this sale affect Barbados? The sale of BNTCL to Sol allows the Government to realise necessary foreign exchange to bolster a fragile foreign reserve position. As Barbados is currently below investment grade as a result of recent downgrades, an increase in foreign exchange reserves would help investors look more favourably towards Barbados as an investment destination.

7. Will Barbadians be allowed an opportunity to invest in BNTCL?  The sale of BNTCL allows the public of Barbados to participate with a 35% ownership interest through an initial public offering. Under Sol ownership, the BNTCL will be a public company and Barbadians can become investors in its business. This creation of a new public company is extremely significant as it would give Barbadians an opportunity to receive benefits as a result of the sale of the BNTCL.

Our dedication to this country remains steadfast and we will continue to look for ways to better respond to the needs of our most valued stakeholders โ€“ the Barbadian people. Sol is, of course, in the business of petroleum, but first and foremost, we are in the business of people.

6. The following is extracted from Jeff’s article. Wiill this statement be challenged? What does it say about how the public should distill utterances by academics. Dr. Karl Watson use to contricute to BU but the heat got too hot one must suppose.

“Nelson was not pro-slaveryโ€, a proposition not at all proven in the text of the published article that appears to suggest rather that the Admiral acted merely as a tax collector on the island for the British government and points to no utterance of his or other evidence that might support the assertion in the headline. More debate is expected.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It would have been better if SOL had said nothing.

However, I find item 7 to be the biggest joke of all. The people of Barbados already own 100% of BNTCL. Why sell it at all and then make 35% available to a few select people in country.

Long and short of this matter is that Government should stop this nonsense of selling the family silver when it runs into difficulty. This is what parros do to get the next high. Do we have a parro Government?

8. @ Jeff
    Man sue the newspaper and hold some change nuh!!

Having said that, (and after the money is banked) you MUST know that all things being equal, ANY OTHER configuration of FTC commissioners would have meekly gone along with the Parro’s wish to sell…

Even Bushie expected you to be unable to stand against the political pressure… having apparently underestimated the steadfastness of your chutzpah….

No matter what they do now… the point has been made that there are still at least ONE man of integrity among us…

Thank you.

9. @ Caswerll
    Do we have a parro Government?
    If it walks like a duck…

10. @ David at 8:22 AM

Where did Karl Watson publish this heinous article??

11. @Peter

BU ran a search with no luck, hopefully Jeff will assist.

On Sun, Dec 3, 2017 at 12:40 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. Forgive for deviating from the topic, butโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

On Sunday, July 10, 2011 while addressing over 200 people who participated in the National Cultural Foundationโ€™s ICBL Heritage Tour, Dr. Karl Watson spoke of Ghanaโ€™s preserving its slave forts and their โ€œDoors Of No Returnโ€ as being part of that countryโ€™s history, to substantiate his reason why Barbados should preserve Nelsonโ€™s statue.

He also said it was false to assume Nelsonโ€™s role in the Caribbean on the West Indies Squadron was to enhance and protect the slave trade, when in actuality his role was to collect taxes from the โ€œplantocracy.โ€

Read Watsonโ€™s book entitled: โ€œBarbados and the Bicentenary of the Abolition of the Slave Trade (2009).

And โ€œUneasy Heritage: Ambivalence and Ambiguity in Caribbean Heritage Practicesโ€ by Philip W. Scher (2013).

13. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Caswell at 8: 07 AM

Yes. They are many Barbadians of personal and professional integrity,and we must hold their feet to the fire.

Moreover, they troll BU so as to read the pulse of the nation.

14. We have come to learn and respect Jeff’s scholarly and persuavely argued contributions shared with the community in this popular column.A cursory glance at the make up of the members of the FTC board indicate some known party supporters.One wonders in this context whether this particular decision was unanimous.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Again Karl Watson is blatantly lying..this is a direct quote from documents regarding nelson and his nastiness.

“By fact nr. 5, is a quotation from Nelson about him, it says: โ€œNelson did not like โ€œthe damnable doctrines of Wilberforce and his hypocritical alliesโ€. I remember reading a letter in Nicolas 2, I cannot remember which page, in which Nelson expressed the same opinion.

Knowing his humane attitude towards his officers, sailors and prisoners of war, I cannot see, why he could not agree with Wilberforceโ€™s โ€œdamnable doctrineโ€ to end the slave trade, and why he thought Wilberforceโ€™s allies hypocritical?”

16. That was the week that was was interesting in many way… But with Nelson’s statue what would we have said if it was the statue of Bussa, or Barrow, or Walcott or Sobers that was vandalised?

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Karl Watson needs to stop, this information is well documented in the UK…lies no longer fly..

“Slave Trade[edit]

Lord Nelson believed that the Slave Trade was a necessary evil which provided a training ground for Britain’s sailors and kept her economy strong. His speech against the Foreign Slave Trade Bill introduced into Parliament in 1806, stopped the Abolition movement headed by William Wilberforce from passing laws to ban the slave trade in the British Empire. However, in July 1807 the destruction of all European settlements on the African continent under Mokhachane I (d) effectively ended the African slave trade (although not the practice of slavery itself)”

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

There is no Bussa Statue. It was commissioned and named the Emancipation Statue. The myth around Bussa is just the work of some of our leading twistorians. They also made up a story about Rock Hall, St. Thomas as the first free village and went as far as erecting a monument on lands that were never part of Rock Hall.

The monument is sited at the Glebe, St. Thomas. At least when I was a boy, it was the Glebe.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

The lies fly if you are a black historian manufacturing black Barbadian history.

20. Nelson part of our history

Kqrl Watson response ///Nation news july 7 2011

THE SAME WAY Ghana has preserved its slave forts with their Doors Of No Return, Barbados should keep its statue of Admiral Lord Nelson. All, said historian Dr Karl Watson, represent a past which might not be liked, but which happened. โ€œWe cannot change history. In Ghana nobody talks about destroying the slave forts or the Door Of No Return,โ€ Watson said. โ€œThey are all part of Ghanaโ€™s history. They are there as tangible commemorative monuments of a past โ€“ a past you may not like but a past that happened. โ€œThis statue,โ€ he stressed, โ€œrepresents a past that is gone but a past that is one of the building blocks of who we are and what we are.โ€ Watson was adding his voice to the debate surrounding the removal or the retention of the statue of Lord Nelson in Heroes Square. Speaking to over 200 walkers who took part in the National Cultural Foundationโ€™s ICBL Heritage Tour on Sunday, he explained that the role played by the British Navy was extremely important and Britainโ€™s triumph led by Nelson, over the combined forces of France and Spain in the Battle Of Trafalgar, is commemorated by the statue He said the statue was not imposed on the island by authorities in England, but was commissioned and paid for by Barbadians at the time. โ€œIf you go for the original accounts, true the vast majority were white merchant men, but free coloureds contributed to it and enslaved people contributed to it,โ€ he said. โ€œSo putting it in a museum or taking it, as some people suggest, out to sea and dumping it overboard or selling it to Antigua where they will put it up on Nelsonโ€™s Dockyard, all these could be done, but they are not going to change history and they are not going to change the naval role of Nelson which is what this commemorates and not any fictitious role of him as slave trader,โ€ Watson told the walkers. He said the statue of Nelson had been attacked, perhaps unfairly, by critics who said Nelsonโ€™s role on the West Indies Squadron was to enhance and protect the slave trade. This, he explained was false, since Nelsonโ€™s actual role was to get more taxes out of the planter class.

21. David December 3, 2017 at 8:22 AM #
    The following is extracted from Jeffโ€™s article. Wiill this statement be challenged? What does it say about how the public should distill utterances by academics. Dr. Karl Watson use to contricute to BU but the heat got too hot one must suppose.
    โ€œNelson was not pro-slaveryโ€, a proposition not at all proven in the text of the published article that appears to suggest rather that the Admiral acted merely as a tax collector on the island for the British government and points to no utterance of his or other evidence that might support the assertion in the headline. More debate is expected.

It was actually Wilberforce was pro slavery!!!!

He was against its abolition.

He eventually joined with Clarkson in the “Gradual abolition of slavery”, an objective achieved in 1833, more than a generation after Nelson was dead.

So, if you want to convict someone for being pro slavery, try Wilberforce!!!

22. The headline in today’s Sunday Sun deals a failing grade to the Ministry of Culture generally but most would see it as disappointing and a slap in the face of the Minister and the PS.The International Fund for Cultural Diversity registered its concern with how the funds were to be applied and the Fatted Calf approach still seem to be the ‘modus operandi’ of this DLP government,since part of the proceeds US$94,375.00 would have gone to paying five consultants at a per diem rate of US$862.50 with “the remainder for services and other costs”
    Are these people serious about expenditure and accountability even for UNESCO funds?The Auditor General would not be amused for sure nor should the NIS Board.
    Btw is this the same PS who was just cited and given an SCM Independence honour?Sumting Wong.

23. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 8: o4 AM

David , did your grandmother ever told you that there is trick in trade? How do you not know that that was a deliberate exercise of kite flying. Commissiong ‘s article on BU was the icing on the cake.
    Licky Lacky spell Dutch. TRW spell tear up trousers.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Nelson was nothing more than a 5ft tall, one eyed, one hand british pervert and creep…

……that statue should be removed it’s an insult and disgrace.

25. David to his credit restored the original commentary made by Comrade DC which I think was written in anticipation of an alternative decision . He jumped the gun in order to disparage Jeff and the Commission and didn’t have the decency to offer an apology.

Successive Gov’t,s have been gripped by paralysis by analysis when they have to make any decision concerning Nelson they are afraid of offending both sides of the debate.

26. Here are Wilberforce’s own words in the pamphlet he published in 1807, 2 years after Nelson was dead.

“It would be wrong to emancipate [the slaves]. To grant freedom to them immediately, would be to ensure not only their master’s ruin, but their own. They must [first] be trained and educated for freedom.”

So the figment created here that was Bussa (1816) could obviously have had no quarrel with Nelson who had been dead for more than a decade (1805).

It would have been Wilberforce with whom he might have been peeved, if indeed he existed!!

Our historians often point to the words of Nelson who before he died stated he was against “the damnable doctrine of Wilberforce”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wilberforce was against abolition at the time!!

http://revealinghistories.org.uk/who-resisted-and-campaigned-for-abolition/people/william-wilberforce-and-abolition.html

“The Society for the Mitigation and Gradual Abolition of Slavery was formed in 1823. Wilberforce joined but as he had retired from the House of Commons, he did not play an important part in persuading parliament to bring an end to slavery.”

How could our pseudo historians have got simple facts of history so utterly twisted?

… and then get a knighthood?!!!!

For heaven’s sake!!

27. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Caswell at 9:37 AM

There is no Bussa statue. The Government of the day commissioned an emancipation statue. The sculptor designed and manufactured an emancipation artifact.
    But human beings like metaphors, speak in metaphors and think in metaphors. That is how mythologies evolve.

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Caswell…the manufacturing have to cease Watson is lying…for sure.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I make sure any info I research is from those who invented and implemented the slave trade themselves for centuries and have documents stored in museums..and even they themselves fill some documents with lies…they dont tell the truth about a quarter of what really happened…

….so if you know and understand liars, since they have lied for centuries about Black and African history, , you know how to find the truth on your own.

The local black historians also have to be watched for twisting things.

30. John…
    Steupsss
    Even you seem to be against emancipation now in 2017….

Do you not constantly harp about how we blacks have failed …and that we should get back to the ‘good old days’ when those of your hue ran things like Nelson did?

If, as YOU say, the damn man Wilberforce wanted to organise the emancipation in a structured way – by ensuring that the slaves were trained and educated before being dumped into the world … how the hell is that being AGAINST emancipation?

…and the damn knighthood was for selling out Mutual … not for ‘twisting history’. His version of history is BY FAR more accurate than your shiite-story.

31. Up until 1824, more and more slaves were being baptized into the Anglican, Methodist and Moravian Churches.

In 1824, Barbados received its first Anglican Bishop.

In the 17th and 18th centuries, most Bajans who were Christian were Quakers, gradually becoming Anglicans.

The first Anglican Bishop of Barbados embarked on a program of school and church building to educate the slaves and prepare them for emancipation to which the Quaker effort was leading.

In 1842 when the first Bishop, William Hart Coleridge retired, here is what the state of play was with his program, a program continued by the second Bishop, Thomas Parry from 1842 to 1869.

http://anglicanhistory.org/wi/coleridge_memoir1850.html

“And, first, in regard to the impulse invariably given to the extension of the Church system by the appointment of a Bishop, it may be affirmed, without fear of contradiction, that the results of Bishop Coleridge’s exertions far exceeded the most sanguine expectations. Every portion of his scattered Diocese (consisting of thirteen islands and British Guiana) enjoyed; in turn, the benefits of his personal superintendence; for he was usually out on his Visitation-tours during three months of every year. The entire result of his labours cannot be understood without the help of voluminous statistics, but it may be sufficient here to insert an extract from the Address of the Clergy of Barbados on his retirement, which certifies, that in that island alone, since the Bishop’s arrival, the number of Clergy had increased from 15 to 31; the places of worship from 14 to 35; the sittings in Church from 5,000 to 22,500; the schools from [5/6] 8 to 83, and the children receiving their education in those schools from 500 to 7,000.”

That’s why we have a school named after them, Coleridge and Parry to commemorate their contribution to the education and conversion of the slaves.

32. Hope Vincent is not off somewhere sulking.

33. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

The above was intended to support Caswell’s position. He is one of BU’s most reliable contributor.

34. @ John
    Your ‘history’ is somewhat like someone from the year 2100 looking back and reading the press releases of the DLP regarding their time in office between 2008 and 2018.

The picture of high quality governance with excellent management of the economy would be painted – despite wicked comments from “a few dangerous enemies of the state” issuing downgrades ..and refusing to give us more loans…. and a wicked chap call Caswell who sought to create anarchy…

Do you think we are idiots?

Your shiite quotes by white people made DURING slavery times are even worse than the current DLP propaganda nonsense….

35. @John,
    Do you have any curricula of the schools in those days?

36. David Mr Blogmaster, your 8:04 AM makes an interesting interpretation of a fundamental ingredient of journalism; of the oil that fuels our awareness and makes your site soar: making news.

Every journo, as I suspect you also, must carefully parse ‘leaks’, whistelblowing tips or any hot news scoop.

You go public with details which can be CORROBORATED to withstand challenge…the insurance policy is only needed when the media play fast and loose or – as Jeff himself has noted here- if the media house does not want to test its veracity in a court of law [Lynch story].

The Nation story was clearly sensational …intentionally so. It deliberately took braod liberty with the interpretation of an ‘approval’. As I recall it said in the body of the story that there was approval if changes were made. Which was basically accurate although very substantively different to the report’s thrust.

Long story short, an example of an egregious publication from a leak/tip was seen with the US media ABC senior reporter being suspended for 4 weeks after reporting on the activities of the fired NSA official and Trump campaign. That was not just sensational but the difference between illegal (possible impeachment) and ho-hum, big deal. He DID NOT parse his tip properly and has been burnt badly reputationally to millions of people.

The Nation issue got absolutely no way near that level in our Bajan context… a few sand grains at Brandons…not a reputation touched in that bloviating headline (well, actually Jeff’s has been further enhanced).

Much, much ado signifying not much mis-deeds to see here…if i may illiterately mix methaphors.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It serves all of them right because like nelson and the knighthoods, damehoods, shithoundhoods….they are all frauds.

38. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ John at 10 :14 AM
    In the interest of accuracy, the Bishop of London was the Bishop of the West Indies Anglican Church. The Anglican, Moravian and Methodist churches were ministering to slaves long before then. The upstairs galleries in most Anglican churches were erected to accommodate slaves and free coloureds. Most Anglican church buildings preceded the arrival of Bishop Coleridge in Barbados.

39. Some will focus on the defacing of Nelson Statue as being wrong full stop but others will ask what is civil disobedience? History is replete with law abiding citizens straddling the law to force change to said law.

40. Quakers in America and Barbados had on an individual basis had been walking away from slavery from as early as the 1650’s.

They formed the Society for the abolition of the Slave Trade first in 1787 and eventually achieved its actual abolition in 1807.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Society_for_Effecting_the_Abolition_of_the_Slave_Trade

The journey to emancipation begun by the Quakers (in Barbados first, America and in Britain) started to take shape in 1823 with the formation of the Society for the Mitigation and Gradual Abolition of Slavery.

In 1824, the Anglican Church responded by commencing a vigorous program of education and conversion in Barbados, likewise the Methodist and Moravians.

Nelson had no part in stopping or delaying the process.

He was long dead!

… just as he had no part in stopping or delaying the end of slavery in 1865 in America … for the same reason, he was dead.

From the first fledgling efforts of the Quakers the world was ultimately rid of slavery as in country by country it was banned.

Christianity ended slavery.

Christianity spread through Britain’s empire through its naval power, just as it had spread through Rome along its roads to all parts of its empire.

So in effect, Nelson if anything contributed to the spread of Christianity and his effect on ending slavery in the whole world is enormous!!

… and Barbados played an integral part by being a retreat for the Quakers in their early days.

It even has a statue of Nelson.

Every square inch of Barbados is a world heritage site!!

The signposts are all over.

We have a wonderful heritage and legacy which our politicians and historians have assiduously worked to destroy.

Seize it back!!

41. On more than one occasion , the busts of Everton Weekes, Clyde Walcott and Frank Worrell , at the Cave Hill campus, have been vandalised. This outpouring never took place………….

42. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Carib at 10 :48 AM

Quite true. Maybe that is why they feel embolden. Whose statue next? Any guesses?

43. Hal Austin December 3, 2017 at 10:26 AM #
    @John,
    Do you have any curricula of the schools in those days?

I have my mother’s reports from 1928-1937 from both the Girls Foundation and a school from which students would have gone on to Girl’s Foundation.

I will post the subjects from both.

Foundation School exists as a Quaker legacy from 1671 when Quakers were not allowed to have schools!!!!

The intention was to create a Free school, which would have catered to not only the sons of Quaker families, but also the sons of freed slaves.

Daughters did not benefit even though Quakers viewed women and children as the spiritual equals of men … one of the reasons they were persecuted!!!

It comes from a bequest of 300 pounds from the Williams family at Balls.

I reckon it is the oldest of our “Older Secondary Schools”!!

We get our affinity for education from our Quaker past!!

44. Civil disobedience is political, not criminal (it is in the name); vandalism is criminal. What next? We .. tolerate black people slapping white people .in the face on Br oad Street because they remind them of slave masters?

45. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Where did Karl Watson publish this heinous article??

@PJ, David, it must have been Thursday’s issue of the Barbados Advocate, but I am unable to put my hands on it just at this moment…

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There is no evidence to support nelson even being in Barbados, he was definitely in Nevis and Antigua for short periods.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

No..we support white people beating the crap out of Ha, Ha when they get into one of their hatefilled, hate black people rages..

48. Although civil disobedience is considered to be an expression of contempt for law, Martin Luther King Jr. regarded civil disobedience to be a display and practice of reverence for law; for as “Any man who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust and willingly accepts the penalty by staying in jail in order to arouse the conscience of the community on the injustice of the law is at that moment expressing the very highest respect for law.”[3]

49. Civil disobedience is a reaction to perceived social injustice. Vandalising a statue is not an injustice. My conscience tells me that having to get out of bed in the morning is unfair and unjust. We have laws as an expression of collective rule-making, not individual conscience.