Submitted by Bush Tea

If anything represents the hopelessness of Barbados’ current position, it is the annual ‘independence parade’.

What a load of rubbish.

No one with ANY kind of pride could possibly imagine that 51 YEARS after ‘independence’, our main NATIONAL event commemorating this ‘achievement’ would be a stupid parade that seeks to replicate almost exactly what the people from whom we are claiming independence, do.

Ok. For the first five years or so, it was understandable.
For the next ten years or so it may even have been tolerable…
But shiite man… FIFTY YEARS later, the best that our ‘military brass’ could come up with is an EXACT replica of the damn Queen’s birthday parade or some such British format?

Dress like them
March like them
think like them
behave like them…

Steupsss…

What independence what?

We are albino-centric SLAVES of the worse possible sort
…slaves of the MIND.
Have we NO pride?
No imagination?
No creativity?

A simple look at (as despotic a place as) North Korea, or as informal as Dominica- shows that citizens can be mobilised in a patriotic display of nationalism. The best we have come up with is lewd, crude, vulgar, wuk-up and brek-up (and now shoot-up) behaviours at our Crap Over.

A mindset that DEFINES itself by what its former MASTERS do, half a century AFTER claiming to be independent is fooling NO one but itself.

Where there is no vision, the brass bowls perish.
Where there is no creativity, the JAs will languish in serfdom
Where there is no productivity, the downgrades will continue….

If Bajans are stupid enough to CONTINUE with the same level of RH ‘leadership’ that we have had over the past fifty years, then we FULLY deserve all that will be coming our way in the coming months and years…

162 responses to “What a Charade”

1. I do not understand ? Everybody has parade to celebrate ! Surprise they even have them in your ancestral homeland . What is your point?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Full slaveminded status.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It’s a replica, not their own, still not independent, not with royal police force and her majesty’s prison and GG…and her majesty’s opposition and nonsense….still have nothing they themselves created and invented that can truly be called national pride….still copying shit that’s dragging them down into the abyss…because none of it is natural…not dame this nor sir that ….all pretentious and fraudulent.

4. @Bush Tea

What is wrong with pomp and pagentry? What is wrong with promoting traditions?

5. Idiotic, rum shop submission.

6. There goes Bushie, he articulates what he believes is a problem, offers no solution.

Talking about Brassbowls……

7. Interesting Nigerian images…….

Nigerian Army Parade Stock Photos and Images – Alamy
    http://www.alamy.com/stock-photo/nigerian-army-parade.html
    Find the perfect nigerian army parade stock photo. Huge collection, amazing choice, 100+ million high quality, affordable RF and RM images. No need to register, buy now!

8. Ghanaian Contingent Medal Parade, Ganta, Nimba County – YouTube
    Video for ghana military parade
    ▶ 2:28

Nov 20, 2013 – Uploaded by UNMILTV
    UNMIL Special Representative of the Secretary-General, Madam Karin Landgren, awarded medals to …

9. Best military parades ever in kenya – YouTube
    Video for kenyan military parade
    ▶ 2:51

Nov 29, 2016 – Uploaded by Farah alfarxan
    Best military parades ever in Kenya garissa.

10. Hmmm…..I wonder which of the above should we copy?

11. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Vincent at 4 :55 PM

If we and they copy from the same book, do we need to copy them ? Do not mind Bushie ,you hear. He did not have his afternoon brew.

12. DeWayne Yearwood Avatar

About 500 words and about 5 uses of the word “we”.

I am not among your “we”. You are an imbecile. Lotta shiite, jobby, lotta shiite jobby roll.

I am blacker than you can imagine and you, tool, are a cretin.

13. BC

Chuckle…….I was wondering where he was going so decided to help him…..seems he has headed to the bushes for his tea….hahaha….thankfully nobody pays him any mind.

14. LOLL @Vincent, betta be careful that Bernard and Bushtea for (different reasons) don’t ban yoah from dem old school. But how yah could be so blinking naive??

As Bernard suggested if all we former colonials singing from the same hymn book why would you give us examples there and ask your question.

I get it that you are being a bit facetious and mischievous but fah real bro put some meat on de bone!

But Mr BushTea as the Blogmaster asked what is wrong with some pomp and pageantry?

I sorta feel your pain (having ‘enjoyed’ marching in dat parade like many here, I suspect) that the pageant could be different after all these years but how exactly do you propose it should be?

Aren’t all military parades of a similar style and process!

You too need to put some meat on the bone…can’t just throw out scraps like this…you got some big breed dogs herein to feed, after all!

Incidentally, recall how Lt Col Quintyne was emblazoned across the cover of Time Magazine all those years ago when Reagan (as memory serves) visited and we laid on that pomp and pageantry. Didn’t he look as superb as any of the Queens elite boys!! Just saying.

Propa style does have its place. LOLL.

15. @ David
    Bushie …. What is wrong with pomp and pagentry? What is wrong with promoting traditions?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Exactly…… NOTHING is wrong with what you proffer….

What does our celebration represent?
    Whose ‘traditions’?
    Where is the inspiration for our young people to emulate THEIR OWN heroes and traditions?
    What is the inspiration at all?
    …. to as closely emulate our past as we possibly can?

It is possible that Bushie is missing the obvious….

No wonder John thinks as he does…..

16. @Bush Tea

What changes would you like to see?

17. dpD

Meat on what bone….this foolish rant from a disgruntled imbecile according to the goodly gentleman above who was being kind in his description.

As sarge indicated all sound and fury with no alternative offerings….does he want it disbanded,does he want 16th century Ashanti outfits……what does he want is the question……this govt that he once adored of which he is no longer part of is driving his dementia.

18. Changes in BARBADIAN outlook and self-image.

Mainly, A MAJOR change where we could come to some kind of realisation and recognition of our TRUE potential to succeed – and to succeed outstandingly…

This would reflect in a clear national VISION for the future…
    Such a vision would drive a whole NEW national culture – which would then NATURALLY show itself in our national parades, cultural activities, politics, productivity and everything else…

Copying is a clear sign of an inferiority complex…
    …of lack of confidence in oneself…
    …of being nobody.

It is why John sees us a bunch of jokers …and as failures since independence…
    It is why he want the old days back… The days when ‘Bajans’ installed their OWN damn parliament; when Bajans put up their OWN damn statues …of who THEY determined to be heroes – like Nelson
    ….shiite man – HUNDREDS of years on – including 51 years since ‘independence’ – and we don’t have the BALLS to touch that statue of THEIR hero….

…and you want to know what changes?

A national independence Parade in Barbados in 2017 ….SHOULD highlight the work of Bussa, Clement Payne, Frank Walcott and Dipper…among others…

Remembrance Day should HONOUR those people who died in the riots of 1937… inspiring our YOUNG people to see that standing up against TYRANNY is an honourable thing to do – even to die for….

instead, we strive to mimic English traditions that glorify the days when “Great Britain ruled the waves….”
    ….and you want to know what changes…?

19. “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”
    — George Santayana

We have been condemned to repeating our colonial experience for the past 51 years.

20. More sound and fury from the Bushman……including foolishness about mythical Bussa and agent provocateur Payne…..a demented soul.

21. Bush Tea is, sadly, completely right. The most embarrassing part of this bit of ass licking pageantry is that the participants don’t even realize how pathetically servile the whole travesty is.

22. …..dahdumm………and here comes the newly anointed saviour of Bim,who has all the answers.

We wish Bim the best of luck and sincerely hope that these two have a wonderfull time together planning and executing the future path for our country.

23. Peter one of the challenges wew have as a people is that it is easy to mashup but we have to be sure how we build back.

24. Those countries which celebrate Independence do so with parades,public events,a variety of shows and fireworks.In Barbados primary schools are very much in the forefront of maintaining those traditions for which the country is well known.What I disagree with is the obscene usage of the ‘national colours’ on everything that is stationery or mobile.Blue and yellow everywhere.Its boring, in addition the Dems seem to think that it is not a Barbados thing but a Democratic Labour Party thing and for that I en nutten to do wid no Independence crap…..not in the pledge,the stupid anthem,stanning @ atenshun…all garbage.Since the Dems own it dey can stuff it and fry in hell widdit.

25. @Vincent Haynes at 6:16 PM
    “..dahdumm………and here comes the newly anointed saviour of Bim”
    I’m not the saviour of anything Vincent, but I am finding success working to help young entrepreneurs succeed while remaining right here in Bim. Management consulting for entrepreneurs starts very often with helping them understand that imitation is doomed, that the only path to success is to be authentic and to innovate. Hmmm, exactly the same lessons that Bush Tea is trying to point out here…

26. @ Bush Tea

Stand firm. We talk about change but want everything
    to remain the same. Yes sir!! Cuss Stuart and Mottley
    at will but barely touch any relic of our European
    past and licks gine start. Stand firm Bushie you
    are right. Very right. A national parade should
    reflect national aspirations and after fifty one years
    we had more than enough time to make it
    uniquely ours.

27. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

expect to hear more rhetoric, their self inflicted darkness is all encompassing and infinite…that was the bargain they made in exchange for their souls.

28. The children in Barbadian schools learn little about African gods and heroes, but they know everything about British and American culture. Do their parents and teachers think that African sagas are inferior? And: Why do Barbadian judges and lawyers dress up like their former colonial masters in an environment with 32 C? Why do Barbadian politicians in the Talking Assembly dress up like their British counterparts?

No independent thinking, no pride of African anchestors, no adaption to the tropical climate at all. Everything must be like USA or UK.

29. @David at 6:22 PM
    “…it is easy to mashup but we have to be sure how we build back.”

You are right David. It is not that hard though… our motto is Pride and Industry, n’est ce pas? OK let’s build our Independence celebration around that… we’ve already started with NIFCA, expand that and celebrate sport as well. Cricket used to make us proud (yes we copied the basic rules from the British but we made it our own and became so much better than they ever were). What about the Industry part… perhaps move the major manufacturers’ exhibition to be part of Independence… what about agriculture as well? This would all have real meaning and be far superior and better engage the Bajan public.

30. Peter the parade Bush Tea yearns can only happen as a result of a roadmap resulting from vision. An ass backwards expectation feeds the rhetoric.

31. Thanks for the support Peter and William, but to be honest, the only real surprise is that there are some that get it….
    The problem with the Stockholm Syndrome is that the victims are the last persons to recognise the symptoms.

That someone as obviously learned as Bernard can dismiss the impact of the Barbados Slave Code on present day ATTITUDES and behaviours is downright frightening…..
    What then is left for Vincent and ac to think? …especially with John pushing his radically different perspective – of seeing the Barbados Slave Code from the Planter’s rosy perspective.

God made ‘people’ as BLACK people in Africa. All others are genetic derivatives – as all modern enlightened science now attest….

Blacks are the ONLY REALLY COMPLETE human creations…. not ‘BETTER’ than others, just closest to the original deal.
    That we have been reduced to SEEING OURSELVES to be inferior -AND ACTUALLY TO HAVE INTERNALISED this fiction – has to be one of the absolute MARVELS of all history.

In the process, we spend our lives mimicking the flawed TRADITIONS of of others -while belittling our own hallowed traditions and natural inclinations….

It would be funny …if it was not so pathetic and tragic….

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea November 30, 2017 at 6:03 PM
    “…instead, we strive to mimic English traditions that glorify the days when “Great Britain ruled the waves….”
    ….and you want to know what changes…?”

Don’t get your Bajan knickers in a twist, sweetie Bushie.

The time is just around the corner when Bajans’ propensity to ape their English masters will be put to the test.

You shall soon be able to witness if black Bajans are real, real solid brass-bowls when Her Majesty is forced to leave the throne and Barbados is confronted with the inevitable question of: ‘To be or Not to be a republic’.

Will Bim continue to be seen as Little England under a Male Monarch by merely changing “Her” to ‘His’ Majesty?

Are Bajans prepared to get rid of their Royal pips and crowns on traditional display in their mimicking pomp and pageantry?

These are the hard questions which Bajans will be facing in the coming months.
    The pending ‘mixed-up ‘marriage of the maverick Red Harry the outside prince of marital confusion might just be the spanner to be thrown into the royal works.

33. @ Miller…
    How much more difficult is it for a brass bowl serf to say HIS Majesty rather than HER Majesty?
    Bushie has NEVER been able to follow your logic on this point….

Stop worrying – you will be able to keep your much valued title…. 🙂

34. Hahaha….ah too love it,when individuals on here use “albino centric” terms like ….stockholm syndrome….it took an “albino” to tell the idiot what he was suffering from….now effen we get rid of the albinos who they are cussing all the time,how will these poor fools know what they are suffering from…..cuhdear.

35. “… original deal”. LOL, how idealistic. Even Sinckler?

36. Yea Tron…
    The good, the bad and the ugly.
    So Froon too….

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea November 30, 2017 at 7:00 PM

It’s a rather costly albino-centric re-branding exercise to stop calling for Mummy and start calling for Daddy while you are pretending to be independent.

Her Majesty is enshrined in the Constitutional DNA of Bim.

So why spend already scarce resources on a male upgrade by changing Her to His when you can spend the same resources on a fresh new banana republic pappyshow?

Let us all on BU nominate Lord Bush Tea for the First Monkey President of the black banana republic re-branded as “Over Borrowedos” now entirely owned and controlled by albino-centric foreigners.

38. Bushie is right but the problem is that we don’t have our own pageantry to replace the British one. Turning out in African garb all of a sudden would seem a bit phony.

39. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“Perhaps colonial rule in much of the world did produce mimic men. They were those who modeled themselves or at least were modeled on patterns produced for others in the “mother country”. They grew up divorced from their origins and could look forward to being put down forever as “not quite the real thing” if they tried to assimilate to metropolitan society.”- Comment on “The Mimic Men” by VS Naipaul

An interesting discussion…

40. Recommended reading for those who disagree with Bushie’s post:
    Caribbean Cultural Identity by Rex Nettleford
    I read it 35 years ago. Bushie’s post has inspired me to look for it.

41. @ Jeff
    That was what I was trying to say. Of course Naipaul said it much more eloquently.

42. But Bushtea still ready to adopt the people ISO9001. Piss in muh pocket do!!!

43. @ Enuff
    Bushie was talking about culture not science or business

44. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Bush Tea at 6 :47 PM

“We have been reduced to seeing ourselves to be inferior” and”actually to have internalized this fiction”
    Wuh loss Bushie bring da whacker and bend over.

Have you given permission to somebody to reduce you? Nobody can reduce you unless you allow them to do so. Are you sure that you came from the same genetic pool as Vincent and I?

You know that you are not inferior, yet you chose to see yourself as inferior? What kind of logic is that? It is bad enough that your detractors saw you as inferior, but to add insult to injury you follow them ,disconnect your eye nerves from your brain and decide you will see yourself as they see you?

Moreover, you know that the idea is fiction(,alternate fact) and you swallow it. You make it your reality and want to blame and cuss Vincent and me.
    I really think that you are unworthy to carry a weed whacker. It is obvious that you cannot distinguish the tares from the wheat. You have reduced every body to (g)rass.

45. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

lol…Bushman..the fools are unsettled tonight, one of their nincompoops got caught denigrating the majority Black population and it went viral, worldwide, it brought shame and disgrace to them and exposed every single racist minority on the island for independence day….

so they are all discombobulated…and that is just the beginning.

46. @Bust Tea

Mainly, A MAJOR change where we could come to some kind of realisation and recognition of our TRUE potential to succeed – and to succeed outstandingly…
    This would reflect in a clear national VISION for the future…
    Such a vision would drive a whole NEW national culture – which would then NATURALLY show itself in our national parades, cultural activities, politics, productivity and everything else…
    The above is called mekking it up as yuh go along, string a bunch of words together with a few platitudes and some will lap it up

It is a “Bust”; leh muh change your moniker “Bust Tea”

47. @ Enuff … don’t embarrass yuhself..
    ISO is about being WORLD CLASS….. the ‘standards’ are the VERY BEST examples of industry practice anywhere…
    What is NOT to adopt?
    …unless of course you see yourself as a follower – awaiting role models BEFORE you can think…
    Why do you think Bushie is rich as shiite…? 🙂

@ Bernard
    It may be best to think BEFORE posting…
    Your 7.42 p.m. did not benefit from that advice.

The most said thing from Bushie has been that he is associated with BBE by ADOPTION…. and you are talking about an inferiority complex…??
    Oh RH mess…. (Right Holy)…

@ Old Baje
    With all due respect to VS Naipaul…
    Don’t you think that Bushie was ‘licking brass bowl stick’ too….”
    with…
    “We are albino-centric SLAVES of the worse possible sort
    …slaves of the MIND.”
    …a la Bob Marley’s call to free our minds from mental slavery…

VERY FEW of us have the capacity to do that.
    Most of us need to be freed by external spiritual forces

BECAUSE … the fight is NOT one against flesh and blood,
    But against dark SPIRITUAL forces in high places….
    But…
    If you don’t even KNOW the enemy …what chance do you have in the battle….?

48. An article that trivalent the importance of our armed forces that lends it self to our country national interest
    on special occasions which gives the public a first hand view of spectacular opulence derived out a motto to serve a nation and people first

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Bush Tea November 30, 2017 at 6:47 PM
    “God made ‘people’ as BLACK people in Africa. All others are genetic derivatives – as all modern enlightened science now attest….”

BT, the adopted son of the BBE, those are strong compellingly assertive words there.

If only you- BT the weed whacker man- knew the epistemological significance of that ‘scientific fact’ what a Damascene moment you would experience.

By answering the following question you might just find the key to help you on your treasure hunt to Solar salvation:

How did your God-made “BLACK people in Africa” got their black skin in the first place?

Now please don’t regurgitate the albino-fed fable of an Albino-centric Adam living in Sin with a crossed-eye Chinese Eve.

The Akhenaten devil is in the lost Aten detail, dear Bushie, and NOT in the white-man’s pitchfork.