The late Albert Selby

The right of the survivor of a non-marital union to benefit from the estate of the deceased partner does not depend on the status of marriage, but on the duration of cohabitation with the deceased immediately preceding death. โ€“per Byron P in Smith v Selby [2017]CCJ 13

The courts of law have through the years been called upon to make some surprising determinations. One English case involved the intriguing issue of whether ice cream could be considered meat for the purposes of the Sunday Trading Act 1994; another the more tendentious matter of whether a bicycle was a carriage under the 1835 Highway Act. We have seemingly now added our own quirky issue to this list. The Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ] was recently called upon to determine when is a man to be treated as single for the purposes of the Succession Act.

The critical issue in the decision of the CCJ last Friday was not, as some aspects of the media would have it, whether a โ€œcommon lawโ€ spouse generally may inherit or succeed to the property of her cohabiting partner on his or her death intestate. That issue had been settled as early as 1979 with the passage of the Succession Act. According to section 2 (3)(a) of that Act:

โ€œFor the purposes of this Act, reference to a โ€œspouseโ€ includes:

(a) a single woman who was living together with a single man as his wife for a period of not less than 5 years immediately preceding the date of his deathโ€ฆโ€ [Emphasis added]

There, the local legislature had given effect to the prevailing cultural norm locally, whereby a large number of relationships existed without โ€œbenefit of clergyโ€, as that expression is popularly understood. As I recall, there was not a lot of religious objection to this then and, if there was any, I must have missed it because I was abroad at that time.

This initiative further consolidated the earlier enactment of the Status of Children Reform Act whose section 3 provides as follows-

For the purposes of the laws of Barbados, the distinction of at common law between the status of children born within or outside marriage is abolished, and all children shall, after 1st January, 1980, be of equal status; and a person is the child of his or her natural parents and his or her status as their child is independent of whether the child is born within or outside of marriage-

and of the Family Law Act 1981 that recognized the concept of the union other than marriage in the following manner-

“union other than marriage” or “union” means the relationship that is established when a man and a woman who, not being married to each other, have cohabited continuously for a period of 5 years or more and have so cohabited within the year immediately preceding the institution of the proceedings.โ€

The critical issue in the recent case between Ms Katrina Smith, the appellant and Mr Albert Selby, the respondent, was rather whether Ms Smith satisfied the statutory definition of โ€œspouseโ€, given that her cohabitant, who had died intestate in April 2008 and was the brother of the respondent, had been separated but not divorced from his wife for the first two years of the claimed cohabitation. He was eventually divorced in 2004.

Naturally, therefore, the argument of the respondent (who stood to benefit under the applicable law of succession on intestacy, since his brother would have had no spouse, no issue nor mother nor father) was that Ms Smith did not satisfy the statutory definition of spouse, not because of the failure to contract a marriage with the deceased at all, but rather because the deceased was not โ€œa single manโ€ within the meaning of the Act for the five years of cohabitation immediately preceding the date of his death. The basis of this was that since he was still legally married, even though separated from his wife, he could not be considered a single man.

This argument was rejected by the trial judge who, according to the judgment of the CCJ โ€œinfluenced by his perception that the purpose of the statute was to correct the problem faced by the survivor of a non-marital relationship where there was no will, concluded that the word โ€œsingleโ€ included a married man who was separated from his wife.โ€ Alternately, the judge was of the view that the word โ€˜singleโ€™ referred only to the status of the deceased at his death.

The Court of Appeal found the first holding to be a distortion of the natural and ordinary meaning of the word โ€œsingleโ€, and rejected the alternative on the ground that โ€œthe word โ€œsingleโ€ reflected the status of the parties throughout the five-year period of statutory cohabitationโ€ and not merely at death. The CCJ on Friday reversed the Court of Appealโ€™s decision and restored the order of the trial judge.

The ultimate resolution of the matter turned on the appropriately applicable rules of statutory interpretation and should arguably repay reading for keen students of this subject. I consider the minutiae of this, however, to be too esoteric for a Sunday newspaper column so I will not elaborate further.

It should be borne in mind nevertheless that the principal aim of the court engaged in an exercise of statutory interpretation is to ascertain the meaning intended by Parliament, as the CCJ makes clear-

โ€œThe courtโ€™s task, within the permissible bounds of interpretation, is to give effect to Parliamentโ€™s purpose. So, the controversial provisions should be read in the context of the entire statute, and the statute should be read in the historical context of the situation which led to its enactment.โ€

As the varying decisions in this case demonstrate, this is an exercise in which highly learned men may reasonably differ as to the result. And while this may appear befuddling to the uninitiated who yearn for exactitude and predictability in the meaning of statutory provisions; as long as there remains the co-existence of the separation of powers whereby Parliament legislates and the courts interpret, and so long as the English language with all of its vagaries remains the primary means of legal communication, these will remain an unlikelihood.

There is one more point worthy of note. The notion of the โ€œsingle manโ€ has not been expressly enacted in the provision for the union other than marriage referred to above where a period of cohabitation also plays a significant role. It seems beyond doubt that at his death therefore, Albert Michael Selby was part of a union other than marriage with Ms Smith. Should this not also hold true for other married men whether separated or not?

262 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – When is a Man Single?”

1. Grenville is evermore locked on to the notion that the BLP did nothing in the 14 years of its governance other than saddle the country in debt so that the DLP being unable to properly manage the economy,saddled the country with 19 downgrades and counting,finding itself in the unfortunate situation of having to remove all disposable income from the citizens by in excess of 40 new taxes and the removal of all tax concessions made by the same BLP.
    Hal is evermore locked on to the notion that unless your nom de plume is a name such as James Miller or Charles Phillips,you automatically fail his acid test of intelligence.Does not a rose of any hue smell just as sweet?Is the discussion coloured by the name or by the reasonableness of the argument.Surely there is a spot of truth in the old saying that what goes into the mouth defileth not but what come out.

2. @ Gabriel
    Have you considered that Grenville sees himself be competing with the BLP, and hence feel the need to put down that party – as opposed to the DLP… which is doing a super job of putting itself down…?

His, in all fairness, is not a case of the BLP’s enemy being SB’s enemy, …but one of all the ‘LPs’ being the enemy (…hopefully including the non-leper), and he is attacking the one that is actually standing up….

LOL …
    It is just like Bushie not REALLY bothering to attack Hal…
    Cuh shiite…. Bushie has been aware of his stupidity from back when…

What would be the point of bringing proof to BU that ‘sugar is sweet’…?
    Murda!!!

3. @ lawson
    “…..the way things are, so hard to get your share because of taxes ,laws , lawyers and greedy family you may as well marry for love”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Profound….!!

….by the fruit we can tell when we are on the right track….
    When all else fails, we may as well go back to the basics …as designed by BBE.

If you could find a couple that TRULY are in love with each other, they will confirm for you that all the wealth in the world could not better what they have…. whether they are ‘married’ or not…

Conversely, just look at the average ‘married couple’ – mostly together because of the high costs of dividing their material possessions and the act of preserving their family reputation – and you will glimpse a prelude to Hell itself….

4. @Artax September 3, 2017 at 11:38 PM “Did Owen Arthur not โ€œintercedeโ€ on behalf of Neville Rowe when the bank was about to foreclose on his Sky Mall property? My point is an individual who LEGALLY acquires property can lose that property if he/she fails to make payment for whatever reason.”

But should he have?

You are an accountant surely you know that a person has not “acquired” a property until he has completed payments for it, although granted he may have acquired some interest in that property.

I hate capitalism too, but we have to live with it. In capitalist economies we have to pay for stuff. When I went to the newspaper vendor this morning she rightly demanded $1.25, and refused to accept $1.00 as payment to let me acquire the property/newspaper.

5. @Hal Austin September 4, 2017 at 6:50 AM “I have said that if on registering newly born children mothers fail to register the fathersโ€™ names then they automatically lose the right to claim child maintenance later.”

You are being completely unreasonable.

It is not a failure of women that the father’s name does not appear on the birth certificate.

Under Barbados law the only person who can add a father’s name to the birth certificate is the father himself, so why should a child be denied support up to his majority because of the father’s failure?

Should not the father be the one who is punished?

How would you like it is Ms. X should show up at the registry, and without even informing you and in the space for name of father add: Hal Austin

Every child deserves to be supported regardless of the father’s [or mother’s] failures. Children and their mothers should NEVER “automatically lose the right to claim child maintenance later.”

6. Simple Simon

If your comment at 11:37 does not convince Hal of the wrong-headedness of his submission, nothing will. But that might depend on the phase of the moon.

7. Gabriel September 4, 2017 at 9:44 AM #

โ€œHal is evermore locked on to the notion that unless your nom de plume is a name such as James Miller or Charles Phillips, you automatically fail his acid test of intelligence.โ€

@ Gabriel

But is that not the general consensus of opinion among many of those contributors to BU who use their โ€œreal names?โ€

Surely you should realize that they can be similarly as insulting and write as much shiite as contributors using pseudonyms.

@ Simple Simon

I’ll allow your comments go over my head.

8. Simple Simon,
    I will repeat. If the mother refuses to name the father, then she loses the right to claim child maintenance later. If it is the father, then the court could order a DNA test.
    If you re-read my submission you will realise you have mis-understood what I said. I am surprised @Caswell, who is usually so sharp on the law, missed the point.
    I will like to see a divorce lawyer stating the likely impact on the doctrines of decree nisi and decree absolute, if five years of co-habitation with someone who is not your wife cancel out, or compromise the need for a decree absolute.
    Further, how this impacts on inheritance law.
    That is the legal theory @Caswell, not the position of the moon. The judgement has plunged inheritance law in a mess and the attorney general must sort it out with new legislation.

9. the DLP has come up with a fix for the population being upset about the state of the economy and high taxes….quit thinking of it as YOUR money.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Hal…that is why he is sharp on the law…he did not miss the point but you did.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

What nonsense are you talking about? Plunge inheritance law into what mess? The mess is only in your mind. As far as I can see, that decision merely clarified the law. We now know that the deceased must have been single in addition to living with the beneficiary in a union other than a marriage for five or more years at the date of death.

12. Caswell,
    Cut out the hysterics and look at the issue objectively. The decision is judge-made law. Let us go over the basics: married man, not divorced, living for five years or more with a common-law wife, dies, and she is entitled to inherit all or some of his estate.
    First, the decision impacts on divorce law since until there is a decree absolute he is still married and his next of kin is his widow. Is that correct?
    Second, if he dies intestate, and his common-law wife of five years or more can inherit all or part of his estate, then that impacts inheritance law since, without a will his next of kin ie his widow, should have inherited his estate. Is that right?
    The CCJ did not clarify anything, they messed it up. It is now up to the attorney general to put legislation through parliament to clarify the matter. Otherwise there would be no need for a separated couple to divorce if just by co-habiting the right to inherit is established.
    @Caswell, I am not a lawyer, but this much is clear to me. Let us get an opinion from an experienced divorce lawyer since we are both amateurs.
    One of Britain’s leading experts on cohabitation and the law, said in a report to a powerful government commission “….a shared household plus an intimate relationship can and often does generate financial dependence or interdependence which cause hardship on relationship breakdown or death of a partner even without children. The longer the relationship, the more likely this is. It is also seen by many as a valid or even superior alternative to marriage in terms of providing emotional commitment and social stability and is certainly a socially accepted partnering style….(it) has replaced marriage both in the youngest age range and among some of those who have experienced a failed marriage of their own or of their parents…”
    The British government opted to reject this recommendation and leave the 1965 Succession Act provision in force, under which cohabiting couples have no right to each other’s estate, although the surviving partner has a right to challenge this in court.
    I appreciate that things may differ in the Barbados jurisdiction or within the area covered by the CCJ.

13. @Caswell Franklyn September 4, 2017 at 8:43 AM

The rational ground for the bashing is:

Very soon 10,000 civil servants have to go. However, every fish stinks from the head. How can we justify to send the civil servants into the desert, if the figures responsible for the whole disaster – including the judiciary – have to face no consequences?

14. Think about this.

From what I have read,

Selby’s wife did not try to disinherit the common-law wife,

It was his brother.

Since he divorced his first wife, it is reasonable for the common-law wife to inherit his estate.

Furthermore, Selby’s death was sudden so there was reason to believe that he and his

common-law wife would have continued to live in common-law marital bliss for several years

to come.

15. @Hal, I take back my description of you as ‘renowned’. You are obviously now mentally lazy and come here to pontificate nonsensically.

Caswell is pellucid and accurate. You are WRONG.

The man WAS divorced. If you are too lazy to check the facts and details of the case why opine.

As Caswell noted and Dean Cumberbatch alluded to and detailed the CCJ laid down their clarification of the intent of the legislature in creating the Succession Act.

They did NOT set any judge made law.

16. Very sensible summary …as usual Hants…

But can you get your ‘google friend’ to tell us who it was that drafted the stupid legal construct for Barbados …and was unable to say precisely that …in clear enough terms that our High Court could understand it…?

To Bushie, THAT is the only issue…. The CCJ’s position was obviously the most sensible interpretation of the legal gibberish we have.

Caswell and Jeff probably already know the answer – but clearly they are not telling….. ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Oh gee, I hate these touch screen devices and scrolling on BU…๐Ÿ˜ฉ

18. @ Dribbler
    Boss .. why don’t you take it easy nuh?
    You hear that Hal is ‘special’…?
    How much plainer do you want Bushie to be…?

How would you feel about beating Ninja man in Broad Street for winking at your wife?
    …well you are doing the same thing to Hal on BU…

If he would just stick with asking questions, he will be fine.
    But then he gets carried away and start pontificating alotta shiite…

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

Speak for yourself, I am not an amateur when it comes to the Succession Act of Barbados.

It is amazing how you could be so wrong and strong.

Since 1979, in accordance with section 102.(4) of the Succession Act of the Laws of Barbados (not England and Wales) where a married couple live separately and apart for five or more years immediately preceding the death of one of them, the survivor is precluded from taking any part of the estate as a legal right or on intestacy.

The widow/widower is not the next of kin for the purposes of the Succession Act in these circumstances.

Please Hal, stop writing on things that you know nothing about. Are you trying to replace Angela Skeete?

20. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

i dont know how many times Hal has to be told the deceased was legally separated at least 2 years before he was divorced from his wife…making him a single man for the required 5 year period…..

….he thinks if he talks that rubbish about decree nisi and degree absolute enough times, it will change the facts…….

..not unlike trying to turn Parris from a tief to a nontief….lol

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn September 4, 2017 at 7:12 PM
    โ€œPlease Hal, stop writing on things that you know nothing about. Are you trying to replace Angela Skeete?โ€

At least I am not alone in โ€˜sussing-out’ Hal Austin for what he is; just a goldfish in a bowl of ‘shallow’ entertainment.

Why is he not fulfilling his dream of becoming the first Bajan-born global-renowned king of comic relief to make the trident of Bajan international excellence by joining Sir Garry and Rihanna?

But I must say David of BU ought to be extremely proud and full of himself for having the likes of yourself and Bushie contributing such diamonds of intellectual worth to his blog.

Cawmere hasnโ€™t done too badly at all in producing such โ€˜giftedโ€™ rebels and men of true grit even if we have to drag poor Hal Austin kicking and screaming off the stage of inanity and mediocrity.

22. Pardon me for going a little off topic……….but who in their right mind refer to themself as two separate persons?

Speaking on an election date on Sunday, the PM who is president of the DLP said in his speech the president had not yet asked the PM about a date for elections.

If he was trying to be cute, I dont buy it…………as Malik sang……”he got to be mad as hell!

23. Hal talks about decree nisi and decree absolute, but when a marriage is dead it is dead. Now to get personal, and not philosophical I know a fella who migrated and left his legal wife behind…She was afraid of the sea and ships, 55 years later they were still living apart. No formal divorce; meanwhile he lived in a home with another woman and they bore and raised 8 children to adulthood. He never came back to Barbados.

Hal would have us believe that the paper wife, that woman whom he would not recognize if he butt up pun her on Broad Street is his real-real wife and that she should inherit his estate, and that the woman who loved him and cared for him and their children for 55 years should get nought…that she should be punished for her adultery.

Well they say that the law is an ass…and so it seems is Hal.

24. @Hal Austin September 4, 2017 at 6:50 AM โ€œI have said that if on registering newly born children mothers fail to register the fathersโ€™ names then they automatically lose the right to claim child maintenance later.โ€

Maybe Hal has never worked in human services as I have. Maybe he is completely unaware of the complexity of human sexual interactions.

Sex does not always take place in a consensual martial union.

What if a married woman becomes pregnant by another man because her husband is a migrant labourer and in a moment of lonliness she becomes pregnant. What if on return the very angry husband while sharpening his Collins threatens to kill her, the infant and the other man. Should she still go ahead and put the other man’s name on the birth certificate. One woman I know did not. And by not saying she saved her own life, the life of an innocent infant, the life of the other man, and the life of her husband, because back in those days her husband would certainly have been hung.

What if the mother of the child is so disabled that she has no language, how can she register the father’s name?

If the mother is herself a child I hope that Hal understands that she cannot even register her own child’s birth, since a birth certificate is a legal document and a minor cannot sign a legal document.

What if the child is the result of father/daughter incest, and the mother is still financially dependent on the father who impregnated her, how likely is she to name her own father, or brother, or uncle, or grandfather, or stepfather.

What if the mother has been raped.

What if the father of the child is the woman’s headmaster, her boss, her pastor, her Member of Parliament. Does Hal really believe that in these situations where there is a huge imbalance of power that at least some of these women would fear naming the father.

And in any event unlike in the U.K. where unmarried mothers will go on “benefits”–and I suppose in that situation the state may feel it has the right to pry into people’s sex lives–in Barbados there is a high rate of female participation in the labour force, and most women who do not receive support for their children, do not go on “benefits” they go out to work, and with the support of their mothers, aunts and other female relatives they raise the child of the unwilling father and in most cases the child turns out very well. So if they are asking nothing of the state, pray tell me why should they tell the state who impregnated them?

Hal mentioned “our culture”. I’d like to tell Hal that he and I do NOT share a culture. In my culture we nurture each other’s children and we never seek to deny a child sustenance. We do not believe that any child mother should “automatically lose the right to claim child maintenance.โ€

25. @Prodigal Son September 4, 2017 at 8:53 PM “who in their right mind refer to themself as two separate persons?” [or three]

I dunno.

God maybe?

As in Father, Son and Holy Spirit?

Lol!

26. @ Prodigal
    Froon is trying to mimic Owen …who used to say things like “I will have to see how the Minister of Finance responds to that request, …but the Prime Minister is sympathetic…”

But poor fella….
    The man is such a humourless prick…. that it comes out completely dry.

@ Simple Simon
    Ditto…as to Dribbler.
    Tek it easy with Hal…. He takes a bit longer than the average Joe to grasp these things….
    BUT he will eventually get it…
    Don’t kill ‘eee

27. @Hal Austin September 4, 2017 at 5:13 PM “the 1965 Succession Act provision in force, under which cohabiting couples have no right to each otherโ€™s estate, although the surviving partner has a right to challenge this in court.”

Dear Hal: In our family matters we do not wish to follow the British 1965 Succession Act.

A fellow far wiser that me said “the law was made for man and not man for the law” (Mk. 2:23โ€“28; Mt. 12:1โ€“8; Lk. 6:1โ€“5)

Please understand that the 1965 British Succession Act was written BY and FOR the wealthy, landed British political class, some of whom no doubt have “bastard” children, and outside women whom they wish to use and then disinherit.

It is not about morality at all.

It is about money.

Plain and Simple

Simon

28. So this is how the very rich look out for themselves and for each other, while with regards to the children of unwilling fathers the mouthpieces of the rich would seek to cause them to โ€œautomatically lose the right to claim child maintenance.โ€

โ€˜Brexitโ€™ Threatens Subsidies for U.K.โ€™s Landed Gentry, and Queen
    SANDRINGHAM, England โ€” It is a club that includes some of the worldโ€™s richest people. There are dukes, sheikhs, flamboyant entrepreneurs โ€” even Queen Elizabeth II and other members of the royal family.

What they have in common besides ownership of some of Britainโ€™s finest estates โ€” adorned with stately homes, manicured gardens and, sometimes, racing stables โ€” is their legal status as FARMERS, which means they are on the dole for European Union farm subsidies.

The queenโ€™s idyllic 20,000-acre estate at Sandringham is among the huge holdings supported by the annual payouts, receiving more than $675,000 USD in European farm subsidies last year (down from $975,000 USD the year before).
    More at The New York Times, 5 September 2017

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hal has turned himself into BUs laughing stock, trying to tweak the law to suit his sick fantasy, instead of looking at facts and reality.

“is their legal status as FARMERS, which means they are on the dole for European Union farm subsidies.”

That is what the little halfassed copycat crooks in the minority population in Barbados calling themselves farmers have been doing for decades, stay on the dole, receiving taxpayers money in subsidies freely, laying in their beds every night dreaming up ways to steal taxpayer’s and pensioners money……. just like the welfare rats in the UK from buckingham palace on down..

The EU will more than likely cut those parasites off at the knees after they brexit, as they deserve.

30. Hal It seems that WW et al are all in the same bed with simple simon about you….you should go out and buy a lottery ticket. Two courts have different opinions , I and 9/10,s of the world know OJ is guilty but they seem to think your opinion is so off the mark. Although I cant agree that only the kids would inherit if they have lived together for some time, I am in agreement that they should at least not be brother and sister.

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lawson….you just love the entertainment that Hal unknowingly provides…lol

32. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“That is what the little halfassed copycat crooks in the minority population in Barbados calling themselves farmers have been doing for decades, stay on the dole, receiving taxpayers money in subsidies freely, laying in their beds every night dreaming up ways to steal taxpayerโ€™s and pensioners moneyโ€ฆโ€ฆ.”

These are perhaps the truest words ever written on this blog. A very parasitical minority: ruined agriculture; refused to innovate but sold everything to Trinidadians; never invested in education for the national good; never developed the tourism product; always criticising the black political class but they remain above criticism; black lackeys always ready to defend them and I could go on and on…………

33. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 5, 2017 at 3:40 AM “The EU will more than likely cut those parasites off at the knees after they brexit, as they deserve.”

There is no doubt will be cut off from EU farm subsidies.

But even now they are looking for ways to suck on the bubbies of the ordinary middle class and working class British taxpayer.

It is all about more, more, more. More for me and for mine. More for my children yet unborn.

34. Lawson

I would be very worried if the mob was thinking in line with me. But bullies like a victim, this time they have picked on the wrong one.
    I am also disappointed that that couple people who have emailed me privately will not come in the forum and say what they have said. But what do I know?
    I have nothing, but if I were lucky enough to win the lottery then kicked the bucket the estate would be settled under the law of England and Wales. Phew!

35. Hal,you sound like Trump.Just missing his adverbs.I am sure you know a couple means 2, no less, no more.Only 2 people emailed the great man?And to add insult to injury they won’t join you on BU! Whatating Hal.

36. Hal there is always a difference in opinions even among friends, thats why I never really go at WW because even a stopped clock is right twice a day.

37. @Hal Austin September 5, 2017 at 12:18 PM “I would be very worried if the mob was thinking in line with me. But bullies like a victim.”

I am not part of any mob, nor am I a bully, and you are being profoundly dishonest when you try to portray yourself as a victim. You are the one who if you had your way who would victimize small children, and deny them food, clothing, shelter, medical care and education. In your own words, not mine โ€œautomatically lose the right to claim child maintenance.โ€

Although you may be engaging in self pity you are certainly not a victim. You just need to get over yourself.

38. More on EU farm subsidies to the British aristocracy and their Middle Eastern friends/Hal’s nemesis’

“Recipients include a cast of the rich and famous, with money finding its way to another prominent member of the royal family via the Duchy of Cornwall, an estate established by Edward III in 1337. Its revenues go to Prince Charles, the Duke of Cornwall, an heir to the throne. In 2016, the duchy received more than $130,000 in European Union subsidies. Other wealthy beneficiaries have included the Duke of Westminster, who died last year; the Duke of Northumberland; Khalid Abdullah al-Saud, owner of the Juddmonte racing stables; Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum of Dubai, who owns the Godolphin stables…the British government has promised to retain current subsidies until 2022″
    Source: New York Times, September 4, 2017, โ€˜Brexitโ€™ Threatens Subsidies for U.K.โ€™s Landed Gentry, and Queen”

A baby is weaned in a year or two, but it will take 5 years to wean these folks offa the teats of the taxpayers.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

SS

You said that a baby is weaned in a year or two. If that is so, I have a problem; I am still not weaned.

40. We must start a gofundme page and buy this for Hal. These are the people who wrote the 1965 British Succession Act, and under whose laws Hal is happy to have his estate administered.

https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1108845/entitled/
    Entitled: A Critical History of the British Aristocracy / Chris Bryant.
    A polemical history of the British ruling class and how they ended up owning our nation.
    The full, shocking story of the British aristocracy, from Anglo-Saxon times until the present day. Exploring the extraordinary and sometimes pernicious social and political dominance enjoyed by the British aristocracy over centuries, Entitled seeks to explain how a tiny number of noble families rose to such a position in the first place and reveals the often nefarious means they have employed to maintain their wealth, power and prestige. It examines the greed, ambition, jealousy and rivalry which drove local barons to compete with one another and aristocratic families to guard their inheritance with phenomenal determination. In telling their history, it introduces a cast of extraordinary characters: fierce warriors, rakish dandies, political dilettantes, charming eccentrics, arrogant snobs and criminals who got away with murder. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, Entitled tells a riveting story of arrogance, corruption and greed, the defining characteristic of the British ruling class.

41. Caswell Franklyn September 5, 2017 at 3:15 PM “You said that a baby is weaned in a year or two. If that is so, I have a problem; I am still not weaned.”

Naughty boy.

Have fun.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

That’s who you are dealing with from coast to coast for centuries, parasites who have been living freely off other people’s existence and who are set and determined to continue that greedy practice, generation after generation for hundreds of years into the furture for their progeny…

They have npto be shaken and thrown off the backs of majority populations…let them go out there and finally look for real jobs, only weak people and weak governments. enable parasitc nuisances.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Simple…I believe some years ago I was telling you about US citizens being deported by US immigration, had to spend years deyained and fighting deportation some were ohysically deported and spent years getting back to US…well its finally been exposed.

http://newscdn.newsrep.net/h5/nrshare.html?id=04F8FA3B3710100001_us&r=3&lan=en_US&pid=14&app_lan&mcc=310&declared_lan=en_US&pubaccount=ocms_0&referrer=200620&showall=1

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

…had to spend years detained and fighting deportation some were physically deported and spent years getting back to USโ€ฆ..

Only knew about it through spending some time working immigration law, it was not public knowledge, until now.

45. Sorry to return to this issue, but it remains unresolved.

Previously I said:

Caswell,
    “I bow to your greater knowledge of the law in Barbados โ€“ even Caricom. But in England and Wales, no matter how long a couple have lived together, on the death of a partner, if they have no children, the surviving person gets zilch. Nothing. That is the law of intestacy.”

Caswell replied:

“Hal
    Speak for yourself, I am not an amateur when it comes to the Succession Act of Barbados.

It is amazing how you could be so wrong and strong.

Since 1979, in accordance with section 102.(4) of the Succession Act of the Laws of Barbados (not England and Wales) where a married couple live separately and apart for five or more years immediately preceding the death of one of them, the survivor is precluded from taking any part of the estate as a legal right or on intestacy.”

Are we comparing apples and pears?

The point is if a financial adviser is giving advice on estate planning in Barbados the Smith v Selby judgement must form part of that conversation. Not to do so could be considered professional negligence.

46. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

In England and Wales that partner can apply to the court for relief…it is not automatic, as british law states,……but neither is it impossible.

47. Hal is also very, very comfortable with throwing elderly, childless common law widows/widowers out into the street.

I am not comfortable with that.

As I said before Hal and I are not from the same culture.

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hal is not a normal functioning male, certain parts of his brain does not function normally, makes ya wonder what the whites did to him in the UK, which I suspect is largely his own fault…

…….the dumb, ready to please negro is always the first one easily destroyed mentally, has no empathy toward his own people and sees everything related to the upliftment of his own people…..through a prism of bullshit.

49. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 6, 2017 at 5:10 AM “a prism of bullshit.”

lol

50. @ SS
    Bushie fell in love with that prism terminology too…
    Must be a ZR thing…