Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

I should start this week with a disclaimer. Despite its title and the epigraph, this essay has nothing at all to do with the identical hendiadys so frequently encountered in the Holy Bible and in the admonitions of the modern day end-timers. It treats rather, less loftily, a physical local sign by now notorious and the wonder of a recent judicial pronouncement emanating from the European Court of Human Rights.

That “RH” sign and public expression

For the quantum of public discourse that it has generated, that notorious sign featured on various social media, and more latterly in one section of the local printed press (not the Barbados Advocate), should have been wildly successful in raising public consciousness, if not for citizens to cease littering indiscriminately, at least for them to conjecture as to the meaning to be attributed to the letters “RH” in the sign. There is a well known Barbadian expletive that fits this abbreviation perfectly; indeed sometimes the two letters themselves are used for emphasis, and this might reasonably be presumed to have been the intention of the sign’s creators, especially since the other offered suggestions offered so far do not fit the bill, syntactically speaking.

Moreover, since the letters are used in an adjectival sense[to describe the littering], as would be the expletive at times, it might be objectively considered that the letters denoted that expletive.

This last point cannot be made too forcefully however, since the expression I am referring to, as most others of similar kind locally, may be used alternatively as a noun, an adverb, a preposition and maybe a conjunction all in the same sentence and to express varying notions. For instance one may be as bright as it, or one may be as “dumpsy” as it, as, equally, one may be either as poor as RH or as rich as RH. In fact, any two contrasting concepts will serve to make the point.

Nevertheless, in spite of its colloquial variety, it is an expression that would probably attract the attention of the local constabulary if used in a public space, and thereby render the user liable to a criminal charge of using indecent language. The constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression in section 20 of our supreme law simply does not extend that far. Indeed, it may be argued that this freedom is expressly qualified in this regard by section 20(2)(a) that immunizes from challenge any law that makes provision that is reasonably required in the interests of public morality, inter alia.

The offence of this nature is usually committed when the expletive is uttered orally. Should it make a difference that the words are not voiced here but rather suggested in a sign and not even expressly but, at worst, impliedly? There are some areas of the law, most notoriously in that pertaining to defamation, where the subjective intention of the publisher is treated as irrelevant and the meaning of the publication is guided by what the ordinary reader or listener would have understood it to mean. It is at least doubtful, however, whether such a holding should form the basis of a criminal charge where a criminal intention to use the expletive would normally be required.

Furthermore, I recall having read somewhere once of a proceeding in one of the local magistrate’s courts when an accused, wearing a T shirt with ostensibly Chinese or Japanese characters, was severely censured by the presiding judicial officer when it was finally recognized that the characters spelt out an expletive if read either upside down or from an appropriate angle. I cannot now recall whether the accused was cited for contempt although, given the nature of the expression revealed, he very well could have been. Was he any less a publisher of the offensive expression in that case than the anonymous creator[s] of the RH sign?

The wonder of the European Court of Human Rights [ECHR]

For those Barbadians, arguably not so few in number, who are opposed, bitterly, fundamentally, diametrically or otherwise, and for whatever reason, to the concept of same-sex marriage becoming a possibility in this jurisdiction, the recently reported June 2016 decision of the European Court of Human Rights that there is no human right under the European Convention on Human Rights to be party to a same-sex marriage might have come as a pleasant and welcome surprise, especially after the US Supreme Court decision in Obergfell v Hodges that imposed homosexual marriage as a right applicable in all the states of the union. In fact, the European decision is over one year old and is consistent with at least three previous holdings of that court that there is no human right to a homosexual marriage and thus the member states cannot be compelled to recognize it. This in spite of Article 12 of the Convention that reads;

“Men and women of marriageable age shall have the right to marry and to found a family. According to the national laws governing the exercise of this right.”

Despite the apparent breadth of the text however, the European Court has consistently ruled, utilizing the principle of subsidiarity; whereby the Court limits its ability to review a domestic authority’s decision and that of the doctrine of the margin of appreciation; through which member states are permitted to vary in their domestic law from their Convention obligations just so long as this variation does not cause the very essence of the Convention right to be impaired, that there is no obligation on a member state to legitimize homosexual marriage. In 2010, the ECHR held that the right in Article 12 was granted in the context of strictly traditional forms of marriage so that an Austrian couple could not allege discrimination because they were denied the possibility to marry or have their relationship recognized by Austrian law. In 2012, The Court held in a case involving a lesbian couple in a civil partnership who complained that the French courts would not allow them to adopt a child as a couple, that “in view of the social, personal and legal consequences of marriage, the applicant’s legal situation could not be said to be comparable to that of married couples.” And in 2014, the Court pronounced, in a matter from Finland, that the law did not require member states “to grant access to marriage to same-sex couples…”

I have already argued in this space that the local antagonists to same sex marriage have little to worry about. While we have not as yet enacted a provision equivalent to that in the Jamaica Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms 2011 to the effect “no form of marriage or other relationship…other than the voluntary union of one man and one woman may be contracted or legally recognized in Jamaica”, This is precisely the common law position that now obtains locally and would have to be changed by appropriate legislative action, if at all.

168 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Of Signs and Wonders”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

When I expose the nasty racist things bajan minorities, whites and others do on the island, violating the majority population’s basic human rights, using ministers to steal tax dollars and pension money from the majority population, bribing ministers, trafficking women, drugs, guns and drugs, laundering money, running insurance scams on the people…I am called a racist….or told I have a vendetta.

When I expose the stupid, dumbed down actions manifesting from supposedly educated Black ministers of parliament to the average person on the street to the lowly yardfowl and what they do to destroy themselves and their own people , I am mostly met with silence.

What do you people want.

When it’s not GP attacking Jeff because he dont get the legal aspects of the column and therefore is unable to decipher it, it’s fraudster Chadster attacking because he got daddy issues…..totally unnecessary in both cases.

Hal insults the intelligence of trained Black people and displays the mental weaknesses of the Black males of the 1950s era in its most ugly, virulent, destructive and distasteful form…he practically begs to be ripped apart.

2. David

Those who now pretend to be the ‘Black” reactionaries they always were but now claim that standard English is all that we are supposed to use even when that very ‘language’ is being influenced daily by all forms of ‘colloquial’ imports represents deeper double standards than they are now complaining about.

That that titularly Black man who has previously claimed to have White blood running through his veins has also had/has a blog and for years saw it neither fit nor proper to allow visitors to even make any comments at all.

He was to be lord and master.

Then even when comments could have been made only that pretend editor acting as dictator in chief could decide what could appear for others to see.

Then that same person would seek to claim credit, viz a viz the number of readers attracted, for the writings of others.

These are acts of dishonesty!

Now! To here complains that you have given too many liberties to the worst of idiots only represents the strict adherence to the traditional BS he has been taught and has always believed despite claim to White communism, radicalism etc.

What a set of contradictions.

3. William Skinner October 15, 2017 at 11:03 PM #

@ William, many thanks for raising what is an ethical issue. But I have broad shoulders and very confident in myself. I will not be bullied by virtual thugs.
    I was born and raised in the Ivy with rum shops on both sides of my family – one in the Ivy and the other in the Nelson Street of the 1940s, 50s and 60s. I still vividly remember those St Lucians in Nelson Street on Friday and Saturday nights.
    I also went to a school where new boys were slapped around the head by older boys; I did not run and hide then, I stood up and fought.
    What is really sad about the usual BU verbal bullies is that they are meant to be a better educated generation.
    But I have always said: show me a teenage boy that is out of control and I can say a lot about the parents.
    Show me a blog where obscenities, vulgarities, and other forms of unethical behaviour are prevalent and I show you a weak moderator.
    A blog that can fill a yawning gap in public debate in Barbados, one abandoned by the newspapers and radio and television, has allowed itself to be hijacked by anonymous amoral verbal pugilists, many of whom do not have a single idea of their own. When future generations look back they will see a wasted opportunity.
    @William, I will say this once only, since it is not my style: I write or participate in a limited number of conversations, all of which I am qualified through education or experience to comment.
    So, loud mouths cannot intimidate me. In a tougher, more competitive world, I have proven to myself that I can compete. My peers have shown they agree.
    Finally, I repeat myself, but I was once invited to apply to be a tutor to post-graduate students on social policy and declined. The reason was I did not tolerate ignorance lightly. I did not then, and would not now.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

See what I mean about Hal..

Facebook has the most rude, crude, obscenity laden forum and is the largest blog on earth, largest social media forum with over 2 billion followers, most of the vulgarity and bile being spewed these days is at the presodent of the US…the retarded trump…and totally unchecked because it is the truth.

But here is Hal the dimwit, trying to make it seem as though BU is the worse blog, what a liar and a hypocrite, because he can’t moderate BU down to his low standards….and slave like stupidity.

Hal…start ya own blog, ya might get bigger than facebook,

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I swear, if Hal sees what I post to facebook, he would die instantly…lol

I throw down like I own the earth…no one is safe, am actually quite ladylike on BU.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

BTW…Hal…all those “ideas” you claim to have, are someone else’s ya copied from real journalists in UK…I recognize many of them but put aside any petty revealing and wrote ya off as just a garden variety copier, but because ya think ya are now at fullblown war with BU anonymous posters.., I will expose all ya plagarism.

7. Hal Austin

Not true! You are a fuvking lliar.

You have misled this blog for many years. Even when evidence of your misdeeds was presented you just ignored them and moved on. Maybe the same could be done when you are appropriately cussed.

People like you and William Skinner seem to believe that wunna got something to teach the rest of us but we have never found that to be true.

How else are people like you and your friend to be confronted. but wid cussing!

Moreover, this writer believes that the innate language should be also directed at the people in charge of this society, especially the corporatists. Those people who you still think are worthy of ‘respect’, even in their dishonesty.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Pacha…Hal is just trying to bully the Blogmaster into not only moderating but putting heavy restrictions on anonymous bloggers. …Hal is working on that like the house negro he is…..insulting the blogmaster’s intelligence as if he dont know when to intervene on his own blog.

William Skinner sounds like he got worries, maybe the island’s social landscape is changing too quickly for him, but change it must……

……it is a majority Black country and should stop tolerating and enabling house negros and minority white and other racists. …a change must come.

End of story.

9. There is a video that is widely circulated on Whatsapp, in brief, a professor writes four mathematical problems with answers on a blackboard. The answer to question one is wrong the other three are correct. The class to a man and woman all focused on question one. The moral of the story is…

There is no blog space in the world that gives Barbadians et al the ‘freedom’ to discuss the myriad of topics we engage on a weekly basis. BU- and this is a fact- is a resource for the traditional players; the media and political class and others.

When BU was created ten years ago after Barbados Freepress blog pioneered the concept many said give it six months. The BU household with the help of all of you has done enough to suggest we have fulfilled our intitial mandate which is to shine a light on the issues that fester on the underbelly of our society with the hope it contributes to forcing change.

Clearly all will never agree how the blog should be managed. However, we should commit to what we agree on, i.e. working for an improved Barbados and to constructively leverage our differences and diversity for the good.

10. Hal Austin said………………………..

”Finally, I repeat myself, but I was once invited to apply to be a tutor to post-graduate students on social policy and declined. The reason was I did not tolerate ignorance lightly. I did not then, and would not now.”’

Standards in the UK must really be slipping. Maybe they would have also awarded you a ‘professorship’ which you would continue to use professionally like the scamster who robbed the government of Barbados of tens of millions of d0llars in the Four Seasons project and who you defended here on BU, to the hilt!

His name slips us at this moment. Persaud, we seem to remember.

You are too fecking foolish to know any truths.

11. Based on reliable information, the man charged with stealing cassava and was shot in the process, is none other than the regular caller “Mr. Agriculture” of “Getting Down to Brass Tacks” fame.

And I though this man was a real, real farmer…………. now to find out he is actually a praedial larcenist.

Signs and wonders, indeed…………

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William SkinnerOctober 16, 2017 at 12:00 AM
    “As I have said a million times, we is only cuss the Black political class. Our pens are dry when it comes to going after whites.”

So what would you call angela Skeet(e)’s (formerly “ac”) verbal attacks on Charles Herbert? Polite deference?

How about Carson C. Cadogan’s cesspool of racist abuse levelled at the private sector accusing it of undermining his ‘people-centred’ administration in favour of the business-friendly BLP?

How would you categorize the likes of Maloney, Tempro and Bjerkham?
    Do they too escape the ‘black or white’ ink of the BU pen-pushers?

How come these same individuals can inveigle their way onto the Boards of agencies ‘officially’ controlled by a black political administration but such a quid pro quo arrangement cannot be ‘negotiated’ with the same companies you claim are all-white in interlocking directorship hue?

Did these so-called white-only Boards of Directors promise the mainly black small-business class a 40% share of the pie when its comes to the award of contracts funded by mainly black taxpayers?

Almost a decade has elapsed and this black class of entrepreneurs is still whistling in the wind to hear only sweet nothings in their ‘small’ ears.

13. Artax @7.44

The sad truth is that many a psuedo farmer in Bim reaps his crops and animals from real farmers……has been happening for a long time.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidOctober 16, 2017 at 7:04 AM

Well said David! Clearly in keeping with the BU motto.

Let no one deter you.

As long as the likes of Bush Tea, Pacha, WW& C, Prodigal son, GP, DPD, Artax, angel(a) Skeeete (ac in disguise), SS, SSS, Adrian Loveridge and Jeff Cumberbatch are behind BU who cares if the Stalinist Hal Austin (or even the yellow yard-fowls Fractured or a spade in waiting) disappears; for good that is.

It would be “GIGO” moment of good riddance to overly haughty and arrogant rubbish too long tolerated through the mere long-suffering patience of the blog master whose ‘feeding’ hands of free expression are being bitten by the same ungrateful lot of freedom-of-speech suppressors pretending to be peddlers of some dictatorial code of blog etiquette while hiding a litany of moral, intellectual and other failures in their closet of pedantic insecurities.

15. William Skinner Avatar

I am really enjoying this discussion. I will stand by my original position.
    When replying to Jeff Cumberbatch, the language is very Tudor(Cameron) like because the intention is to prove to the highly articulate Jeff that they (We) can match his standards. I have never heard certain people refer to Jeff as a RH. C$%#@.Fu%$#@& idiot or anything of that nature. So all the talk about adopting cuss words as standard language disappears when responding to Jeff. It shows a distinct intellectual class bias.
    All Georgie Porgie said is that Jeff’s articles are some form of excretion. I dont agree because I have been reading Jeff long before he ever appeared on BU and he is one of only three writers/columnists in Bimshire, that I have ever recommended for others to read.
    I remain steadfast that David is guilty of protecting Jeff while ignoring the extremely vicious assaults on others. Once again, I hope that this is a turning point and others will receive equal caution as is required of Georgie Porgie. I will be watching.

16. MILLER

WE DOES CUSS ONE ANUDDER REGLA, YOU AND PACHA CAUSE THE TWO OF WUNNA IS HEATHEN BUT TO DAY I SENDING YOU TO HELL

HOW ON EARTH CAN YOU PUT MY NAME ON THE SAME LIST AS THE PEDESTRIAN PEDANTIC DRIBBLING FOOL?

WUH I DO YOU MAN? WUH I DO YOU?

EASE UP PUN HAL MAN AH BEG YA.

17. William Skinner

You talking shiite.

18. William Skinner
    And a fucking liar

Bushie has referred to Jeff as a brassbowl often

19. William Skinner October 15, 2017 at 11:03 PM #
    RE I suspect that you are only going after
    Georgie Porgie because of Jeff’s status.

YOU ARE ONE HUNDRED PERCENT CORRECT! LOL!
    YOU CANT TELL THE SANCTIMONIUOS LAWYER ON THE HILL THAT HE WRITE SHITE, EVN IF IT IS YOUR OPINION
    RE I have read Hal Austin being abused on this

blog in far more nasty ways than that of
    which you now take offense.
    THIS IS ALSO ONE HUNDRED PERCENT CORRECT
    ALL I SAID IS THAT THE APPARENT LORD AND MASTER WHOSE SHIT COLUMN FOR THE ADVOCATE IS PUT HERE EVERY SUNDAY MORNING WROTE SHITE…………AND I DID IT IN STYLE AND BEAUTIFUL SIMPLE PROSE TOO

BUT NOW LOOK HOW AFTER YOU HAVE SPOKEN HOW THE “TROOPS OF MIDIAN” HAVE GONE AFTER HAL AUSTIN AGAIN….IN REALLY NASTY LANGUAGE. BUT THERE IS NO INTERVENTION. CAUSE HE AINT NOBODY. HE AINT GOT A BIG JOB PUN DE HILL. HE AINT NO LAWYER

BUT THE TELL THE”LORDS” ANNOINTED THAT HE TALKING SHITE IS ANATHEMA. LOL
    GP, HOWEVER HAS ALWAYS BEEN HATED AND A WHIPPING BOY ON BU. SO YA CAN WHIP GP ANYTIME AND VERYTIME, AND EVEN LOCK HE UP LIKE IF HE IS NEDDY.

Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 16, 2017 at 3:15 AM #
    SIR YOUR MONIKER SAYS IT ALL……LOL…..BUT YOU DO MAKE SOME SENSE WHEN YOU WRITE

However, GP has thrown up a challenge to Jeff, a challenge which Jeff should look at carefully and ask himself: are my columns truly reflective of the everyday reality of Barbados and if they are, do they carry sufficient bite within them?

BUT WHEREAS JEFF dazzles YOU (not me) with his beautiful form of writing HOW MUCH DOES HIS AUDIENCE UNDERSTAND? ON BU OR IN THE WIDER SOCIETY WHO READS THE FAILING PAPER WHICH IS NO LONGER ANY ADVOCATE.

YOU AR CORRECT WHEN YOU POSIT he remains mute on the genuine structural issues that need to be addressed in order for Barbados to move forward. I see no sense of urgency in his writing style. For example why is it that after fifty years of independence that the country’s negro population remains largely poor and indebted?

THAT IS BECAUSE HE IS A POMPOUS ASS WHO THINKS HE HAS ARRIVED AND IS ABOVE US.

RE Whilst GP, has always used this forum to regale us with his bonhomie, his undoubted intellectual prowess and his knowledge of latin. To this day GP remains something of a drama queen, what we would call in the UK a publicity seeker. We love him for it but for a so-called Christian he does employ a lot of words from the gutter.

YOU ARE A NASTY STINKING LIAR
    1 I USE ONE PIECE OF LATIN HERE QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXISCRIPSIQUE

2 MY undoubted intellectual prowess IS NOT MY FAULT. IT IS A GIFT. NOTE THAT I WRITE IN SIMPLE ENGLISH

3 IF I WERE A PUBLICITY SEKER I WOULD WRITE A WEEKLY COLUMN FILLED WITH BOVINE EXCREMENT. BUT I AM ESSENTIALLY A BACK SEAT PERSON

4 SHITE IS THE ONLY WORD I USED HERE THAT CAN BE CONSIDRD FROM THE GUTTER……….BUT SHITE IS WHAT IT IS ….SHITE! ah lie? ALL BAJANS USE IT AND UNDERSTAND IT

William Skinner October 15, 2017 at 11:55 PM #
    Just be fair. You rush to protect Jeff but you had no such inclination when it came to Hal Austin,

IT IS TRUE! HE HAS NEVER PROTECTED ME EITHER FROM THE ONSLAUGHTS I HAVE RECIEVED HERE. BUT I COME HERE FOR FUN NOT FOR PRAISE OR ADULATION OR ADORATION. AND I WILL GIVE AS MUCH AS I GET. ITS FUN

William Skinner October 16, 2017 at 12:00 AM #
    RE As I have said a million times, we is only cuss the Black political class. Our pens are dry when it comes to going after whites.

YOU ARE IOO% CORRECT AGAIN. DON’T EXPECT TO BE LOVED HERE IF YOU SPEAK THE TRUTH IN PLAIN ENGLISH.

de pedantic Dribbler October 16, 2017 at 1:12 AM .

YOU SHOULD CHANGE YOUR NAME TO DE STUPID ASS LICKER!

NORMALLY I SAY “ONE WHO APPROXIMATES THEIR LABIA ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE OVERLAYING THE GLUTEI OF ANOTHERS’ CAUSE I CAN WAX ELOQUENTLY TOO, BUT I WANT YOU TO UNDERSTAND IN PLAIN SIMPLE ENGLISH.
    BUT YOU ARE A BIG ASS LICKER AND A WANNE BE

RE To suggest that he did so because of Jeff’s status when there were several other demonstrably valid reasons is surely an indication of YOUR perspectives and priorities.

BUT DAVID DID! I AM SURE THAT SKINNER UNDERSTANDS MORE THAN YOU DO.
    HIS QUALIFICATIONS ALONE WOULD INDICATE THAT HIS BRAIN IS LARGER THAN YOUR PEA SIZED AMOEBIC ONE

RE When one considers that this was the second week consecutively that the blogger attacked with personal, insipid remarks it is absolutely fair that the Blogmaster sent a ahot across his bow.

MAN JEFF CUMBERBATCH IS NOT THE LORD SAH AND POSTERS ON BU HAVE FOR YEARS COME HERE AND SPOKEN ILL ABOUT THE REAL LORD AND SAVIOR, AND MALIGNED HIS BOOK WITH MORE THAN INSIPID REMARKS! I HAVE NOT HEARD YOU SPEAK ON THIS ……….NOR DAVID.

LET ME TELL YOU AGAIN JEFF CUMBERBATCH IS NOT THE LORD SAH, HE DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE WORSHIPPED OR HAVE HIS ASS LICKED BY A BOTTOM FEEDER LIKE YOU. AND IF I THINK HE WRITES SHITE I WILL SAY SO IN SIMPLE ENGLISH

RE 2… Hal unlike Jeff often uses his pen to cut deep with his ‘nice’ words. That his opponents use crude words in their attempts to cut him down is unfortunate but you can’t wage a war with a musket and cry bloody murder when your opponent uses a Winchester auto rifle.

HAL AUSTIN DOES TAKE HIS LICKS LIKE A MAN. I CUSS HE TOO.
    BUT HE IS A MAN AMONG THE PEOPLE. HE IS NOT A POMPOUS POPE ON A PEDESTAL UP THE HILL. HE DON’T PRETEND TO BE ANYBODY. HE DOES TELL YA EXACTLY WHERE HE COME FROM
    WHEN YOU COME DOWN INTO THE TRENCHS AT BU SOME OF WUNNAH HERE DOES DISRESPECT PEOPLE. BUT THAT IS THE BAJAN WAY

RE The Blogmaster enhances his blog with Jeff’s articles and the public advocacy offered. He certainly has every right to defend this featured writer with as much vigour as he chooses.

MAN BEFORE YOUR LORD AND MASTER WAS “ENHANCING” THE BLOG WITH HIS ARTICLES OTHERS HAVE BEEN PRODUCING PRACTICAL PROSE ON BU.

GO READ MY INITIAL POSTS ON MEDICAL CORNER WHEN I BLISTERED THE TAIL OF THAT DRUG REP ON CHOLESTEROL DRUGS.

THAT WAS TEACHING THAT ALL COULD UNDERSTAND

JUST LIKE I BLISTERED YOURS WHEN YOU TRIED TO CONTRADICT ME ON THINGS MEDICAL WHEN YOU WERE WRONG WRONG WRONG YA IDIOT!

PS. I TYPE WITH ONE FINGER IN CAPS NOT BECAUSE I ANGRY OR VEXED
    I JUST LIKE TO DO SO AND BECAUSE I AM ESSENTIALLY A SINNER WHO IS A REBEL!

I HAVE HAD MY ENTERTAINMNT FOR THE DAY
    TIME TO WATCH A LIKKLE CRICKET

20. RE Pachamama October 16, 2017 at 9:10 AM #
    William Skinner And a fucking liar

Bushie has referred to Jeff as a brassbowl often

YOU GOT TO UNDERSTAND BUSH TEA MORE SPECIAL THAN JEFF
    BUSHTEA CAN SAY ANYTHING HE WANT TO SAY ON BU ANYTIME
    BUT HE DOES USE SIMPLE ENGLISH AND HE LIKE HE WALKS AMONG THE PEOPLE
    HE ALSO SEEMS NOT TO HAVE FORGOTTEN WHERE HE COME FROM

21. The vulgarity speaks to an empty mind. In a person to person meeting, it would be violence. They are the products of an aggressive and violent sub-culture driven by envy and bitterness. Social and professional failures who now hate the world as they reflect on a life that could have been more rewarding. They believe they did not get a fair chance.

22. Hal Austin October 16, 2017 at 9:30 AM #
    YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT1

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“So all the talk about adopting cuss words as standard language disappears when responding to Jeff. It shows a distinct intellectual class bias.”

No William…it shows that respect is earned, Jeff rarely has a dust up with anyone on BU, maybe it’s because when he is not busy giving freely of his knowledge, he is busy disgusting and analyzing the information on the blog.

Compare that with Hal the nuisance who is always trying to shove his second rate, second hand akready regurgitated nonsense down blogger’s throats and gets angry when no one is buying the fantasies he sells…it’s a nobrainer.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

GP used to be like that but since he started drinking breibart and patriot news koolaid, he seems to have turned dotard…lol

25. William Skinner Avatar

WE have said and WE repeat: WE have NEVER read where “certain people” refer to Jeff as “R#@$% H@@^%; “F$%#@& C&^%”etc.
    WE dun wid dat.
    WE will be watching.

26. Tillerson just called Trump a fucking moron.

We have not seen the fucking dispensationalist Christians objecting

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

CIRRECTION:

maybe it’s because when Jeff is TOO busy giving freely of his knowledge, he is busy DIGESTING and analyzing the information on the blog.

28. RE “So all the talk about adopting cuss words as standard language disappears when responding to Jeff. It shows a distinct intellectual class bias.”

SKINER YOU ARE CORRECT AGAIN
    WE ARE BAJANS AND WE KNOW WELL
    WHO DE BOG LIKE HE LICK
    AND WHO HE DONT LICK HE…………………………..

THERE IS A DEFINITE distinct intellectual class bias EXCEPT THAT CUMBRBATCH AINT NO MORE INTELLECTUAL THAN MY NEMESIS BUSH TEA

JEFF CUMBERBATCH AINT DE ONLY ONE WHO HAS GIVEN FREELY OF HIS KNOWLEDGE
    WHAT ABOUT CASWELL FRANKLIN/

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Good….then ya will get to see plagarism exposed.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Caswell always gets his props…it’s all making the issue about Jeff.

You get ya props too GP…but ya know how it goes, we want you to stay alert….lol

31. Pachamama October 16, 2017 at 9:40 AM #
    Tillerson just called Trump a fucking moron.

We have not seen the fucking dispensationalist Christians objecting

DAT IS BECAUSE THE dispensationalist Christians HAVE FORGIVEN HIM.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

That’s the problem Pacha…one only sees that level of self righteous hypocrisy manifesting in those who have been actively bainwashed and coming from a very long line of actively brainwashed sheeple who still fear thinking for themselves.

Free thinkers never reach that low level of nothingness.

The way trump is cussed daily on other blogs and can’t lift a finger to stop it, he has to be a demon to take that level of assault….

….and here ya got a couple sissìes complaining about being cussed nicely.

33. George Porgie

Forgive.

Everything about dominionist Christianity is a rassssoul lie

34. @ William
    WE have said and WE repeat: WE have NEVER read where “certain people” refer to Jeff as “R#@$% H@@^%; “F$%#@& C&^%”etc.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Some days you just seem to lose it all….

There is an OBVIOUS reason why ‘certain people’ do NOT refer to Jeff in the terms that you so eloquently spell out above….

It is because he just ain’t qualified to be so referenced….. and too, ..his responses are so mature (if biting) and civil, that it takes a special kind of bushman to whack his donkey.

No one questions Jeff obvious intelligence.
    His only REAL shortcoming is that he is, otherwise, an everyday brass bowl – who has been born with the albino-centric contamination that afflicts all of us Bajans.

It is BECAUSE of his superior intellect that he will be, on occasion, targeted by the whacker for needed correction. Like Pacha and some others, his inability to rationalise ‘things of the spirit’ clashes with his natural brilliance – and leads him to false conclusions.

Out-and-out brass bowls who ‘know not that they know not’ may never attract the whacker …as their lives tend to be mostly miserable already as it is….no point in throwing water into the sea…

GP is in another class altogether…. he is a fellow who knows, and knows not that he knows … because he falsely thinks far too much of his academic attributes …and far too little of the special spiritual GIFT that is needed in order to TRULY ‘know’….

As to the language of BU…. You should reflect on the types of people that the original bushman CHOSE to associate with……..
    While you are at it, reflect also on where in history – fishermen have ever been known for the refined and civil nature of their brass bowl communications….

BTW David …
    Please stop bragging about the phenomenally outstanding job that you have done with BU. You, like the poor shiite-hound Bushie, were CHOSEN to play a special role, …. and the unnaturally impactful success that you have achieved reflects a mighty hand in all that you do…

If there were no demons, devils and evil brass bowls seeking to belittle and pull down your approach and your work, then some shiite would be seriously wrong….. ent it??!!

Keep on keeping on Boss…
    What BBE bless …. no brass bowl can curse….

35. GP is in another class altogether…. he is a fellow who knows, and knows not that he knows … because he falsely thinks far too much of his academic attributes …and far too little of the special spiritual GIFT that is needed in order to TRULY ‘know’….

NO BUSHIE
    GP DONT KNOW NUTTIN OK GP HEY JUST TRYIN TO HAVE SOME FUN

I DONT THINK far too much of MY academic attributes CAUSE THESE HAVE BEEN MORE A DISADVANTAGE TO ME THAN A BLESSING EVA SINCE I WAS AGE 11

GP AS A RESULT IS ESSENTIALLY A BACK SEAT FELLA WHO SAYS LITTLE. AS I DID HERE FOR OVER A YEAR….AND WILL DO AGAIN

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Wow! Wuh Loss.!!

Are the last two scores of comments indicative of the level of angst in the Barbados society ?? Jeff’s column has been hijacked!! Time to chill,people.

I will be generous and call it pure Bajan theater. Part of our culture. Nevertheless, these are issues that have to be resolved as we move forward. I do not despair.

RH means “I am unhappy with your words or actions.” I think we should decriminalize it.

37. The wonder of the European Court of Human Rights [ECHR]

“For those Barbadians, arguably not so few in number, who are opposed, bitterly, fundamentally, diametrically or otherwise, and for whatever reason, to the concept of same-sex marriage becoming a possibility in this jurisdiction, the recently reported June 2016 decision of the European Court of Human Rights that there is NO HUMAN RIGHT under the European Convention on Human Rights to be party to a same-sex marriage might have come as a pleasant and welcome surprise, especially after the US Supreme Court decision in Obergfell v Hodges that imposed homosexual marriage as a right applicable in all the states of the union.”

“In fact, the European decision is over one year old and is consistent with at least three previous holdings of that court that there is NO HUMAN RIGHT to a homosexual marriage and thus the member states cannot be compelled to recognize it. This in spite of Article 12 of the Convention that reads;” (Emphasis added)

“Men and women of marriageable age shall have the right to marry and to found a family. According to the national laws governing the exercise of this right.”

The salient point IS* that the {ECHR) has RIGHTLY (pun intended!), ruled that NO HUMAN RIGHT can be had when in truth and in fact it is blatantly, morally WRONG to sanction same-sex marriages.

In other words, NO one can argue for a so-called human RIGHTS issue, that starts out
    WRONG!

NO WRONG thing morally, biologically, that IS diametrically opposed to the design of our human body, soul, and spirit, can ever be deemed a HUMAN RIGHT, because it is fundamentally WRONG! The {ECHR) is RIGHT in its decision against what is WRONG!

38. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Zoe at 11:32 AM

The law and practice in Barbados agree with your conclusion; and so does the moral majority. So for the time being there is nothing to fear.

39. WATCH THEM CUSS ZOE TOO AS USUAL
    HE TOO HAS GIVEN FREELY OF HIS KNOWLEDGE AND HAS BEEN MOCKED AND SCORNED HER ON BU AND WUNNA DOES WORSHIP ONE LAWYER CAUSE HE GOT A JOB UP DE HILL AND HATE SIMPLE MEN DAT DOES SAY WHAT THEY BELIEVE IF IT NOT WHAT WUNNAH TINK IS RIGHT

UM IS LUNCH TIME YUH

40. SOULISH AND SPIRITUAL.

@BushTea

“it is BECAUSE of his superior intellect that he will be, on occasion, targeted by the whacker for needed correction. Like Pacha and some others, his inability to rationalise ‘things of the spirit’ clashes with his natural brilliance – and leads him to false conclusions.”

Bushie, the word ‘RATIONALISE’ is simply not used in His Word, the Bible, concerning such matters, Listen and be corrected!

“These things we also speak, NOT in words which man’s wisdom ( unregenerate mind!) teaches, but which the Holy Spirit TEACHES, comparing spiritual things with spiritual.”

“But the NATURAL man (Unregenerate and devoid of the Spirit) does NOT receive the things of the Spirit of God, (Why NOT?) for they are FOOLISHNESS to him; nor can he KNOW them, BECAUSE they are spiritually DISCERNED.”

Note BT, they are ‘…spiritually DISCERNED.” This has NOTHING to do with ‘RATIONALIZING’

If one is NOT ‘Born Again’ Spiritually ‘REGENERATED’ by the Holy Spirit, through The Lord Jesus Christ, NO matter how bright one might be, HE/SHE IS* SPIRITUALLY DEAD!

listen now to the one who IS* Spiritually regenerated, ‘Born Again’ KNOWS Jesus as personal Saviour and Lord!

“But he who IS spiritual judges ALL things, yet he himself is rightly judged by NO ONE. For ‘who has KNOWN the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?’ But we ( regenerate) have the mind of Christ.” ( 1 Cor. 2: 13-16) Emphasis added.

41. THERE WAS ALSO DICTIONARY THAT WAS RUN FROM THIS BLOG—-A VERY BRILLIANT MAN AND ONE OF THE SO CALLED BU TRINITY. HE WAS ANOTHER THAT WAS HATED ON BU

42. The Bible is a pack of lies

From genesis to revelations

Christians are idiots, all of them, no exceptions

Not one of the christian idiots in this world can prove anything that is written in their book to be true, ever happened, not by using the very book of idiots. But by using the 20 to 30 categories of independent, verifiable sources evidences known to man.

For example anthropological, navigational, metallurgical, linguistic evidence etc

That any of the characters in that massive work of fiction ever existed, not one! It is merely a masterpiece in propaganda, the marketing of nonsense to enslave people.

Where are the graves of these fictional characters. And if somebody. who they lie and say was some son of Shatan, was immaculately conceived where are the ancient monuments built to this imposter, jesus.

We have evidence of significant people going back tens of thousands of years, where are his.? Where are the definitive proofs.

Not the bible, be jesus Christ not the bible, we know the Piso family wrote that.

That titularly educated people could continue to rely on this nonsense as some guide to life and living could only be explained by being a slave. White people are laughing at us.

We challenge anybody here or further afield to validate any of the specious claims they make about this foolishness called Christianity and a fucking lying bible.

We are enlightened enough to be able to reconstruct the lives of people who where here for hundreds of thousands of years.

Yet these ignorant religionists would have us believe that Pachamama is only 6K years old, having been created by a god who cannot be shown to exist.

And no conclusive evidence has ever been provided to validate a single claim about this rassssssssoul foolishness. Yet faith in it is high!

The humanoid can be made to believe anything. The marketer would, if he has any semblance of integrity left, validate that.

These same people will call the Afrikan-Anerican ignorant though they are more committed to their Christian ignorance than they themselves have ever been.

In spite of the document evidence that Afrikan-Americans have contributed more to world civilization and the development of empire than their White christian slave masters.

These slave want to be near to their evangelical white masters.

So there will never be any critique of white people. They are even to be forgiven even when Black people are slaughtered in churches under the rubric of a racist system in which Christianity is a foundational plank.

So these white men in drags will defend Trump because he is somehow seen as appointed by their masters’ god.

Is this still not a plantation? With raasssssssssssssoul idiots taking shiiite ’bout a bible.

43. I am always amazed, amazed at how thin skinned men are.

44. @Hal Austin October 16, 2017 at 5:59 AM “I was once invited to apply to be a tutor to post-graduate students on social policy and declined. The reason was I did not tolerate ignorance lightly. I did not then, and would not now.”

I have always believed that it is the duty of teachers to bring students from ignorance to knowledge, so why would you refuse to teach because the students are ignorant?

45. @Artax October 16, 2017 at 7:44 AM “And I though this man was a real, real farmer…now to find out he is actually a praedial larcenist.”

Dear Artax: I enjoy reading your contributions, but, but, but, don’t get tie up. It is possible to be both a real, real farmer and a praedial larcenist, the two are NOT mutually exclusive…just as it is possible to enjoy and celebrate BOTH Independence and Christmas.

46. @Georgie Porgie October 16, 2017 at 9:24 AM “GP, HOWEVER HAS ALWAYS BEEN HATED.”

Now, now GP, don’t start behaving as thought you are the persecuted. I don’t know that anybody of BU hates you. I’ve seen you receive many compliments for your medical knowledge, but some people on BU, including me don’t share your religious views, or your habit of calling people whom you have never met bullers.

But that does not mean that you are hated.

If you wanted an hour, or a dollar, or a unit of blood tomorrow certainly I would give it to you, even while disagreeing with your religious and sexual views.

But hate you?

No.

47. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. October 16, 2017 at 9:34 AM “Jeff rarely has a dust up with anyone on BU.”

And maybe that it because that Jeff unlike a lot of us on BU actually has a real, real job. Students to teach, papers to correct, planning meetings to attend, papers to write, edit and publish.

Here I am in the middle of the afternoon with neffen to do, and way too much time in which to do it, therefore with plenty of time to cuss the other BU commentors…except that I choose not to.

48. @Georgie Porgie October 16, 2017 at 9:49 AM “DAT IS BECAUSE THE dispensationalist Christians HAVE FORGIVEN HIM.”

Then please forgive the bullers and non believers too.